ممارسة الرحمة البيئية وتذكر أن الطبيعة هي وطننا

ممارسة الرحمة البيئية وتذكر أن الطبيعة هي وطننا

تدمير الطبيعة وتدمير الإنسانية. الطبيعة هي وطننا. ولدت جميع أشكال الحياة على هذا الكوكب، بما في ذلك، بطبيعة الحال، والحياة البشرية، من البيئة الطبيعية. نحن لا ندين وجودنا على الآلات أو العلوم. لم تكن الحياة على هذا الكوكب مصطنع. ونحن على منتجات الطبيعة.

هناك العديد من النظريات حول أصل البشر. البعض يقول ان اول البشر ظهرت في أفريقيا، والبعض الآخر يقول أن البشر ظهرت في مواقع مختلفة في جميع أنحاء العالم في نفس الوقت تقريبا. كل ما قد يكون صحيحا، فإنه لا شك فيه أن ولدت الجنس البشري للطبيعة. بسبب ذلك، وكذلك نحن أنفسنا ينفر من الطبيعة، والمزيد من عدم التوازن نصبح. مستقبلنا كنوع قاتمة ما لم ندرك هذا.

مشكلتنا ليست جديدة. للفيلسوف القرن الثامن عشر الفرنسية، والمصلح الاجتماعي جان جاك روسو، والمؤلف من العقد الاجتماعي، ودعا للعودة إلى الطبيعة. الحضارة، وحتى في وقته، وأصبحت ميكانيكية أيضا، تعتمد بشدة على العلم، وركزت أيضا على الربح، والحياة البشرية المشوهة في القبح. واحتج روسو هذا التطور المؤسف.

في الواقع، نحن جميعا نريد أن تكون صحية. لهذا السبب، نحن نريد أن نتنفس الهواء النقي، لرؤية الزهور الجميلة والمساحات الخضراء. ننتقل إلى الطبيعة لهذا، تماما كما عباد الشمس يتحول لأشعة الشمس. علينا أن ندرك أن أي عمل يلغي هذا الميل هو خطأ فادحا. سيكون كل المال في العالم لا يشتري السماء الزرقاء. الشمس ونسيم ملك للجميع.

لا أحد ينكر أن العلم قد تحسنت حياتنا. لكننا بحاجة لتتناسب مع التقدم العلمي مع التقدم في التزامنا لصون وحماية بيئتنا. نحن في حاجة إلى التوازن.

على سبيل المثال، يجب أن نتذكر الغابات. أين الأوكسجين الذي نتنفسه، الذي يبقينا على قيد الحياة، وتأتي من؟ من الغابات، من النباتات البحرية. التي اتخذتها النباتات مليارات السنين لإنشاء هذا الأوكسجين.

ماذا عن المياه؟

معظم المياه التي نستخدمها يأتي من أنظمة النهر. إذا هطل المطر أو يضيء، والمياه تتدفق عبر الأنهار. لماذا؟ الأشجار والتربة المحيطة بها امتصاص المياه وتخزينها في باطن الأرض، من حيث يتسرب باستمرار، شيئا فشيئا، في الأنهار. لو لم يكن هناك الغابات والجبال كان من الصعب على الأسفلت، وجميع الأمطار التي هطلت في يوم واحد من شأنه أن يتعارض مباشرة في الأنهار وتتدفق إلى البحر، تماما مثل حوض الاستحمام تفريغ عند سحب القابس.

التربة هدية أخرى من الغابات. الحيوانات الصغيرة والميكروبات تساعد على تحويل الجذور الميتة وأوراق الأشجار في التربة الغنية. دون أن التربة، لم نتمكن من زراعة الحبوب والخضروات. وليس لدينا أي طعام، والإنسانية لن يموت.

العديد من المنتجات الأخرى تأتي من الغابات. ولاها لما ليس لدينا أي الأربطة المطاطية، ورقة لا، لا مكاتب خشبية أو الأثاث - دون مأوى. كل هذه، أيضا، هي الهدايا للغابات.

