Transformer le donné : danser à travers le crack

Transformer le donné : danser à travers le crack
Image chenspec 


Rapporté par Marie T. Russell.

Version vidéo

Uri Geller, pour les lecteurs qui n'ont pas suivi cette comédie mineure-majeure, était un artiste israélien qui pouvait apparemment plier le métal sans le toucher, faire tourner des montres cassées ou arrêtées pendant de courtes périodes, et parfois faire disparaître un objet, et qui faisait preuve d'indéniables perception extrasensorielle.

Des chercheurs intéressés ont testé les capacités de Geller au Stanford Research Institute en Californie. Les tests ont été menés par un seul des dizaines de services quasi autonomes composant ce complexe (3,000 salariés), mais ceux liés à l'enquête, qui a duré des mois, étaient convaincus que le Effet Geller était authentique.

Des articles affirmant cette opinion ont été publiés, et une tempête de protestations a éclaté, pour le dogme académique et a été remise en question. . . . Le discrédit de Geller a donc été entrepris. Bientôt, nous, les Américains, avons découvert - à la déception de certains et au soulagement d'autres - que Geller était un imposteur, un charlatan, un tricheur.

Et le spectacle continue...

Puis une chose amusante s'est produite. Geller est allé en Angleterre à la fin de 1973 pour effectuer ses cascades de flexion à la télévision pour la British Broadcasting Company. Geller avait observé que les gens dans son public avaient parfois des clés pliées dans leurs poches, des bagues se tordant et se cassant sur leurs doigts, et ainsi de suite pendant qu'il faisait des choses similaires sur scène. L'idée a grandi que peut-être Geller pourrait opérer à travers les gens et peut-être même à longue distance. Ou peut-être que d'autres personnes possèdent la même capacité étrange que lui.

Dans l'émission télévisée anglaise, Geller a invité tous ces gens du pays de la télévision à se joindre à lui, à participer à son cintrage du métal en tenant eux-mêmes des fourchettes ou des cuillères pour voir si le phénomène pourrait se répéter. Quelque 1,500 XNUMX rapports ont inondé la BBC, affirmant que des fourchettes, des cuillères, tout ce qui était à portée de main s'était en effet plié, cassé, déplacé, là-bas, dans les maisons de la Grande-Bretagne. . . .


 Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

Sûrement de telles revendications hystériques sont souvent notées, et aucune validité ne peut être accordée à de telles affaires. Le plus drôle, c'est que la grande majorité des demandeurs avaient entre sept et quatorze ans, la période de suggestibilité et de pensée opérationnelle concrète.

Au cours de la même période, et opérant au sein de son propre circuit, Mathew Manning, un adolescent anglais, faisait des actes de type Geller depuis qu'il avait subi une crise de poltergeist à l'âge de onze ans. Le Dr Brian Josephson, des prestigieux laboratoires Cavendish de l'Université de Cambridge (où est née la double hélice de l'ADN), lauréat du prix Nobel de physique en 1973 et directeur de l'enquête sur le jeune Manning, a déclaré : « Une redéfinition de la réalité et du non -La réalité est nécessaire maintenant. . . . "

Autrefois, les scientifiques « respectables » n'avaient rien à voir avec les phénomènes psychiques ; beaucoup d'entre eux ne le feront toujours pas. Je pense que les scientifiques «respectables» peuvent constater qu'ils ont raté le bateau.

Le pouvoir de la suggestion

L'étendue du pouvoir de la suggestion vient à peine d'être abordée. Que Geller soit ou non une fraude, alors, est hors de propos. Nous sommes tombés sur un potentiel qui éclipse les investissements et les institutions de notre culture. La logique créative a été entrevu. Un nouvel aspect de la pensée opérationnelle concrète s'est ouvert. La clé de la logique de survie s'est ouverte à tous.

