الحدس والوعي

قد ينقذ تغيير الأرواح حياتك: كونك في العقل السليم في الوقت المناسب

قد ينقذ تغيير الأرواح حياتك: كونك في العقل السليم في الوقت المناسب
الصورة عن طريق جيرد التمان

نرغب في مشاركة قصة تعطيك فكرة عن قيمة فهم نفسك (نعم ، الجمع) ومزايا الانسجام الداخلي المحسن.

كتابنا، سيمفونية أنفسكم ، يقدم العديد من القصص حول الأفراد ومواقفهم بالإضافة إلى بعض الغوص العميق إلى حد ما في اللغة والثقافة والفلسفة والدين وعلم النفس (بالطبع) وعلم الأعصاب وما بعد الحداثة والمزيد. إن ربط كل هذا معًا هو فهم واسع النطاق - مرئي في كل مكان تقريبًا ، حقًا - أن كل واحد منا هو أو يمكن أن يكون تعددًا صحيًا للذات ، يعمل معًا بشكل جيد إلى حد ما.

الانتقال إلى "العقل السليم ، الوقت المناسب"

أحد المفاهيم التي أثبتت أنها مفيدة جدًا للقراء - وبكل صدق ، لأنفسنا شخصيًا أثناء تطويرنا للكتاب - هو تعلم كيفية تعزيز القدرة على الانتقال إلى الجزء الصحيح من أنفسنا لأي موقف معين. لتحقيق صحة عقلية جيدة والبقاء في حالة جيدة ، نحتاج إلى أن نتعلم كيف نكون "في العقل السليم في الوقت المناسب". 

عندما يكون لديك هذا الفهم ، ستجد أنه يحسن على الفور فهمك لنفسك والآخرين. قد ينقذ حياتك حتى ، وهذا هو السبب في أننا سننتقل قريبًا إلى لحظة رائعة في حياة رجل رائع وكيف أحدثت قدرته المتطورة على التحول إلى الذات الصحيحة كل الفرق.

من الناحية الأبوية ، تم قبول وصف شخص ما بأن لديه ذوات متعددة في علم النفس المبكر ، وفي الواقع ، كان أمرًا محوريًا إلى حد ما للفهم المبكر لكل من الوعي الطبيعي وعلم النفس المرضي. من الواضح أن والد علم النفس الأمريكي ، ويليام جيمس ، يصور جميع البشر على أنهم "ذوات اجتماعية" مختلفة.

ويليام جيمس معروف أيضًا ببيانه بأن "العقل يبدو أنه يحتضن اتحادًا من الكيانات النفسية." سيمفونية أنفسكم لا يراجع فقط ما قاله جيمس ، ولكنه يأخذ في الاعتبار أيضًا أعمال العشرات من علماء النفس والعلماء والكتاب والفنانين والفلاسفة وغيرهم حول موضوع التعددية الصحية.

كيف تم بعد ذلك إبعاد وجهة النظر الراسخة والمفهومة جيدًا - وفي بعض الحالات تم رفضها بشدة - هي قصة أخرى تم استبعادها تقريبًا من كل تاريخ علم النفس الذي يمكن أن نجده ، بما في ذلك كتاب مدرسي جيد كتبه أحدنا. ("إنه أمر محرج بالنسبة لي [جيمس فاديمان] أن أقول ، ولكن حتى بعد سبع مراجعات لسبع طبعات ، كان التستر راسخًا لدرجة أنني فاتني بالكامل تقريبًا.")

احتضان ذواتك المتعددة

قد تندهش عندما تجد أن مجموعة كبيرة من الأشخاص - من بعض أشهر نجوم موسيقى الروك ، إلى الفلاسفة الأكثر دراسة ، إلى علماء الأعصاب الأكثر أهمية - يتفقون جميعًا على أن فهم وتقدير نفسك هو لصالحك الواضح . يوافق كل من نعرضه في الكتاب تقريبًا - ومنهم الكثير - على أن الناس بالفعل لديهم ذوات مختلفة وهم حقًا "يحتضنون اتحادًا من الكيانات النفسية."

