Warum Plastik sehr sparsam eingesetzt werden muss

Plastikflaschen aufgereiht auf einer Theke
Bild von Publicdomain 

Forscher haben gezeigt, dass die Auswirkungen von Kunststoffen auf Klima und Gesundheit aufgrund des verstärkten Einsatzes von Kohle für Prozesswärme, Strom und als Rohstoff in der Produktion größer sind als ursprünglich angenommen.

Kunststoffe sind nützlich, billig und äußerst beliebt. Die weltweite Nachfrage nach ihnen hat sich in den letzten vierzig Jahren vervierfacht und wird voraussichtlich weiter steigen, mit negativen Folgen für die Umwelt und die menschliche Gesundheit.

Die Öffentlichkeit ist sich der Umweltbelastung durch Kunststoffe bewusst, insbesondere am Ende ihres Lebenszyklus, wenn sie beispielsweise bei der Verbrennung Treibhausgase und Luftschadstoffe freisetzen oder Wasser und Boden in Form von Mikroplastik.

Kunststoffproduktion und Klima

Auch die Forschung zu den weltweiten Umweltauswirkungen von Kunststoffen hat sich vor allem auf die Entsorgungsphase konzentriert. Über die Herstellung von Kunststoffen, die sich auch auf das Klima und die Luftqualität auswirkt, gibt es nur wenige Studien. Eine derart tiefgreifende Analyse erfordert jedoch detaillierte Informationen über Lieferketten und Prozesse, um die relevanten Stoff- und Energieflüsse nachzuvollziehen.

„Bisher geht man vereinfacht davon aus, dass für die Herstellung von Kunststoffen in etwa so viel fossile Ressourcen benötigt werden, wie in Kunststoffen enthaltene Rohstoffe – insbesondere Erdöl“, sagt Livia Cabernard, Doktorandin am Institute of Science, Technology and Policy (ISTP) an der ETH Zürich. Das Problem dabei ist, dass die relative Bedeutung von Produktion versus Entsorgung deutlich unterschätzt wurde.

In akribischer Detektivarbeit analysierten die Forscher die Klima- und Gesundheitsauswirkungen der globalen Kunststofflieferkette über einen Zeitraum von 20 Jahren.

In einer kürzlich veröffentlichten Studie Natur Nachhaltigkeitzeigen die Forscher, dass sich der globale CO1995-Fußabdruck von Kunststoffen seit 2.2 verdoppelt hat und 2 2 Milliarden Tonnen CO2015-Äquivalent (CO4.5e) erreichte. Das entspricht 70 % der weltweiten Treibhausgasemissionen und ist mehr als bisher angenommen. Im gleichen Zeitraum hat sich der weltweite Gesundheits-Fußabdruck von Kunststoffen durch Feinstaub-Luftverschmutzung um 2.2 % erhöht, was im Jahr 2015 etwa XNUMX Millionen behinderungsbereinigte Lebensjahre (DALYs) verursacht hat.

Für ihre Studie ermittelte das Team die Treibhausgasemissionen, die im gesamten Lebenszyklus von Kunststoffen – von der Gewinnung fossiler Ressourcen über die Verarbeitung zu Produktklassen und die Nutzung bis hin zum Ende des Lebenszyklus, einschließlich Recycling, Verbrennung und Deponierung.

Als Hauptursache für den wachsenden COXNUMX-Fußabdruck von Kunststoffen identifizieren die Forscher die boomende Kunststoffproduktion in kohlebasierten Schwellenländern wie China, Indien, Indonesien und Südafrika. Die zur Herstellung von Kunststoffen in diesen Ländern benötigte Energie und Prozesswärme stammt hauptsächlich aus der Verbrennung von Kohle. Ein geringer Anteil Kohle wird auch als Rohstoff für Kunststoffe verwendet.

Kohlebasierte Emissionen aus Kunststoffen

„Der kunststoffbezogene CO50-Fußabdruck des chinesischen Transportsektors, der indonesischen Elektronikindustrie und der indischen Bauindustrie hat sich seit 1995 mehr als verfünffacht“, erklärt Cabernard. Weltweit kohlebasierte Emissionen aus Kunststoffen Produktion haben sich seit 1995 vervierfacht und machen heute fast die Hälfte des globalen COXNUMX-Fußabdrucks von Kunststoffen aus.


 Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

Wöchentliches Magazin Tägliche Inspiration

Beim Verbrennen von Kohle entstehen feinste Partikel, die sich in der Luft ansammeln. Solche Feinstaub ist sehr gesundheitsschädlich und kann Asthma, Bronchitis und Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen verursachen. Da immer mehr Kohle für Prozesswärme und Strom sowie als Rohstoff für die Kunststoffproduktion verwendet wird, nehmen auch die negativen Folgen für die Gesundheit zu.

