Ma vie défilait devant mes yeux : le point de vue d'un psychologue sur ce qui pourrait se passer

image photoJS/Shutterstock

À l'âge de 16 ans, alors que Tony Kofi était apprenti constructeur vivant à Nottingham, il est tombé du troisième étage d'un immeuble. Le temps sembla ralentir massivement, et il vit une série complexe d'images défiler devant ses yeux.

As il l'a décrit, « Dans mon esprit, j'ai vu beaucoup, beaucoup de choses : des enfants que je n'avais même pas encore eus, des amis que je n'avais jamais vus mais qui sont maintenant mes amis. La chose qui m'est vraiment restée à l'esprit, c'est de jouer d'un instrument ». Puis Tony a atterri sur la tête et a perdu connaissance.

Quand il est revenu à l'hôpital, il se sentait comme une personne différente et ne voulait pas retourner à sa vie antérieure. Au cours des semaines suivantes, les images n'arrêtaient pas de lui revenir à l'esprit. Il avait l'impression qu'on lui « montrait quelque chose » et que les images représentaient son avenir.

Plus tard, Tony a vu une image d'un saxophone et l'a reconnu comme l'instrument dont il s'était vu jouer. Il a utilisé l'argent de son indemnisation de l'accident pour en acheter un. À présent, Tony Kofi est l'un des musiciens de jazz les plus titrés du Royaume-Uni, ayant remporté deux fois les BBC Jazz Awards, en 2005 et 2008.

Bien que la croyance de Tony qu'il a vu dans son avenir soit rare, il n'est pas rare que les gens rapportent assister à plusieurs scènes de leur passé lors de situations d'urgence d'une fraction de seconde. Après tout, c'est de là que vient l'expression « ma vie a flashé devant mes yeux ».

Mais qu'est-ce qui explique ce phénomène ? Les psychologues ont proposé un certain nombre d'explications, mais je dirais que la clé pour comprendre l'expérience de Tony réside dans une interprétation différente du temps lui-même.

Quand la vie défile devant nos yeux

L'expérience de la vie qui défile devant nos yeux est rapportée depuis plus d'un siècle. En 1892, un géologue suisse du nom d'Albert Heim tomba d'un précipice en escaladant une montagne. Dans son compte de la chute, a-t-il écrit, c'était « comme si sur une scène lointaine, toute ma vie passée [se déroulait] dans de nombreuses scènes ».


 Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

Plus récemment, en juillet 2005, une jeune femme du nom de Gill Hicks était assise près d'une des bombes qui ont explosé dans le métro de Londres. Dans les minutes qui ont suivi l'accident, elle a frôlé la mort où, comme elle le décrit: « ma vie défilait devant mes yeux, défilant à travers chaque scène, chaque moment heureux et triste, tout ce que j'ai jamais fait, dit, vécu ».

Dans certains cas, les gens ne voient pas une revue de leur vie entière, mais une série d'expériences et d'événements passés qui ont une signification particulière pour eux.

Expliquer les revues de vie

Peut-être étonnamment, étant donné sa fréquence, le "expérience de révision de vie» a été très peu étudié. Une poignée de théories ont été avancées, mais elles sont naturellement provisoires et plutôt vagues.

Par exemple, un groupe de chercheurs israéliens a suggéré en 2017 que nos événements de vie pourraient exister comme un continuum dans nos esprits, et peut venir au premier plan dans des conditions extrêmes de stress psychologique et physiologique.

Une autre théorie c'est que lorsque nous sommes proches de la mort, nos souvenirs se « déchargent » soudainement, comme le contenu d'une benne qu'on vide. Cela pourrait être lié à "désinhibition corticale” – une rupture des processus normaux de régulation du cerveau – dans des situations très stressantes ou dangereuses, provoquant une « cascade » d'impressions mentales.

Mais l'examen de la vie est généralement rapporté comme une expérience sereine et ordonnée, complètement différente du genre de cascade chaotique d'expériences associée à une désinhibition corticale. Et aucune de ces théories n'explique comment il est possible qu'une telle quantité d'informations - dans de nombreux cas, tous les événements de la vie d'une personne - se manifeste en quelques secondes, et souvent beaucoup moins.

Penser dans le temps « spatial »

Une autre explication consiste à penser le temps dans un sens « spatial ». Notre bon sens vue du temps est comme une flèche qui va du passé à travers le présent vers le futur, dans lequel nous n'avons qu'un accès direct au présent. Mais la physique moderne a mis en doute cette simple vision linéaire du temps.

