عدم المساواة الاقتصادية في ارتفاع في جميع أنحاء العالم

عدم المساواة الاقتصادية في ارتفاع في جميع أنحاء العالم

فيما يلي بعض الاستنتاجات من ورقة بحثية اقتصادية حديثة. هل تعتقد أن المؤلفين من بعض مراكز التفكير اليسارية المليئة بالمساكنين؟

  • ولن يصبح اقتصادنا العالمي أكثر إنتاجية إذا ما واصلنا تركيز الثروة.
  • يسير التباطؤ في نمو الإنتاجية الاقتصادية العالمية وارتفاع عدم المساواة جنباً إلى جنب.
  • إن أبرز الشركات "المتقدمة" في العالم تتلاعب بقدرتهم في السوق لاستخراج "إيجارات" غير مكتسبة من بقيتنا.
  • يستغل "الأفضل في كل مكان" مزاياهم في كل شيء من الدخل والثروة إلى الصحة والتعليم - ويحظرون امتياز العائلة في مكانه للأجيال القادمة.
  • وأولئك الذين يؤكدون لنا أنه يمكننا الاعتماد على "الابتكار" والتكنولوجيا الفائقين "لتحقيق النمو الاقتصادي" لتحقيق الأمن الاقتصادي لأكثر دول العالم ضغوطا ، فإن ذلك يؤدي إلى نفخ الدخان.

إذا كنت تعتقد أن هذه هي استنتاجات بعض البروباغندا المتطرفين ، فكر مرة أخرى:

تظهر هذه الادعاءات الجريئة في ورقة جديدة من منظمة التعاون والتنمية الاقتصادية (OECD) ، وكالة الأبحاث والسياسات التي تتخذ من باريس مقراً لها والتي تمولها دول 34 ، بما في ذلك الولايات المتحدة ، والتي تشكل جوهر "العالم المتقدم" ".

لا يحل محللو منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية مذاقات. يعبرون عادة عن أنفسهم في نثر بيروقراطي ثقيل. لكن في تقريرهم الجديد ، Nexus الإنتاجية - الشمولية ، أصدر المحللون توجيهات قوية إلى حد ما إلى المحركين والهزازين السياسيين في العالم.

ابقَ على المسار الاقتصادي الحالي ، ورسالتهم الأساسية تذهب ، وسنجد أنفسنا محاصرين في "حلقة مفرغة" تترك الابتكار الحقيقي متوقفاً وراحتاً في جميع أنحاء العالم راكدة وغارقة.

وتستمر هذه الورقة التي قدمتها منظمة التعاون والتنمية في الميدان الاقتصادي في صدور التحذيرات من التحذيرات في السنوات الأخيرة من المحللين في أهم المؤسسات الاقتصادية في العالم. إن التحدي الذي يواجهه النظام الاقتصادي الدولي اليوم ، كما يجادل التحليل الجديد لمنظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية ، ينطوي على أكثر بكثير من التراجع عن الركود العظيم.

ويلاحظ التحليل أن العالم المتقدم يواجه "تباطؤاً مقلقاً في نمو الإنتاجية" ، وهو اتجاه واضح الآن في نسبة 90 في المائة من الدول الأعضاء في منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية (OECD).


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


مرافقة هذا التباطؤ في نمو الإنتاجية: زيادة متساوية في عدم المساواة. في جميع دول 18 OECD ببيانات قابلة للمقارنة ، تمتلك الآن 10 الأكثر ثراءً على الأقل نصف ثروة جميع الأسر. وشهدت جميع هذه الدول أيضا "زيادة في الدخل على مدى ثلاثة عقود في القمة ، وخاصة أعلى نسبة 1." وهذا يشمل الولايات المتحدة

تقوم الشركات العملاقة بتفكيك هيمنتها على السوق لإبطاء انتشار المعرفة الجديدة.

يواجه العالم ، ويعترف تحليل منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية ، التحديات الأخرى كذلك. لكن قلة من هذه "تشكل عقبات أكبر أمام الأداء الاقتصادي الأفضل من تباطؤ الإنتاجية وارتفاع معدلات عدم المساواة." وتوحي هذه الاتجاهات التي تتكشف ، بأن منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية تعزز بعضها البعض.

مثال واحد: يبدو أن الشركات العملاقة التي تضعها منظمة التعاون والتنمية في الميدان الاقتصادي "الشركات الحدودية" تستفيد من مركز احتكارها المهيمن على السوق لإبطاء انتشار المعرفة الجديدة. وهذا يحد من مكاسب الإنتاجية وفي عملية "ترسيخ عدم المساواة في الدخل ، وليس أقلها من خلال احتجاز العمال في أنشطة غير منتجة ووظائف منخفضة الجودة وإنتاج" ، يأخذ الفائز "كل ديناميكيات الاقتصاد".

