كيف تتعرف على معتقداتك السلبية الأساسية والنقد الداخلي

كيف تتعرف على معتقداتك السلبية الأساسية والنقد الداخلي
الصورة عن طريق جيرد التمان 

قد لا تعتقد أن لديك معتقدًا سلبيًا جوهريًا ، ولكن إذا كنت عالقًا في ظروف غامضة ، فمن المحتمل أن تعيقك فكرة أو فكرتان - أو تفسدك عن المسار - دون أن تدرك ذلك ،

"أنا عديم القيمة." "أنا غير محبوب." "أنا معيب بشكل أساسي." "انا يائس." هذه أمثلة على صدق الإيمان ، حتى الآن زائف، المعتقدات الأساسية المؤلمة ، الأساس الذي يبني عليه كثير من الناس حياتهم دون وعي. يمكن لأي شخص أن يكون لديه معتقد سلبي أساسي ولا يزال لديه العديد من السمات الإيجابية.

يختلف الاعتقاد السلبي الأساسي عن الاعتراف بموقف سلبي. أحيانًا يكون صحيحًا أن شخصًا تحبه لا يحبك ؛ أنك الشخص الذي أفسد الحساب وأبطل النتائج في تقرير ؛ أن قدرتك العبقرية على رسم الجمل ليست ذات صلة ، وربما حتى عائقًا ، في عصر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. تجارب كهذه يمكن أن تؤذي ، لكن الفرق بينها وبين الاعتقاد السلبي الأساسي هو أن الأخير كذبة مؤذية تقوض كيانك بالكامل وتدمر دوافعك. إنه جزء من الغراء الذي يبقيك عالقًا. عندما نكون عالقين ، غالبًا ما تكون هذه إشارة إلى أننا محاصرون بسبب الجاذبية لمعتقداتنا السلبية الأساسية.

مثل ثقب أسود في الفضاء

يمتلك الناس معتقدًا سلبيًا واحدًا أو اثنين فقط ، لكنهما يؤثران على كل ما نفكر فيه ونفعله. إنها تشبه الثقب الأسود في الفضاء ، تزداد ثقلًا وأقوى لأنها تجتذب كل المواد من حولها. إنهم يحدون من وصولنا إلى نطاق ذكاءنا الكامل. واحدة من أسوأ العواقب هي أنها تقودنا إلى الاعتقاد بأننا نرى الموقف بأكمله بوضوح ، مما يعمينا عن حقيقة أن معتقداتنا السلبية الأساسية تعرقل وجهة نظرنا وتشوهها.

تستند هذه المعتقدات إلى الأفكار والقواعد التي غرسها مقدمو الرعاية الأوائل وشخصيات السلطة: الآباء والأجداد والمربيات والمعلمون والقادة الدينيون والثقافيون. مقدمو الرعاية هؤلاء لديهم قواعد خاصة بنوع الشخص الذي يريدونك أن تكونه. تهدف القواعد إلى حماية ضعفك (ونقاط ضعفهم). من الناحية المثالية ، تهدف أيضًا إلى مساعدتك في أن تصبح عضوًا قويًا وسعيدًا في المجتمع.

تتطور المعتقدات السلبية الأساسية من قواعد وأوامر مثل "لا تكن أنانيًا" و "لا تكن غبيًا" و "كن هادئًا" و "كن مخلصًا" و "الأولاد أقوياء" و "لا تبك". بمرور الوقت ، خاصةً عند نطق نغمات لئيمة أو تهديدية ، يمكن لهذه المراسيم أن تجعل الأطفال يشعرون بأنهم محكوم عليهم بالفشل الدائم ، بدلاً من ارتكاب خطأ فادح في بعض الأحيان.

وتشمل الأقوال الأخرى مثل "الأحمق وماله ينفصلان قريبًا" ، "لقد رتبت سريرك ، الآن يجب أن تكذب عليه" ، "لا تكبر كثيرًا بالنسبة لبناتك" ، و "حان الوقت للتخلي عن هذا الغليون حلم." يمكنك الحصول على الصورة. ما هي بعض الأقوال التي نشأت معها؟


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

الناقد الداخلي المبكر

بالكمية الصحيحة ، تعزز القواعد والمعتقدات القيم الهامة والصحية. من المهم للأطفال أن يتعلموا التحكم في الاندفاع ، وأن يكونوا مسؤولين ومراعاة للآخرين. يحتاجون أيضًا إلى تعلم القواعد الأساسية للسلوك الاجتماعي: من المعقول تمامًا أن نتوقع أن يكون الطفل في مرحلة ما قبل المدرسة قادرًا على غسل أيديهم والقول من فضلك.