Im Gegensatz zu früheren Schätzungen, die bei der Herstellung von Kunststoffen von einem gleichen Verbrauch an Brenn- und Rohstoffen ausgingen, haben die Forscher nun nachgewiesen, dass bei der Kunststoffherstellung doppelt so viel fossile Energie verbrannt wird, wie als Rohstoff in Kunststoffen enthalten ist.

Dies hat Auswirkungen auf die Bewertung der Umweltfolgen. „Selbst in einem Worst-Case-Szenario, in dem alle Kunststoffe verbrannt werden, macht ihre Herstellung den Löwenanteil der gesamten Treibhausgas- und Feinstaubemissionen aus“, sagt Cabernard. Die gesamte Produktionsphase von Kunststoffen ist für den überwiegenden Teil (96%) des COXNUMX-Fußabdrucks von Kunststoffen verantwortlich.

Bisher gab es nur eine Publikation, die den globalen COXNUMX-Fußabdruck der Kunststoffproduktion untersuchte. „Diese Studie hat die Treibhausgasemissionen jedoch unterschätzt, weil sie die zunehmende Abhängigkeit von Kohle durch die Auslagerung von Produktionsprozessen in kohlebasierte Länder nicht berücksichtigt“, erklärt Cabernard.

Die Forscher nutzten für ihre Studie eine neue Methode, die Cabernard zuvor in ihrer Doktorarbeit unter der Leitung von Stephan Pfister, Senior Scientist am ISTP, und Stefanie Hellweg, Professorin für Ökologisches Systemdesign am Institut für Umweltingenieurwesen, entwickelt hatte. Dieser Ansatz beinhaltet eine multiregionale Input-Output-Analyse, die globale Wertschöpfungsketten von der Produktion bis zum Verbrauch über Branchen, Länder und Regionen hinweg genau abbildet.

Quelle: ETH Zürich, Original-Studie

Bücher zum Thema

 

Der menschliche Schwarm: Wie unsere Gesellschaften entstehen, gedeihen und fallen

0465055680von Mark W. Moffett
Wenn ein Schimpanse das Territorium einer anderen Gruppe betritt, wird er mit ziemlicher Sicherheit getötet. Aber ein New Yorker kann mit sehr wenig Angst nach Los Angeles - oder Borneo - fliegen. Psychologen haben wenig getan, um dies zu erklären: Sie haben jahrelang festgestellt, dass unsere Biologie die Größe unserer sozialen Gruppen stark einschränkt - bei 150-Personen. Tatsächlich sind die menschlichen Gesellschaften jedoch erheblich größer. Wie schaffen wir es im Großen und Ganzen miteinander auszukommen? Der Biologe Mark W. Moffett stützt sich in diesem paradigmenschädigenden Buch auf Erkenntnisse der Psychologie, Soziologie und Anthropologie, um die sozialen Anpassungen zu erklären, die Gesellschaften binden. Er untersucht, wie die Spannung zwischen Identität und Anonymität definiert, wie sich Gesellschaften entwickeln, funktionieren und scheitern. Übertreffen Waffen, Keime und Stahl und Sapiens, Der menschliche Schwarm zeigt, wie die Menschheit weitläufige Zivilisationen von unerreichter Komplexität geschaffen hat - und was es braucht, um sie zu erhalten.   Erhältlich bei Amazon

 

Umwelt: Die Wissenschaft hinter den Geschichten

von Jay H. Withgott, Matthew Laposata
0134204883Umwelt: Die Wissenschaft hinter den Geschichten ist ein Bestseller für den Einführungskurs in die Umweltwissenschaften, der für seinen schülerfreundlichen Erzählstil, die Integration realer Geschichten und Fallstudien sowie die Präsentation der neuesten Wissenschaft und Forschung bekannt ist. Das 6th Ausgabe bietet neue Möglichkeiten, um den Studenten zu helfen, Zusammenhänge zwischen integrierten Fallstudien und der Wissenschaft in jedem Kapitel zu erkennen, und bietet ihnen die Möglichkeit, den wissenschaftlichen Prozess auf Umweltbelange anzuwenden. Erhältlich bei Amazon

 