Personne impliqué dans Effets gélifiants n'a pas la moindre idée de comment se produisent les phénomènes, pas plus que les Ceylanais ne comprennent comment ils marchent en feu. Les effets Geller se produisent sans qu'une personne fasse quoi que ce soit et souvent sans même qu'une personne «veuille» que quoi que ce soit se produise. Formes opérationnelles concrètes de pensée de la réversibilité ne sont pas nécessairement conscients ou contrôlables. 

De sept ans à environ quatorze ou quinze ans, c'est la période pendant laquelle le plan biologique prépare cet apprentissage et ce développement. Uri Geller rapporte que ses premiers phénomènes de ce genre se sont produits à l'âge de sept ans. Le phénomène a fait irruption dans la vie de Mathew Manning à l'âge de onze ans.

Pourtant, précisément à ce point de la réversibilité du flux ordinaire d'assimilation-accommodement, le bastion académique se lève pour rejeter les phénomènes.

Esprit-cerveau : un récepteur d'information à sens unique ?

Toute l'histoire de l'homme occidental repose sur l'hypothèse incontestée que l'esprit-cerveau est un à sens unique récepteur d'informations de son monde, conçu uniquement pour interpréter et réagir de manière adaptative à ces informations. Et les seuls moyens d'adaptation reconnus et autorisés académiquement sont ceux utilisant des dispositifs mécaniques ou des positions de défense musculaire inefficaces.

Cette croyance institutionnalisée selon laquelle l'esprit n'a absolument aucune influence ou relation avec son monde, sauf à travers des outils dominants, a maintenant créé une terreur nucléaire réduisant tout le monde à l'impuissance et au destin total. Nous nions notre vraie nature à nos risques et périls car un tel déni crée toujours une contre-énergie démoniaque de destruction.

Le Dr Joel Whitton de Toronto, dans son travail avec Mathew Manning, suggère que les fonctions psychiques ne sont pas des dons aléatoires ou des capacités de l'ère spatiale, mais «une fonction et une capacité innées chez l'homo sapiens qui remontent probablement à la toute première histoire de l'homme».

Peut-être que nos mythes sont corrects, et notre problème n'est pas de faire évoluer une mentalité supérieure, mais de récupérer notre état perdu. 

Transformer le donné : danser à travers le crack

Ernest Hilgard de l'Université de Stanford a constaté que les enfants deviennent très sensibles à la suggestion à l'âge de sept ans. Cette suggestibilité culmine vers l'âge de huit à onze ans et s'estompe vers l'âge de quatorze ans. 

À sept ans, le cerveau peut construire des concepts à partir d'idées imaginatives ou de possibilités qui s'appliquent à la réalité immédiate. L'enfant balinaise sait, sans y penser, que le feu ne la brûlera pas car elle voit les autres danseurs et sait qu'ils ne se brûlent pas. Elle sait qu'en imitant leurs gestes corporels, elle aussi aura ses pouvoirs sur le monde et ira indemne. C'est ce qu'elle pratique inconsciemment dans le jeu imitatif depuis des années.

Ainsi, elle plie un aspect du monde à son désir, non pas par un certain savoir intellectuel sur la façon de manipuler l'information, mais par le même genre de travail automatique dans son cerveau qui rend possible toute croissance et tout changement conceptuels. Son système fonctionne sur l'information entrante à travers une combinaison de modèles : ceux du monde de cause à effet et ceux du système d'idées de ses modèles.

Vision du monde rationnelle menacée par Pensée de réversibilité

Un homme est venu à un séminaire magique pour enfants à la suite d'une expérience qui l'avait énervé et menaçait sa vision du monde académique et rationnelle. Son fils de huit ans coupait avec un couteau, a glissé et s'est sectionné les artères de son poignet gauche. Après un instant de panique à la vue du sang qui giclait, le père, comme dans un rêve, saisit le visage de son fils qui hurlait, le regarda dans les yeux et commanda : « Fils, arrêtons ce sang ».

Les cris se sont arrêtés, le garçon a rayonné en retour, a dit «d'accord», et ensemble ils ont regardé le sang jaillissant et ont crié: «Du sang, arrête ça.» Et le sang s'est arrêté. En peu de temps, la blessure a guéri - et le monde du père s'est presque arrêté aussi. Il connaissait la désorientation et la confusion.

