حياة التغييرات

واقع جديد: بعد الصدمة يأتي التحول

ينقسم الوجه إلى ثلاث قطع
الصورة عن طريق Reimund بيرترامز


رواه ماري ت. راسل InnerSelf.com

نسخة الفيديو

في خضم المعاناة الشديدة ، يمكن أن يحدث تحول مذهل. يحدث ذلك أحيانًا للجنود في ساحة المعركة ، ولسجناء معسكرات الاعتقال الذين هم على وشك المجاعة ، والأشخاص الذين مروا بفترات من الإدمان الشديد ، والاكتئاب ، والفجيعة ، وما إلى ذلك.

أسمي هذه الظاهرة "التحول من خلال الاضطراب" (أو TTT ، باختصار). لقد كنت أبحث عن هذه الظاهرة منذ 15 عامًا وقمت بالتحقيق في العديد من الحالات الرائعة. في كتابي صحوة غير عادية، أشارك بعض هذه الحالات ، واستكشف ما يمكننا تعلمه من TTT وتطبيقه على تطورنا الشخصي.

الاستيقاظات غير عادية من ناحيتين: أولاً ، لأنها تحدث في مثل هذه الظروف غير المتوقعة ، وثانيًا ، لأن لها مثل هذا التأثير المذهل. يشعر الناس بالولادة من جديد تمامًا ، كما لو كانوا أشخاصًا مختلفين تمامًا.

في علم النفس ، هناك مفهوم يسمى "النمو اللاحق للصدمة" ، والذي يصف كيف يمكن أن يكون للصدمة آثار إيجابية طويلة المدى. على المدى الطويل ، يمكن أن يؤدي ذلك إلى تعزيز الشعور بالتقدير والمعنى ، وعلاقات أكثر أصالة ، وإحساس أوسع بالمنظور ، وما إلى ذلك.

TTT (التحول من خلال الاضطرابات) هو شكل متطرف ومثير للنمو اللاحق للصدمة. غالبًا ما يحدث ذلك على الفور ، في لحظة تحول واحدة. يتحول الناس إلى وعي أكثر كثافة واتساعًا. إنهم يشعرون بإحساس بالرفاهية ، ويبدو العالم أكثر واقعية وجمالًا. يشعرون بأنهم أكثر ارتباطًا بالآخرين وبالطبيعة. 

في الأساس ، يصل الناس تلقائيًا إلى حالة "التنوير" أو "اليقظة" التي يتحدث عنها العديد من التقاليد الروحية. وجدوا بالصدفة ما كان الممارسون الروحيون يبحثون عنه منذ زمن سحيق.

صحوة غير عادية

في سن 42 ، تم تشخيص إصابة إيرين موراي بسرطان الثدي وقيل لها إنه قد يتبقى لها بضعة أشهر فقط للعيش. تفاعلت إيرين مع تشخيصها بطريقة غير عادية. كما وصفته ،

كانت المرة الأولى التي أرى فيها الموت حقيقة. فكرت ، "أنا محظوظ جدًا لكوني على قيد الحياة." كان الهواء نقيًا ومنعشًا للغاية وكان كل ما نظرت إليه يبدو نابضًا بالحياة وحيويًا. كانت الأشجار خضراء جدًا وكان كل شيء على قيد الحياة. أدركت هذه الطاقة المنبعثة من الأشجار. كان لدي شعور هائل بالترابط ".

توقعت إيرين أن يتلاشى الشعور لكنه لم يفعل. على حد تعبيرها ،


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

"لقد كان مكثفًا حقًا في الأسابيع القليلة الأولى ، وظل كذلك منذ ذلك الحين. لقد أذهلني بعيدا اعتدت أن أجلس وأفكر ، "هذا مذهل ، أن الأشياء يمكن أن تقع في مكانها بسرعة."

لحسن الحظ ، بدأ سرطان إيرين في الشفاء ، لكن شعورها بالتقدير والرفاهية ظل قائما. شعرت كأنها شخص مختلف وتخلت عن حياتها المهنية في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات لإعادة تدريبها كمستشارة ومعالج. أكثر من أي شيء آخر ، شعرت بإحساس جديد بالارتباط بالآخرين وبالطبيعة ، واستمتاع جديد بالعزلة وعدم القيام بأي شيء.

