الفيل في الغرفة: يمكنك تجاهله لكنه لا يزال هناك

الفيل في الغرفة: يمكنك تجاهله لكنه لا يزال هناك
الصورة عن طريق ساسين Tipchai

غالبًا ما يقضي البشر قدرًا مفرطًا من الوقت والطاقة لتجنب حقيقة وجود فيل في الغرفة. تشير هذه العبارة إلى موضوع مهم يدركه الجميع ولكن لم تتم مناقشته نظرًا لأن الموضوع يُنظر إليه على أنه غير مريح للحديث عنه.

ولكن كيف أصبح الموت والموت (والحزن المرتبط به) فيلًا على الأرض؟ منذ وقت ليس ببعيد أنه (في مناطق البلاد على الأقل) تم وضع المتوفى في المنزل ، أو وضع التابوت في الغرفة الأمامية للمنزل للعرض ، أو الجثة الموضوعة في السرير ، متاحة لمن أراد أن يقدم احترامه الأخير .

قبل 50 عامًا أو نحو ذلك ، ارتدى الثكالى شارات ذراع سوداء لشهور عديدة ، لإظهار أنهم كانوا يحدون ويحتاجون إلى أن يعاملوا بلطف ، تمامًا مثلما نتصرف تجاه الأمهات الحوامل. ومع تحسن الصحة ، ومع عيشنا لفترة أطول ، أصبح المجتمع الغربي غير معتاد أكثر فأكثر حتى بالنسبة للبالغين في منتصف العمر الذين رأوا جثة. هذا يجلب معه خوفًا من الموت في الواقع ، ونفورًا عامًا من الاعتراف بأنه سيحدث على الإطلاق. ومن هنا الفيل في الغرفة.

يختار معظمنا رؤية الغرفة فقط ، وليس الفيل الموجود فيها. حتى عندما يتفوق علينا ، كما هو الحال عند تشخيص مرض عضال ، أو مرض يحد من الحياة ، لا يزال الكثير يختارون التظاهر بأن الفيل غير موجود. ثم يصيب الأسرة والأصدقاء الذين تركوا وراءهم لإزالة الفوضى بعد وفاة ذلك الشخص. لأن حياة الفرد is فوضوي.

فقط انظر حولك الآن ، أينما كنت. إذا كنت قد توفيت بالأمس ، فماذا سيجد أحبابك (باستثناء جثتك)؟ هل سيكونون قادرين على ترتيب الأشياء بسهولة؟ هل يحتاجون إلى بدء بحث مفصل من خلال تلال "الأشياء" (عبر الإنترنت وغير متصل) للمستندات المهمة؟ هل يمكنهم العثور بسهولة على قائمة جهات الاتصال أو دفتر العناوين؟

الاعتراف بالفيل موجود هو المرحلة الأولى في قبول أن الحياة تشمل نهايتها أيضًا.

الفيل ، نهاية الحياة الفيل
هذا رسم قمت به بشكل عفوي عندما أدركت لأول مرة أن عملي سوف يركز على شيء لم يرغب الكثير من الناس في التحدث عنه.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


للاعتراف بوجود نهاية الحياة إلي ، عليك أن تعترف بوجود فيل في المقام الأول. يمكنك القيام بذلك الآن بمجرد قول "hallo" لـ Elly ، بصوت عالٍ. من خلال القيام بذلك ، فإنك تبدأ عملية الاعتراف بأن الموت يحدث. سوف نموت. سيموت عائلتنا وأصدقائنا. سوف نشعر بالحزن ، وسوف يشعرون أيضا عندما نموت. لا نعرف متى سيحدث ، ولكنه سيحدث في وقت ما. بمجرد أن تقول "hallo" ، يمكنك أن تستدير وتواجهها بأي من الخطوات الثلاث التالية:

