كيف يمكن فهم أكثر ما يخشاه الناس أن يساعد في منع الكوارث

كيف يمكن فهم أكثر ما يخشاه الناس أن يساعد في منع الكوارث تهديد فوري. شترستوك.

لقد مر أكثر من أربع سنوات على زلزال 7.8 الذي بلغت قوته المدن النيبالية المدمرة، تحصد الآلاف من الأرواح. منذ ذلك الحين ، كان هناك الآلاف من الهزات الارتدادية. لكن عندما تحدثت مع سكان بهاراتبور - رابع أكبر مدينة في نيبال - كجزء من بحثي المستمر ، بدءًا من 2014 ، فوجئت باكتشاف أنهم أكثر قلقًا بشأن هجمات الحيوانات البرية من احتمال حدوث زلزال آخر شديد الضخامة.

فهم ما يقلق الناس أمر حيوي للتحضير للمخاطر الطبيعية مثل الزلازل وتخفيف آثارها. لمنع الكوارث ، يتعين على السكان المحليين والسلطات البلدية والحكومات الوطنية أن تسير في نفس الاتجاه - خاصةً عندما تكون الميزانيات منخفضة للتخطيط للكوارث. ولكن إذا شعر السكان بأن مخاوفهم اليومية يتم تجاهلها من قبل أولئك الموجودين في السلطة ، فقد ينفصلون ، مما يترك السلطات غير قادرة على التأثير في سلوكهم في وقت الأزمات.

طوال بحثي في الطريقة التي تحكم بها المدن ، لقد حققت في ما يقلق الناس ، وكيف يتعاملون ، وكيف يثيرون مخاوفهم ، وما الدور الذي تلعبه السلطات المحلية في معالجتها. لقد وجدت باستمرار أن الناس لا يميلون إلى القلق بشأن الأشياء التي لا يمكنهم منعها أو السيطرة عليها. وحتى الآن ، لم تقم الحكومات المحلية والوطنية بعمل جيد في إدراك ذلك.

عالم من المخاوف

سكان Bharatpur (التي يبلغ عدد سكانها 300,000) لم تقلق بشأن الزلازل. الحقيقة هي ، بهم الخبرات والعلاقات اليومية تكون صعبة ومليئة بالتوتر - لذلك فهي أكثر اهتمامًا بالمخاطر والتغييرات المباشرة من اهتمامها بالتهديد غير الواضح لخطر طبيعي.

على سبيل المثال ، كان السكان الذين تحدثت إليهم قلقين من الحيوانات البرية - وخاصة النمور وحيد القرن - لمهاجمة الناس في الغابة أثناء تجمعهم الحطب لمنازلهم. هذا تهديد حقيقي: عندما زرت بهاراتبور في 2017 ، اكتشفت أنه في وقت سابق من العام كان هناك هجوم نمطي قاتل في وضح النهار على نفس الطريق الترابي حيث قابلت مشاركين لأبحاث الدكتوراه في 2014 / 15.

سكان قلق أيضا حول التغييرات في حدود البلدية التي ستؤثر على وصولهم إلى الخدمات الحكومية. أدت التغييرات الإدارية في المدينة إلى إعادة تخصيص التمويل من المناطق الحضرية السريعة إلى الأجزاء الريفية من المدينة ، والتي تفتقر إلى البنية التحتية الأساسية (الكهرباء والطرق المعبدة).

كيف يمكن فهم أكثر ما يخشاه الناس أن يساعد في منع الكوارث مدينة بهاراتبور سريعة النمو. حنا روسكزيك, مؤلف المنصوص


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ما هو أكثر من ذلك ، تقوم السلطات المحلية برفع الضرائب في 2019 ، مما يترك أولئك الذين لديهم القليل من المال يكافحون من أجل دفع ثمن الخدمات التي كانت مجانية من قبل ، بالإضافة إلى إطعام أسرهم ودفع الرسوم المدرسية.

