تحقيق السعادة من خلال التعاليم البوذية

رغبة منها السعادة من خلال التعاليم البوذية

كلنا نرغب في السعادة ، ومع ذلك يبدو أن السعادة بعيدة كل البعد عن متناولنا. ومع ذلك ، قد تظهر العديد من كتب "كيف تكون سعيدة" ، ما زال البشر يعانون إلى حد كبير من المشاكل نفسها مثل أسلافهم. الفقراء يبحثون عن الثروة ، والمرضى يتوقون إلى أن يكونوا أصحاء ، والذين يعانون من صراع داخلي يتوقون إلى الانسجام ، وما إلى ذلك. حتى إذا كنا نؤمن الثروة والصحة والحياة المنزلية السعيدة ، فإننا نجد أنفسنا أمام مشاكل في مجالات أخرى.

وعلاوة على ذلك، ونحن إلى حد ما ظروف الأزياء التي تلبي على ما يبدو جميع الشروط اللازمة لتحقيق السعادة، كم من الوقت يمكن أن نحافظ على تلك الظروف؟ ومن الواضح أن ليس إلى الأبد. لا يمكن لأي منا تجنب الأمراض وضعف بطيء من الجسم التي تصاحب الشيخوخة، وعدد أقل من لا يزال من منا يستطيع الهروب من الموت.

المشاكل ليست السبب في التعاسة

لكن المشكلات ليست في حد ذاتها السبب الأساسي للتعاسة. وفقا للبوذية ، فإن السبب الحقيقي ليس فقط أن لدينا مشاكل ، ولكننا نفتقر إلى القوة والحكمة لحلها. تعلّم البوذية أن جميع الأفراد يتمتعون بقدرة وحكمة لا متناهيتين ، ويكشف عن العملية التي يمكن من خلالها تطوير هذه الصفات.

في معالجة قضية السعادة ، لا تركز البوذية كثيراً على القضاء على المعاناة والصعوبات ، التي يُفهم أنها متأصلة في الحياة ، كما هو الحال في كيف يجب علينا أن نزرع القدرات الكامنة في داخلنا. القوة والحكمة ، تشرح البوذية ، مستمدة من قوة الحياة. إذا قمنا بزراعة قوة حياة كافية ، لا يمكننا فقط تحمل شدائد الحياة بل تحويلها إلى أسباب السعادة والتمكين.

هل إزالة المعاناة تجلب السعادة

إذا كان هذا هو أن يكون هدفنا، ولكن، يجب علينا أولا التعرف على معاناة الرئيسي للحياة. البوذية يصف أربعة معاناة العالمية - الولادة، والشيخوخة والمرض والموت. لا يهم كم نود أن يتمسك شبابنا، تقدمنا ​​في العمر مع مرور الوقت. محاولة لأننا ربما للحفاظ على صحة جيدة، ونحن سوف ينكمش في نهاية المطاف بعض الأمراض أو مرض آخر. وبشكل أكثر جوهرية، على الرغم من اننا نمقت التفكير في الموت، أي لحظة يمكن أن تكون الأخيرة (على الرغم من وبطبيعة الحال، فإنه من وراء وسعنا لنعرف متى ستأتي تلك اللحظة).

يمكننا أن ندرك الأسباب المختلفة - البيولوجية والفيزيولوجية والنفسية - للمعاناة من المرض، والشيخوخة والموت. ولكن في النهاية هو الحياة نفسها، ولادة لدينا في هذا العالم، وهذا هو السبب في معاناتنا جميع الدنيوية.

في اللغة السنسكريتية، ويسمى معاناة duhkha، كلمة واحدة مما يعني قيام دولة محفوف بالصعاب في الناس والأشياء التي لا تتفق مع رغباتنا. هذا الشرط مستمد من حقيقة أن جميع الظواهر ليست عابرة. الشباب والصحة لا تستمر إلى الأبد، ولا يمكن في حياتنا جدا أنفسهم. هنا، وفقا للبوذية، يكمن السبب الأساسي للمعاناة الإنسانية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


بوذا والمعاناة الأربعة الدنيوية

رغبة منها السعادة من خلال التعاليم البوذيةتخلى شاكياموني ، أو غوتاما بوذا التاريخي ، عن العالم العلماني بعد مواجهة هذه المعاناة العالمية في ما يعرف بالاجتماعات الأربعة ، وهي قصة وجدت في العديد من الكتب المقدسة البوذية. حتى أن الشاب شاكياموني ، والمعروف باسم الأمير سيدهارثا ، سيكون محمي من المعاناة الدنيوية ، والده ، الملك شودهودانا ، حصره أساسا في القصر.