  1. نزهة في الطبيعة ، واستخدام حواسك الخمس بوعي وأنت تمشي. يمكن أن يكون المشي حول حديقتك أو منتزه أو خشب ؛ في أي مكان توجد نباتات وأشجار وشجيرات وحياة برية. خذ 15 دقيقة في هذا المشي للبحث عمداً عن علامات الحياة والموت. لاحظ أن الشتلات تنمو. ثم لاحظ الأوراق الميتة من وقت سابق والتي يتم طحنها إلى قطع صغيرة تحت قدميك. اسمع العصافير. المس اللحاء على شجرة ولاحظ الملمس وكيف تشعر. التقط غصنًا أو قطعة خشب. اشعر بذلك ، بينما تفهم أن هذه قطعة من شجرة أكبر أو شجيرة ، لكنها "ميتة". لاحظ أي حيوانات حية وميتة ترى. كن على علم بأن الحياة نفسها تشمل الموت ، تمامًا مثل الموت يشمل الحياة. فكر في فكرة أن الجسد الذي تعيش فيه هو نفس الشجرة أو النبات أو الحيوان الذي يموت.

  2. تصور إيلي في غرفتك الآن. فقط أراها واقفة ، بشكل حميد ، في الزاوية. تخيل أن تقول لها مرحبا. عندما تفعل هذا تقوله مرحبا لوجود الموت في الحياة. لاحظ كيف يجعلك هذا تشعر والأفكار التي لديك حول هذا الموضوع. تحدث معها إذا شعرت بالشجاعة الكافية - قد تجد نفسك مندهشًا مما تقوله.

  3. اعترف أن موتك سيحدث. انتبه لما تشعر به حيال ذلك. دوّن أفكارك في مجلة. إذا كان الأمر يبدو مخيفًا حقًا ، فما عليك سوى ملاحظة ذلك وتركه الآن. يمكنك العودة إليها لاحقًا.

"عندما بدأت أفكر في موتي ، أشعر بالرعب من عدم وجوده. هذا يعني أنني لا أريد النظر إلى هذا النوع من أشياء نهاية الحياة على الإطلاق. ومع ذلك ، أعلم أنه يجب علي ذلك. " - مايكل ، إنجلترا

كيف تعرف وجود فيل في الغرفة؟

تشعر بعدم الارتياح حول أي موضوع يمثله الفيل. بكل بساطة. سيشعر الجميع بذلك ، بدرجة أقل أو أكبر ، يعتمد الأمر فقط على مدى إدراكك. الفيلة في كل مكان ، ليس فقط للموت ، على الرغم من أن هذا هو ما نركز عليه هنا.

في اليوم الآخر ، تمت مقابلتي للحصول على مكان في دورة أعمال. دخلت غرفة بها أربعة مرشحين آخرين. لم يكن أحد يتكلم وكان هناك جو من التوتر في الغرفة. بالتأكيد كان هناك فيل متربص ، يسمى واحد "يجب ألا نتحدث مع بعضنا البعض لأننا جميعًا نتنافس على مكان في الدورة".

أنا معروف بمخاطبة الأفيال ، سواء كانت تسمى نهاية الحياة Elly أم لا. لذلك بدأت أتكلم. لقد استغرق الأمر بعض الوقت ، ولكن قبل فترة طويلة ، كنا نتحدث ونتفاعل مع بعضنا البعض ، وانتقلنا من جو من المنافسة إلى جو من الاسترخاء ، ونأمل أن يكون الأفضل للجميع. عفوا!

ماذا يحدث عندما لا يتم الاعتراف بنهاية الحياة Elly؟

إيلي لا تمانع إذا تم الاعتراف بها أم لا. يقع عليك العبء للتفاعل معها - إنها (الموت) موجودة ، سواء أحببت ذلك أم لا. ومع ذلك ، إذا لم تنتبه ، فستسبب مشاكل.