في وقت مبكر جدًا من نمو الطفل ، يمتص الناقد الداخلي المبكر كل هذه المعلومات التحذيرية ويتولى دور فرض هذه القواعد الداخلية. يلاحظ هال وسيدرا ستون: "مثل عميل CIA مدرب جيدًا" ، "الناقد الداخلي ... يتسلل إلى كل جزء من حياتك ، ويفحصك بتفاصيل دقيقة للضعف والعيوب." أيضا ، كما لاحظوا في احتضان أنفسنا ، الناقد الداخلي "لديه موهبة كبيرة في العمل الجماعي".

الناقد الداخلي هو جنرال من فئة الخمس نجوم يقوم بتجنيد الحامي / المتحكمين ، والكمال ، والدافعين ، والمقارنات التي لا تضاهى ، والعديد من الذات الداخلية الأخرى لفرض القواعد التي يعتقد أنها ضرورية لبقاء الفرد. يمكن أن تكون هدية الناقد الداخلي أنه ينجز الأشياء. يمكن أن تكون اللدغة شديدة القسوة وبالتالي تشلّك.

أخطاء غير مسموح بها؟

في المنازل العقابية حيث لا يُسمح بالأخطاء ويتم الصراخ على الأطفال وتوبيخهم ، قد يتوصلون إلى تصديق ذلك يستحقون الم. عندما يتعرض الأطفال للعار أو معاقبة شديدة أو السخرية منهم عندما يفقدون العلامة أو يعصون ، فإنهم يبدأون في تصور أنفسهم على أنهم معيبون بشكل أساسي وسيئون بشكل لا يمكن إصلاحه. هذا التصور هو جوهر المعتقدات السلبية الأساسية.

يظهر الناقد الداخلي في هذه البيئة لإنقاذ الطفل من الهجوم أو الهجر. حتى لو أصبحت طريقة عملها سامة ، فإن دافعها الأصلي وقائي. يتشكل النسيج الندبي حول الجرح البدائي من النقد في مرحلة مبكرة جدًا من التطور. هذا هو السبب في أن هذه المعتقدات غالبًا ما تكون شرسة بوحشية ولا تستجيب للمنطق.

بالنسبة للكثيرين منا ، كما لاحظ هال وسيدرا ستون ، "في مرحلة ما يتجاوز الناقد حدوده ، ويأخذ الأمور بين يديه ، ويبدأ في العمل وفقًا لأجندة خاصة به ... . مع نسيان أهداف ومقاصد الناقد الأصلية ، كل ما تبقى له هو إثارة المطاردة والشعور الرائع بالانتصار بالانتصار ، لأنه يعمل بشكل سري ومستقل عن أي سيطرة خارجية ".

الناقد الداخلي المفرط الحماسة

يمكن أن يتطور أيضًا الناقد الداخلي المفرط نتيجة لأحداث مثل مرض أو حادث أو وفاة في الأسرة. على سبيل المثال ، نشأت ميليسا مع والدها الذي عانى ببطولة من اضطراب عصبي منهك. عانت ميليسا من اكتئاب منخفض المستوى جعل طاقتها تتلاشى. في كل مرة بدأت فيها مشروعًا ، سرعان ما فقدت الدافع والتركيز ، وتراجع الهدف في المنطقة الثامنة الأخيرة.

خلال العملية الثامنة الأخيرة ، أدركت ميليسا أن لديها شكل من أشكال ذنب الناجي. لقد أدركت أنها شعرت دائمًا بالذنب لأنها ، على عكس والدتها المعوقة ، كانت رشيقة وتتمتع بصحتها الجسدية الجيدة. نما هذا الشعور حتى شعرت بالخجل عند تجربة أي شكل من أشكال المتعة.