بعد أن خرج من البوابة الشرقية للقصر في أحد الأيام ، واجه رجل مسن ذبلت يلفه عكاز. عند رؤية هذا الرجل ، أدرك شاكياموني بعمق كيف تستتبع الحياة معاناة الشيخوخة حتمًا. وفي مناسبة أخرى ، غادر القصر عند البوابة الجنوبية ، ورأى مريضًا وأدرك أن المرض أيضًا جزء من الحياة. مرة ثالثة ، غادر عبر البوابة الغربية ، ورأى جثة. هذا "الاجتماع" قادته إلى فهم حقيقة أن كل ما يعيش يجب أن يموت في نهاية المطاف. وأخيراً ، عند الخروج من البوابة الشمالية يوماً ما ، واجه زاهداً دينياً استيقظت روحه الهادئة في الأمير على الشروع في حياة دينية.

في نهاية المطاف، بعد تكريس نفسه لسنوات عديدة لممارسات دينية مختلفة، الزاهد، وغير ذلك، حققت شاكياموني التنوير، والحصول على التحرر من المعاناة من الولادة، والشيخوخة والمرض والموت. ثبت هو العزم على قيادة الآخرين لهذا التنوير، عن الوعظ وأصبح يعرف باسم "بوذا"، وهو مصطلح يعني السنسكريتية 1 "واحد المستنير" - وهو الشخص الذي يشمل الحكمة الحقيقة المطلقة للحياة والكون.

من الحقائق النبيلة الأربع والطريق الثماني

يقام عموما أنه، مباشرة بعد التنوير له، شاكياموني بشر المذاهب من الحقائق النبيلة الأربع والطريق الثماني. الحقائق النبيلة الأربع هي:

  1. حقيقة المعاناة
  2. حقيقة الأصل من المعاناة
  3. الحقيقة لوقف معاناة
  4. حقيقة الطريق إلى وقف المعاناة

حقيقة المعاناة هو أن كل وجود في هذا العالم ينطوي على معاناة، ممثلا في معاناة 4 لاحظنا بأنها متأصلة في الحياة. الحقيقة من أصل الدول التي تعاني هذا هو سبب المعاناة التي كتبها حنين الأنانية للمتع سريعة الزوال من العالم. الحقيقة لوقف المعاناة غير أن القضاء على هذه الرغبة الأنانية تنتهي المعاناة. وحقيقة الطريق إلى وقف المعاناة غير أن هناك طريقا يمكن من خلالها تحقيق هذا الاستئصال. ويفسر عادة بأن مسار والانضباط في الطريق الثماني. ويتألف هذا الأخير من:

  1. الحق وجهات النظر، استنادا إلى الحقائق النبيلة الأربع والفهم الصحيح للبوذية
  2. حق التفكير، أو أمر من عقل واحد
  3. حق الكلام
  4. حق العمل
  5. حق طريقة للحياة، استنادا إلى تنقية الأفكار واحد، والأقوال والأفعال
  6. يسعى اليمين، السعي للحصول على قانون صحيح
  7. اليقظه الحق، ودائما لتحمل وجهات النظر في الاعتبار حق
  8. حق التأمل

كانت الحقائق الأربعة النبيلة والطريق الثماني موجهة بشكل رئيسي إلى هؤلاء التلاميذ الذين رفضوا الحياة العلمانية وكانوا متورطين بالكامل في الممارسة البوذية. إنها تعكس الموقف الأساسي والنهج الأساسي الذي يستند إليه تعاليم شاكياموني المبكرة ، والتي ركزت على وجهات نظر سلبية في الغالب حول الحياة والعالم حتى يتمكن من إيقاظ الناس أولاً إلى واقع الحياة القاسي ثم إلى التجربة الروحية التي لا يمكن التعبير عنها في السكينة. إذا نفذت هذه الرسالة ، فإن هذه التعاليم التي شجعت على رفض جميع الرغبات ، ستؤدي حتما إلى نفي الرغبة في الحياة.