لقد ذكرت من قبل عن الفوضى التي يجب توضيحها عندما يموت شخص دون تنظيم أي من شؤونهم. الطريقة التي تظهر بها هذه الفوضى هي في التشويش الإداري ، ومشاكل العلاقات حيث يتكيف الناس مع أحبائهم لم يعد هناك ، والحجج ، واندلاع النزاعات طويلة الأمد ، والمعارك القانونية ، وعدم القدرة على المضي قدمًا ، والكثير من الوقت وغير ضروري حساب المشاركة.

فكر في برينس ، نجم البوب ​​الشهير ، الذي توفي فجأة في أبريل 2016. لم يكن مستعدًا بشكل جيد لنهاية حياة جيدة. لم يترك حتى وصية. الآن سوف يستغرق ترتيب شؤونه الأسرة والمحامين سنوات عديدة ، وآلاف الدولارات ، قبل أن يتم حلها بالكامل. هل هذا حقا كيف تريد ترك الأشياء لعائلتك؟

قد لا تكون مليونيرا ولكن أنا متأكد من أنك لا تزال تملك ممتلكات. ومع ذلك ، حتى عندما يكون لديك أفضل النوايا ، فإن القيام بهذا العمل يتطلب الشجاعة والالتزام والثقة.

ماذا يحدث بعد اعتراف Elly؟

بعد أن تم الاعتراف بإلي ، لن تكون فيلًا في الغرفة بعد الآن. بدلاً من ذلك ، ستصبح جزءًا مفيدًا من الأثاث. إنها لا تبتعد ، لكنها بالتأكيد لن تسبب مشاكل بعد وفاة أحد أفراد أسرتك أو صديقك ؛ بدلاً من ذلك ، ستكون حضوراً لطيفاً ، مجرد جزء من الحياة نفسها ستمكنك من التركيز بشكل كامل على البقاء على قيد الحياة ، وتحقيق أقصى استفادة من القيام بذلك. ستشجع نكتة ساخرة أو اثنتين ، أو حتى ضحكة كاملة.

الاعتراف بها سيجعل من السهل عليك أن تكون حول الأشخاص الذين يحزنون ، وكذلك أولئك الذين يموتون.

© 2018 بقلم جين دنكان روجرز. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
مقتطفات بإذن من الكتاب: قبل أن أذهب.
الناشر ، Findhorn Press ، وهو بصمة من Intr Traditions Intl.
www.findhornpress.com

المادة المصدر

قبل أن أذهب: الدليل الأساسي لإنشاء خطة جيدة لنهاية الحياة
جين دنكان روجرز

قبل أن أذهب: الدليل الأساسي لوضع خطة جيدة لنهاية الحياة ، بقلم جين دنكان روجرزكثير من الناس يقولون "أتمنى لو كنت أعرف ما أرادوا" عندما توفي أحد أفراد أسرته. في كثير من الأحيان ، لم يتم تسجيل رغبات أي شخص للرعاية في نهاية العمر ، ولأنه بعد رحيله. باستخدام هذا الدليل القيم ، يمكنك الآن البدء في القيام بذلك بنفسك ، بحيث يكون أقرباؤك قادرين على احترام رغباتك بسهولة أكبر ، مما يوفر عليهم ضغوطًا لا لزوم لها وانزعاجًا في وقت كبير محتمل. (متاح أيضًا كإصدار من Kindle.)

للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب، انقر هنا. متوفر أيضًا كإصدار Kindle.

المزيد من الكتب من قبل هذا المؤلف

عن المؤلف

جين دنكان روجرزجين دنكان روجرز مدرب حاصل على جائزة الحياة والموت يساعد الناس على الاستعداد جيدًا لنهاية حياة جيدة. بعد أن عملت في مجال العلاج النفسي والنمو الشخصي لمدة 25 عامًا ، فهي مؤسس شركة Before I Go Solutions ، المكرسة لتثقيف الناس حول الموت والموت والحزن. تعيش جين في مجتمع Findhorn في اسكتلندا ، المملكة المتحدة. زيارة موقعها على الانترنت في https://beforeigosolutions.com/