كانت تداعيات اعتقاد ميليسا السلبي الأساسي ("أنا لا أستحق") أنها منعت نفسها دون وعي من أي فترات انتصار. أفضل طريقة لتجنب الاحتفال بالنصر كانت ببساطة عدم تحقيق هدف. حصلت ميليسا على إذن من ناقدها الداخلي للذهاب بعيدًا جدًا - 7/8 من الطريق - ولكن ليس لعبور خط النهاية منتصرًا.

على الرغم من أنه كان من غير المريح أن تكون عالقًا ، كانت أولويتها المغطاة هي تجنب الشعور المروع بالذنب لتحقيق نجاحها والاستمتاع به. على الرغم من أنه لم يطلب منها أي شخص آخر تقييد نفسها ، إلا أن هذا كان فعل ميليسا اللاواعي للولاء المشوه لأمها.

من الخصائص الأخرى الصعبة للمعتقدات السلبية الأساسية قدرتها على الاختباء. على سبيل المثال ، قد يتولى شخص ما تستطيع القيام به جدولك الزمني وتنجز العديد من المهام لبعض الوقت. ولكن إذا كان اعتقادك الجذري (واعيًا أو غير واعٍ) هو "لا شيء يعمل" ، فستتولى شخصيات مختلفة وتتواطأ للتأكد من أن الأمور لا اكتشف - حل. كثير منا يعمل ضد أنفسنا. يمكن أن يكون الفشل حقًا وظيفة داخلية.

الأجندات الداخلية المتنافسة

نحن كائنات معقدة مع أجندات داخلية متعددة ومتنافسة. بمجرد أن ترى ما هي وكيف تعمل ، يمكنك أن تفعل شيئًا حيالها.

واحد أو اثنين من المعتقدات السلبية الأساسية هي سجادة غير مرئية. إذا كان إيمانك الأساسي هو "لا شيء ينجح" ، فستقف على تلك السجادة بغض النظر عن مكان وجودك وما تفعله. عندما تفترض خطأً أن شيئًا ما صحيح ، فإن سوء الفهم هو الذي يحكم سلوكك.

عندما تكون قريبًا جدًا من خط النهاية بحيث يصبح معتقدك السلبي الأساسي مهددًا ، فإن أي عدد من المضايقات تندلع. ربما تضطر فجأة للتعامل مع المواعيد النهائية التي نسيتها تمامًا ، أو تشعر بالارتباك ، وعدم الوفاء ، وعدم المسؤولية ، والإرهاق ، والارتباك. ، محبط ، مرهق ، لا مبالي ، محبط ، سريع الانفعال ، ملل ، ميؤوس منه ، أو غير قادر على التركيز. ربما تغلبت عليك الصداع أو وجع الأسنان أو وجع القلب أو المعدة أو غيرها من الآلام.

يمكن أن تعمل المعتقدات السلبية في الخفاء وتختبئ وراء المشاعر الشديدة والضعف والعواطف الصعبة ، بما في ذلك الخجل والحسد. تؤدي الشدة الكامنة داخل المعتقدات السلبية إلى سلوكيات الإبطال. تبدأ في تشتيت انتباهك عن طريق ملذات عابرة مثل البحث في Google عن الأمراض النادرة والقيلولة ومشاهدة مقاطع الفيديو.

يؤدي التقاعس الناتج عن مشروعك إلى تشغيل حلقة ردود فعل خاطئة مفادها أن التعلق هو دليل على دقة معتقداتك السلبية الأساسية. تذكر أن هذه المعتقدات السلبية هي أكاذيب. ماذا او ما is صحيح أنها موجودة ، وتشكل أفكارك وسلوكياتك ومواقفك ودوافعك وتفسيراتك لمواطن الخلل والإحباطات الطبيعية. بالنسبة لكثير من الناس ، تتطور هذه الضرورات إلى تعويذات صامتة وقوية ومحطمة للروح تشلها بدلاً من تحفيزها.

© 2020 بقلم بريدجيت دينجيل غاسبارد. أعيد طبعه بـ
إذن من الناشر ، 
جديد المكتبة العالمية. 
www.newworldlibrary.com
 أو 800-972-6657 تحويلة. 52.
.

