التخلي عن قوتك؟ الانتقال من الخوف إلى التمكين

صورة ظلية لصبي يمسك بيد شخص بالغ ، مع خلفية من بصمات اليد الملونة على الحائط

الصورة عن طريق جيرد التمان. أغنية لورانس دوتشين.

نسخة الفيديو

"أنا لست مهتمًا السلطة من أجل السلطة ،
لكنني مهتم بها 
القوة الأخلاقية ،
أن 
هذا صحيح وهذا جيد ".

- مارتن لوثر كينج جونيور.

يتم استخدام القوة الحقيقية لصالح الجميع لأنها تأتي من منظور موحد وفهم أننا جميعًا في هذا معًا. تعتمد قوة الأنا على الخوف وتستخدم فقط لإفادة الشخص أو المجموعة في السلطة. إنه ينشأ من منظور انفصالي يقوم على هيمنة الآخرين واكتناز الثروة والموارد.

نادرًا ما تخدم قوة الأنا القائمة على الخوف حتى مصالح جمهور معين ، وبالتأكيد لا تخدم مصالح البشرية ككل. هذا النوع من سلطة الأنا والسيطرة عليها أمر أساسي لعالمنا اليوم ويعمل من خلال معظم الأنظمة النقدية والسياسية مثل الديمقراطية والفاشية والملكية والرأسمالية والشيوعية والاشتراكية ، بالإضافة إلى العديد من الأديان.

من الناحية النظرية ، تبدو العديد من هذه الأنظمة مثالية ، لكنها من الناحية العملية فاسدة ويسيطر عليها أفراد يبحثون عن الثروة والسلطة. نظرًا لأن عالمنا يعمل من هذا النوع من قوة الأنا ، فهو خارج عن التوازن.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

الاسم الاول:البريد الإلكتروني:
 


عند إساءة استخدام الطاقة ...

عندما يتم إساءة استخدام السلطة ، هناك خلل في العلاقة بين أولئك الذين يمتلكونها والذين يسيئون استخدامها وأولئك الذين يتم فرض السلطة عليهم. الأول يعمل بدافع الخوف ، بينما يشعر الآخرون بالخوف أيضًا لأنهم يعتقدون أنه ليس لديهم خيار أو يشعرون أن الخضوع سيكون أسهل طريق. يعتقد البعض الآخر أنهم سيكافأون على الملاءمة.

على سبيل المثال ، في مكان العمل ، لدى العديد من الشركات الصغيرة والكبيرة خوفًا كامنًا دائمًا من التعرض للطرد ، ويستغل بعض المديرين أو القادة ذلك لصالحهم للحصول على عمل إضافي. تدير العديد من الشركات علاقات الموردين الخاصة بهم على أساس الخوف. "خفضت الأسعار بنسبة 10٪ ، أو خرجت". في الشركات العامة ، تبدأ ثقافة الخوف هذه من الأعلى مع مجلس الإدارة والمدير التنفيذي وتمتد إلى المساهمين لأن لدينا نظامًا مختلًا وقصير النظر حيث يُقاس النجاح بشكل حصري تقريبًا بنتيجة مالية ربع سنوية.

تولد العديد من شركات التكنولوجيا وغيرها ، مثل شركات المرحلة المبكرة ، نوعًا مختلفًا من الخوف. هذا الخوف هو أن لا تكون الأفضل ، مقرونًا بالخوف من التخلف عن الركب وعدم تحقيق ما يحققه الآخرون. كنت على متن طائرة مع هذا الشاب الذي عمل مع واحدة من أكبر ثلاث شركات تكنولوجية. قال إن الجميع تقريبًا يعمل في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع لأنهم يرون الآخرين يفعلون ذلك ويخشون التخلف عن الركب.

"نحن وهم" مقابل "نحن"

نعلم جميعًا الانقسام الشديد الذي شهدناه في نظامنا السياسي الحالي. إنه منظور "نحن وهم" مقابل منظور "نحن" ، والذي يمكن أن يولد الخوف فقط. بغض النظر عن الانتماء السياسي ، فقد منحنا قوتنا للمسؤولين المنتخبين لدينا من خلال الاعتقاد بأن مصالحنا الفضلى في صميم قلوبنا ، وهذا ليس هو الحال عادة على الرغم من أن البعض قد يكون قد دخل السياسة لمساعدة الناس.