فيديو / مقابلة مع جين دنكان روجرز: قبل أن أذهب

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
by جين رولاند وشانتيديفي
هل يحمي درع الوجه من Covid-19؟
هل يحمي درع الوجه من Covid-19؟
by فيليب روسو وبريت ميتشل

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 20 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
يمكن تلخيص موضوع النشرة الإخبارية هذا الأسبوع على أنه "يمكنك فعل ذلك" أو بشكل أكثر تحديدًا "يمكننا القيام بذلك!". هذه طريقة أخرى للقول "أنت / لدينا القدرة على إجراء تغيير". صورة ...
ما الذي يناسبني: "يمكنني فعل ذلك!"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…

The Elephant in the Room: You Can Ignore Him But He's Still There

The Elephant in the Room: You Can Ignore Him But He's Still There
Image by Sasin Tipchai

Humans often spend an inordinate amount of time and energy avoiding the fact that there is an elephant in the room. This phrase refers to an important topic which everyone is aware of but which isn’t discussed due to the topic being perceived as uncomfortable to talk about.

But how on earth did dying and death (and the associated grief) become an elephant? It’s not so long ago that (in country areas at least) the deceased were laid out at home, the coffin placed in the front room of the house for viewing, or the body laid in bed, available for whoever wanted to pay their last respects.

Only 50 years or so ago the bereaved wore black armbands for many months, to show they were mourning and needed to be treated more gently, just as we behave towards mothers who are pregnant. As health has improved, however, and as we live longer, in Western society it has become more and more unusual even for middle-aged adults to have seen a dead body. This brings with it a fear of what death actually is, and a general disinclination to admit that it will happen at all. Hence the elephant in the room.

Most of us choose to see only the room, not the elephant in it. Even when it is towering over us, as in being diagnosed with a terminal illness, or a life-limiting disease, many still choose to pretend the elephant doesn’t exist. It then befalls to the family and friends left behind to clear up the mess after that person has died. Because an individual’s life is messy.

Just look around you right now, wherever you are. If you had died yes­terday, what would your loved ones find (apart from your dead body)? Would they be able to easily tidy things up? Would they need to start a detailed search through mounds of ‘stuff’ (online and offline) for impor­tant documents? Could they easily find your list of contacts or address book?

Admitting the elephant exists is the first stage in accepting that life includes the end of it too.

Elly, end of life elephant
This is a drawing I spontaneously did when I first realized my work was going to be focused on something that many people didn’t want to talk about.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


To acknowledge the presence of End of Life Elly, you have to admit an elephant exists in the first place. You can do this right now by simply say­ing ‘hallo’ to Elly, out loud. By doing this you are beginning the process of admitting that death happens. We will die. Our family and friends will die. We will feel grief, and they will too when we die. We don’t know when it will happen, but it will happen at some point. Once you have said ‘hallo’, you can turn around and face her with any one of these 3 steps:

  1. Take a walk outside in nature, and consciously use your five senses as you walk. The walk could be around your garden, a park, a wood; anywhere there are plants, trees, bushes, wildlife. Take 15 minutes on that walk to deliberately look for signs of both life and death. Notice that seedling growing; then notice the dead leaves from earlier that are being ground up into little pieces under your feet. Hear the birdsong. Touch the bark on a tree and notice the texture and how it makes you feel. Pick up a twig or piece of wood. Feel it, while understanding that this is a piece of a larger tree or bush, but it is ‘dead’. Notice any living and dead animals you see. Become aware that life itself includes death, just as death includes life. Contemplate the idea that the body you inhabit is just the same as a tree, plant or animal that dies.

  2. Visualize Elly in your room, right now. Just see her standing, benignly, in the corner. Imagine saying hallo to her. When you do this you are saying hallo to the presence of death within life. Notice how this makes you feel, and what thoughts you have about it. Have a conversation with her if you feel brave enough – you might find yourself surprised at what she has to say.