المادة المصدر

الثامن الأخير: حشد ذواتك الداخلية لتحقيق أهدافك
بقلم بريدجيت دينجيل غاسبارد

الثامن الأخير: حشد ذواتك الداخلية لتحقيق أهدافك بقلم بريدجيت دينجيل غاسباردصاغت Bridgit Dengel Gaspard مصطلح "الثامن الأخير" لوصف ظاهرة اختبرتها بنفسها ولاحظتها في الآخرين: الأشخاص الموهوبون والحيويون والمتحمسون ينجزون العديد من الخطوات نحو هدف (سبعة أثمان منه) ولكنهم يتعثرون في ظروف غامضة. النصائح العملية والمحادثات الحماسية لا تعمل لأن المشكلة - والحل - تكمن أعمق. بينما تقول الذات الواعية اليومية ، "أريد هذا" ، تشعر الأنفس الداخلية الأخرى بالقلق من أن النجاح سيضعهم في نوع من الخطر. السر القوي؟ ليس كل جزء منك يريد ما تعتقد أنك تريده! ستساعدك التقنية المبتكرة للحوار الصوتي على التواصل مع شخصيتك الأخرى ، مهما كان هدفك. في هذه العملية ، سوف تكتشف وتحرر "المستشارين الحكماء ، والمستشارين البارعين ، والحكماء السحريين" ، وتحولهم إلى حلفاء قيمين سيساعدونك في النهاية على تحقيق أهدافك.

لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب ، انقر هنا. متوفر أيضًا كإصدار Kindle.

بريدجيت دينجيل جاسباردعن المؤلف

Bridgit Dengel Gaspard ، LCSW ، تخرجت من جامعة كولومبيا ، وأسست معهد نيويورك للحوار الصوتي ، وقادت ورش عمل لمعهد أوميغا ، ومركز نيويورك المفتوح ، والعديد من المنظمات الأخرى. بصفتها مؤدية سابقة وكوميديا ​​، فهي متخصصة في التغلب على كتل الإبداع.

اكتشف المزيد عن عملها في Bridgit-Dengel-Gaspard.com/
  

المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

إلهام ماري تي راسل اليومي

أصوات INNERSELF

السفر بين العوالم: أغمض عينيك حتى تتمكن من الرؤية
أغمض عينيك حتى تتمكن من رؤية: السفر بين العوالم والسعي لإعادة الاتصال
by فابيانا فونديفيلا
منذ بدايات الحضارة الإنسانية ، استخدمت جميع شعوب الأرض تقريبًا بعض ...
على ماذا تعتمد سلطتنا؟
الانتقال من السلطة الاستبدادية "الخارجية" إلى السلطة "الداخلية" الروحية
by بيير Pradervand
لآلاف السنين ، منذ أن بدأت البشرية بالاستقرار في المدن ، تطورنا بشكل جامد ، ...
ولادة عالم جديد يكافح من أجل أن يولد
ولادة عالم جديد يكافح من أجل أن يولد
by ارفين لازلو
غالبًا ما يُقابل الحديث عن التغيير الأساسي في العالم من حولنا بالتشكيك. التغيير في المجتمع ...
اربح المعركة في رأسك: مسائل المنظور
اربح المعركة في رأسك: مسائل المنظور
by بيتر روبرت
كلنا نختبر الحديث الإيجابي والسلبي عن النفس بشكل منتظم. سواء كنت تدرك ذلك أو ...
الأسبوع الحالي للأبراج: من 19 إلى 25 أبريل 2021
الأسبوع الحالي للأبراج: من 19 إلى 25 أبريل 2021
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
تستند هذه المجلة الفلكية الأسبوعية إلى تأثيرات الكواكب ، وتقدم وجهات نظر و ...
إذا كنت قد تعاقدت مع COVID: الشفاء والمضي قدمًا
إذا كنت قد تعاقدت مع COVID: الشفاء والمضي قدمًا
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
إذا كنت قد أصبت بـ COVID ، فأنت لا تعاني فقط من مشاكل صحية قد تكون مهددة للحياة ، ...
الصحوة على حلم الأرض وحب العالم
الصحوة على حلم الأرض وحب العالم
by مشروع قانون بلوتكين، دكتوراه
السؤال الأهم ليس كيفية النجاة من فقدان التنوع البيولوجي ، واضطراب المناخ ، والبيئة ...
4 طرق لبناء قدرتك على التسامح مع الغموض - وحياتك المهنية العالمية
4 طرق لبناء قدرتك على التسامح مع الغموض - وحياتك المهنية العالمية
by بولا كاليجيوري ، دكتوراه.
حتى لو كان تحملك للغموض أقل ، فهناك طرق مثبتة لبناء هذا المهم ...

