لماذا تشتعل الحرائق في أعالي الجبال علامة واضحة على تغير المناخ

yv27nbnoz3

يبدو أن الولايات المتحدة الغربية تتجه نحو اتجاه آخر موسم حرائق خطير، وأظهرت دراسة جديدة أنه حتى المناطق الجبلية المرتفعة التي كانت تعتبر في يوم من الأيام رطبة جدًا بحيث لا يمكن حرقها ، فإنها تتعرض لمخاطر متزايدة مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة المناخ.

ما يقرب من ثلثي غرب الولايات المتحدة في الجفاف الشديد إلى الاستثنائي الآن ، بما في ذلك أجزاء كبيرة من جبال روكي وكاسكيدس وسييرا نيفادا. الوضع خطير للغاية لدرجة أن حوض نهر كولورادو على وشك الحدوث أول إعلان رسمي عن نقص المياه، وتوحي التوقعات صيف آخر حار وجاف هو في الطريق.

مثل هذه الظروف الدافئة والجافة وصفة لكارثة حرائق الغابات.

في باقة دراسة جديدة نُشر في 24 مايو 2021 ، في وقائع الأكاديمية الوطنية للعلوم ، فريقنا النار و علماء المناخ والمهندسين وجد أن حرائق الغابات تصل الآن إلى ارتفاعات أعلى ، وعادة ما تكون أكثر رطوبة. وهم يحترقون هناك بمعدلات غير مسبوقة في تاريخ الحرائق الحديث.

بينما يركز بعض الناس على إخماد الحرائق التاريخي وغيرها من ممارسات إدارة الغابات كأسباب لتفاقم مشكلة الحرائق في الغرب ، لم يكن لهذه الغابات المرتفعة تدخل بشري يذكر. تقدم النتائج مؤشرا واضحا على أن تغير المناخ يمكّن هذه الغابات الرطبة عادة من الاحتراق.

مع زحف حرائق الغابات إلى أعلى الجبال ، فإن عُشر مساحة الغابات في الغرب معرضة الآن للخطر ، وفقًا لدراستنا. وهذا يخلق مخاطر جديدة للمجتمعات الجبلية ، مع تأثيرات على إمدادات المياه عند المصب والنباتات والحياة البرية التي تعتبر هذه الغابات موطنًا لها.

لماذا تشتعل الحرائق في أعالي الجبال علامة واضحة على تغير المناخ تقدمت حرائق الغابات إلى ارتفاعات أعلى مع جفاف المناخ من عام 1984 إلى عام 2017. كل 200 متر يساوي 656 قدمًا. مجتبى صادق, CC BY-ND

ارتفاع مخاطر الحريق في الجبال العالية

في مجلة دراسة جديدة، قمنا بتحليل سجلات جميع الحرائق الأكبر من 1,000 فدان (405 هكتارات) في المناطق الجبلية في غرب الولايات المتحدة المتاخم بين عامي 1984 و 2017.

زادت مساحة الأرض المحترقة عبر جميع الارتفاعات خلال تلك الفترة ، لكن الزيادة الأكبر حدثت فوق 8,200 قدم (2,500 متر). لوضع هذا الارتفاع في المنظور ، تقع دنفر - المدينة التي يبلغ ارتفاعها ميلاً - على ارتفاع 5,280 قدمًا ، وأسبن ، كولورادو ، على ارتفاع 8,000 قدم. هذه المناطق المرتفعة هي إلى حد كبير جبال وغابات نائية مع بعض المجتمعات الصغيرة ومناطق التزلج.

المنطقة المحترقة فوق 8,200،2001 قدم أكثر من ثلاثة أضعاف في 2017-1984 مقارنة مع 2000-XNUMX.

تظهر نتائجنا أن ارتفاع درجة حرارة المناخ قد قلل من حاجز القابلية للاشتعال المرتفع - النقطة التي كانت فيها الغابات تاريخيًا رطبة جدًا بحيث لا يمكن حرقها بانتظام لأن الثلوج كانت عادة ما تبقى لفترة طويلة في الصيف وبدأت في السقوط مرة أخرى في وقت مبكر من الخريف. تقدمت الحرائق على ارتفاع حوالي 826 قدمًا (252 مترًا) صعودًا في الجبال الغربية خلال تلك العقود الثلاثة.