  3. Acknowledge that your own death will take place. Pay attention to how you feel about that. Jot down your thoughts in a journal. If it feels really scary still, then just notice that and leave it for now. You can come back to it later.

When I start to think about my own death, I feel terrified of not existing. That means I just don’t want to look at this kind of end of life stuff at all. And yet I know I have to.”  — Michael, England

How Do You Know There Is an Elephant in the Room?

You feel uncomfortable around whatever topic the elephant represents. It’s that simple. Everyone will feel it, to a lesser or greater degree, it just depends on how aware you are. Elephants are everywhere, not just to do with death, although that’s what we are focusing on here.

The other day, I was being interviewed for a place on a business course. I entered a room where there were four other candidates. No-one was speaking and there was an atmosphere of tension in the room. There was definitely an elephant lurking, the one called ‘we mustn’t talk to each other because we are all competing for a place on the course’.

I’m known for addressing elephants, whether they’re called End of Life Elly or not. So I started to speak. It took a while, but before long, we were all talking and engaging with each other, and had moved from an atmosphere of competition to one of more relaxa­tion, and hoping the best for everyone. Phew!

What Happens When End of Life Elly Doesn’t Get Acknowledged?

Elly doesn’t mind if she gets acknowledged or not. The onus is on you to interact with her - she (death) is there, whether you like it or not. However, if she isn’t paid attention to, she will cause problems.

I mentioned before about the mess that has to be cleared up when someone dies without any of their affairs organized. The way this mess shows up is in administra­tive muddles, problems with relationships as people adjust to their loved one not being there any more, arguments, long-standing disputes erupt­ing, legal battles, inability to move on, and a lot of time and unnecessary expense being involved.

Think of Prince, the famous pop star, who died suddenly in April 2016. He had not prepared well for a good end of life; hadn’t even left a will. Now sorting out his affairs will take the family and solicitors many years, and thousands of dollars, before it is all resolved. Is this really how you want to leave things for your family?

You may not be a millionaire but I’m sure you still have treasured possessions. However, even when you have the best of intentions, doing this work takes courage, commitment and confidence.

What Happens after Elly Has Been Acknowledged?

After Elly has been acknowledged, she will no longer be an elephant in the room. Instead, she will become a useful part of the furniture. She doesn’t go away, but she certainly won’t be causing trouble after your family member or friend dies; instead she will be a benign presence, just part of life itself. She will enable you to more fully focus on being alive, and gain the most from doing so. She’ll encourage an ironic joke or two, or even full-blown laughter.

Acknowl­edging her will also make it easier for you to be around people who are grieving, as well as those who are dying.

©2018 by Jane Duncan Rogers. All Rights Reserved.
Excerpted with permission from the book: Before I Go.
Publisher, Findhorn Press, an imprint of Inner Traditions Intl.
www.findhornpress.com

Article Source

Before I Go: The Essential Guide to Creating a Good End of Life Plan
by Jane Duncan Rogers

Before I Go: The Essential Guide to Creating a Good End of Life Plan by Jane Duncan RogersMany people say “I wish I had known what they wanted” when their loved one has died. Too often, a person’s wishes for end-of-life care, and for after they have gone, have not been recorded. With this valuable guide, you can now begin to do this for yourself, so your relatives will be able to honor your wishes more easily, saving them unnecessary stress and upset at a potentially intense time. (Also available as a Kindle edition.)

For more info or to order this book, click here. Also available as a Kindle edition.

More Books by this Author

About the Author

Jane Duncan RogersJane Duncan Rogers is an award-winning life and death coach who helps people prepare well for a good end of life. Having been in the field of psychotherapy and personal growth for 25 years, she is founder of Before I Go Solutions, dedicated to educating people about dying, death, and grief. Jane lives within the Findhorn community in Scotland, UK. Visit her website at https://beforeigosolutions.com/

Video/Interview with Jane Duncan Rogers: Before I Go

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…