لماذا نستمر في انتخاب نفس المسؤولين الذين أظهروا بوضوح أنهم في مناصبهم لإفادة أنفسهم؟ 

عندما نشعر بالخوف ، نريد فقط أن يأخذها شخص مثل السلطات الحاكمة ، وسنفعل أي شيء ، بما في ذلك تصديق ما قيل لنا دون التشكيك فيه ، لتحقيق ذلك. نتفق على أشياء معينة لم نكن نتفق عليها أبدًا إذا لم نكن خائفين ، وهو ما حدث بعد 9 سبتمبر وسيحدث على الأرجح بعد أزمة فيروس كورونا. نظرًا لأن المعلومات والقيود تتزايد تدريجياً ، فنحن مثل الضفدع في الوعاء مفتونًا ويتم غليه حياً مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة الماء ببطء.

تحمل مسئولية صحتنا

لقد منحنا قوتنا أيضًا فيما يتعلق بصحتنا. يعتبر الطب الغربي ممتازًا في مجالات مثل كسور العظام أو الورم الذي يجب إزالته ، لكنه كافح مع المزيد من المناطق الرمادية مثل الأمراض المزمنة ، والتي شهدت ارتفاعًا هائلاً في الثلاثين عامًا الماضية.

تحول الكثيرون إلى الطب البديل ، لأنهم لم يتلقوا حلولًا من الطب التقليدي. هذا الأخير يدرب المهنيين الصحيين في مكان ضيق للغاية. عادة ما يكون العلاج بوصفة طبية تهدف إلى تخفيف الأعراض وغالبًا ما يكون لها آثار جانبية متعددة. هذا يختلف اختلافًا جوهريًا عن معالجة السبب الأساسي للمرض.

يتمتع المهنيون الصحيون لدينا بحسن النية ، لكن غالبًا ما لا يكون لديهم إجابات للعديد من التحديات الصحية التي نواجهها الآن. أنا لا أدعو إلى الابتعاد عن الطب التقليدي بأي وسيلة وسأستخدمه حيث أشعر أنه مناسب. ما أقترحه هو أن تأخذ قوتك بين يديك من خلال إجراء البحوث الخاصة بك.

عندما نكون منفتحين على تلقي المعلومات من أي مصدر يمكن أن يساعدنا ، فإن الكون سيوفر ذلك. قد يعني هذا أي عدد من الأشياء ، لكن كل واحد منا يحتاج إلى معرفة أننا بحاجة إلى أن نكون من يتحكمون.

شخصياً ، كنت بصحة جيدة حتى وقت قريب ، لكنني بدأت ألاحظ أن ضغط الدم كان يرتفع وأعاني أيضًا من صداع شديد في وسط رأسي. طلبت من طبيبي أن يكتب طلبًا لإجراء التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي ، واستبعد هذا وجود ورم ، لكن تبين لي أن الأوعية الدموية أصغر من الطبيعي وراثيًا.

لقد عالجت جميع مشاكلي بنجاح كبير من خلال خفض كبير في الصوديوم ، وتناول بعض المكملات الغذائية التي تساعد في ارتفاع ضغط الدم ، ومشاهدة كيف تخلق أفكاري ضغطًا إضافيًا. لم أجد أخصائيًا صحيًا ، بديلًا أو تقليديًا ، أخبرني أن أفعل هذه الأشياء ، لكنني عملت على ذلك بنفسي باستخدام الحدس ، والمعرفة (مثل نتائج التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي) ، وتجربة العديد من الأساليب ، والمنطق.

إعطاء قوتنا بعيدًا عن المتخصصين الصحيين

لسوء الحظ ، ما فعلته هو الاستثناء. لم يقتصر الأمر على منح الكثيرين قوتهم للمهنيين الصحيين واتبعوا تلقائيًا ما يقولونه ، ولكن لدينا أيضًا مجموعة فرعية معينة من الأشخاص الذين يرحبون بالاهتمام الذي يجلبه لهم المرض والذين جعلوا المرض هويتهم. إنه تفكير الضحية الكلاسيكي ، وهو الطريقة النهائية التي نعطي بها قوتنا. يلعب التسويق الآن دورًا في هذا الأمر ، كما لو كان من الرائع أن تمرض بطريقة ما. يريد الكثيرون وصفة طبية لحل كل مشكلة صحية لأنهم يريدون حلًا سريعًا لهذه المشكلات.

