كيف تنتهي الأوبئة؟ يشير التاريخ إلى أن الأمراض تتلاشى لكنها لم تختف أبدًا

كيف تنتهي الأوبئة؟ يشير التاريخ إلى أن الأمراض تتلاشى لكنها لم تختف أبدًا
الصورة عن طريق nina108

متى سينتهي الوباء؟ كل هذه الأشهر في ، مع أكثر 37 مليون حالة إصابة بفيروس كوفيد -19 وأكثر من مليون حالة وفاة عالميًا ، قد تتساءل ، مع زيادة السخط ، إلى متى سيستمر هذا.

منذ بداية الوباء ، قام علماء الأوبئة وأخصائيي الصحة العامة تم استخدامه رياضي عارضات ازياء للتنبؤ بالمستقبل في محاولة للحد من انتشار الفيروس التاجي. لكن نمذجة الأمراض المعدية صعبة. يحذر علماء الأوبئة من أن "[م] أوديلز ليست كرات بلورية، وحتى الإصدارات المتطورة ، مثل تلك الجمع بين التوقعات or استخدام التعلم الآلي، لا تكشف بالضرورة متى سينتهي الوباء أو كم شخص سيموت.

ك مؤرخ يدرس الأمراض والصحة العامة، أقترح أنه بدلاً من التطلع إلى القرائن ، يمكنك أن تنظر إلى الوراء لترى ما الذي أدى إلى انتهاء الفاشيات السابقة - أو لم تنته.

حيث نحن الآن في مسار الوباء

في الأيام الأولى للوباء ، كان كثير من الناس يأملون أن يتلاشى فيروس كورونا ببساطة. جادل البعض أنه سيكون تختفي من تلقاء نفسها مع حرارة الصيف. ادعى آخرون ذلك مناعة القطيع سيبدأ بمجرد إصابة عدد كافٍ من الأشخاص. لكن لم يحدث شيء من ذلك.

مزيج من جهود الصحة العامة لاحتواء الجائحة والتخفيف من حدتها - بدءًا من الاختبارات الصارمة وتتبع جهات الاتصال إلى التباعد الاجتماعي وارتداء الأقنعة - قد ثبت أنها تساعد. بالنظر إلى أن الفيروس لديه تنتشر في كل مكان تقريبًا في العالمومع ذلك ، فإن مثل هذه التدابير وحدها لا يمكنها إنهاء الوباء. كل العيون تحولت الآن إلى تطوير اللقاحالتي تتم متابعتها بسرعة غير مسبوقة.

ومع ذلك ، يخبرنا الخبراء أنه حتى مع وجود لقاح ناجح وعلاج فعال ، قد لا يختفي COVID-19 أبدًا. حتى إذا تم كبح الوباء في جزء من العالم ، فمن المحتمل أن يستمر في أماكن أخرى ، مما يتسبب في حدوث عدوى في أماكن أخرى. وحتى إذا لم يعد يمثل تهديدًا فوريًا على مستوى الوباء ، فمن المرجح أن يصبح الفيروس التاجي وبائيًا - مما يعني أن الانتقال البطيء والمستدام سيستمر. سيستمر فيروس كورونا في إحداث فاشيات أصغر ، مثل الأنفلونزا الموسمية.

إن تاريخ الأوبئة مليء بمثل هذه الأمثلة المحبطة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


بمجرد ظهورها ، نادرا ما تغادر الأمراض

سواء كانت بكتيرية أو فيروسية أو طفيلية ، فإن كل مسببات الأمراض التي أصابت الناس على مدى آلاف السنين الماضية لا تزال معنا ، لأنه يكاد يكون من المستحيل القضاء عليها تمامًا.

المرض الوحيد الذي كان الجدري يتم استئصاله من خلال التطعيم. حملات التطعيم الجماعية بقيادة منظمة الصحة العالمية في الستينيات والسبعينيات من القرن الماضي كانت ناجحة ، وفي عام 1960 ، تم إعلان الجدري المرض الأول - والوحيد - الذي يتم القضاء عليه تمامًا.