Feasible Planet: Ein Leitfaden für ein nachhaltigeres Leben

von Ken Kroes
0995847045Sind Sie besorgt über den Zustand unseres Planeten und hoffen, dass Regierungen und Unternehmen einen nachhaltigen Weg für uns finden, um zu leben? Wenn Sie nicht zu viel darüber nachdenken, kann das funktionieren, aber wird es? Allein gelassen, mit Treibern von Popularität und Gewinn, bin ich nicht allzu überzeugt, dass es so sein wird. Der fehlende Teil dieser Gleichung sind du und ich. Personen, die glauben, dass Unternehmen und Regierungen es besser machen können. Personen, die glauben, dass wir durch Maßnahmen etwas mehr Zeit für die Entwicklung und Implementierung von Lösungen für unsere kritischen Probleme gewinnen können. Erhältlich bei Amazon

 

Vom Herausgeber:
Einkäufe bei Amazon gehen zu Lasten der Transportkosten InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, und ClimateImpactNews.com Kostenlos und ohne Werbetreibende, die Ihre Surfgewohnheiten verfolgen. Selbst wenn Sie auf einen Link klicken, aber diese ausgewählten Produkte nicht kaufen, zahlt uns alles, was Sie bei demselben Besuch bei Amazon kaufen, eine kleine Provision. Es fallen keine zusätzlichen Kosten für Sie an. Bitte tragen Sie zum Aufwand bei. Du kannst auch nutzen Sie diesen Link jederzeit für Amazon nutzbar, damit Sie unsere Bemühungen unterstützen können.


  

Weitere Artikel dieses Autors

Sie Könnten Auch Mögen

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Facebook-Symboltwitter iconyoutube iconInstagram-SymbolPintrest-SymbolRSS-Symbol

 Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

Wöchentliches Magazin Tägliche Inspiration

VERFÜGBARE SPRACHEN

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

Achtsamkeit und Tanz psychische Gesundheit 4 27
Wie Achtsamkeit und Tanz die psychische Gesundheit verbessern können
by Adrianna Mendrek, Bishop's University
Der somatosensorische Kortex galt jahrzehntelang nur als zuständig für die Verarbeitung sensorischer…
der Westen, der nie existierte 4 28
Der Oberste Gerichtshof leitet den Wilden Westen ein, der nie wirklich existiert hat
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Der Oberste Gerichtshof hat Amerika allem Anschein nach absichtlich in ein bewaffnetes Lager verwandelt.
wie Schmerzmittel wirken 4 27
Wie töten Schmerzmittel eigentlich Schmerzen?
by Rebecca Seal und Benedict Alter, University of Pittsburgh
Ohne die Fähigkeit, Schmerzen zu empfinden, ist das Leben gefährlicher. Um Verletzungen zu vermeiden, fordert uns der Schmerz auf, eine ...
wie spart man geld beim essen 0 6
So sparen Sie bei Ihrer Lebensmittelrechnung und essen trotzdem leckere, nahrhafte Mahlzeiten
by Clare Collins und Megan Whatnall, University of Newcastle
Die Lebensmittelpreise sind aus einer Reihe von Gründen gestiegen, darunter die steigenden Kosten für…
was ist mit veganem Käse 4 27
Was Sie über veganen Käse wissen sollten
by Richard Hoffman, Universität von Hertfordshire
Glücklicherweise haben die Lebensmittelhersteller dank der zunehmenden Popularität des Veganismus begonnen…
Ozeannachhaltigkeit 4 27
Die Gesundheit des Ozeans hängt von der Wirtschaft und der Idee von Infinity Fish ab
by Rashid Sumaila, University of British Columbia
Indigene Älteste teilten kürzlich ihre Bestürzung über den beispiellosen Rückgang der Lachse…
Impfstoffauffrischung bekommen 4 28
Sollten Sie jetzt eine Covid-19-Auffrischungsimpfung bekommen oder bis zum Herbst warten?
by Prakash Nagarkatti und Mitzi Nagarkatti, University of South Carolina
Während COVID-19-Impfstoffe weiterhin hochwirksam sind, um Krankenhauseinweisungen und Todesfälle zu verhindern, ist es…
Kühlkosten sparen 4 27
So sparen Sie Ihre Kühlkosten
by University of Oregon
Passive Kühlstrategien können die Belastung der Klimaanlage um bis zu 80 % reduzieren, berichten…

New Attitudes - Neue Möglichkeiten

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | Innerself Vermarkten
Copyright © 1985 - 2021 Inner Publikationen. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

Why Plastic Needs To Be Used Very Sparingly

plastic bottles lined up on a counter
Image by PublicDomainPictures 

Researchers have revealed that the impact of plastics on climate and health is bigger than originally thought due to the increased use of coal for process heat, electricity, and as a raw material in production.

