Comment passer des personnes chroniques - Pleasing à l'affirmation de pouvoir Empowered

Comment passer des personnes chroniques - Pleasing à l'affirmation de pouvoir Empowered

Que faire si votre Inner Compass vous dit de faire quelque chose qui va à l'encontre des souhaits de votre famille? Quoi alors? Que faire?

Abandonnez votre rêve? N'écoutez pas votre boussole intérieure? Serrez-vous les dents et suivez le plan de votre famille pour vous et votre vie?

C'est une bonne question n'est-ce pas? Et c'est là que tant de gens ont des ennuis, même s'ils savent au fond de leur coeur ce qu'ils veulent faire. Cela pourrait être, par exemple, de choisir une carrière que votre famille n'approuve pas, ou d'être dans une relation de même sexe, ou d'épouser quelqu'un de race ou de religion différente, ou d'abandonner l'école ou de retourner à l'école, ou de changer emplois, ou quitter votre emploi ou ... la liste des choses que vous pourriez vouloir faire que votre famille pourrait désapprouver est sans fin. (Tout dépend de votre famille et de leurs systèmes de croyances!)

Alors, que pouvez-vous faire?

Si vous ne voulez pas abandonner votre droit d'être vous-même et de suivre votre boussole intérieure, c'est ici qu'il est important de vous rappeler d'avoir le droit d'être vous et d'avoir une boussole intérieure qui vous dit toujours ce qu'il y a de mieux pour toi. Et rappelez-vous que nous sommes assez chanceux pour vivre dans des sociétés démocratiques, qui protègent les droits de l'individu à vivre la vie qu'il ou elle choisit. (Pour plus à ce sujet, voir ceci extrait sur la démocratie.)

Rappelez-vous que ce n'est pas votre travail de rendre les autres heureux, mais que c'est votre travail de suivre votre intégrité et de soutenir tout le monde à suivre les leurs!

l'affirmation de soi

Si vous êtes dans une situation où d'autres personnes ne sont pas d'accord avec vous, vos choix ou vos projets, il est important d'apprendre à prendre soin de vous, à établir des limites saines et à dire non quand quelque chose ne vous convient pas. Boussole). C'est ce que l'affirmation est tout.

Être assertif signifie que vous pouvez prendre soin de vous lorsque d'autres personnes interfèrent avec votre droit d'être vous et prennent les décisions qui vous conviennent le mieux. En fait, apprendre à être assertif vous aide beaucoup à suivre votre boussole intérieure parce que vous savez que vous pouvez prendre soin de vous lorsque vous êtes guidé à faire quelque chose que les gens autour de vous pourraient ne pas approuver. Rien ne contribue à réduire l'anxiété comme l'entraînement à l'affirmation de soi!

À cet égard, il est également important de comprendre que l'affirmation de soi est quelque chose que la plupart d'entre nous devons apprendre à faire, puis pratiquer. Être assertif n'est pas quelque chose que nous savons automatiquement faire. Cela n'arrive pas du jour au lendemain, même si la plupart d'entre nous étaient naturellement convaincus quand nous étions petits. Mais malheureusement, nous avons souvent été privés de notre assertivité naturelle dès le plus jeune âge, lorsque nos parents et notre entourage nous ont formés pour plaire aux gens et faire ce qu'ils voulaient que nous fassions, au lieu de suivre nos propres directives intérieures.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Vos droits assertifs

Quand il s'agit d'apprendre à s'affirmer, un bon point de départ est de lire et de réfléchir à la liste des droits assertifs ci-dessous qui ont été cartographiés par Manuel J. Smith dans son livre d'affirmation classique "Quand je dis non, je me sens coupable".