الأكثر قراءة

هل غرفة نومك المقدس؟
هل غرفة نومك مقدسة؟ تكريم محميتك الشخصية
by جون روبرتسون
غرفة النوم هي موطن صلواتنا وأحلامنا ، وحدتنا وجنسنا. في هذا الحرم الداخلي ...
عصر الحوت إلى عصر الدلو
الانتقال من عصر الحوت إلى عصر الدلو
by شعاع جراس
جلب عصر الحمل إيقاظًا للأنا الموجهة خارجيًا ، ولكن الحوت الأكثر أنوثة ...
3 طرق يمكن لمعلمي الموسيقى من خلالها مساعدة الطلاب المصابين بالتوحد على تنمية مشاعرهم
3 طرق يمكن لمعلمي الموسيقى من خلالها مساعدة الطلاب المصابين بالتوحد على تنمية مشاعرهم
by دون ر.ميتشل وايت ، جامعة جنوب فلوريدا
يكافح العديد من الأطفال المصابين بالتوحد للعثور على الكلمات للتعبير عن شعورهم. ولكن عندما يتعلق الأمر ...
Defund الشرطة؟ بدلًا من ذلك ، قم بإنهاء الذكورة السامة و "رجال الشرطة المحاربين"
Defund الشرطة؟ بدلًا من ذلك ، قم بإنهاء الذكورة السامة و "رجال الشرطة المحاربين"
by أنجيلا وركمان ستارك ، جامعة أثاباسكا
يحاكم ضابط الشرطة المتهم بالقتل في وفاة جورج فلويد حاليًا في ...
4 طرق لبناء قدرتك على التسامح مع الغموض - وحياتك المهنية العالمية
4 طرق لبناء قدرتك على التسامح مع الغموض - وحياتك المهنية العالمية
by بولا كاليجيوري ، دكتوراه.
حتى لو كان تحملك للغموض أقل ، فهناك طرق مثبتة لبناء هذا المهم ...
العنف المنزلي: تزايدت طلبات المساعدة - لكن الإجابات لم تكن أسهل
العنف المنزلي: تزايدت طلبات المساعدة - لكن الإجابات لم تكن أسهل
by تارا إن.ريتشاردز وجوستين نيكس ، جامعة نبراسكا أوماها
توقع الخبراء زيادة ضحايا العنف الأسري الذين يطلبون المساعدة العام الماضي (2020). ضحايا ...
في أي عمر يكون الناس عادة أكثر سعادة؟ بحث جديد يقدم أدلة مفاجئة
في أي عمر يكون الناس عادة أكثر سعادة؟ بحث جديد يقدم أدلة مفاجئة
by كلير ميهتا ، كلية إيمانويل
إذا كان بإمكانك أن تكون في عمر واحد لبقية حياتك ، فماذا ستكون؟ هل تختار أن تكون تسعة ...
يهدد تغير المناخ القهوة - لكننا وجدنا أنواعًا برية لذيذة يمكن أن تساعد في إنقاذ مشروب الصباح
يهدد تغير المناخ القهوة - لكننا وجدنا أنواعًا برية لذيذة يمكن أن تساعد في إنقاذ مشروب الصباح
by آرون بي ديفيس ، الحدائق النباتية الملكية ، كيو
العالم يحب القهوة. بتعبير أدق ، تحب قهوة أرابيكا. من رائحتها الطازجة ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic

How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
Image by Gerd Altmann 

You may not think you have a core negative belief, but if you’re mysteriously stuck, one or two ideas are probably holding you back — or blowing you off course — without your even realizing it,

“I’m worthless.” “I am unlovable.” “I am fundamentally flawed.” “I’m broken.” These are examples of truly believed, yet false, painful core beliefs, the foundation on which many people unconsciously base their lives. A person can have a core negative belief and still have many positive attributes.

