مليون حالة وفاة بسبب فيروس كورونا في الولايات المتحدة تترك الملايين يعانون من حزن صعب

الوفيات الناجمة عن فيروس كورونا في الولايات المتحدة 7 11 عندما يفقد شخص ما أحد أفراد أسرته بسبب COVID-19 ، يمكن أن تكون آثار الصحة العقلية شديدة. أولغا إفيموفا / إيم عبر جيتي إيماجيس

كان COVID-19 ثالث أكثر أسباب الوفاة شيوعًا بين مارس 2020 وأكتوبر 2021 في الولايات المتحدة ، بعد أمراض القلب والسرطان فقط ، وفقًا لـ دراسة حديثة.

كبار السن يواجهون الخطر الأكبر الموت من COVID-19، لكن الإصابة بفيروس كورونا لا تزال تشكل خطرًا خطيرًا على الشباب أيضًا. في عام 2021 ، كان COVID-19 هو أهم مسببات الوفيات في في البالغين الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 45 و 54 عامًا ، السبب الرئيسي الثاني للبالغين الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 35 و 44 عامًا والسبب الرئيسي الرابع لمن تتراوح أعمارهم بين 15 و 34 عامًا.

بصفتنا علماء اجتماع يدرسون صحة السكان ، قمنا بتقييم كيف أثر فقدان أحد الأحباء بسبب COVID-19 على رفاهية الناس. يظهر بحثنا أن أكثر من 9 ملايين شخص فقدوا أقاربهم من الدرجة الأولى إلى COVID-19 في الولايات المتحدة. هذا الارتفاع الدراماتيكي في الفجيعة مقلق لأن بحثنا وجد أن فجيعة COVID-19 ليست فقط يزيد من خطر إصابة الناس بالاكتئاب، ولكن يمكن أن تجعلهم عرضة بشكل فريد للاضطراب العقلي.

تميز حالات الوفاة الحزينة بـ COVID-19

الباحثون لديهم شعور بما يشكل الوفيات "الجيدة" و "السيئة". الوفيات السيئة هي تلك التي تنطوي على الألم أو عدم الراحة وتحدث في عزلة. كما أن عدم توقعهم يجعل هذه الوفيات أكثر إزعاجًا. يميل الأشخاص الذين يموت أحباؤهم "وفيات سيئة" إلى الإبلاغ ضائقة عقلية أكبر من أولئك الذين مات أحباؤهم في ظروف أفضل.

وفيات كوفيد -19 في كثير من الأحيان تحمل بصمات كثيرة من الوفيات "السيئة". يسبقها ألم جسدي وضيق ، وغالبًا ما تحدث في أماكن معزولة بالمستشفى وتحدث فجأة - مما يترك أفراد الأسرة غير مستعدين. تسببت الطبيعة المستمرة للوباء في طبقة إضافية من المعاناة ، حيث يشعر الأفراد بالحزن خلال فترة العزلة الاجتماعية المطولة ، والهشاشة الاقتصادية ، وعدم اليقين العام.

في آخر دراسة حديثة، استخدم فريقنا بيانات المسح الوطني من 27 دولة لاختبار ما إذا كانت آثار الصحة العقلية لوفيات COVID-19 أكثر حدة من الوفاة لأسباب أخرى. ركزنا على حالة وفاة الزوجين وقارننا مجموعتين من الأشخاص: أولئك الذين مات أزواجهم بسبب COVID-19 في الموجة الأولى من الوباء وأولئك الذين مات أزواجهم لأسباب أخرى قبل بدء الوباء مباشرة. وجدنا أن COVID-19 أرامل وأرامل تواجه معدلات أعلى من الاكتئاب والشعور بالوحدة مما كان متوقعًا استنادًا إلى نتائج الصحة النفسية للأرامل والأرمل في فترة ما قبل الجائحة.

العواقب الصحية الثانوية لوفيات COVID-19

تعد الآثار الضخمة لوفيات COVID-19 على الصحة العقلية للأزواج الحزينة مقلقة لأننا نقدر أن ما يقرب من 500,000 شخص قد فعلوا ذلك بالفعل. فقدت زوجها COVID-19 في الولايات المتحدة وحدها. يمكن أن تؤدي أيضًا مشاكل الصحة العقلية التي يواجهها الأشخاص بعد فقدان أحد أفراد أسرته تدهور الصحة الجسدية بل ويزيد من خطر وفاة الشخص.

