الكون الروحي: الانتقال إلى ما وراء المادية وإنقاذ العالم

الكون الروحي: الانتقال إلى ما وراء المادية وإنقاذ العالم

كان زمن أواخر 16th وأوائل القرن 17th وقتًا خطيرًا ليكون مفكراً مجانياً ، أو عالماً. رجل واحد دفع ثمن استجواب نموذجه الميتافيزيقي لثقافته كان الإيطالي جيوردانو برونو. كان برونو رجلاً نهضياً حقيقياً ، عملاقًا فكريًا كان فيلسوفًا وشاعرًا ورياضيًا وعلم الكون. لقد قبل نظرية كوبرنيكوس بأن الشمس كانت مركز النظام الشمسي ، وعقدت وجهة نظر بانبيشيوس بأن كل الطبيعة كانت حية بروح ، وتؤمن أيضا بالتناسخ. بقدر ما كان قادة الكنيسة قلقين ، فقد تناقض مع العديد من مبادئهم الأساسية ، وبالتالي قوضت سلطتهم. في 1593 ، تمت محاكمته بتهمة الهرطقة ، واتهم بإنكار العديد من العقائد الكاثوليكية الأساسية ، وحرق على الحصة في 1600.

كان غاليليو مفكّر إيطاليًا حرًا آخر عانى على يد الكنيسة. أقنعته أبحاث جاليليو الفلكية بأن الأرض لم تكن مركز الكون ، وأن كوكبنا يدور حول الشمس. ومع ذلك ، فقد رأت الكنيسة الكاثوليكية "مركزية الشمس" هرطقة ، ونتيجة لذلك ، أمضى غاليليو الجزء الأخير من حياته تحت الإقامة الجبرية ، وتم حظر كتبه.

من وجهة نظري ، كان السبب في كون سلطات الكنيسة معادية للعلماء والمفكرين الأحرار ، لأنهم كانوا يعرفون - دون وعي - أن نموذجهم الميتافيزيقي يتعرض لتهديد خطير. كانت عقوباتهم الوحشية محاولة لمنع التغيير الثقافي ، مثل القائد الفاسد الذي يشرع في ثورة قاتلة حيث أن قبضته على السلطة تتلاشى. لكنهم كانوا يقاتلون معركة غير مجدية ، بالطبع. كان التحول جارياً ، وكان من المحتم أن يتم استبدال رؤيتهم التبسيطية المبنية على الكتاب المقدس.

وأعتقد أن هناك أوجه تشابه مع وضعنا الثقافي الحالي.

أود أن أطرح حجة مفادها أنه في الوقت الحاضر يحدث تحول ثقافي ، وأن النموذج الميتافيزيقي للمادية يتلاشى. أريد أيضاً أن أؤكد على مدى أهمية - بالنسبة لمستقبل نوعنا الخاص وكوكبنا ككل - أن هذا التحول يأتي إلى الثمار الكاملة ، وأن النموذج المادي يتفوق على النظرة الروحية للعالم.

المادية تحت التهديد

تماما مثل الكنيسة في القرن 17th ، المادية تتعرض للتهديد. لم تعد مبادئه وافتراضاته قابلة للتطبيق ، وبدأ يظهر نموذج جديد ليحل محله. وتستجيب المادية بقوة لهذا التحدي ، كما فعلت الكنيسة. هناك ثلاث طرق رئيسية تتفاعل فيها النماذج الميتافيزيائية مع التهديدات الوجودية: من خلال أن تصبح أكثر عقائدية بشكل صارم ، بمعاقبة الزنادقة ، وتجاهل (أو التوضيح أو كبح) أدلة غير مرحب بها. لا تزال هذه هي الطريقة التي تحافظ بها الديانات الأصولية على نفسها في خضم الثقافة العلمانية في القرن الواحد والعشرين. \

