مشكلة الأضداد والخوف من الخوف

مشكلة الأضداد والخوف من الخوف

نحن نطلق على أشياء مثل الحياة والموت "الأضداد" ، لكن هذا ليس اسمًا مرضيًا تمامًا حيث أنه يدل على وجود حالة معارضة وبالتالي صراع. لكن الحياة والموت في صراع فقط في العقل الذي يخلق حربًا بينهما من بين رغباته ومخاوفه.

في الواقع ، لا يتم معارضة الحياة والموت بل متكاملان ، حيث أنهما العاملان الأساسيان لحياة أكبر تتكون من الحياة والموت مثلما ينتج اللحن عن طريق السبر وإسكات الملاحظات الفردية.

تتغذى الحياة على الموت ، وحركتها نفسها ممكنة وواضحة فقط بسبب استمرار موت الخلايا وموتها ، وامتصاص التغذية والتخلص من النفايات ، والتي بدورها توفر تربة خصبة يمكن أن تنطلق منها حياة جديدة. للحيوية هي دورة يتطلب اكتمالها حركة صعودية وحركة هبوطية تمامًا كما لا يمكن للضوء أن يظهر دون الحركة الكاملة للموجة الخفيفة من البداية إلى النهاية ؛ إذا كانت هذه الموجات يمكن تقسيمها إلى نصف أو ربع موجات فإن الضوء سوف تختفي.

وكذلك في المجال البيولوجي ، لدينا جنسان متعاكسان ، الذكور والإناث ؛ ينقسم البشر بهذه الطريقة من أجل إعادة إنتاج أنفسهم ، ومعنى الرجل والمرأة هو الطفل الذي بدونه لن تكون هناك فائدة في ممارسة جنسين على الإطلاق. وهكذا هم الساقين التي تقف عليها حياتنا ، وعندما يتم قطع واحدة تنهار كلها.

الشوق خطأ

تقدم هذه الأضداد المزعومة الإنسان مشكلة صعبة ، لأنه يوجد في قلبه شوق إلى الأبد والنصر على الموت ، وهو شوق يتم توجيهه بشكل خاطئ لأنه في الحياة كما يعرفها هو أحد هؤلاء الأضداد وبالتالي يبدو أنه وضع ضد شيء لا يستطيع الانتصار عليه. أساس حياتنا كما نعرفها هو المعارضة بيننا وبين الكون ، وبين ما هو "أنا" والذي ليس "أنا"

مرة أخرى ، يوجد شيئان متكاملان أكثر من كونهما متعارضين ، لأنه من الواضح أن الذات لا يمكن أن توجد بدون الكون وأن الكون لا يمكن أن يوجد بدون العديد من الأنفس والكيانات التي يتكون منها. ولكن من وجهة نظر المعاناة ، فإن هذه الحقيقة ، مهما كانت واضحة ، مجردة بحتة.

علاوة على ذلك ، فإن وجود الكون يعتمد على ما يبدو فقط على كثرة غير شخصية من الأنفس التي يوجد بها إمداد لا ينضب ؛ انها لا تعتمد على أي الذات. في الواقع ، تبدو الطبيعة قاسية ومُهدرة بشكل مذهل في معاملتها لأنفسها ، وبالتالي ، فليس من المستغرب أن يتمرد الإنسان عند التعامل مع نفس التجاهل القاسي للفردية كما هي الحشرة.

يبدو أنه يوجد هنا صراع فعلي لا وجود له في العقل فقط ، لأنه من ناحية تضفي الطبيعة المهارة المدهشة على تكوين الأفراد وحتى على صونهم ، بينما تعاملهم مع الآخر كما لو كانوا لم يكن أكثر من الغبار الذي قاموا به.

ولكن إذا تم ربط أحد أو غيرها من أيدي الطبيعة ، فإن العالم إما أن يختنق نفسه بسبب فرط الحياة أو أن يكون سكانه بالكامل. ومع ذلك ، من وجهة نظر فردية ، فإن العملية تكون مضرة وقاسية. قد يساعد الإنسان الطبيعة على اقتصاد أكبر من خلال تنظيم التكاثر من نوعه والتكيف مع الطبيعة بدلاً من محاولة محاربته.

