الطقس في القطب الشمالي قد يقود موجات الحرارة الطويلة أو نوبات البرد

الطقس في القطب الشمالي قد يقود موجات الحرارة الطويلة أو نوبات البرد

وفقا لدراسة جديدة ، فإن الظروف المناخية المستمرة ، بما في ذلك نوبات الجفاف والرطب ، والتي زادت في الولايات المتحدة ، قد تكون نتيجة للاحترار السريع في القطب الشمالي.

ويقول الباحثون إن هذه الظروف يمكن أن تؤدي إلى تطورات مناخية مثل الجفاف وموجات الحرارة والبرودة الطويلة والعواصف التي يمكن أن تكلف ملايين الدولارات من الضرر وتعطل المجتمعات والأنظمة البيئية.

فحص العلماء بيانات هطول الأمطار اليومية في محطات 17 في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة ، إلى جانب أنماط دوران كبيرة من المستوى الأعلى على شرق المحيط الهادئ وأمريكا الشمالية.

عموما ، كانت نوبات الجفاف والرطب التي استمرت أربعة أيام أو أكثر أكثر تواترا في العقود الأخيرة ، وفقا للدراسة ، التي تظهر في خطابات البحوث الجيوفيزيائية. كما ازداد تواتر أنماط الدوران الكبيرة المستمرة على أمريكا الشمالية عندما كانت منطقة القطب الشمالي دافئة بشكل غير طبيعي.

"عندما تدوم هذه الظروف لفترة طويلة ، يمكن أن تصبح أحداثاً متطرفة ، كما رأينا كثيراً في السنوات الأخيرة ..."

ولاحظت الدراسة أنه في العقود الأخيرة ، كانت منطقة القطب الشمالي ترتفع على الأقل بمعدل ضعفي سرعة متوسط ​​درجات الحرارة العالمية. كما ازدادت أيضًا ثبات أنماط القطب الشمالي الدافئة ، مما يشير إلى أن الأحوال الجوية طويلة الأجل ستحدث في كثير من الأحيان مع استمرار الاحترار السريع في القطب الشمالي ، كما يقول الكاتب الرئيسي جينيفر فرانسيس ، وهي أستاذة أبحاث في قسم العلوم البحرية والساحلية في جامعة روتجرز.

"على الرغم من أننا لا نستطيع أن نقول على وجه اليقين أن ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري في القطب الشمالي هي السبب ، وجدنا أن الأنماط واسعة النطاق مع الاحترار في القطب الشمالي أصبحت أكثر تواتراً ، وتكرار الظروف الجوية طويلة الأمد يزيد بشكل كبير لتلك الأنماط" ، كما يقول فرانسيس ، الذي يعمل في كلية العلوم البيئية والبيولوجية.

تشير النتائج إلى أنه بينما يستمر القطب الشمالي في الدفء والإذابة ، فمن المرجح أن تستمر الأحداث طويلة الأمد في الظهور بشكل متكرر ، مما يعني أن أنماط الطقس - موجات الحرارة والجفاف والعواصف الباردة والظروف العاصفة - ستصبح على الأرجح أكثر ثباتًا ، هي تقول.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الطقس في القطب الشمالي قد يقود موجات الحرارة الطويلة أو نوبات البرد

درجات حرارة سطح الأرض من ديسمبر 26 و 2017 وحتى كانون الثاني 2 و 2018 مقارنةً بمتوسط ​​2001 إلى 2010 لنفس فترة الثمانية أيام. إن نمط الشرق والغرب البارد الدافئ والمستمر الذي كان سائدا في الشتاء الماضي تسبب في جفاف غربي أدى إلى نيران الصيف ، موجة برد طويلة في الكثير من الشرق ، ومسيرة لأشهر النجوم على طول الساحل الشرقي. (الائتمان: مرصد ناسا للأرض)

وتقول: "عندما تدوم هذه الظروف لفترة طويلة ، يمكن أن تصبح أحداثاً متطرفة ، كما رأينا كثيراً في السنوات الأخيرة". "معرفة أنواع الأحداث التي تحدث في كثير من الأحيان في أي المناطق وفي ظل أي ظروف خلفية - مثل أنماط معينة لدرجات حرارة المحيطات - ستساعد صانعي القرار على التخطيط للمستقبل من حيث تحسين البنية التحتية والممارسات الزراعية والتأهب لحالات الطوارئ والتراجع من المناطق الخطرة. "

وتضيف أن الأبحاث المستقبلية ستوسع نطاق التحليل ليشمل مناطق أخرى في نصف الكرة الشمالي ، وتضع مقاييس جديدة لإيجاد روابط سببية ، وتحليل الإسقاطات لتقييم المخاطر المستقبلية من الأحداث المناخية المتطرفة المرتبطة بأنماط مستمرة.