وقت الاستحمام اصبح اكثر متعة كاميرون بيك فاير في كولورادو في عام 2020 كان أكبر حريق تشهده الولاية في تاريخها ، حيث احترق أكثر من 208,000 فدان (84,200 هكتار) وهو مثال رئيسي على حريق غابات مرتفع. اشتعلت النيران في غابات تمتد إلى 12,000 قدم (3,650 مترًا) ووصلت إلى خط الأشجار العلوي لجبال روكي.

لقد وجدنا أن درجات الحرارة المرتفعة في السنوات الـ 34 الماضية ساعدت في توسيع منطقة الحريق في الغرب إلى 31,470 ميلًا مربعًا إضافيًا (81,500 كيلومترًا مربعًا) من الغابات الشاهقة. وهذا يعني أن 11٪ من جميع غابات غرب الولايات المتحدة - مساحة مماثلة في الحجم لولاية ساوث كارولينا - معرضة للحرائق الآن لم تكن قبل ثلاثة عقود.

لا يمكن إلقاء اللوم على إخماد النيران هنا

في الغابات ذات الارتفاعات المنخفضة ، تساهم عدة عوامل في نشاط الحرائق ، بما في ذلك وجود المزيد من الأشخاص في مناطق الأراضي البرية وتاريخ إخماد الحرائق.

في أوائل القرن العشرين ، كلف الكونجرس دائرة الغابات الأمريكية بـ إدارة حرائق الغابات، مما أدى إلى التركيز على إخماد الحرائق - وهي سياسة استمرت خلال السبعينيات. وقد تسبب هذا في تراكم الفرشاة السفلية القابلة للاشتعال والتي عادة ما يتم إزالتها عن طريق الحرائق الطبيعية العرضية. ارتبطت الزيادة في الكتلة الحيوية في العديد من الغابات المنخفضة الارتفاع عبر الغرب بزيادة في حرائق شديدة الخطورة وحرائق ضخمة. في نفس الوقت، أدى ارتفاع درجة حرارة المناخ إلى جفاف الغابات في غرب الولايات المتحدةمما يجعلها أكثر عرضة للحرائق الكبيرة.

لماذا تشتعل الحرائق في أعالي الجبال علامة واضحة على تغير المناخ في المتوسط ​​، انتشرت الحرائق على ارتفاع 826 قدمًا (252 مترًا) في الجبال في العقود الأخيرة ، مما أدى إلى تعريض 31,400 ميل مربع (81,500 كيلومتر مربع) من الغابات للحرائق. مجتبى صادق, CC BY-ND

من خلال التركيز على حرائق المرتفعات ، في المناطق ذات التاريخ القليل من إخماد الحرائق ، يمكننا أن نرى بوضوح تأثير تغير المناخ.

لم تتعرض معظم الغابات المرتفعة للكثير من عمليات إخماد الحرائق أو قطع الأشجار أو غيرها من الأنشطة البشرية ، ولأن الأشجار الموجودة على هذه المرتفعات العالية توجد في غابات رطبة ، فقد كان لها تاريخياً فترة طويلة فترات العودة بين الحرائق، عادة قرن أو أكثر. ومع ذلك ، فقد شهدوا أعلى معدل زيادة في نشاط الحرائق في السنوات الـ 34 الماضية. وجدنا أن الزيادة ترتبط ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالاحترار الملحوظ.

لماذا تشتعل الحرائق في أعالي الجبال علامة واضحة على تغير المناخ

قبل عام 1983 ، لم تتعقب وكالات مكافحة حرائق الغابات الفيدرالية بيانات حرائق الغابات الرسمية باستخدام عمليات الإبلاغ الحالية.  
الرسم البياني: المحادثة / CC-BY-ND المصدر: المركز الوطني للتنسيق بين الوكالات 

حرائق الجبال العالية تخلق مشاكل جديدة

حرائق المرتفعات لها آثار على النظم الطبيعية والبشرية.

الجبال العالية هي أبراج مياه طبيعية توفر عادةً مصدرًا مستدامًا للمياه لملايين الأشخاص في أشهر الصيف الجافة في غرب الولايات المتحدة.تؤثر الندوب التي تتركها حرائق الغابات - المعروفة باسم ندوب الحروق - على مقدار تراكم الثلوج في المرتفعات العالية. هذا يمكن أن يؤثر على التوقيت ، الجودة و كمية الماء التي تصل إلى الخزانات والأنهار في اتجاه مجرى النهر.

