هذا المصفاة الشمسية تحول الضوء والهواء إلى وقود سائل

تقنية جديدة تنتج الوقود الهيدروكربوني السائل بشكل حصري من أشعة الشمس والهواء.

يعد الوقود المحايد للكربون عاملاً حاسماً في جعل الطيران والنقل البحري مستدامين. ينتج المصنع الشمسي الجديد أنواعًا من الوقود السائل الصناعي الذي يطلق أكبر كمية من ثاني أكسيد الكربون2 أثناء احتراقها كما سبق استخراجها من الهواء لإنتاجها.

نظام مقتطفات CO2 والماء مباشرة من الهواء المحيط وتقسيمهم باستخدام الطاقة الشمسية. تؤدي هذه العملية إلى إنتاج مادة syngas ، وهي خليط من الهيدروجين وأول أكسيد الكربون ، والتي تتم معالجتها لاحقًا في الكيروسين أو الميثانول أو غيرها من الهيدروكربونات. إن أنواع الوقود هذه جاهزة للاستخدام في البنية التحتية الحالية للنقل العالمي.

هذا المصفاة الشمسية تحول الضوء والهواء إلى وقود سائليقوم العاكس المكافئي بتجميع الضوء وتوجيهه إلى المفاعلين في منتصف المصنع. (الائتمان: اليساندرو ديلا بيلا / ETH زيوريخ)

إثبات المفهوم

"يثبت هذا المصنع أن وقود الهيدروكربونات المحايد من الكربون يمكن تصنيعه من أشعة الشمس والهواء في ظل ظروف حقلية حقيقية" ، يوضح ألدو شتاينفيلد ، أستاذ شركات الطاقة المتجددة في ETH Zurich التي طورت مجموعة أبحاثها التكنولوجيا. "تستخدم العملية الحرارية الكيميائية كامل الطيف الشمسي وتستمر في درجات حرارة عالية ، مما يتيح التفاعلات السريعة والكفاءة العالية."

تثبت المصفاة الشمسية المصغرة على سطح زيوريخ أن هذه التقنية ممكنة ، حتى في ظل الظروف المناخية السائدة في المدينة. ينتج حوالي ديسيلتر واحد من الوقود يوميًا (أقل بقليل من نصف كوب).

هذا المصفاة الشمسية تحول الضوء والهواء إلى وقود سائلالوقود الذي تنتجه المصفاة الشمسية. (الائتمان: اليساندرو ديلا بيلا / ETH زيوريخ)

يعمل شتاينفيلد ومجموعته بالفعل على إجراء اختبار واسع النطاق لمفاعلهم الشمسي في برج شمسي بالقرب من مدريد ، يتم تنفيذه في نطاق مشروع Sun to Liquid.

الهدف التالي هو توسيع نطاق التكنولوجيا للتنفيذ الصناعي وجعلها قادرة على المنافسة اقتصاديًا.

يقول فيليب فورلر ، مدير Synhelion وطالب الدكتوراه السابق في مجموعة شتاينفيلد: "يمكن أن ينتج مصنع للطاقة الشمسية يمتد على مساحة كيلومتر واحد مربع 20,000 من الكيروسين في اليوم". من الناحية النظرية ، يمكن أن يغطي مصنع بحجم سويسرا - أو ثلث صحراء موهافي بكاليفورنيا - احتياجات الكيروسين في صناعة الطيران بأكملها. هدفنا للمستقبل هو إنتاج أنواع الوقود المستدام بكفاءة باستخدام تقنيتنا وبالتالي التخفيف من ثاني أكسيد الكربون العالمي2 الانبعاثات ".

هذا المصفاة الشمسية تحول الضوء والهواء إلى وقود سائلينتج المصنع البحثي غازًا اصطناعيًا ، يمكن معالجته كوقود هيدروكربوني سائل من خلال تخليق الميثانول التقليدي أو فيشر تروبش. (الائتمان: اليساندرو ديلا بيلا / ETH زيوريخ)

كيف تعمل المصفاة الشمسية؟

تجمع سلسلة عملية النظام الجديد بين ثلاث عمليات تحويل كيميائي حراري:

  • استخراج CO2 والماء من الهواء.
  • الانقسام الكيميائي الحراري الشمسي لـ CO2 و الماء.
  • تسييلها لاحقا في الهيدروكربونات.

عملية الامتزاز / الامتزاز تستخلص CO2 والماء مباشرة من الهواء المحيط. ثم أدخل كلاهما المفاعل الشمسي في محور عاكس مكافئ. يتركز الإشعاع الشمسي بواسطة عامل 3,000 ، مما يولد حرارة عند درجة حرارة 1,500 درجة مئوية داخل المفاعل الشمسي.