Vos droits d'affirmation, c'est-à-dire votre droit d'être vous et de vivre votre vie comme vous l'entendez, comprennent tous les éléments suivants:

« Droits assertifs

  1. Vous avez le droit de juger votre propre comportement, vos pensées et vos émotions, et de prendre sur vous la responsabilité de leur initiation et de leurs conséquences.
  2. Vous avez le droit de ne donner aucune raison ou excuse pour justifier votre comportement.
  3. Vous avez le droit de juger si vous êtes responsable de trouver des solutions aux problèmes des autres.
  4. Vous avez le droit de changer d'avis.
  5. Vous avez le droit de faire des erreurs et d'en être responsable.
  6. Vous avez le droit de dire "je ne sais pas".
  7. Vous avez le droit d'être indépendant de la bonne volonté des autres avant de faire face à eux.
  8. Vous avez le droit d'être illogique dans la prise de décisions.
  9. Vous avez le droit de dire: "Je ne comprends pas".
  10. Vous avez le droit de dire: «Je m'en fous».

Tu as le droit de dire non, sans te sentir coupable. "

Une fois que vous commencez à comprendre ces droits fondamentaux, le prochain défi est de savoir comment intégrer et appliquer cette compréhension lorsque vous traitez avec d'autres personnes qui tentent de vous persuader, de vous forcer ou de vous manipuler pour faire ce qu'ils veulent que vous fassiez. Alors jetons un coup d'œil à ce qu'il faut faire.

La "Technique Sandwich"

Une bonne technique de base pour commencer est la "technique sandwich", qui est une manière positive et affirmée de répondre aux demandes des autres. La technique du sandwich consiste à répondre aux demandes ou aux demandes des autres par des phrases ou des affirmations composées de deux parties différentes.

Dans la première partie de la phrase, vous reconnaissez à l'autre personne que vous avez entendu ce qu'il ou elle a dit. Dans la deuxième partie de la phrase, vous donnez votre réponse. En d'autres termes, vous dites à la personne ce que vous pensez ou ressentez à propos de sa demande ou de sa demande (c'est-à-dire comment votre boussole intérieure répond à la situation).

Donc, lorsque vous utilisez la technique sandwich, une bonne réponse affirmative (qui est composée de ces deux parties) ressemble à ceci:

  • J'entends ce que vous dites et je ressens différemment à ce sujet.
  • Je respecte vraiment ton opinion et la façon dont je la vois est comme ça ...
  • Votre amitié signifie tellement pour moi et je vais devoir refuser votre offre aimable.
  • Je comprends ce que vous dites et ce n'est pas quelque chose pour moi.
  • Merci de penser à moi et j'ai d'autres projets pour le week-end.
  • J'apprécie vraiment que tu penses à moi et j'ai d'autres projets pour samedi soir.
  • Je peux voir que cela signifie beaucoup pour vous et je vais devoir dire non.
  • Oui, je peux comprendre ce que vous dites et de mon point de vue, il me semble ...
  • Merci d'avoir pensé à moi, j'apprécie vraiment votre inquiétude, et non merci.

C'est une façon habile de faire face à tout ce que les gens demandent ou exigent, parce que vous commencez par reconnaître que vous entendez l'autre personne et que vous comprenez ce qu'elle dit (et même appréciez leur intérêt). Puis après cela, vous venez avec votre réponse, qui est votre non, ou vous définissez des limites et suivez votre boussole intérieure.

Voici quelques exemples:

Exemple 1: Vous êtes invité à une fête ce week-end. Le signal de votre Inner Compass en est un d'inconfort, donc vous décidez de ne pas y aller. Voici votre conversation avec l'hôte.

Hôte: "Nous comptons vraiment sur votre venue à notre fête samedi."

Votre réponse: "Merci beaucoup de penser à moi et je ne peux pas le faire ce soir-là."

Hôte: "Mais nous comptons sur votre venue."

Votre réponse: "J'apprécie vraiment votre pensée de moi et je ne peux pas venir ce soir-là."

Si la personne continue, vous continuez à répéter ce que vous avez dit. Tôt ou tard, l'autre personne abandonnera.

Exemple deux: Vous obtenez une nouvelle offre d'emploi. Votre boussole intérieure n'a pas un bon sentiment à ce sujet et vous avez le sentiment qu'il y a quelque chose de mieux en magasin pour vous.