Il ne pouvait pas expliquer ses propres actions ou les paroles qu'il s'était entendu dire, et il ne pouvait sûrement pas expliquer les résultats. Il ne comprenait pas que l'enfant est biologiquement conçu pour s'inspirer de la réalité du parent ; il ignorait la haute suggestibilité de l'enfant de huit ans, la pensée opérationnelle concrète, ou qu'à son âge son fils était particulièrement sensible aux idées sur la survie physique. Mais une partie de lui fait savoir et a percé en cas d'urgence. Tout ce dont le fils avait besoin, bien sûr, était la suggestion et le soutien.

La logique créative qui se déploie durant cette période de la fin de l'enfance peut se résumer ainsi pensée de réversibilité, une capacité que Piaget appelle l'acte le plus élevé de l'intelligence humaine mais, malheureusement, le plus rare. La pensée de réversibilité est, pour utiliser la description de Piaget, « la capacité de l'esprit à considérer n'importe quel état dans un continuum d'étapes possibles comme également valables, et à revenir au point à partir duquel l'opération de l'esprit commence ».

Une déclaration plus simple serait: la pensée de réversibilité est la capacité de considérer comme vraie toute possibilité dans un continuum de possibilités, sachant que vous pouvez revenir à votre point de départ.

À ce stade, notre logique occidentale s'effondre devant un paradoxe insoluble. Pour nous, vous ne pouvez pas avoir les deux. Vous ne pouvez pas danser sur les braises sans même une ampoule tandis que sous ces braises, des cochons et des ananas ou quoi que ce soit en train de rôtir. Gelés dans notre no man's land de confusion entre monde et réalité, ayant perdu le meilleur des deux mondes, l'organisation et l'étendue de notre logique sont soit-ou.

Entre le non plus et l’équipe de or se trouve un milieu rigoureusement exclu que nous, Occidentaux, pensons devoir maintenir, sinon tout notre univers sémantique s'effondrera dans le chaos (comme, en fait, il pourrait). Et à travers ce tiers exclu, ignorant nos subtilités logiques, le petit balinais danse allègrement.

Renouveler la promesse

Toute notre créativité a donc été jusqu'à présent une combinaison de pensée formelle et concrète, et c'est sûrement l'une des grandes formes combinatoires dont nous disposons. Mais avec le respect, la crainte et l'émerveillement que je dois à ce genre de création, je tiens à souligner qu'elle se limite néanmoins au caractère concret de son médium. L'intelligence mature devrait pouvoir interagir avec les possibilités de la terre vivante. 

Le plan biologique pourrait entrer dans la clandestinité dans cette étrange réalité sémantique qui est la nôtre, mais il est impossible qu'il s'éteigne. Nos vies sont remplies d'indices concernant les besoins réels. Le père qui était soudainement poussé à rejoindre son fils pour arrêter le flux sanguin avait en quelque sorte brisé le niveau de bruit de son anxiété ordinaire et suivi les signaux subtils de son corps.

Un certain risque semble cependant inhérent à ce genre d'action, car il mène sur un territoire imprévisible. En effet, nous avons historiquement appelé ce type de réponse non ordinaire comme pensée gaucher parce que l'hémisphère droit [du cerveau], qui court la main gauche, semble le dépositaire de ce genre d'effet. Les cultures ont toujours représenté cette main gauche comme la sinistre, l'obscurité et le mal en grande partie à cause de son imprévisibilité.

Si ce père avait suivi le chemin prévisible de la réaction, toute une chaîne de forces prévisibles aurait été déclenchée : peut-être l'escouade de secours sympathique et les sirènes dramatiques hurlant, la police sympathique et la salle d'urgence dramatique de l'hôpital, les médecins et les infirmières sympathiques et peut-être même le drame médias locaux et une histoire d'intérêt humain. Assurément, de vastes machines resteraient inactives si la pensée gaucher devait être employée habituellement.