A core negative belief is different from acknowledgment of a negative situation. Sometimes it’s true that someone you love doesn’t love you back; that you’re the one who screwed up the math invalidating the results in a report; that your genius ability to diagram sentences is irrelevant, and perhaps even an impediment, in the era of social media. Experiences like this can hurt, but the difference between them and a core negative belief is that the latter is a hurtful lie that undermines your entire being and destroys your motivation. It is part of the glue that’s keeping you stuck. When we’re stuck, it’s often a signal that we’re trapped by the gravitational pull of our core negative beliefs.

Like A Black Hole In Space

People have only one or two core negative beliefs, but they affect everything we think and do. They’re like a black hole in space, getting heavier and stronger as it draws in all the matter around it. They limit our access to our full range of intelli­gence. One of the worst consequences is that they lead us to believe we see the entire situation clearly, blinding us to the fact that our core negative beliefs obstruct and warp our view.

These beliefs are based on ideas and rules instilled by our early caregivers and authority figures: parents, grandparents, babysitters, teachers, and religious and cultural leaders. These caregivers have rules for what kind of person they want you to be. The rules are intended to protect your vulnerability (and theirs). Ideally, they’re also intended to help you become a strong, happy, contributing member of society.

Core negative beliefs develop out of rules and commands like “Don’t be selfish,” “Don’t be stupid,” “Be quiet,” “Be loyal,” “Boys are strong,” and “Don’t cry.” Over time, especially when uttered in mean or threatening tones, these edicts can make kids feel they are condemned to be perpetual failures, as op­posed to making the occasional blunder.

Other such sayings include “A fool and his money are soon parted,” “You made your bed, now you must lie in it,” “Don’t get too big for your britches,” and “It’s time to give up that pipe dream.” You get the picture. What were some of the sayings you grew up with?


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

The Precocious Inner Critic

In the right quantity, rules and credos reinforce important and healthy values. It’s important for kids to learn to control impulsivity, to be accountable and considerate of others. They also need to learn basic rules of social behavior: it’s totally rea­sonable to expect a preschooler to be able to wash their hands and say please.

Very early in a child’s development, the precocious Inner Critic absorbs all this cautionary information and takes on the role of enforcing these internalized rules. “Like a well-trained CIA agent,” Hal and Sidra Stone observe, “the Inner Critic... infiltrates every portion of your life, checking you out in min­ute detail for weakness and imperfections.” Also, as they ob­serve in Embracing Our Selves, the Inner Critic “has a great talent for teamwork.”

The Inner Critic is a five-star general who recruits Protector/Controllers, Perfectionists, Pushers, Incomparable Comparers, and many other inner selves to enforce the rules it believes are crucial to the individual’s survival. A gift of the Inner Critic can be that it gets things done. A sting can be that it’s too harsh and thus paralyzes you.

Mistakes Not Allowed?

In punitive households where mistakes aren’t allowed and kids are yelled at and scolded, they may come to believe that they deserve pain. When children are shamed, severely pun­ished, or mocked when they miss the mark or disobey, they start to perceive themselves as fundamentally flawed and irre­deemably bad. This perception is the essence of core negative beliefs.

The Inner Critic emerges in this environment to save the child from attack or abandonment. Even if its modus operandi becomes toxic, its original motivation is protective. The scar tissue around the primal wound­ing from criticism forms at a very early stage of development. This is why these beliefs are often brutally fierce and don’t re­spond to logic.

For many of us, as Hal and Sidra Stone note, “at some point the Critic oversteps its bounds, takes matters into its own hands, and begins to operate on its own agenda.. . . With the Critic’s original aims and purposes forgotten, all that is left for it is the excitement of the chase and the wonderfully triumphant feeling of conquest, as it operates secretly and independently of any outside control.”

The Overzealous Inner Critic

An overzealous Inner Critic can also develop as a result of events like an illness, accident, or death in the family. For example, Melissa grew up with a parent who struggled heroically with a debilitating neurological disorder. Melissa suffered from low-level depression that invariably made her energy fiz­zle. Every time she started a project, she soon lost motivation and focus, and the goal languished in the final eighth zone.