إن الحل الأساسي للمعاناة الإنسانية في هذا العالم ، يكمن في القضاء على الرغبات الدنيوية - أي كل أنواع الرغبة والنبذ ​​والعاطفة الناشئة عن أعماق حياة الناس. باتباع هذه التعاليم ، يمكن للناس أن يقطعوا روابطهم بدورة الولادة والموت ويحققوا الدولة التي لم تعد الولادة الجديدة في هذا العالم ضرورية - أي أنهم يستطيعون الوصول إلى حالة النيرفانا.

يقود كل إنسان إلى السعادة

في حين أن هذه التعاليم قد تكون مفيدة للتطبيق والرهبان والراهبات، وكانوا في غاية الصعوبة لعامة الناس لمتابعة. تقرير شاكياموني الأصلي، ومع ذلك، كان ليؤدي كل إنسان على هذه الأرض إلى السعادة. لهذا السبب، سافر ذهابا وإيابا في جميع أنحاء المنطقة الغانج الأوسط، شرح فلسفته.

ولكن الناس العلمانيين، حتى لو كانوا يريدون تحقيق السعادة القصوى، يجب أن يكون غير عملي وجدت أنه ليس فقط ولكن من المستحيل في الواقع إلى التخلي عن كل الشهوات الدنيوية. كان لديهم لدعم الأسر، وفرص العمل للقيام، والشؤون اليومية الأخرى التي طالبت انتباههم. في حين السكينة قد تكون مثالية، وكان في أي وسيلة لهدف يمكن تحقيقه. بطريقة ما، على الرغم من حكمة شاكياموني والرحمة الذي تم التوصل إليه دائما الناس العاديين الذين، من الواضح، وكان العديد من المشاكل التي كانت تفتقر الى الوسائل اللازمة لحلها.

وهذا لم يحدث - وكان البوذية لم يتمكن من مساعدة الناس العاديين - ثم انها لن حققت مكانة أعلى من ذلك لملاحقة الفكرية. نصح الناس شاكياموني وألهمهم مع الأمل والشجاعة حتى يتمكنوا من التغلب على معاناتهم والتمتع آفاق مستقبل باهر. على سبيل المثال، تحدث عن أرض نقية بعيدة كل البعد عن هذا العالم الذي، من خلال اتباع تعاليمه، ويمكن أن تولد من جديد تحرير الناس من جميع الرغبات والغرباء على أي معاناة أو خوف.

تدرس شاكياموني تماما كما شجع الرهبان والراهبات له لمراقبة العديد من التعاليم له واتبع الطريق الثماني من أجل تحقيق السعادة القصوى، له وضع المؤمنين أن أكون مخلصا للتعاليمه بحيث يمكن أن تولد من جديد في الأرض الطاهرة. ولكن، في الواقع، لا في القضاء على الرغبة ولا ولادة جديدة في أرض نقية غير قابلة للتحقيق. من المستحيل في تفجير نيران الرغبة ويقطع دورة الولادة والموت بسبب رغبة متأصلة في الحياة، والحياة الأبدية، والولادة والموت هي الجوانب التي لا مفر منها بالتناوب الحياة. كما أنه ليس من الممكن التوصل الى الأرض الطاهرة التي لا توجد في الواقع. وكانت كل من السكينة والأرض الطاهرة التي تستخدمها أجهزة مجازي شاكياموني إلى تطوير فهم أتباعه.

قبول دورة المعاناة هو مفتاح السعادة

من منظور آخر، وجهت السكينة التدريس فيما يتعلق باتجاه تحرير الشخصية من خلال إعمال الحقيقة المطلقة، وكان موجها للتدريس الأرض الطاهرة نحو التحرر للشعب بأسره. هذه التعاليم هي ممثل للتيارات الرئيسيين للبوذية - Hinayana (السيارة أقل) وماهايانا (السيارة كبير)، على التوالي - وأدمجت في وقت لاحق سوترا لوتس، التي سنناقش بشيء من التفصيل في هذا الكتاب. في سوترا لوتس يجعل من الواضح تماما أن جانبين من جوانب الممارسة البوذية هي التي لا غنى عنها إذا ما أردنا تحقيق التنوير. توجه واحد نحو اتقان أنفسنا، بمعنى أن علينا أن ندرك الحقيقة المطلقة، وتطوير الإمكانات الكامنة لدينا، والآخر هو ممارسة الناس مما يؤدي لتحقيق هذا الكمال.

