لماذا يعتقد البعض أن الخدع التاجية

لماذا يعتقد بعض الناس خدع الفيروس التاجي أعطى مضيف FOX News شون هانيتي (في الصورة هنا في 2018) مصداقية لتغريدة قرأها في برنامجه الإذاعي الشعبي المشترك ، والذي وصف COVID-19 بأنه "احتيال" لنشر الذعر في الجماهير والتلاعب بالاقتصاد وقمع المعارضة ". AP / جولي جاكوبسون

بينما يستمر العالم في التعامل مع آثار تغير الحياة من الفيروس التاجي الجديد ، كان عدد صغير ولكن ليس ضئيلًا من الأفراد يعبرون عن مخاوفهم بشأن COVID-19 من خلال لغة المؤامرات الحكومية والعلاجات الصحية البديلة البرية.

في الأسبوع الماضي ، أشارت إحدى شبكات المؤامرة عبر الإنترنت إلى أن COVID-19 هو عمل إرهابي بيولوجي لمهاجمة التجارة الصينية. في الشهر الماضي ، قال موقع شهير على الإنترنت إن الفيروس كان خدعة مصنعة لإثارة مخاوف عالمية ، وبالتالي سيكون بمثابة نعمة لبيغ فارما. موقع إلكتروني مقره في تورونتو يدعي أن COVID-19 هو نتيجة شبكات خلوية 5G بالإضافة إلى نزلات البرد.

Press TV ، جزء من وسائل الإعلام التي ترعاها الدولة في إيران ، اقترح "الصهاينة" كانوا وراء الانتشار. في الآونة الأخيرة حتى الأسبوع الماضي ، استمر بعض المسؤولين الحكوميين في حكومة الولايات المتحدة تهوين خطورة الفيروس.

كما ذكرت من قبل نيويورك تايمز, مضيف إذاعي شعبي حديث المحافظ راش ليمبو وصف الفيروس بأنه "مؤامرة من الصينيين" ، وقام المعلق المحافظ ومضيف قناة FOX TV Sean Hannity بقراءة واعطاء مصداقية لتغريدة تصف COVID-19 بأنها احتيال "لنشر الذعر في الجماهير والتلاعب بالاقتصاد وقمع المعارضة".

لماذا تم تداول نظريات المؤامرة بسهولة خلال جائحة COVID-19؟ ما هو نوع الشخص الذي يعتقد نظريات المؤامرة الطبية؟

أنا أبحث عن حركات دينية جديدة. قررت استكشاف هذا السؤال بسبب انتشار التفكير التآمري في بعض هذه المجتمعات. ماذا يمكن أن يخبرنا الإيمان بالنظريات البديلة عن أنفسنا؟

ما هي التحديات التي قد يقدمها التفكير التآمري ، التي يتم تداولها عبر الإنترنت وفي وسائل الإعلام الشعبية ، إلى دعاة الصحة العامة في العام المقبل؟


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


التآمر في عصر الفيروس التاجي

لماذا يعتقد البعض أن الخدع التاجيةبعد ست سنوات من قيام إيفانوفسكي بأول تجربة "فيروس" له ، استخدم العالم الهولندي مارتينوس ويليم بييرينك (في مختبره عام 1921) ، الذي يعمل بشكل مستقل في مختبره ، مصطلح الفيروس. مدرسة دلفت لأرشيفات علم الأحياء الدقيقة, CC BY

تزدهر نظريات المؤامرة التي تربط جائحة COVID-19 بدولة إسرائيل. يزعم أحد المصادر ، وهو جزء من مجتمع مؤامرات عالمي كبير ، أن الفيروس التاجي الجديد هو عمل إرهابي بيولوجي إسرائيلي.

تتبعت رابطة مكافحة التشهير في الولايات المتحدة ، وهي منظمة رائدة مناهضة للكراهية ، أ عدد متزايد من المؤامرات المعادية للسامية، التي تدعي أن اليهود إما وراء جائحة COVID-19 ، أو أنهم سيستفيدون منه.

لقد فعل اليهود تاريخيا تم إلقاء اللوم على الأحداث الفيروسية العالمية، بما في ذلك الموت الأسود في 1300s ، مما أدى إلى المذابح الضخمة ضد يهود أوروبا. ال السرد المشترك يذهب أن الناس في العصور الوسطى كانوا بحاجة إلى كبش فداء لأنهم لم يعرفوا عن نظرية جرثومة المرض. ومع ذلك ، بعد 130 سنة عالم الأحياء الدقيقة الروسي دميتري إيفانوفسكي والعالم الهولندي مارتينوس ويليم بييرينك (يعمل بشكل مستقل) اكتشف وجود الفيروسات ، واليهود يواصلون تحمل العبء الأكبر من اللوم المتآمر.