المسيحيين الأصوليين والمسلمين - أو أي طائفة أو طائفة دينية ، في هذا الشأن - لديهم معتقدات وعقائد صارمة للغاية ومحددة يجب على كل من يلتزم بها قبولاً كاملاً. إنهم يغرسون الخوف من خلال نبذ ومعاقبة أي شخص ينأى بنفسه عن هذه المعتقدات ، ويحاولون الحد من توفر أي دليل يتعارض مع المعتقدات.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لسوء الحظ ، يستجيب بعض أتباع نظام الاعتقاد المادي بطريقة مشابهة للتحديات التي تواجه نظرتهم للعالم. إن المفكرين الأحرار الذين يتساءلون عن أي من مبادئ المادية يتهمون بأنهم علماء زائفين. خاصة إذا قبلت بوجود ظواهر psi وحتى التحقيق فيها ، فقد تجد صعوبة في الحصول على تمويل للبحث ، لنشر أعمالها في المجلات أو تقديمها في المؤتمرات ، أو للحصول على وظيفة أكاديمية في إحدى الجامعات. قد يتعرضون للسخرية ، وصفحت صفحاتهم على الإنترنت ، وأخذت مقاطع الفيديو الخاصة بهم من الإنترنت (كما حدث لروبرت شيلدراكي في 2013 ، عندما تم حذف حديثه عن TED بناء على طلب من المشككين الأمريكيين البارزين).

من المهم أن تتذكر أن هناك عوامل نفسية قوية تلعب هنا. قد لا يدرك بعض الماديين أنهم يتصرفون بطريقة غير عقلانية ومتحيزة. إن سلوكهم متجذّر في حاجة نفسية قوية إلى اليقين والسيطرة. كإحدى المعتقدات ، توفر المادية إطارًا توضيحيًا متماسكًا يفيد الحياة. يبدو أنه يقدم إجابات مقنعة للعديد من "الأسئلة الكبيرة" في حياة الإنسان ، وهكذا يعطينا إحساسًا بالتوجيه واليقين يخفف من الشك والارتباك.

الشعور بأننا نفهم كيف يعمل العالم يعطينا إحساسا بالسلطة. بدلاً من الشعور بأننا خاضعين لقوى الطبيعة الغامضة والفوضوية ، نشعر بأننا نتفهم العالم ، في موقع القوة. للاعتراف بأن هناك ظواهر لا يمكننا فهمها أو شرحها بشكل كامل ، وأن العالم غريب أكثر مما نستطيع أن نتصور ، يضعف قوتنا وسيطرنا. (وهذا هو أحد الأسباب التي جعلت الكثير من الناس يترددون في قبول تداعيات الفيزياء الكوانتية: لأنها تكشف أن العالم مكان أكثر غموضا وتعقيدا مما يمكن أن نتخيله ، وبالتالي فإن التهديد هو الشعور بالسيطرة والقوة. لا أستطيع تحمل العالم الذي لا نفهمه.)

ينطبق ما سبق على جميع أنظمة المعتقدات ، ولكن في حالة المادية ، يتم تعزيز هذا الشعور بالسيطرة من خلال موقف الهيمنة تجاه بقية العالم الطبيعي. بما أننا نعتبر أنفسنا منفصلين عن الطبيعة ، وبما أننا نعتبر الطبيعة غير مدمجة جوهريًا وآليًا ، فإننا نشعر أننا لا شعوريا أن نسيطر عليها ونستغلها.

كل هذا يعني أنه بمجرد أن يشعر المرء بأن نظام معتقده يتعرض للتهديد ، فإنه عادة ما يتفاعل مع عداء عظيم. قبول أن مبادئ وجهة نظركم خاطئة - وأن لديك قوة وسيطرة أقل بكثير على العالم مما ظننت - هي خطوة خطيرة في المجهول.

هذا هو الوضع الذي تجده المادية نفسها الآن. يتم تقويضه ، وفي عملية استبداله. ويتفاعل أتباعها تماماً كما يتوقع التاريخ وعلم النفس.

فشل المادية

في نفس الوقت الذي تفشل فيه المادية ، بدأت وجهات النظر ما بعد المادية في الازدهار. (وهذا سبب آخر يجعل الماديين يشعرون بالتهديد ، ويصبحون أكثر عقائدية). بطبيعة الحال ، فإن هذين التطورين ليسا مترابطين - ففشل المادية جعل منظورات بديلة تبدو أكثر نجاحا وشجع المنظرون على تبنيها. على سبيل المثال ، أدى الفشل في شرح الوعي في المصطلحات العصبية إلى تجدد الاهتمام بالبانكيوية والمثالية ، وكلاهما يشير إلى أن الوعي هو نوع أساسي من سمات الكون.