ومع ذلك ، فإن صناع السياسة والمسؤولين الحكوميين على جميع المستويات يتجاهلون أو يقللون من مخاوف السكان بشأن هجمات الحيوانات البرية ، وإعادة تخصيص التمويل البلدي واحتمال زيادة الضرائب ، عند تقرير المخاطر التي يتعين معالجتها في مدنهم. تركز السلطات المحلية بشكل أكبر على رصف الطرق في جميع أنحاء المدينة - وهو تحسن ملحوظ يُظهر أنها "تفعل شيئًا" - بدلاً من معالجة الاستمرارية الكاملة للمخاطر الحضرية.

من المهم أن نلاحظ أن هناك لا شيء طبيعي عن الكوارث. تحدث الأخطار الطبيعية مثل الزلازل وموجات المد والانفجارات البركانية بشكل متكرر في جميع أنحاء العالم. لكن الكوارث تحدث فقط عندما يترك الناس يتعرض والضعف للأخطار الطبيعية - التي يجب تخفيفها من خلال بناء أكثر أمانًا ، وتخطيط وإعداد أفضل.

بتجاهل مخاوف السكان اليومية ، تخاطر الحكومات بفقدان ثقتهم ، الأمر الذي قد يزيد من خطر وقوع كارثة حيث ينفصل السكان عن المبادرات الحكومية الهادفة إلى تخفيف المخاطر الطبيعية.

أسمع وتعلم

In ورقة جديدة، من المقرر نشره كجزء من 2019 United Nations تقرير التقييم العالمي للحد من مخاطر الكوارث، أشرح سبب أهمية الاستماع وإدراج آراء السكان والسلطات المحلية عندما تفكر الحكومات الوطنية والجهات المانحة ووكالات الأمم المتحدة في كيفية إدارة المخاطر في المدن.

تقع السلطات المحلية على خط المواجهة وهي مسؤولة بشكل متزايد عن إدارة مجموعة كاملة من المخاطر والأخطار الحضرية - من الدقة الاقتصادية التي تجبر الشباب النيبالي على العمل في الخارج ، إلى التدهور البيئي بما في ذلك عدم معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي والتوسع الحضري السريع الذي يؤدي إلى خصوبة الأراضي الزراعية التي بنيت عليها. والقائمة مستمرة.

من المهم إدراك هذه المجموعة الواسعة من المخاطر للمحادثات العالمية الجارية بين الحكومات الوطنية ومؤسسات الأمم المتحدة. كيف يعرّف هؤلاء القادة المخاطر يمكن أن يقرر كيف تتصرف الحكومات على المستوى الدولي والوطني وحتى البلدي.

ما هو أكثر من ذلك ، إذا لم يتم تضمين تصورات السكان المحليين للمخاطر في قرارات السياسة الوطنية ، فإن هذا يحدد ويحد فعليًا من المخاطر التي تدار بالفعل محليًا. وهذا يؤدي إلى ترك مخاوف الناس تُتجاهل ولا تُعالج - ويصابون بالإحباط والانسحاب.

وفقا للأمم المتحدة ، نحن يعيشون الآن في عالم حضري، لذلك يجب علينا جميعًا بذل الجهود لفهم تعقيد التحديات التي تواجه المدن بشكل أفضل ، واستمرار المخاطر في نيبال وجميع الأماكن الأخرى سريعة التحضر في العالم. وهذا يشمل الاستماع إلى سكان المدن.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

حنا روسكزيك ، أستاذ مساعد ، جامعة دورهام

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = fear and worry؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

How Understanding What People Fear Most Can Help Prevent Disasters

How Understanding What People Fear Most Can Help Prevent Disasters An immediate threat. Shutterstock.

