الأديان والمعتقدات

قد يفاجئك ما يقوله الكتاب المقدس بالفعل عن الإجهاض

الإجهاض والكتاب المقدس 7 20
 الناشط جيسون هيرشي يقرأ من الكتاب المقدس وهو يحتج أمام المحكمة العليا الأمريكية مع مجموعة مناهضة الإجهاض Bound for Life في عام 2005 في واشنطن العاصمة. اربح McNamee عبر Getty Images

في الأيام التي تلت المحكمة العليا انقلبت قضية رو ضد وايد، التي أرست الحق الدستوري في الإجهاض ، البعض استشهد المسيحيون بالكتاب المقدس ليجادل لماذا يجب الاحتفال بهذا القرار أو الرثاء. لكن ها هي المشكلة: هذا النص الذي يبلغ من العمر 2,000 عام لا يقول شيئًا عن الإجهاض.

As أستاذ جامعي للدراسات الكتابية، أنا على دراية بالحجج الدينية التي يستخدمها المسيحيون لدعم وجهات نظر الإجهاض ، سواء مع أو ضد. يبدو أن الكثير من الناس يفترضون أن الكتاب المقدس يناقش هذا الموضوع بشكل مباشر ، وهذا ليس هو الحال.

السياق القديم

كانت عمليات الإجهاض معروفة وممارسه في أوقات الكتاب المقدس ، على الرغم من اختلاف الأساليب بشكل كبير عن الأساليب الحديثة. القرن الثاني الطبيب اليوناني سورانوس، على سبيل المثال ، يوصى بالصيام وسفك الدماء والقفز القوي وحمل الأثقال كطرق لإنهاء الحمل.

سورانوس أطروحة في أمراض النساء أقر بمدارس فكرية مختلفة حول هذا الموضوع. حظر بعض الممارسين الطبيين استخدام أي طرق فاشلة. سمح لهم آخرون بذلك ، ولكن ليس في الحالات التي قصدوا فيها التستر على علاقة زانية أو لمجرد الحفاظ على مظهر الأم الجميل.

بعبارة أخرى ، تمت كتابة الكتاب المقدس في عالم كان يُمارس فيه الإجهاض ويُنظر إليه بفارق بسيط. ومع ذلك ، فإن المعادلات العبرية واليونانية لكلمة "إجهاض" لا تظهر في أي من العهد القديم أو العهد الجديد من الكتاب المقدس. وهذا يعني أن الموضوع ببساطة لم يتم ذكره بشكل مباشر.

ماذا يقول الكتاب المقدس

ومع ذلك ، فإن عدم وجود إشارة صريحة للإجهاض لم يمنع معارضيه أو مؤيديه من التطلع إلى الكتاب المقدس لدعم مواقفهم.

يلجأ معارضو الإجهاض إلى العديد من النصوص الكتابية التي يبدو أنها مجتمعة تشير إلى أن الحياة البشرية لها قيمة قبل الولادة. على سبيل المثال ، يبدأ الكتاب المقدس بوصف خلق البشر "على صورة الله”: طريقة لشرح قيمة الحياة البشرية ، حتى قبل أن يولد الناس. وبالمثل ، يصف الكتاب المقدس العديد من الشخصيات المهمة ، بما في ذلك الأنبياء أرميا و أشعياء و الرسول المسيحي بولس، باعتبارهم مدعوين إلى مهامهم المقدسة منذ وقتهم في الرحم. مزمور 139 يؤكد أن الله "ربنا معا في بطن أمي".تُظهر لوحة يد الله وهي تمد يدها لتلمس آدم ، أول إنسان في قصة خلق الكتاب المقدس. "خلق آدم" من سقف كنيسة سيستين بالفاتيكان ، رسمه مايكل أنجلو. GraphicaArtis / جيتي إيماجيس

ومع ذلك ، فإن معارضي الإجهاض ليسوا الوحيدين الذين يمكنهم اللجوء إلى الكتاب المقدس للحصول على الدعم. يمكن أن يشير المؤيدون إلى نصوص كتابية أخرى يبدو أنها تعتبر دليلاً لصالحهم.

خروج شنومكس، على سبيل المثال ، يشير إلى أن حياة المرأة الحامل أكثر قيمة من حياة الجنين. يصف هذا النص سيناريو يقوم فيه الرجال الذين يتشاجرون بضرب الحامل وإجهاضها. تُفرض غرامة مالية إذا لم تتضرر المرأة من أي ضرر آخر بخلاف الإجهاض. ومع ذلك ، إذا تعرضت المرأة لضرر إضافي ، فإن عقوبة الجاني هي أن تتعرض لضرر متبادل ، يصل إلى مدى الحياة.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

هناك نصوص توراتية أخرى يبدو أنها تحتفي بالخيارات التي تتخذها النساء لأجسادهن ، حتى في السياقات التي كان من الممكن فيها تجنب مثل هذه الاختيارات اجتماعياً. الفصل الخامس من إنجيل مرقس، على سبيل المثال ، يصف امرأة مصابة بمرض في أمراض النساء جعلها تنزف باستمرار وتتعرض لخطر كبير: إنها تمد يدها لتلمس عباءة يسوع على أمل أن يشفيها ، على الرغم من الاعتقاد أن لمسة امرأة حائض تسبب تلوث الطقوس. ومع ذلك ، يثني يسوع على اختيارها ويمدح إيمانها.