وبطريقة مماثلة ، يبدو أن هناك إجماعًا متناميًا على أن المنهج المادي للصحة البدنية والعقلية - الذي يعامل الجسم كآلة ويرى الاضطرابات العقلية كمشكلات عصبية يمكن إصلاحها من خلال المخدرات - يعاني من عيوب خطيرة. وتتجه أعداد متزايدة من الممارسين الطبيين نحو نهج أكثر شمولية ، مع وعي أكبر بأهمية العوامل البيئية والنفسية ، وكيف يمكن للعقل أن يؤثر على صحة الجسم. على وجه الخصوص ، هناك وعي متزايد من عدم فعالية الأدوية العقلية مثل مضادات الاكتئاب ، والحركة نحو علاجات أكثر شمولية مثل العلاج المعرفي السلوكي ، الذهن والعلاج البيئي.

وبمعنى أعم ، تشير الشعبية المتزايدة للممارسات الروحية والمسارات إلى وجود حركة ثقافية نحو ما بعد المادية. يبدأ التطور الروحي بإحساس بأن هناك "حياة أكثر" مما تخبرنا به النظرة المادية للعالم ، مع الحدس الذي نحن - وكل الكائنات الحية - أكثر من مجرد آلات بيولوجية تكون وعيها نوعًا من الهلوسة ، وهذه الظواهر الطبيعية أكثر من مجرد كائنات نشارك العالم معها. الروحانية هي محاولة لكسر الغيبة الثقافية للمادية ، وتجاوز الرؤية المحدودة الوهمية التي ترتبط بها.

البحث عن بليس في جميع الأماكن الخاطئة

النظرة المادية الماديّة قاتمة وجرداء. يخبرنا أن الحياة هي بلا هدف جوهري وعديم المعنى ، وأننا هنا منذ بضعة عقود فقط ولا يهم ما نفعله حقًا. لا عجب في أن الكثير من الناس يستجيبون لذلك فقط من خلال محاولة الحصول على "وقت جيد" بقدر ما يستطيعون ، لأخذ كل ما يمكنهم الحصول عليه من العالم دون القلق بشأن العواقب ، أو عن طريق تحويل أنفسهم عن طريق إلهاءات مثل أو تخدير نفسها بالكحول والمخدرات الأخرى.

يبدو أنه من المحتم أن يحاول الناس أن يلجأوا من كآبة المادية من خلال العيش المادي ، وأن يعاملوا أنفسهم بقدر من المتعة وكثير من المنتجات الاستهلاكية التي يستطيعون تحملها ، ويحاولون بناء ثرواتهم ومكانتهم وقوتهم.

ومع ذلك ، فإن النظرة الروحية للعالم تخبرنا أن الكون ليس فراغًا كئيبًا. يخبرنا أن طبيعة الكون هي النعيم. هذا لأن الطبيعة الأساسية للوعي نفسه هي النعيم. لقد رأينا أدلة على ذلك عدة مرات - في تجارب شبه الموت وخبرات صحوة عالية الكثافة ، على سبيل المثال ، عندما يصبح الوعي الفردي أكثر كثافة ودقة ، ويبدو أنه يندمج بقوة مع الوعي العالمي ، وهناك شعور عميق بالسلام والنشوة. .

هذا النعيم في داخلنا أيضًا ، بما أننا تعبّر عن وعينا الفردي. كما أخبرنا عدد لا يحصى من المعلمين الروحيين ، لا حاجة للبحث عن السعادة خارجنا - في السلع المادية أو الملذات والسلطة - لأن السعادة هي طبيعتنا الحقيقية.

كما تخبرنا النظرة الروحية للعالم بأن الطبيعة البشرية ليست حميدة في جوهرها ، ولكنها حميدة. الأنانية والوحشية ليست طبيعية ، بل هي عقلانية. تحدث فقط عندما نفقد إحساسنا بالاتصال ؛ عندما يتم إخفاء وحدتنا الأساسية بشعور عجيب من انفصال الأنا. في جوهرها ، نحن موجودون في التعاون بدلا من المنافسة ، وهم الإيثار بدلا من الأنانية. في الجوهر نحن واحد. نحن ، حرفياً ، بعضنا البعض.