الصناعة الصحية هي أحد مظاهر انحراف الأعمال ومجتمعنا عن مسارها وكيف أصبحت الأشياء مشوهة. يجب أن تستند الصحة إلى نموذج استباقي مقابل نموذج تفاعلي. كلنا نعرف قصص الرعب مع التأمين. عندما نعيش في عالم تكون فيه القرارات غير منطقية تمامًا وقائمة على الربح ، وحيث يتحكم الآخرون في شيء بالغ الأهمية مثل صحتنا ، فلا توجد طريقة لنهرب من الخوف.

الدين الحديث وإساءة استخدام السلطة

الدين هو مجال آخر أظهر إساءة استخدام السلطة ، ولكن في معظم الحالات ، تم تأسيس كل دين من قبل شخص تلقى وحيًا مباشرًا من الله. لم يقصدوا أبدًا أن تضاف بنية خلقها الإنسان بقواعد وعقائد إلى بساطة تعاليمهم. كحد أدنى ، كل دين يقول هناك شيئا ما، بعض الصلوات أو القواعد أو نوع من التأمل أو الممارسة الروحية التي يجب أن نقوم بها ، أو أننا مررنا بالصف الكهنوتي لنصل إلى الله.

للمضي قدمًا ، لقد علم الدين الغربي خطأً أننا ارتكبنا شيئًا خاطئًا ، وأننا "أخطأنا" ، وأنه يجب علينا التكفير عن ذلك. بالطبع ، لا توجد طريقة على الإطلاق لعدم العيش في خوف إذا صدقنا هذه الأشياء.

كل هذا خاطئ واستغلال للسلطة وضع الحجاب على الحقيقة ومعرفة من نحن حقًا. أخبرنا يسوع أننا أبناء وبنات الله مثله ، وأننا سنفعل أشياء أعظم منه ، وعلينا أن نعبد الله وليس له.

تم تحرير الكتاب المقدس بعد 300 عام من موت يسوع من قبل رجال ذوي غرور سعوا إلى إقامة نظام للقوة والسيطرة. قرروا ما هي الكتابات التي ستشمل الكتاب المقدس ، وتركوا بعض الكتابات عن قصد. أي منها تم استبعاده؟ تلك التي عززت كل واحد منا لكونه إلهيًا ، في شركة مع الله ، وابنًا أو ابنة لله تمامًا كما كان يسوع. فهم هذا يمنحنا القوة ويجعل أدوارهم غير ضرورية.

يمنعنا خوفنا ومعتقداتنا الصارمة من التفكير في المعلومات الجديدة التي يمكن أن تغير بشكل كبير كيف نرى أنفسنا والله. على سبيل المثال ، تحدث يسوع باللغة الآرامية ، ومعاني الكلمات في الآرامية مختلفة كثيرًا عما تُرجم إلى اليونانية وفي النهاية إلى الإنجليزية. "الخطيئة" تعني في الأصل "الخطأ" في الآرامية ، بينما "التوبة" كانت "انعطف في الاتجاه الآخر". "عكس الاتجاه الآخر من أخطائك" لهجة ومعنى مختلف تمامًا عن "توبوا عن خطاياكم" ، لكن هذه المعلومات ليست متاحة على نطاق واسع.

يرتبط الدين والخوف والله ارتباطًا وثيقًا ، ولا نفهم مدى قوة تأثير ذلك علينا ، خاصة في العالم الغربي ، حتى لو لم نمارس الدين أو أي نوع من الروحانيات أو حتى نؤمن بالله . بغض النظر عن مدى فهمنا للحب أن يكون الله من الناحية المفاهيمية ، إذا كان لدينا أي ذرة من الإيمان بأننا ولدنا بالخطيئة وأن الله سيحكم علينا ويعاقبنا ، فسوف نخاف الله بشكل عام وخاصة ما سيحدث عند الموت. هذا هو الحال سواء كنا أصوليًا دينيًا ، أو شخصًا روحيًا للغاية ، وحتى بالنسبة لأولئك الذين لا يؤمنون بإله أو بقوة أعلى ، لأنه متأصل في المجموعة التي نحن جميعًا جزء منها.

إعطاء قوتنا بعيدا

نحن نتنازل عن قوتنا لأننا نعيش في عقلية الضحية ونريد من السلطات الحاكمة أو الشركات أو السلطات الدينية أو المؤسسة الطبية الاهتمام بجميع احتياجاتنا وإخبارنا بما يجب فعله لإصلاح مشاكلنا. هذا يؤدي إلى إساءة استخدام السلطة لأن هذه السلطات مستعدة فقط لأخذ سلطتنا إذا سلمناها إليهم.