مرّت امرأة تدعى حواء بتجربة مماثلة ، بعد أن وصلت إلى الحضيض كمدمنة على الكحول. بعد 29 عامًا من الإدمان ، شعرت بكسر جسديًا وعاطفيًا وحاولت الانتحار. في منزل والديها ، افترضت والدتها أن حواء بحاجة إلى مشروب لتخفيف أعراض الانسحاب وأعطتها كأسًا من النبيذ. لكن Eve لم تستطع شربه. تم إعطاؤها جرعات عالية من المهدئات للتعامل مع أعراض الانسحاب ، وبعد أيام قليلة شعرت وكأنها أصبحت إنسانة جديدة خالية من الإدمان. كما أخبرتني ،

"جلستني أمي أمام المرآة ، وقالت ،" انظر إلى نفسك ، أنت مدمن على الكحول. " نظرت إلى نفسي ، ولم أكن أعرف من أنا. شعرت وكأنني شخص مختلف تمامًا ". 

كانت حواء مرتبكة قليلاً بسبب تحولها في البداية ، ولكن سرعان ما استقرت ، وبدأت تشعر بالتحرر ، مع وعي متزايد وشعور قوي بالارتباط بالعالم. لم تشعر أبدًا بالحاجة إلى الشرب مرة أخرى وكانت متيقظة لمدة عشر سنوات.

واقع جديد 

من المهم ملاحظة أنه لا يوجد شيء ديني حول TTT. على الرغم من أننا يمكن أن نصفها بأنها صحوة روحية ، إلا أنها في الأساس تجربة نفسية مرتبطة بانهيار الهوية. وبشكل أكثر تحديدًا ، أعتقد أن TTT مرتبط بتفكك الارتباطات النفسية (مثل الآمال والطموحات ، والوضع ، والأدوار الاجتماعية ، والمعتقدات ، والممتلكات ، والأشخاص الآخرين) التي تحافظ على إحساسنا الطبيعي بالهوية. عادة ما يكون انهيار المرفقات والهوية تجربة مؤلمة ، ولكن في بعض الناس ، قد يسمح لهوية جديدة بالظهور.

أكثر من أي شيء آخر ، يكشف التحول من خلال الاضطرابات عن الإمكانات الهائلة والمرونة العميقة داخل البشر ، والتي عادة ما لا ندركها حتى نواجه التحديات والأزمات. على الرغم من أننا كثيرًا ما نخشى أن تنهار الأزمات ، إلا أن هناك فرصة جيدة لإيقاظنا.

بناء على الكتاب صحوة غير عادية.
© 2021 بواسطة ستيف تايلور. طبع بإذن

من مكتبة العالم الجديد. NewWorldLibrary.com

كتاب من هذا المؤلف

الاستيقاظ غير العادي: عندما تؤدي الصدمة إلى التحول
ستيف تايلور

كتاب دوفر: الاستيقاظ الاستثنائي: عندما تؤدي الصدمة إلى التحول لستيف تايلورلماذا يستجيب بعض الأشخاص الذين يعانون من أسوأ ما يمكن أن تقدمه الحياة ليس من خلال الانهيار ولكن بالانتقال إلى حالة مستيقظة وعالية الأداء ، مثل طائر الفينيق الذي ينهض من الرماد؟ وربما الأهم من ذلك ، كيف يمكننا محاكاة تحولاتهم؟

In صحوة غير عادية، سيجد القراء ليس فقط قصص التحول التي تظهر المرونة المذهلة للروح البشرية ، ولكن أيضًا الأمل والإرشاد للاستعانة به خلال نضالاتهم الخاصة ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع الإلهام والغذاء العميق للفكر.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب الورقي و / أو قم بتنزيل نسخة Kindle.

عن المؤلف

صورة ستيف تايلور ، دكتوراهستيف تايلور دكتوراه ، هو مؤلف صحوة غير عادية والعديد من الكتب الأخرى الأكثر مبيعًا. إنه محاضر أول في علم النفس في جامعة ليدز بيكيت ورئيس قسم علم النفس عبر الشخصية في جمعية علم النفس البريطانية. تم نشر مقالات ومقالات ستيف في أكثر من 100 مجلة ومجلة وصحيفة أكاديمية وهو يكتب مدونات لـ العلمي الأميركي و علم النفس اليوم. بزيارته على الإنترنت على www.StevenMTaylor.com.

