كيف TV يزرع السلطه ويساعد انتخب ترامب

كيف TV يزرع السلطه ويساعد انتخب ترامب

وقد كرس العديد من غالونات الحبر (وميغابايت من النص الإلكتروني) لشرح النصر المفاجئ لدونالد ترامب.

أسباب تتراوح من استياء الطبقة العاملة البيضاء، لقرار مدير مكتب التحقيقات الفدرالي جيمس كومي ل إعادة فتح التحقيق في البريد الإلكتروني هيلاري كلينتون، إلى انخفاض الاقبال. جميع لعبت على الأرجح دور بعض. سيكون من الخطأ الاعتقاد بأن الانتخابات قد انقلبت على عامل واحد.

ومع ذلك ، فإن الدراسة التي أجريناها خلال الحملة - نشرت للتو في مجلة الاتصالات - يقترح عامل إضافي يجب إضافته إلى المزيج: التلفزيون.

نحن لا نتحدث عن أخبار الكابل أو المليارات في وسائل الاعلام الحرة تعطى لترامب أو الإعلان السياسي.

بدلاً من ذلك ، نحن نتحدث عن التلفزيون العادي اليومي ، مثل المسلسلات الكوميدية وعروض الشرطي والمسلسلات في مكان العمل والمسلسلات التلفزيونية الواقعية التي يستهلكها معظم المشاهدين لمدة لا تقل عن عدة ساعات في اليوم - والتأثير الذي قد يحدثه ذلك على ميولك السياسية.

روح استبدادية

دراسات من الماضي 40 سنوات أظهرت أن التعرض المكثف والتلفزيوني العادي يمكن أن يشكل وجهات نظرك حول العنف والجنس والعلوم والصحة والدين والأقليات وأكثر من ذلك.

في الوقت نفسه ، 20 منذ سنوات ، أجرينا دراسات في الولايات المتحدة والأرجنتين اللتين اكتشفتا أنه كلما كنت تشاهد التلفاز ، كلما زادت احتمالية تبني الميول والتوجهات السلطوية. لدى مشاهدي التلفزيون الأمريكيين والأرجنتينيين شعور أكبر بالخوف والقلق وانعدام الثقة. فهم يقدرون المطابقة ، ويرون "الآخر" كتهديد وغير مرتاحين للتنوع.

ربما هناك سبب لهذا. النوع الاجتماعي والعرقي والعرقي الاستمرار في أن تكون سائدة في العديد من العروض. يميل التلفزيون إلى تقطير القضايا المعقدة إلى أشكال أبسط ، في حين يتم استخدام العنف كنهج لحل المشاكل. العديد من البرامج الخيالية ، من "Hawaii Five-O" إلى "The Flash" العنف الفورى، مع البطل الشجاع الذي يحمي الناس من الخطر ويعيد النظام الصحيح للأشياء.

باختصار ، غالباً ما تتميز البرامج التلفزيونية بوجود روح استبدادية عندما يتعلق الأمر بكيفية تقييم الشخصيات وكيفية حل المشاكل.

عرض العادات ودعم ترامب

في ضوء ذلك ، كنا مهتمين عندما ، أثناء الحملة ، رأينا دراسات تشير إلى أن القيم الاستبدادية كانت مؤشرا قويا على دعم ترامب.

تساءلنا: إذا كان مشاهدة التلفزيون يساهم في الاستبداد ، وإذا كانت السلطوية هي القوة الدافعة وراء دعم ترامب ، فعندئذ فإن مشاهدة التلفزيون - بطريقة غير مباشرة ، عن طريق زراعة الاستبداد - تساهم في دعم ترامب؟

قبل شهرين تقريبًا من عقد مؤتمرات الحزب ، أجرينا استطلاعًا قوميًا عبر الإنترنت مع البالغين من 1,000. سألنا الناس عن مرشحهم المفضل. (في ذلك الوقت ، كان المرشحون في السباق هم كلينتون ، ساندرز وترامب).

ثم سألناهم عن عاداتهم في مشاهدة التلفزيون - كيف استهلكوا ذلك ، وكم من الوقت أمضوا في المشاهدة.

كما طرحنا سلسلة من الأسئلة استخدمها علماء السياسة لقياس النزعات الاستبدادية لشخص ما - وتحديدًا ، ما هي الصفات الأكثر أهمية بالنسبة إلى الطفل: الاستقلال أو احترام كبار السن. الفضول أو حسن الخلق ؛ الاعتماد على الذات أو الطاعة ؛ يجري مراعاتها أو يجري تصرفاتها. (في كل زوج ، تعتبر الإجابة الثانية تعكس المزيد من القيم الاستبدادية).

تأكيدًا على دراساتنا السابقة ، سجل المشاهدون الكثيرون على مستوى الاستبداد. ومع تأكيد دراسات الآخرين ، فإن المزيد من المستبدين المستبدين كانوا يميلون بقوة نحو ترامب.

الأهم من ذلك ، وجدنا أيضا أن الاستبداد "توسط" تأثير مشاهدة الكثير من التلفزيون على دعم ترامب. وهذا يعني أن المشاهدة الثقيلة والاستبداد ، معًا في ترتيب متسلسل ، كان لها علاقة كبيرة مع تفضيل ترامب. ولم يتأثر ذلك بالجنس والعمر والتعليم والأيديولوجيا السياسية والعرق والأخبار.