وأخيرًا ، تخبرنا النظرة الروحية للعالم بأن حياتنا ذات معنى وهادفة. إن غرض حياتنا هو نفسه نفس التطور - لتعميق إحساسنا بالارتباط بالآخرين من خلال التعاطف والإيثار ، والكشف عن قدر إمكاناتنا الفطرية بقدر ما نستطيع ، وتوسيع وكثافة وعينا. الغرض من حياتنا هو ، قد تقول ، الذاتيتطور.

تحول الوعي

في الوقت الحاضر ، قضية التطور الذاتي ذات أهمية كبيرة. من الحتمي أن نخضع لتطور ذاتي قدر المستطاع - ليس لمجرد مصلحتنا فحسب ، بل من أجل الجنس البشري كله.

وبما أن النموذج الميتافيزيقي للمادية كان - وما زال - لديه الكثير من التأثيرات الكارثية ، فإنه من الضروري لثقافتنا ككل أن تتبنى وجهة نظر روحية ما بعد مادية في أسرع وقت ممكن. في نهاية المطاف - كما أشار العديد من زعماء أمريكا الأصلية إلى

الأوروبيون الذين جاءوا لنهب قارتهم - المادية تقود إلى تدمير البيئة. كنهج للحياة ، هو انسداد ميؤوس منه مع الطبيعة. إنه يشجع النهب الطائش لموارد الأرض ، والبحث المتواصل بلا أمل عن الرضا عن طريق السلع الاستهلاكية والمغامرات الممتدة ، وحتى استغلال واضطهاد البشر الآخرين. على هذا النحو ، المادية لا يمكن تحملها. ما لم يتم استبدالها ، فمن المحتمل أننا سنشهد انهيارًا ثقافيًا كارثيًا ، ودمارًا بيئيًا كبيرًا - ربما حتى انقراض نوعنا.

الانتقال إلى ما وراء المادية يعني الجرأة على التشكيك في الحكمة المتلقاة لثقافتنا ودراسة الافتراضات التي استوعبناها. هذا يعني أن تكون شجاعًا بما فيه الكفاية لتحمل السخرية والنبذ ​​من الأصوليين الذين يخوضون معركة عقيمة للحفاظ على رؤية عفا عليها الزمن. لكن ربما أكثر من أي شيء آخر ، فإن تجاوز ما وراء المادية يعني تجربة العالم بشكل مختلف.

على المستوى الأساسي ، تنبع المادية من تصورنا للعالم. انها تنبع من تصور العالم كمكان غير حيوي ، والظواهر الطبيعية كأجسام خاملة. إنها تنبع من تجربتنا لأنفسنا ككيانات تعيش داخل فضاء عقلي خاص بنا في انفصال عن العالم وغيره من الكائنات الحية والكائنات الحية.

إذا أردنا تجاوز المادية ، فمن الضروري أن نتجاوز هذا الأسلوب من الإدراك. الانتقال إلى ما وراء المادية يعني أن نصبح قادرين على إدراك حيوية وقوة العالم من حولنا. هذا يعني تجاوز حسّنا بالانفصال حتى نتمكن من تجربة ترابطنا مع الطبيعة والكائنات الحية الأخرى.

يمكن أن تساعدنا الممارسات والمسارات الروحية من خلال توسيع وعينا ، وبالتالي زيادة معرفتنا المحتملة للعالم. ولكن يمكن أن توفر لنا بالفعل فائدة أكبر ، من خلال مساعدتنا على تجاوز الوعي المحدود الذي يؤدي إلى رؤية العالم المادي. هذا هو الهدف الأساسي للممارسات الروحية والمسارات: "إزالة" الهياكل النفسية التي تخلق رؤيتنا التلقائية للعالم وشعورنا بالفصل.