تعمل الحرائق عالية الارتفاع أيضًا على إزالة الأشجار الدائمة التي تعمل كنقاط تثبيت تعمل عادةً على تثبيت كتلة الثلج ، يزيد من مخاطر الانهيارات الثلجية.

يؤدي فقدان مظلة الأشجار أيضًا إلى تعريض الجداول الجبلية للشمس ، زيادة درجات حرارة الماء في مجاري المياه الباردة. يمكن أن تؤدي زيادة درجات حرارة الجدول إلى الإضرار بالأسماك والحياة البرية الكبيرة والحيوانات المفترسة التي تعتمد عليها.

يؤدي تغير المناخ إلى زيادة مخاطر الحرائق في العديد من المناطق في جميع أنحاء العالم ، و تظهر الدراسات أن هذا الاتجاه سيستمر مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة الكوكب. زيادة الحرائق في الجبال العالية هو تحذير آخر لغرب الولايات المتحدة وأماكن أخرى من المخاطر المقبلة مع تغير المناخ.

عن المؤلفين

مجتبى صادق، أستاذ مساعد في الهندسة المدنية ، جامعة ولاية بويز; جون أباتسغلو، أستاذ مساعد في الهندسة ، جامعة كاليفورنيا، ميرسيدو محمد رضا علي زاده، دكتوراه. طالب في الهندسة ، جامعة ماكغيل

كتب ذات صلة

تغير المناخ: ما يحتاج الجميع إلى معرفته

جوزيف روم
0190866101التمهيدي الأساسي على ما سيكون موضوع تعريف عصرنا ، تغير المناخ: ما يحتاج الجميع إلى معرفته هي نظرة عامة واضحة على العلوم والصراعات والآثار المترتبة على كوكبنا الدافئ. من جوزيف روم ، كبير مستشاري العلوم في ناشيونال جيوغرافيك سنوات من العيش تحت الخطر سلسلة واحدة من "الناس 100 الذين يغيرون أمريكا" في رولينج ستون تغير المناخ يقدم إجابات سهلة الاستخدام وصارمة من الناحية العلمية على أصعب الأسئلة (وأكثرها تسييسًا) المحيطة بما اعتبره عالم المناخ لوني تومبسون "خطرًا واضحًا وحاضرًا على الحضارة". متاح في أمازون

تغير المناخ: علم الاحترار العالمي ومستقبل طاقتنا الطبعة الثانية

بقلم جيسون سميردون
0231172834هذه الطبعة الثانية من تغير المناخ هو دليل يمكن الوصول إليها وشاملة للعلوم وراء الاحتباس الحراري. يتضح بشكل رائع ، يتم توجيه النص نحو الطلاب في مجموعة متنوعة من المستويات. يقدم كل من إدموند ماثيز وجايسون سميردون مقدمة واسعة ومفيدة للعلم الذي يقوم عليه فهمنا لنظام المناخ وتأثيرات النشاط البشري على ارتفاع حرارة كوكبنا. يصف ماثيز وسميردون الأدوار التي يقوم بها الغلاف الجوي والمحيطات. لعب في مناخنا ، وإدخال مفهوم توازن الإشعاع ، وشرح التغيرات المناخية التي حدثت في الماضي. كما أنها توضح بالتفصيل الأنشطة البشرية التي تؤثر على المناخ ، مثل انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة والهباء الجوي وإزالة الغابات ، وكذلك آثار الظواهر الطبيعية.  متاح في أمازون