Plastics are useful, cheap, and extremely popular. Global demand for them has quadrupled in the last forty years and is expected to continue to rise, with negative consequences for the environment and human health.

The public is aware of the environmental harm caused by plastics, particularly at the end of their life cycle, such as when they release greenhouse gases and air pollutants when burned, or pollute water and soil in the form of microplastics.

Production Of Plastics and Climate

Research into the global environmental impact of plastics has also focused primarily on the disposal phase. There are few studies about the production of plastics, which also affects the climate and air quality. However, such an in-depth analysis requires detailed information about supply chains and processes in order to trace the relevant material and energy flows.

“So far, the simplistic assumption has been that the production of plastics requires roughly the same amount of fossil resources as the amount of raw materials contained in plastics—particularly petroleum,” says Livia Cabernard, a doctoral student at the Institute of Science, Technology and Policy (ISTP) at ETH Zurich. The problem here is that the relative significance of production versus disposal has been significantly underestimated.

Through painstaking detective work, the researchers analyzed the climate and health impact of the global plastics supply chain over a 20-year period.

In a study recently published in Nature Sustainability, the researchers reveal that the global carbon footprint of plastics has doubled since 1995, reaching 2.2 billion tons of CO2 equivalent (CO2e) in 2015. This represents 4.5% of global greenhouse gas emissions, and is more than previously thought. Over the same period, the global health footprint of plastics from fine particulate air pollution has increased by 70%, causing approximately 2.2 million disability-adjusted life years (DALYs) in 2015.

For their study, the team determined the greenhouse gas emissions generated across the life cycle of plastics—from fossil resource extraction, to processing into product classes and use, through to end of life, including recycling, incineration, and landfill.

The researchers identify booming plastics production in coal-based, newly industrialized countries such as China, India, Indonesia, and South Africa as the main cause of the growing carbon footprint of plastics. The energy and process heat needed for the production of plastics in these countries comes primarily from the combustion of coal. A small amount of coal is also used as a raw material for plastics.

Coal-based Emissions From Plastics

“The plastics-related carbon footprint of China’s transport sector, Indonesia’s electronics industry and India’s construction industry has increased more than 50-fold since 1995,” explains Cabernard. Globally, coal-based emissions from plastics production have quadrupled since 1995 and now account for nearly half of the global carbon footprint of plastics.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

When coal is burned, it produces extremely fine particles that accumulate in the air. Such particulate matter is very harmful to health and can cause asthma, bronchitis, and cardiovascular disease. As more and more coal is used for process heat and electricity, and as a raw material in plastics production, the negative consequences for health are also increasing.

In contrast to earlier estimates, which assumed the use of equal amounts of fuel and raw materials in the production of plastics, the researchers have now proven that twice as much fossil energy is burned for plastics production as is contained as a raw material in plastics.

This affects the assessment of the environmental consequences. “Even in a worst-case scenario in which all plastics are incinerated, their production accounts for the lion’s share of total greenhouse gas and particulate matter emissions,” says Cabernard. The overall production phase of plastics is responsible for the vast majority (96%) of the carbon footprint of plastics.

There had previously only been one publication that examined the global carbon footprint of plastics production. “This study underestimated greenhouse gas emissions, however, because it did not take into account the increasing dependence on coal due to the outsourcing of production processes to coal-based countries,” Cabernard explains.

The researchers used a new method for their study that Cabernard had previously developed in her doctoral thesis under the supervision of Stephan Pfister, senior scientist at the ISTP, and Stefanie Hellweg, professor of ecological systems design at the Institute of Environmental Engineering. This approach involves a multi-regional, input-output analysis that accurately maps global value chains from production to consumption across industries, countries and regions.

Source: ETH Zurich, Original Study

Related Books

 

The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall

0465055680by Mark W. Moffett
If a chimpanzee ventures into the territory of a different group, it will almost certainly be killed. But a New Yorker can fly to Los Angeles--or Borneo--with very little fear. Psychologists have done little to explain this: for years, they have held that our biology puts a hard upper limit--about 150 people--on the size of our social groups. But human societies are in fact vastly larger. How do we manage--by and large--to get along with each other? In this paradigm-shattering book, biologist Mark W. Moffett draws on findings in psychology, sociology and anthropology to explain the social adaptations that bind societies. He explores how the tension between identity and anonymity defines how societies develop, function, and fail. Surpassing Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, The Human Swarm reveals how mankind created sprawling civilizations of unrivaled complexity--and what it will take to sustain them.   Available On Amazon

 