Through the final eighth process, Melissa realized she had a form of survivor’s guilt. She became aware that she’d always felt guilty that, in contrast to her disabled mother, she was agile and enjoyed her good physical health. That feeling grew until she felt shame when experiencing any form of enjoyment.

The fallout from Melissa’s core negative belief (“I don’t deserve”) was that she unconsciously forbade herself any victory laps. The best way to avoid celebrating victory was simply not to achieve a goal. Melissa had permission from her Inner Critic to go pretty far — 7/8 of the way there — but not to triumphantly cross the finish line.

Even though it was uncomfortable to be stuck, her shrouded priority was to avoid the awful feeling of guilt for achieving and enjoying her success. Even though no­body else ever asked her to limit herself, this was Melissa’s un­conscious act of distorted loyalty to her mother.

Another tricky characteristic of core negative beliefs is their ability to hide. For example, your Can-Do self may take over your schedule and accomplish many tasks for some time. But if your root belief (conscious or unconscious) is “Noth­ing works out,” different personas will take over and collude to make sure things don’t work out. Many of us work against ourselves. Failure can truly be an inside job.

Competing Inner Agendas

We’re complicated beings with multiple, competing inner agendas. Once you see what those are and how they’re work­ing, you can do something about them.

Your one or two core negative beliefs are an invisible car­pet. If your core belief is “Nothing works out,” you’ll stand on that rug regardless of where you are and what you are doing. When you mistakenly assume something is true, the miscon­ception rules your behavior.

When you’re so close to the finish line that your core negative belief is threatened, any number of discomforts roll in. Perhaps you suddenly have to deal with deadlines you completely forgot about, or you feel confused, unfulfilled, irrespon­sible, overextended, overwhelmed, underwhelmed, fatigued, apathetic, demoralized, irritable, bored, hopeless, or unable to concentrate. Perhaps you’re overcome by a headache, tooth­ache, heartache, stomachache, or other aches.

Negative beliefs can operate clandestinely and hide behind extreme feelings, vulnerability, and difficult emotions, including shame and envy. The intensity lurking within the negative beliefs triggers avoidance behaviors. You start distracting yourself with fleet­ing pleasures like Googling rare illnesses, napping, and watching videos.

The resulting inaction on your project triggers the false feedback loop that being stuck is proof of the accuracy of your core negative beliefs. Remember, these negative beliefs are lies. What is true is that they exist, and they shape your thoughts, behaviors, attitudes, motivations, and interpretations of natu­ral glitches and frustrations. For many people, these impera­tives evolve into silent, powerful, soul-crushing mantras that paralyze rather than motivate.

©2020 by Bridgit Dengel Gaspard. Reprinted with
permission of the publisher, 
New World Library. 
www.newworldlibrary.com
 or 800-972-6657 ext. 52.
.

Article Source

The Final 8th: Enlist Your Inner Selves to Accomplish Your Goals
by Bridgit Dengel Gaspard

The Final 8th: Enlist Your Inner Selves to Accomplish Your Goals by Bridgit Dengel GaspardBridgit Dengel Gaspard coined the term “the final eighth” to describe a phenomenon she experienced herself and observed in others: talented, energetic, motivated people accomplish many steps toward a goal (seven-eighths of it) but then are mysteriously stalled. Practical tips and pep talks don’t work because the problem — and the solution — lies deeper. While the conscious, everyday self says, “I want this,” other inner selves worry that success will put them in some kind of danger. The powerful secret? Not every part of you wants what you think you want! The innovative technique of voice dialogue will help you communicate with your alter egos, whatever your goal is. In the process, you’ll discover and liberate inner “wise counselors, canny advisers, and magical sages,” transforming them into valuable allies who’ll help you finally achieve your goals.

For more info and/or to order this book, click here. Also available as a Kindle edition.

Bridgit Dengel GaspardAbout the Author

Bridgit Dengel Gaspard, LCSW,graduated from Columbia University, founded the New York Voice Dialogue Institute, and has led workshops for Omega Institute, New York Open Center, and many other organizations. As a former performer and comic, she specializes in overcoming creativity blocks.