علم تغير المناخ: دورة تدريبية عملية

بقلم بلير لي ، ألينا باخمان
194747300Xيستخدم علم تغير المناخ: دورة تدريبية عملية النص و 18 نشاطًا عمليًا لشرح وتعليم علم الاحترار العالمي وتغير المناخ ، وكيف يتحمل البشر المسؤولية ، وما الذي يمكن فعله لإبطاء أو إيقاف معدل الاحترار العالمي وتغير المناخ. هذا الكتاب هو دليل كامل وشامل لموضوع بيئي أساسي. تشمل الموضوعات التي يتناولها هذا الكتاب ما يلي: كيف تنقل الجزيئات الطاقة من الشمس لتسخين الغلاف الجوي ، وغازات الدفيئة ، وتأثير الاحتباس الحراري ، والاحتباس الحراري ، والثورة الصناعية ، ورد فعل الاحتراق ، وحلقات التغذية الراجعة ، والعلاقة بين الطقس والمناخ ، وتغير المناخ ، أحواض الكربون ، الانقراض ، بصمة الكربون ، إعادة التدوير ، والطاقة البديلة. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

 

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

 


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

أصوات INNERSELF

مجموعة من الأشخاص يركبون المنحدرات في طوف
قوة الضعف: ركوب منحدرات الحياة
by باري Vissell
ما ينفعني حقًا هو قبول ضعفي ، وعجزتي ، وأن لدي حقًا ...
ملاحظات من نوفا سكوشا إلى فلوريدا والعودة
ملاحظات من نوفا سكوشا إلى فلوريدا والعودة
by روبرت جينينغز ، Innerself.com
نوفا سكوشا هي مقاطعة كندية يبلغ تعداد سكانها حوالي 1,000,000،XNUMX،XNUMX نسمة ، ومقاطعة موطننا في فلوريدا لديها ...
كيفية التأكد من أن "الحظ" هو على جانبك
كيفية التأكد من أن "الحظ" هو على جانبك
by ماري رسل
"إنه محظوظ جدًا! إنها تفوز دائمًا! أنا لست محظوظًا!" هل تبدو هذه العبارات مألوفة؟ هل لديهم…
وجه امرأة تطفو في الماء
كيف تنمي الشجاعة وتخرج من منطقة الراحة الخاصة بك
by بيتر روبرت
لا تعني الشجاعة أن تكون شجاعًا في مواجهة موقف مخيف. إنها الرغبة في التحرك ...
نباتات البابونج في الإزهار
الأبراج الحالية الأسبوع: يوليو 26 - أغسطس 1 ، 2021
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
تستند هذه المجلة الفلكية الأسبوعية إلى تأثيرات الكواكب ، وتقدم وجهات نظر و ...
وجود الشجاعة للعيش في الحياة واسأل عما تحتاجه أو تريده.
وجود الشجاعة للعيش في الحياة واسأل عما تحتاجه أو تريده
by ايمي السمك
تحتاج إلى الشجاعة لتعيش الحياة. يتضمن ذلك تعلم السؤال عما تحتاجه أو ...
أغمي على رجل على طاولة مع زجاجة كحول فارغة وطفل ينظر إليه
هل يمكن لعقار إل إس دي أن يعالج "المرض الروحي" للإدمان على الكحول؟
by توماس هاتسيس
ابتداءً من أواخر الخمسينيات من القرن الماضي ، قدمت خمسة مستشفيات (في مقاطعة ساسكاتشوان في كندا) ...
المرأة الحامل جالسة ويدها على بطنها
نصائح أساسية للرحلة: تخلص من الخوف واعتني بنفسك
by بيلي جاديس
يؤدي قمع المشاعر التي يسببها الخوف إلى بث الحياة فيها ، وغالبًا ما يتسبب في مظهر من مظاهر ...

