النوم السيئ لدى كبار السن قد يشير إلى مرض الزهايمر

النوم السيئ لدى كبار السن قد يشير إلى مرض الزهايمر

أظهرت دراسة جديدة أن كبار السن الذين يقضون وقتا أقل في نوم الموجة البطيئة - النوم العميق الذي تحتاجه لتعزيز الذكريات واستيقاظ الشعور بالانتعاش - لديهم مستويات أعلى من البروتين في الدماغ tau.

ارتفاع تاو ، علامة على مرض الزهايمر ، ويرتبط بتلف في الدماغ والتراجع المعرفي.

النوم السيئ هو السمة المميزة لمرض الزهايمر. الأشخاص الذين يعانون من هذا المرض يميلون إلى الاستيقاظ من فقدان الذاكرة المرهق والمتفاقم ، مما يجعل الليل أقل إنعاشًا. ولكن كيف ولماذا ترتبط الليالي الممزقة بمرض الزهايمر غير مفهومة تمامًا. ربما كشف البحث الجديد عن جزء من التفسير.

"الشيء المثير للاهتمام هو أننا رأينا هذه العلاقة العكسية بين انخفاض نوم الموجة البطيئة والمزيد من البروتين tau في الأشخاص الذين كانوا إما طبيعيين إدراكيًا أو ضعيفًا جدًا ، وهذا يعني أن انخفاض نشاط الموجة البطيئة قد يكون علامة على الانتقال بين العادي والضعيف. يقول المؤلف الأول بريندان لوسي ، وهو أستاذ مساعد في علم الأعصاب ومدير مركز طب النوم في جامعة واشنطن في سانت لويس.

"قد يكون قياس كيف ينام الناس طريقة غير باضعة لفحص مرض الزهايمر قبل أو عندما يبدأ الناس في تطوير مشاكل في الذاكرة والتفكير".

تتبع النوم

تغيرات الدماغ التي تؤدي إلى مرض الزهايمر ، وهو مرض يصيب ما يقدر بعشرة ملايين من الأمريكيين ، يبدأ ببطء وبصمت. قبل عقدين من ظهور الأعراض المميزة لفقد الذاكرة والارتباك ، يبدأ بروتين الأميلويد بيتا في جمع اللويحات في الدماغ. تظهر أطياف التاو في وقت لاحق و يلي ضمور مناطق الدماغ الرئيسية. عندئذ فقط يبدأ الناس في إظهار علامات لا لبس فيها على التراجع المعرفي.

ويتمثل التحدي في العثور على أشخاص على المسار الصحيح لتطوير مرض الزهايمر قبل أن تقوّض هذه التغييرات الدماغية قدرتهم على التفكير بوضوح. لذلك ، قد يكون النوم علامة مفيد.

لفهم أفضل للعلاقة بين النوم ومرض الزهايمر ، درس الباحثون 119 الناس 60 سنوات من العمر أو كبار السن المعينين من خلال مركز أبحاث مرض الزهايمر تشارلز F. و Joanne Knight. معظم - 80 في المئة - كانت طبيعية بشكل علمي ، والباقي كانت منخفضة للغاية.

راقب الباحثون نوم المشاركين في المنزل على مدار أسبوع عادي. وحمل المشاركون جهازًا محمولًا EEG على جباههم لقياس موجات الدماغ أثناء نومهم ، وارتدى جهاز استشعار يشبه ساعة اليد ، والذي يتابع حركة الجسم.

سؤال بسيط - "ما مقدار قيلتك خلال اليوم؟" - قد يساعد الأطباء في تحديد الأشخاص الذين يمكنهم الاستفادة من إجراء مزيد من الاختبارات.

كما حافظ المشاركون على سجلات النوم وسجلوا جلسات النوم الليلية والقيلولة أثناء النهار. أنتج كل مشارك ليلتين على الأقل من البيانات ؛ كان بعضهم ما يصل إلى ستة.

كما قام الباحثون بقياس مستويات الأميلويد بيتا وتاو في الدماغ وفي السائل النخاعي الذي يغمر الدماغ والحبل الشوكي. خضع ثمانية وثلاثون شخصًا لفحوصات PET للدماغ من أجل البروتينين ، وخضع أشخاص 104 لصنابير العمود الفقري لتوفير السائل النخاعي للتحليل. سبعة وعشرون على حد سواء.

الجودة وليس الكمية

بعد السيطرة على عوامل مثل الجنس والعمر والحركات أثناء النوم ، وجد الباحثون أن انخفاض نوم الموجة البطيئة تزامن مع مستويات أعلى من تاو في الدماغ ونسبة أعلى من أميلويد في السائل الدماغي الشوكي.

يقول لوسي: "المفتاح هو أنه لم يكن إجمالي كمية النوم التي ارتبطت بـ تاو ، فقد كان النوم البطيء ، الذي يعكس جودة النوم". "الناس الذين يعانون من زيادة في علم الأمراض تاو كانوا ينامون في الليل أكثر وأكثر في النهار ، لكنهم لم يحصلوا على نوم جيد."

يقول الباحثون إنه إذا كانت الأبحاث المستقبلية تثبت النتائج التي توصلوا إليها ، فإن مراقبة النوم قد تكون طريقة سهلة وميسورة التكلفة للكشف المبكر عن مرض الزهايمر. ويرتبط قيلولة النهار بحد ذاتها بمستويات عالية من تاو ، مما يوحي بسؤال بسيط - "ما مقدار قيلتك خلال النهار؟" - قد يساعد الأطباء في تحديد الأشخاص الذين يمكنهم الاستفادة من المزيد من الاختبارات.