لسنا أول من يلاحظ أن الترفيه يمكن أن يكون له عواقب سياسية. في مقال سليت بعد فترة قصيرة من الانتخابات ، الكاتب ديفيد كانفيلد جادل هذا التلفزيون في وقت الذروة مملوء بالبرمجة التي هي "كراهية الأجانب" ، "الخوف" ، "زيادة الملياردير" و "رفض العلم". كما يقول ، "ما نعتقده في" الهروب غير المؤذي في وقت الذروة ، "في الواقع ،" يعزز جدول أعمال الاستبعاد الذي وضعته حملة ترامب ". وتكشف بياناتنا أن هذا لم يكن مجرد تكهنات.

لا يعني أي من هذا أن التلفزيون لعب الدور الحاسم في انتصار دونالد ترامب. لكن ترامب عرض شخصية تتلاءم تماما مع العقلية الاستبدادية التي يغذيها التلفزيون.

المحادثةما نفكر فيه على أنه مجرد "ترفيه" يمكن أن يكون له تأثير حقيقي على السياسة الأمريكية.

عن المؤلفين

جيمس شاناهان ، عميد كلية الإعلام ، جامعة إنديانا ومايكل مورغان ، الأستاذ الفخري للاتصالات ، جامعة ماساتشوستس في امهرست

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = السلطوية، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How TV Cultivates Authoritarianism And Helped Elect Trump

How TV Cultivates Authoritarianism And Helped Elect Trump

Many gallons of ink (and megabytes of electronic text) have been devoted to explaining the surprise victory of Donald Trump.

Reasons range from white working-class resentment, to FBI Director James Comey’s decision to reopen the Hillary Clinton email investigation, to low turnout. All likely played some role. It would be a mistake to think the election turned on one single factor.

However, a study we conducted during the campaign – just published in the Journal of Communication – suggests an additional factor that should be added into the mix: television.

We’re not talking about cable news or the billions in free media given to Trump or political advertising.

Rather, we’re talking about regular, everyday television – the sitcoms, cop shows, workplace dramas and reality TV series that most heavy viewers consume for at least several hours a day – and the effect this might have on your political leanings.

An authoritarian ethos

Studies from the past 40 years have shown that regular, heavy exposure to television can shape your views on violence, gender, science, health, religion, minorities and more.

Meanwhile, 20 years ago, we conducted studies in the U.S. and Argentina that found that the more you watch television, the more likely you’ll embrace authoritarian tendencies and perspectives. Heavy American and Argentinian television viewers have a greater sense of fear, anxiety and mistrust. They value conformity, see the “other” as a threat and are uncomfortable with diversity.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


There’s probably a reason for this. Gender, ethnic and racial stereotypes continue to be prevalent in many shows. Television tends to distill complex issues into simpler forms, while the use of violence as an approach to solving problems is glorified. Many fictional programs, from “Hawaii Five-O” to “The Flash,” feature formulaic violence, with a brave hero who protects people from danger and restores the rightful order of things.

In short, television programs often feature an authoritarian ethos when it comes to how characters are valued and how problems are solved.

Viewing habits and Trump support

Given this, we were intrigued when, during the campaign, we saw studies suggesting that holding authoritarian values was a powerful predictor of support for Trump.

We wondered: If watching television contributes to authoritarianism, and if authoritarianism is a driving force behind support for Trump, then might television viewing – indirectly, by way of cultivating authoritarianism – contribute to support for Trump?

About two months before the party conventions were held, we conducted an online national survey with over 1,000 adults. We asked people about their preferred candidate. (At the time, the candidates in the race were Clinton, Sanders and Trump.)

We then questioned them about their television viewing habits – how they consumed it, and how much time they spent watching.

We also asked a series of questions used by political scientists to measure a person’s authoritarian tendencies – specifically, which qualities are more important for a child to have: independence or respect for their elders; curiosity or good manners; self-reliance or obedience; being considerate or being well-behaved. (In each pair, the second answer is considered to reflect more authoritarian values.)

Confirming our own earlier studies, heavy viewers scored higher on the authoritarian scale. And confirming others’ studies, more authoritarian respondents strongly leaned toward Trump.

More importantly, we also found that authoritarianism “mediated” the effect of watching a lot of television on support for Trump. That is, heavy viewing and authoritarianism, taken together in sequence, had a significant relationship with preference for Trump. This was unaffected by gender, age, education, political ideology, race and news viewing.

We’re not the first to note that entertainment can have political consequences. In a Slate article shortly after the election, writer David Canfield argued that prime-time television is filled with programming that is “xenophobic,” “fearmongering,” “billionaire-boosting” and “science-rejecting.” What we think of “harmless prime-time escapism,” he continued, actually “reinforces the exclusionary agenda put forth by the Trump campaign.” Our data reveal that this was not simply speculation.

None of this means that television played the decisive role in the triumph of Donald Trump. But Trump offered a persona that fit perfectly with the authoritarian mindset nurtured by television.

The ConversationWhat we think of as “mere entertainment” can have a very real effect on American politics.

About The Authors

James Shanahan, Dean of the Media School, Indiana University and Michael Morgan, Professor Emeritus of Communication, University of Massachusetts Amherst

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Authoritarianism;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…