كما نمنح قوتنا للأفراد أو الجماعات التي نحن جزء منها. يمكن أن يشمل ذلك الزوج أو الرئيس أو المجموعة التي تؤثر على معتقداتنا. نمنحهم قوتنا لأننا نريد موافقتهم أو لأننا نخاف منهم ، كما هو الحال في موقف مسيء. ومع ذلك ، فإن عدم التمكين يؤدي إلى مزيد من الخوف. لا أحد يستطيع أن يكون له سلطة علينا إلا إذا نحن اعطيهم القوة علينا.

من المفيد أن نفهم سبب إساءة استخدام الآخرين للسلطة. هذا يمكننا من البقاء في تعاطف منفتح ، مما يجعلنا بعيدين عن الخوف. قال كارل يونغ ، "حيث يسود الحب ، لا توجد إرادة للسلطة ؛ وحيث تسود القوة هناك نقص في الحب. واحد هو ظل البعض."

الوجبات الرئيسية

لا أحد لديه سلطة علينا
ما لم نمنحهم تلك القوة.
عدم التمكين يمكن أن يؤدي فقط إلى الخوف.

انعكاس

هل تتنازل عن قوتك من خلال تولي شخص ما أو سلطة ما
أعلم أكثر منك وسيعتني بك؟

مقتبس من الفصل الثالث من كتاب عن الخوف 
حقوق التأليف والنشر 2020. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
الناشر: One Hearted Publishing.

المادة المصدر

كتاب عن الخوف: الشعور بالأمان في عالم مليء بالتحديات
بواسطة لورانس دوتشين

كتاب عن الخوف: الشعور بالأمان في عالم مليء بالتحديات بقلم لورانس دوتشينحتى لو كان كل من حولنا في حالة خوف ، فلا يجب أن تكون هذه تجربتنا الشخصية. من المفترض أن نعيش بفرح لا في خوف. من خلال أخذنا في رحلة على قمة الشجرة من خلال فيزياء الكم وعلم النفس والفلسفة والروحانية والمزيد ، كتاب عن الخوف يعطينا الأدوات والوعي لمعرفة من أين يأتي خوفنا. عندما نرى كيف تم إنشاء أنظمة معتقداتنا ، وكيف أنها تقيدنا ، وما أصبحنا مرتبطين به يخلق الخوف ، فسوف نتعرف على أنفسنا على مستوى أعمق. ثم يمكننا اتخاذ خيارات مختلفة لتحويل مخاوفنا. تتضمن نهاية كل فصل تمرينًا بسيطًا مقترحًا يمكن إجراؤه بسرعة ولكن ذلك سيحول القارئ إلى حالة فورية أعلى من الوعي حول موضوع ذلك الفصل.

لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب ، انقر هنا.

المزيد من الكتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف.

عن المؤلف

لورانس دوتشينلورانس دوتشين هو مؤلف ورجل أعمال وزوج وأب مخلصان. نجا من الاعتداء الجنسي المروع في مرحلة الطفولة ، سافر في رحلة طويلة من الشفاء العاطفي والروحي وطور فهمًا عميقًا لكيفية خلق معتقداتنا لواقعنا. في عالم الأعمال ، عمل أو ارتبط بمؤسسات من الشركات الصغيرة إلى الشركات متعددة الجنسيات. وهو أحد مؤسسي HUSO للعلاج الصوتي ، والذي يقدم فوائد علاجية قوية للأفراد والمهنيين في جميع أنحاء العالم. في كل ما يفعله لورانس ، يسعى جاهداً لخدمة مصلحة أعلى. كتابه الجديد كتاب عن الخوف: الشعور بالأمان في عالم مليء بالتحديات. معرفة المزيد في LawrenceDoochin.com
 

المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

الاسم الاول:البريد الإلكتروني:
 