It’s been more than four years since a magnitude 7.8 earthquake devastated Nepalese cities, claiming thousands of lives. Since then, there have been thousands of aftershocks. Yet when I spoke with residents of Bharatpur – Nepal’s fourth largest city – as part of my ongoing research, beginning in 2014, I was surprised to discover they were more concerned about wild animal attacks than the prospect of another high-magnitude quake.

Understanding what people worry about is crucial to preparing for natural hazards such as earthquakes and mitigating their effects. To prevent disasters, local people, municipal authorities and national governments all need to pull in the same direction – especially when budgets are low for disaster planning. But if residents feel that their everyday fears are ignored by those in power, they may disengage, leaving authorities unable to influence their behaviour in a time of crisis.

Throughout my research into the way cities are governed, I have investigated what people worry about, how they cope, how they raise their concerns and what role local authorities play in addressing them. I have consistently found that people tend not to worry about things they cannot prevent or control. And so far, local and national governments haven’t done a good job of recognising this.

A world of worries

Residents of Bharatpur (which has a population of 300,000) did not worry about earthquakes. The fact is, their everyday experiences and relationships are difficult and filled with tension – so they’re more concerned with immediate dangers and changes than with the indistinct threat of a natural hazard.

For example, the residents I spoke to were worried about wild animals – specifically tigers and rhinos – attacking people in the forest as they gathered firewood for their homes. This is a real threat: when I visited Bharatpur in 2017, I discovered that earlier in the year there had been a deadly tiger attack in broad daylight on the same dirt road where I had interviewed participants for my PhD research in 2014/15.

Residents also worried about changes to municipal boundaries that will affect their access to government services. Administrative changes in the city have led to a reallocation of funding from rapidly urbanising areas to the rural parts of the city, which lack the most basic infrastructure (electricity and paved roads).

How Understanding What People Fear Most Can Help Prevent Disasters The fast-growing city of Bharatpur. Hanna Ruszczyk, Author provided


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


What’s more, the local authority is raising taxes in 2019, which leaves those with very little money struggling to pay for services that were free before, on top of feeding their families and paying for school uniforms.

Yet policy makers and government officials at all levels ignore or discount residents’ fears about wild animal attacks, reallocation of municipal funding and the prospect of increasing taxes, when deciding what risks to address in their cities. Local authorities are more focused on paving roads throughout the city – a visible improvement which shows they are “doing something” – rather than addressing the full continuum of urban risk.

It’s important to note that there is nothing natural about disasters. Natural hazards such as earthquakes, tsunamis and volcanic eruptions happen frequently around the world. But disasters only occur when people are left exposed and vulnerable to natural hazards – which should be mitigated through safer building, better planning and preparation.

By ignoring residents’ everyday fears, governments risk losing their trust, which could increase the risk of disaster as residents disengage from government initiatives aimed at mitigating natural hazards.

Listen and learn

In a new paper, due to be published as part of the 2019 United Nations’ global assessment report for disaster risk reduction, I explain why it’s crucial to listen and include the views of residents and local authorities when national governments, donors and United Nations agencies think about how to manage risk in cities.

Local authorities are on the front line and are increasingly responsible for managing the full range of urban risks and hazards – from the economic precarity that forces young Nepali men to work abroad, to environmental degradation including lack of sewage treatment and rapid urbanisation which leads to fertile agricultural land being built on. And the list continues.

Recognising this wider range of risks is important for global conversations taking place between national governments and United Nations organisations. How these leaders define risk can decide how governments act on an international, national and even municipal level.

What’s more, if local people’s perceptions of risk are not included in national policy decisions, this shapes and actually limits what risks are actually managed locally. This leads to people’s worries being left ignored and unaddressed – and they become disenchanted and disengaged.

According to the United Nations, we are now living in an urban world, so we should all make the effort to better understand the complexity of challenges facing cities, and the continuum of risks in Nepal and all the other fast-urbanising places in the world. This includes listening to cities’ residents.The Conversation

About The Author

Hanna Ruszczyk, Assistant Professor, Durham University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=fear and worry;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}