Notre conditionnement anxieux nous amène à croire que ce processus de la main gauche équivaut à la mort elle-même, et notre conditionnement établit des tampons entre ce sombre inconnu et notre conscience ordinaire, qui est soutenue par la rétroaction verbale et ce qui est juste. À l'écoute de ce bruit, nous perdons notre communication avec la puissance subtile du reste de notre être.

Se taire et répondre en fonction de ces signaux subtils semble être l'équivalent de renoncer à notre dernière défense. Pourtant, au moment où nous pouvons abandonner de telles défenses, même pour une brève période, et répondre à notre main gauche, nous faisons passer la matrice de l'anxiété au processus primaire à l'intérieur.

Copyright 2021. Tous droits réservés.
Reproduit avec la permission de l'éditeur,
Park Street Press, une empreinte de Inner Traditions Intl.

Source de l'article

La vie et les idées de Joseph Chilton Pearce : capacités étonnantes et limitations auto-infligées
édité par Michael Mendizza

couverture du livre : La vie et les idées de Joseph Chilton Pearce : capacités étonnantes et limitations auto-infligées édité par Michael MendizzaExpert en développement de l'enfant, Joseph Chilton Pearce (1926-2016) a consacré sa vie à explorer le développement optimal et les capacités étonnantes de chaque être humain. À travers ses 12 livres visionnaires et des milliers de conférences, il a mélangé la science de pointe avec la spiritualité et a exploré le pouvoir incroyable de l'imagination pour les enfants et les adultes - l'espace où nous pouvons jouer avec notre réalité - inspirant des millions de personnes à découvrir le droit de naissance humain d'un monde plus magique.


Dans ce guide de la vision complète de Pearce du potentiel humain transcendant, Michael Mendizza explore 7 de ses livres les plus influents, partageant des idées et une expertise de l'éventail complet des intérêts de Pearce, du développement de l'enfant et de la parentalité consciente aux phénomènes psychiques et états altérés au pouvoir du l'esprit pour façonner la réalité.

Pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre, cliquer ici.

A propos de l'auteur

photo de Joseph Chilton Pearce (1926-2016)Joseph Chilton Pearce (1926-2016) est l'auteur de La mort de la religion et la renaissance de l'espritLa biologie de la transcendanceLa fissure dans l'oeuf cosmiqueMagical Childainsi que  La fin de l'évolution. Pendant plus de 35 ans, il a donné des conférences et animé des ateliers d'enseignement sur les besoins changeants des enfants et le développement de la société humaine. Il a vécu dans les Blue Ridge Mountains de Virginie.

Plus de livres de Joseph Chilton Pearce.photo de Michael Mendizza

À propos de l'éditeur du livre

Michael Mendizza est un entrepreneur, auteur, éducateur, réalisateur de documentaires et fondateur de Touchez le futur, un centre d'apprentissage à but non lucratif axé sur l'optimisation du potentiel humain en commençant par la relation parent-enfant. Il a eu une profonde amitié avec Joseph Chilton Pearce pendant près de 30 ans et ensemble ils ont co-écrit Parent magique Enfant magique.
  


Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

Plus d'articles de cet auteur

Vous Aimeriez Aussi

LANGUES DISPONIBLES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

Icône facebooktwitter iconyoutube iconicône Instagramicône pintresticône rss

Recevez le dernier par courriel

Magazine hebdomadaire Daily Inspiration

L'inspiration quotidienne de Marie T.Russell
 

VOIX INNERSELF

vue transparente du haut du corps avec des rayons de lumière
Miracles et rémissions en utilisant l'harmonisation avec le corps
by Ewald Kliegel
Notre corps est comme un orchestre dans lequel les orgues jouent la symphonie de la vie avec les plus grands…
visage de lion regardant les étoiles
Horoscope de la semaine actuelle: du 2 au 8 août 2021
by Pam Younghans
Ce journal astrologique hebdomadaire est basé sur les influences planétaires, et offre des perspectives et…
silhouette d'une fille haute sur une balançoire au crépuscule surplombant un lac brumeux
Faire l'expérience des êtres élémentaires : vérité ou fantasme ?
by Thomas Mayer
Comment vivez-vous les êtres élémentaires ? Pouvez-vous consciemment y arriver? Et comment tu…
groupe de personnes chevauchant les rapides dans un radeau
Le pouvoir de l'impuissance : chevaucher les rapides de la vie
by Barry Vissell
Ce qui marche vraiment, c'est pour moi d'accepter mon impuissance, mon impuissance, que j'ai vraiment très…
Observations de la Nouvelle-Écosse à la Floride et retour
Observations de la Nouvelle-Écosse à la Floride et retour
by Robert Jennings, Innerself.com
La Nouvelle-Écosse est une province canadienne d'environ 1,000,000 XNUMX XNUMX d'habitants et notre comté d'origine en Floride compte…
Comment faire en sorte que "chance" est de votre côté
Comment faire en sorte que "chance" est de votre côté
by Marie T. Russell
« Il a tellement de chance ! Elle gagne toujours ! Je n'ai tout simplement pas de chance ! Ces déclarations vous semblent familières ? Ont-ils…
visage de femme flottant dans l'eau
Comment développer le courage et sortir de votre zone de confort
by Pierre Ruppert
Le courage ne consiste pas à être intrépide face à une situation effrayante. C'est la volonté de bouger...
Avoir le courage de vivre et de demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou ce que vous voulez.
Avoir le courage de vivre et de demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou ce que vous voulez
by Amy Fish
Il faut avoir le courage de vivre. Cela comprend apprendre à demander ce dont vous avez besoin ou…

Nouvelles attitudes - nouvelles possibilités

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Marché
Copyright © 1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. Tous les droits sont réservés.

Transforming the Given: Dancing through the Crack

Transforming the Given: Dancing through the Crack
Image by chenspec 


Narrated by Marie T. Russell.

Video version

Uri Geller, for those readers who did not follow this minor-major comedy, was an Israeli entertainer who could apparently bend metal without touching it, make broken or stopped watches run for short periods, and occasionally make an object disappear, and who displayed undeniable extrasensory perception.

Interested researchers tested Geller’s abilities at the Stanford Research Institute in California. The tests were conducted by only one of the dozens of nearly autonomous departments making up this complex (3,000 employees), but those connected with the investigation, which went on for months, were convinced that the Geller effect was genuine.

Papers stating this opinion were published, and a storm of protest broke out, for academic dogma and was brought into question. . . . So Geller’s discrediting was undertaken. Soon we Americans found out—to the disappointment of some and to the relief of others—that Geller was a fraud, a charlatan, a cheat.

And The Show Goes On...

Then a funny thing happened. Geller went to England in late 1973 to perform his fork-bending stunts on television for the British Broadcasting Company. Geller had observed that people in his audiences occasionally had keys bend in their pockets, rings twist and break on their fingers, and so on while he was doing similar things on the stage. The notion grew that perhaps Geller could operate through people and maybe even at long distance. Or perhaps other people might possess the same odd ability he did.

On the English television show, Geller invited all those people out there in television land to join him, to participate in his metal bending by holding forks or spoons themselves to see if the phenomenon might be repeated. Some 1,500 reports flooded the BBC, claiming that forks, spoons, anything handy had indeed bent, broken, moved about—there, in the homes of Britain. . . .

Surely such hysterical claims are often noted, and no validity can be granted such business at all. The funny thing was that the vast majority of the claimants were between the ages of seven and fourteen, the period of suggestibility and concrete operational thinking.

During the same period, and operating within his own circuit, Mathew Manning, an English teenager, had been doing Geller-type acts since experiencing a poltergeist seizure at eleven years of age. Dr. Brian Josephson, of the prestigious Cavendish Laboratories at Cambridge University (where DNA’s double helix was born), winner of the 1973 Nobel Prize in physics, and a principal in the investigation of young Manning, said: “A redefinition of Reality and Non-Reality is needed now. . . .”