الغابات تنتج الهواء الذي نتنفسه، والماء الذي نشربه، والتربة التي نحن زراعة المحاصيل الغذائية - في الواقع، وبذل كل جانب من جوانب حياتنا ممكن من الأشجار.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

وأعتقد أننا نادرا ما جعل الصدد إلى أن ما لم نهتم للغابات، ونحن لن تكون قادرة على صيد الاسماك في البحر. دون أن كل الغابات والمطر يتدفق بعيدا أسفل الأنهار إلى البحر. ومن شأن ذلك أن الأمطار تحمل أيضا كميات كبيرة من الطمي معها. فإن الطمي تلقي بظلالها على مياه البحر، ومنع تغلغل ضوء، وانخفاض درجة الحرارة في البحر، مما يجعلها باردة جدا لكثير من الأسماك.

الغابات أيضا إنتاج المواد الغذائية التي تجعل طريقها إلى البحر، وأصبح الطعام للحياة البحرية. الغابات حماية حياة البحر.

الحياة عبارة عن سلسلة. وترتبط كل شيء. عندما تشعر بالانزعاج أي صلة، ستتأثر الحلقات الأخرى. ينبغي أن نفكر في البيئة، كما والدتنا - التربة الأم، البحر الأم، الأرض الأم. ليس هناك أسوأ من جريمة إيذاء أم واحدة.

الاهتمامات البيئية

البوذية يفسر الحياة في ظل نظام من عشرة مراحل أو حالات يجري - الولايات النار والجوع والحيوانية، والغضب، الإنسانية، نشوة الطرب، والتعلم، الإدراك، بوديساتفا وتنعم بالبوذية. حالة الإنسانية هو الحق في الوسط، مع الولايات أنبل من حياة أعلاه، والولايات أقبح أدناه. تلك الدول وفيما يلي الدول غير طبيعي يجري، والدول التي تعارض الطبيعة. المراحل الخمس فوق كل طبيعة بشرية قيمة والسعي لخلق الجنة حيث جمالها يزدهر في وفرة.

والسؤال هو ما إذا سمحنا لأنفسنا ننجر وصولا الى أدنى أو الولايات مسبقا إلى أعلى الدول. فقط يمكن للاستخبارات، والثقافة والعقيدة الدينية أن تقودنا للخروج من الحيوانية التي تستهلك تفكير طبيعة، وترك القفار القاحلة. وفقا لمبدأ البوذية وحدانية الحياة وبيئتها، وقاحلة، عقل مدمر ينتج جرداء، والبيئة الطبيعية المدمرة. يرتبط التصحر من كوكبنا إلى التصحر للروح البشرية.

الحرب هي المثال الأكثر تطرفا من هذا الدافع المدمرة. الحرب تدمر كل من الطبيعة والروح البشرية. كان القرن العشرون قرن من الحرب. يجب علينا أن جعل هذا القرن قرن من الحياة. يجب أن يكون القرن الحادي والعشرين يكون واحدا في الحياة وهو ما جعل على رأس الأولويات في جميع مجالات النشاط البشري - في التجارة، في الحكومة، في مجال العلوم.

نحن نعتمد على الأرض، وليس العكس. في غطرسة لدينا، ونحن فاضح لهذا التغاضي. أعلن رائد الفضاء السوفياتي يوري غاغارين، اول شخص لرؤية الأرض من الفضاء، وعليه الكوكب الأزرق. هذا هو شهادة عظيمة. اللون الأزرق للمحيطات، وأبيض من الغيوم - فهي دليل على أن الأرض هي الكوكب المياه، وكوكب تألق مع الحياة. لهذا السبب اعتقد انه من المهم أن تكون هناك فلسفة تعترف كل شيء في الكون كما المعيشة ومقدس.

تعليم أساسي من البوذية هو أن حياة بوذا يتواجد في كل النباتات والأشجار، وحتى في أصغر قذى الغبار. إنها فلسفة تقوم على تقديس عميق للحياة.

حماية البيئة

لرمي القمامة أو علب الألومنيوم على جوانب الطرق هو السلوك الأناني من شخص يعيش في حالة أن شروط البوذية في العالم من الحيوانية. مثل هذه الأعمال تبرهن على الأنانية التي يهتم أي شيء من أجل الآخرين. هذا هو وسيلة غير طبيعية للعيش. والشخص الذي يحب الطبيعة غير قادر ببساطة على القمامة. رمي القمامة المرء بعيدا بلا مبالاة هو إرم بعيدا الانسانية واحدة.