في سوترا لوتس يكشف أيضا عن المعاني الحقيقية للالسكينة والأرض الطاهرة. وفقا لسوترا، لم يكن لدينا لوقف دورة الولادة والموت من أجل إدخال السعادة القصوى. بدلا من ذلك، السكينة هي حالة التنوير التي، كما نكرر دورة الولادة والموت، ونحن على التصالح مع تلك الدورة، وأنه لم يعد يشكل مصدرا للمعاناة. وبالمثل، لم يكن لدينا للتخلي عن كل رغبة من أجل تحقيق السعادة القصوى لأننا لا نستطيع تحويل الرغبات الدنيوية إلى أسباب السعادة، ومزيد من الحكمة المستنير. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن الأرض الطاهرة لا تكمن بالضرورة ما بعد الموت. نسكن في الأرض الطاهرة هنا والآن إذا كنا نعتقد في سوترا لوتس، الذي يكشف عن أن نتمكن من تحويل هذا العالم - شغلها كما هو الحال مع المعاناة والحزن - إلى أرض نقية كاملة من الفرح والأمل.

الناس ليسوا على وجود بعض المشكلات الأساسية

عند أي وقت من الأوقات في الماضي كان العلم في حالة من التقدم السريع من هذا القبيل. ونتيجة لذلك، اعتمدت البشرية على الاعتقاد الأعمى في قوى العلم والتكنولوجيا، بخصوص المشاكل المتأصلة في الحياة أقل من وجهة نظر الفلسفة والدين. مراقبة الدولة للشؤون العالمية اليوم، لا يسعني الشعور بأن الناس لا تتصارع الصعب بما فيه الكفاية مع المشاكل الأساسية.

من وجهة نظر الحقيقة المطلقة، والرغبات الدنيوية ومشاكل الحياة والموت لا ينظر اليها على العقبات التي لا بد من استئصالها. بدلا من ذلك، يمكن أن تتحول الرغبات الدنيوية إلى الحكمة المستنير، ومعاناة الولادة والموت هي وسيلة لتحقيق السعادة القصوى. في سوترا لوتس يأخذ هذه الخطوة واحدة أخرى، تحدد المبادئ التي الرغبات الدنيوية والتنوير وذلك من معاناة الولادة والموت والسكينة. وبعبارة أخرى، يمكن أن يكون هناك تنوير وبصرف النظر عن واقع الرغبات الدنيوية، ويمكن أن يكون هناك أي السكينة دون معاناة ما يصاحب ذلك من الولادة والموت. هذه الأزواج من العوامل المتناقضة هي فطرية في حياتنا جميعا.

يعمل T'ien-تاى، وعظيم القرن السادس معلم الصينية، وقياسا إلى شرح المبادئ المذكورة أعلاه. لنفترض أن هناك البرسيمون مرير. عن طريق نقع عليه في حل من القشر الجير أو الحنطة السوداء، أو عن طريق تعريضها لأشعة الشمس، يمكننا أن نجعل من البرسيمون الحلو. ليست هناك 2 الكاكي، تجربة مريرة والحلو أخرى - لا يوجد سوى واحد. لم يتم البرسيمون مرير المحلاة بالسكر، بل ووضعت مرارة المتأصلة في البرسيمون بها وحلاوة المتأصلة فيها سمح للخروج. وكان المحفز والوسيط الذي ساعد على التحول، والحل أو أشعة الشمس و. شبهت T'ien-تاى الرغبات الدنيوية للالبرسيمون المر، والتنوير إلى البرسيمون الحلو، وهذه العملية التي جرى من خلالها جلب حلاوة الى ممارسة البوذية.

لتحقيق الاستفادة الكاملة من هذه المذاهب مهم في حياتنا اليومية، يجب علينا أن نفهم بعض التعاليم البوذية الأساسية، التي أنر أبعاد الحياة المتعددة الأوجه. بدلا من نفي الرغبة والحياة في هذا العالم، فإنها تقبل واقع الحياة كما هي، وتكشف عن وسيلة لتحويلها إلى أسباب التنوير. لا ينبغي لنا محاولة للقضاء على رغبات أو يعتبرونهم خاطئين، ولكن يجب الارتقاء بها نحو تحقيق دولة أسمى من الحياة.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر ، Middleway Press.
© 1988، 2004. www.middlewaypress.org


تم اقتباس هذا المقال من:

فتح أسرار الميلاد والموت
دايساكو ايكيدا من قبل.