En effet, depuis Einstein théorie de la relativité, certains physiciens ont adopté une vision « spatiale » du temps. Ils soutiennent que nous vivons dans un « univers de blocs » statique dans lequel le temps s'étale dans une sorte de panorama où le passé, le présent et le futur coexistent simultanément.

Le physicien moderne Carlo Rovelli – auteur du best-seller L'ordre du temps – soutient également que le temps linéaire n'existe pas en tant que fait universel. Cette idée reflète le point de vue du philosophe Emmanuel Kant, qui a soutenu que le temps n'est pas un phénomène objectivement réel, mais une construction de l'esprit humain.

Cela pourrait expliquer pourquoi certaines personnes sont capables de revoir les événements de toute leur vie en un instant. Une bonne partie des recherches antérieures - y compris le mien – a suggéré que notre perception normale du temps est simplement un produit de notre état normal de conscience.

Dans de nombreux états altérés de conscience, le temps ralentit si considérablement que les secondes semblent s'étirer en minutes. C'est une caractéristique commune de situations d'urgence, ainsi que les états de méditation profonde, expériences sur drogues psychédéliques et quand athlètes sont "dans la zone ».

Les limites de la compréhension

Mais qu'en est-il des visions apparentes de Tony Kofi sur son avenir ? A-t-il vraiment entrevu des scènes de sa vie future ? Se voyait-il jouer du saxophone parce que d'une manière ou d'une autre son avenir de musicien était déjà établi ?

Il y a évidemment des interprétations banales de l'expérience de Tony. Peut-être, par exemple, est-il devenu saxophoniste simplement parce qu'il s'est vu en jouer dans sa vision. Mais je ne pense pas qu'il soit impossible que Tony ait entrevu les événements futurs.

Si le temps existe vraiment dans un sens spatial – et s'il est vrai que le temps est une construction de l'esprit humain – alors peut-être que d'une certaine manière les événements futurs peuvent déjà être présents, tout comme les événements passés sont toujours présents.

Certes, c'est très difficile à comprendre. Mais pourquoi tout devrait-il avoir un sens pour nous ? Comme je l'ai suggéré dans un livre récent, il doit y avoir des aspects de la réalité qui dépassent notre compréhension. Après tout, nous ne sommes que des animaux, avec une conscience limitée de la réalité. Et peut-être plus que tout autre phénomène, cela est particulièrement vrai du temps.

A propos de l'auteur

Steve Taylor, maître de conférences en psychologie, Université de Leeds Beckett

 

Cet article a paru sur La Conversation

La Conversation


Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

Vous Aimeriez Aussi

LANGUES DISPONIBLES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

Icône facebooktwitter iconyoutube iconicône Instagramicône pintresticône rss

Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

L'inspiration quotidienne de Marie T.Russell
 

VOIX INNERSELF

vue transparente du haut du corps avec des rayons de lumière
Miracles et rémissions en utilisant l'harmonisation avec le corps
by Ewald Kliegel
Notre corps est comme un orchestre dans lequel les orgues jouent la symphonie de la vie avec les plus grands…
visage de lion regardant les étoiles
Horoscope de la semaine actuelle: du 2 au 8 août 2021
by Pam Younghans
Ce journal astrologique hebdomadaire est basé sur les influences planétaires, et offre des perspectives et…
silhouette d'une fille haute sur une balançoire au crépuscule surplombant un lac brumeux
Faire l'expérience des êtres élémentaires : vérité ou fantasme ?
by Thomas Mayer
Comment vivez-vous les êtres élémentaires ? Pouvez-vous consciemment y arriver? Et comment tu…
groupe de personnes chevauchant les rapides dans un radeau
Le pouvoir de l'impuissance : chevaucher les rapides de la vie
by Barry Vissell
Ce qui marche vraiment, c'est pour moi d'accepter mon impuissance, mon impuissance, que j'ai vraiment très…
Observations de la Nouvelle-Écosse à la Floride et retour
Observations de la Nouvelle-Écosse à la Floride et retour
by Robert Jennings, Innerself.com
La Nouvelle-Écosse est une province canadienne d'environ 1,000,000 XNUMX XNUMX d'habitants et notre comté d'origine en Floride compte…
Comment faire en sorte que "chance" est de votre côté
Comment faire en sorte que "chance" est de votre côté
by Marie T. Russell
« Il a tellement de chance ! Elle gagne toujours ! Je n'ai tout simplement pas de chance ! Ces déclarations vous semblent familières ? Ont-ils…
visage de femme flottant dans l'eau
Comment développer le courage et sortir de votre zone de confort
by Pierre Ruppert
Le courage ne consiste pas à être intrépide face à une situation effrayante. C'est la volonté de bouger...
Avoir le courage de vivre et de demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou ce que vous voulez.
Avoir le courage de vivre et de demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou ce que vous voulez
by Amy Fish
Il faut avoir le courage de vivre. Cela comprend apprendre à demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou…

Nouvelles attitudes - nouvelles possibilités

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Marché
Copyright © 1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. Tous les droits sont réservés.