اهم مشكلة في عصرنا

الروحانية تستيقظنا ، تفتحنا على الحياة والقدسية والطبيعة ، وتربطنا بالعالم. عندما نختبر العالم بهذه الطريقة ، فإننا نتجاوز حق المادية.

هذه أهم قضية في عصرنا. لا نحتاج إلى استكشاف العالم الخارجي بأي تفاصيل أكثر ؛ نحن بحاجة للدخول إلى الداخل واستكشاف وجودنا. التقنيات الجديدة لمواصلة التعامل مع العالم ليست مهمة الآن. من الأكثر إلحاحًا لنا أن نستفيد من "التقنيات الروحية" لمساعدتنا على توسيع نطاق وعينا ، وتحقيق رؤية جديدة للعالم.

وبما أن كل كائن بشري مترابط ، كلما تطورنا أكثر كأفراد ، كلما ساعدنا نوعنا بأكمله على التطور. وبينما نتجاوز بشكل فردي رؤية "النوم" التي أدت إلى ظهور المادية ، سنساعد النوع بأكمله على فعل الشيء نفسه. وفي النهاية ، ستتلاشى هذه الرؤية المحدودة ، مثل السراب ، وسنتذكر بشكل جماعي من نحن حقا ، وأين نحن حقاً. لن ندرك أنفسنا بعد الآن كآلات بيولوجية بلا روح ، ولكن كمظاهر روحية مشعة وهادفة. لن ندرك العالم كآلة جسدية بلا روح ، ولكن كمظهر مشع وذو مغزى للروح. سوف نشعر بوحدتنا مع العالم ، ونتعامل معها بعناية واحترام يستحقه.

بالإضافة إلى شرح العالم ، قد تساعد الروحانية في الواقع على إنقاذها.

© 2018 by Steve Taylor. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
نشرت من قبل واتكينز ، بصمة واتكينز ميديا ​​ليمتد.
www.watkinspublishing.com

المادة المصدر

العلوم الروحية: لماذا يحتاج العلم إلى الروحانية لجعل الشعور في العالم
ستيف تايلور

العلوم الروحية: لماذا يحتاج العلم إلى روحانية تجعل العالم يشعر به ستيف تايلورالعلوم الروحية يقدم رؤية جديدة للعالم تتوافق مع كل من العلم الحديث والتعاليم الروحية القديمة. فهو يوفر حسابًا أكثر دقة وشمولًا للواقع عن العلم أو الدين التقليدي ، مع دمج مجموعة كبيرة من الظواهر المستثناة من كليهما. بعد إظهار كيف أن النظرة المادية الماديّة تلطخ العالم والحياة البشرية ، العلوم الروحية تقدم بديلاً أكثر سطوعًا - رؤية للعالم بأنها مقدسة ومترابطة ، وحياة بشرية ذات معنى وهادفة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب الورقي و / أو قم بتنزيل نسخة Kindle.

عن المؤلف

ستيف تايلور ، مؤلف كتاب "العلوم الروحية"ستيف تايلور هو محاضر كبير في علم النفس بجامعة ليدز بيكيت ، ومؤلف العديد من الكتب الأكثر مبيعاً حول علم النفس والروحانية. وتشمل كتبه الاستيقاظ من النوم ، السقوط ، الخروج من الظلام ، العودة إلى العقل ، وكتابه الأخير الوثبة (نشرت من قبل ايكهارد توللي). تم نشر كتبه بلغات 19 ، في حين تم نشر مقالاته ومقالاته في أكثر من المجلات الأكاديمية والمجلات والصحف في 40. زيارة موقعه على الانترنت في stevenmtaylor.com/

المزيد من الكتب من قبل هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Steve Taylor؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...

The Spiritual Universe: Moving Beyond Materialism and Saving the World

culture wars

The Spiritual Universe: Moving Beyond Materialism and Saving the World

The late 16th and early 17th century was a dangerous time to be a free thinker, or a scientist. One man who paid the price of questioning his culture’s metaphysical paradigm was the Italian Giordano Bruno. Bruno was a true renaissance man, an intellectual giant who was equally philosopher, poet, mathematician and cosmologist. He accepted Copernicus’ theory that the sun was the centre of the Solar System, held a panpsychist view that all nature was alive with spirit, and also believed in reincarnation. As far the church leaders were concerned, he contravened many of their core principles, and so undermined their authority. In 1593, he was tried for heresy, charged with denying several core Catholic doctrines, and burned at the stake in 1600.