رغبة منها السعادة من خلال التعاليم البوذيةفي نهاية المطاف ، هذا هو عمل الفلسفة الشعبية وكتاب إلهام مقنعة ورحيمة للبوذيين وغير البوذيين على حد سواء التي تعزز فهمًا أكبر للبوذية Nichiren. يزود البوذيين بالأدوات التي يحتاجون إليها لتقدير ترابط جميع الكائنات وإحداث ثورة في حياتهم الروحية بناءً على هذه الرؤية. كما تم استكشاف كيف يمكن تحويل المعاناة للمساهمة في تحقيق الشخصية ورفاه الآخرين ، وكيف تتوافق البحوث العلمية الحديثة مع وجهات النظر البوذية القديمة.

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب.


عن المؤلف

Daisaku Ikeda - مؤلف ، رغبة السعادة من خلال تعاليم البوذيةدايساكو ايكيدا دايساكو هو رئيس منظمة سوكا غاكاي الدولية. في 1968، أسس السيد ايكيدا الأول من المدارس غير طائفية كثيرة - رياض الأطفال، الابتدائية والإعدادية والثانوية، فضلا عن جامعة سوكا في اليابان. افتتح في مايو 2001، سوكا الجامعة الأمريكية، لمدة أربع سنوات كلية الفنون الحرة، أبوابها في أليسو فيجو، كاليفورنيا. حصل على جائزة الأمم المتحدة للسلام في 1983. وهو مؤلف العديد من الكتب، التي ترجمت إلى عشرات اللغات، بما في ذلك الطريق من الشباب و من أجل السلام.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Attaining Happiness Through Buddhist Teachings

Desiring Happiness Through Buddhist Teachings

We all desire happiness, and yet happiness seems to be just beyond our reach. However many "how to be happy" books might appear, human beings are still largely beset by the same problems as their ancestors. The poor seek wealth, the sick yearn to be healthy, those suffering from domestic strife crave harmony, and so on. Even if we secure wealth, health and a happy home life, we find ourselves confronted by problems in other areas.

Furthermore, should we somehow fashion circumstances that apparently satisfy all the conditions necessary for happiness, how long can we maintain those circumstances? Obviously not forever. None of us can avoid the illnesses and slow weakening of the body that accompany aging, and still fewer of us can escape death.

Problems Are Not The Cause of Unhappiness

Problems, however, are not in themselves the fundamental cause of unhappiness. According to Buddhism, the real cause is not just that we have problems, but that we lack the power and wisdom to solve them. Buddhism teaches that all individuals innately possess infinite power and wisdom, and it reveals the process whereby these qualities can be developed.

In addressing the issue of happiness, Buddhism focuses not so much on eliminating suffering and difficulties, which are understood to be inherent in life, as on how we should cultivate the potentials that exist within us. Strength and wisdom, Buddhism explains, derive from life force. If we cultivate sufficient life force, we can not only withstand life's adversities but transform them into causes of happiness and empowerment.

Removing Suffering Will Not Bring Happiness

If this is to be our goal, however, we must first identify the principal sufferings of life. Buddhism describes four universal sufferings -- birth, aging, sickness and death. No matter how much we would like to cling to our youth, we age with the passage of time. Try as we might to maintain good health, we will eventually contract some disease or other ailment. And, more fundamentally, though we abhor the thought of dying, any moment could be our last (although, of course, it is beyond our power to know when that moment will come).

We can recognize various causes -- biological, physiological and psychological -- for the sufferings of sickness, aging and death. But ultimately it is life itself, our birth into this world, that is the cause of all our mundane sufferings.

In Sanskrit, suffering is called duhkha, a word implying a state fraught with difficulty in which people and things do not accord with our wishes. This condition derives from the fact that all phenomena are transient. Youth and health do not continue forever, nor can our very lives themselves. Here, according to Buddhism, lies the ultimate cause of human suffering.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Buddha & The Four Worldly Sufferings

Desiring Happiness Through Buddhist TeachingsShakyamuni, or the historical Gautama Buddha, renounced the secular world after encountering these worldy sufferings in what's known as the four meetings, a story found in many Buddhist scriptures. So that the young Shakyamuni, known as Prince Siddhartha, would be shielded from worldly suffering, his father, King Shuddhodana, essentially confined him to the palace.

Emerging from the east gate of the palace one day, however, he encountered a withered old man tottering along with a cane. Seeing this man, Shakyamuni deeply recognized how life inevitably entails the suffering of aging. On another occasion, leaving the palace by the south gate, he saw a sick person and realized that sickness, too, is a part of life. A third time, leaving via the west gate, he saw a corpse; this "meeting" led him to grasp the reality that all which lives must eventually die. Finally, exiting the north gate one day, he encountered a religious ascetic whose air of serene dignity awoke in the prince a resolve to embark on a religious life.