In times past, “respectable” scientists would have nothing to do with psychical phenomena; many of them still won’t. I think that the “respectable” scientists may find they have missed the boat.

The Power of Suggestion

The full extent of the power of suggestion has just barely been touched upon. Whether or not Geller was a fraud, then, is beside the point. We have stumbled on a potential that eclipses the investments and institutions of our culture. Creative logic has been glimpsed. A new aspect of concrete operational thinking has opened. The key to the logic of survival has opened into plain view.

No one involved in Geller effects has the slightest idea how the phenomena occur, no more than the Ceylonese understand how they walk on fire. Geller effects take place without a person’s doing anything and often without a person’s even “willing” anything to happen. Concrete operational forms of reversibility thinking are not necessarily conscious or controllable. 

From age seven to about age fourteen or fifteen is the period the biological plan prepares for this learning and development. Uri Geller reports his first phenomena of this sort occurred when he was seven. The phenomena broke into Mathew Manning’s life at age eleven.

Yet, precisely at this point of the reversibility of the ordinary flow of assimilation-accommodation, the academic stronghold rises to reject the phenomena.

Mind-Brain: A One-Way Receptor of Information?

The entire history of Western man rests on the unquestioned assumption that the mind-brain is a one-way receptor of information from its world, designed only to interpret and react in adaptive ways to this information. And the only adaptive ways academically recognized and allowed are those using mechanical devices or ineffectual muscular defense stances.

This institutionalized belief that the mind has absolutely no influence over or relation to its world except through dominating tools has now created a nuclear terror reducing everyone to total impotence and fate. We deny our true nature at our peril because such denial always creates a demonic counter-energy of destruction.

Dr. Joel Whitton of Toronto in his work with Mathew Manning suggests that psychic functions are not random gifts or space-age abilities, but “an innate function and ability in homo sapiens that probably goes back to the earliest history of man.”

Perhaps our myths are correct, and our problem is one, not of evolving a higher mentality, but of reclaiming our lost state. 

Transforming the Given: Dancing through the Crack

Ernest Hilgard of Stanford University found that children become highly susceptible to suggestion at age seven. This suggestibility peaks around age eight to eleven and fades around age fourteen. 

At seven, the brain can construct concepts out of imaginative ideas or possibilities that apply to the immediate reality. The Balinese child, knows, without thinking about it, that the fire will not burn her because she sees the other dancers and knows that they do not get burned. She knows that by imitating their body gestures, she, too, will have their powers over the world and go unharmed. This is what she has unconsciously practiced in imitative play for years.

Thus, she bends some aspect of the world to her desire, not by some intellectual knowing of how to manipulate information, but by the same kind of automatic work within her brain that makes all conceptual growth and change possible. Her system operates on the incoming information through a combination of patterns: those from the world of cause and effect and those from the idea system of her models.

Rational Worldview Threatened by Reversibility Thinking

A man came to a magical child seminar as a result of an experience that had unnerved him and threatened his academic and rational worldview. His eight-year-old son was whittling with a knife, slipped, and severed the arteries in his left wrist. Following an instant’s panic at the sight of the spurting blood, the father, as if in a dream, seized his screaming son’s face, looked into his eyes, and commanded, “Son, let’s stop that blood.”

The screaming stopped, the boy beamed back, said “okay,” and together they stared at the gushing blood and shouted, “Blood, you stop that.” And the blood stopped. In a short time, the wound healed—and the father’s world almost stopped as well. He knew disorientation and confusion.

He could not account for his own actions or the words he had heard himself speak, and he surely could not account for the results. He did not understand that the child is biologically geared to take reality cues from the parent; he did not know of the high suggestibility of the eight-year-old, of concrete operational thinking, or that at his age his son was peculiarly susceptible to ideas about physical survival. But some part of him did know and broke through in the moment of emergency. All the son needed, of course, was the suggestion and the support.

