الأبوة والأمومة

آسف يا أمي ، يبدأ المراهقون في ضبط النفس في سن 13

المراهقين ضبط 4 30

تمامًا كما يعرف الرضيع أن يتناغم مع صوت والدته ، يعرف المراهق أن يتناغم مع أصوات جديدة. عندما كنت مراهقًا ، لا تعرف أنك تفعل هذا. أنت مجرد كونك. يتزايد حساسية عقلك تجاه هذه الأصوات غير المألوفة وينجذب إليها.

لم تعد أدمغة المراهقين تجد أصوات الأمهات مجزية بشكل فريد بدءًا من سن 13 عامًا ، وتبدأ في الاستماع إلى أصوات غير مألوفة أكثر ، وفقًا لبحث جديد.

للدراسة في مجلة العلوم العصبية، استخدم الباحثون فحوصات الدماغ الوظيفية بالرنين المغناطيسي لإعطاء أول تفسير بيولوجي عصبي مفصل لكيفية بدء المراهقين بالانفصال عن والديهم.

"تمامًا كما يعرف الرضيع أن يتناغم معها صوت الاميقول المؤلف الرئيسي دانيال أبرامز ، الأستاذ المساعد في الطب النفسي والعلوم السلوكية في جامعة ستانفورد ، "إن المراهق يعرف كيف يتناغم مع الأصوات الجديدة".

"عندما كنت مراهقًا ، لا تعرف أنك تفعل هذا. أنت فقط تتصرف على طبيعتك: لديك أصدقاؤك ورفاقك الجدد وتريد قضاء الوقت معهم. إن عقلك يتزايد حساسية تجاه هذه الأصوات غير المألوفة وينجذب إليها ".

اكتشف الباحثون ، في بعض النواحي ، أن أدمغة المراهقين أكثر تقبلاً لجميع الأصوات - بما في ذلك أمهاتهم - من أدمغة الأطفال دون سن 12 عامًا ، وهو اكتشاف يتوافق مع اهتمام المراهقين المتزايد بالعديد من أنواع الإشارات الاجتماعية.

ومع ذلك ، في أدمغة المراهقين ، يتم تنشيط دوائر المكافأة ومراكز الدماغ التي تعطي الأولوية للمنبهات المهمة من خلال الأصوات غير المألوفة أكثر من أصوات أمهاتهم. تحول الدماغ نحو الأصوات الجديدة هو جانب من جوانب النضج الصحييقول الباحثون.

يقول كبير المؤلفين فينود مينون ، أستاذ الطب النفسي والعلوم السلوكية: "يصبح الطفل مستقلاً في مرحلة ما ، ويجب أن تعجله إشارة بيولوجية أساسية". "هذا ما اكتشفناه: هذه إشارة تساعد المراهقين على التفاعل مع العالم وتكوين روابط تتيح لهم أن يكونوا بارعين اجتماعيًا خارج عائلاتهم."

الاستماع إلى والدتك

وجد الفريق سابقًا أنه في أدمغة الأطفال الذين يبلغون من العمر 12 عامًا أو أقل ، يؤدي سماع صوت الأم إلى حدوث انفجار في الاستجابات الفريدة: دراسة أظهر المنشور في عام 2016 أن الأطفال يمكنهم التعرف على أصوات أمهاتهم بدقة عالية للغاية وأن الصوت الخاص لأمي لا يشير فقط إلى مناطق المعالجة السمعية في الدماغ ، ولكن أيضًا العديد من المناطق التي لا تسببها أصوات غير مألوفة ، بما في ذلك مراكز المكافأة ومعالجة المشاعر المناطق ومراكز المعالجة البصرية وشبكات الدماغ التي تحدد المعلومات الواردة البارزة.

يقول بيرسي ميستري ، المؤلف الرئيسي المشارك وباحث في الطب النفسي والعلوم السلوكية: "إن صوت الأم هو مصدر الصوت الذي يعلم الأطفال الصغار كل شيء عن العالم الاجتماعي العاطفي وتطور اللغة". "يمكن للأجنة في الرحم التعرف على صوت أمهاتهم قبل ولادتهم ، ولكن مع المراهقين - على الرغم من أنهم أمضوا وقتًا أطول مع مصدر الصوت هذا أكثر من الأطفال - فإن أدمغتهم تبتعد عنه لصالح الأصوات التي لديهم لم أسمع به من قبل ".


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

"عندما يبدو أن المراهقين يتمردون من خلال عدم الاستماع إلى والديهم ، فذلك لأنهم ملزمون بإيلاء المزيد من الاهتمام للأصوات خارج منازلهم."