وعلى نفس المنوال، يمكن للمرء أن يحب الطبيعة نعتز به غيره من البشر، والسلام قيمة وتمتلك ثراء شخصية دون قيود وفقا لحسابات أنانية لتحقيق مكاسب شخصية والخسارة. وأولئك الذين يعيشون في طريقة احتساب نهاية المطاف حساب قيمة خاصة بهم في نفس الطريقة. وتقتصر مثل هذه الحياة في المدقع.

قد يظن الناس ليس له جزاء في التقاط القمامة وغيرها متناثرة حول. ولكن من المهم أن تفعل هذا بدافع الحب للطبيعة - من دون التفكير في ما يمكن للمرء أن تكون أو لا كسب.

لا يمكن إلا من خلال إجراءات مثل نكران الذات التي نعيش أفضل وسيلة كبشر. لأن التكنولوجيا قد تقدمت إلى حد له، هو أكثر أهمية من أي وقت مضى عن كل شخص إلى تنمية الوعي لحماية البيئة. أي تحسن مادي واضح وهمية ما لم نكن تحسين نوعية أساسي من حياتنا.

دور الفرد

يمكنك كفرد جعل الكثير من الفرق؟ على الاطلاق. كل الجهد الفردي أمر حيوي، ومع ذلك هو أسهل كثيرا للحديث عن حماية البيئة من ممارسة ذلك. هناك عقبات في بعض الأحيان - وممارسة في بعض الأحيان أنه يمكن أن يكون حتى مهددة للحياة.

وأتساءل عما إذا كنت قد سمعت من الاحياء البحرية الأمريكية راشيل كارسون. وكتب كتابا آفاقا جديدة تسمى صمت الربيع، التي نشرت في 1962، التي هاجمت لمشكلة التلوث.

في ذلك الوقت، كانت تستخدم المبيدات الحشرية القوية جدا مثل دي دي تي في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة. ويبدو أن تكون فعالة في البداية، ولكن تدريجيا الناس بدأوا لإصابة، وتظهر علامات على تعرضه للتسمم من المواد الكيميائية. والحشرات المفيدة، والأسماك والطيور تختفي من المشهد. مع عدم وجود الطيور في الغناء، والسيدة كارسون كتب، ينتظر ربيع صامت لنا.

أعلن كتابها هذه الحقائق للجمهور، وحثت على حظر المبيدات الخطرة. مباشرة بعد نشر كتابها، وقالت انها تعرضت لهجوم بشدة.

تعرضت للهجوم من قبل الشركات العملاقة التي جعلت ثروات ضخمة من المبيدات والصناعات التحويلية من قبل المسؤولين والسياسيين الذين كانوا في جيوب تلك الشركات - لأن ما قالته كان صحيحا. مثل هذه الهجمات تحدث في كل وقت، كلما كان شخص ما يقول حقيقة غير سارة. يجب علينا أن نتعلم أن نرى من خلال تمثيلية من هم في السلطة.

كل من له علاقة وصناعة المبيدات، حتى المجلات الزراعية، وشاركت في حملة لتشويه لها. وكتبت واحدة "، وكتابها هو أكثر من المبيدات السامة هي يدين". انضمت منظمات البحوث دولة الحملة - منظمات البحوث التي تلقت وغني عن القول، كميات كبيرة من التمويل من الشركات الكيماوية.

كان من حملة كبرى لإسكات صمت الربيع. بل إن الجمعية الطبية الأميركية أن آثار المبيدات لا تشكل خطرا على البشر عندما تستخدم وفقا للتعليمات من قبل الشركات المصنعة.

لكن راشيل كارسون لن نستسلم لليأس. وذهبت إلى أبعد من ذلك، معلنا أن المبيدات هي جزء فقط من القصة من السموم التي كانت تهدد عالمنا. في نهاية المطاف، وحصلت على تأييد الشعب، وحماية البيئة بدأت في الانتشار في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة وجميع أنحاء العالم. احتفظ أن شعلة الايمان وحرق بعد وفاتها في 1964 ونمت بشكل كبير لتحويل الوعي العام.