The creative logic unfolding during this late-childhood period can be summed up as reversibility thinking, an ability that Piaget calls the highest act of human intelligence but, sadly, the rarest. Reversibility thinking is, to use Piaget’s description, “the ability of the mind to entertain any state in a continuum of possible stages as equally valid, and return to the point from which the operation of mind begins.”

A simpler statement would be: reversibility thinking is the ability to consider any possibility within a continuum of possibilities as true, knowing that you can come back to where you started from.

At this point, our Western logic breaks down before an irresolvable paradox. To us, you cannot have it both ways. You cannot dance on the coals without even a blister while beneath those coals pigs and pineapple or whatever are roasting. Frozen in our no-man’s-land of confusion between world and reality, having lost the best of both worlds, the organization and the extent of our logic is either-or.

Between the either and the or lies a rigorously excluded middle that we Westerners feel we must maintain, or else our whole semantic universe will collapse into chaos (as, in fact, it might). And through that excluded middle, ignorant of our logical niceties, the little Balinese child blithely dances.

Renewing the Promise

All our creativity, then, has so far been a combination of formal and concrete thinking, and this is surely one of the great combinational forms available to us. But with due respect, awe, and wonder for this kind of creation, I would point out that it is limited, nevertheless, to the concreteness of its medium. The mature intelligence should be able to interact with the possibilities of the living earth. 

The biological plan might go underground in this strange semantic reality of ours, but it is impossible for it to be extinguished. Our lives are filled with cues concerning real needs. The father who was suddenly moved to join his son in stopping the flow of blood had somehow broken through the noise level of his ordinary anxiety and followed the subtle signals of his body.

A certain risk seems inherent in this kind of action, though, because it leads into unpredictable territory. Indeed, we have historically referred to this kind of non-ordinary response as left-handed thinking because the right hemisphere [of the brain], which runs the left hand, seems the repository for this kind of effect. Cultures have always represented this left hand as the sinister, dark, and evil largely because of its unpredictability.

Had that father followed the predictable path of reaction, an entire chain of predictable forces would have been enacted: perhaps the sympathetic rescue squad and dramatic sirens wailing, sympathetic police and dramatic hospital emergency room, sympathetic doctors and nurses and maybe even the drama of the local news media and a human-interest story. Surely vast machinery would lie idle if left-handed thinking were to be employed habitually.

Our anxiety conditioning leads us to believe this left-hand process is tantamount to death itself, and our conditioning sets up buffers between this dark unknown and our ordinary awareness, which is sustained by verbal feedback and that which is right. Attuned to this noise, we lose our communication with the subtle power of the rest of our being.

To become quiet and respond according to these subtle signals seems to be the equivalent of giving up our last defense. Yet, the moment we can drop such defenses, even for a brief time, and respond to our left hand, we shift matrix from anxiety to the primary process within.

Copyright 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Park Street Press, an imprint of Inner Traditions Intl.

Article Source

The Life and Insights of Joseph Chilton Pearce: Astonishing Capacities and Self-Inflicted Limitations
edited by Michael Mendizza

book cover: The Life and Insights of Joseph Chilton Pearce: Astonishing Capacities and Self-Inflicted Limitations edited by Michael MendizzaAn expert in child development, Joseph Chilton Pearce (1926-2016) devoted his life to exploring the optimum development and astonishing capacities within each individual human being. Across his 12 visionary books and thousands of lectures, he blended cutting-edge science with spirituality and explored the amazing power of imagination for both children and adults--the space where we are able to play with our reality--inspiring millions to discover the human birthright of a more magical world.


In this guide to Pearce’s complete vision of transcendent human potential, Michael Mendizza explores 7 of his most influential books, sharing insights and expertise from Pearce’s full range of interests, from child development and conscious parenting to psychic phenomena and altered states to the power of the mind to shape reality.

For more info and/or to order this book, click here.