Galileo was another Italian free thinker who suffered at the hands of the church. Galileo’s astronomical investigations convinced him that the Earth was not the center of the universe, and that our planet revolved around the sun. However, the Catholic Church saw ‘heliocentrism’ as heretical, and as a result, Galileo spent the latter part of his life under house arrest, and his books were banned.

In my view, the reason why the church authorities were so hostile towards scientists and free thinkers was because they knew - if only unconsciously - that their metaphysical paradigm was under serious threat. Their brutal punishments were an attempt to hold back cultural change, like a corrupt leader who embarks on a murderous rampage as his grip on power is fading. But they were fighting a futile battle, of course. The shift was underway, and it was inevitable that their simplistic, biblical-based worldview would be superseded.

And I believe there are parallels with our present cultural situation.

I would like to put forward an argument that at the moment a cultural shift is occurring, and the metaphysical paradigm of materialism is fading away. I also want to emphasise how important it is - for the future of our own species and for our planet as a whole - that this shift comes to full fruition, and that the materialist paradigm is transcended by a spiritual worldview.

Materialism Under Threat

Just like the church in the 17th century, materialism is under threat. Its tenets and assumptions are no longer viable, and a new paradigm is emerging to replace it. And materialism is responding aggressively to this challenge, as the church did. There are three main ways in which metaphysical paradigms react to existential threats: by becoming more rigidly dogmatic, by punishing heretics, and by ignoring (or explaining away or suppressing) unwelcome evidence. This is still the way that fundamentalist religions maintain themselves in the midst of twenty first century secular culture. \

Fundamentalist Christian and Muslims - or any religious sect or cult, for that matter - have extremely rigid and specific beliefs and tenets which every adherent has to wholly accept. They inculcate fear by ostracising and punishing anyone who strays from these beliefs, and they attempt to restrict the availability of any evidence that contravenes the beliefs.

Unfortunately, some adherents to the belief system of materialism respond in a similar way to challenges to their worldview. Free thinkers who question any of the tenets of materialism are accused of being pseudo-scientific. Particularly if they accept the existence of psi phenomena and even investigate them, they may find it difficult to get funding for research, to publish their work in journals or present it at conferences, or to get an academic post at a university. They may be ridiculed, have their Internet pages doctored, and have their videos taken down from the Internet (as happened to Rupert Sheldrake in 2013, when his TED talk was deleted at the behest of prominent American skeptics.)

It’s important to remember that there are powerful psychological factors at play here. Some materialists may not even realize that they are behaving in an irrational and prejudiced way. Their behavior is rooted in a powerful psychological need for certainty and control. As a belief system, materialism provides a coherent explanatory framework that makes sense of life. It seems to offer convincing answers to many of the ‘big questions’ of human life, and so gives us a sense of orientation and certainty that alleviates doubt and confusion.

Feeling that we understand how the world works gives us a sense of authority. Rather than feeling subordinate to the mysterious and chaotic forces of nature, we feel that we overstand the world, in a position of power. To admit that there are phenomena which we can’t fully understand or explain, and that the world is stranger than we can conceive, weakens our power and control. (This is one reason why many people have been reluctant to accept the implications of quantum physics: because it reveals the world to be a much more mysterious and complex place than we could ever imagine, and so threatens are sense of control and power. We can’t overstand a world which we don’t understand.)

The above applies to all belief systems, but in the case of materialism, this feeling of control is enhanced by an attitude of dominance towards the rest of the natural world. Since we experience ourselves as separate from nature, and since we experience nature as fundamentally inanimate and mechanistic, we subconsciously feel entitled to dominate and exploit it.

All of this means that, once a person feels that their belief system is under threat, they usually react with great hostility. To accept that the principles of your worldview are false - and that you have much less power and control over the world than you thought - is a dangerous step into the unknown.

This is the situation that materialism finds itself in now. It is being undermined, and in the process of being superseded. And its adherents are reacting exactly as both history and psychology would predict.