Environment: The Science Behind the Stories

by Jay H. Withgott, Matthew Laposata
0134204883Environment: The Science behind the Stories is a best seller for the introductory environmental science course known for its student-friendly narrative style, its integration of real stories and case studies, and its presentation of the latest science and research. The 6th Edition features new opportunities to help students see connections between integrated case studies and the science in each chapter, and provides them with opportunities to apply the scientific process to environmental concerns. Available On Amazon

 

Feasible Planet: A guide to more sustainable living

by Ken Kroes
0995847045Are you concerned about the state of our planet and hope that governments and corporations will find a sustainable way for us to live? If you do not think about it too hard, that may work, but will it? Left on their own, with drivers of popularity and profits, I am not too convinced that it will. The missing part of this equation is you and me. Individuals who believe that corporations and governments can do better. Individuals who believe that through action, we can buy a bit more time to develop and implement solutions to our critical issues. Available On Amazon

 

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.


  

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

INNERSELF VOICES

Lunar eclipse, May 12, 2022
Astrological Overview and Horoscope: May 23 - 29, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
05 21 rewilding the imagination in dangerous times 5362430 1920
Rewilding the Imagination in Dangerous Times
by Natureza Gabriel Kram
In a world that often seems intent on destroying itself, I find myself curating beauty -- the kind…
group of multi-racial individuals standing for a group photo
Seven Ways You Can Show Respect to Your Diverse Team (Video)
by Kelly McDonald
Respect is profoundly meaningful, but costs nothing to give. Here are ways you can demonstrate (and…
elephant walking in front of a setting sun
Astrological Overview and Horoscope: May 16 - 22, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
photo of Leo Buscaglia from cover of his book: Living, Loving and Learning
How to Change Someone's Life in a Few Seconds
by Joyce Vissell
My life was changed dramatically when someone took that second to point out my beauty.
a composite photograph of a total lunar eclipse
Astrological Overview and Horoscope: May 9 - 15, 2022
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
05 08 developing compassionate thinking 2593344 completed
Developing Compassionate Thinking Towards Self and Others
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
When people speak of compassion, they mostly are referring to having compassion for others... for…
a man writing a letter
Writing the Truth and Allowing the Emotions to Flow
by Barbara Berger
Writing things down is a good way to practice truth telling.
young girl with three huge question marks in front of her
Overcoming Confusion and Indecision
by Jude Bijou
Life is a series of endless big and small decisions. What to wear, whether to look for another job,…
Horoscope Week: December 10 to 16, 2018
Horoscope Week: December 10 to 16, 2018
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Getting in Touch With, and Becoming Friends With, Fear
Getting in Touch With, and Becoming Friends With, Fear
by Marie T. Russell
Some of our fears are so slight, or come up so rarely, that we ignore them for the most part. Yet,…

MOST READ

finding what you are looking for 5 25
Use Horary Astrology to Find What You Lost
by Alphee Lavoie
There has always been a lot of controversy among astrologers as to what time (and even location) to…
rebuilding environment 4 14
How Native Birds Are Returning To New Zealand’s Restored Urban Forests
by Elizabeth Elliot Noe, Lincoln University et al
Urbanisation, and the destruction of habitat it entails, is a major threat to native bird…
The Story Of Suffering And Death Behind Ireland’s Abortion Ban And Subsequent Legalization
The Story Of Suffering And Death Behind Ireland’s Abortion Ban And Subsequent Legalization
by Gretchen E. Ely, University of Tennessee
If the U.S. Supreme Court overturns Roe v. Wade, the 1973 decision that legalized abortion in the…
how much sleep you need 4 7
How Much Sleep You Really Need
by Barbara Jacquelyn Sahakian, University of Cambridge, et al
Most of us struggle to think well after a poor night’s sleep – feeling foggy and failing to perform…
trusting societies are happy 4 14
Why Trusting Societies Are Overall Happier
by enjamin Radcliff, University of Notre Dame
Human beings are social animals. This means, almost as a matter of logical necessity, that humans’…
benefits of lemmon water 4 14
Will Lemon Water Detox Or Energize You?
by Evangeline Mantzioris, University of South Australia
If you believe anecdotes online, drinking lukewarm water with a splash of lemon juice is…
group of multi-racial individuals standing for a group photo
Seven Ways You Can Show Respect to Your Diverse Team (Video)
by Kelly McDonald
Respect is profoundly meaningful, but costs nothing to give. Here are ways you can demonstrate (and…
economy 4 14
5 Things That Economists Know, But Sound Wrong To Most Other People
by Renaud Foucart, Lancaster University
A curious thing about our profession is that when we academic economists largely agree with each…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.