Votre ami / votre mère: "Je pense vraiment que vous devriez prendre ce travail, c'est une excellente opportunité pour vous."

Votre réponse: "Oui, je peux comprendre ce que vous dites et ce n'est tout simplement pas pour moi."

Ton ami / ta mère: "Mais tu ne vois pas quelle belle opportunité d'emploi cela t'apporterait. Ce serait tellement bien pour votre carrière. "

Votre réponse: "Merci pour votre préoccupation et ce travail n'est tout simplement pas pour moi."

Encore une fois, si la personne continue, vous continuez à répéter ce que vous avez dit jusqu'à ce que l'autre abandonne.

L'affirmation de soi consiste à prendre soin de soi

Lorsque vous apprenez à répondre de la sorte aux demandes des autres, il est bon de se rappeler que l'autre personne ne sera probablement pas d'accord avec vous, et qu'elle n'est pas obligée de le faire. Être assertif ne consiste pas à gagner des arguments, à convaincre d'autres personnes ou à avoir raison. Être assertif, c'est établir des limites et prendre soin de soi. Il ne s'agit pas de gagner et de perdre. Soyez donc prêt à entendre et à reconnaître le point de vue de l'autre («Vous pourriez avoir raison»), puis énoncez clairement votre propre position («et ce n'est pas pour moi»).

Rappelez-vous, c'est votre travail d'écouter votre boussole intérieure et prendre soin de vous par rapport à ce qui se passe. L'autre personne est responsable de ses sentiments et de ses opinions à ce sujet. Chaque personne a droit à ses sentiments et à ses opinions. Vous n'avez pas besoin de vous justifier, d'offrir des explications ou de trouver des excuses pour vos choix. (Vous pourriez vouloir expliquer, mais le point important à retenir est que vous n'avez pas à le faire.Vous avez le droit d'être vous et n'offre aucune explication pour vos choix.)

Donc, pour résumer, voici les principaux points à garder à l'esprit:

  • Reconnaissez que vous entendez l'autre personne.
  • Ensuite, livrez votre réponse.
  • Utilisez le mot "et" lors de la connexion des deux parties de la phrase parce que le mot "et" est inclusif.
  • Ne vous attendez pas à ce que l'autre personne soit d'accord avec vous.
  • N'ayez pas peur de vous répéter, aimablement mais fermement.
  • Vous êtes responsable de vos sentiments et de votre décision à ce sujet.
  • L'autre personne est responsable de ses sentiments à ce sujet.

Voici d'autres façons de reconnaître le point de vue de l'autre tout en conservant vos propres droits, votre position et votre point de vue. Vous pouvez dire des choses comme:

  • Je comprends que vous ressentiez de cette façon et dans mon expérience, je trouve que ...
  • Vous pourriez avoir raison et je préfère le faire de cette façon ...
  • Je peux comprendre ton point de vue et je préférerais ne pas ...
  • J'apprécie vraiment votre contribution à ce sujet et je continue ...
  • J'apprécie votre pensée de moi et la réponse est non.

Être assertif prend la pratique

Apprendre à dire non, fixer des limites et être assertif comme cela demande de la pratique. Ce n'est pas quelque chose que l'on apprend en un jour ou deux, cela prend vraiment de la pratique. Au début, cela peut aider à répéter des situations dans votre tête avant et après qu'elles se produisent, surtout si vous avez été dans des situations où vous n'avez pas répondu de manière assertive dans le bon sens.

Essayez de traverser ces situations dans votre tête et visualisez comment vous voudriez aborder ces situations la prochaine fois qu'elles apparaîtront. Plus vous pratiquez dans votre tête, plus vous découvrirez que vous pouvez réellement le faire lorsque des situations comme celles-ci surviennent dans votre vie quotidienne.

Voici un autre conseil pour les débutants. Lorsque vous vous trouvez dans une situation où quelqu'un vous prend au dépourvu avec une demande et vous n'êtes pas sûr de ce que votre Inner Compass dit ou comment répondre - demandez le temps d'examiner la question.