The Failure of Materialism

At the same time as materialism is failing, post-materialist perspectives are beginning to flourish. (This is another reason why materialists feel threatened, and are becoming more dogmatic.) Of course, these two developments aren’t unconnected - the failure of materialism has made alternative perspectives seem more valid and encouraged theorists to adopt them. For example, the failure to explain consciousness in neurological terms has led to a renewed interest in panpsychism and idealism, both of which suggest that consciousness is a fundamental quality of the universe.

In a similar way, there appears to be a growing consensus that the materialist approach to physical and mental health - that treats the body as a machine and sees mental disorders as neurological problems that can be fixed through drugs - is seriously flawed. Increasing numbers of medical practitioners are moving towards more holistic approaches, with a greater awareness of the importance environmental and psychological factors, and of how the mind can influence the health of the body. In particular, there is a growing awareness of the lack of efficacy of psychotropic drugs such as anti-depressants, and a movement towards more holistic therapies such as cognitive-behavioural therapy, mindfulness and ecotherapy.

And in a more general sense, the increasing popularity of spiritual practices and paths suggests a cultural movement towards post-materialism. Spiritual development begins with a sense that there is ‘more to life’ than the materialist worldview tells us, with an intuition that we - and all living beings - are more than simply biological machines whose consciousness is a kind of hallucination, and that natural phenomena are more than simply objects which we share the world with. Spirituality is an attempt to break the cultural trance of materialism, and to transcend the limited, delusory vision that it is associated with.

Searching for Bliss In All The Wrong Places

The materialist worldview is bleak and barren; it tells us that life is fundamentally purposeless and meaningless, that we’re just here for a few decades and it doesn’t really matter what we do. It’s no wonder that so many people respond to this by just trying to have as much of a ‘good time’ as they can, to take all they can get from the world without worrying about the consequences, or else by diverting themselves with distractions like television or numbing themselves with alcohol and other drugs.

It seems inevitable that people should try to take refuge from the bleakness of the materialism by living materialistically, treating themselves to as much fun and as many consumer products as they can afford, and trying to build up their wealth and status and power.

However, the spiritual worldview tell us that the universe is not a bleak vacuum. It tell us that the nature of the universe is bliss. This is because the fundamental nature of consciousness itself is bliss. We have seen evidence for this many times - in near-death experiences and high intensity awakening experiences, for instance, when individual consciousness becomes more intense and subtle, seeming to merge powerfully with universal consciousness, and there is a profound sense of peace and euphoria.

This bliss is inside us too, since we are individual expressions of consciousness. As countless spiritual teachers have told us, there is no need to search for happiness outside us - in material goods or pleasures and power - because happiness is our true nature.

The spiritual worldview also tells us that human nature is not essentially malevolent, but benign. Selfishness and cruelty are not natural, they are aberrational. They only occur when we lose our sense of connection; when our fundamental oneness is obscured by an aberrational sense of ego-separateness. In essence, we exist in cooperation rather than competition, and are altruistic rather than selfish. In essence we are one. We are, literally, each other.

And finally, the spiritual worldview tells us that our lives are meaningful and purposeful. The purpose of our lives is the same of evolution itself - to deepen our sense of connection to others through empathy and altruism, to uncover as much of our innate potential as we can, and to expand and intensity our awareness. The purpose of our lives us, you might say, self-evolution.

A Transformation of Consciousness

At the present time, the issue of self-evolution is highly significant. It is imperative that we undergo as much self-evolution as possible - not simply for our own sakes, but for the sake of the whole human race.

Since the metaphysical paradigm of materialism has had - and continues to have - so many disastrous effects, it is essential for our culture as a whole to adopt a post-materialist spiritual worldview as soon as possible. Ultimately - as many Native American leaders pointed out to the

Europeans who came to ransack their continent - materialism leads to environmental destruction. As an approach to life, it is hopelessly out of harmony with nature. It encourages the reckless plundering of the earth’s resources, the hopeless ceaseless search for satisfaction through consumer goods and hedonistic adventures, and even the exploitation and oppression of other human beings. As such, materialism is unsustainable. Unless it is superseded, it is likely that we will experience a catastrophic cultural breakdown, and major ecological devastation - potentially even the extinction of our species.

