الإرث العاطفي للإصابة والصدمة

الإرث العاطفي للإصابة والصدمة

عندما كنت أعمل مع ك. ، الذي كان يعاني من مشكلة في الورك (والكثير من الأشياء الثانوية الأخرى) ، لاحظت وجود علاقة بين الصلابة في كاحله الأيمن والألم في وركه الأيسر. ظننت أنها إما لا تستخدم القدم اليمنى كثيراً ، وتفرط في استغلال الجانب الأيسر لها ، أو تميل إلى الساق اليمنى أكثر من اللازم لسبب ما ، مما يتسبب في بعض التعويض على الجانب الأيسر.

عندما بدأت أتلاعب في الكاحل الأيمن ، أصبح من الواضح بالنسبة لي (ولها) أن هناك بعض الألم هناك ، لا سيما على الانثناء. شعرت وكأنها اصابة قديمة.

عادةً ما يكون ألم الكاحل مثل هذا التواء قديمًا ، حيث يقوم الكثير من الأطفال بتحويل كاحليهم في جريانهم الجريء ، وهو النوع الذي عانته لسنوات ، ولا يشفي أبدًا من ذلك ، ولكنك تتعلم كيف تتعايش معه من خلال عملية التعويض. لذلك كان ألم الكاحل بلا شك ذا صلة بألم الورك. سألتها عن ذلك.

"كيف جرح هذا الكاحل؟"

في البداية لم تكن متأكدة. بعد ذلك ، وبينما واصلت العمل برفق في الكاحل ، بدأت في البكاء بشكل هستيري تمامًا. من الواضح أن شيئًا مهمًا كان مستمرًا. "كيف جرح هذا الكاحل؟" سألتها مرة أخرى.

"حسنا ، أتذكر الآن عندما كان" ، قالت. "كان يومًا صيفيًا جميلاً ، كنت في منزل أبناء عمومتي ، وكنت ألعب مع أبناء عمي في الخارج. كنت سعيدا حقا في ذلك اليوم. لقد لويت كاحلى؛ لم يضر كثيرا. كنت مشغولاً باللعب ، لذلك لم ألاحظ ذلك حتى اليوم التالي ".

"ثم ماذا؟" سألت ، وتوقع أن يتم مسح الغموض.

"حسنا ، عمة بلدي يصل ذلك. كان بخير. شعرت بالحزن لأنني لم أتمكن من الركض لفترة من الوقت ، ولكن ليس شيئًا كبيرًا ".

"لماذا أنا مستاء جدا؟"

سألني ك ، "لماذا أنا مستاء جدا؟"

لم يكن لدي أي فكرة. ثم فكرت في شيء وسألتها أكثر عن ذلك الوقت ، الصيف السعيد عندما جرح نفسها. كنت أعلم أنها كانت تعاني من طفولة صعبة ، لذا فكرت أن شيئًا ما عن الإصابة قد يتم قمعه.

ولكنني كنت مخطئا. بدا يوم الإصابة بدون حادث ، مجرد مسرحية طفولة مبهجة. كانت تحب أبناء عمومتها - لا شيء هناك. تابعت حديثها عن ذلك الصيف ، وهو وقت لطيف بعيدًا عن والد مؤذٍ.

ذاكرة مطروقة

ثم ظهرت الذاكرة ، ولم يكن لها علاقة بالإصابة. في ذلك الصيف ، كان عمها ، والد أبن عمها ، قد اعتدى عليها جنسياً. تدور الذكريات والمشاعر الرهيبة من خلالها. كانت تبكي دون حسيب ولا رقيب.

وواصلت العمل في الكاحل ، بافتراض أنه يجب أن يكون هناك اتصال لم أفهمه ، حيث يبدو أن أنسجة كاحلي الجرحى تفرج عن ذاكرة لم تكن مرتبطة مباشرة بالإصابة. كانت مشتتة من إطلاقها العاطفي ، والذي سمح لي بالعمل في الكاحل بطريقة تحتاجه ولكن كان سيكون مؤلما للغاية بالنسبة لها بخلاف ذلك.

لقد لاحظت ، في الواقع ، كيف أن الكاحل يستعيد حركته بالكامل بسهولة ، ومع إطلاق الأنسجة المتصلبة ، هدأ تطهيرها العاطفي. وارتبط الكاحل وانتهاك. لم يهم كيف حقا. كان كاحلها أفضل ، كما شعرت بالارتياح بشكل كبير من الذاكرة المؤلمة.