© 2017 par Barbara Berger. Tous les droits sont réservés.
Reproduit avec permission. Publié par O-Books, o-books.com
une empreinte de John Hunt Publishing,
johnhuntpublishing.com

Source de l'article

Trouvez et suivez votre boussole intérieure: guidage instantané à l'ère de la surcharge d'informations
par Barbara Berger.

Trouvez et suivez votre boussole intérieure: Guide instantané à l'ère de la surcharge d'informations par Barbara Berger.Barbara Berger décrit ce qu'est l'Inner Compass et comment on peut lire ses signaux. Comment utilisons-nous l'Inner Compass dans notre vie quotidienne, au travail et dans nos relations? Qu'est-ce qui sabote notre capacité à écouter et à suivre la boussole intérieure? Que faisons-nous lorsque l'Inner Compass nous pointe dans une direction que nous croyons que les autres vont désapprouver?

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon.

A propos de l'auteur

Barbara Berger, auteur du livre: Êtes-vous heureux maintenant?Barbara Berger a écrit des livres sur l'autonomisation 15, y compris le best-seller international "The Road to Power / Fast Food for the Soul"(Publié dans les langues 30),"Es-tu content maintenant? 10 façons de vivre une vie heureuse"(plus de langues 20) et"L'être humain Awakening - Guide de la puissance de l'esprit". Née aux États-Unis, Barbara vit et travaille à Copenhague, au Danemark. En plus de ses livres, elle offre des séances de coaching privées à des personnes qui souhaitent travailler intensément avec elle (dans son bureau de Copenhague ou sur Skype et par téléphone pour les personnes qui habitent loin de Copenhague). Pour en savoir plus sur Barbara Berger, consultez son site Web: www.beamteam.com

Livres de cet auteur

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres, mots-clés = 1782792015; maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres, mots-clés = 1846948355; maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres, mots-clés = 1780997795; maxresults = 1}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

How To Go From Chronic People-Pleasing to Empowered Assertiveness

performance

How To Go From Chronic People-Pleasing to Empowered Assertiveness

What if your Inner Compass tells you to do something that goes against the wishes of your family? What then? What do you do?

Give up your dream? Don't listen to your Inner Compass? Grit your teeth and get on with your family's plan for you and your life?

It's a good question isn't it? And this is where so many people get into trouble, even if they know in their heart of hearts, what they want to do. It could be, for example, choosing a career track your family doesn't approve of, or being in a same sex relationship, or marrying someone of a different race or religion, or dropping out of school or going back to school, or changing jobs, or quitting your job or ... the list of things you might want to do that your family might disapprove of is endless. (It all depends on your family and their belief systems!)

So What Can You Do?

If you don't want to give up your right to be you and follow your Inner Compass, this is where it's important to remind yourself about having a right to be you, and you having an Inner Compass that is always telling you what is best for you. And remind yourself that we are fortunate enough to be living in democratic societies, which protect the rights of the individual to live the life that he or she chooses. (For more about this, see this excerpt on democracy.)

Remind yourself that it's not your job to make other people happy, but that it is your job to follow your integrity and support everyone else in following theirs!

Assertiveness Training

If you're in a situation where other people disagree with you or your choices or projects, it's important to learn how to take care of yourself, set healthy boundaries, and say no when something doesn’t feel right to you (to your Inner Compass). This is what being assertive is all about.

Being assertive means that you can take care of yourself when other people interfere with your right to be you and make the decisions, which feel best to you. In fact, learning to be assertive actually makes it much easier for you to follow your Inner Compass because you know you can take care of yourself when you are guided to do something that the people around you might not approve of. Nothing helps reduce anxiety like assertiveness training!

In this connection, it's also important to understand that being assertive is something most of us have to learn to do, and then practice doing. Being assertive is not something we automatically know how to do. It doesn't happen overnight, even though most of us were naturally assertive when we were little kids. But unfortunately, we usually have had our natural assertiveness trampled out of us at an early age when our parents, and our surroundings, trained us to be people-pleasers and do what they wanted us to do, instead of following our own inner guidance.