المزيد من الكتب من قبل هذا المؤلف
  

المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

لماذا المضخات الحرارية 6 12
لماذا المضخات الحرارية والألواح الشمسية ضرورية للدفاع الوطني
by دانيال كوهان ، جامعة رايس
تعتبر الألواح الشمسية والمضخات الحرارية والهيدروجين بمثابة اللبنات الأساسية لاقتصاد الطاقة النظيفة. ولكن ل…
الإجهاد الاجتماعي والشيخوخة 6
كيف يمكن للضغوط الاجتماعية تسريع شيخوخة الجهاز المناعي
by إريك كلوباك ، جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا
مع تقدم الناس في السن ، تبدأ أجهزتهم المناعية بشكل طبيعي في التدهور. شيخوخة الجهاز المناعي ، ...
الأطعمة الصحية عند طهيها 6
9 خضروات صحية عند طهيها
by لورا براون ، جامعة تيسايد
ليست كل الأطعمة مغذية أكثر عند تناولها نيئة. في الواقع ، بعض الخضروات أكثر ...
الصوم المتقطع 6 17
هل الصيام المتقطع مفيد فعلاً لخسارة الوزن؟
by ديفيد كلايتون ، جامعة نوتنغهام ترنت
إذا كنت ممن فكرت في فقدان الوزن أو أرادت أن تصبح أكثر صحة في الماضي ...
عدم قدرة الشاحن 9
توضح قاعدة شاحن USB-C الجديدة كيف يتخذ المنظمون في الاتحاد الأوروبي قرارات للعالم
by رينو فوكارت ، جامعة لانكستر
هل سبق لك أن استعرت شاحنًا لأحد الأصدقاء لتجد أنه غير متوافق مع هاتفك؟ أو…
التأثير على الأحلام 6
كيف يؤثر عرقك وطبقتك وجنسك على أحلامك في المستقبل
by كارين أ. سيرولو ، جامعة روتجرز وجانيت روان ، جامعة ولاية مونتكلير
في فيلم "Pinocchio" من إنتاج ديزني ، غنى Jiminy Cricket الشهير ، "عندما تتمنى نجمة ، لا تقدم ...
فقدان ذاكرة الرضع 6 9
لماذا لا يمكنك تذكر ولادتك أو تعلم المشي أو قول كلماتك الأولى
by فانيسا لوبو ، جامعة روتجرز
على الرغم من حقيقة أن الناس لا يستطيعون التذكر كثيرًا قبل سن الثانية أو الثالثة ، تشير الأبحاث إلى أن ...
التواصل مع الحيوانات 6
كيف تتواصل مع الحيوانات
by مارتا وليامز
تحاول الحيوانات دائمًا الوصول إلينا. إنهم يرسلون إلينا باستمرار رسائل بديهية ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Life Changes

A New Reality: After Trauma Comes Transformation

face split into three pieces
Image by Reimund Bertrams


Narrated by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com

Video version

In the midst of intense suffering, an amazing transformation can occur. It sometimes happens to soldiers on a battlefield, to the inmates of prison camps who are on the verge of starvation, to people who have been through periods of severe addiction, depression, bereavement, and so on.

I call this phenomenon “transformation through turmoil” (or TTT, for short). I have been researching the phenomenon for 15 years and have investigated many remarkable cases. In my book Extraordinary Awakenings, I share some of these cases, and explore what we can learn from TTT and apply to our own personal development.

The awakenings are extraordinary in two ways: first, because they occur in such unexpected circumstances, and second, because they have such an incredible effect. People feel completely reborn, as if they are completely different people.

In psychology, there is a concept called ‘post-traumatic growth,’ which describes how trauma can have long term positive effects. In the long run, it can lead to an enhanced sense of appreciation and meaning, more authentic relationships, a wider sense of perspective, and so on.

TTT (Transformation Through Turmoil) is an extreme and dramatic form of post-traumatic growth. It often happens instantaneously, in a single moment of transformation. People shift into a much more intense and expansive awareness. They feel a sense of wellbeing, and the world seems more real and beautiful. They feel more connected to other people, and to nature. 

Essentially, people spontaneously attain the state of “enlightenment” or “wakefulness” that is spoken of in many spiritual traditions. They accidentally find what spiritual practitioners have been searching for since time immemorial.

Extraordinary Awakenings

At the age of 42, Irene Murray was diagnosed with breast cancer and told that she might only have a few months left to live. Irene reacted to her diagnosis in an unusual way. As she described it,

“It was the first time I’d seen death as a reality. I thought, ‘I’m just so lucky to be alive.’ The air was so clean and fresh and everything I looked at seemed so vibrant and vivid. The trees were so green and everything was so alive. I became aware of this energy radiating from the trees. I had a tremendous feeling of connectedness.”

Irene expected the feeling to fade but it didn’t. As she put it,


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

“It was really intense for the first few weeks, and it’s remained ever since. It just blew me away. I used to just sit and think, “This is amazing, that things could just fall into place so quickly.’

Fortunately, Irene’s cancer went into remission, but her sense of appreciation and wellbeing remained. She felt like a different person and gave up her IT career to retrain as a counsellor and therapist. More than anything, she felt a new sense of connection to other people and to nature, and a new enjoyment of solitude and doing nothing.