كان الورك أفضل قليلا أيضا. ولكن كنت في حيرة. فكرت في ذلك فيما بعد ، متسائلاً كيف حدث شيء محير حول إصابة حيث يبدو أن الأنسجة تحتوي على ذكريات لم تكن مرتبطة بالضرر ولكنها حدثت - في هذه الحالة - في نفس الوقت!

ذكريات متصلة

لقد فهمت. يتم توصيل الإصابة وأي صدمة تحدث بشكلٍ أو بآخر في وقت واحد من قبل الدماغ السفلي غير المنطقي. على سبيل المثال ، لا يعرف الطفل ، أو السبب ، أن ألم الشفة لا ينجم عن الشخص البالغ الذي يمسك بزجاجة ، بل هو مصادفة له. إن عقلها الصغير والساحر والأسطوري ، وهو الجزء الحالم من العقل ، يصنع العلاقات والأنماط حيث لا يوجد شيء موجود بالفعل - ببساطة لأن هذا هو ما يفعله الدماغ الصحيح: إنه يجعل العلاقات ، مهما كان الثمن. يسعد الدماغ في الأنماط بقدر ما يستطيع ، والفن ، الأحلام ، والخيال نتيجة لهذا الميل اللاواعي.

لذلك ، فإن الحوادث الأخرى التي تحدث حول وقت الإصابة أو مكانها لها نفس الشعور مثل الإصابة نفسها. ترتبط الأحداث غير السارة والصدمة في ذاكرة العضلة وسيتم إطلاقها ، صندوق باندورا ، عندما يتم عمل ألم الإصابة الأصلية من خلال الجسم. وهذا هو السبب أيضاً في أن الصيف الممتع لم يكن مشفراً في كاحليها ، لأنه كان يفتقر إلى جودة الشعور بالإصابة. فقط سوء المعاملة احتوى على عناصر الصدمة والألم التي سمحت للدماغ بالربط بين هذين الحدثين المضارين.

هذا هو المكان الذي أعتقد أن العمل الجسدي يتجاوز إمكانيات العلاج النفسي. لم تكن علاقة K. بالاعتداء عليها من دون الإفراج عن الطاقة المكبوتة لألم الكاحل بمثابة إطلاق كامل للتجربة بأكملها. ووجدت أن مشاعرها عن عمها بطريقة ما ، وإساءة معاملته ، والتشكيلة المعقدة من الولاء والأذى قد فقدت قوتها مع شفاء الكاحل.

تراث الإصابات

فكر مرة أخرى في حياتك إلى الإصابات التي تعرضت لها والتي لا تزال تحافظ على بعض الآثار في جسدك ، وهي ليست 100 في المئة. معرفة ما إذا كنت تتذكر ، ليس فقط ظروف الإصابة ، ولكن أي شيء مزعج أو صادم حدث في ذلك الوقت في حياتك.

إنه عنصر الصدمة العاطفية ، وخاصة مشاعر الخيانة ، التي يبدو أنها عالقة في الأنسجة ، وربما تشبه الإصابة خيانة لسلامة أجسادنا بقدر ما هي خسارة ثقة عاطفية. بالطبع ، قد تجد عقلك يأتي مع أنماط مختلفة تماما. تكون مفتوحة على ما يأتي. لا توجد إجابات بسيطة لهذا ، وأنا أعتمد على موكلي لإبلاغ لي عن ذكريات الأنسجة الخاصة بهم.

يبدو أن الآلام المزمنة التي تسببها الإصابات لا ترتبط بشكل كبير بالأحداث الأخرى في الحياة. ربما كان عنصر الصدمة ضروريًا لتحدث هذه الظاهرة. ما قد يعنيه لك هو أن الجو العام والأحداث المحيطة بإصابات مستمرة وغير مبطنة قد تكون جزءًا مما يجب أن يتم الاتصال به قبل أن تشفى الإصابة - النفسية والفسيولوجية - على حد سواء.

هنا مثال من حياتي الخاصة. بعد أن خضعت لجراحة الليزك وكانت أقل قصرًا في النظر ، فقد انبهرت برؤيتي 20 / 20 التي لم أكن أتطلع إلى أين كنت ذاهبة ، مفضلين محاولة النظر إلى المسافة ، إلى نوافذ الناس ، وهكذا. هذه العادة الجديدة أسفرت عن حادثتين شاذتين جدا ، واحدة حيث ركضت دراجة التسليم لي وحطمت ركبتي اليسرى والركبة ، والآخر حيث اشتعلت الأربطة حذاء رياضة بلدي في صريف وسقطت على وجهي. "غير نمطي" لأن جميع إصاباتي الأخرى كانت إصابات الرأس والرقبة - أنا لست عرضة للهبوط عادة.