تركت هذه الكلمات في كارسون بمعنى ندر لجيل الشباب: "الساكنين، والعلماء أو العلمانيين، بين الجمال والأسرار الأرض هي وحدها أبدا أو بالضجر من الحياة".

علاج الأرض جيدا

هناك قول الكيني يذهب أننا يجب أن يعامل الأرض جيدا، وليس هدية من والدينا ولكن على قرض من أطفالنا. لكن الكبار في أيامنا هذه وترك ميراث الكئيبة لشباب اليوم، وسيكون لديك أطفال. مع فلسفتهم أن كسب المال هو الهدف الأهم من ذلك كله، فهي تبيع إرث الخاص بك - والصحة والثقافة والبيئة والحياة حتى أن الطبيعة قد حمايتها ورعايتها لدهور طويلة.

وهو إرث الخاص بك، بحيث يمكنك يجب ان يتحرك. أنتم الذين لم ينسوا بعد بجمال وروعة من الأرض، والكلام! وقد بدأ النضال لحماية القرن الحادي والعشرين، قرن الخاص بك، وقرن من الحياة، وبالفعل.

شعار واحد المثل الشعبي، "استوصوا كوكبنا"، ولكن في الواقع، هذا الكوكب كان رحيما بنا. وراء كل واحد منا يقف وليس فقط أربعة بلايين سنة من لطف من الارض ولكن الرحمة في الكون كله منذ زمن بلا بداية. ولذلك، فإنه من المهم عدم التشهير أو خفض قيمة حياتنا. الحياة هي أغلى من كل كنوز. وقد أعطيت كل واحد منكم هذه هدية لا تقدر بثمن، ولكل واحد منكم لا يمكن الاستغناء عنه. هذه حملة حياة - الكون والأرض والأمهات - نعتز به أطفالهم. الشيء الأكثر أهمية في القرن الحادي والعشرين هو أن نتوسع في جميع أنحاء المجتمع أن المطلقة، والنظر الأساسية، أن التعاطف العميق تجاه الحياة.

اذا ما فعلنا ذلك، فإن الحرب وقمع حقوق الإنسان تختفي. لذلك فإن تدمير البيئة.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
الصحافة الوسيطة. © 2002. www.middlewaypress.com

المادة المصدر:

طريق الشباب: الشعور المشترك البوذي في التعامل مع أسئلة الحياة
دايساكو ايكيدا من قبل.

غلاف كتاب طريقة الشباب: الحس البوذي المشترك للتعامل مع أسئلة الحياة بقلم دايساكو إيكيدا.Daisaku Ikeda ، الذي يقدم قيادة روحية لـ 12 مليون بوذي Soka Gakkai في جميع أنحاء العالم ، يستجيب للقضايا المعقدة التي تواجه الشباب الأمريكي في شكل سؤال وجواب مباشر. يتناول موضوعات تشمل بناء الشخصية الفردية ، والغرض من العمل الجاد والمثابرة ، والأسرة والعلاقات ، والتسامح ، والحفاظ على البيئة.

مكتوبة من منظور بوذي ، هذه المجموعة من الإجابات على أسئلة الحياة تقدم حكمة خالدة للناس من جميع الأديان.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب.

عن المؤلف

صورة: Daisaku Ikeda ، رئيس Soka Gakkai InternationalDaisaku Ikeda هو رئيس Soka Gakkai International ، أحد أهم المجتمعات البوذية العالمية في العالم اليوم. في عام 1968 ، أسس أول مدارس غير طائفية - رياض الأطفال والمدارس الابتدائية والمتوسطة والثانوية وكذلك جامعة سوكا في اليابان - بناءً على مهمة رعاية سعادة المتعلم مدى الحياة. في مايو 2001 ، فتحت جامعة سوكا الأمريكية ، وهي كلية فنون ليبرالية مدتها أربع سنوات ، أبوابها في أليسو فيجو ، كاليفورنيا.

من خلال دوره كناشط سلام ، سافر السيد إيكيدا إلى أكثر من 50 دولة ، وأجرى حوارات مع القادة السياسيين والفكريين ، مطبقًا إيمانه القوي بأن التفاهم الدولي وتحقيق السلام يبدأ بالحوار من القلب إلى القلب. السمة المميزة لتعليم سوكا. حصل على جائزة الأمم المتحدة للسلام عام 1983.