يوجد في قلب المفاعل الشمسي بنية خزفية مصنوعة من أكسيد السيريوم ، والتي تتيح تفاعل من خطوتين - دورة الأكسدة والاختزال - لتقسيم الماء وثاني أكسيد الكربون2 في syngas. يمكن بعد ذلك معالجة هذا المزيج من الهيدروجين وأول أكسيد الكربون في وقود هيدروكربوني سائل من خلال تخليق الميثانول التقليدي أو فيشر تروبش.

ظهرت بالفعل مجموعة فرعية من مجموعة أبحاث شتاينفيلد: Synhelion ، التي تأسست في 2016 ، والتي تقوم بتسويق تكنولوجيا إنتاج الوقود الشمسي ، و Climeworks ، التي تم تأسيسها بالفعل في 2010 ، والتي تقوم بتسويق تكنولوجيا CO2 التقاط من الهواء.

مصدر: ETH زيورخ

كتب ذات صلة

السحب: الخطة الأكثر شمولاً على الإطلاق من أجل عكس الاحترار العالمي

بول هوكين وتوم شتاير
9780143130444في مواجهة الخوف واللامبالاة على نطاق واسع ، اجتمع تحالف دولي من الباحثين والمهنيين والعلماء لتقديم مجموعة من الحلول الواقعية والجريئة لتغير المناخ. مائة تقنيات وممارسات موصوفة هنا - بعضها معروف جيدًا ؛ البعض ربما لم تسمع به من قبل. وهي تتراوح بين الطاقة النظيفة وتعليم الفتيات في البلدان المنخفضة الدخل إلى ممارسات استخدام الأراضي التي تسحب الكربون من الهواء. الحلول موجودة وقابلة للحياة اقتصاديًا ، والمجتمعات في جميع أنحاء العالم تعمل حاليًا على تفعيلها بمهارة وتصميم. متاح في أمازون

تصميم حلول المناخ: دليل السياسات للطاقة المنخفضة الكربون

هال هارفي ، روبي أورفيس ، جيفري ريسمان
1610919564ومع تأثير تغير المناخ علينا بالفعل ، فإن الحاجة إلى خفض انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة العالمية لا تقل عن الحاجة الملحة. إنه تحد مروع ، لكن التقنيات والاستراتيجيات اللازمة لتحقيقه موجودة اليوم. مجموعة صغيرة من سياسات الطاقة ، مصممة ومطبقة بشكل جيد ، يمكن أن تضعنا على الطريق نحو مستقبل منخفض الكربون. أنظمة الطاقة كبيرة ومعقدة ، لذا يجب أن تكون سياسة الطاقة مركزة وفعالة من حيث التكلفة. مقاربات مقاس واحد يناسب الجميع لن تنجز المهمة ببساطة. يحتاج صانعو السياسة إلى مورد واضح وشامل يحدد سياسات الطاقة التي سيكون لها الأثر الأكبر على مستقبل المناخ لدينا ، ويصف كيفية تصميم هذه السياسات بشكل جيد. متاح في أمازون

هذا يغير كل شيء: الرأسمالية مقابل والمناخ

بواسطة نعومي كلاين
1451697392In هذا يغير كل شيء تقول ناعومي كلاين أن تغير المناخ ليس مجرد قضية أخرى يتم وضعها بدقة بين الضرائب والرعاية الصحية. إنه إنذار يدعونا إلى إصلاح نظام اقتصادي يفشلنا بالفعل بطرق عديدة. يبني كلاين بدقة على كيفية خفض انبعاثاتنا من غازات الدفيئة بشكل كبير ، وهو أفضل فرصة لنا للتخفيف من التباين الفجائي في الوقت نفسه ، وإعادة تخيل ديمقراطياتنا المحطمة ، وإعادة بناء اقتصاداتنا المحلية المدمرة. إنها تعرّض اليأس الأيديولوجي الذي ينكره من ينكرون تغير المناخ ، والأوهام المشينة التي ارتكبها المهندسون الجيولوجيون المحتملين ، والانهزامية المأساوية في الكثير من المبادرات الخضراء السائدة. وهي تدلل على وجه التحديد على السبب الذي يجعل السوق لا تستطيع - ولا يمكنها - إصلاح أزمة المناخ ، ولكنها ستجعل الأمور أسوأ ، مع أساليب استخراج مدمرة للغاية ومدمرة من الناحية البيئية ، مصحوبة برأسمالية كوارث متفشية. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

This Solar Refinery Turns Light And Air Into Liquid Fuel

A new technology produces liquid hydrocarbon fuels exclusively from sunlight and air.

Carbon-neutral fuels are crucial for making aviation and maritime transport sustainable. The new solar plant produces synthetic liquid fuels that release as much CO2 during their combustion as previously extracted from the air for their production.

The system extracts CO2 and water directly from ambient air and splits them using solar energy. This process yields syngas, a mixture of hydrogen and carbon monoxide, which is subsequently processed into kerosene, methanol, or other hydrocarbons. These drop-in fuels are ready for use in the existing global transport infrastructure.