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

إلهام ماري تي راسل اليومي

أصوات INNERSELF

10 أسباب لماذا يعاني الرجال
10 أسباب لماذا يعاني الرجال
by باري Vissell
انتهيت مؤخرًا من قيادة معتكف للرجال عبر الإنترنت. أصبح كل واحد منا ضعيفًا للغاية و ، ...
علاج شقرا الشفاء: الرقص نحو البطل الداخلي
علاج شقرا الشفاء: الرقص نحو البطل الداخلي
by غلين بارك
مشاهدة رقص الفلامنكو متعة. راقص الفلامنكو الجيد ينضح بثقة كبيرة بالنفس ...
هل ندخل عصر الروح القدس؟
هل ندخل عصر الروح القدس؟
by ريتشارد سمولي
ربما لن يكون كهنة عصر الآب ، الذين تركز عملهم على الذبيحة ، ...
صدق في عبقريتك: امنح نفسك سمعة ترقى إلى مستوى!
صدق في عبقريتك: امنح نفسك سمعة ترقى إلى مستوى!
by آلان كوهين
ربما في وقت مبكر من حياتك تبنت فكرة عن نفسك حددت فيها أنك صغير ، قبيح ، ...
لمس الروح لفترة وجيزة في الشكل: حكمة من دام نفسه
لمس الروح لفترة وجيزة في الشكل: حكمة من دام نفسه
by نانسي الرياح
عندما خاضت في الماء البارد ، لاحظت جسم بركة زرقاء تطفو على ...
كيف تخطط وتجري جنازة منزلية
كيف تخطط وتجري جنازة منزلية
by إليزابيث فورنييه
كتب لي ويبستر ، الرئيس الفخري للتحالف الوطني للجنازة المنزلية ، "الجنازات المنزلية ...
أسبوع الأبراج: 29 مارس - 4 أبريل 2021
أسبوع الأبراج الحالي: 29 مارس - 4 أبريل 2021
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
تستند هذه المجلة الفلكية الأسبوعية إلى تأثيرات الكواكب ، وتقدم وجهات نظر و ...
ترك رحلة الشفاء مع التأمل على مستوى الخلية
ترك رحلة الشفاء مع التأمل على مستوى الخلية
by باري غروندلاند ، دكتوراه في الطب ، وباتريشيا كاي ، ماساتشوستس
التأمل على مستوى الخلية هو وسيلة لإيجاد طريقنا إلى "المنزل". نأخذ أنفاسنا إلى خلايانا ، ...

الأكثر قراءة

القاعدة الأولى لنجاح التأمل: لا تحكم بما يفعله الآخرون
القاعدة الأولى لنجاح التأمل: لا تحكم بما يفعله الآخرون
by ج. دونالد والترز
كم من الوقت يجب أن تتأمل؟ القاعدة الأولى هي ، لا تحكم بما يفعله الآخرون. ما الذي يعمل بشكل جيد ...
تاريخ غريب جدا من عيد الفصح الأرنب
التاريخ الغريب جدا لأرنب عيد الفصح
by كاتي إدواردز ، جامعة شيفيلد
أثناء قيامك بقضم رؤوس أرانب الشوكولاتة في نهاية هذا الأسبوع ، قد تتساءل عن كيفية رسم الرسوم المتحركة ...
تقنيات أحلام اليقظة التي يمكن أن تساعد في بناء مستقبلك
تقنيات أحلام اليقظة التي يمكن أن تساعد في بناء مستقبلك
by سيرج كاهيلي كينج
من السهل المبالغة في تبسيط أحلام اليقظة بالقول إن كل ما عليك فعله هو تخيل شيء ما ، ولكن ...
الإجهاد المشي: خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح
المشي الحماسي: خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح
by كارولين سكوت Kortge
في كثير من الأحيان نتعامل مع التمرين على أنه مجرد مهمة أخرى - ربما حتى عبء. نحن نفعل ذلك لأننا ...
الرقم صفر (0) في حياتك ببعض المساعدة من شفاء الأحجار
الرقم صفر (0) في حياتك ببعض المساعدة من شفاء الأحجار
by إيدثا ويست وسابين شيفرلي
قال عالم الرياضيات الأمريكي روبرت كابلان ذات مرة: "إذا نظرت إلى الصفر ، فلن ترى شيئًا. لكن انظر…
لماذا يحاول الناس القيادة عبر مياه الفيضانات أو يغادرون بعد فوات الأوان ليهربوا؟
لماذا يحاول الناس القيادة عبر مياه الفيضانات أو يغادرون بعد فوات الأوان للهروب
by جاري ستيفنز وآخرون
على الرغم من التحذير من خطورة ظروف الطريق ، قام بعض الأشخاص بقيادة سياراتهم من خلال ...
عمليات بسيطة للتوافق مع طاقة الحب والرحمة
عمليات بسيطة للتوافق مع طاقة الحب والرحمة
by روز Sharron
بينما تمارس هذه التمارين ، هدايا بسيطة من الإيمان والمحبة والصبر والوداعة واللطف ...
الآسيويون يجيدون الرياضيات؟ لماذا خلع الملابس حتى العنصرية كمجاملة لا تضيف ما يصل
الآسيويون يجيدون الرياضيات؟ لماذا خلع الملابس حتى العنصرية كمجاملة لا تضيف ما يصل
by نيرال شاه
على السطح ، تبدو قصة "الآسيويون بارعون في الرياضيات" وكأنها مجاملة. بعد كل شيء ، ما ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Giving Away Your Power? Going From Fear to Empowerment