Find out more about her work at Bridgit-Dengel-Gaspard.com/
  

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration
 

INNERSELF VOICES

What Does Our Authority Rest Upon?
Transitioning from Authoritarian "Outer" Authority to Spiritual "Inner" Authority
by Pierre Pradervand
For thousands of years, ever since mankind started settling in cities, we evolved in rigid,…
The Birthing of A New World Which Is Struggling to be Born
The Birthing of A New World Which Is Struggling to be Born
by Ervin Laszlo
Talk of fundamental change in the world around us is often met with skepticism. Change in society,…
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
by Peter Ruppert
We all experience positive and negative self-talk on a regular basis. Whether you realize it or…
Horoscope Current Week: April 19 - 25, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: April 19 - 25, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
If you’ve contracted COVID, you not only had health problems that may have been life-threatening,…
Awakening to the Dream of the Earth and Loving the World
Awakening to the Dream of the Earth and Loving the World
by Bill Plotkin, Ph.D.
The most important question is not how to survive biodiversity loss, climate disruption, ecological…
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career 
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career
by Paula Caligiuri, Ph.D.
Even if your tolerance of ambiguity is lower, there are proven ways to build this important…
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
by Mary J. Cronin, Ph.D.
One approach that addresses the challenges families face today comes down to a familiar but often…

MOST READ

Is Your Bedroom Sacred?
Is Your Bedroom Sacred? Honoring Your Personal Sanctuary
by Jon Robertson
The bedroom is home to our prayers and dreams, our solitude and sexuality. In this inner sanctum,…
Domestic Violence: Calls For Help Have Increased – But The Answers Haven't Gotten Any Easier
Domestic Violence: Calls For Help Have Increased – But The Answers Haven't Gotten Any Easier
by Tara N. Richards and Justin Nix, University of Nebraska Omaha
Experts expected the increase in domestic violence victims seeking help last year (2020). Victims…
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career 
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career
by Paula Caligiuri, Ph.D.
Even if your tolerance of ambiguity is lower, there are proven ways to build this important…
How to Meet the Ambitious Target of Conserving 30% of Earth by 2030
How to Meet the Ambitious Target of Conserving 30% of Earth by 2030
by Matthew Mitchell, University of British Columbia
Fifty-five nations, including Canada, the European Union, Japan and Mexico have pledged to meet the…
Baby Bees Love Carbs – Here's Why That Matters
Baby Bees Love Carbs – Here's Why That Matters
by James Gilbert, University of Hull and Elizabeth Duncan, University of Leeds
Wild bees are essential for sustaining the landscapes we love. A healthy community of wild…
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
by Peter Ruppert
We all experience positive and negative self-talk on a regular basis. Whether you realize it or…
COVID-19: Does Exercising Really Reduce The Risk?
COVID-19: Does Exercising Really Reduce The Risk?
by Jamie Hartmann-Boyce, University of Oxford
A new US study shows that people who are less physically active are more likely to be hospitalised…
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
by Lucy Delap, University of Cambridge
The 1970s anti-sexist men’s movement had an infrastructure of magazines, conferences, men’s centres…
What Does Our Authority Rest Upon?
Transitioning from Authoritarian "Outer" Authority to Spiritual "Inner" Authority
by Pierre Pradervand
For thousands of years, ever since mankind started settling in cities, we evolved in rigid,…
At What Age Are People Usually Happiest? New Research Offers Surprising Clues
At What Age Are People Usually Happiest? New Research Offers Surprising Clues
by Clare Mehta, Emmanuel College
If you could be one age for the rest of your life, what would it be? Would you choose to be nine…
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
by Mary J. Cronin, Ph.D.
One approach that addresses the challenges families face today comes down to a familiar but often…
3 Ways Music Educators Can Help Students With Autism Develop Their Emotions
3 Ways Music Educators Can Help Students With Autism Develop Their Emotions
by Dawn R. Mitchell White, University of South Florida
Many children with autism struggle to find the words to express how they feel. But when it comes to…
Oscars 2021: COVID-19 Has Rekindled A 'Back to the Future' Love of Movies
Oscars 2021: COVID-19 Has Rekindled A 'Back to the Future' Love of Movies
by Kim Nelson, University of Windsor
Cinemas were not how people originally watched movies. There are signs that home viewing will be be…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.