السبب في قدرتنا على التغيير من ذات إلى أخرى هو أنه يحسن بقائنا بشكل عام ؛ يحسن علاقاتنا ؛ ولها آثار إيجابية خطيرة على صحتنا. يمكن لمعظم الآباء ، على سبيل المثال ، أن يتذكروا لحظة في تربية أطفالهم عندما كان هناك خطر مباشر وربما يهدد الحياة. إذا مررت بهذه اللحظة ، فقد وجدت أنك بحاجة إلى أن تكون في ذات تكون ، من ناحية ، قادرة على تهدئة طفل خائف ، ومن ناحية أخرى ، قادرة على انتزاعه من موقف خطير - أحيانًا بسرعة وقوة لم تكن تعلم أن لديك.

تبديل الأنفس ... في نيك الزمن

هل يمكن لمثل هذا التبديل أن ينقذ حياتك؟ هناك مثال رائع استشهد به في كتاب حديث رائع لجون كاج ، حيث يصف لحظة في حياة عالم الطبيعة الشهير جون موير:


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

يتذكر موير: "بعد اكتساب نقطة في منتصف الطريق تقريبًا إلى الأعلى ، وصلتني فجأة إلى نقطة توقف مسدودة ، مع انتشار ذراعي ، والتشبث بالقرب من وجه الصخرة ، وغير قادر على تحريك اليد أو القدم لأعلى أو لأسفل . " كان هذا هو الجوهر ، بحسب موير.

"بدا أن عذابي ثابت. يجب أن أسقط. ستكون هناك لحظة من الحيرة ، ثم قعقعة هامدة أسفل الهاوية العامة إلى النهر الجليدي أدناه. عندما ظهر هذا الخطر الأخير علي ، أصبت بذهول الأعصاب لأول مرة منذ أن وطأت قدماي الجبال ، وبدا عقلي ممتلئا بالدخان الخانق ".

كما كتبت لي ابنتي (JF) ذات مرة أثناء إقامتها في قرية صغيرة في منطقة جبلية في غابة مطيرة في أمريكا الجنوبية ، "تذكر ، لأنني أكتب لك هذه الرسالة ، ستعرف أنني عشت." كذلك أيضًا ، لدينا الوصف أعلاه من جون موير لأنه نجا. أدى هشاشة وضعه إلى تحول في نفسه. إليكم كيف وصف ما حدث بعد ذلك:

"لم يستمر هذا الكسوف الرهيب سوى لحظة واحدة. . . بدت فجأة وكأنني أصبحت ممسوسًا بحس جديد. الذات الأخرى - الغريزة ، أو الملاك الحارس ، أطلق عليها ما تشاء - تقدمت وتولت السيطرة ".

يبدو أن الذات التي جمدت جسده قبل دقائق قليلة خوفًا قد تلاشت ، وحل مكانها ما أسماه "الذات الأخرى". لاحظ في وصفه أنه لا يوجد تأثير خارجي سحري فعلي - لا يوجد ملاك حارس خارجي إلا بشكل مجازي - ولكن ، بالتأكيد ، وجد نفسه في العقل السليم في الوقت المناسب.

ثم يقول:

"أصبحت عضلاتي المرتجفة متماسكة مرة أخرى ، وكان ينظر إلى كل صدع وخلل في الصخر من خلال المجهر. تحركت أطرافي بإيجابية ودقة لا يبدو لي أن أفعل شيئًا على الإطلاق. لو ولدت عاليا فوق الأجنحة ، لما كان خلاصي أكثر اكتمالا ".

لحسن حظ موير - ونظام المتنزهات القومية الأمريكية الذي هو إرثه - كان ذلك الجزء منه يعرف متى وكيف يخرج ويتولى زمام الأمور.