في الوقت نفسه ، كنت أعاني من صعوبات في العلاقة التي لم أكن "أتطلع إليها" وهم أيضاً "أزعجوني". الشعور بالألم والخيانة والعزم على المضي قدمًا في تلوين الإصابات وعدم حلها بشكل كامل في كياني.

كما أكتب عن ذلك ، أرى أن إحدى السمات الرئيسية لهذا الوقت في حياتي كانت نوعًا من المثابرة الرصينة ، وهي سمة شخصية أجدها مفيدة جدًا وربما أحتفظ بها بسبب ذلك. أكثر من مجرد آلام العلاقة ، ولكن أيضا دفاعاتي ضدها ، يتم ترميزها في نسيج ركبتي ويده.

تكرار الإصابة

الإصابات أيضا لديها ميل لتكرار نفسها. كما ذكرت ، لقد أصبت في معظم الأحيان نفس الأجزاء من جسمي ، رأسي ورقبتي ، مراراً وتكراراً ، على الرغم من أن الحوادث لم تكن بسببي. كانت معظم حوادث السيارات - ولا ، لم أكن أقود السيارة. واحد كان سقوط من حصان. كان واحد الاعتداء الجسدي. نتج عن كل نفس الضرر.

معظم الناس لديهم هذه التجربة - دائماً ما يصيب أحد الطرفين. لا يوجد سبب منطقي لهذا إذا قبلت فرضية أن وقوع حادث من مصدر خارجي هو بالضرورة عشوائي. المصدر ليس "خطأك ،" بالطبع. ردك على ذلك ، على الرغم من لحظي ، هو منقوشة على نموذج كيو / جيتسو بطريقة مثيرة للاهتمام.

إصابة تخلق كيو - نقطة ضعف. كيو هو فراغ ، غياب. سوف تميل الأجسام المادية إلى أن تنجذب إلى فراغ سلبي ، فراغ - الطبيعة تمقت الفراغ وتريد أن تملأها. يبدو الأمر كما لو أن الإصابة التي تم شفاؤها بشكل غير كامل قد خلقت فراغًا نشيطًا.

سوف يذهب تأثير حادث عشوائي إلى جزء من جسدك الذي يكون أكثر قوة من كيو - الأقل حماية. لسوء الحظ نجرح أنفسنا في مناطق الضعف لدينا ، بكل المعاني وكل الطرق. يجب أن تملأ كيو لمنع هذا ؛ أي ، يجب معالجة الحاجة إلى الشفاء والقوة في المنطقة المصابة.

في كثير من الأحيان ، مجرد جعل العضلات قوية في وحول المنطقة المصابة كافية لبدء عملية الشفاء. يجب أن يكون هذا دائمًا مكانًا للبدء.

إذا كان هذا لا يصحح المشكلة ، فإن الجانب العاطفي للإصابة (وجميع الذكريات ذات الصلة الموجودة في الأنسجة) يحتاج إلى المعالجة. في الواقع ، ليس هناك حاجة لفعل الكثير عن محتوى الذكريات والمشاعر ، يكفي أن يكون مجرد الشعور وإعادة تجربتها في بيئة آمنة كافية.

إن ترك المشاعر تمر عبر الأنسجة وتجاربها بشكل تلقائي وليس جسديًا هو مفتاح إصلاح "الفجوة النشطة" ، الميل إلى إعادة تسليح الجسم. هذا لا يعني أن حاجات بقية الوجود ، النفس العاطفية والروحية ، هي بالضرورة مملوءة بالكامل بهذه الطريقة. قد يكون هناك المزيد من المعالجة العاطفية المطلوبة.

الإصابات لا تشفى

علينا أن نفهم أن الجروح لا تندمل. قد يتوقفون عن الأذى ، لكن ذكريات الأنسجة والتعويضات تظل في الواقع وتزداد سوءًا لأن التعويضات تخلق تعويضاً آخر. إن ذكاء الجسد سيعيدنا إلى العمل وسيبقينا رأسياً - ولكنه لن يعالجنا (لنجعلنا كلياً).

