Comment la télévision cultive l'autoritarisme et a aidé Elect Trump

Comment la télévision cultive l'autoritarisme et a aidé Elect Trump

Beaucoup de gallons d'encre (et mégaoctets de texte électronique) ont été consacrés à expliquer la victoire surprise de Donald Trump.

Les raisons vont de blanc ressentiment de la classe ouvrière, à la décision du directeur du FBI, James Comey, rouvrir l'enquête par courriel Hillary Clinton pour faible taux de participation. Tous ont probablement joué un rôle. Ce serait une erreur de penser que l'élection a tourné sur un seul facteur.

Cependant, une étude que nous avons menée pendant la campagne - vient d'être publiée dans le Journal de la Communication - suggère un facteur supplémentaire qui devrait être ajouté dans le mélange: la télévision.

Nous ne parlons pas des nouvelles de câble ou des milliards dans médias libres donné à Trump ou la publicité politique.

Nous parlons plutôt de la télévision de tous les jours - les sitcoms, les émissions de flic, les séries dramatiques et les téléréalités que la plupart des téléspectateurs consomment au moins plusieurs heures par jour - et l'effet que cela pourrait avoir sur vos tendances politiques.

Une éthique autoritaire

Études des dernières années 40 ont montré qu'une exposition régulière et intense à la télévision peut façonner votre point de vue sur la violence, le genre, la science, la santé, la religion, les minorités et plus encore.

Pendant ce temps, 20 années, nous avons conduit études Aux États-Unis et en Argentine, on a constaté que plus on regardait la télévision, plus on adoptait des tendances et des perspectives autoritaires. Les téléspectateurs américains et argentins ont un plus grand sentiment de peur, d'anxiété et de méfiance. Ils valorisent la conformité, considèrent l'autre comme une menace et sont mal à l'aise avec la diversité.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


Il y a probablement une raison à cela. Stéréotypes sexuels, ethniques et raciaux continuer à prévaloir dans de nombreux spectacles. La télévision a tendance à distiller des questions complexes dans des formes plus simples, tandis que l'utilisation de la violence comme une approche pour résoudre les problèmes est glorifiée. De nombreux programmes de fiction, de "Hawaii Five-O" à "The Flash", fonctionnalité violence stéréotypée, avec un héros courageux qui protège les gens du danger et restaure l'ordre légitime des choses.

En bref, les émissions de télévision présentent souvent une éthique autoritaire quand il s'agit de la façon dont les personnages sont évalués et comment les problèmes sont résolus.

Habitudes d'observation et support de Trump

Compte tenu de cela, nous étions intrigués quand, pendant la campagne, nous avons vu des études suggérant que détenir des valeurs autoritaires était un puissant prédicteur de soutien pour Trump.

Nous nous sommes demandés: si regarder la télévision contribue à l'autoritarisme, et si l'autoritarisme est un moteur du soutien à Trump, la télévision pourrait-elle indirectement, en cultivant l'autoritarisme, contribuer au soutien de Trump?

Environ deux mois avant les congrès du parti, nous avons mené un sondage national en ligne auprès de plus de 1,000 adultes. Nous avons demandé aux gens quel était leur candidat préféré. (À l'époque, les candidats à la course étaient Clinton, Sanders et Trump.)

Nous les avons ensuite interrogés sur leurs habitudes d'écoute de la télévision - comment ils l'ont consommé, et combien de temps ils ont passé à regarder.

Nous avons également posé une série de questions utilisées par les politologues pour mesurer les tendances autoritaires d'une personne - en particulier, quelles sont les qualités les plus importantes pour un enfant: l'indépendance ou le respect de ses aînés; curiosité ou bonnes manières; l'autosuffisance ou l'obéissance; être prévenant ou être sage. (Dans chaque paire, la deuxième réponse est considérée comme reflétant des valeurs plus autoritaires.)

Confirmant nos propres études antérieures, les téléspectateurs lourds ont marqué plus haut sur l'échelle autoritaire. Et confirmant les études des autres, les répondants plus autoritaires se sont fortement tournés vers Trump.

Plus important encore, nous avons également constaté que l'autoritarisme «modifiait» l'effet de regarder beaucoup de télévision sur le soutien à Trump. C'est-à-dire que le visionnage intensif et l'autoritarisme, pris dans l'ordre, avaient une relation significative avec la préférence pour Trump. Cela n'a pas été affecté par le sexe, l'âge, l'éducation, l'idéologie politique, la race et le visionnage des informations.