يستعرض الأطفال في الكاميرون شهادات التطعيم ضد الجدري في عام 1975.يستعرض الأطفال في الكاميرون شهادات التطعيم ضد الجدري في عام 1975. مجموعة سميث / جادو عبر صور غيتي

لذا فإن قصص النجاح مثل الجدري تعتبر استثنائية. بل هي قاعدة بقاء الأمراض.

خذ على سبيل المثال مسببات الأمراض مثل ملاريا. ينتقل عن طريق الطفيلي ، وهو قديم قدم البشرية ولا يزال يحمل عبئًا ثقيلًا من المرض اليوم: كان هناك حوالي 228 مليون حالة إصابة بالملاريا و 405,000 حالة وفاة في جميع أنحاء العالم في عام 2018. منذ عام 1955 ، حققت البرامج العالمية للقضاء على الملاريا ، بمساعدة استخدام الـ دي.دي.تي والكلوروكين ، بعض النجاح ، ولكن المرض لا يزال لا يزال مستوطنًا في العديد من بلدان الجنوب العالمي.

وبالمثل ، فإن أمراض مثل مرض السل, جذام و الحصبة كان معنا منذ آلاف السنين. ورغم كل الجهود ، الاستئصال الفوري لا يزال غير في الأفق.

أضف إلى هذا المزيج مسببات الأمراض الأصغر نسبيًا ، مثل فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية و فيروس الايبولا، مع تأثير و الكورونا بما فيها السارس, MERS و SARS-CoV-2 الذي يسبب COVID-19، وتتضح الصورة الوبائية الشاملة. البحث عن العبء العالمي للمرض وجد أن معدل الوفيات السنوي الذي تسببه الأمراض المعدية - التي يحدث معظمها في العالم النامي - هو ما يقرب من ثلث جميع الوفيات على مستوى العالم.

اليوم ، في عصر السفر الجوي العالمي وتغير المناخ والاضطرابات البيئية ، نتعرض باستمرار لتهديد الأمراض المعدية الناشئة مع الاستمرار في المعاناة من أمراض أقدم بكثير تظل حية وبصحة جيدة.

بمجرد إضافتها إلى مخزون مسببات الأمراض التي تؤثر على المجتمعات البشرية ، فإن معظم الأمراض المعدية موجودة لتبقى.

تسبب الطاعون في أوبئة سابقة - ولا يزال ينبثق

حتى الإصابات التي تحتوي الآن على لقاحات وعلاجات فعالة تستمر في حصد الأرواح. ربما لا يمكن لأي مرض أن يساعد في توضيح هذه النقطة بشكل أفضل من الطاعون الأكثر فتكًا مرض معد في تاريخ البشرية. لا يزال اسمها مرادفًا للرعب حتى اليوم.

طاعون تسببه البكتيريا اليرسنية الطاعونية. كان هناك عدد لا يحصى من الفاشيات المحلية وثلاثة أوبئة طاعون موثقة على الأقل على مدى 5,000 عام الماضية ، مما أسفر عن مقتل مئات الملايين من الناس. كان أسوأ الأوبئة الموت الاسود من منتصف القرن 14th.

بعد الموت الاسود كان بعيدًا عن كونه انفجارًا منفردًا. عاد الطاعون كل عقد أو حتى بشكل متكرر ، في كل مرة كان يضرب المجتمعات الضعيفة بالفعل ويحدث خسائره خلالها ستة قرون على الأقل. حتى قبل ثورة صحية في القرن التاسع عشر ، تلاشى كل تفشي تدريجيًا على مدار شهور وأحيانًا سنوات نتيجة للتغيرات في درجة الحرارة والرطوبة وتوافر العوائل والناقلات وعدد كافٍ من الأفراد المعرضين للإصابة.