About the Author

photo of Joseph Chilton Pearce (1926-2016)Joseph Chilton Pearce (1926-2016) is the author of The Death of Religion and the Rebirth of the SpiritThe Biology of TranscendenceThe Crack in the Cosmic EggMagical Child, and Evolution’s End. For more than 35 years, he lectured and led workshops teaching about the changing needs of children and the development of human society. He lived in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia.

More books by Joseph Chilton Pearce.photo of Michael Mendizza

About the book's editor

Michael Mendizza is an entrepreneur, author, educator, documentary filmmaker, and founder of Touch the Future, a non-profit learning center focused on optimizing human potential beginning with the parent-child relationship. He had a deep friendship with Joseph Chilton Pearce spanning nearly 30 years and together they coauthored Magical Parent Magical Child.
  


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

INNERSELF VOICES

full moon over Stonehenge
Horoscope Current Week: September 20 - 26, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
a swimmer in large expanse of water
Joy and Resilience: A Conscious Antidote to Stress
by Nancy Windheart
We know that we're in a great time of transition, of birthing a new way of being, living, and…
five closed doors, one pained yellow, the others white
Where Do We Go From Here?
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Life can be confusing. There are so many things going on, so many choices presented to us. Even a…
Inspiration or Motivation: Which Works Best?
Inspiration or Motivation: Which Comes First?
by Alan Cohen
People who are enthusiastic about a goal find ways to achieve it and they do not need to be goaded…
photo silhouette of mountain climber using a pick to secure himself
Allow The Fear, Transform It, Move Through It, and Understand It
by Lawrence Doochin
Fear feels crappy. There is no way around that. But most of us don't respond to our fear in a…
woman sitting at her desk looking worried
My Prescription for Anxiety and Worry
by Jude Bijou
We’re a society that likes to worry. Worrying is so prevalent, it almost feels socially acceptable.…
curving road in New Zealand
Don't Be So Hard On Yourself
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Life consists of choices... some are "good" choices, and others not so good. However every choice…
man standing on a dock shining a flashlight into the sky
Blessing for Spiritual Seekers and for People Suffering from Depression
by Pierre Pradervand
There is such a need in the world today of the most tender and immense compassion and deeper, more…
The Force Is With You -- You Are The Force
The Force Is With You -- You Are The Force
by Will Wilkinson
"May The Force be with you." We first heard that phrase in Star Wars and it quickly went viral,…
Where Is Your Joy? What Are You Hoping For?
Where Is Your Joy? What Are You Hoping For?
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Many of us have lost our way, or at least we lose our way during the day or the week. Some people…
Walk With Joy: Discover The Limitless Nature Of Who You Truly Are
Walk With Joy: Discover The Limitless Nature Of Who You Truly Are
by Eileen Workman
With this body, I’ve discovered I’m able to deliver into this world a virtually infinite spectrum…

MOST READ

How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
by Jackie Cassell, Professor of Primary Care Epidemiology, Honorary Consultant in Public Health, Brighton and Sussex Medical School
The precarious economies of many traditional seaside towns have declined still further since the…
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
by Sonja Grace
As you experience being an earth angel, you will discover that the path of service is riddled with…
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
by Barbara Berger
One of the biggest things I've discovered working with clients everyday is how extremely difficult…
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
by Susan Campbell, Ph.D.
According to most of the singles I have met in my travels, the typical dating situation is fraught…
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
by Lucy Delap, University of Cambridge
The 1970s anti-sexist men’s movement had an infrastructure of magazines, conferences, men’s centres…
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
by Glen Park
Flamenco dancing is a delight to watch. A good flamenco dancer exudes an exuberant self-confidence…
Taking A Step Toward Peace by Changing Our Relationship With Thought
Stepping Toward Peace by Changing Our Relationship With Thought
by John Ptacek
We spend our lives immersed in a flood of thoughts, unaware that another dimension of consciousness…
image of the planet Jupiter on the skyline of a rocky ocean shore
Is Jupiter a Planet of Hope or a Planet of Discontent?
by Steven Forrest and Jeffrey Wolf Green
In the American dream as it's currently dished up, we try to do two things: make money and lose…

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.