الوعي العالمي

مهما قيل حول الحاجة إلى تبني موقف الفرد من الحياة على أساس عالمي مختلف عن وجهة نظر شخصية ، فإن الصعوبة تكمن في أن الإنسان لا يشعر بالطريقة العادية. مركزه هو نفسه ووعيه يخترق النوافذ في جدار من اللحم. إنه لا يشعر وعيه بأنه موجود في أشياء خارج نفسه ، حيث يرى من خلال عيون الآخرين أو يتحرك مع أطراف الآخرين. والعالم خارج هذا الجدار مهدد ، لدرجة أنه يبذل كل ما في وسعه لتحصين نفسه ضده ، ويحيط نفسه بمجموعة من الممتلكات والأوهام لإخفاء نفسه عن العالم والعالم عنه.

ضمن هذه القلعة ، يسعى جاهدة إلى حماية والحفاظ على الشيء الذي يسميه بحياته ، لكنه قد يحاول أيضًا حبس أشعة الشمس في غرفة من خلال هدم الريح العمياء أو حبس الرياح عن طريق إغلاق الباب. للاستمتاع بالرياح ، يجب أن تتركها تهبك وتشعر بها ضد الجسد العاري ؛ نفس الشيء صحيح بالنسبة للوقت ، لأن اللحظة قد مرت دائمًا قبل أن يتم الاستيلاء عليها ، ونفس الشيء ينطبق على الحياة التي لا يمكن لجدار اللحم هذا أن يمسكها إلى الأبد. لكي تشعر به وتفهمه ، يجب أن تتركه يعجبك مثل الريح أثناء تحركها عبر الأرض من فراغ إلى فراغ.

لكن هذا لا يطاق. وهذا يعني هدم الحاجز ، والتخلي عن كل الأمن ، وفتح النوافذ على جانبي الغرفة بحيث تجتاح المسدس ، وتقرع المزهريات ، وتفرش أوراقنا ، وتزعج الأثاث. هذا ثمن باهظ للغاية يجب دفعه مقابل نفث الأتربة وأنسجة العنكبوت من نفوسنا. الى جانب ذلك ، يجب علينا أن نصاب بالبرد ونجلس نرتعد ونعطس حتى نضيع.

من عشك كل العوارض
سوف تتعفن ، والخاص النسر المنزل
اتركك عاريا للضحك
حتى سقوط الأوراق والرياح الباردة تأتي.

لذا ، فإننا نبقي النوافذ مغلقة ومغلقة حتى نموت من الاختناق ، حيث يغمرنا الهواء الراكد.

الخوف من الخوف

هذا مرض قديم قدمه ما أطلق عليه كيزرلينغ "الخوف الأصلي" الذي يطلق عليه علماء النفس من الخارج "مبدأ ألم السرور". لأنه مع انسحاب الحلزون والسلحفاة في قواقعهم ، يتقاعد الرجل في قلعته الوهمية. .

لكن من الغريب أنه في حين أن الحلزون والسلحفاة غالباً ما يخرجان من قذائفهما ، فإن الرجل لا يكاد يخرج من قلعته ، لأنه يبدو أنه لديه إحساس أكثر حدة بهويته الشخصية ، وبتمييزه عن بقية كون. وكلما زاد إحساس التمييز ، زاد التوتر بين الاثنين وكلما زاد أزواج الأضداد الحرب معا في الروح.

هذا التوتر الذي نسميه التعاسة ، لكن لا يُقترح التغلب عليه بإلغاء "الخوف الأصلي" ، والذي يعتبر بحد ذاته غريزته الأكثر قيمة. إذا أحببنا الألم بالقدر الذي يسعدنا فقد ننقرض قريبًا ، فهذا الخوف الأصلي من الألم هو ما يحثنا على الحفاظ على الذات.

