كيف يمكن أن يؤدي الكمالية إلى الاكتئاب لدى الطلاب

كيف يمكن أن يؤدي الكمالية إلى الاكتئاب لدى الطلاب
صراع الأسهم.

ضغوط من سن الرشد يقترن بمتطلبات الإجازات الجامعية الجامع في خطر للأعراض الاكتئابية. حقيقة، 30 ما يقرب من٪ من الطلاب الجامعيين يعانون من أعراض الاكتئاب ، وهو ما يزيد ثلاثة أضعاف من عامة السكان. على هذا النحو ، يهتم الباحثون بشكل متزايد بتحديد العوامل التي تساهم في ظهور أعراض الاكتئاب للمساعدة في الحد من وباء الاكتئاب المتزايد. لنا دراسة جديدة، التي نشرت في الشخصية والفراغات الفردية ، ركزت على أحد هذه العوامل ، الكمالية ، وعواقبها الكئيبة.

يشير الكمالية إلى ميل إلى السعي الدؤوب لتحقيق الكمال وعقد معايير عالية quixotically. لكن الكمالية لا تدور حول تحديد الأهداف السامية ومحاولة الأفضل. على العكس من ذلك ، ينطوي الكمالية على ميل إلى الشعور بأن الآخرين ، مثل الآباء والمدرسين ، يطلبون الكمال. يميل الكمال إلى الاعتقاد بأن ما يكفي من الخير لا يكفي. على هذا النحو ، عالق الكمال المثالي في حلقة لا نهاية لها من الهزيمة الذاتية والإفراط في السعي حيث ينظر إلى كل مهمة جديدة على أنها فرصة للفشل وخيبة الأمل والتوبيخ الذاتي القاسي. لذلك ليس من المستغرب ذلك أدلة وافرة يوقع الكمالية في أعراض الاكتئاب.

ولكن لماذا ينتشر الكمالية على نطاق واسع بين الطلاب الجامعيين؟ تعزز الجامعة الظروف المثالية لتكثف الكمال والانتشار - سواء في الامتحانات أو التجارب الرياضية ، يتم قياس الطلاب وتقييمهم ومقارنتهم ببعضهم البعض. مثل هذه الضغوط إشكالية بالنسبة للعديد من الطلاب لأنها قد تؤدي إلى الإيمان المثالي بأن قيمتهم كشخص يعتمد على كونهم مثاليين في كل ما يفعلونه. في الواقع، وتشير الأدلة أن وقوع ارتفع الكمالية بين الطلاب الجامعيين في المملكة المتحدة وأمريكا الشمالية خلال العقود الثلاثة الماضية.

الانفصال الاجتماعي

تشير الحسابات النظرية القديمة إلى أن السبب الرئيسي وراء تلاحم الكمالية والاكتئاب يكمن في الانفصال الاجتماعي. يشير الانقطاع الاجتماعي إلى ميل إلى الشعور بعدم الارتياح ورفضه من قبل أشخاص آخرين. ومع ذلك ، فإن الطبيعة الدقيقة للانفصال الاجتماعي الذي عاناه الكماليون غير واضح.

تناولت دراستنا هذا من خلال التحقيق في شكلين معينين من قطع الاتصال الاجتماعي: التناقضات بين الأشخاص (إدراك وجود فجوة بين كيفك وكيف يريد الآخرون أن تكون) وفقدان الأمل الاجتماعي (التوقعات السلبية المتعلقة بنجاح العلاقات المستقبلية). نظرنا إلى هذه إلى جانب الكمالية وأعراض الاكتئاب في الطلاب الجامعيين 127 على مدى خمسة أشهر. أكمل الطلاب الجامعيين مقاييس تقرير الذات من الكمالية وأعراض الاكتئاب في البداية. بعد خمسة أشهر ، عادوا إلى المختبر واستكملوا إجراءات الانفصال الاجتماعي ، والكمالية ، وقياس متابعة أعراض الاكتئاب.