وهو مؤلف من العديد من الكتب، والتي ترجمت إلى عشرات اللغات، بما في ذلك الطريق من الشبابمن أجل السلام و واحدًا تلو الآخر: العالم لك للتغيير. 
   

المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

لماذا المضخات الحرارية 6 12
لماذا المضخات الحرارية والألواح الشمسية ضرورية للدفاع الوطني
by دانيال كوهان ، جامعة رايس
تعتبر الألواح الشمسية والمضخات الحرارية والهيدروجين بمثابة اللبنات الأساسية لاقتصاد الطاقة النظيفة. ولكن ل…
الإجهاد الاجتماعي والشيخوخة 6
كيف يمكن للضغوط الاجتماعية تسريع شيخوخة الجهاز المناعي
by إريك كلوباك ، جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا
مع تقدم الناس في السن ، تبدأ أجهزتهم المناعية بشكل طبيعي في التدهور. شيخوخة الجهاز المناعي ، ...
الأطعمة الصحية عند طهيها 6
9 خضروات صحية عند طهيها
by لورا براون ، جامعة تيسايد
ليست كل الأطعمة مغذية أكثر عند تناولها نيئة. في الواقع ، بعض الخضروات أكثر ...
الصوم المتقطع 6 17
هل الصيام المتقطع مفيد فعلاً لخسارة الوزن؟
by ديفيد كلايتون ، جامعة نوتنغهام ترنت
إذا كنت ممن فكرت في فقدان الوزن أو أرادت أن تصبح أكثر صحة في الماضي ...
عدم قدرة الشاحن 9
توضح قاعدة شاحن USB-C الجديدة كيف يتخذ المنظمون في الاتحاد الأوروبي قرارات للعالم
by رينو فوكارت ، جامعة لانكستر
هل سبق لك أن استعرت شاحنًا لأحد الأصدقاء لتجد أنه غير متوافق مع هاتفك؟ أو…
فقدان ذاكرة الرضع 6 9
لماذا لا يمكنك تذكر ولادتك أو تعلم المشي أو قول كلماتك الأولى
by فانيسا لوبو ، جامعة روتجرز
على الرغم من حقيقة أن الناس لا يستطيعون التذكر كثيرًا قبل سن الثانية أو الثالثة ، تشير الأبحاث إلى أن ...
التواصل مع الحيوانات 6
كيف تتواصل مع الحيوانات
by مارتا وليامز
تحاول الحيوانات دائمًا الوصول إلينا. إنهم يرسلون إلينا باستمرار رسائل بديهية ...
مشاكل في عمل الفواتير والصحة النفسية 6
يمكن أن تؤدي مشكلة دفع الفواتير إلى خسائر فادحة في الصحة العقلية للآباء
by جويس واي لي ، جامعة ولاية أوهايو
أجريت أبحاث الفقر السابقة بشكل أساسي مع الأمهات ، مع التركيز بشكل كبير على ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Practicing Environmental Compassion and Remembering That Nature is Our Home

Practicing Environmental Compassion and Remembering That Nature is Our Home

The destruction of nature is the destruction of humanity. Nature is our home. All life on this planet, including, of course, human life, was born from the natural environment. We don't owe our existence to machines or science. Life on this planet was not artificially created. We are the products of nature.

There are many theories about the origins of humanity. Some say that the first humans appeared in Africa; others say that human beings appeared in various locations around the world at about the same time. Whatever may be true, it is indisputable that the human species was born of nature. Because of that, the further we alienate ourselves from nature, the more unbalanced we become. Our future as a species is grim unless we recognize this.

Our problem is not new. The eighteenth-century French philosopher and social reformer Jean-Jacques Rousseau, author of The Social Contract, called for a return to nature. Civilization, even in his time, had become too mechanical, too reliant on science, too concentrated on profit, distorting human life into ugliness. Rousseau protested this unfortunate development.

Indeed, we all want to be healthy. For that reason, we want to breathe clean air, to see beautiful flowers and greenery. We turn to nature for this, just as a sunflower turns to the sun. We must recognize that any action negating this inclination is a terrible mistake. All the money in the world won't buy the blue sky. The sun and the breeze belong to everyone.