هنا مرة أخرى لدينا زوج من الأضداد ، الحب والخوف أو ما شابه ذلك ونكره ، مكونات أساسية لكلية الإحساس ، لمن لا يخاف ولا يحب ولا يشعر. لكن لاحظ المصطلح أصلي الخوف. صعوبة الرجل هي أن خوفه نادراً ما يكون أصلياً ؛ يتم إزالتها مرة واحدة أو عدة مرات من الأصالة ، كونها ليست مجرد خوف بسيط ولكن الخوف من الخوف.

التوتر الإبداعي مقابل التوتر المدمر

هناك نوعان من التوتر ، إبداعي ومدمر ، الأول هو عندما يتم تشديد الخيط لإنتاج الموسيقى والثاني كما هو الحال عند توتره لكسره. بين الأضداد يجب أن يكون هناك توتر أيضًا إذا أرادوا أن ينتجوا الحياة. من طبيعتها يجب أن تتحرك في اتجاهين متعاكسين ، ومع ذلك يجب أن يجتمعوا من خلال علاقة ومعنى.

بواسطة قوة الطرد المركزي ، الأرض تسرع من الشمس ؛ بواسطة الجاذبية يتم رسمها نحوه ، وبالتالي يتحرك حولها في دائرة ولا يتم تجميدها أو حرقها. وبالتالي فإن حركة الأضداد بعيدًا عن بعضها البعض هي الخوف الأصلي ، في حين أن ربطة العنق التي تربطهم هي الحب الأصلي. والنتيجة هي التوتر الإبداعي.

لكن الإنسان ليس خائفًا فقط ؛ يخاف التوتر الناجم عن خوفه الأصلي بحيث يزداد خوفه. يزداد التوتر أيضًا ، ويزيد من حدة الخوف حتى يصبح مدمرًا بدلاً من الإبداع. وتمتد ربطة العنق إلى نقطة الانهيار ، حيث تميل الأضداد إلى الانفصال عن بعضها البعض في عزلة تامة.

وهكذا عندما يتم قبول توتر الخوف الأصلي ، يمكن للإنسان أن يتأرجح بسعادة على مداره ؛ ولكن إذا حاول الهرب من هذا الخوف ، فهو ببساطة يضيف خوفًا إلى الآخر وتوترًا إلى الآخر ، وهي عملية قد تستمر إلى الأبد. مثل الذبابة التي يتم صيدها في شبكة العنكبوت ، كلما كافح ، زاد انخراطه.

وبهذه الطريقة يتحول الإنسان إلى توتر الأضداد إلى صراع مدمر. يتشبث بواحد ويهرب من الآخر ، إنه ببساطة يحرض الشخص الذي يفره ليؤكد نفسه أكثر.

إن الكراهية للموت والتغيير تحاول أن تجعل الحياة بلا موت ولا تتغير ، وهذا موت جامد محتضر. ومن هنا يقول "الجبناء يموتون ألف حالة وفاة ، ولكن الشجاعة تموت ولكن مرة واحدة". لأن التمسك بالخوف من الألم يبدأ الإنسان بالتوتر ، ولكن المشكلة الحقيقية تبدأ عندما يحاول التخلص ليس فقط من الألم ولكن من التوتر أيضا ، وإعطاء نفسه عدوين بدلا من واحد.

هذا الألم يجب أن يثير الخوف أمر طبيعي كما يجب أن يثير الحريق الدفء. لكن دعها تبقى هناك ، لأننا إذا هربنا من خوفنا ، فإنه يصاب بالذعر ، وهذا هو المدخل إلى هاوية لا معنى لها من الخداع والبؤس.

الاعتراف وقبول الخوف

لا يحب الإنسان أن يعترف لنفسه أنه خائف ، لأن هذا يضعف تقديره لذاته ويهز إيمانه بأمان الأنا. قبول الخوف سيكون مثل قبول الموت ، لذلك يهرب منه ، وهذا هو التعاسة الكبيرة. يتم التعبير عنه في بعض الأحيان في رعب مطلق ، لكن في كثير من الأحيان يكون قلقًا نصف مخفي ، ينتشر في دوائر مفرغة إلى شدة متزايدة. كان من الأفضل أن نقول في المقام الأول ، "أنا خائف ، لكنني لا أخجل".