تعافت بعض المجتمعات سريعًا نسبيًا من خسائرها التي سببها الموت الأسود. آخرون لم يفعلوا ذلك. على سبيل المثال ، العصور الوسطى لم تستطع مصر التعافي بالكامل من الآثار المستمرة للوباء ، الذي دمر قطاعه الزراعي بشكل خاص. أصبح من المستحيل تعويض الآثار التراكمية لانخفاض عدد السكان. أدى ذلك إلى التدهور التدريجي لسلطنة المماليك وغزوها من قبل العثمانيين في أقل من قرنين من الزمان.

نفس بكتيريا الطاعون المدمرة للدولة تبقى معنا حتى اليوم، وهو تذكير بمثابرة العوامل الممرضة ومرونتها لفترة طويلة.

نأمل ألا يستمر COVID-19 لآلاف السنين. ولكن ما لم يكن هناك لقاح ناجح ، وربما حتى بعده ، فلا أحد آمن. السياسة هنا حاسمة: عندما تضعف برامج التطعيم ، يمكن أن تعود العدوى مرة أخرى. مجرد إلقاء نظرة على الحصبة و شلل الأطفال، والتي تعاود الظهور بمجرد تعثر جهود التطعيم.

بالنظر إلى مثل هذه السوابق التاريخية والمعاصرة ، يمكن للبشرية أن تأمل فقط في أن يكون فيروس كورونا الذي يسبب COVID-19 عاملًا ممرضًا يمكن تتبعه والقضاء عليه لكن تاريخ الأوبئة يعلمنا أن نتوقع خلاف ذلك.المحادثة

عن المؤلف

نوخت فارليك ، أستاذ مساعد في التاريخ ، جامعة ساوث كارولينا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


وأوصت كتب: الصحة

الفاكهة الطازجة طهرجديد يطهر الفاكهة: السموم، انقاص وزنه واستعادة صحتك مع الأطعمة الطبيعة ألذ [غلاف عادي] من قاعة ليان.
انقاص وزنه ويشعر صحي حيوي في حين تطهير الجسم من السموم. الفاكهة الطازجة طهر يقدم كل ما تحتاجه للحصول على التخلص سهلة وقوية، بما في ذلك يوما بعد يوم والبرامج، وصفات التي يسيل لها اللعاب، وتقديم المشورة لنقل قبالة تطهير.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

تزدهر أغذيةتزدهر أغذية: 200 النباتي وصفات للصحة الذروة [غلاف عادي] بواسطة بريندان المبخرة.
بناء على الحد من التوتر، والصحة، تعزيز فلسفة الغذائية المقدمة في المشهود له نباتي دليل التغذية تزدهروالمهنية الرجل الحديدي المبخرة بريندان triathlete يتحول الآن انتباهه إلى لوحة العشاء الخاص بك (صحن وجبة الإفطار والغداء صينية أيضا).
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

الموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغيةالموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغية، مارتن فيلدمان، Rasio ديبورا وعميد كارولين
أصبحت البيئة الطبية عبارة عن متاهة من المتشابكة المستشفى، والشركات، والمجالس الحكومية من المديرين، ومخترقة من قبل شركات الأدوية. تمت الموافقة في كثير من الأحيان أكثر المواد السامة الأولى، في حين يتم تجاهل البدائل الطبيعية أكثر اعتدالا وأكثر من ذلك لأسباب مالية. إنه الموت من قبل الطب.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أحصل على القليل من المساعدة من أصدقائي