Nous ne sommes pas les premiers à remarquer que le divertissement peut avoir des conséquences politiques. Dans un article de Slate peu après l'élection, l'écrivain David Canfield argumenté La télévision diffusée aux heures de grande écoute regorge de programmes «xénophobes», «alarmistes», «stimulants pour les milliardaires» et «rejetant la science». Ce que nous pensons de «l'évasion inoffensive au prime time», poursuit-il, «renforce programme d'exclusion mis de l'avant par la campagne Trump. "Nos données révèlent que ce n'était pas simplement de la spéculation.

Rien de tout cela ne signifie que la télévision ait joué un rôle décisif dans le triomphe de Donald Trump. Mais Trump a offert un personnage qui correspond parfaitement à l'état d'esprit autoritaire nourri par la télévision.

La ConversationCe que nous considérons comme «simple divertissement» peut avoir un effet très réel sur la politique américaine.

À propos des auteurs

James Shanahan, doyen de l'école des médias, Université de l'Indiana et Michael Morgan, professeur émérite de communication, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; keywords = Autoritarisme; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

How TV Cultivates Authoritarianism And Helped Elect Trump

How TV Cultivates Authoritarianism And Helped Elect Trump

Many gallons of ink (and megabytes of electronic text) have been devoted to explaining the surprise victory of Donald Trump.

Reasons range from white working-class resentment, to FBI Director James Comey’s decision to reopen the Hillary Clinton email investigation, to low turnout. All likely played some role. It would be a mistake to think the election turned on one single factor.

However, a study we conducted during the campaign – just published in the Journal of Communication – suggests an additional factor that should be added into the mix: television.

We’re not talking about cable news or the billions in free media given to Trump or political advertising.

Rather, we’re talking about regular, everyday television – the sitcoms, cop shows, workplace dramas and reality TV series that most heavy viewers consume for at least several hours a day – and the effect this might have on your political leanings.

An authoritarian ethos

Studies from the past 40 years have shown that regular, heavy exposure to television can shape your views on violence, gender, science, health, religion, minorities and more.

Meanwhile, 20 years ago, we conducted studies in the U.S. and Argentina that found that the more you watch television, the more likely you’ll embrace authoritarian tendencies and perspectives. Heavy American and Argentinian television viewers have a greater sense of fear, anxiety and mistrust. They value conformity, see the “other” as a threat and are uncomfortable with diversity.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


There’s probably a reason for this. Gender, ethnic and racial stereotypes continue to be prevalent in many shows. Television tends to distill complex issues into simpler forms, while the use of violence as an approach to solving problems is glorified. Many fictional programs, from “Hawaii Five-O” to “The Flash,” feature formulaic violence, with a brave hero who protects people from danger and restores the rightful order of things.

In short, television programs often feature an authoritarian ethos when it comes to how characters are valued and how problems are solved.

Viewing habits and Trump support

Given this, we were intrigued when, during the campaign, we saw studies suggesting that holding authoritarian values was a powerful predictor of support for Trump.

We wondered: If watching television contributes to authoritarianism, and if authoritarianism is a driving force behind support for Trump, then might television viewing – indirectly, by way of cultivating authoritarianism – contribute to support for Trump?

About two months before the party conventions were held, we conducted an online national survey with over 1,000 adults. We asked people about their preferred candidate. (At the time, the candidates in the race were Clinton, Sanders and Trump.)

We then questioned them about their television viewing habits – how they consumed it, and how much time they spent watching.

We also asked a series of questions used by political scientists to measure a person’s authoritarian tendencies – specifically, which qualities are more important for a child to have: independence or respect for their elders; curiosity or good manners; self-reliance or obedience; being considerate or being well-behaved. (In each pair, the second answer is considered to reflect more authoritarian values.)

Confirming our own earlier studies, heavy viewers scored higher on the authoritarian scale. And confirming others’ studies, more authoritarian respondents strongly leaned toward Trump.

More importantly, we also found that authoritarianism “mediated” the effect of watching a lot of television on support for Trump. That is, heavy viewing and authoritarianism, taken together in sequence, had a significant relationship with preference for Trump. This was unaffected by gender, age, education, political ideology, race and news viewing.

We’re not the first to note that entertainment can have political consequences. In a Slate article shortly after the election, writer David Canfield argued that prime-time television is filled with programming that is “xenophobic,” “fearmongering,” “billionaire-boosting” and “science-rejecting.” What we think of “harmless prime-time escapism,” he continued, actually “reinforces the exclusionary agenda put forth by the Trump campaign.” Our data reveal that this was not simply speculation.

None of this means that television played the decisive role in the triumph of Donald Trump. But Trump offered a persona that fit perfectly with the authoritarian mindset nurtured by television.

The ConversationWhat we think of as “mere entertainment” can have a very real effect on American politics.

About The Authors

James Shanahan, Dean of the Media School, Indiana University and Michael Morgan, Professor Emeritus of Communication, University of Massachusetts Amherst

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Authoritarianism;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…