No one is denying that science has improved our lives. But we need to match the progress of science with progress in our commitment to preserve and protect our environment. We need a balance.

For instance, we must remember the forests. Where does the oxygen that we breathe, that keeps us alive, come from? From forests, from sea plants. It has taken plants billions of years to create this oxygen.

WHAT ABOUT WATER?

Most of the water we use comes from river systems. Whether it rains or shines, water flows through rivers. Why? The trees and the soil around them absorb the water, storing it underground, from where it seeps constantly, bit by bit, into the rivers. If there were no forests and the mountains were hard as asphalt, all the rain that fell in a day would run immediately into the rivers and flow out to sea, just like a bathtub emptying when you pull the plug.

Soil is another gift of the forest. Small animals and microbes help transform the dead roots and leaves of trees into rich soil. Without that soil, we could not grow grains or vegetables. We would have no food, and humanity would perish.

Many other products come from forests. Without them, we would have no rubber bands, no paper, no wooden desks or furniture -- no homes. All of these, too, are the forest's gifts.

Forests produce the air we breathe, the water we drink, the soil in which we grow food -- indeed, every aspect of our lives is made possible by trees.

And I think we rarely make the connection that unless we take care of the forests, we won't be able to catch fish in the sea. Without forests all the rain would flow away down the rivers to the sea. That rain would also carry large amounts of silt with it. The silt would cloud the sea waters, block the penetration of light, and lower the sea's temperature, making it too cold for many fish.

The forests also produce nutrients that eventually make their way to the sea and become food for marine life. The forests protect the life of the sea.

Life is a chain. All things are related. When any link is disturbed, the other links will be affected. We should think of the environment as our mother -- Mother Soil, Mother Sea, Mother Earth. There is no crime worse than harming one's mother.

ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERNS

Buddhism explains life in a system of ten stages or states of being -- the states of Hell, Hunger, Animality, Anger, Humanity, Rapture, Learning, Realization, Bodhisattva and Buddhahood. The state of Humanity is right in the middle, with nobler states of life above and uglier states below. Those states below are unnatural states of being, states that oppose nature. The five stages above Humanity all value nature and strive to create a paradise where its beauty flourishes in abundance.

The question is whether we allow ourselves to be dragged down to the lower states or advance to the higher states. Only intelligence, culture and religious faith can lead us out of the animality that thoughtlessly consumes nature, leaving a barren wasteland. According to the Buddhist principle of the oneness of life and its environment, a barren, destructive mind produces a barren, devastated natural environment. The desertification of our planet is linked to the desertification of the human spirit.

War is the most extreme example of this destructive impulse. War destroys both nature and the human spirit. The twentieth century was a century of war. We must make this century a century of life. The twenty-first century must be one in which we make life the top priority in all spheres of human activity -- in commerce, in government, in science.

We are dependent on the Earth, not the other way around. In our arrogance, we have flagrantly overlooked this. The Soviet cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin, the first person to see the Earth from space, declared it a blue planet. This is a great testimony. The blue of the oceans, the white of the clouds -- they are proof that Earth is the water planet, a planet sparkling with life. That's why I think it's important to have a philosophy that recognizes everything in the universe as living and sacred.

The essential teaching of Buddhism is that the life of the Buddha resides in every plant and tree, even in the smallest dust mote. It's a philosophy founded on a profound reverence for life.

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

To throw trash or aluminum cans by the roadside is the selfish behavior of someone living in a state that Buddhism terms the world of Animality. Such actions demonstrate an egoism that cares nothing for others. It is an unnatural way to live. A person who loves nature is simply unable to litter. Tossing one's trash away carelessly is to toss away one's humanity.

By the same token, one who loves nature can cherish other human beings, value peace and possess a richness of character unfettered by selfish calculations of personal gain and loss. Those who live in a calculating way will end up calculating their own worth in the same manner. Such a life is limited in the extreme.

People might think there is no reward in picking up trash others have strewn about. But it's important to do this out of love for nature -- without thinking about what one may or may not gain.

Only through such selfless actions can we live the best way as human beings. Because technology has advanced to the extent it has, it is more important than ever for each person to develop an awareness of environmental protection. Any apparent material improvements are illusory unless we enhance the fundamental quality of our lives.