إذا لم يكن لدى موير "أي علاقة على الإطلاق" بتحريك نفسه للأمام بطريقة إيجابية واثقة منعت السقوط ، فمن كان يفعل ذلك؟ إذا كان "أنا" الذي كان قد أصبح "اهتزت الأعصاب" ، فمن هو بالضبط "أنا" الذي تولى المسؤولية ويعرف بالضبط ما يجب فعله؟

ربما يكون السؤال الأكثر أهمية هو هذا: فقط كيف هل فعلها؟ ولماذا لم يكن يعلم أنه يستطيع فعل ذلك منذ البداية؟ 

للأسف ، هذا ليس سؤالًا يمكن الإجابة عليه في بضع جمل. لقد أخذنا الجزء الأفضل من فصل في كتابنا لتجسيده بالكامل. دعنا نقول هنا فقط أننا نجد لدى أكثر الأشخاص نجاحًا قدرة عالية على تبديل الذات عندما يتطلب الأمر ذلك. نحن نناقش ونوضح ، مع عدد من الأمثلة الأقل رعبا إلى حد ما ، كيف يبدو ذلك في المواقف الأكثر اعتيادية وكيف يمكن للوعي والممارسة أن يجعله طبيعة ثانية لأي منا.

العمل مع أشخاص متعددين (لك ولهم)

حتى تعرف أن لديك ذوات مختلفة - أنها حقيقية وذات قيمة فطرية ، وغالبًا ما تُظهر أجنداتها وقدراتها - لا يمكنك التعامل معها بشكل جيد. حتى تعرف أنك سيمفونية ، لا يمكنك تنسيق اللاعبين. حتى تعرف أنك فريق ، لا يمكنك اللعب من أجل الفوز.

وإلى أن تتمكن من التعرف على حقيقة أن الأشخاص الآخرين في حياتك قد لا يسمحون بذلك - وفي الواقع ، ولن—لديك دائمًا أفضل وأنسب حاضر ذاتي عندما يكونون معك ، زادت احتمالية أن تكون متفاعلًا عندما يفركك أحد ذواتهم الإشكالية أو المختلة بطريقة خاطئة.

ومع ذلك ، إذا كنت تعلم أن هذه هي الطريقة التي يتم بها بناء جميع البشر وكيفية عملهم - إلى حد كبير طوال الوقت - فمن المرجح أن تكون قادرًا على التحول بشكل استباقي إلى الجزء الأكثر ملاءمة للعمل مع هذا شخص آخر في ذلك الوقت.

"السحر" الحقيقي هو الوعي

لا يوجد سحر حقيقي هنا سوى الوعي. لقد تم إخبار معظمنا منذ فترة طويلة أن كل شخص يجب أن يكون لديه نفس واحدة - وإذا لم تفعل ذلك ، فأنت في ورطة عميقة - لأننا نسينا (أو لم نتعلم أبدًا) أن هناك أخرى (وأكثر وضوحًا و فعال) الخيار. هذا الخيار هو ببساطة التشكيك في افتراض الذات الفردي ، كما نسميه.

انظر بنفسك ماذا يحدث إذا بدأت اللعب بفكرة أنه يمكنك بوعي أن تتعلم كيف تتحول إلى أفضل ما لديك في أي مناسبة ، ويمكنك وضع خطط لكيفية القيام بذلك. يمكنك التدرب على فعل ذلك مسبقًا في ذهنك. ويمكنك ببساطة أن تتخيل - في الوقت الفعلي أو بالقرب منه قدر الإمكان - أنك من النوع الذي يعرف كيف نفعل ذلك. وبعد ذلك ، في الوقت المناسب ، ستفعل ذلك.

ما تعلمناه - ولماذا كتبنا كتابنا - هو هذا عندما تعلم أن لك ولآخرين ذواتهم ، فإن الحياة تميل إلى أن تكون أكثر منطقية وتعمل بشكل أفضل. كل ما تحتاجه لبدء تجربة هذا - أيًا كان المستوى الذي وصلت إليه بالفعل - هو أن تبدأ بفكرة أن هناك الكثير لك (ولكل منا) أكثر مما قيل لنا ، وأنه قد يكون هناك طريقة أبسط وأكثر منطقية ، وأكثر فاعلية في رؤية والتعامل مع بعضنا البعض.

© 2020. جميع الحقوق محفوظة. مقتطف بإذن.
الناشر: Park Street Press ، بصمة
الداخلية التقاليد تي. www.innertraditions.com

المادة المصدر

سيمفونية أنفسكم: اكتشفوا وافهموا أكثر من نحن
بواسطة جيمس فاديمان دكتوراه. وجوردان جروبر ، دينار

سيمفونية أنفسكم: اكتشفوا وافهموا أكثر من نحن بقلم جيمس فاديمان دكتوراه. وجوردان جروبر ، دينارمن خلال تقديم رؤى رائدة في الطبيعة الديناميكية للشخصية ، أظهر جيمس فاديمان وجوردان جروبر أن كل واحد منا يتكون من "ذوات" متميزة ومستقلة وذات قيمة بطبيعتها. كما يظهرون أن تكريم كل من هؤلاء هو مفتاح لتحسين طرق العيش والحب والعمل.