لذلك في صراعه مع الأضداد يخدع الإنسان نفسه دائمًا. الجوائز التي يحاول أن يبتلعها عن الحياة والاحتفاظ بها فقط لاستخدامه الشخصي تتحول إلى متعفن لأنه فصلها عن جذورها ، ولا يمكن لأي شيء معزول أن يعيش ، لأن أهم خصائص الحياة هي الدورة الدموية والتغيير.

من ناحية أخرى ، فإن المشاكل التي يحاول تجنبها هي الأشياء الوحيدة التي تجعله يدرك بركاته ، وإذا كان يحب هذا الأخير فيجب عليه أن يخشى الأول. لكنه يخاف من الخوف.

هذان الشيئان يجعلانه محبطًا وقلقًا على التوالي ، مما يدفعه أكثر فأكثر إلى العزلة ، والانفصال عن بقية الحياة والعداء تجاهه ، والوقوف تحتشد وبائسة بين شيطان الظروف وبين أعماق البحار التي لا يمكن التنبؤ بها. العواطف الجامحة.

وفي هذه العزلة تهلك روحه. إنه لا يفهم أن من يكون حرا في الحب ليس حرا حقا إلا إذا كان حرا في الخوف ، وهذه هي حرية السعادة.

حق النشر ©2018 by Joan Watts and Anne Watts.
طبع بإذن من مكتبة العالم الجديد
www.newworldlibrary.com

المادة المصدر

معنى السعادة: البحث عن حرية الروح في علم النفس الحديث وحكمة الشرق
من جانب آلان واتس

معنى السعادة: البحث عن حرية الروح في علم النفس الحديث وحكمة الشرق بقلـم آلان واتسفي أعماقه ، يعتقد معظم الناس أن السعادة تأتي من وجود or فعل شيئا ما. هنا ، في الكتاب الثالث الرائد ألان واتس (الذي نشر أصلا في 1940) ، يقدم أطروحة أكثر تحديا: السعادة الحقيقية تأتي من احتضان الحياة ككل في جميع تناقضاتها ومفارقاتها ، وهو الموقف الذي يطلق عليه واتس "طريقة القبول". بالاعتماد على الفلسفة الشرقية ، والتصوف الغربي ، وعلم النفس التحليلي ، يوضح واتس أن السعادة تأتي من قبول كل من خارجي العالم من حولنا و داخلي العالم داخلنا - العقل اللاواعي ، مع رغباته اللاعقلانية ، الكامنة وراء الوعي الأنا.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب الورقي و / أو تحميل طبعة الكتاب الإلكتروني.

عن المؤلف

واتس آلانآلان واتس (يناير 6 ، 1915 - نوفمبر 16 ، 1973) كان الفيلسوف الأمريكي المولود في بريطانيا ، والكاتب ، والمتحدث ، والبطل المضاد ، المعروف باسم مترجم للفلسفات الآسيوية للجمهور الغربي. كتب عن كتب 25 والعديد من المقالات التي تطبق تعاليم الدين والفلسفة الشرقية والغربية على حياتنا اليومية.

المزيد من الكتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = alan watts؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

The Problem of Opposites and The Fear of Fear

The Problem of Opposites and The Fear of Fear

We call such things as life and death “opposites,” but this is not altogether a satisfactory name seeing that it implies a state of opposition and hence of conflict. But life and death are in conflict only in the mind which creates a war between them out of its own desires and fears.

In fact life and death are not opposed but complementary, being the two essential factors of a greater life that is made up of living and dying just as melody is produced by the sounding and silencing of individual notes.

Life feeds on death, its very movement is only possible and apparent because of the continuous birth and death of cells, the absorption of nourishment and the discarding of waste, which in its turn provides a fertile soil from which new life can spring. For vitality is a cycle whose completion requires both upward movement and downward movement just as light cannot manifest itself without the whole motion of the light wave from start to finish; if these waves could be divided into half or quarter waves the light would disappear.

So also in the biological realm we have two opposite yet complementary sexes, male and female; beings are divided in this way in order to reproduce themselves, and the meaning of man and woman is the child without which there would be no point in having two sexes at all. Thus they are the two legs upon which our life stands, and when one is cut away the whole collapses.