Moving beyond materialism means daring to question the received wisdom of our culture and examining the assumptions we have absorbed from it. It means being brave enough to risk ridicule and ostracism from fundamentalists who are fighting a futile battle to maintain an outmoded worldview. But perhaps more than anything else, moving beyond materialism means experiencing the world differently.

At the most fundamental level, materialism stems from our perception of the world. It stems from the perception of the world as an inanimate place, and of natural phenomena as inert objects. It stems from our experience of ourselves as entities who live inside our own mental space in separation from the world and other human beings and living beings.

If we are to transcend materialism, it is therefore essential that we transcend this mode of perception. Moving beyond materialism means becoming able to perceive the vividness and sacredness of the world around us. It means transcending our sense of separateness so that we can experience our connectedness with nature and other living beings.

Spiritual practices and paths can help us by expanding our awareness, and so increasing our potential knowledge of the world. But they can actually provide us with an even bigger benefit, by helping us to transcend the limited awareness which gives rise to the materialist worldview. This is the primary purpose of spiritual practices and paths: to ‘undo’ the psychological structures that create our automatic vision of the world and our sense of separation.

The Most Important Issue Of Our Time

Spirituality wakes us up, opens us up to the aliveness and sacredness and nature, and reconnects us to the world. When we experience the world in this way, we truly move beyond materialism.

This is the most important issue of our time. We don’t need to explore the outer world in any more detail; we need to turn inside and explore our own being. New technologies to further manipulate the world aren’t so important now; it’s more urgent for us to make use of ‘spiritual technologies’ to help us to expand our awareness, and attain a new vision of the world.

Since every human being is interconnected, the more we evolve as individuals, the more we will help our whole species to evolve. As we individually transcend the ‘sleep’ vision that has given rise to materialism, we will be helping our whole species to do the same. And eventually, this limited vision will fade away, like a mirage, and we will collectively remember who we really are, and where we really are. We will no longer perceive ourselves as soulless biological machines, but as radiant and purposeful manifestations of spirit. We will no longer perceive the world as a soulless physical machine, but as a radiant and meaningful manifestation of spirit. We will sense our oneness with the world, and treat it with the care and respect it deserves.

In addition to explaining the world, spirituality may actually help to save it.

©2018 by Steve Taylor. All Rights Reserved.
Published by Watkins, an imprint of Watkins Media Limited.
www.watkinspublishing.com

Article Source

Spiritual Science: Why Science Needs Spirituality to Make Sense of the World
by Steve Taylor

Spiritual Science: Why Science Needs Spirituality to Make Sense of the World by Steve TaylorSpiritual Science offers a new vision of the world that is compatible with both modern science and ancient spiritual teachings. It provides a more accurate and holistic account of reality than conventional science or religion, integrating a wide range of phenomena that are excluded from both. After showing how the materialist worldview demeans the world and human life, Spiritual Science offers a brighter alternative – a vision of the world as sacred and interconnected, and of human life as meaningful and purposeful.

Click here for more info and/or to order this paperback book and/or download the Kindle edition.

About the Author

Steve Taylor, author of "Spiritual Science"Steve Taylor is a senior lecturer in psychology at Leeds Beckett University, and the author of several best-selling books on psychology and spirituality. His books include Waking From Sleep, The Fall, Out of the Darkness, Back to Sanity, and his latest book The Leap (published by Eckhart Tolle). His books have been published in 19 languages, while his articles and essays have been published in over 40 academic journals, magazines and newspapers. Visit his website at stevenmtaylor.com/

More Books by this Author

The Leap: The Psychology of Spiritual Awakening (An Eckhart Tolle Edition)
culture warsAuthor: Steve Taylor
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: New World Library
List Price: $16.95

Buy Now

Out of the Darkness: From Turmoil to Transformation
culture warsAuthor: Steve Taylor
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Hay House Uk
List Price: $17.95

Buy Now

The Calm Center: Reflections and Meditations for Spiritual Awakening (An Eckhart Tolle Edition)
culture warsAuthor: Steve Taylor
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: New World Library
List Price: $17.00

Buy Now

culture wars
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}