بنيت الدراسة الجديدة على الدراسة السابقة ، بإضافة بيانات من مراهقين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 13 و 16.5 سنة. كان معدل ذكاء جميع المشاركين 80 على الأقل وتم تربيتهم من قبل أمهاتهم البيولوجيات. لم يكن لديهم أي اضطرابات عصبية أو نفسية أو تعليمية.

سجل الباحثون لأمهات المراهقات ثلاث كلمات هراء ، استمرت أقل من ثانية بقليل. يضمن استخدام الكلمات غير المنطقية أن المشاركين لن يستجيبوا لمعنى الكلمات أو المحتوى العاطفي. تم تسجيل امرأتين لم تكن على دراية بموضوعات الدراسة تقولان نفس الكلمات الهراء. استمع كل مراهق إلى عدة تكرارات لتسجيلات كلمات لا معنى لها من قبل أمه ونساء غير مألوفات ، تم تقديمها بترتيب عشوائي ، وتم التعرف عليها عندما سمعوا أمهم. تمامًا مثل الأطفال الأصغر سنًا ، حدد المراهقون بشكل صحيح أصوات أمهاتهم في أكثر من 97٪ من الوقت.

ثم وضع الباحثون المراهقين في ماسح للتصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي ، حيث استمعوا مرة أخرى إلى التسجيلات الصوتية. كما استمعوا إلى تسجيلات موجزة للأصوات المنزلية ، مثل تشغيل غسالة الأطباق ، للسماح للباحثين برؤية كيفية استجابة الدماغ للأصوات مقابل الأصوات غير الاجتماعية الأخرى.

الأصوات تربطنا

وجد الباحثون أنه بين المراهقين ، أثارت جميع الأصوات نشاطًا أكبر في العديد من مناطق الدماغ مقارنة بالأطفال الأصغر سنًا: التلم الصدغي العلوي الانتقائي للصوت ، ومنطقة المعالجة السمعية ؛ مناطق المعالجة البارزة التي تقوم بتصفية المعلومات المهمة ؛ والقشرة الحزامية الخلفية ، والتي تشارك في جوانب من السيرة الذاتية والذاكرة الاجتماعية.

زادت استجابات الدماغ للأصوات مع تقدم سن المراهقين - في الواقع ، كانت العلاقة قوية للغاية بحيث يمكن للباحثين استخدام معلومات الاستجابة الصوتية في عمليات مسح دماغ المراهقين للتنبؤ بعمرهم.

ما يميز المراهقين عن الأطفال الأصغر سنًا هو أن الأصوات غير المألوفة أثارت نشاطًا أكبر من صوت الأم في النواة المتكئة لنظام معالجة المكافآت وفي قشرة الفص الجبهي البطني ، وهي منطقة تشارك في تخصيص قيمة للمعلومات الاجتماعية.

حدث التحول نحو الأصوات غير المألوفة في مراكز الدماغ هذه بين سن 13 و 14 عامًا ، ولم يكن هناك فرق بين الفتيان والفتيات.

سيساعد البحث في دراسة ما يحدث في أدمغة المراهقين المصابين بالتوحد والحالات الأخرى التي تؤثر على كيفية تناغمهم مع الأصوات والمحفزات الاجتماعية الأخرى. وجد الباحثون أن الأطفال الأصغر سنًا المصابين بالتوحد لا يتمتعون باستجابة دماغية قوية لأصوات أمهاتهم مثل الأطفال في مرحلة النمو.

الفريق متحمس لكشف النقاب عن أسس قدرة المراهقين على التناغم مع أشخاص جدد ، وهو جزء مهم من تفاعل البشر الكلي مع الأصوات. حقيقة أن الدماغ منسجم للغاية مع الأصوات أمر منطقي بديهي - فقط اسأل أي شخص قد شعر بـ هزة عاطفية عند سماع صوت أحد الأصدقاء أو أفراد الأسرة بعد وقت طويل ، كما يقول الباحثون.

يقول أبرامز: "الأصوات الموجودة في بيئتنا هي مصدر الصوت المجزي بشكل لا يصدق والذي يسمح لنا بالشعور بالاتصال والاندماج وجزء من المجتمع وجزء من العائلة". "الأصوات هي حقًا ما يربطنا."

تخضع التفاعلات الاجتماعية للأطفال لتحول كبير خلال فترة المراهقة. يقول مينون: "تُظهر النتائج التي توصلنا إليها أن هذه العملية متجذرة في التغيرات العصبية البيولوجية". "عندما يبدو أن المراهقين يتمردون من خلال عدم الاستماع إلى والديهم ، فذلك لأنهم ملزمون بإيلاء المزيد من الاهتمام للأصوات خارج منازلهم."

