لماذا يجب علينا الانتباه إلى قوة التصويت للشباب

لماذا يجب علينا الانتباه إلى قوة التصويت للشباب
في هذا أكتوبر 31 ، صورة 2018 ، يرقص الطلاب على متن حافلة إلى الموسيقى أثناء تصويت "مسيرة حياتنا" في جامعة سنترال فلوريدا في أورلاندو بولاية فلوريدا. (AP Photo / John Raoux)

مشاركة الشباب في الانتخابات النصفية الأخيرة في الولايات المتحدة كانت أعلى ما كان عليه في سنوات 25. شهدت أيضا منتصف المدة متوسط ​​عمر ممثلي الكونجرس ينزل بسنوات 10.

وبالمثل ، في الانتخابات الفيدرالية الكندية لـ 2015 ، تحول 58 في المائة من الناخبين المؤهلين حديثًا إلى التصويت ، بزيادة تقرب من 18 في المائة على انتخابات 2011.

حدثت زيادات مماثلة في التصويت بين 18- إلى 24-years old in انتخابات المحافظات. يمكن أن يعزى جزء من الانتصارات المثيرة في 2015 للحزب الوطني الديمقراطي في ألبرتا وكولومبيا البريطانية جزئيا إلى تصويت الشباب ، لأن الناخبين الأصغر سنا يميلون إلى التقدم.

وقد أظهر الناخبون الشباب في كندا للأحزاب يركز على القضايا التي تهمّ جيلهم ، لا سيما تغير المناخ والتنوع والمساواة والدور التنظيمي للحكومة.

في الواقع ، تقوم حركات الشباب بدور في مشاركة الناخبين. تهدف المسيرة الأمريكية لحركة حياتنا إلى إنهاء العنف المسلح. اجتذبت احتجاجات الحركة في مارس من هذا العام ما يقدر مليوني شابومددت في التصويت لحياتنا حملة.

التصويت لحياتنا بدأ بتسجيل الآلاف من الناخبين الشباب في الاحتجاجات في آذار / مارس من أجل حياتنا ، وحمل الزخم في منتصف المدة ، من المحتمل أن يلعب دورا في زيادة تصويت الشباب.

"مابل سبرينغ"

كان هناك العديد من الحركات الشبابية البارزة الأخرى في أمريكا الشمالية. كانت الحركة الطلابية 2012 Québec “Maple Spring” ، التي أشعلها قرار من الحكومة الإقليمية لرفع الرسوم الدراسية ، في وقت وصفت بأنها أكبر الحركات الشبابية في أمريكا الشمالية منذ 1960s.

الآلاف من الطلاب يسيرون في شوارع وسط مدينة مونتريال في مارس 2012 في احتجاج ضخم ضد ارتفاع الرسوم الدراسية. (لماذا يجب الانتباه إلى قوة التصويت للشباب)
الآلاف من الطلاب يسيرون في شوارع وسط مدينة مونتريال في مارس 2012 في احتجاج ضخم ضد ارتفاع الرسوم الدراسية.
الصحافة الكندية / ريان ريميورز


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وجه احتجاج شباب من مقاطعة أونتاريو ضد التغييرات في مناهج التربية الجنسية في 2018 عشرات الآلاف الشباب. وقد ركزت احتجاجات الشباب من السكان الأصليين في جميع أنحاء أمريكا الشمالية على مواضيع مثل خطوط الأنابيب, مياه نظيفة و الموت غير عادل.

تمنح اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الطفل (UNCRC) الأطفال والشباب الحق في المشاركة في صنع القرار في الأمور التي تؤثر عليهم ، بما في ذلك في السياقات السياسية والمجتمعية.

أكثر من ذلك ، يمنحها ميثاق الأمم المتحدة الحق في اتخاذ القرار المستنير ، مما يعني أن البالغين ملزمون قانونًا بتعليم الشباب. ويشمل ذلك ، على سبيل المثال ، القوانين والمتطلبات المتعلقة بالقواعد المدرسية والرعاية الصحية والتعليم. يجب على الكبار شرح هذه القضايا والتشاور مع الشباب وأخذ وجهات نظرهم بعين الاعتبار.

