Comment le scandale moral en ligne peut se retourner

Comment le scandale moral en ligne peut se retourner

Selon une nouvelle étude, lorsque les protestations contre les comportements offensants sur les médias sociaux deviennent virales, les gens peuvent voir ceux qui défient le comportement moins comme des héros nobles faisant la bonne chose et plus que des intimidateurs qui imposent une punition excessive.

Benoît Monin, professeur d'éthique, de psychologie et de leadership à la Graduate School of Business et professeur de psychologie à l'université de Stanford, et Takuya Sawaoka, candidat à un doctorat, ont estimé que Même admirables comme remarques individuelles, elles peuvent susciter une plus grande sympathie pour le délinquant quand elles se multiplient.

Colère virale

"L'une des caractéristiques de l'ère numérique est que les mots ou les actions de n'importe qui peuvent devenir viraux, qu'ils aient l'intention ou non", explique Sawaoka.

"Dans de nombreux cas, les publications sur les réseaux sociaux qui suscitent une indignation virale n'ont jamais été conçues pour être vues par des personnes extérieures au cercle social de l'affiche. Quelqu'un n'a même pas besoin d'être sur les réseaux sociaux pour que ses actions deviennent virales. "

"Nous avons tous été dans l’un de ces tourbillons d’indignation ou à deux pas de nous en tant que spectateurs de notre fil de nouvelles sur les réseaux sociaux ..."

À cause des médias sociaux, les réponses à des comportements douteux se font plus que jamais sentir.

"Nous avons tous été dans une de ces crises de colère ou à deux pas de spectateurs de notre fil de nouvelles sur les réseaux sociaux", a déclaré Monin, notant à quel point ces cris sont devenus fréquents sur les réseaux sociaux.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Par exemple, à 2013, une jeune femme a tweeté qu’elle ne pouvait pas contracter le sida en voyageant en Afrique parce qu’elle était blanche. Son message, qu’elle dit avoir conçu comme une blague, est devenu viral à travers les médias sociaux et a rapidement fait son entrée dans les médias. Cela l'a amenée à perdre son emploi.

"D'une part, dénoncer l'injustice est vital pour le progrès social, et il est admirable que les gens se sentent capables d'exprimer des mots et des actions qu'ils croient être erronés", déclare Sawaoka. "D'autre part, il est difficile de ne pas se sentir quelque peu sympathique pour les personnes qui sont rabaissées par des milliers d'étrangers en ligne et qui perdent même des amis et des carrières suite à une blague mal conçue."

"Outrage à l'indignation"

Sawaoka et Monin ont mis leurs observations à l'épreuve. Ils ont mené six expériences avec un total de participants à 3,377 pour examiner comment les gens perçoivent un tollé général contre une publication offensive ou controversée sur les médias sociaux. Les chercheurs ont mis en place une variété de scénarios, y compris demander aux gens comment ils se sentaient quand il n'y avait qu'un ou deux commentaires par rapport à une masse de réponses.

Dans une étude, les chercheurs ont montré aux participants un article tiré d'une histoire réelle d'une travailleuse de bienfaisance qui avait posté une photo d'elle en faisant un geste obscène et en faisant semblant de crier «Silence and Respect» au cimetière national d'Arlington.

"Il y a un équilibre entre la sympathie et l'indignation ..."

Ils ont demandé aux participants à quel point ils avaient trouvé la photographie, ainsi que ce qu’ils pensaient des réponses au message.

Les chercheurs ont constaté que lorsque les participants ont vu le message avec un seul commentaire le condamnant, ils ont trouvé la réaction applaudie.

Lorsqu'ils ont vu cette réponse se faire l'écho de beaucoup d'autres, ils ont considéré la réponse originale - qui était louable dans l'isolement - plus négativement. Les premiers commentateurs ont été de facto pénalisés pour des réponses indépendantes ultérieures, disent-ils.

"Il y a un équilibre entre la sympathie et l'indignation", explique Monin à propos de leurs conclusions. "L’indignation monte et monte mais à un moment donné, la sympathie s’installe. Une fois qu’un commentaire fait partie d’un groupe, il peut paraître problématique. Les gens commencent à penser: «C'est trop - ça suffit». Nous sommes indignés par cette indignation. "

Qu'en est-il d'un suprémaciste blanc?