إلهام ماري تي راسل اليومي

الأكثر قراءة

لا تسمع شرًا ، ولا ترى شرًا ، ولا تتكلم بصورة شريرة عن الأطفال
إنكار الموت: هل لا توجد أخبار جيدة؟
by مارجريت Coberly، دكتوراه، RN
معظم الناس معتادون بشدة على إنكار الموت لدرجة أنه عندما يظهر الموت يتم القبض عليهم ...
وجود الشجاعة للعيش في الحياة واسأل عما تحتاجه أو تريده.
وجود الشجاعة للعيش في الحياة واسأل عما تحتاجه أو تريده
by ايمي السمك
تحتاج إلى الشجاعة لتعيش الحياة. يتضمن ذلك تعلم السؤال عما تحتاجه أو ...
كيف ترتبط الحياة على الساحل بضعف الصحة
كيف ترتبط الحياة على الساحل بضعف الصحة
by جاكي كاسيل ، أستاذ وبائيات الرعاية الأولية ، استشاري فخري في الصحة العامة ، كلية الطب في برايتون وساسكس
تدهورت الاقتصادات المحفوفة بالمخاطر للعديد من المدن الساحلية التقليدية أكثر منذ ...
كتابة الحروف باليد هي أفضل طريقة لتعلم القراءة
كتابة الحروف باليد هي أفضل طريقة لتعلم القراءة
by جيل روزين ، جامعة جونز هوبكنز
تساعد الكتابة اليدوية الأشخاص على تعلم مهارات القراءة بشكل أسرع وأفضل بكثير من ...
صورة لكوكب المشتري على أفق شاطئ صخري للمحيط
هل كوكب المشتري هو كوكب الأمل أم كوكب السخط؟
by ستيفن فورست وجيفري وولف جرين
في الحلم الأمريكي كما هو مزعج حاليًا ، نحاول القيام بأمرين: كسب المال وخسارة ...
رش البعوض 07 20
هذه الملابس الجديدة الخالية من المبيدات الحشرية تمنع 100٪ من لدغات البعوض
by لورا أولينياكز ، ولاية نورث كارولاينا
ملابس جديدة خالية من مبيدات الحشرات ومقاومة للبعوض مصنوعة من مواد أكدها الباحثون ...
اختبر إبداعك
إليك كيفية اختبار إمكاناتك الإبداعية
by فريدريك مازيرول ، جامعة ماكجيل
تمرين بسيط لتسمية الكلمات غير ذات الصلة ثم قياس المسافة الدلالية بينها ...
طفلان يقرآن كتابًا مع والدهما
يبدأ التعاطف مبكرًا: 5 كتب مصورة أسترالية تحتفل بالتنوع
by بينغ تيان ، جامعة سيدني وهيلين كابلي ، جامعة نيو ساوث ويلز
التعرض المبكر لشخصيات القصة المتنوعة ، بما في ذلك العرق والجنس والقدرة ، يساعد الشباب ...

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Why Fires Burning Higher In The Mountains Are A Clear Sign Of Climate Change

yv27nbnoz3

The Western U.S. appears headed for another dangerous fire season, and a new study shows that even high mountain areas once considered too wet to burn are at increasing risk as the climate warms.

Nearly two-thirds of the U.S. West is in severe to exceptional drought right now, including large parts of the Rocky Mountains, Cascades and Sierra Nevada. The situation is so severe that the Colorado River basin is on the verge of its first official water shortage declaration, and forecasts suggest another hot, dry summer is on the way.

Warm and dry conditions like these are a recipe for wildfire disaster.

In a new study published May 24, 2021, in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, our team of fire and climate scientists and engineers found that forest fires are now reaching higher, normally wetter elevations. And they are burning there at rates unprecedented in recent fire history.

While some people focus on historical fire suppression and other forest management practices as reasons for the West’s worsening fire problem, these high-elevation forests have had little human intervention. The results provide a clear indication that climate change is enabling these normally wet forests to burn.

As wildfires creep higher up mountains, another tenth of the West’s forest area is now at risk, according to our study. That creates new hazards for mountain communities, with impacts on downstream water supplies and the plants and wildlife that call these forests home.

Why Fires Burning Higher In The Mountains Are A Clear Sign Of Climate Change Forest fires advanced to higher elevations as the climate dried from 1984 to 2017. Every 200 meters equals 656 feet. Mojtaba Sadegh, CC BY-ND

Rising fire risk in the high mountains

In the new study, we analyzed records of all fires larger than 1,000 acres (405 hectares) in the mountainous regions of the contiguous Western U.S. between 1984 and 2017.

The amount of land that burned increased across all elevations during that period, but the largest increase occurred above 8,200 feet (2,500 meters). To put that elevation into perspective, Denver – the mile-high city – sits at 5,280 feet, and Aspen, Colorado, is at 8,000 feet. These high-elevation areas are largely remote mountains and forests with some small communities and ski areas.

The area burning above 8,200 feet more than tripled in 2001-2017 compared with 1984-2000.

Our results show that climate warming has diminished the high-elevation flammability barrier – the point where forests historically were too wet to burn regularly because the snow normally lingered well into summer and started falling again early in the fall. Fires advanced about 826 feet (252 meters) uphill in the Western mountains over those three decades.