يقول لوسي: "لا أتوقع رصد النوم ليحل محل فحوص الدماغ أو تحليل السائل النخاعي لتحديد العلامات المبكرة لمرض الزهايمر ، لكنه قد يكملها". "إنه شيء يمكن تتبعه بسهولة مع مرور الوقت ، وإذا بدأت عادات نوم أحدهم في التغير ، فقد يكون ذلك علامة على الأطباء لإلقاء نظرة فاحصة على ما يمكن أن يحدث في أدمغتهم".

تظهر الدراسة في علوم الطب بالحركة.

حول المؤلف

وقد قامت بتمويل العمل المعاهد القومية للصحة ، ومؤسسة إليسون الطبية ، وصندوق ويلمان للباحثين ، ومؤسسة مستشفى بارنز اليهودي ، وجائزة تدريب عالم العلماء من مؤسسة طب النوم الأمريكية.

مصدر: جامعة واشنطن في سانت لويس

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = alzheimers prevention؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

الخوف والرهاب: كيف نواجههم وننتشرهم
الخوف والرهاب: كيف نواجههم وننتشرهم
by روبرت تي. لندن ، دكتوراه في الطب

Bad Sleep In Older Adults May Signal Alzheimer’s Disease

health

Bad Sleep In Older Adults May Signal Alzheimer’s Disease

Older people who spend less time in slow-wave sleep—the deep sleep you need to consolidate memories and wake up feeling refreshed—have higher levels of the brain protein tau, a new study shows.

Elevated tau, a sign of Alzheimer’s disease, links to brain damage and cognitive decline.

Poor sleep is a hallmark of Alzheimer’s disease. People with the disease tend to wake up tired and worsening memory loss make nights even less refreshing. But how and why restless nights are linked to Alzheimer’s disease is not fully understood. The new research may have uncovered part of the explanation.

“What’s interesting is that we saw this inverse relationship between decreased slow-wave sleep and more tau protein in people who were either cognitively normal or very mildly impaired, meaning that reduced slow-wave activity may be a marker for the transition between normal and impaired,” says first author Brendan Lucey, an assistant professor of neurology and director of the Sleep Medicine Center at Washington University in St. Louis.

“Measuring how people sleep may be a noninvasive way to screen for Alzheimer’s disease before or just as people begin to develop problems with memory and thinking.”

Tracking sleep

The brain changes that lead to Alzheimer’s, a disease that affects an estimated 5.7 million Americans, start slowly and silently. Up to two decades before the characteristic symptoms of memory loss and confusion appear, amyloid beta protein begins to collect into plaques in the brain. Tangles of tau appear later and atrophy of key brain areas follows. Only then do people start showing unmistakable signs of cognitive decline.

The challenge is finding people on track to develop Alzheimer’s before such brain changes undermine their ability to think clearly. For that, sleep may be a handy marker.

To better understand the link between sleep and Alzheimer’s disease, researchers studied 119 people 60 years of age or older recruited through the Charles F. and Joanne Knight Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center. Most—80 percent—were cognitively normal, and the remainder were very mildly impaired.

The researchers monitored the participants’ sleep at home over the course of a normal week. Participants strapped a portable EEG monitor to their foreheads to measure their brain waves as they slept, and wore a wristwatch-like sensor that tracks body movement.

A simple question—”How much do you nap during the day?”—might help doctors identify people who could benefit from further testing.

Participants also kept sleep logs and made note of both nighttime sleep sessions and daytime napping. Each participant produced at least two nights of data; some had as many as six.

The researchers also measured levels of amyloid beta and tau in the brain and in the cerebrospinal fluid that bathes the brain and spinal cord. Thirty-eight people underwent PET brain scans for the two proteins, and 104 people underwent spinal taps to provide cerebrospinal fluid for analysis. Twenty-seven did both.

Quality not quantity

After controlling for factors such as sex, age, and movements while sleeping, the researchers found that decreased slow-wave sleep coincided with higher levels of tau in the brain and a higher tau-to-amyloid ratio in the cerebrospinal fluid.

“The key is that it wasn’t the total amount of sleep that was linked to tau, it was the slow-wave sleep, which reflects quality of sleep,” Lucey says. “The people with increased tau pathology were actually sleeping more at night and napping more in the day, but they weren’t getting as good quality sleep.”

If future research bears out their findings, sleep monitoring may be an easy and affordable way to screen earlier for Alzheimer’s disease, the researchers say. Daytime napping alone is significantly associated with high levels of tau, which suggests a simple question—”How much do you nap during the day?”—might help doctors identify people who could benefit from further testing.

“I don’t expect sleep monitoring to replace brain scans or cerebrospinal fluid analysis for identifying early signs of Alzheimer’s disease, but it could supplement them,” Lucey says. “It’s something that could be easily followed over time, and if someone’s sleep habits start changing, that could be a sign for doctors to take a closer look at what might be going on in their brains.”

The study appears in Science Translational Medicine.

About the Authors

The National Institutes of Health, the Ellison Medical Foundation, the Willman Scholar Fund, the Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital, and a Physician Scientist Training Award from the American Sleep Medicine Foundation funded the work.

Source: Washington University in St. Louis

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=alzheimers prevention;maxresults=3}

health
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}