لمزيد من المعلومات ، أو لطلب هذا الكتاب ، انقر هنا. (متاح أيضًا ككتاب مسموع وكإصدار أوقد).

حول المؤلف

جيمس فاديمان ، دكتوراه.جيمس فاديمان ، دكتوراه.حصل على درجات علمية من جامعة هارفارد وستانفورد ، وكان رئيسًا لشركتين ، ودرس في أربع جامعات ، وكان رائدًا في الندوات الدولية ، وله كتب مدرسية وكتب تجارية وروايات. يشمل عملاء الاستشاريين شركة IBM و Hewlett-Packard وبنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي و Foster's Freeze. وهو أحد أبرز الباحثين في دراسات الجرعات الصغيرة ، وهو أحد مؤسسي جامعة صوفيا. لقد كان يبحث عن التعددية الصحية لأكثر من 20 عامًا. كتب جيمس فاديمان ، دكتوراه.

جوردان جروبر ، دينارجوردان جروبر ، دينار، كاتب ، كاتب تعاوني ، كاتب شبح ، ومحرر ، قام بتزوير ونحت مجلدات موثوقة في القانون الجنائي ، والخدمات المالية ، والتنمية الذاتية. بعد تخرجه من جامعة بينغامتون وكلية الحقوق بجامعة فيرجينيا ، أسس موقع Enlightenment.com وهو الآن من كبار المدافعين عن تمرين الارتداد من خلال مشروع SuperBound. كتب جوردان جروبر ، دينار

فيديو / مقابلة مع جوردان غروبر: سيمفونية أنفسكم: اكتشفوا وافهموا أكثر من نحن

فيديو / عرض تقديمي مع جيم فاديمان (في الندوة العالمية حول الشخصية): الحاضر!

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

الموت بالتلوث 11 11
قد يتسبب تلوث الهواء في وفيات أكثر بكثير مما كان يعتقد سابقًا
by كاثرين غومباى
للوصول إلى هذا الاستنتاج ، جمع الباحثون بيانات الصحة والوفيات لسبعة ملايين ...
السحر وأمريكا 11 15
ما تخبرنا الأسطورة اليونانية عن السحر الحديث
by جويل كريستنسن
العيش على الشاطئ الشمالي في بوسطن في الخريف يجلب معه التقلبات الرائعة للأوراق و ...
جعل الشركات مسؤولة 11
كيف يمكن للشركات السير في الحديث عن التحديات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية
by سيمون بيك وسيباستيان مينا
تواجه الشركات ضغوطًا متزايدة لمواجهة التحديات الاجتماعية والبيئية مثل ...
امرأة شابة أو فتاة تقف مقابل جدار الكتابة على الجدران
الصدفة تمرين للعقل
by برنارد بيتمان ، دكتوراه في الطب
الاهتمام الشديد بالصدفة يمارس العقل. التمرين يفيد العقل تمامًا كما هو ...
الناس يمسكون بأيديهم
7 طرق لتغيير العالم ومجتمعاتنا
by كورماك راسل وجون ماكنايت
بصرف النظر عن التواصل من أجل حسن الجوار ، ما هي الوظائف الأخرى التي تقوم بها الأحياء النابضة بالحياة؟ ...
متلازمة موت الرضع المفاجئ 11 17
كيف تحمي طفلك من متلازمة موت الرضيع المفاجئ
by راشيل مون
في كل عام ، يموت حوالي 3,400 طفل أمريكي بشكل مفاجئ وغير متوقع أثناء النوم ، وفقًا لـ ...
امرأة تمسك رأسها وفمها مفتوح خوفًا
الخوف من النتائج: الأخطاء والفشل والنجاح والسخرية والمزيد
by إيفلين سي ريسك
نادراً ما يكون لدى الأشخاص الذين يتبعون هيكل ما تم القيام به من قبل أفكار جديدة ، كما فعلوا ...
عقرب على وجه امرأة وعيناها مغمضتان
التعلم من حيوان الظل الخاص بك
by دون بومان برانك
لم تلمسني القطة أبدًا ، لكن انطباعًا لا يمحى عن بقاياها. إنها ذاكرتي الأولى عن ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Intuition & Awareness