The Cameron Peak Fire in Colorado in 2020 was the state’s largest fire in its history, burning over 208,000 acres (84,200 hectares) and is a prime example of a high-elevation forest fire. The fire burned in forests extending to 12,000 feet (3,650 meters) and reached the upper tree line of the Rocky Mountains.

We found that rising temperatures in the past 34 years have helped to extend the fire territory in the West to an additional 31,470 square miles (81,500 square kilometers) of high-elevation forests. That means a staggering 11% of all Western U.S. forests – an area similar in size to South Carolina – are susceptible to fire now that weren’t three decades ago.

Can’t blame fire suppression here

In lower-elevation forests, several factors contribute to fire activity, including the presence of more people in wildland areas and a history of fire suppression.

In the early 1900s, Congress commissioned the U.S. Forest Service to manage forest fires, which resulted in a focus on suppressing fires – a policy that continued through the 1970s. This caused flammable underbrush that would normally be cleared out by occasional natural blazes to accumulate. The increase in biomass in many lower elevation forests across the West has been associated with increases in high-severity fires and megafires. At the same time, climate warming has dried out forests in the Western U.S., making them more prone to large fires.

Why Fires Burning Higher In The Mountains Are A Clear Sign Of Climate Change On average, fires have spread 826 feet (252 meters) higher into the mountains in recent decades, exposing an additional 31,400 square miles (81,500 square kilometers) of forests to fire. Mojtaba Sadegh, CC BY-ND

By focusing on high-elevation fires, in areas with little history of fire suppression, we can more clearly see the influence of climate change.

Most high-elevation forests haven’t been subjected to much fire suppression, logging or other human activities, and because trees at these high elevations are in wetter forests, they historically have long return intervals between fires, typically a century or more. Yet they experienced the highest rate of increase in fire activity in the past 34 years. We found that the increase is strongly correlated with the observed warming.

Why Fires Burning Higher In The Mountains Are A Clear Sign Of Climate Change

Prior to 1983, federal wildland fire agencies did not track official wildfire data using current reporting processes.  
Chart: The Conversation/CC-BY-ND Source: National Interagency Coordination Center 

High mountain fires create new problems

High-elevation fires have implications for natural and human systems.

High mountains are natural water towers that normally provide a sustained source of water to millions of people in dry summer months in the Western U.S. The scars that wildfires leave behind – known as burn scars – affect how much snow can accumulate at high elevations. This can influence the timing, quality and quantity of water that reaches reservoirs and rivers downstream.

High-elevation fires also remove standing trees that act as anchor points that normally stabilize the snowpack, raising the risk of avalanches.

The loss of tree canopy also exposes mountain streams to the Sun, increasing water temperatures in the cold headwater streams. Increasing stream temperatures can harm fish and the larger wildlife and predators that rely on them.

Climate change is increasing fire risk in many regions across the globe, and studies show that this trend will continue as the planet warms. The increase in fires in the high mountains is another warning to the U.S. West and elsewhere of the risks ahead as the climate changes.

About The Authors

Mojtaba Sadegh, Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering, Boise State University; John Abatzoglou, Associate Professor of Engineering, University of California, Merced, and Mohammad Reza Alizadeh, Ph.D. Student in Engineering, McGill University

Related Books

Climate Change: What Everyone Needs to Know

by Joseph Romm
0190866101The essential primer on what will be the defining issue of our time, Climate Change: What Everyone Needs to Know® is a clear-eyed overview of the science, conflicts, and implications of our warming planet. From Joseph Romm, Chief Science Advisor for National Geographic's Years of Living Dangerously series and one of Rolling Stone's "100 people who are changing America," Climate Change offers user-friendly, scientifically rigorous answers to the most difficult (and commonly politicized) questions surrounding what climatologist Lonnie Thompson has deemed "a clear and present danger to civilization.". Available On Amazon

Climate Change: The Science of Global Warming and Our Energy Future second edition Edition

by Jason Smerdon
0231172834This second edition of Climate Change is an accessible and comprehensive guide to the science behind global warming. Exquisitely illustrated, the text is geared toward students at a variety of levels. Edmond A. Mathez and Jason E. Smerdon provide a broad, informative introduction to the science that underlies our understanding of the climate system and the effects of human activity on the warming of our planet.Mathez and Smerdon describe the roles that the atmosphere and ocean play in our climate, introduce the concept of radiation balance, and explain climate changes that occurred in the past. They also detail the human activities that influence the climate, such as greenhouse gas and aerosol emissions and deforestation, as well as the effects of natural phenomena.  Available On Amazon