الإصابات التي حدثت منذ سنوات ، والتي لم نفكر بها حتى الآن ، لا تزال الآلام التي نسيناها بالكامل موجودة في الجسم ، وتظللنا.

في نهاية المطاف ، ينتهي بنا الأمر إلى وجود العديد من الروابط المتقاطعة لأنماط التعويضات ، وكلها مترابطة ، وفي بعض الأحيان تثير مشاعر وذكريات قديمة ، بحيث أصبحنا نتأثر بكل هذه الأشياء. يمكن أن يكون هيكل السيارة مسح من الأنقاض.

© 2018 by Tara Lewis. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
فنون الشفاء الصحافة. www.InnerTraditions.com

المادة المصدر

طريقة طومسون من هيكل السيارة: المحاذاة الهيكلية ، القوة الأساسية ، والإصدار العاطفي
من كاثي طومسون وتارا طومسون لويس

طريقة طومسون في هيكل السيارة: المحاذاة الهيكلية والقوة الأساسية والإصدار العاطفي لكاثي طومسون وتارا تومسون لويسقامت كاثى طومسون ، التى طورتها كاثي ثومبسون خلال سنواتها العديدة كمعالجه للهيكل الجسدى ، بدمج زن شياتسو ، رولفنج ، يوجا ، والعلاج الجشطلتى للعلاج من الألم فى الجسم الطبيعى من خلال عمل الجسد ومن خلال التعرف على الانسدادات العاطفية التى غالباً ما تكمن وراء الألم المزمن والتوتر ، وسوء المواءمة. في هذا الدليل العملي ، تقدم طومسون وابنتها المولودة تارا تومبسون لويس فهماً عميقاً لميكانيكا الجسم وكيفية العمل مع العواطف من خلال الجسد. يستكشفون كيفية الاستماع إلى إشارات الجسم لاكتشاف نقاطنا العميقة الجسدية والعاطفية - نقاط الضعف والاختلالات في جذور انزعاجنا - وشرح كيف يمكن أن يؤدي تغيير بنية جسمك إلى تصحيح الاختلالات في العقل اللاواعي الذي تسببه الذكريات المكبوتة الصدمات العاطفية.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب الورقي (أو اصدار حصري)

حول المؤلف

كاثي طومسونكانت كاثي طومسون (1957-2008) ممارسة مبدعة في مجال الجسد مع ممارسة خاصة في مانهاتن لسنوات 30. عملت مع العديد من المطربين والممثلين والرياضيين والراقصين المشهورين. درست Ohashiatsu في معهد Ohashi والعلاج النفسي الجشطالت في معهد Gestalt في نيويورك. كما قامت بتدريس ورش العمل وتدريب الطلاب على طريقة طومسون.

تارا طومسون لويسدرست تارا طومسون لويس طريقة طومسون بشكل مكثف مع والدتها ، وكانت طالبة بروك في جامعة أكسفورد قبل أن تتولى تدريب الأمهات الخاصين.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = bodywork healing؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

The Emotional Legacy of Injury and Trauma

health

The Emotional Legacy of Injury and Trauma

When I was working with K., who had a hip problem (and lots of other minor things), I noticed a relationship between the stiffness in her right ankle and the pain in her left hip. I thought she either wasn’t using the right foot much, and so overusing her left side, or else leaning on the right leg too much for some reason and so causing some compensation on the left side.

As I began to manipulate the right ankle, it became clear to me (and to her) that there was some pain there, particularly on flexion. It felt like an old injury.

Usually ankle pain like this is an old sprain—lots of children twist their ankles in their exuberant running—the kind you’ve had for years and never really heal from, but that you learn to live with through the process of compensation. So the ankle pain was undoubtedly relevant to the hip pain. I asked her about it.

“How did you injure this ankle?”

At first she wasn’t sure. Then, as I continued to work gently into the ankle, she started crying quite hysterically. Obviously, something important was going on. “How did you injure this ankle?” I asked her again.

“Well, I remember now when it was,” she said. “It was a beautiful summer day, I was at my cousins’ house, and I was playing with my cousins outside. I was really happy that day. I twisted my ankle; it didn’t hurt that much. I was busy playing, so I didn’t really notice it till the next day.”

“And then what?” I asked, expecting the mystery to be cleared up.

“Well, my aunt bandaged it up; it was okay. I was sad I couldn’t run for a while, but no big thing.”

“Why am I so upset?”