Your Assertive Rights

When it comes to learning to be assertive, a good place to begin is to read and think about the list of assertive rights below that were mapped out by Manuel J. Smith in his classic assertiveness book “When I Say No, I Feel Guilty”.

Your assertive rights, i.e. your right to be you and live your life the way you choose, include all of the following:

Assertive Rights

  1. You have the right to judge your own behavior, thoughts, and emotions, and to take the responsibility for their initiation and consequences upon yourself.
  2. You have the right to offer no reasons or excuses to justify your behavior.
  3. You have the right to judge whether you are responsible for finding solutions to other people’s problems.
  4. You have the right to change your mind.
  5. You have the right to make mistakes – and be responsible for them.
  6. You have the right to say ‘I don’t know’.
  7. You have the right to be independent of the goodwill of others before coping with them.
  8. You have the right to be illogical in making decisions.
  9. You have the right to say, ‘I don’t understand’.
  10. You have the right to say, ‘I don’t care’.

You have the right to say no, without feeling guilty.”

Once you start to understand these basic rights, the next challenge is how to actually integrate and apply this understanding when dealing with other people who are trying to persuade you, pressure you, or manipulate you into doing what they want you to do. So let's take a brief look at what to do.

The “Sandwich Technique”

A good basic technique to start with is the "sandwich technique", which is a positive, assertive way to respond to other people's demands. The sandwich technique is about responding to other people's requests or demands with sentences or statements, which are made up of two different parts.

In the first part of the sentence, you acknowledge to the other person that you have heard what he or she said. In the second part of the sentence, you give your response. In other words, you tell the person what you think, or feel, about his or her request or demand (i.e. how your Inner Compass is responding to the situation).

So when using the sandwich technique, a good assertive response (which is made up of these two parts) basically sounds like this:

  • I hear what you're saying and I feel differently about the matter.
  • I really respect your opinion and the way I see it is like this...
  • Your friendship means so much to me and I'm going to have to decline your kind offer.
  • I understand what you're saying and this is not something for me.
  • Thank you for thinking of me and I have other plans for the weekend.
  • I really appreciate you thinking of me and I have other plans for Saturday night.
  • I can see this really means a lot to you and I’m going to have to say no.
  • Yes, I can relate to what you’re saying and from my point of view, it looks to me like...
  • Thank you for thinking of me, I really appreciate your concern, and no thanks.

This is a skillful way to deal with whatever people are requesting, or demanding, because you begin by acknowledging that you hear the other person and that you understand what he or she is saying (and even appreciate their interest). Then after that, you come with your response, which is your no, or you setting limits and following your Inner Compass.

Here are some examples:

Example one: You get invited to a party this weekend. The signal from your Inner Compass is one of discomfort so you decide not to go. Here's your conversation with the host.

Host: “We’re really counting on your coming to our party on Saturday.”

Your response: “Thank you so much for thinking of me and I can’t make it that evening.”

Host: “But we’re counting on your coming.”

Your response: “I really appreciate your thinking of me and I can’t come that evening.”

If the person keeps on, you just keep repeating what you said. Sooner or later the other person will give up.

Example two: You get a new job offer. Your Inner Compass doesn't have a good feeling about this and you get the feeling there's something better in store for you.

Your friend / your mother: “I really think you should take that job, it's such a great opportunity for you.”

Your response: “Yes, I can relate to what you’re saying and it’s simply not for me.”

Your friend / your mother: “But can’t you see what a great job opportunity this would be for you. It would be so good for your career.”

Your response: “Thank you for your concern and this job is simply not for me.”

Again, if the person keeps on, you just keep repeating what you said until the other person gives up.

Assertiveness Is About Taking Good Care of Yourself

When you learn to respond assertively to other people's requests in this way, it’s good to remember the other person probably won’t agree with you, and doesn’t have to. Being assertive is not about winning arguments, convincing other people, or being right. Being assertive is about setting limits and taking good care of yourself. It’s not about winning and losing. So be willing to hear and acknowledge the other person’s point of view (“You could be right”), and then clearly state your own position (“and it’s not for me”).