Misdirected Longing

These so-called opposites present man with a difficult problem, for there is a longing in his heart for eternity and victory over death, a longing which is misdirected because in life as he knows it he himself is one of those opposites and thus is apparently set against something over which he can never triumph. For the foundation of our life as we know it is the opposition between ourselves and the universe, between that which is “I” and that which is not “I.”

Here again are two things which are complementary rather than opposed, for it is obvious that the self cannot exist without the universe and that the universe cannot exist without the multitude of selves and entities of which it is composed. But from the point of view of suffering, struggling man this fact, however obvious, is purely abstract.

Moreover, the existence of the universe depends apparently only on the impersonal multitude of selves of which there is an inexhaustible supply; it does not depend on any particular self. Indeed, nature seems astonishingly callous and wasteful in its treatment of individual selves, and it is therefore not surprising that man should rebel when treated with the same callous disregard for individuality as is the insect.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


It even seems that here there is an actual conflict which does not exist solely in the mind, for with one hand nature lavishes the most amazing skill on the creation of individuals and even on their preservation, while with the other it treats them as if they were no more than the dust from which they rose.

But if one or the other of nature’s hands were tied the world would either choke itself from overabundance of life or be altogether depopulated. Nevertheless, from the individual point of view the process is wasteful and callous. Man might assist nature to a greater economy by regulating the reproduction of his own kind and by adapting himself to nature instead of trying to fight it.

Universal Consciousness

Whatever may be said about the need for basing one’s attitude to life on a universal as distinct from a personal point of view, the difficulty is that in the ordinary way man does not feel universal. His center is himself and his consciousness peeps out through windows in a wall of flesh; he does not feel his consciousness as existing in things outside of himself, seeing through others’ eyes or moving with others’ limbs. And the world outside that wall is threatening, so much so that he does everything possible to fortify himself against it, surrounding himself with a barricade of possessions and illusions to hide himself from the world and the world from him.

Within this fortress he strives to guard and preserve the thing he calls his life, but he might as well try to imprison sunlight in a room by pulling down the blind or trap wind by shutting the door. To enjoy wind you must let it blow past you and feel it against bare flesh; the same is true of time, for the moment has always gone before it can be seized, and the same is true of life which not even this wall of flesh can hold forever. To feel and understand it you must let it blow past you like the wind as it moves across the earth from void to void.

But this is intolerable. It means tearing down the barricade, giving up every security, opening windows both sides of the room so that the draft sweeps through, knocks down the vases, scatters our papers, and upsets the furniture. This is too great a price to pay for having the dust and cobwebs blown out of our souls. Besides, we shall catch cold and sit shivering and sneezing till we go crazy.

From thy nest every rafter
Will rot, and thine eagle-home
Leave thee naked to laughter
Till leaves fall and cold winds come.

So we keep the windows closed and shuttered until we die from suffocation, overwhelmed by stagnant air.

The Fear of Fear

This is a malady as old as life, born of what Keyserling  calls “Original Fear” whose outward aspect psychologists term the “pleasure-pain principle.” For as the snail and the tortoise withdraw into their shells, man retires into his castle of illusion.

But it is curious that whereas the snail and the tortoise often come out of their shells, man hardly ever comes out of his castle, because he seems to have a much more acute sense of his personal identity, of his distinction from the rest of the universe. The greater the sense of distinction, the greater the tension between the two and the more the pairs of opposites war together in the soul.

This tension we call unhappiness, but it is not suggested that it will be overcome by the abolition of “Original Fear,” which is in itself a most valuable instinct. If we liked pain as much as pleasure we might shortly become extinct, for it is only this original fear of pain which urges us to self-preservation.

Here again we have a pair of opposites, love and fear or like and dislike, mutually essential components of the faculty of feeling, for who does not fear neither loves nor feels. But note the term original fear. Man’s difficulty is that his fear is seldom original; it is once or many times removed from originality, being not just simple fear but the fear of being afraid.

