كيف يمكن لتسلق الأشجار وصنع أوكار أن تساعد الأطفال على تنمية المرونة

كيف يمكن لتسلق الأشجار وصنع أوكار أن تساعد الأطفال على تنمية المرونة شترستوك

رغم كل ذلك بحث الذي يخبر الوالدين كم هو جيد لأطفالهم لقضاء بعض الوقت في اللعب في الخارج ، إنهم يقضون المزيد من الوقت في الداخل من أي وقت مضى. يبدو أن اهتمامات حول مخاطر تسلق الأشجار أو الضياع يعني أن العديد من الآباء يشعرون بالقلق من السماح لأطفالهم بالمشاركة في لعب محفوف بالمخاطر.

لكن يقترح البحوث أن هذا العنصر من اللعب في الهواء الطلق له فوائد كبيرة للأطفال ويمكن أن يساعد في تطوير مرونتهم العاطفية.

على مدى العقد ونصف العقد الماضي ، بدأت المدارس في الاعتراف أهمية الوقت في الهواء الطلق للأطفال - مما أدى إلى تطوير البرامج التي تأخذ التعلم خارج الفصول الدراسية. واحدة من هذه البرامج التي زادت شعبيتها على مدى السنوات الأخيرة ، هي مدرسة فورست.

ما هي مدرسة الغابات؟

مدرسة الغابات هي مبادرة تعلم في الهواء الطلق تحتضن اللعب الخارجي في الأماكن المشجرة كأداة للتعلم والتطوير. في المملكة المتحدة ، يمكن تتبع حركة مدرسة فورست إلى أوائل 1990s عندما ذهبت مجموعة من المعلمين في السنوات الأولى في كلية بريدجووتر في سومرست في رحلة إلى الدنمارك.

لاحظوا كيف أن القيم الاسكندنافية للحياة في الهواء الطلق كانت مضمنة في نظام التعليم. عند عودتهم من الدنمارك ، قاموا بتطوير أول مدرسة للغابات في كلية الكلية ، تليها شهادة B-Tech في ممارسة مدرسة فورست. بدأت مجموعة Bridgewater في تطوير توفير مدرسة فورست من خلال برامج تدريبية منظمة للعاملين في مدرسة فورست. اليوم هو رابطة مدرسة الغابات - الهيئة المهنية في المملكة المتحدة لممارسي مدرسة فورست - لديها أكثر من أعضاء 1,500.

خلال مدرسة فورست ، يتم تزويد الأطفال والشباب بفرص لاستكشاف البيئة الطبيعية وتجربة المخاطر والتحديات المناسبة وتوجيه تعلمهم. أشارت البحوث أظهرت أن مدرسة فورست تحفز اللعب الخيالي من خلال المشاركة العملية مع البيئة الطبيعية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


In ابحاثنا، والتي تضمنت أكثر من مقابلات 30 مع أطفال تتراوح أعمارهم بين أربعة وتسعة أعوام ، أردنا أن نفهم كيف يمكن أن يسهل اللعب في مدرسة فورست التعلم. وجدنا أنه خلال مدرسة فورست ، شعر الأطفال بمزيد من الاستقلالية ، ونتيجة لذلك ، كان لديهم شعور أكبر بالمسؤولية الشخصية والاجتماعية والبيئية.

شعر الأطفال أنهم قادرون على تطبيق المهارات التي تعلموها في المدرسة بطرق أكثر وضوحًا وطوروا مجموعة من المهارات غير الأكاديمية. شجعتهم مدرسة فورست على التفكير الإبداعي - للخروج من منطقة راحتهم وتحمل المخاطر - والعمل عن كثب مع أقرانهم. كما ذكروا أنهم أكثر نشاطًا بدنيًا خلال مدرسة فورست - تعلم كيفية التحرك بأمان في مساحة غابة لا يمكن التنبؤ بها وصعبة.

جعل الحركات مهمة

الـ منظمة الصحة العالمية جادل مؤخرًا أن الأطفال الصغار يحتاجون إلى المزيد من الفرص للعب من أجل النمو بصحة جيدة. ولكن على الرغم من الفوائد الواضحة ، لا تزال مدرسة فورست يساء فهمها إلى حد ما.

بالنسبة إلى الخارج ، غالبًا ما يتم اعتباره شكلًا منفصلًا من أشكال توفير التعليم - وفي الواقع ، توجد بعض دور الحضانة في الهواء الطلق بدوام كامل التابعة لمدرسة فورست العاملة في المملكة المتحدة ، مثل مدرسة وايلد وود فورست في كمبريدجشير. لكن معظم مدارس فورست تعمل ضمن مدارس الدولة الرئيسية ، حيث يغادر الأطفال فصولهم الدراسية لمدة نصف يوم أو يوم كامل ، عادة مرة واحدة أو مرتين في الأسبوع ، لحضور مدرسة فورست.