تم توقيع اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان من قبل جميع الدول الأعضاء في الأمم المتحدة ، بما في ذلك الولايات المتحدة ، على الرغم من أن الولايات المتحدة تقف وحدها في فشلها في التصديق عليها.

وحتى بدون اتفاقية حقوق الطفل ، تتطلب الديمقراطية النظر في وجهات نظر جميع المواطنين. يتمتع المواطنون بحقوق والتزامات ، بما في ذلك التصويت والخدمة ؛ يجب عدم استبعاد الناخبين الشباب.

الناقد الثقافي هنري جيروالذي يكتب على نطاق واسع عن التعليم والسياسة ، وقد حدد المواطنين كمواطنين مع "لا يقتصر الأمر على فهم العالم وإشراكه فحسب ، وإنما تحويله عند الضرورة ، والاعتقاد بأنه قادر على فعل ذلكوهذا يعني أننا بحاجة إلى مشاركة الشباب حتى قبل أن يكبروا بما يكفي للتصويت.

الفوائد الضخمة لمشاركة الشباب

في بحثنا الخاص مع مركز التميز لمشاركة الشباب ، وجدنا فوائد واسعة النطاق من المشاركة والمدافعة الاجتماعية للشباب. يكتسب الشباب مهارات جديدة عندما ينخرطون سياسياً ، ويتعلمون تحمل مسؤولية أكبر. كما تعلم المزيد عن من هم وماذا يقدرون في الحياة. انهم يكتسبون شعور بقدراتهم الفريدة على تحدث فرقا.

في هذا أكتوبر 31 ، صورة 2018 ، يستمع طالب يحمل علم قوس قزح إلى المتحدثين خلال تصويت "تصويتنا لحياتنا" في جامعة سنترال فلوريدا في أورلاندو ، فلوريدا (لماذا يجب أن ننتبه إلى قوة التصويت للشباب)في هذا أكتوبر 31 ، صورة 2018 ، يستمع طالب يحمل علم قوس قزح إلى المتحدثين أثناء تصويت "مسيرة حياتنا" في جامعة سنترال فلوريدا في أورلاندو بولاية فلوريدا. (AP Photo / John Raoux)

إذا شاركوا عندما كانوا صغارا ، فمن المرجح أيضا أن يفعلوا ذلك المشاركة في وقت لاحق. كما يستفيد البالغون من التعلم من الشبابويستفيد المجتمع من أفكار جديدة ومنظور الشباب الجديد ، وكذلك من مشاركتهم المستقبلية.

هل هذا يكفي لجعل صانعي السياسة والسياسيين والمجتمع الأوسع يهتمون بالشباب؟ يجب أن يكون ، ولكن هناك أيضا أسباب سياسية استراتيجية للاهتمام بالشاب.

يشكل الشباب نسبة كبيرة من سكان التصويت. في كندا ، سيكون جيل الألفية قريبا أكبر فئة عمرية داخل الناخبين. لا يزال العديد من الشباب غير القادرين على التصويت ما زالوا ناشطين في الاحتجاجات والمناصرة.

يمكن أن تؤثر على نتائج الانتخابات

الشباب لديهم القدرة على التأثير بشكل كبير على نتائج الانتخابات. يمكن أن تساعد الاستراتيجيات التي تشجع مشاركتهم على زيادة تأثيرهم. يجب استشارة الشباب خلال تطوير البرامج الحزبية ، وإسداء النصح للسياسيين حول الاستراتيجيات التي ستصل إلى أقرانهم.