Remember, it's your job to listen to your Inner Compass and take care of yourself in relation to what is going on. The other person is responsible for his or her feelings and opinions about the matter. Each person has a right to his/her feelings and opinions. You don’t have to justify yourself, offer explanations, or find excuses for your choices. (You might want to explain, but the important point to remember is that you don’t have to. You have the right to be you and offer no explanation for your choices.)

So to summarize, here are the main points to keep in mind:

  • Acknowledge that you hear the other person.
  • Then deliver your response.
  • Use the word "and" when connecting the two parts of the sentence because the word "and" is inclusive.
  • Don’t expect the other person to agree with you.
  • Don’t be afraid to repeat yourself, kindly but firmly.
  • You are responsible for your feelings and your decision about the matter.
  • The other person is responsible for his/her feelings about the matter.

Here are some more good ways to acknowledge the other person’s point of view while maintaining your own rights, position, and point of view. You can say things like:

  • I understand you feel that way and in my experience, I find that...
  • You could be right and I prefer to do it this way….
  • I can understand your point of view and I would rather not …
  • I really appreciate your input in this matter and I still…
  • I appreciate your thinking of me and the answer is no.

Being Assertive Takes Practice

Learning to say no, set limits, and be assertive like this takes practice. It’s not something one learns in a day or two, it really does take practice. In the beginning, it can help to rehearse situations in your head before and after they occur, especially if you've been in situations where you didn't respond assertively in a good way.

Try going through these situations in your head and visualizing how you would like to tackle these situations the next time they come up. The more you practice in your head, the more you will discover that you can actually do this when situations like these arise in your daily life.

Here's another tip for beginners. When you find yourself in a situation where someone catches you off guard with a request and you’re not sure what your Inner Compass is saying or how to respond – ask for time to consider the matter.

©2017 by Barbara Berger. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission. Published by O-Books, o-books.com
an imprint of John Hunt Publishing,
johnhuntpublishing.com

Article Source

Find and Follow Your Inner Compass: Instant Guidance in an Age of Information Overload
by Barbara Berger.

Find and Follow Your Inner Compass: Instant Guidance in an Age of Information Overload by Barbara Berger.Barbara Berger maps out what the Inner Compass is and how we can read its signals. How do we use the Inner Compass in our daily lives, at work and in our relationships? What sabotages our ability to listen to and follow the Inner Compass? What do we do when the Inner Compass points us in a direction we believe other people will disapprove of?

Click for more info or to order this book on Amazon.

About the Author

Barbara Berger, author of the book: Are You Happy Now?Barbara Berger has written over 15 self-empowerment books, including the international bestseller "The Road to Power / Fast Food for the Soul" (published in 30 languages), "Are You Happy Now? 10 Ways to Live a Happy Life" (more than 20 languages) and “The Awakening Human Being – A Guide to the Power of Mind”. American-born, Barbara now lives and works in Copenhagen, Denmark. In addition to her books, she offers private coaching sessions to individuals who wish to work intensely with her (in her office in Copenhagen or on Skype and telephone for people who live far away from Copenhagen). For more about Barbara Berger, see her Web site: www.beamteam.com

Find and Follow Your Inner Compass: Instant Guidance in an Age of Information Overload by Barbara Berger.NEWLY RELEASED BOOK (2017)

Find and Follow Your Inner Compass: Instant Guidance in an Age of Information Overload
by Barbara Berger.

Click for more info or to order this book on Amazon.

Books by this Author

Are You Happy Now?: 10 Ways to Live a Happy Life
performanceAuthor: Barbara Berger
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: O Books
List Price: $19.95

Buy Now

The Awakening Human Being
performanceAuthor: Barbara Berger
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: O Books
List Price: $19.95

Buy Now

The Adventures of Pebble Beach
performanceAuthor: Barbara Berger
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Roundfire Books
List Price: $18.95

Buy Now

performance
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}