خدع في الطب البديل

لماذا يعتقد البعض أن الخدع التاجية صورة لجيم باكر يلقي خطبة عام 2005 في ولاية كارولينا الجنوبية. تتم مقاضاته من قبل ولاية ميسوري لبيعه علاج لـ COVID-19. لا يوجد مثل هذا العلاج. AP Photo / Charlotte Observer ، جيف سينر

الناس يبحثون عن الطب البديل لأسباب عديدة ، بما في ذلك عدم الثقة في السلطة ، الفردية التي تركز على المستهلك و الاعتقاد بأن العلاج سيعمل. على الرغم من عدم وجود لقاح للفيروس التاجي حاليًا ، إلا أن ذلك لم يوقف التليفزيوني جيم بيكر من بيع صبغته الفضية الغروية مقابل 125 دولارًا أمريكيًا للزجاجة. رفعت ولاية ميسوري دعوى قضائية ضد بكر يدعي مطالبات العلاج الاحتيالية.

ادعى أليكس جونز من Infowars أن منتجًا يسمى DNA Force Plus يمكن أن يساعد في محاربة COVID-19: إنه معروض حاليًا للبيع مقابل 89.95 دولارًا أمريكيًا لمدة شهر واحد. يقترح داعية مكمل شعبي آخر مزيجًا من أكثر من 11 مكملًا مختلفًا لمكافحة الفيروسات التاجية ، ويكلف أكثر من 170 دولارًا أمريكيًا في الشهر. العلاجات الأخرى المزعومة تشمل جرعات فيتامين ج ، وشفاء الإيمان لقاحات المثلية. لا يوجد دليل على أن أيًا من هذه الأعمال.

As يزداد الطلب على الطب البديلوجد باحثون كنديون مؤخرًا في عمليات الاحتيال على صحة الإنترنت أن معظم المنتجات البديلة التي يتم تسويقها عبر الإنترنت "إما أنها قدمت بشكل خاطئ بشدة فعالية المخاوف الصحية المعينة و / أو ليس لديه قاعدة أدلة علمية قوية لدعم استخدامها كما هو معلن".

منذ أن تم إعلان وباء عالمي ، هناك أدلة على أن الطلب على الطب البديل ازداد. بعض الطب البديل قد أثبتت فعاليتها، ولكن العديد من الخيارات التي يتم تسويقها اليوم لم تفعل ذلك. كما يكتب أستاذ قانون الصحة في تيموثي كولفيلد بجامعة ألبرتا: الثقة في العلم أمر حاسم الآن.

من يؤمن بنظريات المؤامرة؟

يمكن أن يكون التفكير التآمرى تأسست على مخاوف مشروعة ويتجاوز الحدود الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والعنصرية والتعليمية والجنسانية. وهذا يعقد نزعتنا إلى النظر إلى المؤامرات على أنها تديمها القبعات التي يرتديها الناس.

A عدد النظريات تم اقتراحها لحساب التفكير التآمري.

اكتشف علماء السياسة في جامعة شيكاغو إريك أوليفر وتوماس وود نظريات المؤامرة الطبية. وجدوا تقريبا يؤمن 50٪ من الأمريكيين بنظرية مؤامرة عامة واحدة على الأقل، وأكثر من 18 في المائة يؤمنون بثلاث مؤامرات طبية أو أكثر.

الكتابة في مجلة الجمعية الطبية الأمريكية للطب الباطنيكتب أوليفر وود:

"على الرغم من أنه من الشائع الاستخفاف بأتباع نظريات المؤامرة كهامش وهمية من السواعد بجنون العظمة ، تشير بياناتنا إلى أن نظريات المؤامرة الطبية معروفة على نطاق واسع ، ومدعومة على نطاق واسع وتتنبأ بشدة بالعديد من السلوكيات الصحية الشائعة".

ولعل تفسير الجاذبية الواسعة لهذه النظريات يشير إلى شيء أكثر جوهرية لتجربة كونك إنسانًا؟ عندما يتحدث الناس عن الحجر الصحي ، والتكديس ، والمؤامرات ، يمكنهم تجاهل الفيل في الغرفة: الموت.

يقترح البحث أن نستخدم مختلفة تقنيات الإدارة للتعامل مع رعب الموت. حيث يمكن أن يكون المرض بمثابة تذكير بمحدوديتنا ، يمكن لحلول الإدارة الصحية البسيطة أن تقدم لك الشعور بالاستقلالية على أجسادنا.

قد يفسر هذا السبب في أن بعض مواقع المؤامرة تقلل من أهمية COVID-19 للبالغين من خلال التركيز على شيخوخة الضحايا. وبعبارة أخرى ، فإن الأوبئة مخيفة ، وتذكرنا بأننا بشر.