K. asked me, “Why am I so upset?”

I didn’t have any idea. Then I thought of something and asked her more about that time, the happy summer when she injured herself. I knew she’d had a problematic childhood, so I figured that something about the injury might be repressed.

But I was wrong. The day of the injury seemed to be without incident, just joyful childhood play. She liked her cousins—nothing there. She went on talking about that summer, a nice time away from an abusive father.

A Memory Surfaced

Then a memory surfaced, and it had nothing to do with the injury. That summer, her uncle, her cousins’ father, had sexually abused her. Terrible memories and feelings coursed through her. She was crying uncontrollably.

I continued working the ankle, assuming that there must be a connection I didn’t understand, since the tissues of the injured ankle seemed to release a memory that was not directly connected to the injury. She was distracted by her emotional release, which allowed me to work the ankle in a way that it needed but would have been quite painful for her otherwise.

I noticed, in fact, how the ankle was regaining full mobility rather easily, and as the hardened tissues released, her emotional catharsis calmed. The ankle and the abuse were related. It didn’t really matter how. Her ankle was better, and she also felt hugely relieved of a painful memory.

Her hip was a little better too. But I was puzzled. I thought about it later, wondering how some puzzling thing had happened around an injury where the tissues seemed to hold memories that weren’t connected to the injury but had occurred—that was it!—at the same time!

Connected Memories

I got it. Injury and any trauma that occur more or less simultaneously are connected by the illogical lower brain. For example, a baby doesn’t know, or reason, that the pain of a bitten lip isn’t caused by the adult who is holding her bottle, but is coincidental to it. Her young, magical, mythic mind, the dreaming part of the mind, makes relationships and patterns where none may actually exist—simply because that is what the right brain does: It makes relationships, whatever the price. The brain delights in patterns as much as it can, and art, dreams, and imagination result from this unconscious tendency.

Therefore, other incidents that occur around the time or place of the injury have the same feeling as the injury itself. Unpleasant and traumatic events are connected in the muscle’s memory and will be released, a Pandora’s box, when the pain of the original injury is worked through the body. That is also why K.’s fun summer was not encoded in her ankle, since it lacked the feeling quality of the injury. Only the abuse contained the elements of shock and pain that allowed the brain to connect these two damaging events.

This is where I believe bodywork exceeds the possibilities of psychotherapy. K.’s contacting her abuse without also releasing the pent-up energy of the ankle pain would not have been a complete release of the entire experience. And she did find that somehow her feelings about her uncle, his abuse, and the whole complicated mishmash of loyalty and hurt had lost their sting as the ankle healed.

The Legacy of Injuries

Think back in your life to the injuries you have had that still maintain some trace in your body, that are not 100 percent gone. See if you can remember, not just the circumstances of the injury, but anything upsetting or traumatic that happened at that time in your life.

It’s the element of emotional trauma, especially feelings of betrayal, that seem to get stuck in the tissues—maybe an injury feels like a betrayal of our body’s integrity as much as an emotional loss of trust. Of course, you may find your brain comes up with quite different patterns; be open to whatever comes up. There are no simple answers to this one, and I rely on my clients to inform me about their particular tissue memories.

Chronic pains not caused by injury seem to connect less to other events in life. Perhaps the element of trauma is necessary for this phenomenon to occur. What it might mean for you is that the general atmosphere and events surrounding a persistent, unhealed injury may be part of what needs to be contacted before the injury—both psychological and physiological—can heal.

Here’s an example from my own life. After I had Lasik surgery and was much less nearsighted, I got so entranced with my 20/20 vision that I didn’t look where I was going, preferring to try to look into the distance, into people’s windows, and so on. This new habit resulted in two very atypical accidents, one where a delivery bike ran into me and smashed my left hand and knee, and the other where I caught my sneaker laces in a grating and fell on my face. “Atypical” because all my other injuries have been head and neck injuries—I’m not normally prone to falls.

At the same time, I was going through relationship difficulties that I was not “looking at,” and they too “tripped me up.” The feeling of pain and betrayal and the determination to go on anyway color the injuries and are not fully resolved in my being.

As I write about it, I see that one main feature of this time in my life was a kind of stoical persistence, which is a character trait that I find quite useful and probably hold on to because of this. So more than just the relationship pain, but also my defenses against it, are encoded in the tissue of my knee and hand.