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 18 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نحن نعيش هذه الأيام في فقاعات صغيرة ... في منازلنا وفي العمل وفي الأماكن العامة ، وربما في أذهاننا ومع مشاعرنا. ومع ذلك ، نعيش في فقاعة ، أو نشعر وكأننا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 11 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الحياة رحلة ، وكما هو الحال في معظم الرحلات ، تأتي مع تقلباتها. ومثلما يتبع النهار دائمًا الليل ، تنتقل تجاربنا الشخصية اليومية من الظلام إلى النور ، ذهابًا وإيابًا. ومع ذلك،…
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 4 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
مهما كان ما نمر به ، فرديًا وجماعيًا ، يجب أن نتذكر أننا لسنا ضحايا لا حول لهم ولا قوة. يمكننا استعادة قوتنا لنحت طريقنا وشفاء حياتنا روحياً ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 27 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إحدى أعظم قوة الجنس البشري هي قدرتنا على أن نكون مرنين ، وأن نكون مبدعين ، وأن نفكر خارج الصندوق. أن نكون شخصًا آخر غير ما كنا عليه بالأمس أو في اليوم السابق. يمكننا ان نغير...…
ما يصلح لي: "لأعلى خير"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...

How Do Pandemics End? History Suggests Diseases Fade But Are Almost Never Truly Gone

How Do Pandemics End? History Suggests Diseases Fade But Are Almost Never Truly Gone
Image by nina108 

When will the pandemic end? All these months in, with over 37 million COVID-19 cases and more than 1 million deaths globally, you may be wondering, with increasing exasperation, how long this will continue.

Since the beginning of the pandemic, epidemiologists and public health specialists have been using mathematical models to forecast the future in an effort to curb the coronvirus’s spread. But infectious disease modeling is tricky. Epidemiologists warn that “[m]odels are not crystal balls,” and even sophisticated versions, like those that combine forecasts or use machine learning, can’t necessarily reveal when the pandemic will end or how many people will die.

As a historian who studies disease and public health, I suggest that instead of looking forward for clues, you can look back to see what brought past outbreaks to a close – or didn’t.

Where we are now in the course of the pandemic

In the early days of the pandemic, many people hoped the coronavirus would simply fade away. Some argued that it would disappear on its own with the summer heat. Others claimed that herd immunity would kick in once enough people had been infected. But none of that has happened.

A combination of public health efforts to contain and mitigate the pandemic – from rigorous testing and contact tracing to social distancing and wearing masks – have been proven to help. Given that the virus has spread almost everywhere in the world, though, such measures alone can’t bring the pandemic to an end. All eyes are now turned to vaccine development, which is being pursued at unprecedented speed.

Yet experts tell us that even with a successful vaccine and effective treatment, COVID-19 may never go away. Even if the pandemic is curbed in one part of the world, it will likely continue in other places, causing infections elsewhere. And even if it is no longer an immediate pandemic-level threat, the coronavirus will likely become endemic – meaning slow, sustained transmission will persist. The coronavirus will continue to cause smaller outbreaks, much like seasonal flu.

The history of pandemics is full of such frustrating examples.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Once they emerge, diseases rarely leave

Whether bacterial, viral or parasitic, virtually every disease pathogen that has affected people over the last several thousand years is still with us, because it is nearly impossible to fully eradicate them.

The only disease that has been eradicated through vaccination is smallpox. Mass vaccination campaigns led by the World Health Organization in the 1960s and 1970s were successful, and in 1980, smallpox was declared the first – and still, the only – human disease to be fully eradicated.

Children in Cameroon show off their smallpox vaccination certificates in 1975.Children in Cameroon show off their smallpox vaccination certificates in 1975. Smith Collection/Gado via Getty Images

So success stories like smallpox are exceptional. It is rather the rule that diseases come to stay.

Take, for example, pathogens like malaria. Transmitted via parasite, it’s almost as old as humanity and still exacts a heavy disease burden today: There were about 228 million malaria cases and 405,000 deaths worldwide in 2018. Since 1955, global programs to eradicate malaria, assisted by the use of DDT and chloroquine, brought some success, but the disease is still endemic in many countries of the Global South.

Similarly, diseases such as tuberculosis, leprosy and measles have been with us for several millennia. And despite all efforts, immediate eradication is still not in sight.

