Le jet nasal peut limiter les dommages au cerveau causés par les crises d'épilepsie

Le jet nasal peut limiter les dommages au cerveau causés par les crises d'épilepsie

Un spray nasal peut limiter les dommages au cerveau d'un trouble épileptique appelé état de mal épileptique, une étude dans les expositions animales.

Le trouble peut se présenter comme une crise unique qui dure plus longtemps que les minutes 30 ou une série de crises entre lesquelles la personne ne reprend pas conscience. Si cela ne s'arrête pas rapidement, même un épisode peut causer des dommages au cerveau, une perte de fonction cognitive et une perte de mémoire.

"Sauver le cerveau d'une blessure et d'une maladie est certainement l'un des Saint Graal de la médecine."

«Sauver le cerveau d'une blessure et d'une maladie est certainement l'un des saints piliers de la médecine», explique Darwin J. Prockop, titulaire de la chaire de médecine génomique et professeur au Texas A & M College of Medicine et co-auteur principal du document. Actes de l'Académie nationale des sciences.

"Notre article suggère une façon de faire cela, et non par une procédure qui nécessite une chirurgie du cerveau ou même une injection dans une veine: tout ce qui serait nécessaire est un spray nasal qu'un patient pourrait recevoir dans un cabinet médical."

Le composé dans le spray nasal est des exosomes anti-inflammatoires, ou vésicules extracellulaires, que Prockop et son équipe ont isolé à partir de cultures de cellules souches mésenchymateuses, un type de cellules souches adultes.

Les chercheurs ont testé l'efficacité de ces exosomes dans un modèle d'état de mal épileptique avec des dommages causés par une période de crises aiguës.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


"Ce qui est remarquable, c'est que les modèles animaux ont été sauvés des effets à long terme de la lésion cérébrale induite par la crise par un spray nasal d'exosomes", explique Prockop. Il était capable de soulager l'inflammation des neurones, d'empêcher le dysfonctionnement cognitif et de la mémoire, et d'arrêter la neurogenèse anormale dans l'hippocampe, une partie vitale du cerveau responsable de la mémoire.

"Nous avons administré le spray intranasal de vésicules deux fois sur 24 heures, le premier à deux heures après le début d'un épisode d'état de mal épileptique, et un tel traitement était efficace pour réduire les effets indésirables multiples sur l'hippocampe", explique Ashok K. Shetty. médecine moléculaire et cellulaire et co-auteur principal de l'article.

"En fait, les vésicules étaient capables de se déplacer vers l'hippocampe en six heures, et leur neuroprotection était suffisante pour prévenir la perte de la fonction cognitive et de la mémoire normale ainsi que la neurogenèse anormale, un des substrats impliqués dans la formation de nouveaux souvenirs.

Les médicaments comme les benzodiazépines, qui sont des tranquillisants, et les hydantoïnes, un type d'anticonvulsivant, sont utilisés pour arrêter les épisodes d'épilepsie, mais ils sont souvent indisponibles - surtout si la personne n'a jamais été diagnostiquée d'épilepsie, ce qui est le cas pour 75. le temps. En outre, ils sont inefficaces autant que 30 pour cent du temps.

"Il n'y a vraiment rien de tel non invasif comme celui-ci pour arrêter la cascade de l'inflammation et du câblage neuronal anormal ou de l'épileptogenèse qui survient après un événement d'état de mal épileptique", explique Shetty. "Ces vésicules semblent capables de protéger le cerveau après les crises, d'arrêter la neuroinflammation et d'empêcher le développement de l'épilepsie chronique qui se produit souvent sans ce traitement."

Bien que les résultats soient prometteurs, les chercheurs exhortent à la prudence avant de tirer des conclusions sur un traitement pour les humains avec des convulsions.

«Avant que cette thérapie puisse être testée en toute sécurité chez les patients, nous devons faire beaucoup de travail supplémentaire», explique Prockop.

"Mais l'inflammation dans le cerveau causée par des crises aiguës est similaire à l'inflammation observée dans les derniers stades d'autres maladies du cerveau, y compris la maladie d'Alzheimer, le parkinsonisme, la sclérose en plaques et les traumatismes", ajoute Shetty. "Par conséquent, la promesse de cette nouvelle thérapie est énorme."

La source: Texas A & M University

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = Saisies; maxresults = 3}

Nasal Spray May Limit Brain Damage From Seizures

Nasal Spray May Limit Brain Damage From Seizures

A nasal spray can limit damage to the brain from a seizure disorder called status epilepticus, a study in animals shows.

The disorder can present itself as a single seizure that lasts longer than 30 minutes or a series of seizures between which the person doesn’t regain consciousness. If it doesn’t stop quickly, even one episode can cause brain damage, loss of cognitive function, and memory loss.

“Saving the brain from injury and disease is certainly one of the holy grails of medicine.”

“Saving the brain from injury and disease is certainly one of the holy grails of medicine,” says Darwin J. Prockop, chair in genomic medicine and professor at the Texas A&M College of Medicine and co-senior author of the paper in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

“Our paper suggests one way that this might be done, and not by a procedure that requires brain surgery or even injection into a vein: All that would be required is a nasal spray that a patient might receive in a doctor’s office.”

The compound in the nasal spray is anti-inflammatory exosomes, or extracellular vesicles, which Prockop and his team isolated from cultures of mesenchymal stem cells, a type of adult stem cell.

Researchers tested the efficiency of these exosomes in a status epilepticus model with damage from a period of acute seizures.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“What is remarkable is that the animal models were rescued from long-term effects of the seizure-induced brain injury by a nasal spray of exosomes,” Prockop says. It was able to ease inflammation of the neurons, prevent cognitive and memory dysfunction, and stop abnormal neurogenesis in the hippocampus, a vital part of the brain responsible for memory.

“We gave the intranasal vesicle spray twice over 24 hours, the first one at two hours after the onset of a status epilepticus episode, and such treatment was effective at reducing multiple adverse effects on the hippocampus,” says Ashok K. Shetty, professor of molecular and cellular medicine and co-senior author of the paper.

“In fact, the vesicles were able to move to the hippocampus in six hours, and their neuroprotection was enough to prevent loss of normal cognitive and memory function as well as abnormal neurogenesis, one of the substrates involved in formation of new memories.”

Drugs like benzodiazepines, which are tranquilizers, and hydantoins, a type of anticonvulsant, are used to stop status epilepticus episodes, but they are often unavailable—especially if the person hadn’t previously been diagnosed with epilepsy, which is the case 75 percent of the time. Further, they are ineffective perhaps as much as 30 percent of the time.

“There really hasn’t been anything noninvasive like this to stop the cascade of inflammation and abnormal neuronal wiring or epileptogenesis that occurs after a status epilepticus event,” Shetty says. “These vesicles do seem able to protect the brain after seizures, stop neuroinflammation, and prevent the development of chronic epilepsy that often results without this treatment.”

Although the findings are promising, the researchers urge caution before jumping to conclusions about a treatment for humans with seizures.

“Before this therapy can safely be tested in patients, we need to do great deal of further work,” Prockop says.

“But the inflammation in the brain caused by acute seizures is similar to the inflammation seen in the late stages of other brain diseases, including Alzheimer’s disease, parkinsonism, multiple sclerosis, and traumatic injuries,” Shetty adds. “Therefore, the promise of this new therapy is enormous.”

Source: Texas A&M University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Seizures;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)