Shifting Selves Might Save Your Life: Being In the Right Mind at the Right Time

Shifting Selves Might Save Your Life: Being In the Right Mind at the Right Time
Image by Gerd Altmann

We’d like to share a story that will give you an idea of the value of understanding your own selves (yes, plural) and the advantages of improved inner harmony.

Our book, Your Symphony of Selves, presents many stories about individuals and their situations as well as some fairly deep dives into language, culture, philosophy, religion, psychology (of course), neuroscience, postmodernism, and more. Tying together all of this is a widespread understanding—visible nearly everywhere, really—that each of us is or can be a healthy multiplicity of selves, working together more or less well.

Moving Into "Right Mind, Right Time"

One of the concepts that has proved most useful to readers—and, in all honesty, to ourselves personally as we developed the book—is learning how to enhance the capacity to move into the right part of ourselves for any given situation. To achieve and remain in good mental health, we need to learn how to be “in the right mind at the right time.” 

When you have this understanding, you will find that it immediately improves your understanding of yourself and others. It may even save your life, which is why we will shortly turn to a remarkable moment in the life of a remarkable man and how his well-developed ability to shift into the right self made all the difference.

Parenthetically, describing someone as having multiple selves was accepted in early psychology and, indeed, was somewhat central to the early understanding both of normal consciousness and of psychopathology. The father of American psychology, William James, clearly depicted all human beings as having different “social selves.”

William James is also well known for his statement that “the mind seems to embrace a confederation of psychic entities.” Your Symphony of Selves not only reviews what James had to say, but also considers the work of dozens of other psychologists, scientists, writers, artists, philosophers, and more on the subject of healthy multiplicity.

How this entire well-established and fairly well-understood point of view was then pushed aside—and in some cases strongly denied—is another story that has been left out of almost every history of psychology we could find, including a well-regarded textbook written by one of us. (“It’s embarrassing for me [James Fadiman] to say, but even after seven revisions for seven editions, the cover-up was so well established that I missed it almost entirely.”)

Embracing Your Multiple Selves

You may be surprised to find that a wide range of people—from some of the best-known rock stars, to the most studied philosophers, to the most important neuroscientists—all agree that an understanding and appreciation of your selves is to your obvious advantage. Nearly everyone we feature in the book—of whom there are many—agrees that people really do have different selves and really do “embrace a confederation of psychic entities.”

The reason that we have the ability to change from one self to another is that it improves our survival in general; it improves our relationships; and it has serious positive effects on our health. Most parents, for example, can recall a moment in the raising of their children when there was an immediate and even potentially life-threatening danger. If you’ve experienced such a moment, you found that you needed to be in a self that was, on the one hand, able to calm a frightened child and, on the other hand, able to snatch them from a dangerous situation—sometimes with a speed and strength you did not know you had.

Switching Selves... in the Nick of Time

Could just such a switch actually save your own life? There is a remarkable example quoted in a wonderful recent book by John Kaag, where he describes a moment in the life of the famous naturalist John Muir:


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

“After gaining a point about half-way to the top,” Muir recalled, “I was suddenly brought to a dead stop, with arms outspread, clinging close to the face of the rock, unable to move hand or foot either up or down.” This was the crux, according to Muir.

“My doom appeared fixed. I must fall. There would be a moment of bewilderment, and then a lifeless rumble down the one general precipice to the glacier below. When this final danger flashed up on me, I became nerve-shaken for the first time since setting foot in the mountains, and my mind seemed to fill with a stifling smoke.”

As my (JF) daughter once wrote me while living in a tiny village in a mountainous area of a South American rainforest, “Remember, because I’m writing you this letter, you will know that I lived.” So too, we have the above description from John Muir because he survived. The very precariousness of his situation brought about a shift in his selves. Here is how he described what next occurred:

“This terrible eclipse lasted only a moment, when . . . I seemed suddenly to become possessed of a new sense. The other self—instinct, or Guardian Angel, call it what you will—came forward and assumed control.”