قامت المعاهد الوطنية للصحة ، ومؤسسة أبحاث الدماغ والسلوك ، ومؤسسة سنجر ، ومؤسسة سيمونز / سفاري ، وقسم الطب النفسي والعلوم السلوكية في ستانفورد بدعم العمل.

المصدر جامعة ستانفورد

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

السحر وأمريكا 11 15
ما تخبرنا الأسطورة اليونانية عن السحر الحديث
by جويل كريستنسن
العيش على الشاطئ الشمالي في بوسطن في الخريف يجلب معه التقلبات الرائعة للأوراق و ...
جعل الشركات مسؤولة 11
كيف يمكن للشركات السير في الحديث عن التحديات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية
by سيمون بيك وسيباستيان مينا
تواجه الشركات ضغوطًا متزايدة لمواجهة التحديات الاجتماعية والبيئية مثل ...
امرأة شابة أو فتاة تقف مقابل جدار الكتابة على الجدران
الصدفة تمرين للعقل
by برنارد بيتمان ، دكتوراه في الطب
الاهتمام الشديد بالصدفة يمارس العقل. التمرين يفيد العقل تمامًا كما هو ...
متلازمة موت الرضع المفاجئ 11 17
كيف تحمي طفلك من متلازمة موت الرضيع المفاجئ
by راشيل مون
في كل عام ، يموت حوالي 3,400 طفل أمريكي بشكل مفاجئ وغير متوقع أثناء النوم ، وفقًا لـ ...
عقرب على وجه امرأة وعيناها مغمضتان
التعلم من حيوان الظل الخاص بك
by دون بومان برانك
لم تلمسني القطة أبدًا ، لكن انطباعًا لا يمحى عن بقاياها. إنها ذاكرتي الأولى عن ...
امرأة تمسك رأسها وفمها مفتوح خوفًا
الخوف من النتائج: الأخطاء والفشل والنجاح والسخرية والمزيد
by إيفلين سي ريسك
نادراً ما يكون لدى الأشخاص الذين يتبعون هيكل ما تم القيام به من قبل أفكار جديدة ، كما فعلوا ...
كيفية تجاوز الخوف
كيفية تجاوز الخوف
by ستيفن واشنطن
بدون شك ، يتطلب الأمر شجاعة لمواجهة مخاوفنا ، والاستعداد للنظر تحت السطح و ...
العودة إلى الوطن لا تفشل 11
لماذا لا تعني العودة إلى المنزل أنك فشلت
by روزي الكسندر
فكرة أن مستقبل الشباب يخدم على أفضل وجه بالابتعاد عن المدن الصغيرة والريف ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Parenting

Sorry Mom, Teens Start Tuning Out At 13

teens tuning out 4 30

Just as an infant knows to tune into her mother's voice, an adolescent knows to tune into novel voices. As a teen, you don't know you're doing this. You're just being you. Your mind is increasingly sensitive to and attracted to these unfamiliar voices.

Teen brains no longer find moms’ voices uniquely rewarding starting around age 13, and start to tune into unfamiliar voices more, according to new research.

For the study in the Journal of Neuroscience, the researchers used functional MRI brain scans to give the first detailed neurobiological explanation for how teens begin to separate from their parents.

“Just as an infant knows to tune into her mother’s voice, an adolescent knows to tune into novel voices,” says lead author Daniel Abrams, clinical associate professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences at Stanford University.

“As a teen, you don’t know you’re doing this. You’re just being you: You’ve got your friends and new companions and you want to spend time with them. Your mind is increasingly sensitive to and attracted to these unfamiliar voices.”

In some ways, teens’ brains are more receptive to all voices—including their mothers’—than the brains of children under 12, the researchers discovered, a finding that lines up with teenagers’ increased interest in many types of social signals.

However, in teenage brains, the reward circuits and the brain centers that prioritize important stimuli are more activated by unfamiliar voices than by those of their mothers. The brain’s shift toward new voices is an aspect of healthy maturation, the researchers say.

“A child becomes independent at some point, and that has to be precipitated by an underlying biological signal,” says senior author Vinod Menon, a professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences. “That’s what we’ve uncovered: This is a signal that helps teens engage with the world and form connections which allow them to be socially adept outside their families.”

Listening to your mom

The team previously found that, in the brains of children 12 and under, hearing Mom’s voice triggers an explosion of unique responses: A study published in 2016 showed that kids can identify their moms’ voices with extremely high accuracy and that the special sound of Mom cues not just the brain’s auditory-processing areas, but also many areas not triggered by unfamiliar voices, including reward centers, emotion-processing regions, visual processing centers, and brain networks that decide which incoming information is salient.