A woman called Eve had a similar experience, after reaching rock bottom as an alcoholic. After 29 years of addiction, she felt physically and emotionally broken, and attempted suicide. At her parents’ house, her mother assumed Eve needed a drink to ease her withdrawal symptoms and gave her a glass of wine. But Eve couldn’t drink it. She was given high doses of sedatives to deal with her withdrawal symptoms, and after a few days, she felt like she had become a new person who was free of addiction. As she told me,

“Mum sat me down in front of a mirror, and said, ‘Look at yourself, you’re an alcoholic.’ I looked at myself, and I had no idea who I was. I felt like a completely different person.” 

Eve was slightly confused by her transformation at first, but soon it settled down, and she began to feel liberated, with a heightened awareness and an intense sense of connection to the world. She has never felt the urge to drink again and has been sober for ten years.

A New Reality 

It is important to note that there is nothing religious about TTT. Although we could describe it as a spiritual awakening, it is essentially a psychological experience, related to a breakdown of identity. More specifically, I believe that TTT is related to the dissolution of psychological attachments (such as to hopes and ambitions, status, social roles, beliefs, possessions, other people) which sustain our normal sense of identity. The breakdown of attachments and identity is usually a painful experience, but in some people, it may allow a new identity to emerge.

More than anything else, transformation through turmoil reveals the massive potential and deep resilience within human beings, which we are usually unaware of until we face challenges and crises. Although we are often afraid that crises will break us down, there is a good chance that they will wake us up.

Based on the book Extraordinary Awakenings.
©2021 by Steve Taylor. Printed with permission

from New World Library. NewWorldLibrary.com

Book by this Author

Extraordinary Awakenings: When Trauma Leads to Transformation
by Steve Taylor

book dover: Extraordinary Awakenings: When Trauma Leads to Transformation by Steve TaylorWhy do some people who experience the worst that life has to offer respond not by breaking down but by shifting up, into a higher-functioning, awakened state, like phoenixes rising from the ashes? And perhaps more importantly, how can we emulate their transformations?

In Extraordinary Awakenings, readers will find not only riveting stories of transformation that show the amazing resilience of the human spirit, but also hope and guidance to call on during their own struggles, together with inspiration and profound food for thought.

Click here for more info and/or to order this paperback book and/or download the Kindle edition.

About the Author

photo of Steve Taylor, PhDSteve Taylor, PhD, is the author of Extraordinary Awakenings and many other bestselling books. He’s senior lecturer in psychology at Leeds Beckett University and the chair of the Transpersonal Psychology Section of the British Psychological Society. Steve’s articles and essays have been published in over 100 academic journals, magazines, and newspapers and he blogs for Scientific American and Psychology Today. Visit him online at www.StevenMTaylor.com.

More Books by this Author
  

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

mindfulness and dance mental health 4 27
How Mindfulness And Dance Can Improve Mental Health
by Adrianna Mendrek, Bishop's University
For decades, the somatosensory cortex was considered to only be responsible for processing sensory…
charger incapability 9 19
New USB-C Charger Rule Shows How EU Regulators Make Decisions For The World
by Renaud Foucart, Lancaster University
Have you ever borrowed a friend’s charger only to find it is not compatible with your phone? Or…
man. woman and child at the beach
Is This The Day? Father's Day Turnaround
by Will Wilkinson
It's Father's Day. What's the symbolic meaning? Could something life-changing happen today in your…
how pain killers work 4 27
How Do Painkillers Actually Kill Pain?
by Rebecca Seal and Benedict Alter, University of Pittsburgh
Without the ability to feel pain, life is more dangerous. To avoid injury, pain tells us to use a…
what about vegan cheese 4 27
What You Should Know About Vegan Cheese
by Richard Hoffman, University of Hertfordshire
Fortunately, thanks to the increasing popularity of veganism, food manufacturers have begun…
helath effects of bpa 6 19
What Decades Of Research Document The Health Effects Of BPA
by Tracey Woodruff, University of California, San Francisco
Whether or not you’ve heard of the chemical bisphenol A, better known as BPA, studies show that…
how save m0ney on food 6 29
How To Save On Your Food Bill And Still Eat Tasty, Nutritious Meals
by Clare Collins and Megan Whatnall, University of Newcastle
Grocery prices have taken a hike upwards for a host of reasons, including the rising costs of…
ocean sustainability 4 27
The Health Of The Ocean Hinges On Economics And The Idea Of Infinity Fish
by Rashid Sumaila, University of British Columbia
Indigenous Elders recently shared their dismay about the unprecedented decline in salmon…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.