كما ستساعد المجالس الاستشارية للشباب للمرشحين السياسيين في جعل الحملات أكثر جذبًا للشباب. وينبغي أيضا معالجة العوائق التي تحول دون مشاركة الشباب. مثل الكبار ، والشباب الإبلاغ عن قلة الوقت مثلهم رقم 1 سبب عدم التصويت. على عكس البالغين ، فإن السبب الثاني الأكثر شيوعًا لفشلهم في الإدلاء بأصواتهم هو نقص المعلومات حول المرشحين والقضايا ، ربما لأنهم يحصلون على المعلومات في المقام الأول من وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية.

ماذا يعني كل ذلك؟

الشباب يريدون المعلومات مع اقتراب الانتخابات. بشرط استخدام الوسائط الاجتماعية يكاد يكون عالميًا لهذه الفئة العمرية، هناك فرصة لتبادل المعلومات بشكل مسؤول من خلال وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية والشبكات المفضلة لديهم.

قد نستكشف أيضًا طرق مبتكرة للاستفادة من قيادتهم في جذب المواطنين الآخرين إلى العملية السياسية. على سبيل المثال ، أنشأ منظمو التصويت لصالح Our Lives قميصًا مع رمز الاستجابة السريعة الذي يسمح للأشخاص بذلك التسجيل للتصويت فقط عن طريق مسح الرمز مع هواتفهم.

للشباب الحق ، والمهارات والأعداد "لإحداث تغيير" في الحكومة والمجتمع. سيكون صانعو القرار من الحكمة المشاركة الفعالة مع الشباب ويعترفون بأهمية أصواتهم وطاقاتهم ورؤيتهم في ديمقراطية سليمة.المحادثة

عن المؤلفين

هيثر ل. رامي ، أستاذة مساعدة ، دراسات الطفل والشباب ، جامعة بروك. هيثر لورد ، أستاذ مشارك ، قسم علم النفس ، جامعة الأسقفوليندا روز كراسنور ، أستاذ ، جامعة بروك

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = youth vote؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why We Should Pay Attention To The Voting Power Of Youth

elections

Why We Should Pay Attention To The Voting Power Of Youth
In this Oct. 31, 2018 photo, students dance atop a bus to music during a Vote for Our Lives rally at the University of Central Florida in Orlando, Fla. (AP Photo/John Raoux)

Youth turnout in the recent United States midterm elections was the highest it has been in 25 years. The midterms also saw the average age of congressional representatives go down by 10 years.

Likewise, in the 2015 Canadian federal election, 58 per cent of newly eligible voters turned out to vote, an increase of almost 18 per cent over the 2011 election.

There have been similar increases in voting among 18- to 24-year-olds in provincial elections. Dramatic wins in 2015 for the NDP in Alberta and British Columbia can be attributed in part to youth voting, because younger voters lean progressive.

Young voters in Canada have shown up for parties focused on issues that are important to their generation, in particular climate change, diversity, equality and the regulatory role of government.

Youth movements, in fact, are playing a role in voter turnout. The U.S. March for our Lives movement aims to end gun violence. The movement’s protests in March of this year attracted an estimated two million youth, and extended into the Vote for Our Lives campaign.

Vote for our Lives began by registering thousands of youth voters at the March for Our Lives protests, and carried the momentum into the midterms, likely playing a part in the youth voting surge.

‘Maple Spring’

There have been many other notable youth movements in North America. The 2012 Québec “Maple Spring” student movement, ignited by a provincial government decision to hike tuition, was at the time described as among the largest youth movements in North America since the 1960s.

Thousands of students march through the streets of downtown Montreal in March 2012 in a massive protest against tuition fee hikes.  (why we should pay attention to the voting power of youth)
Thousands of students march through the streets of downtown Montreal in March 2012 in a massive protest against tuition fee hikes.
THE CANADIAN PRESS/Ryan Remiorz

An Ontario youth protest against changes to the sex education curriculum in 2018 drew tens of thousands of youth. Indigenous youth protests across North America have focused on topics such as pipelines, clean water and unjust deaths.