This Solar Refinery Turns Light And Air Into Liquid FuelThe parabolic reflector bundles the light and directs it to the two reactors in the middle of the plant. (Credit: Alessandro Della Bella/ETH Zurich)

Proof of concept

“This plant proves that carbon-neutral hydrocarbon fuels can be made from sunlight and air under real field conditions,” explains Aldo Steinfeld, a professor of renewable energy carriers at ETH Zurich whose research group developed the technology. “The thermochemical process utilizes the entire solar spectrum and proceeds at high temperatures, enabling fast reactions and high efficiency.”

The solar mini-refinery on a Zurich roof proves that the technology is feasible, even under the climate conditions prevalent in the city. It produces around one deciliter of fuel per day (a little less than half a cup).

This Solar Refinery Turns Light And Air Into Liquid FuelThe fuel that the solar refinery produces. (Credit: Alessandro Della Bella/ETH Zurich)


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Steinfeld and his group are already working on a large-scale test of their solar reactor in a solar tower near Madrid, carried out within the scope of the EU’s Sun-to-Liquid project.

The next goal is to scale the technology for industrial implementation and make it economically competitive.

“A solar plant spanning an area of one square kilometer could produce 20,000 liters of kerosene a day,” says Philipp Furler, director of Synhelion and a former doctoral student in Steinfeld’s group. “Theoretically, a plant the size of Switzerland—or a third of the Californian Mojave Desert—could cover the kerosene needs of the entire aviation industry. Our goal for the future is to efficiently produce sustainable fuels with our technology and thereby mitigate global CO2 emissions.”

This Solar Refinery Turns Light And Air Into Liquid FuelThe research plant produces syngas, which can be processed into liquid hydrocarbon fuels through conventional methanol or Fischer–Tropsch synthesis. (Credit: Alessandro Della Bella/ETH Zurich)

How the solar refinery works

The process chain of the new system combines three thermochemical conversion processes:

  • The extraction of CO2 and water from the air.
  • The solar-thermochemical splitting of CO2 and water.
  • Their subsequent liquefaction into hydrocarbons.

An adsorption/desorption process extracts CO2 and water directly from ambient air. Both then enter the solar reactor at the focus of a parabolic reflector. Solar radiation is concentrated by a factor of 3,000, generating heat at a temperature of 1,500 degrees Celsius inside the solar reactor.

At the heart of the solar reactor is a ceramic structure made of cerium oxide, which enables a two-step reaction—the redox cycle—to split water and CO2 into syngas. This mixture of hydrogen and carbon monoxide can then be processed into liquid hydrocarbon fuels through conventional methanol or Fischer-Tropsch synthesis.

Two spin-offs have already emerged from Steinfeld’s research group: Synhelion, founded in 2016, which commercializes the solar fuel production technology, and Climeworks, founded already in 2010, which commercializes the technology for CO2 capture from air.

Source: ETH Zurich

Related Books

Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming

by Paul Hawken and Tom Steyer
9780143130444In the face of widespread fear and apathy, an international coalition of researchers, professionals, and scientists have come together to offer a set of realistic and bold solutions to climate change. One hundred techniques and practices are described here—some are well known; some you may have never heard of. They range from clean energy to educating girls in lower-income countries to land use practices that pull carbon out of the air. The solutions exist, are economically viable, and communities throughout the world are currently enacting them with skill and determination. Available On Amazon

Designing Climate Solutions: A Policy Guide for Low-Carbon Energy

by Hal Harvey, Robbie Orvis, Jeffrey Rissman
1610919564With the effects of climate change already upon us, the need to cut global greenhouse gas emissions is nothing less than urgent. It’s a daunting challenge, but the technologies and strategies to meet it exist today. A small set of energy policies, designed and implemented well, can put us on the path to a low carbon future. Energy systems are large and complex, so energy policy must be focused and cost-effective. One-size-fits-all approaches simply won’t get the job done. Policymakers need a clear, comprehensive resource that outlines the energy policies that will have the biggest impact on our climate future, and describes how to design these policies well. Available On Amazon

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate

by Naomi Klein
1451697392In This Changes Everything Naomi Klein argues that climate change isn’t just another issue to be neatly filed between taxes and health care. It’s an alarm that calls us to fix an economic system that is already failing us in many ways. Klein meticulously builds the case for how massively reducing our greenhouse emissions is our best chance to simultaneously reduce gaping inequalities, re-imagine our broken democracies, and rebuild our gutted local economies. She exposes the ideological desperation of the climate-change deniers, the messianic delusions of the would-be geoengineers, and the tragic defeatism of too many mainstream green initiatives. And she demonstrates precisely why the market has not—and cannot—fix the climate crisis but will instead make things worse, with ever more extreme and ecologically damaging extraction methods, accompanied by rampant disaster capitalism. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}