الإضافات coauthors هي من روتجرز وجامعة ويسكونسن-ماديسون.

مولت المؤسسة الوطنية للعلوم الدراسة.

مصدر: جامعة روتجرز

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = الاحترار القطب الشمالي ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Arctic Warming May Drive Long Heat Waves Or Cold Spells

global warming

Arctic Warming May Drive Long Heat Waves Or Cold Spells

Persistent weather conditions, including dry and wet spells, that have increased in the United States may be a result of rapid Arctic warming, according to a new study.

The conditions can lead to weather extremes such as drought, heat waves, prolonged cold, and storms that can cost millions of dollars in damage and disrupt societies and ecosystems, researchers say.

Scientists examined daily precipitation data at 17 stations across the US, along with large upper-level circulation patterns over the eastern Pacific Ocean and North America.

Overall, dry and wet spells lasting four or more days were more frequent in recent decades, according to the study, which appears in Geophysical Research Letters. The frequency of persistent large-scale circulation patterns over North America also increased when the Arctic was abnormally warm.

“When these conditions last a long time, they can become extreme events, as we’ve seen so often in recent years…”

In recent decades, the Arctic has been warming at least twice as fast as the global average temperature, the study notes. The persistence of warm Arctic patterns has also increased, suggesting that long-duration weather conditions will occur more often as rapid Arctic warming continues, says lead author Jennifer Francis, a research professor in the marine and coastal sciences department at Rutgers University.

“While we cannot say for sure that Arctic warming is the cause, we found that large-scale patterns with Arctic warming are becoming more frequent, and the frequency of long-duration weather conditions increases most for those patterns,” says Francis, who works in the School of Environmental and Biological Sciences.

The results suggest that as the Arctic continues to warm and melt, it’s likely that long-duration events will continue to occur more often, meaning that weather patterns—heat waves, droughts, cold spells, and stormy conditions—will likely become more persistent, she says.

Arctic Warming May Drive Long Heat Waves Or Cold Spells

Land surface temperatures from December 26, 2017 to January 2, 2018, compared with the 2001 to 2010 average for the same eight-day period. The persistent warm West and cold East pattern that was so prevalent last winter caused a western drought that led to summer fires, a prolonged cold spell in much of the East and, a parade of nor’easters along the East Coast. (Credit: NASA Earth Observatory)

“When these conditions last a long time, they can become extreme events, as we’ve seen so often in recent years,” she says. “Knowing which types of events will occur more often in which regions and under what background conditions—such as certain ocean temperature patterns—will help decision-makers plan for the future in terms of infrastructure improvements, agricultural practices, emergency preparedness, and managed retreat from hazardous areas.”

Future research will expand the analysis to other regions of the Northern Hemisphere, develop new metrics to find causal connections, and analyze projections to assess future risks from extreme weather events linked to persistent patterns, she says.

Additional coauthors are from Rutgers and the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

The National Science Foundation funded the study.

Source: Rutgers University

Related Books

Arctic Dreams
global warmingAuthor: Barry H. Lopez
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Publisher: Open Road Media

Buy Now

Sustaining Russia's Arctic Cities: Resource Politics, Migration, and Climate Change (Studies in the Circumpolar North)
global warmingBinding: Hardcover
Publisher: Berghahn Books
List Price: $130.00

Buy Now

Guide to Arctic Security and American Military Implications of Climate Change - Reemergence of the Arctic as a Strategic Location, Taking Command, Managing the Arctic Thaw, Future Naval Operations
global warmingAuthor: U.S. Government
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Publisher: Progressive Management

Buy Now

global warming
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}