يشير بحثنا إلى أن COVID-19 لم يؤدي فقط إلى زيادة معدلات الفجيعة الأسرية ، ولكن الأشخاص الذين فقدوا أحباءهم بسبب الفيروس التاجي أصيبوا بالضيق بشكل خاص بعد ذلك. لكننا درسنا الترمل فقط. يحتاج البحث المستقبلي إلى تحديد العواقب الصحية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية الفريدة المحتملة لخسائر COVID-19 للأقارب الثكلى الآخرين.

نظرًا لأن COVID-19 يمثل 1 من كل 8 وفيات بين مارس 2020 وأكتوبر 2021 ، هناك ملايين الأشخاص الذين يمكن أن يستفيدوا بشكل كبير من الدعم المالي والاجتماعي والصحي النفسي. من الأهمية بمكان أيضًا الاستمرار في اتخاذ خطوات لمنع وفيات COVID-19 في المستقبل. كل حالة وفاة يتم تجنبها لا تنقذ حياة فحسب ، بل تنقذ أيضًا العديد من الأحباء من الأذى الذي يتبع هذه المآسي.المحادثة


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

نبذة عن الكاتب

إميلي سميث غريناواي، أستاذ مشارك في علم الاجتماع ، USC Dornsife College of الآداب والفنون والعلوم; أشتون فيردري، أستاذ علم الاجتماع والديموغرافيا وتحليلات البيانات الاجتماعية ، ولاية بنسلفانيا; هاوي وانغ، باحث مشارك ما بعد الدكتوراه في علم الاجتماع ، ولاية بنسلفانياو شون بولدري، أستاذ مشارك في علم الاجتماع ، جامعة بوردو


وأوصت كتب: الصحة

الفاكهة الطازجة طهرجديد يطهر الفاكهة: السموم، انقاص وزنه واستعادة صحتك مع الأطعمة الطبيعة ألذ [غلاف عادي] من قاعة ليان.
انقاص وزنه ويشعر صحي حيوي في حين تطهير الجسم من السموم. الفاكهة الطازجة طهر يقدم كل ما تحتاجه للحصول على التخلص سهلة وقوية، بما في ذلك يوما بعد يوم والبرامج، وصفات التي يسيل لها اللعاب، وتقديم المشورة لنقل قبالة تطهير.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

تزدهر أغذيةتزدهر أغذية: 200 النباتي وصفات للصحة الذروة [غلاف عادي] بواسطة بريندان المبخرة.
بناء على الحد من التوتر، والصحة، تعزيز فلسفة الغذائية المقدمة في المشهود له نباتي دليل التغذية تزدهروالمهنية الرجل الحديدي المبخرة بريندان triathlete يتحول الآن انتباهه إلى لوحة العشاء الخاص بك (صحن وجبة الإفطار والغداء صينية أيضا).
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

الموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغيةالموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغية، مارتن فيلدمان، Rasio ديبورا وعميد كارولين
أصبحت البيئة الطبية عبارة عن متاهة من المتشابكة المستشفى، والشركات، والمجالس الحكومية من المديرين، ومخترقة من قبل شركات الأدوية. تمت الموافقة في كثير من الأحيان أكثر المواد السامة الأولى، في حين يتم تجاهل البدائل الطبيعية أكثر اعتدالا وأكثر من ذلك لأسباب مالية. إنه الموت من قبل الطب.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.