Eventually, after dedicating himself for many years to various religious practices, ascetic and otherwise, Shakyamuni attained enlightenment, gaining freedom from the sufferings of birth, aging, sickness and death. Determined to lead other people to this enlightenment, he set about preaching and came to be known as the "Buddha," a Sanskrit term meaning an "enlightened one" -- a person whose wisdom encompasses the ultimate truth of life and the universe.

The Four Noble Truths & Eightfold Path

It is generally held that, immediately after his enlightenment, Shakyamuni preached the doctrines of the four noble truths and the eightfold path. The four noble truths are:

  1. the truth of suffering
  2. the truth of the origin of suffering
  3. the truth of the cessation of suffering
  4. the truth of the path to the cessation of suffering

The truth of suffering is that all existence in this world entails suffering, as represented by the four sufferings we have noted as being inherent in life. The truth of the origin of suffering states that suffering is caused by selfish craving for the ephemeral pleasures of the world. The truth of the cessation of suffering is that the eradication of this selfish craving ends the suffering. And the truth of the path to the cessation of suffering is that there exists a path by which this eradication can be achieved. That path is traditionally interpreted as the discipline of the eightfold path. This latter is composed of:

  1. right views, based on the four noble truths and a correct understanding of Buddhism
  2. right thinking, or command of one's mind
  3. right speech
  4. right action
  5. right way of life, based on purifying one's thoughts, words and deeds
  6. right endeavor, to seek the true Law
  7. right mindfulness, always to bear right views in mind
  8. right meditation

The four noble truths and the eightfold path were directed chiefly to those disciples who had rejected secular life and were wholly engaged in Buddhist practice; they reflect the basic attitude and approach that underlie Shakyamuni's early teachings, which concentrated on predominantly negative views about life and the world so that he could awaken people first to life's harsh realities and then to the inexpressible spiritual experience of nirvana. If carried out to the letter, these teachings, which encouraged the negation of all desires, would inevitably lead to the negation of the desire to live.

The fundamental solution to human suffering in this world, accordingly, lies in the eradication of earthly desires -- that is, all manner of desire, impulse and passion arising from the depths of people's lives. By following these teachings, people could allegedly sever their ties to the cycle of birth and death and attain the state wherein rebirth in this world is no longer necessary -- that is, they could attain the state of nirvana.

Leading Every Human Being to Happiness

While these teachings may have been applicable and beneficial to monks and nuns, they were extremely difficult for lay people to follow. Shakyamuni's original determination, however, was to lead every human being on this earth to happiness. For this reason, he traveled back and forth across the Middle Ganges region, expounding his philosophy.

But lay people, even if they wanted to achieve nirvana, must have found it not just impracticable but actually impossible to abandon all earthly desires. They had families to support, jobs to do, and other everyday affairs that demanded their attention. While nirvana might have been an ideal, it was in no way an attainable goal. Somehow, though, Shakyamuni's wisdom and compassion always reached the ordinary people who, obviously, had many problems that they lacked the means to solve.

Had this not been the case -- had Buddhism been unable to help ordinary people -- then it would never have achieved a status higher than that of an intellectual pursuit. Shakyamuni counseled people and inspired them with hope and courage so that they could overcome their sufferings and enjoy the prospect of a brilliant future. For example, he spoke about a pure land far from this world where, by following his teachings, people could be reborn free from all desires and strangers to any suffering or fear.

Just as he encouraged his monks and nuns to observe his many precepts and follow the eightfold path in order to attain nirvana, Shakyamuni taught his lay believers to be faithful to his teachings so that they could be reborn into the pure land. But, in actuality, neither the eradication of desire nor rebirth in the pure land is attainable. It is impossible to blow out the fires of desire and interrupt the cycle of birth and death because desire is inherent in life, life is eternal, and birth and death are the inescapable alternating aspects of life. Nor is it possible to reach a pure land that does not in fact exist. Both nirvana and the pure land were metaphorical devices employed by Shakyamuni to develop his followers' understanding.