وبالمثل ، في إنجيل يوحنا ، مريم التابعة ليسوع على ما يبدو يهدر الموارد من خلال سكب وعاء كامل من المرهم المكلف على قدميه واستخدام شعرها لمسحهما - لكنه يدافع عن قرارها بكسر المحرمات الاجتماعية حول لمس رجل من غير الأقرباء بشكل وثيق.

ما وراء الكتاب المقدس

وردًا على قرار المحكمة العليا ، مسيحيون على جانبي الانقسام الحزبي استأنفوا أي عدد من النصوص للتأكيد على أن علامتهم التجارية الخاصة بالسياسة مدعومة من قبل الكتاب المقدس. ومع ذلك ، إذا زعموا أن الكتاب المقدس يدين أو يوافق على الإجهاض على وجه التحديد ، فإنهم يحرفون الأدلة النصية لتناسب موقفهم.

بالطبع ، يمكن للمسيحيين تطوير حججهم القائمة على الإيمان حول القضايا السياسية الحديثة ، سواء تحدث إليهم الكتاب المقدس مباشرة أم لا. لكن من المهم أن ندرك أنه على الرغم من أن الكتاب المقدس قد كتب في وقت كان يُمارس فيه الإجهاض ، إلا أنه لا يتناول هذه المسألة بشكل مباشر مطلقًا.المحادثة

ميلاني إيه هوارد، أستاذ مشارك في الدراسات الكتابية واللاهوتية ، جامعة فريسنو باسيفيك

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

الموت بالتلوث 11 11
قد يتسبب تلوث الهواء في وفيات أكثر بكثير مما كان يعتقد سابقًا
by كاثرين غومباى
للوصول إلى هذا الاستنتاج ، جمع الباحثون بيانات الصحة والوفيات لسبعة ملايين ...
امرأة أفريقية ترتدي غطاء رأس بعينين مغمضتين وتبتسم
أربعة متطلبات للعيش في الفرح
by أندرو هارفي وكارولين بيكر ، دكتوراه ،
ليس هناك ما هو أهم لمستقبل البشرية من العودة العالمية إلى الفرح. في لحظة ...
الناس يمسكون بأيديهم
7 طرق لتغيير العالم ومجتمعاتنا
by كورماك راسل وجون ماكنايت
بصرف النظر عن التواصل من أجل حسن الجوار ، ما هي الوظائف الأخرى التي تقوم بها الأحياء النابضة بالحياة؟ ...
تنعكس الأقواس في الماء
الأنانية في دير: دروس في القيادة من راهب وأخيه
by ديفيد سي بنتال
"بعد فترة وجيزة من زواج أخي اتصل بي ليقدم لي الاعتذار. وقال إنه لم يدرك كيف ...
السحر وأمريكا 11 15
ما تخبرنا الأسطورة اليونانية عن السحر الحديث
by جويل كريستنسن
العيش على الشاطئ الشمالي في بوسطن في الخريف يجلب معه التقلبات الرائعة للأوراق و ...
ماذا يريد الشباب 11 10
ما الذي يفترض أن أفعله حيال كل هذه العوامل المناخية السيئة حقًا؟
by فيبي كوين وكاتيتزا مارينكوفيتش شافيز
يشعر الكثير من الشباب بالقلق والعجز والحزن والغضب بشأن تغير المناخ. على الرغم من أن هناك…
الفشل يؤدي إلى النجاح 11 9
كيف يمكن للفشل المبكر أن يؤدي إلى النجاح في وقت لاحق
by ستيفن لانجستون
يمكن للفشل في وقت مبكر من حياتنا المهنية أن يجعلنا نتساءل عما إذا كنا على الطريق الصحيح. قد ننظر في ...
لماذا التفكير السحري 11 9
لماذا يتبنى الكثير من الناس التفكير السحري
by ديميتريس زيجالاتاس
في صميم معظم الخرافات توجد بعض المفاهيم البديهية حول كيفية عمل العالم. مبكر…

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Religions & Beliefs

What The Bible Actually Says About Abortion May Surprise You

abortion and the bible 7 20
 Activist Jason Hershey reads from a Bible as he protests in front of the U.S. Supreme Court with the anti-abortion group Bound for Life in 2005 in Washington, D.C. Win McNamee via Getty Images

In the days since the Supreme Court overturned Roe v. Wade, which had established the constitutional right to an abortion, some Christians have cited the Bible to argue why this decision should either be celebrated or lamented. But here’s the problem: This 2,000-year-old text says nothing about abortion.

As a university professor of biblical studies, I am familiar with faith-based arguments Christians use to back up views of abortion, whether for or against. Many people seem to assume the Bible discusses the topic head-on, which is not the case.