يهمني

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

شابة وجهها تحولت نحو الشمس
أهمية أن تكون في الخارج
by جويس Vissell
علاقتنا بالطبيعة ، بالخارج ، مهمة للغاية لجسديتنا و ...
امرأة تتسلق الجبال ، معلقة في الهواء
لكننا نخاف ...
by الحاخام واين دوسيك
فلماذا لا نذهب من أجلها؟ لماذا لا نتواصل مع ما نريده حقًا؟ لماذا لا نسعى جاهدين ...
صورة ظلية لامرأة تقف أمام نافذة
إذا لم يكن إغلاقًا للأشخاص الذين يشعرون بالحزن ، فماذا بعد؟
by نانسي بيرنز
من انهيار العلاقة إلى فقدان أحد أفراد أسرته ، غالبًا ما يُطلب من الأشخاص البحث عن "إغلاق" ...
الأطفال والتأمل 9 9
يمكن أن يعالج التأمل الأطفال الذين يعانون من الصدمات أو التشخيصات الصعبة أو الإجهاد
by هيلاري أ. ماروساك
يعاني الأطفال الذين يمارسون التأمل بنشاط من نشاط أقل في أجزاء من الدماغ تشارك في ...
مجموعة من الأشخاص يمارسون اليوجا على الشاطئ
ما تقوله بيانات الاستطلاع عن السلوك السياسي الروحي للأميركيين
by إيفان ستيوارت وخايمي كوتشينسكاس
تاريخيا ، كان الأمريكيون المتدينون منخرطين مدنيين. من خلال الكنائس وغيرها ...
العفوية والامتنان كملاعب إبداعية
العفوية والامتنان كملاعب إبداعية
by إيفلين سي ريسك
يمكن أن تظهر الأفكار العظيمة عندما تشارك بشكل كامل في مهمة أخرى. عندما تخطر ببالك فكرة ، توقف عما ...
أكثر استثمارات كفاءة الطاقة فعالية من حيث التكلفة التي يمكنك القيام بها
أكثر استثمارات كفاءة الطاقة فعالية من حيث التكلفة التي يمكنك القيام بها
by ياسمينا بوريك
يمكن أن توفر كفاءة الطاقة على مالكي المنازل والمستأجرين مئات الدولارات سنويًا ، والتضخم الجديد ...
قطة مداعبة
4 طرق لمعرفة ما إذا كانت قطتك تحبك
by إميلي بلاكويل
حتى أكثر مالكي القطط تفانيًا يتساءلون في مرحلة ما عما إذا كانت قطتهم تحبهم حقًا.

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

1 Million Covid Deaths In The US Leave Millions Reeling From Difficult Grief

covid deaths in us 7 11 When a person loses a loved one to COVID-19, the mental health effects can be severe. Ol'ga Efimova / EyeEm via Getty Images

COVID-19 was the third-most-common cause of death between March 2020 and October 2021 in the U.S., behind only heart disease and cancer, according to a recent study.

Older adults face the greatest risk of dying from COVID-19, but infection with the coronavirus remains a serious risk for younger people, too. In 2021, COVID-19 was the leading cause of death in adults aged 45 to 54, the second leading cause for adults aged 35 to 44 and the fourth leading cause for those aged 15 to 34.

As sociologists who study population health, we have been assessing how losing a loved one to COVID-19 has affected people’s well-being. Our research shows that more than 9 million people have lost a close relative to COVID-19 in the U.S. This dramatic rise in bereavement is troubling because our research finds that COVID-19 bereavement not only increases people’s risk of depression, but can make them uniquely vulnerable to mental distress.

The distinctness of grieving COVID-19 deaths

Researchers have a sense of what constitutes “good” and “bad” deaths. Bad deaths are those that involve pain or discomfort and happen in isolation. Their unexpectedness also makes these deaths more distressing. People whose loved ones die “bad deaths” tend to report greater mental distress than those whose loved ones died in more favorable circumstances.

COVID-19 deaths often bear many hallmarks of “bad” deaths. They are preceded by physical pain and distress, often occur in isolated hospital settings and happen suddenly – leaving family members unprepared. The ongoing nature of the pandemic has inflicted an added layer of agony, as individuals are grieving during a time of protracted social isolation, economic precarity and general uncertainty.

In another recent study, our team used national survey data from 27 countries to test whether the mental health impacts of COVID-19 deaths are more severe than death from other causes. We focused on the case of spousal death and compared two groups of people: those whose spouses died of COVID-19 in the pandemic’s first wave and those whose spouses died of other causes just before the pandemic began. We found that COVID-19 widows and widowers face higher rates of depression and loneliness than expected based on widow and widower mental health outcomes pre-pandemic.