The United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (UNCRC) gives children and youth the right to participate in decision-making in matters that affect them, including in political and community contexts.

More than this, the UN convention gives them the right to informed decision-making, which means that adults are legally obligated to educate youth. This includes, for example, laws and requirements about school rules, health care and education. Adults must explain these issues, consult with youth and take their views into account.

The UNCRC was signed by all United Nations member states, including the U.S., although the U.S. stands alone in failing to ratify it.

Even without the UNCRC, democracy requires considering the views of all citizens. Citizens have rights and obligations, including voting and service; young voters should not be excluded.

Cultural critic Henry Giroux, who writes extensively on education and politics, has defined citizens as people with the “capacity not only to understand and engage the world but to transform it when necessary, and to believe that he or she can do that.” That means we need youth to participate even before they’re old enough to vote.

The huge benefits of youth engagement

In our own research with the Centre of Excellence for Youth Engagement, we have found widespread benefits from youth’s civic engagement and advocacy. Young people gain new skills when they become engaged politically, and they learn to take on greater responsibility. They also learn more about who they are and what they value in life. They gain a sense of their unique abilities to make a difference.

In this Oct. 31, 2018 photo, a student with a rainbow flag listens to speakers during a Vote for Our Lives rally at the University of Central Florida in Orlando, Fla. (why we should pay attention to the voting power of youth)In this Oct. 31, 2018 photo, a student with a rainbow flag listens to speakers during a Vote for Our Lives rally at the University of Central Florida in Orlando, Fla. (AP Photo/John Raoux)

If they participate when they are young, they are also more likely to participate later on. Adults also benefit by learning from youth, and society benefits from the new ideas and the fresh perspective of young people, as well as from their future participation.

Is this enough to make policy-makers, politicians and broader society pay attention to young people? It should be, but there are also strategic political reasons to pay attention to youth.

Youth make up a substantial proportion of the voting populations. In Canada, millennials will soon be the largest age cohort within the electorate. Many young people who are not old enough to vote are still active in protests and advocacy.

Can influence election outcomes

Youth have the potential to significantly impact the outcome of elections. Strategies that encourage their participation can help further their influence. Youth should be consulted during the development of party platforms, and advise politicians on strategies that will reach their peers.

Youth advisory councils for political candidates would also help make campaigns more engaging to youth. Barriers to youth participation should also be addressed. Like adults, youth report lack of time as their No. 1 reason for not voting. Unlike adults, however, their second most common reason for failing to cast a ballot is a lack of information about the candidates and issues, perhaps because they get information primarily from social media.

What does it all mean?

Young people want information as elections loom. Given that social media use is almost universal for this age group, there is an opportunity to responsibly share information through their preferred social media and networks.

We might also explore innovative ways to capitalize on their leadership in drawing other citizens into the political process. For example, Vote for Our Lives organizers created a T-shirt with a QR code that allows people to register to vote by just scanning the code with their phone.

Youth have the right, the skills and the numbers to “make a difference” in government and society. Decision-makers would be wise to meaningfully engage with young people and acknowledge the importance of their voices, energy and vision to a healthy democracy.The Conversation

About The Authors

Heather L. Ramey, Adjunct Professor, Child & Youth Studies, Brock University; Heather Lawford, Associate Professor, Department of Psychology, Bishop's University, and Linda Rose-Krasnor, Professor, Brock University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Taking Back the Vote: Getting American Youth Involved in Our Democracy
electionsAuthor: Jane Eisner
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Beacon Press
List Price: $18.00

Buy Now

Why Youth Vote: Identity, Inspirational Leaders and Independence
electionsAuthor: Bobbi Gentry
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Springer
List Price: $129.00

Buy Now

The Virgin Vote: How Young Americans Made Democracy Social, Politics Personal, and Voting Popular in the Nineteenth Century
electionsAuthor: Jon Grinspan
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: The University of North Carolina Press
List Price: $28.00

Buy Now

elections
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}