Accepting The Cycle of Suffering Is The Key To Happiness

From another perspective, the teaching concerning nirvana was directed toward personal emancipation through the realization of ultimate truth, and the pure land teaching was directed toward the emancipation of the people at large. These teachings are representative of the two major streams of Buddhism -- Hinayana (the lesser vehicle) and Mahayana (the great vehicle), respectively -- and were later integrated in the Lotus Sutra, which we shall discuss at some length in this book. The Lotus Sutra makes it absolutely clear that two aspects of Buddhist practice are indispensable if we are to attain enlightenment. One is directed toward perfecting ourselves, in the sense that we realize the ultimate truth and develop our inherent potential, and the other is the practice of leading people toward that perfection.

The Lotus Sutra also reveals the true meanings of nirvana and the pure land. According to the sutra, we do not have to stop the cycle of birth and death in order to enter nirvana. Rather, nirvana is the state of enlightenment in which, as we repeat the cycle of birth and death, we come to terms with that cycle and it no longer is a source of suffering. Similarly, we do not have to abandon all desire in order to attain nirvana because we can transform earthly desires into causes of happiness and, further, of enlightened wisdom. Moreover, the pure land does not necessarily lie beyond death. We dwell in the pure land here and now if we believe in the Lotus Sutra, which reveals that we can transform this world -- filled as it is with suffering and sorrow -- into a pure land full of joy and hope.

People Are Not Grappling with Fundamental Problems

At no time in the past has science been in a state of such rapid advancement. As a result, humanity has adopted a blind belief in the powers of science and technology, regarding the problems inherent in life less from the viewpoints of philosophy and religion. Observing the global state of affairs today, I cannot help feeling that people are not grappling hard enough with fundamental problems.

From the perspective of ultimate truth, earthly desires and the problems of life and death are not seen as obstacles that must be eradicated. Instead, earthly desires can be transformed into enlightened wisdom, and the sufferings of birth and death are means to attaining nirvana. The Lotus Sutra takes this one step further, setting forth the principles that earthly desires are enlightenment and that the sufferings of birth and death are nirvana. In other words, there can be no enlightenment apart from the reality of earthly desires and there can be no nirvana without the concomitant sufferings of birth and death. These pairs of contrasting factors are innate in all our lives.

T'ien-t'ai, the great sixth-century Chinese teacher, employed an analogy to explain the above principles. Suppose there is a bitter persimmon. By soaking it in a solution of lime or buckwheat chaff, or by exposing it to sunlight, we can make the persimmon sweet. There are not two persimmons, one bitter and the other sweet -- there is only the one. The bitter persimmon has not been sweetened with sugar; rather, the inherent bitterness of the persimmon has been drawn out and its inherent sweetness allowed to emerge. The catalyst, the intermediary that assisted the transformation, was the solution or the sunlight. T'ien-t'ai likened earthly desires to the bitter persimmon, enlightenment to the sweet persimmon, and the process whereby the sweetness was brought out to Buddhist practice.

To fully benefit from these important doctrines in our daily lives, we must comprehend some basic Buddhist teachings, which illumine life's multifaceted dimensions. Instead of negating desire and life in this world, they accept the realities of life as they are and reveal the way to transform them into causes of enlightenment. We should not try to eradicate desires or regard them as sinful, but should elevate them toward achieving a nobler state of life.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher, Middleway Press.
©1988, 2004. www.middlewaypress.org


 This article was excerpted from:

Unlocking The Mysteries Of Birth & Death
by Daisaku Ikeda.


Desiring Happiness Through Buddhist TeachingsUltimately, this is both a work of popular philosophy and a book of compelling, compassionate inspiration for Buddhists and non-Buddhists alike that fosters a greater understanding of Nichiren Buddhism. Provides Buddhists with the tools they need to fully appreciate the connectedness of all beings and to revolutionize their spiritual lives based on this insight. Also explored are how suffering can be transformed to contribute to personal fulfillment and the well-being of others and how modern scientific research accords with ancient Buddhist views. 

Info/Order this book.


About the Author

Daisaku Ikeda - author, Desiring Happiness Through Buddhist TeachingsDAISAKU Daisaku Ikeda is president of the Soka Gakkai International. In 1968, Mr. Ikeda founded the first of many nonsectarian schools --kindergartens, elementary, middle and high schools as well as Soka University in Japan. In May 2001, Soka University of America, a four-year liberal arts college, opened its doors in Aliso Viejo, California. He received the United Nations Peace Award in 1983. He is the author of numerous books, which have been translated into dozens of languages, including The Way of Youth and For the Sake of Peace.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)