silhouette of a boy holding an adult's hand, with a background of colorful handprints on the wall

Image by Gerd Altmann.  Audio by Lawrence Doochin.

Video version

I am not interested in power for power’s sake,
but I’m interested in 
power that is moral,
that 
is right and that is good.”

-- MARTIN LUTHER KING JR.

True power is used for the benefit of everyone because it comes from a unitive perspective and an understanding that we are all in this together. Ego power is fear-based and is used solely to benefit the person or group in power. It arises from a separatist perspective based on domination of others and the hoarding of wealth and resources.

Fear-based ego power rarely serves even the interests of a specific constituency, and certainly not the interests of humanity as a whole. This type of ego power and control is central to our world today and operates through most monetary and political systems such as democracy, fascism, monarchy, capitalism, communism, and socialism, as well as many religions.

In theory many of these systems sound ideal, but in practice they are corrupt and controlled by individuals seeking wealth and power. Since our world operates from this type of ego power, it is way out of balance.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


When Power Is Misused...

When power is misused, there is an imbalance in the relationship between those who have the power and misuse it and those on whom the power is being enforced. The former are operating from fear, while the latter are also in fear because they believe they have no choice or feel that submitting will be the easiest path. Others believe they will be rewarded for fitting in.

For instance, in the workplace many in both small to large companies have a constant underlying fear of getting fired, and some managers or leaders play this to their advantage to get extra work. Many companies run their supplier relationships based on fear. “You cut prices by 10%, or you are out.” In public companies, this culture of fear starts from the top with the board of directors and the CEO and it extends to shareholders because we have a dysfunctional and shortsighted system where success is measured almost exclusively by a quarterly financial result.

Many of the tech companies and others, such as early stage companies, breed a different kind of fear. This fear is over not being the best, coupled with fear over falling behind and not achieving what everyone else is achieving. I was on a plane with this young guy who worked with one of the top three tech companies. He said that almost everyone works on the weekends because they see others doing it and fear falling behind.

An “Us and Them” Versus “We”

We all know the extreme divisiveness that we have seen with our current political system. It is an “us and them” versus “we” perspective, which can only breed fear. Regardless of political affiliation, we have given our power away to our elected officials by believing that they have our best interests at heart, and this is usually not the case even though some may have entered politics to help people.

Why do we keep electing the same officials who have clearly shown that they are in office to benefit themselves? 

When we are in fear, we just want someone like the governing authorities to take it away, and we will do anything, including believing what we are told without questioning it, to make this happen. We agree to certain things we would never have agreed to if we weren’t in fear, which is what happened after 9-11 and will likely happen after the coronavirus crisis. Because the information and restrictions gradually ramp up, we are like the frog in the pot who is mesmerized and is boiled alive as the temperature of the water slowly rises.

Taking Charge of Our Health

We have also given our power away in terms of our health. Western medicine is excellent in areas such as broken bones or a tumor that needs to be removed, but it has struggled with more gray areas such as chronic illness, which has seen an exponential rise in the last 30 years.

Many have turned to alternative medicine, since they have not received solutions from conventional medicine. The latter trains health professionals in a very narrow niche. Treatment is usually a prescription medication which is targeted to symptom relief and often has multiple side effects. This is fundamentally different from addressing the underlying cause of the illness.

Our health professionals are well intentioned, but they often do not have answers for many of the health challenges we are now facing. I am not advocating going away from conventional medicine by any means and I will use it where I feel it’s appropriate. What I am suggesting is taking your power into your own hands by doing your own research.