حتى لو اقتصرت المؤامرات الطبية في الغالب على الهامش ، فإن آثار المعتقدات التآمرية على الصحة العامة قد يؤدي إلى تفاقم انتشار الفيروس. قد يستمر الناس في تجاهل أوامر الحجر الصحي. قد يصادف لقاح المستقبل ل COVID-19 ضد أ تزايد حركة مكافحة اللقاحات. سوف يستمر الناس في أن يكونوا تقبلا لخطاب مؤامرة مكافحة اللقاحات في سن COVID-19؟

يحاول منظرو المؤامرة ، مثلنا جميعًا ، فهم عالم معقد. إن امتلاك إحساس بالسيطرة على مصدر القوة غير الفعال - الذي يصف الفيروس التاجي الجديد بطرق عديدة - قد يتحدث إلى بعض مخاوفنا الجماعية ودوافعنا في مواجهة الوفيات. بعد كل شيء ، لا شيء يقدم دليلاً مباشراً على النضارة البشرية والضعف مثل الوباء الفيروسي.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جيريمي كوهين ، مرشح الدكتوراه ، الدراسات الدينية ، جامعة ماكماستر

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


تذكر مستقبلك
في الثالث من نوفمبر

أسلوب العم سام Smokey Bear Only You.jpg

تعرف على القضايا وما هو على المحك في الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية في 3 نوفمبر 2020.

قريبا جدا؟ لا تراهن على ذلك. القوى تتحد لمنعك من أن يكون لك رأي في مستقبلك.

هذا هو الكبير وهذه الانتخابات قد تكون لجميع الرخام. الابتعاد في خطر الخاص بك.

يمكنك فقط منع سرقة "المستقبل"

اتبع InnerSelf.com
"تذكر مستقبلك" تغطية


s

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)

Why Some People Believe Coronavirus Hoaxes

Why Some People Believe Coronavirus hoaxes FOX News host Sean Hannity (pictured here in 2018) gave credibility to a tweet he read out lout on his popular syndicated radio show, which called COVID-19 a fraud “to spread panic in the populace, manipulate the economy and suppress dissent.” AP/Julie Jacobson

As the world continues to deal with the life-altering effects of the novel coronavirus, a small but not-insignificant number of individuals have been expressing their fears about COVID-19 through the language of government conspiracies and wild alternative health cures.

Last week, one online conspiracy network suggested that COVID-19 is an act of biological terrorism to attack Chinese trade. Last month, a popular online site said the virus was a hoax manufactured to induce global fear and would therefore be a boon to Big Pharma. A website based in Toronto claims COVID-19 is the result of 5G cellular networks plus the common cold.

Press TV, part of the state sponsored media in Iran, suggested “Zionists” were behind the spread. As recently as last week, some public officials in the United States government continued to underplay the seriousness of the virus.

As reported by the New York Times, popular conservative talk-radio host Rush Limbaugh called the virus a “plot by the Chinese,” and conservative commentator and FOX TV host Sean Hannity read and gave credibility to a tweet calling COVID-19 a fraud “to spread panic in the populace, manipulate the economy and suppress dissent.”

Why have conspiracy theories so readily circulated during the COVID-19 pandemic? What type of person believes medical conspiracy theories?

I research new religious movements. I decided to explore this question because of the ubiquity of conspiratorial thinking within some of these communities. What can belief in alternative theories tell us about ourselves?

What challenges might conspiratorial thinking, circulated online and in popular media, present to public health advocates in the coming year?


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Conspiracy in the age of coronavirus

Why Some People Believe Coronavirus HoaxesSix years after Ivanovsky did his the first ‘virus’ experiment, Dutch scientist Martinus Willem Beijerinck (pictured in his lab in 1921), working independently in his laboratory, used the term virus. Delft School of Microbiology Archives, CC BY

Conspiracy theories connecting the COVID-19 pandemic to the state of Israel are flourishing. One source, part of a large global conspiracy community, claims the novel coronavirus is an act of Israeli bioterrorism.

 The Anti-Defamation League in the United States, a leading anti-hate organization, has tracked a growing number of anti-Semitic conspiracies, which claim that Jews are either behind the COVID-19 pandemic, or stand to profit from it.

Jews have historically been blamed for global viral events, including the Black Death in the 1300s, which led to massive pogroms against European Jewry. The common narrative goes that people in the Middle Ages needed a scapegoat because they did not know about the germ theory of disease. However, 130 years after Russian microbiologist Dmitri Ivanovsky and Dutch scientist Martinus Willem Beijerinck (working independently) discovered the existence of viruses, Jews continue to take the brunt of conspiratorial blame.