تحدثنا إلى الأطفال ومديري المدارس وقادة مدارس الغابات في مدرستين ابتدائيتين و وجدت أن هذا الجسر للتعلم الرسمي وغير الرسمي يمكن أن يكون مكملاً للآخر. أقر الأطفال ومدراء المدارس بأن النظام المدرسي يمكن أن يخنق فضول الأطفال الطبيعي حول العالم. يدرك الأطفال أنه بينما يتعلمون الكثير في الفصل الدراسي ، فإن هذا يميل إلى أن يكون موجهًا من قبل المعلمين ويركز على اجتياز الاختبارات.

أدرك مدراء المدارس أيضًا الضغوط التي يتعرض لها الأطفال منذ سن مبكرة ، والحاجة إلى إثبات تقدم التلاميذ بشكل متكرر ضد الأهداف المحددة. تعد مدرسة فورست ، لكل من التلميذ والمدرس ، فرصة للابتعاد عن رتابة التعلم في الفصل الدراسي ، وبدلاً من ذلك للمشاركة في التعلم العملي الموجه ذاتيًا.

وهذا يمنح الأطفال الفرصة لتطوير مهارات أخرى غير الأكاديمية - بما في ذلك التفاوض والمرونة والاستقلال. وبهذه الطريقة ، يضمن مزج هذه الأساليب في التعلم أن تتاح للأطفال فرصة لتطوير مجموعة أوسع من المهارات. كل ذلك ، يعدهم للحياة في وقت لاحق ، مع مساعدتهم على تسخير حب العراء في الهواء الطلق منذ سن مبكرة.المحادثة

عن المؤلفين

جانين كوتس ، محاضر في أساليب البحث النوعي ، جامعة لوبورو وهيلينا بيمولت ويلسون ، محاضر أول في الجغرافيا البشرية ، جامعة لوبورو

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How Climbing Trees And Making Dens Can Help Children Develop Resilience

How Climbing Trees And Making Dens Can Help Children Develop Resilience shutterstock

Despite all the research that tells parents how good it is for their children to spend time playing outside, they are spending more time indoors than ever before. It seems that concerns about the dangers of climbing trees or getting lost means that many parents are nervous about allowing their children to engage in risky play.

But research suggests that this element of outdoor play has significant benefits for children and can help to develop their emotional resilience.

Over the last decade and a half, schools have started to recognise the importance of outdoor time for children – resulting in the development of programmes that take learning outside the classroom. One of these programmes which has increased in popularity over recent years, is Forest School.

What is forest school?

Forest School is an outdoor learning initiative which embraces outdoor play in wooded spaces as a tool for learning and development. In the UK, the Forest School movement can be traced back to the early 1990s when a group of early years educators at Bridgewater College in Somerset day went on a trip to Denmark.

They noted how the Scandinavian values of open-air living were embedded in the education system. Upon their return from Denmark, they developed the first Forest School in the college creche, followed by a B-Tech qualification in Forest School practice. The Bridgewater group set in motion the development of Forest School provision through structured training programmes for Forest School practitioners. Today the Forest School Association – the UK professional body for Forest School practitioners – has more than 1,500 members.

During Forest School, children and young people are provided with opportunities to explore the natural environment, experience appropriate risk and challenge, and direct their own learning. Research has shown that Forest School stimulates imaginative play through hands-on engagement with the natural environment.

In our research, which included more than 30 interviews with children aged between four and nine, we wanted to understand how play in Forest School might facilitate learning. We found that during Forest School, children felt more independent, and as a result, had a greater sense of personal, social and environmental responsibility.

Children felt that they were able to apply skills they had learned in school in more meaningful ways and developed a range of non-academic skills. Forest School encouraged them to think creatively – to step out of their comfort zone and take risks – and to work more closely with their peers. They also reported being more physically active during Forest School – learning how to move safely in the unpredictable and challenging space of a woodland.

Making movements matter

The World Health Organisation has recently argued that young children need more opportunity to play in order to grow up healthy. But despite the clear benefits, Forest School is still somewhat misunderstood.

To the outsider, it is often considered as a separate form of education provision – and indeed, there are some full-time outdoor Forest School nurseries operating in the UK, such as Wildawood Forest School in Cambridgeshire. But most Forest Schools operate within mainstream state schools, where children leave their classrooms for a half or full day, usually once or twice a week, to attend Forest School.

We spoke to children, headteachers and Forest School leaders in two primary schools and found that this bridging of formal and informal learning can be complementary to one another. Children and headteachers acknowledged that the school system can stifle children’s natural curiosity about the world. Children recognise that while they learn a lot in the classroom, this tends to be directed by teachers and focused on passing tests.

Headteachers also recognised the pressure children are put under from a young age, and of the need to frequently demonstrate pupil progression against set targets. Forest School, for both pupil and teacher, is an opportunity to move away from the monotony of classroom learning and instead to engage in hands-on, self-directed learning.

This gives children the opportunity to develop other skills beyond the academic – including negotiation, resilience and independence. And in this way, the blending of these approaches to learning ensures that children have opportunity to develop a broader range of skills. All of which, prepares them for later life, while helping them to harness a love of the great outdoors from an early age.The Conversation

About The Authors

Janine Coates, Lecturer in Qualitative Research Methods, Loughborough University and Helena Pimlott-Wilson, Senior Lecturer in Human Geography, Loughborough University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}