Ancient context

Abortions were known and practiced in biblical times, although the methods differed significantly from modern ones. The second-century Greek physician Soranus, for example, recommended fasting, bloodletting, vigorous jumping and carrying heavy loads as ways to end a pregnancy.

Soranus’ treatise on gynecology acknowledged different schools of thought on the topic. Some medical practitioners forbade the use of any abortive methods. Others permitted them, but not in cases in which they were intended to cover up an adulterous liaison or simply to preserve the mother’s good looks.

In other words, the Bible was written in a world in which abortion was practiced and viewed with nuance. Yet the Hebrew and Greek equivalents of the word “abortion” do not appear in either the Old or New Testament of the Bible. That is, the topic simply is not directly mentioned.

What the Bible says

The absence of an explicit reference to abortion, however, has not stopped its opponents or proponents from looking to the Bible for support of their positions.

Abortion opponents turn to several biblical texts that, taken together, seem to suggest that human life has value before birth. For example, the Bible opens by describing the creation of humans “in the image of God”: a way to explain the value of human life, presumably even before people are born. Likewise, the Bible describes several important figures, including the prophets Jeremiah and Isaiah and the Christian Apostle Paul, as having being called to their sacred tasks since their time in the womb. Psalm 139 asserts that God “knit me together in my mother’s womb.”A painting shows God's hand reaching out to touch Adam, the first human in the Bible's story of creation. ‘The Creation of Adam’ from the Sistine Chapel ceiling in the Vatican, painted by Michelangelo. GraphicaArtis/Getty Images

However, abortion opponents are not the only ones who can appeal to the Bible for support. Supporters can point to other biblical texts that would seem to count as evidence in their favor.

Exodus 21, for example, suggests that a pregnant woman’s life is more valuable than the fetus’s. This text describes a scenario in which men who are fighting strike a pregnant woman and cause her to miscarry. A monetary fine is imposed if the woman suffers no other harm beyond the miscarriage. However, if the woman suffers additional harm, the perpetrator’s punishment is to suffer reciprocal harm, up to life for life.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

There are other biblical texts that seem to celebrate the choices that women make for their bodies, even in contexts in which such choices would have been socially shunned. The fifth chapter of the Gospel of Mark, for example, describes a woman with a gynecological ailment that has made her bleed continuously taking a great risk: She reaches out to touch Jesus’ cloak in hopes that it will heal her, even though the touch of a menstruating woman was believed to cause ritual contamination. However, Jesus commends her choice and praises her faith.

Similarly, in the Gospel of John, Jesus’ follower Mary seemingly wastes resources by pouring an entire container of costly ointment on his feet and using her own hair to wipe them – but he defends her decision to break the social taboo around touching an unrelated man so intimately.

Beyond the Bible

In the response to the Supreme Court’s decision, Christians on both sides of the partisan divide have appealed to any number of texts to assert that their particular brand of politics is biblically backed. However, if they claim the Bible specifically condemns or approves of abortion, they are skewing the textual evidence to fit their position.

Of course, Christians can develop their own faith-based arguments about modern political issues, whether or not the Bible speaks directly to them. But it is important to recognize that although the Bible was written at a time when abortion was practiced, it never directly addresses the issue.The Conversation

Melanie A. Howard, Associate Professor of Biblical & Theological Studies, Fresno Pacific University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

spreading disease at home 11 26
Why Our Homes Became COVID Hotspots
by Becky Tunstall
While staying home protected many of us from catching COVID at work, at school, at the shops or…
christmas traditions explained 11 30
How Christmas Became an American Holiday Tradition
by Thomas Adam
Each season, the celebration of Christmas has religious leaders and conservatives publicly…
a man and woman in a kayak
Being in the Flow of Your Soul Mission and Life Purpose
by Kathryn Hudson
When our choices distance us from our soul mission, something inside us suffers. There is no logic…
essential oil and flowers
Using Essential Oils and Optimizing Our Body-Mind-Spirit
by Heather Dawn Godfrey, PGCE, BSc
Essential oils have a multitude of uses, from ethereal and cosmetic to psycho-emotional and…
grieving for pet 11 26
How to Help Grieve the Loss of a Beloved Family Pet
by Melissa Starling
It’s been three weeks since my partner and I lost our beloved 14.5-year-old dog, Kivi Tarro. It’s…
two climbers, with one giving the other a helping hand
Why Doing Good Deeds Is Good For You
by Michael Glauser
What happens to the doers of good deeds? Numerous studies confirm that those who regularly engage…
how to kow if something true 11 30
3 Questions to Ask Whether Something Is True
by Bob Britten
Truth can be tricky to determine. Every message you read, see or hear comes from somewhere and was…
How Culture Informs The Emotions You Feel To Music
How Culture Informs The Emotions You Feel To Music
by George Athanasopoulos and Imre Lahdelma
I have conducted research in locations like Papua New Guinea, Japan and Greece. The truth is…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.