وفي الوقت نفسه ، فإن "الوزن المتنامي" للمصارف الكبرى في الاقتصاد العالمي قد "حول الاستثمار بعيداً عن الأنشطة الإنتاجية" ، وهو تحرك أدى إلى تغذية "تركيز أعلى للثروة في أعلى توزيع الدخل".

وكلما زاد الدخل من التركيز في الأعلى ، كلما زاد عدد الأشخاص الذين "يقللون من العيوب" ، تعلن منظمة التعاون والتنمية.

إن "البيئة السياسية التي تنتج النتائج التي لا يملك فيها بعض الناس إلا القليل من الموارد" ، كما تقول الدراسة الجديدة التي أجرتها منظمة التعاون والتنمية في الميدان الاقتصادي ، ستشهد تدني عدد الناس الذين يدخرون ويستثمرون "في مهاراتهم الخاصة". في هذه البيئة ، سيكون نمو الإنتاجية دائمًا "دون المستوى الأمثل".

أيضا "دون المستوى الأمثل" لزيادة الإنتاجية ، في هذا التحليل لمنظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية: ميزانيات التقشف التي تفكك شبكات الأمان للضعفاء ، "القبض التنظيمي" للمراقبين الحكوميين من قبل الصناعات القوية ، والإعانات الحكومية الباذخة التي تذهب إلى شركات الوقود الأحفوري. ولا تنسَ قواعد البراءات التي "قد ترضي" الشركات العملاقة على حساب منافسين جدد مبدعين.

في حين تحدثت منظمة التعاون والتنمية في الميدان الاقتصادي عن جميع الدول المتقدمة ، فإن ميزانيات التقشف هذه ، وثغرات شبكات الأمان ، والقبض التنظيمي - أو إلغاء القيود التنظيمية - والإعانات السخية ، كانت جميعها سمة مميزة للولايات المتحدة في العقد الماضي أو أكثر ، كذلك.

ماذا نفعل في كل هذا؟ كيف يمكننا مواجهة التحديات الاقتصادية الكبيرة في عصرنا؟ في بعض الأحيان ، يقدم تقرير OECD الجديد هذا اقتراحات من شأنها أن تجعل من شدة قوتنا المشتركة للشركات العالمية:

  • يشير المحللون في منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية في مرحلة ما إلى أننا نستطيع أن نحد من "تركيز الأرباح غير المنتجة" ، إذا ما قمنا بتسوية مجال العمل ، وجعلت الشركات المملوكة للدولة تنافس حقاً مع شركات القطاع الخاص.
  • يمكننا الحد من تركيز الثروة إذا تركنا الشركات المملوكة للدولة تنافس حقا مع القطاع الخاص.

لكن هذا التحليل الجديد لمنظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية (OECD) يبتعد في معظمه عن أي تفاصيل قد تزعج الأغنياء والأقوياء بشكل مباشر. كما يقول المحللون ، يجب أن يكون "هدفنا الشامل" هو تحديد سياسات الفوز التي يمكن أن تحقق تحسينًا شاملاً ونموًا في الإنتاجية.

لكن لا يوجد أي إصرار على "سياسات الفوز المتبادل" سيصل بنا إلى أي مكان نحتاج إليه. ولن يصبح أي مجتمع غير متكافئ إلى حد كبير أكثر مساواة من ذي قبل ما لم يفقد أولئك الذين يستفيدون أكثر من عدم المساواة جزءًا ملموسًا من امتيازهم وقوتهم.

إن تحقيق ذلك يحدث عادةً ما يأخذ المقلوب ، والرغبة في مواجهة الحظ الخاص الكبير ، والسياسيين الذين يخدمونه.

لا يمكننا بالطبع أن نتوقع من وكالة رسمية مثل منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية (OECD) أن تصبو إلى المواجهة. لكن يمكننا على الأقل أن نشكر منظمة التعاون والتنمية في الميدان الاقتصادي على المساعدة في نزع الشرعية عن وضعنا الاقتصادي غير المتكافئ الراهن ، والذين يروجون له.

شارك الصحفي في العمل منذ فترة طويلة سام Pizzigati في تحرير Inequality.org والرسالة الإخبارية على الإنترنت ، كثير جدا، مشروع معهد الدراسات السياسية.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على العالم الشعب

نبذة عن الكاتب

يعمل Sam Pizzigati كصحفي عمالي منذ فترة طويلة ، Sam Pizzigati ، في تحرير Inequality.org وخطابه الإخباري عبر الإنترنت ، Too Much ، وهو مشروع لمعهد الدراسات السياسية.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = global inequality؛ maxresults = 1}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Economic Inequality Is On The Rise Worldwide

Economic Inequality Is On The Rise Worldwide

Here are some conclusions from a recent economics research paper. Do you think the authors are from some left-leaning think tank full of malcontents?