When we are open to receiving information from any source that could help us, the Universe will provide this. This could mean any number of things, but each of us needs to know that we need to be the ones in control.

Personally, I had been very healthy until recently but began noticing that my blood pressure was spiking and I was also having bad headaches in the center of my head. I asked my physician to write an order for an MRI, and this ruled out a tumor, but I was shown that my blood vessels are genetically smaller than normal.

I have addressed all of my issues very successfully through a large reduction in sodium, taking certain supplements that help with high blood pressure, and really watching how my thoughts create extra stress. I did not find a health professional, alternative or conventional, that told me to do these things, but I worked this out on my own using intuition, knowledge (like results of the MRI), trying several approaches, and logic.

Giving Our Power Away to Health Professionals

Unfortunately, what I did is the exception. Not only have many given their power away to health professionals and have automatically followed what they say, but we also have a certain subset of people who welcome the attention that being sick brings them and who have made illness their identity. It is classic victim thinking, which is the ultimate way we give our power away. Marketing now plays to this, as if somehow it can be glamorous or cool to be sick. Many want a prescription to solve every health issue because they want a quick fix to these issues.

The health industry is one manifestation of how business and our society has veered off course and how distorted things have become. Health should be based on a proactive versus a reactive model. We all know the horror stories with insurance. When we live in a world where decisions are totally illogical and based on profit, and where others have control of something as critical as our health, there is no way we will escape fear.

Modern Religion and the Abuse of Power

Religion is another area that has demonstrated abuse of power, but in most cases each religion was founded by someone who received direct revelation from God. They would never have intended for a man-created structure with rules and dogmas to be added to the simplicity of their teachings. At a minimum, each religion says there is some thing, some prayer or rule or type of meditation or spiritual practice we have to do, or that we have go through the priestly class, to reach God.

Going further, Western religion has falsely taught that we have done something wrong, that we have “sinned,” and that we must do a penance to atone for this. Of course, there is absolutely no way not to live in fear if we believe these things.

All of this is false and an abuse of power that has put a veil over the truth and the knowledge of who we really are. Jesus told us that we are sons and daughters of God like him, that we would do greater things than him, and that we should worship God, not him.

The Bible was edited 300 years after the death of Jesus by men with egos who strived to establish a system of power and control. They decided what writings would comprise the Bible, and they left out certain ones on purpose. Which ones were left out? The ones which further reinforced each of us being divine, in communion with God, a son or daughter of God just as Jesus was. Understanding this would give us power and make their roles unnecessary.

Our fear and rigid beliefs stop us from considering new information that could dramatically alter how we see ourselves and God. For instance, Jesus spoke Aramaic, and the meanings of words in Aramaic are far different than what was translated into Greek and eventually into English. “Sin” originally meant “error” in Aramaic, while “repent” was “turn the other way.” “Turn the other way from your errors” has a completely different tone and meaning from “repent of your sins,” but this information is not widely available.

Religion, fear, and God are closely intertwined, and we don’t understand how powerful an effect this has on us, especially in the Western world, even if we don’t practice religion, any type of spirituality, or even believe in God. Regardless of how loving we understand God to be conceptually, if we hold any shred of belief that we were born in sin and that God will judge and punish us, we will fear God in general and especially what will happen at death. This is the case whether we are a religious fundamentalist, a highly spiritual person, and even for those who profess no belief in a God or a higher power, because it is ingrained in the collective of which we are all a part.

Giving Our Power Away

We give our power away because we are in victim mentality and we want the governing authorities, corporations, religious authorities, or the medical establishment to take care of all of our needs and tell us what to do in order to fix our problems. This leads to abuses of power because these authorities are only too willing to take our power if we hand it to them.

We also give our power away to individuals or groups that we are a part of. This can include a spouse, a boss, or a group that influences our beliefs. We give our power to them because we want their approval or because we fear them, as in an abusive situation. However, being disempowered leads to more fear. No one can have power over us unless we give them power over us.

It is helpful to understand why others abuse power. This enables us to stay in open-hearted compassion, which keeps us out of fear. Carl Jung said, “Where love rules, there is no will to power; and where power predominates, there love is lacking. The one is the shadow of the other.”

MAIN TAKEAWAY

No one has power over us
unless we give them that power.
Being disempowered can only lead to fear.

REFLECTION

Do you give your power away by assuming someone or some authority
knows more than you and will take care of you?