ROLE OF THE INDIVIDUAL

Can you as an individual make much of a difference? Absolutely. Each individual effort is vital, and yet it is a lot easier to talk about environmental protection than to practice it. There are obstacles sometimes -- and sometimes practicing it can even be life-threatening.

I wonder if you've heard of the American marine biologist Rachel Carson. She wrote a ground-breaking book called Silent Spring, published in 1962, which attacked the problem of pollution.

At that time, very powerful insecticides such as DDT were being used all across the United States. They seemed to be effective at first, but gradually people were beginning to sicken and show signs of being poisoned from the chemicals. Beneficial insects, fish and birds were disappearing from the landscape. With no birds to sing, Ms. Carson wrote, a silent spring awaited us.

Her book announced these facts to the public and urged that dangerous pesticides be banned. Immediately after her book was published, she was vehemently attacked.

She was attacked by the giant corporations that made huge fortunes from manufacturing pesticides and by officials and politicians who were in the pockets of those companies -- because what she said was true. Such attacks happen all the time, whenever someone tells an unpleasant truth. We must learn to see through the charades of those in power.

All those linked to the pesticide industry, even agricultural magazines, joined in a campaign to discredit her. One wrote, "Her book is more poisonous than the pesticides she condemns." State research organizations joined the campaign -- research organizations that, needless to say, received large amounts of funding from the chemical companies.

It was a major campaign to silence Silent Spring. Even the American Medical Association stated that the effects of pesticides posed no threat to human beings when used according to the instructions by the manufacturers.

But Rachel Carson would not give up. And she went even further, declaring that pesticides were only part of the story of the poisons that were threatening our world. Eventually, she won the support of the people, and environmentalism began to spread across the United States and throughout the world. That torch of faith kept burning after she died in 1964 and has grown to dramatically transform public awareness.

Carson left these words in The Sense of Wonder for the younger generation: "Those who dwell, as scientists or laymen, among the beauties and mysteries of the earth are never alone or weary of life."

TREAT THE EARTH WELL

A Kenyan saying goes that we should treat the Earth well; it is not a gift from our parents but a loan from our children. But the adults of our day are leaving a dismal inheritance to today's young people and the children you will have. With their philosophy that making money is the most important goal of all, they are selling off your legacy -- the health, culture, environment and even life that nature has protected and nurtured for so many eons.

It is your legacy, so you must act. You who have not yet forgotten the beauty and wonder of the Earth, speak out! Your struggle to protect the twenty-first century, your century, the century of life, has already begun.

One popular slogan goes, "Be kind to our planet," but in reality, the planet has been kind to us. Behind each of us stands not just four billion years of kindness from the Earth but the compassion of the entire universe since time without beginning. Therefore, it's important not to slander or devalue our lives. Life is the most precious of all treasures. Each of you has been given this invaluable gift and each of you is irreplaceable. Those bearers of life -- the universe, the Earth and mothers -- cherish their children. The most important thing for the twenty-first century is that we expand throughout society that absolute, fundamental consideration, that profound compassion toward life.

If we do so, war and the suppression of human rights will disappear. So will the destruction of the environment.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Middleway Press. ©2002. www.middlewaypress.com

Article Source:

The Way of Youth: Buddhist Common Sense for Handling Life's Questions
by Daisaku Ikeda.

book cover of The Way of Youth: Buddhist Common Sense for Handling Life's Questions by Daisaku Ikeda.Daisaku Ikeda, who offers spiritual leadership to 12 million Soka Gakkai Buddhists throughout the world, responds to the complicated issues facing American young people in a straightforward question-and-answer format. He addresses topics that include building individual character, the purpose of hard work and perseverance, family and relationships, tolerance, and preservation of the environment.

Written from a Buddhist perspective, this collection of answers to life's questions offers timeless wisdom to people of all faiths.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book.

About the Author

photo of: Daisaku Ikeda, president of Soka Gakkai InternationalDaisaku Ikeda is president of the Soka Gakkai International, one of the most important international Buddhist communities in the world today. In 1968, he founded the first of many nonsectarian schools -- kindergartens, elementary, middle and high schools as well as Soka University in Japan -- based on the mission to nurture the lifelong happiness of the learner. In May 2001, Soka University of America, a four-year liberal arts college, opened its doors in Aliso Viejo, California.