“The mother’s voice is the sound source that teaches young kids all about the social-emotional world and language development,” says Percy Mistry, co-lead author and a research scholar in psychiatry and behavioral sciences. “Fetuses in utero can recognize their mother’s voice before they’re born, yet with adolescents—even though they’ve spent even more time with this sound source than babies have—their brains are tuning away from it in favor of voices they’ve never even heard.”


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

“When teens appear to be rebelling by not listening to their parents, it is because they are wired to pay more attention to voices outside their home.”

The new study built on the previous study, adding data from teenagers 13 to 16.5 years of age. All participants had an IQ of at least 80 and were being raised by their biological mothers. They did not have any neurological, psychiatric, or learning disorders.

The researchers recorded the teens’ mothers saying three nonsense words, which lasted just under a second. Using nonsense words ensured that the participants would not respond to the words’ meaning or emotional content. Two women unfamiliar with the study subjects were recorded saying the same nonsense words. Each teenage participant listened to several repetitions of the nonsense-word recordings by their own mother and the unfamiliar women, presented in random order, and identified when they heard their mom. Just like younger children, teens correctly identified their mothers’ voices more than 97% of the time.

The researchers then placed the teens in a magnetic resonance imaging scanner, where they listened again to the voice recordings. They also listened to brief recordings of household sounds, such as a dishwasher running, to allow the researchers to see how the brain responds to voices versus other non-social sounds.

Voices connect us

The researchers found that among teenagers, all voices elicited greater activation in several brain regions compared with younger children: the voice-selective superior temporal sulcus, an auditory processing area; salience processing regions that filter which information is important; and the posterior cingulate cortex, which is involved in aspects of autobiographical and social memory.

Brain responses to voices increased with teens’ age—in fact, the relationship was so strong researchers could use the voice-response information in teens’ brain scans to predict how old they were.

What distinguished teenagers from younger children was that unfamiliar voices elicited greater activity than Mom’s voice in the nucleus accumbens of the reward-processing system and in the ventromedial prefrontal cortex, a region involved in assigning value to social information.

The switch toward unfamiliar voices happened in these brain centers between 13 and 14 years of age, and there was no difference between boys and girls.

The research will help study what happens in the brains of adolescents with autism and other conditions that affect how they tune into voices and other social stimuli. Younger kids with autism don’t have as strong a brain response to their mothers’ voices as typically developing children, the researchers have found.

The team is excited to have uncovered the foundations of teens’ ability to tune into new people, an important part of humans’ overall engagement with voices. The fact that the brain is so attuned to voices makes intuitive sense—just ask anyone who has ever felt an emotional jolt at hearing a friend’s or family member’s voice after a long time, the researchers say.

“The voices in our environment are this incredibly rewarding sound source that allow us to feel connected, included, part of a community and part of a family,” Abrams says. “Voices are really what connect us.”

Children’s social interactions undergo a major transformation during adolescence. “Our findings demonstrate that this process is rooted in neurobiological changes,” Menon says. “When teens appear to be rebelling by not listening to their parents, it is because they are wired to pay more attention to voices outside their home.”

The National Institutes of Health, the Brain and Behavior Research Foundation, the Singer Foundation, and the Simons Foundation/SFARI, and Stanford’s department of psychiatry and behavioral sciences supported the work.

Source: Stanford University

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

is it covid or hay fecer 8 7
Here’s How To Tell If It's Covid or Hay Fever
by Samuel J. White, and Philippe B. Wilson
With warm weather in the northern hemisphere, many people will be suffering from pollen allergies.…
baseball player w;ith white hair
Can We Be Too Old?
by Barry Vissell
We all know the expression, "You're as old as you think or feel." Too many people give up on…
inflation around the world 8 1
Inflation Is Spiking Around The World
by Christopher Decker
The 9.1% increase in U.S. consumer prices in the 12 months ending in June 2022, the highest in four…
sage smudge sticks, feathers, and a dreamcatcher
Cleansing, Grounding, and Protecting: Two Foundational Practices
by MaryAnn DiMarco
Many cultures have a ritualistic cleansing practice, often done with smoke or water, to help remove…
changing peoples minds 8 3
Why It’s Hard To Challenge Someone’s False Beliefs
by Lara Millman
Most people think they acquire their beliefs using a high standard of objectivity. But recent…
overcoming lonliness 8 4
4 Ways To Recover From Loneliness
by Michelle H Lim
Loneliness isn’t unusual given it’s a natural human emotion. But when ignored or not effectively…
chilkdren that prosper from online learning 8 2
How Some Children Prosper In Online Learning
by Anne Burke
While media often seemed to report on negative aspects of online schooling, this was not a…
covid and elderly 8 3
Covid: How Careful Do I Still Need To Be Around Older And Vulnerable Family Members?
by Simon Kolstoe
We are all pretty fed up with COVID, and perhaps keen for a summer of holidays, social outings and…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.