Excerpted from Chapter 3 of "A Book on Fear" 
Copyright 2020. All Rights Reserved.
Publisher : One-Hearted Publishing.

Article Source

A Book On Fear: Feeling Safe In A Challenging World
by Lawrence Doochin

A Book On Fear: Feeling Safe In A Challenging World by Lawrence DoochinEven if everyone around us is in fear, this doesn't have to be our personal experience. We are meant to live in joy, not in fear. By taking us on a treetop journey through quantum physics, psychology, philosophy, spirituality, and more, A Book On Fear gives us tools and awareness to see where our fear comes from. When we see how our belief systems were created, how they limit us, and what we have become attached to that creates fear, we will come to know ourselves at a deeper level. Then we can make different choices to transform our fears. The end of each chapter includes a suggested simple exercise that can be done quickly but that will shift the reader into an immediate higher state of awareness about that chapter’s topic.

For more info and/or to order this book, click here.

More books by this Author.

About the Author

Lawrence DoochinLawrence Doochin is an author, entrepreneur, and devoted husband and father. A survivor of harrowing childhood sexual abuse, he traveled a long journey of emotional and spiritual healing and developed an in-depth understanding of how our beliefs create our reality. In the business world, he has worked for, or been associated with, enterprises from small startups to multinational corporations. He is the cofounder of HUSO sound therapy, which delivers powerful healing benefits to individual and professionals worldwide. In everything Lawrence does, he strives to serve a higher good. His new book is A Book on Fear: Feeling Safe in a Challenging World. Learn more at LawrenceDoochin.com
 

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

First name:E-mail:
 

{emailcloak=off}

DAILY INSPIRATION

citizen of the world dress
Daily Inspiration: March 6, 2021
It is said that when someone asked Socrates what country he was from, his response was "of the…
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
There's no need to run away, or run to others for answers. Close your eyes and talk to your Self...
InnerSelf.com Daily Inspiration: March 4, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 4, 2021
When we think of greed, we usually think about money and material possessions. However, greed can…

INNERSELF VOICES

We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
by Pierre Pradervand
How I see my life path is a choice I make minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day… And this…
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
by James Endredy
For most people, walking is an activity that requires no thought or intention -- it is rarely even…
Young girl sitting surrounded by lots of book of various colors
How to Recognize Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
by Thom Hartmann
ADHD is not an all-or-nothing diagnosis. There appears to be a curve of behaviors and personality…
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
by Bridgit Dengel Gaspard
You may not think you have a core negative belief, but if you’re mysteriously stuck, one or two…
Scrabble letters that spell out: NO HATE
Vaccination or No Vaccination? That Is Not the Question Here...
by Joyce Vissell
This is not an article about the benefits of getting a vaccination. Nor is it an article about not…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
Photo of aurora and moon by Markus Varik on February 22, 2021, Tromsø Norway
Horoscope Current Week: March 1 - 7, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…

MOST READ

silhouette of a woman's head and it is disintegrating
Letting Go of All Perceived Pain, Ignorance, and Fear
by Alexis I. Jordan
Thank you, infinite goodness, for your bounteous gifts, including peace, love, freedom and joy,…
Transformation: Taking Back our Power from People and Parasites
Transformation: Taking Back our Power from People and Parasites
by Vir McCoy and Kara Zahl
I believe that both Lyme disease and parasites are teaching us to love ourselves, claim our power,…
picture of colorful fireworks in the sky
Cancer Meditation and Cancer Medication: A Powerful Combination
by Joyce Whiteley Hawkes
Each cell has its own biological clock that controls its individual rate of repair, replication,…
Emotions and Your Moon Sign
How To Deal with Your Emotions According To Your Moon Sign
by Donna Cunningham
The Moon, in the astrological chart, can help us understand how we deal with our emotions. It shows…
a model standing on a runway facing her shadow... all in green
Befriending the Shadow: Transforming Darkness Into Light
by Robert Ohotto
When we don't recognize or accept certain parts of our own nature - positive and negative - we'll…
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
by Vicky Armstrong
Many of us may be looking to art activities to keep children busy while at home. If you are, I want…
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
by Barry Sultanoff, MD.
We came into this world with special "buttons" pre-installed. These "buttons" are specific spots on…
boy covering up his face as if afraid of the tall city landscape behind him
Awakening to the Power of Healing Our Core Wounds
by Lisa Tahir
It is our human condition to experience wounding on the earthly plane of existence. It is our…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.