The secondary population health consequences of COVID-19 deaths

The outsized effects of COVID-19 deaths on grieving spouses’ mental health is troubling because we estimate that nearly 500,000 people have already lost a spouse to COVID-19 in the U.S. alone. The mental health problems that people face after losing a loved one can also lead to declines in physical health and even increase a person’s risk of death.

Our research suggests that COVID-19 not only increased rates of family bereavement, but that people who lost loved ones to the coronavirus were particularly distressed afterward. But we studied only widowhood; future research needs to identify the potentially unique health, social and economic consequences of COVID-19 losses for other bereaved relatives.

With COVID-19 representing 1 in every 8 deaths between March 2020 and October 2021, there are millions of people who could benefit greatly from financial, social and mental health support. It is also critical to continue taking steps to prevent future COVID-19 deaths. Each death averted not only saves a life but also saves numerous loved ones from the harm that follows these tragedies.The Conversation


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

About The Author

Emily Smith-Greenaway, Associate Professor of Sociology, USC Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences; Ashton Verdery, Professor of Sociology, Demography and Social Data Analytics, Penn State; Haowei Wang, Postdoctoral Research Associate in Sociology, Penn State, and Shawn Bauldry, Associate Professor of Sociology, Purdue University


Recommended Books: Health

Fresh Fruit CleanseFresh Fruit Cleanse: Detox, Lose Weight and Restore Your Health with Nature's Most Delicious Foods [Paperback] by Leanne Hall.
Lose weight and feel vibrantly healthy while clearing your body of toxins. Fresh Fruit Cleanse offers everything you need for an easy and powerful detox, including day-by-day programs, mouth-watering recipes, and advice for transitioning off the cleanse.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Thrive FoodsThrive Foods: 200 Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health [Paperback] by Brendan Brazier.
Building upon the stress-reducing, health-boosting nutritional philosophy introduced in his acclaimed vegan nutrition guide Thrive, professional Ironman triathlete Brendan Brazier now turns his attention to your dinner plate (breakfast bowl and lunch tray too).
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Death by Medicine by Gary NullDeath by Medicine by Gary Null, Martin Feldman, Debora Rasio and Carolyn Dean
The medical environment has become a labyrinth of interlocking corporate, hospital, and governmental boards of directors, infiltrated by the drug companies. The most toxic substances are often approved first, while milder and more natural alternatives are ignored for financial reasons. It's death by medicine.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


care

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

baseball player w;ith white hair
Can We Be Too Old?
by Barry Vissell
We all know the expression, "You're as old as you think or feel." Too many people give up on…
is it covid or hay fecer 8 7
Here’s How To Tell If It's Covid or Hay Fever
by Samuel J. White, and Philippe B. Wilson
With warm weather in the northern hemisphere, many people will be suffering from pollen allergies.…
climate change and flooding 7 30
Why Climate Change Is Making Flooding Worse
by Frances Davenport
Although floods are a natural occurrence, human-caused climate change is making severe flooding…
inflation around the world 8 1
Inflation Is Spiking Around The World
by Christopher Decker
The 9.1% increase in U.S. consumer prices in the 12 months ending in June 2022, the highest in four…
made to wear a mask 7 31
Will We Only Act On Public Health Advice If Someone Makes Us?
by Holly Seale, UNSW Sydney
Back in mid 2020, it was suggested mask use was similar to seat belt wearing in cars. Not everyone…
sage smudge sticks, feathers, and a dreamcatcher
Cleansing, Grounding, and Protecting: Two Foundational Practices
by MaryAnn DiMarco
Many cultures have a ritualistic cleansing practice, often done with smoke or water, to help remove…
coffee good or bad 7 31
Mixed Messages: Is Coffee Good Or Bad For Us?
by Thomas Merritt
Coffee is good for you. Or it’s not. Maybe it is, then it isn’t, then it is again. If you drink…
overcoming lonliness 8 4
4 Ways To Recover From Loneliness
by Michelle H Lim
Loneliness isn’t unusual given it’s a natural human emotion. But when ignored or not effectively…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.