Les chercheurs étaient curieux de savoir si les gens se sentiraient moins sympathiques selon le statut du délinquant. Se sentiraient-ils différemment si quelque chose d'inoffensif était dit par une personne connue ou par quelqu'un que beaucoup de gens considèrent comme odieux, comme un suprémaciste blanc?

"De toute évidence, cela ne signifie pas que les gens devraient simplement garder le silence sur les actes répréhensibles des autres."

Dans une étude, les participants ont pu voir un article sur les médias sociaux tiré d'une histoire réelle où un comédien ridiculisait les femmes en surpoids. Les chercheurs ont mis en place deux conditions: l’une où ils se référaient à lui en tant qu’utilisateur moyen des médias sociaux, et l’autre où ils affirmaient qu’il était un acteur comique en plein essor.

À l'instar de leurs conclusions antérieures, les chercheurs ont constaté qu'une personnalité de haut niveau ne suscitait pas moins de sympathie que la personne moyenne, en dépit du fait que les gens pensaient pouvoir causer plus de tort à leur poste. Et, à l'instar de leurs résultats précédents, les chercheurs ont constaté que les gens considéraient les commentateurs individuels moins favorablement après que l'indignation soit devenue virale.

Lorsque Sawaoka et Monin ont testé leur affiliation à une organisation suprématiste blanche, ils ont trouvé des résultats similaires. Bien que les participants aient été moins favorables à un suprémaciste blanc faisant un commentaire raciste, ils ne considéraient pas différemment les individus ayant participé à l’indignation. Ils ont toujours perçu la manifestation de l'outrage viral comme de l'intimidation.

"Ces résultats suggèrent que nos résultats sont encore plus largement applicables que nous l'avions prévu à l'origine, avec une indignation virale conduisant à des impressions plus négatives de certains commentateurs, même si l'outrage est dirigé contre quelqu'un de suprémaciste blanc", écrit Sawaoka et Monin. .

Pas de solution miracle

La question de savoir comment réagir face à l’injustice à l’ère numérique est complexe, concluent Sawaoka et Monin.

"Nos résultats illustrent un dilemme moral difficile: un ensemble d'actions louables individuellement peut aboutir à un résultat injuste", déclare Sawaoka.

"Evidemment, l'implication n'est pas que les gens devraient simplement garder le silence sur les méfaits des autres", précise-t-il. "Mais je pense qu'il vaut la peine de reconsidérer si la honte massive d'individus spécifiques est vraiment le meilleur moyen de réaliser le progrès social."

La source: L'Université de Stanford

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = trolls en ligne; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

How Moral Outrage Online Can Backfire Big Time

How Moral Outrage Online Can Backfire Big Time

When outcry against offensive behavior on social media goes viral, people may see those challenging the behavior less as noble heroes doing the right thing and more as bullies doling out excessive punishment, according to a new study.

Through a series of laboratory studies, Benoît Monin, a professor of ethics, psychology, and leadership at the Graduate School of Business and professor of psychology at Stanford University, and PhD candidate Takuya Sawaoka found that while comments against offensive behavior are seen as legitimate and even admirable as individual remarks, they may lead to greater sympathy for the offender when they multiply.

Viral anger

“One of the features of the digital age is that anyone’s words or actions can go viral, whether they intend to or not,” says Sawaoka.

“In many cases, the social media posts that are met with viral outrage were never intended to be seen by people outside of the poster’s social circle. Someone doesn’t even need to be on social media in order for their actions to go viral.”

“We’ve all either been in one of those maelstroms of outrage or just one step away from one as bystanders on our social media news feeds…”

Because of social media, responses to questionable behavior reach further than ever before.

“We’ve all either been in one of those maelstroms of outrage or just one step away from one as bystanders on our social media news feeds,” says Monin, noting how frequent these public outcries have become on social media.

For example, in 2013 there was public outcry over a young woman who tweeted that she couldn’t get AIDS while traveling to Africa because she was white. Her post, which she says she intended as a joke, went viral across social media and quickly made its way into the news. It led to her losing her job.

“On the one hand, speaking out against injustice is vital for social progress, and it’s admirable that people feel empowered to call out words and actions they believe are wrong,” says Sawaoka. “On the other hand, it’s hard not to feel somewhat sympathetic for people who are belittled by thousands of strangers online, and who even lose friends and careers as a result of a poorly thought-out joke.”