My life flashed before my eyes: a psychologist's take on what might be happening

image photoJS/Shutterstock

At the age of 16, when Tony Kofi was an apprentice builder living in Nottingham, he fell from the third storey of a building. Time seemed to slow down massively, and he saw a complex series of images flash before his eyes.

As he described it, “In my mind’s eye I saw many, many things: children that I hadn’t even had yet, friends that I had never seen but are now my friends. The thing that really stuck in my mind was playing an instrument”. Then Tony landed on his head and lost consciousness.

When he came to at the hospital, he felt like a different person and didn’t want to return to his previous life. Over the following weeks, the images kept flashing back into his mind. He felt that he was “being shown something” and that the images represented his future.

Later, Tony saw a picture of a saxophone and recognised it as the instrument he’d seen himself playing. He used his compensation money from the accident to buy one. Now, Tony Kofi is one of the UK’s most successful jazz musicians, having won the BBC Jazz awards twice, in 2005 and 2008.

Though Tony’s belief that he saw into his future is uncommon, it’s by no means uncommon for people to report witnessing multiple scenes from their past during split-second emergency situations. After all, this is where the phrase “my life flashed before my eyes” comes from.

But what explains this phenomenon? Psychologists have proposed a number of explanations, but I’d argue the key to understanding Tony’s experience lies in a different interpretation of time itself.

When life flashes before our eyes

The experience of life flashing before one’s eyes has been reported for well over a century. In 1892, a Swiss geologist named Albert Heim fell from a precipice while mountain climbing. In his account of the fall, he wrote is was “as if on a distant stage, my whole past life [was] playing itself out in numerous scenes”.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

More recently, in July 2005, a young woman called Gill Hicks was sitting near one of the bombs that exploded on the London Underground. In the minutes after the accident, she hovered on the brink of death where, as she describes it: “my life was flashing before my eyes, flickering through every scene, every happy and sad moment, everything I have ever done, said, experienced”.

In some cases, people don’t see a review of their whole lives, but a series of past experiences and events that have special significance to them.

Explaining life reviews

Perhaps surprisingly, given how common it is, the “life review experience” has been studied very little. A handful of theories have been put forward, but they’re understandably tentative and rather vague.

For example, a group of Israeli researchers suggested in 2017 that our life events may exist as a continuum in our minds, and may come to the forefront in extreme conditions of psychological and physiological stress.

Another theory is that, when we’re close to death, our memories suddenly “unload” themselves, like the contents of a skip being dumped. This could be related to “cortical disinhibition” – a breaking down of the normal regulatory processes of the brain – in highly stressful or dangerous situations, causing a “cascade” of mental impressions.

But the life review is usually reported as a serene and ordered experience, completely unlike the kind of chaotic cascade of experiences associated with cortical disinhibition. And none of these theories explain how it’s possible for such a vast amount of information – in many cases, all the events of a person’s life – to manifest themselves in a period of a few seconds, and often far less.

Thinking in ‘spatial’ time

An alternative explanation is to think of time in a “spatial” sense. Our commonsense view of time is as an arrow that moves from the past through the present towards the future, in which we only have direct access to the present. But modern physics has cast doubt on this simple linear view of time.

Indeed, since Einstein’s theory of relativity, some physicists have adopted a “spatial” view of time. They argue we live in a static “block universe” in which time is spread out in a kind of panorama where the past, the present and the future co-exist simultaneously.

The modern physicist Carlo Rovelli – author of the best-selling The Order of Time – also holds the view that linear time doesn’t exist as a universal fact. This idea reflects the view of the philosopher Immanuel Kant, who argued that time is not an objectively real phenomenon, but a construct of the human mind.

This could explain why some people are able to review the events of their whole lives in an instant. A good deal of previous research – including my own – has suggested that our normal perception of time is simply a product of our normal state of consciousness.