In his role as a peace activist, Mr. Ikeda has traveled to more than 50 countries, conducting dialogues with political and intellectual leaders and applying his strong belief that international understanding and the realization of peace begins with the heart-to-heart dialogue that is the hallmark of Soka education. He received the United Nations Peace Award in 1983.

He is the author of numerous books, which have been translated into dozens of languages, including The Way of YouthFor the Sake of Peace and One by One: The World is Yours to Change. 
   


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

INNERSELF VOICES

group of healthcare professionals standing around a desk or table
Why Quality Healthcare May Not Be As Difficult As It Seems
by Robert Jennings, Innerself.com
The means to achieve quality healthcare for all is there. All that is lacking is the people's will…
panorama of the Northern Lights in Norway
Horoscope Current Week: October 25 - 31, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
a glowing orb in a pendant with a copper wire wrap
Finding Our Own Definitions of Beauty
by Allison Carmen
Definition of beauty, Merriam-Webster dictionary: "that which gives the highest degree of pleasure…
young white man wearing  a suit standing in from of closed doors
Mentors, Men, and Leaning Into Closed Doors
by Areva Martin
In an excerpt from her new book, Ladies, Leadership, and the Lies We've Been Told, women's rights…
medical practitioner holding a beaker of blue liquid
How Authority Wanes: Incurable Disease or Lack of Knowledge?
by Pierre Pradervand
When I was a child, what the family doctor said was gospel, and no one would even have thought of…
smiling mother, sitting on the grass, holding up a child
Loving Relationships and a Peaceful Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
All of us, even animals, need to love and be loved. We need it for basic survival, we need it for…
internet company logos
Why Google, Facebook and The Internet are Failing Humanity and Little Critters
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
What is increasingly obvious is the dark side that is engulfing the internet and is spreading…
girl wearing a Covid mask outside carrying a backpack
Are You Ready to Take Off Your Mask?
by Alan Cohen
Sadly, the Covid pandemic has been a rough ride for lots of people. At some point, the ride will be…
What Are The Chances? Right Place, Right Time, Right Purpose
What Are The Chances? Right Place, Right Time, Right Purpose
by Alan Cohen
Do you believe that the universe operates at random, or is there a higher intelligence that…
Astrological Overview: August 10 - 16, 2020
Horoscope Week: August 10 - 16, 2020
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Sharing the True Self: Reflections on the New Moon
Sharing the True Self: Reflections on the New Moon
by Sarah Varcas
This New Moon augurs unexpected developments that may surprisingly ease progress despite conditions…

MOST READ

How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
How Living On The Coast Is Linked To Poor Health
by Jackie Cassell, Professor of Primary Care Epidemiology, Honorary Consultant in Public Health, Brighton and Sussex Medical School
The precarious economies of many traditional seaside towns have declined still further since the…
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
The Most Common Issues for Earth Angels: Love, Fear, and Trust
by Sonja Grace
As you experience being an earth angel, you will discover that the path of service is riddled with…
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
How Can I Know What's Best For Me?
by Barbara Berger
One of the biggest things I've discovered working with clients everyday is how extremely difficult…
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
What Men’s Roles In 1970s Anti-sexism Campaigns Can Teach Us About Consent
by Lucy Delap, University of Cambridge
The 1970s anti-sexist men’s movement had an infrastructure of magazines, conferences, men’s centres…
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
Honesty: The Only Hope for New Relationships
by Susan Campbell, Ph.D.
According to most of the singles I have met in my travels, the typical dating situation is fraught…
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
Chakra Healing Therapy: Dancing toward the Inner Champion
by Glen Park
Flamenco dancing is a delight to watch. A good flamenco dancer exudes an exuberant self-confidence…
Giving Up All Hope Could Be Beneficial For You
Giving Up All Hope Could Be Beneficial For You
by Jude Bijou, M.A., M.F.T.
If you're waiting for a change and frustrated it's not happening, maybe it would be beneficial to…
An Astrologer introduces the Nine Dangers of Astrology
An Astrologer introduces the Nine Dangers of Astrology
by Tracy Marks
Astrology is a powerful art, capable of enhancing our lives by enabling us to understand our own…

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.