‘Outrage at the outrage’

Sawaoka and Monin put their observations to the test. They conducted six experiments with a total of 3,377 participants to examine how people perceived public outcry to an offensive or controversial post on social media. The researchers set up a variety of scenarios, including asking people how they felt when there were only one or two comments versus a mass of replies.

In one study, the researchers showed participants a post taken from a real story of a charity worker who posted a photograph of herself making an obscene gesture and pretending to shout next to a sign that read “Silence and Respect” at Arlington National Cemetery.

“There is a balance between sympathy and outrage…”

They asked participants how offensive they found the photograph, as well as what they thought about the responses to the post.

The researchers found that when participants saw the post with just a single comment condemning it, they found the reaction applaudable.

When they saw that reply echoed by many others, they viewed the original reply—which had been praiseworthy in isolation—more negatively. Early commenters were de facto penalized for later, independent responses, they say.

“There is a balance between sympathy and outrage,” says Monin about their findings. “The outrage goes up and up but at some point sympathy kicks in. Once a comment becomes part of a group, it can appear problematic. People start to think, ‘This is too much—that’s enough.’ We see outrage at the outrage.”

What about a white supremacist?

The researchers were curious to know whether people would feel less sympathetic depending on the status of the offender. Would they feel differently if something offensive was says by a well-known person, or by someone many people regard as abhorrent, like a white supremacist?

“Obviously, the implication is not that people should simply stay silent about others’ wrongdoing.”

In one study, participants were shown a social media post taken from a real story where a comedian ridiculed overweight women. The researchers set up two conditions: one where they referred to him as an average social media user, and another where they said he was an up-and-coming comedy actor.

Mirroring their earlier findings, the researchers found that a high-profile persona did not elicit any less sympathy than the average person—despite the fact that people believed they could cause more harm from their post. And like their previous results, the researchers found that people viewed individual commenters less favorably after outrage went viral.

When Sawaoka and Monin tested for affiliation to a white supremacist organization, they found similar results. Although participants were less sympathetic toward a white supremacist making a racist comment, they did not view the individuals who participated in the outrage any differently. They still perceived the display of viral outrage as bullying.

“These results suggest that our findings are even more broadly applicable than we had originally anticipated, with viral outrage leading to more negative impressions of individual commenters even when the outrage is directed toward someone as widely despised as a white supremacist,” Sawaoka and Monin write.

No quick fix

The question about how to respond to injustice in the digital age is complex, Sawaoka and Monin conclude in the paper.

“Our findings illustrate a challenging moral dilemma: A collection of individually praiseworthy actions may cumulatively result in an unjust outcome,” Sawaoka says.

“Obviously, the implication is not that people should simply stay silent about others’ wrongdoing,” he clarifies. “But I think it is worth reconsidering whether the mass shaming of specific individuals is really the best way to achieve social progress.”

Source: Stanford University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=online trolls;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HAPPINESS & SUCCESS

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

New Home, New Clothes: The Old Ones No Longer Fit Once You Move To The Country

Rachael Wallis
What happens if you decide to jump in, Escape to the Country-style, and flee the city rat race?

SPIRITUALITY & MINDFULNESS

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Thich Nhat Hanh, The Buddhist Monk Who Introduced Mindfulness To The West, Prepares To Die

Brooke Schedneck
Thich Nhat Hanh, the monk who popularized mindfulness in the West, has returned home to Vietnam to enjoy the rest of his life.

RELATIONSHIPS

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

How Failure Helps Build Kids' Resilience

Nicole Racine and Sheri Madigan
Bubble-wrapping children doesn’t work. They need to experience mild adversity, to know how to overcome it when they inevitably face it in life.

INTUITION & AWARENESS

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

3 Reasons Why People Fall For Politicians' Lies

Mack Clayton Shelley, II
Why do people make such poor decisions about politics? Why are they so often distracted by lies, irrelevant alternatives and specious arguments?

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENTS

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Boys' Attention And Prosocial Behavior Linked To Earnings 30 Years Later

Francis Vergunst
New research, published in the medical journal JAMA Pediatrics, shows that boys from low-income backgrounds who were inattentive in kindergarten had lower earnings at age 36 while boys who were prosocial earned more.