In many altered states of consciousness, time slows down so dramatically that seconds seem to stretch out into minutes. This is a common feature of emergency situations, as well as states of deep meditation, experiences on psychedelic drugs and when athletes are “in the zone”.

The limits of understanding

But what about Tony Kofi’s apparent visions of his future? Did he really glimpse scenes from his future life? Did he see himself playing the saxophone because somehow his future as a musician was somehow already established?

There are obviously some mundane interpretations of Tony’s experience. Perhaps, for instance, he became a saxophone player simply because he saw himself playing it in his vision. But I don’t think it’s impossible that Tony did glimpse future events.

If time really does exist in a spatial sense – and if it’s true that time is a construct of the human mind – then perhaps in some way future events may already be present, just as past events are still present.

Admittedly, this is very difficult to make sense of. But why should everything make sense to us? As I have suggested in a recent book, there must be some aspects of reality that are beyond our comprehension. After all, we’re just animals, with a limited awareness of reality. And perhaps more than any other phenomenon, this is especially true of time.

About The Author

Steve Taylor, Senior Lecturer in Psychology, Leeds Beckett University

 

This article originally appeared on The Conversation

The Conversation

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaptruessvthtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Energetics and Unity: There Is Nothing Separate, Regardless of Appearances
Energetics and Unity: There Is Nothing Separate, Regardless of Appearances
by Lawrence Doochin
Energetics are foundational to the manifest world we see, and only one unified field of energy…
If Love Is The Answer, What Was The Question?
If Love Is The Answer, What Was The Question?
by Will Wilkinson
Since humans began thinking we’ve asked, “Who am I, why am I here?” Philosophers have debated,…
Not Just Ordinary Help: Another Miracle on the Road
Not Just Ordinary Help: Another Miracle on the Road
by Joyce Vissell
Have you ever really needed help and it seemed like no one cared? Well, we just had that experience…
Horoscope Week: July 5 - 11, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: July 5 - 11, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
What Do You Really Want... and What Do We Really Need?
What Do We Really Want... and What Do We Really Need?
by Rabbi Wayne Dosick
Most human beings want the same thing. Food. Shelter. Clothing. Good health. A sense of purpose.…
Why Human Fingerprints On Our Climate Are Not An Isolated Phenomenon
Why Human Fingerprints On Our Climate Are Not An Isolated Phenomenon
by Alex Smith
The fact that humans contribute to the warming of our planet is nothing new. Scientists have been…
drawing of numerous hands with a thumbs-up
Practicing Safe Success: Working with Your Inner Selves
by Bridgit Dengel Gaspard
Crossing your finish line can be a time of joyful celebration. But that can be followed by a myriad…
man sitting down writing
Make Your Dreams Come True—One Step at a Time
by Jane Finkle
As with all aspects of life, it’s impossible to predict with certainty how your career will evolve.…

MOST READ

Wildflower Apothecary: Summer
Wildflower Apothecary: Summer Medicine
by Valerie Segrest (Muckleshoot)
An enchanting blanket of wildflower medicine adorns the continent. Carefully cultivated by…
Can spirituality benefit breast cancer survivor health?
Can spirituality benefit breast cancer survivor health?
by Brian Consiglio, University of Missouri
New research looks at the connection between breast cancer and spirituality
woman holding smartphone
People don’t realize they’re data breach victims
by Laurel Thomas, University of Michigan
Most participants in a recent study had no idea that their email addresses and other personal…
Parts of the 5,000 Year-Old Stonehenge Stone Circle Were Imported
Parts of the 5,000 Year-Old Stonehenge Stone Circle Were Imported
by Mike Parker Pearson, UCL
Centuries before the development of rudimentary geology, Geoffrey’s exotic theory – that the stones…
a lone tree growing off the top of a bare cliff
Never, Ever Give Up: Having the Courage to Start Over Again
by Peter Ruppert
If you continue to build courage throughout your life and take each next step with grit,…
A woman lays down on a couch with her hands over her face
Postpartum women in bad relationships face more health risks
by Amy McCaig-Rice University
Postpartum women in bad romantic relationships are not only more likely to suffer symptoms of…
Getting Out of Poverty Shouldn’t Be About Luck
Getting Out of Poverty Shouldn’t Be About Luck
by Adriana Cadena
I grew up in a poor, undocumented family. I was lucky — we got our legal residency, I got an…
Workers stock water at a heat relief station offering free water
How to stay cool in a heat wave
by Kyle Mittan, University of Arizona
It’s not just you—it really has been absurdly hot in some areas of the US lately.

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.