Creative Tension vs. Destructive Tension

There are two kinds of tension, creative and destructive, the first as when a string is tensed to produce music and the second as when it is tensed to be broken. Between the opposites there must also be tension if they are to produce life. Of their nature they must move in opposite directions, and yet they must be held together by a relationship and a meaning.

By centrifugal force the earth speeds away from the sun; by gravity it is drawn toward it, and hence it moves around it in a circle and is neither frozen nor burned. Thus the movement of the opposites away from each other is original fear, while the tie that binds them is original love. The result is creative tension.

But man is not just afraid; he fears the tension caused by his original fear so that his fear is increased. The tension is also increased, growing all the more frightening until it becomes destructive instead of creative. The tie is stretched to breaking point, whereat the opposites tend to shoot apart into utter isolation.

Thus when the tension of original fear is accepted man can swing happily upon his orbit; but should he try to escape from that fear he simply adds one fear to another and one tension to another, which is a process that may go on forever. Like a fly caught in a spider’s web, the more he struggles, the more he becomes involved.

In this way the tension of the opposites is turned by man into destructive conflict. Clinging to one and fleeing from the other he simply incites the one he flees to assert itself the more.

To hate death and change is trying to make life deathless and changeless, and this is a rigid, moribund, living death. Hence the saying, “Cowards die a thousand deaths, but the valiant die but once.” For in holding to pleasure in fear of pain man starts the tension, but the real trouble begins when he tries to get rid not only of the pain but of the tension as well, giving himself two enemies instead of one.

That pain should arouse fear is as natural as that fire should arouse warmth. But let it stay there, for if we run from our fear it becomes panic, and this is the entrance to a bottomless abyss of self-deception and misery.

Admitting and Accepting Fear

Man does not like to admit to himself that he is afraid, for this weakens his self-esteem and shakes his faith in the security of his ego. To accept fear would be like accepting death, so he runs from it, and this is the great unhappiness. Sometimes it is expressed in sheer unbridled terror, but more often it is a half-concealed, gnawing anxiety moving in vicious circles to an ever-greater intensity. It would have been better to say in the first place, “I am afraid, but not ashamed.”

Therefore in struggling with the opposites man perpetually deceives himself. The prizes he tries to pluck away from life and keep solely for his personal use turn moldy because he has severed them from their roots, and nothing that is isolated can live, since the two most important characteristics of life are circulation and change.

On the other hand, the troubles which he tries to avoid are the only things which make him aware of his blessings, and if he would love the latter he must fear the former. But he is afraid of fear.

These two things make him respectively frustrated and worried, driving him more and more into an attitude of isolation, of separateness from and hostility toward the rest of life, standing huddled and miserable between the devil of circumstances and the deep sea of his own unpredictable and unruly emotions.

And in this isolation his spirit perishes. He does not understand that he who is free to love is not really free unless he is also free to fear, and this is the freedom of happiness.

Copyright ©2018 by Joan Watts and Anne Watts.
Printed with permission from New World Library
www.newworldlibrary.com

Article Source

The Meaning of Happiness: The Quest for Freedom of the Spirit in Modern Psychology and the Wisdom of the East
by Alan Watts

The Meaning of Happiness: The Quest for Freedom of the Spirit in Modern Psychology and the Wisdom of the East by Alan WattsDeep down, most people think that happiness comes from having or doing something. Here, in Alan Watts’s groundbreaking third book (originally published in 1940), he offers a more challenging thesis: authentic happiness comes from embracing life as a whole in all its contradictions and paradoxes, an attitude that Watts calls the “way of acceptance.” Drawing on Eastern philosophy, Western mysticism, and analytic psychology, Watts demonstrates that happiness comes from accepting both the outer world around us and the inner world inside us — the unconscious mind, with its irrational desires, lurking beyond the awareness of the ego.

Click here for more info and/or to order this paperback book and/or download the e-textbook edition.

About the Author

watts alanAlan Watts (January 6, 1915 – November 16, 1973) was a British-born American philosopher, writer, speaker, and counterculture hero, best known as an interpreter of Asian philosophies for a Western audience. He wrote over 25 books and numerous articles applying the teachings of Eastern and Western religion and philosophy to our everyday lives.

More books by this Author

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=alan watts;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}