The Science of Climate Change: A Hands-On Course

by Blair Lee, Alina Bachmann
194747300XThe Science of Climate Change: A Hands-On Course uses text and eighteen hands-on activities to explain and teach the science of global warming and climate change, how humans are responsible, and what can be done to slow or stop the rate of global warming and climate change. This book is a complete, comprehensive guide to an essential environmental topic. Subjects covered in this book include: how molecules transfer energy from the sun to warm the atmosphere, greenhouse gases, the greenhouse effect, global warming, the Industrial Revolution, the combustion reaction, feedback loops, the relationship between weather and climate, climate change, carbon sinks, extinction, carbon footprint, recycling, and alternative energy. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

 


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

INNERSELF VOICES

illustration of a film strip with various scenic pictures on each frame
Designing a New Future for Yourself
by Carl Greer PhD, PsyD
In the physical world, things have a past and a future, a beginning, and an end. For example, I’m…
teacher standing in front of students in an open classroom
Becoming Passionate About Public Education Again
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
We are almost all lucky to have someone in our lives to encourage and motivate us and try to show…
Aurora photo by Valerie Pond, October 10, 2021, Yellowknife, NT, Canada
Horoscope Current Week: October 11 - 17, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Flower growing through a chain-link fence
So Many Questions... So Many Answers?
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
We go through life with so many questions. Some are simple. What day is it? What will I have for…
rainbow over a field
Give Yourself Time, Be Kind, and Heal in Your Own Way
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Unfortunately many of us have become victims of instant gratification. We want to succeed and we…
woman's head with a crack and with tree growing from the back of her head
Opening to a Whole New Way of Being
by Rabbi Wayne Dosick
Sometimes a pandemic—no matter how devastating—is just a pandemic. But sometimes— most times—it is…
Image of an open book floating in the sky with a tree growing out of the open book
Do You Believe in Miracles?
by Barry Vissell
Albert Einstein famously said, "There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing…
a rainbow in the palm of an open hand
Finding Silver Linings and Rainbows
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Be open to discovering the gifts life is offering you -- expect silver linings and rainbows, be on…
Spirit Touching Briefly into Form: Wisdom from a Damselfly
Spirit Touching Briefly into Form: Wisdom from a Damselfly
by Nancy Windheart
As I waded into the cold water, I noticed the body of a blue pond damselfly floating on the…
When You Can't Make Up Your Mind
When You Can't Make Up Your Mind
by Jude Bijou, M.A., M.F.T.
Whether you're endlessly agonizing over an issue, it's a tough place to hang out. Maybe this, maybe…
We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
by Pierre Pradervand
How I see my life path is a choice I make minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day… And this…

MOST READ

How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
by Jackie Cassell, Professor of Primary Care Epidemiology, Honorary Consultant in Public Health, Brighton and Sussex Medical School
The precarious economies of many traditional seaside towns have declined still further since the…
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
by Sonja Grace
As you experience being an earth angel, you will discover that the path of service is riddled with…
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
by Barbara Berger
One of the biggest things I've discovered working with clients everyday is how extremely difficult…
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
by Lucy Delap, University of Cambridge
The 1970s anti-sexist men’s movement had an infrastructure of magazines, conferences, men’s centres…
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
by Susan Campbell, Ph.D.
According to most of the singles I have met in my travels, the typical dating situation is fraught…
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
by Glen Park
Flamenco dancing is a delight to watch. A good flamenco dancer exudes an exuberant self-confidence…
Giving Up All Hope Could Be Beneficial For You
Giving Up All Hope Could Be Beneficial For You
by Jude Bijou, M.A., M.F.T.
If you're waiting for a change and frustrated it's not happening, maybe it would be beneficial to…
An Astrologer introduces the Nine Dangers of Astrology
An Astrologer introduces the Nine Dangers of Astrology
by Tracy Marks
Astrology is a powerful art, capable of enhancing our lives by enabling us to understand our own…

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.