  • Our global economy will never become more productive if we continue to let wealth concentrate.
  • The slowdown in global economic productivity growth and rising inequality go hand in hand.
  • The world's most high-profile "advanced" corporations are manipulating their market power to extract unearned "rents" from the rest of us.
  • The "better-off everywhere" are exploiting their advantages in everything from income and wealth to health and education - and locking their family privilege in place for generations to come.
  • Those who assure us that we can count on high-tech "innovation" and "economic growth" to bring economic security to the world's most hard-pressed are blowing smoke.

If you think these are the conclusions of some far left propagandists, think again:

These bold claims all appear in a new paper from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), the Paris-based research and policy agency that's funded by the 34 nations, including the U.S., that make up the core of the "developed world."

OECD analysts don't carry pitchforks. They typically express themselves in rather ponderous bureaucratic prose. But in their new report, The Productivity-Inclusiveness Nexus, the analysts issued a fairly powerful heads-up to the world's political movers and shakers.

Stay on your current economic course, their basic message goes, and we'll find ourselves trapped in a "vicious cycle" that leaves true innovation stalled and well-being worldwide stagnant and sinking.

This OECD paper continues the steady drumbeat of warnings in recent years from analysts at the world's most significant economic institutions. The challenge the international economic order faces today, the new OECD analysis argues, involves much more than undoing the Great Recession.

The developed world, the analysis notes, faces a "worrying slowdown in productivity growth," a trend now evident in 90 percent of the OECD's member nations.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Accompanying this slowdown in productivity growth: An equally worrying increase in inequality. In all 18 OECD nations with comparable data, the most affluent 10 percent now hold at least half of all household wealth. All these nations have also seen a three-decade "surge in income at the top, especially the top 1 percent." That includes the U.S.

Corporate giants are spinning their market dominance to slow the diffusion of new know-how.

The world faces, the OECD analysis acknowledges, other challenges as well. But few of these "pose greater obstacles to better economic performance than the productivity slowdown and the rise in inequalities." And these unfolding trends, OECD suggests, reinforce each other.

One example: The corporate giants the OECD labels "frontier firms" appear to be leveraging their dominant market monopoly position to slow the diffusion of new know-how. That's limiting productivity gains and in the process "entrenching inequalities of income, not least by trapping workers in unproductive activities and low-quality jobs and producing 'winner takes all' dynamics in the economy."

The "growing weight" of big banks in the global economy, meanwhile, has "diverted investment away from productive activities," a move that has nurtured a still "higher concentration of wealth at the top of the income distribution."

The more income concentrates at the top, the more those below "accumulate disadvantages," OECD declares.

A "policy environment that yields the outcome where some people have few resources," as the new OECD study puts it, will see fewer people saving and investing "in their own skills." In this environment, productivity growth will almost always be "sub-optimal."

Also "sub-optimal" for greater productivity, in this OECD analysis: Austerity budgets that dismantle safety nets for the vulnerable, the "regulatory capture" of government watchdogs by powerful industries, and the lavish government subsidies that go to fossil-fuel corporations. And don't forget patent rules that "may unduly" favor corporate giants at the expense of innovative new competitors.

While OECD talked about all developed nations, those austerity budgets, safety net holes, the regulatory capture - or deregulation -- and  the lavish subsidies have all been characteristic of the U.S. in the past decade or more, too.

What do we do about all this? How can we meaningfully confront the great economic challenges of our times? At times, this new OECD report offers up suggestions sure to make our global corporate power suits squirm:

  • We could limit the "unproductive concentration of profits," the OECD analysts note at one point, if we leveled the playing field and let state-owned enterprises really compete with private-sector firms.
  • We could limit wealth's concentration if we let state-owned enterprises really compete with the private sector.

But this new OECD analysis mostly shies away from any specifics that would directly discomfort the rich and powerful. Our "overarching objective," the analysts pronounce, must be "to identify win-win policies that could deliver both improved inclusiveness and productivity growth."

But no insistence on "win-win policies" will ever get us to where we need to be. No deeply unequal society will ever become meaningfully more equal unless those who benefit the most from inequality lose some appreciable part of their privilege and power.

Making that happen typically takes pitchforks, a willingness to confront grand private fortune and those politicos who serve it.

We can't, of course, expect an official agency like the OECD to egg that confronting on. But we can at least thank the OECD for helping delegitimize our staggeringly unequal economic status quo - and those who pimp for it.

Longtime labor journalist Sam Pizzigati co-edits Inequality.org and its online newsletter, Too Much, a project of the Institute for Policy Studies.

This article originally appeared on People's World

About The Author

Sam Pizzigati is a longtime labor journalist Sam Pizzigati co-edits Inequality.org and its online newsletter, Too Much, a project of the Institute for Policy Studies.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=global inequality;maxresults=1}

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…