Add to this mix relatively younger pathogens, such as HIV and Ebola virus, along with influenza and coronaviruses including SARS, MERS and SARS-CoV-2 that causes COVID-19, and the overall epidemiological picture becomes clear. Research on the global burden of disease finds that annual mortality caused by infectious diseases – most of which occurs in the developing world – is nearly one-third of all deaths globally.

Today, in an age of global air travel, climate change and ecological disturbances, we are constantly exposed to the threat of emerging infectious diseases while continuing to suffer from much older diseases that remain alive and well.

Once added to the repertoire of pathogens that affect human societies, most infectious diseases are here to stay.

Plague caused past pandemics – and still pops up

Even infections that now have effective vaccines and treatments continue to take lives. Perhaps no disease can help illustrate this point better than plague, the single most deadly infectious disease in human history. Its name continues to be synonymous with horror even today.

Plague is caused by the bacterium Yersinia pestis. There have been countless local outbreaks and at least three documented plague pandemics over the last 5,000 years, killing hundreds of millions of people. The most notorious of all pandemics was the Black Death of the mid-14th century.

Yet the Black Death was far from being an isolated outburst. Plague returned every decade or even more frequently, each time hitting already weakened societies and taking its toll during at least six centuries. Even before the sanitary revolution of the 19th century, each outbreak gradually died down over the course of months and sometimes years as a result of changes in temperature, humidity and the availability of hosts, vectors and a sufficient number of susceptible individuals.

Some societies recovered relatively quickly from their losses caused by the Black Death. Others never did. For example, medieval Egypt could not fully recover from the lingering effects of the pandemic, which particularly devastated its agricultural sector. The cumulative effects of declining populations became impossible to recoup. It led to the gradual decline of the Mamluk Sultanate and its conquest by the Ottomans within less than two centuries.

That very same state-wrecking plague bacterium remains with us even today, a reminder of the very long persistence and resilience of pathogens.

Hopefully COVID-19 will not persist for millennia. But until there’s a successful vaccine, and likely even after, no one is safe. Politics here are crucial: When vaccination programs are weakened, infections can come roaring back. Just look at measles and polio, which resurge as soon as vaccination efforts falter.

Given such historical and contemporary precedents, humanity can only hope that the coronavirus that causes COVID-19 will prove to be a tractable and eradicable pathogen. But the history of pandemics teaches us to expect otherwise.The Conversation

About the Author

Nükhet Varlik, Associate Professor of History, University of South Carolina

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Recommended Books: Health

Fresh Fruit CleanseFresh Fruit Cleanse: Detox, Lose Weight and Restore Your Health with Nature's Most Delicious Foods [Paperback] by Leanne Hall.
Lose weight and feel vibrantly healthy while clearing your body of toxins. Fresh Fruit Cleanse offers everything you need for an easy and powerful detox, including day-by-day programs, mouth-watering recipes, and advice for transitioning off the cleanse.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Thrive FoodsThrive Foods: 200 Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health [Paperback] by Brendan Brazier.
Building upon the stress-reducing, health-boosting nutritional philosophy introduced in his acclaimed vegan nutrition guide Thrive, professional Ironman triathlete Brendan Brazier now turns his attention to your dinner plate (breakfast bowl and lunch tray too).
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Death by Medicine by Gary NullDeath by Medicine by Gary Null, Martin Feldman, Debora Rasio and Carolyn Dean
The medical environment has become a labyrinth of interlocking corporate, hospital, and governmental boards of directors, infiltrated by the drug companies. The most toxic substances are often approved first, while milder and more natural alternatives are ignored for financial reasons. It's death by medicine.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: October 18, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
These days we are living in mini-bubbles... in our own homes, at work, and in public, and possibly in our own mind and with our own emotions. However, living in a bubble, or feeling like we are…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 11, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Life is a journey and, as most journeys, comes with its ups and downs. And just like day always follows night, so do our personal daily experiences go from dark to light, and back and forth. However,…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 4, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Whatever we are going through, both individually and collectively, we must remember that we are not helpless victims. We can reclaim our power to heal our lives, spiritually and emotionally, as well…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…