Injury Repetition

Injuries also have a tendency to repeat themselves. As I mentioned, I have mostly injured the same parts of my body, my head and neck, over and over, although the accidents were not caused by me. Most were car accidents—and no, I wasn’t driving. One was a fall from a horse. One was a physical assault. All resulted in the same damage.

Most people have this experience—always injuring one side perhaps. There’s no logical reason for this if you accept the premise that an accident inflicted by an outside source is necessarily random. The source is not “your fault,” of course. Your response to it, although instantaneous, is patterned on the kyo/jitsu model in an interesting way.

An injury creates a kyo—a weakness. Kyo is a vacuum, an absence. Physical objects will tend to be attracted to a negative space, a vacuum—nature abhors a vacuum and wants to fill it. It’s as though the incompletely healed injury created an energetic vacuum.

The impact of a random accident will go to the part of your body that is energetically most kyo—least protected. Unfortunately we injure ourselves in our vulnerable spots, in all senses and all ways. Kyo must be filled to prevent this; that is, the need for healing and strength in the injured area must be addressed.

Often, just making the muscles strong in and around the injured area is enough to start the healing process. That should always be the starting place.

If that does not correct the problem, the emotional aspect of the injury (and all the related memories held in the tissues) needs to be addressed. Actually, there isn’t a need to do much about the content of the memories and feelings, just feeling and re-experiencing them in a safe environment is usually enough.

Letting the feelings run through the tissues and experiencing them somatically rather than physically is the key to fixing the “energetic gap,” the propensity to reinjure the body. That isn’t to say that the needs of the rest of the being, the emotional and spiritual self, are necessarily entirely filled this way. There may be more emotional processing needed.

Injuries Don’t Heal

We need to understand that injuries don’t heal. They may stop hurting, but the tissue memories and the compensation remain and actually worsen as the compensations create other compensations. The body’s intelligence will bring us back to functioning and keep us vertical—but it will not heal us (make us whole).

Injuries that happened years ago, that we haven’t even thought about, pains we’ve completely forgotten still exist in the body, shadow us.

Eventually, we end up with so many cross-linkings of patterns of compensation, all interconnecting and sometimes triggering old feelings and memories, that we become weighed down by all this stuff. Bodywork can be a clearing out of the debris.

©2018 by Tara Lewis. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Healing Arts Press. www.InnerTraditions.com
 

Article Source

The Thompson Method of Bodywork: Structural Alignment, Core Strength, and Emotional Release
by Cathy Thompson and Tara Thompson Lewis

The Thompson Method of Bodywork: Structural Alignment, Core Strength, and Emotional Release by Cathy Thompson and Tara Thompson LewisDeveloped by Cathy Thompson through her many years as a bodywork therapist, the Thompson Method incorporates Zen shiatsu, Rolfing, yoga, and Gestalt psychotherapy to heal pain in the physical body both through bodywork and by recognizing the emotional blockages that often underlie chronic pain, tension, and poor alignment. In this practical manual, Thompson and her protégé-daughter Tara Thompson Lewis provide a deep understanding of body mechanics and how to work with emotions through the body. They explore how to listen to the body’s signals to discover our physical and emotional blindspots--the weaknesses and misalignments at the root of our discomfort--and explain how transformation of your physical structure can correct imbalances in the unconscious mind caused by repressed memories and emotional traumas.

Click here for more info and/or to order this paperback book  (or the Kindle edition)

About the Authors

Cathy ThompsonCathy Thompson (1957-2008) was an innovative bodywork practitioner with a private practice in Manhattan for 30 years. She worked with many famous singers, actors, athletes, and dancers. She studied Ohashiatsu at the Ohashi Institute and Gestalt psychotherapy at the Gestalt Institute of New York. She also taught workshops and trained students in the Thompson Method.

Tara Thompson LewisTara Thompson Lewis studied the Thompson Method intensively with her mother and was a Brooke Scholar at Oxford University before taking over her mother’s private bodywork practice.

Related Books

Healing with the Chakra Energy System: Acupressure, Bodywork, and Reflexology for Total Health
healthAuthor: John R. Cross
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: North Atlantic Books
List Price: $22.95

Buy Now

Rosen Method Bodywork: Accessing the Unconscious through Touch
healthAuthor: Marion Rosen
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: North Atlantic Books
List Price: $16.95

Buy Now

The Art of Spiritual Healing (new edition): Chakra and Energy Bodywork
healthAuthor: Keith Sherwood
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Llewellyn Publications
List Price: $17.99

Buy Now

health
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}