Hoaxes in alternative medicine

Why Some People Believe Coronavirus Hoaxes A photo of Jim Bakker delivering a sermon in 2005 in South Carolina. He’s being sued by the state of Missouri for selling a cure to COVID-19. No such cure exists. AP Photo/Charlotte Observer, Jeff Siner

People seek alternative medicine for many reasons, including distrust of authority, consumer-centered individuality and the belief that the treatment will work. While no vaccine for coronavirus currently exists, that hasn’t stopped televangelist Jim Bakker from selling his colloidal silver tincture for US$125 a bottle. The state of Missouri has filed a law suit against Bakker alleging fraudulent treatment claims.

Infowars’ Alex Jones claimed a product called DNA Force Plus could help fight off COVID-19: it is currently on sale for US$89.95 for one month supply. Another popular supplement advocate suggests a cocktail of over 11 different supplements to combat coronavirus, costing over US$170 a month. Other purported cures include vitamin C dosing, faith healing and homeopathic vaccines. There is no evidence that any of these work.

As demand for alternative medicine grows, Canadian researchers recently looking at internet health scams found, most of the alternative products marketed online “either severely misrepresented the efficacy for the given health concern and/or had no strong scientific evidence‐base to support their use as advertised.”

Since being declared a global pandemic, there is evidence that demand for alternative medicine has increased. Some alternative medicine has been shown to be effective, but many of the options being marketed today have not. As Timothy Caulfield professor of health law at the University of Alberta writes: trust in science is crucial right now.

Who believes in conspiracy theories?

Conspiratorial thinking can be founded on legitimate concerns and transcends socio-economic, racial, educational and gender boundaries. This complicates our tendency to view conspiracies as perpetuated by tinfoil-hat wearing people.

A number of theories have been proposed to account for conspiratorial thinking.

University of Chicago political scientists Eric Oliver and Thomas Wood explored medical conspiracy theories. They found approximately 50 per cent of Americans believe in at least one general conspiracy theory, and more than 18 per cent believe in three or more medical conspiracies.

Writing in the Journal of the American Medical Association Internal Medicine, Oliver and Wood wrote:

“Although it is common to disparage adherents of conspiracy theories as a delusional fringe of paranoid cranks, our data suggest that medical conspiracy theories are widely known, broadly endorsed and highly predictive of many common health behaviours.”

Perhaps the explanation for the broad appeal of such theories points to something more fundamental to the experience of being human? When people talk about quarantines, hoarding and conspiracies, they can ignore the elephant in the room: death.

Research suggests that we use different management techniques to deal with the terror of death. Where sickness can act as a reminder of our finitude, simple health-management solutions can offer a sense of autonomy over our bodies.

This may explain why some conspiracy websites are downplaying the danger of COVID-19 to adults by focusing on the older age of the victims. In other words, pandemics are scary, and they remind us that we are mortal.

Even if medical conspiracies are mostly confined to the fringe, the effects of conspiratorial beliefs on public health may end up exacerbating the spread of the virus. People may continue to ignore quarantine orders. A future vaccine for COVID-19 may come up against a growing anti-vaccine movement. Will people continue to be receptive to anti-vaccine conspiracy rhetoric in the age of COVID-19?

Conspiracy theorists, like all of us, are trying to make sense of a complicated world. Having a sense of control against an ineffable source of power — which describes the novel coronavirus in many ways — may speak to some of our collective fears and motivations in the face of mortality. After all, nothing offers direct evidence of human finitude and frailty like a viral pandemic.The Conversation

About The Author

Jeremy Cohen, Doctoral Candidate, Religious Studies, McMaster University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Remember Your Future
on the 3rd of November

Uncle Sam style Smokey Bear Only You.jpg

Learn about the issues and what's at stake in the November 3, 2020 US Presidential election.

Too soon? Don't bet on it. Forces are conniving to stop you from having a say in your future.

This is the big one and this election may be for ALL the marbles. Turn away at your peril.

Only You Can Prevent 'Future' Theft

Follow InnerSelf.com's
"Remember Your Future" coverage


s

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: November 29, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we focus on seeing things differently... of looking from a different perspective, with an open mind and an open heart.
Why I Should Ignore COVID-19 and Why I Won't
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
My wife Marie and I are a mixed couple. She's Canadian and I am an American. For the past 15 years we have spent our winters in Florida and our summers in Nova Scotia.
InnerSelf Newsletter: November 15, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we reflect on the question: "where do we go from here?" Just as with any rite of passage, whether graduation, marriage, birth of a child, a pivotal election, or the loss (or finding) of a…
America: Hitching Our Wagon to the World and to the Stars
by Marie T Russell and Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Well, the US presidential election is now behind us and it's time to take stock. We must find common ground between young and old, Democrat and Republican, Liberal and Conservative to truly make…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…