وكشفت النتائج التي توصلنا إليها أن الكمالية ولدت أعراض الاكتئاب في الطلاب الجامعيين لأنه تسبب الطلاب يشعرون أنهم كانوا أقل من توقعات الشعوب الأخرى (التناقضات بين الأشخاص) ، مما أدى بدوره إلى توقعات سلبية بشأن العلاقات المستقبلية (اليأس الاجتماعي).

المحادثةبعبارة أخرى ، تشير نتائجنا إلى أن الكمالية تقود إلى إحساس بخيبة أمل مستمرة وعدم موافقة الآخرين ، مما يؤدي بدوره إلى إثارة مشاعر مفادها أن العلاقات المستقبلية بين المرء لن تتحسن وأن مصيره الفشل. الشعور بأنهم لن ينتموا أبداً أو يتأقلموا أو يشعرون بالراحة حول الآخرين ، وفي وقت لاحق يترك الطلاب المثالية في حالة اكتئاب.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ماريان إثيرسون ، مساعدة دكتوراه ومرشحة في الدراسات العليا ، جامعة يورك سانت جون ومارتن سميث ، محاضر في أساليب البحث ، جامعة يورك سانت جون

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = depresson students؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

How Perfectionism Can Lead To Depression In Students

How Perfectionism Can Lead To Depression In Students
shutterstock.

The pressures of young adulthood coupled with the demands of university leave undergraduates at risk for depressive symptoms. In fact, nearly 30% of undergraduates suffer from depressive symptoms, which is threefold higher than the general population. As such, researchers are increasingly interested in identifying factors that contribute to depressive symptoms to help curb the ever-increasing depression epidemic. Our new study, published in Personality and Individual Differences, focused on one such factor, perfectionism, and its depressing consequences.

Perfectionism refers to a tendency to doggedly strive for perfection and hold quixotically high standards. However perfectionism isn’t just about setting lofty goals and trying one’s best. On the contrary, perfectionism involves a tendency to feel that other people, such as parents and teachers, demand perfection. Perfectionists are inclined to believe that good enough is never enough. As such, the typical perfectionist is stuck in an endless loop of self-defeating and over-striving in which each new task is seen as an opportunity for failure, disappointment and harsh self-rebuke. So it is not surprising that ample evidence implicates perfectionism in depressive symptoms.

But why is perfectionism so widespread among undergraduates? University fosters optimal conditions for perfectionism to thrive and spread – whether in examinations or sporting trials, students are measured, evaluated and compared against each other. Such pressures are problematic for many students as it can lead to the perfectionistic belief that their value as a person depends on being perfect at everything they do. Indeed, evidence suggests that the incidence of perfectionism has skyrocketed among UK and North American undergraduates over the past three decades.

Social disconnection

Longstanding theoretical accounts suggest that a key reason why perfectionism and depression go hand-in-hand is social disconnection. Social disconnection refers to a tendency to feel disliked and rejected by other people. However, the exact nature of the social disconnection experienced by perfectionists was unclear.

Our study addressed this by investigating two specific forms of social disconnection: interpersonal discrepancies (perceiving a gap between how you are and how other people want you to be) and social hopelessness (negative expectations concerning the success of future relationships). We looked at these alongside perfectionism and depressive symptoms in 127 undergraduates over five months. Undergraduates completed self-report measures of perfectionism and depressive symptoms at the start. Five months later, they returned to the lab and completed measures of social disconnection, perfectionism, and a follow-up measure of depressive symptoms.

Our findings revealed that perfectionism generated depressive symptoms in undergraduates because it caused students to feel like they were falling short of other peoples’ expectations (interpersonal discrepancies), which in turn caused negative expectations concerning future relationships (social hopelessness).

The ConversationIn other words, our results implied that perfectionism leads to a sense of ongoing disappointment and disapproval from others, which in turn triggers feelings that one’s future relationships will never improve and are doomed to fail. Feeling, that they will never belong, fit in, or feel comfortable around others, subsequently leaves perfectionist students depressed.

About The Author

Marianne Etherson, PhD Candidate and Graduate Teaching Assistant, York St John University and Martin Smith, Lecturer in Research Methods, York St John University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

We did not find any matches for your request.

enzh-CNtlfrhiides

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}