The self that only a few minutes ago had frozen his body in fear seemed to have vanished, and in its place was what he called  “the other self.” Notice in his description that there is no actual magical external influence—no external Guardian Angel except metaphorically—but, for sure, he found himself in the right mind at the right time.

Then he says:

“My trembling muscles became firm again, and every rift and flaw in the rock was seen as through a microscope. My limbs moved with a positiveness and precision with which I seem to have nothing at all to do. Had I been born aloft upon wings, my deliverance could not have been more complete.”

Fortunately for Muir—and the American National Parks system which is his legacy—that part of him knew when and how to come out and take over.

If Muir had “nothing at all to do” with moving himself forward in a positive confident way that prevented a fall, then who was it that was doing it? If the “I” who he was had become “nerve shaken,” then who, exactly, was the “I” that took over and knew exactly what to do?

Perhaps an even more important question is this: Just how did he do it? And why didn’t he know that he could do it from the start? 

Unfortunately, this is not a question that can be answered in a few sentences. It took us the better part of a chapter in our book to fully flesh it out. Let us just say here that we find in the most successful people a heightened ability to switch selves when doing so is called for. We discuss and illustrate, with a number of somewhat less terrifying examples, what that looks like in more ordinary situations and how awareness and practice can make it second nature for any of us.

Working with Multiple Selves (Yours and Theirs)

Until you know you have different selves—that they are real, have innate value, and often demonstrate their own agendas and capacities—you can’t really work well with them. Until you know you’re a symphony, you can’t orchestrate the players. Until you know you’re a team, you can’t play to win.

And until you can recognize and allow for the fact that the other people in your life might not—and, in fact, won’t—always have their best and most appropriate self present when they’re with you, the more likely you are to be reactive when one of their problematic or dysfunctional selves rubs you the wrong way.

However, if you know that this is how all human beings are built and how they function—pretty much all the time—then you’re much more likely to be able to proactively shift into the part of you best-suited for working with this other person at the time.

The Real "Magic" is Awareness

There’s no real magic here, other than awareness. Most of us have been told for so long that everyone must have a single self—and that if you don’t, you’re in deep trouble—that we have forgotten (or never learned) there is another (and far more obvious and effective) option. That option is to simply question the Single Self Assumption, as we call it.

See for yourself what happens if you start playing with the idea that you can consciously learn to shift into your best self on any occasion.You can make plans for how to do this. You can practice doing this ahead of time in your mind. And you can simply imagine—in real time or as close to it as you can manage—that you are the kind of person who just knows how to do this. And then, in the nick of time, you’ll do it.

What we have learned—and why we wrote our book—is that when you know that you and everyone else has selves, life tends to make more sense and work better. All you need to start experiencing this—whatever level you’re already at—is to start with the idea that there’s more to you (and each of us) than we have been told, and that there might be a simpler, more logical, and more effective way of seeing and dealing with each other.

©2020. All Rights Reserved. Excerpted with permission.
Publisher: Park Street Press, an imprint of
Inner Traditions Intl. www.innertraditions.com

Article Source

Your Symphony of Selves: Discover and Understand More of Who We Are
by James Fadiman Ph.D. and Jordan Gruber, J.D.

Your Symphony of Selves: Discover and Understand More of Who We Are  by James Fadiman Ph.D. and Jordan Gruber, J.D.Offering groundbreaking insight into the dynamic nature of personality, James Fadiman and Jordan Gruber show that each of us is comprised of distinct, autonomous, and inherently valuable “selves.” They also show that honoring each of these selves is a key to improved ways of living, loving, and working.

For more info, or to order this book, click here. (Also available as an Audiobook and as a Kindle edition.)

About the Authors

James Fadiman, Ph.D.James Fadiman, Ph.D., with degrees from Harvard and Stanford, was the president of two companies, taught at four universities, is an international seminar leader, and has written textbooks, trade books, and novels. Consulting clients have included IBM, Hewlett-Packard, a Federal Reserve bank, and Foster's Freeze. He is one of the foremost researchers in microdosing studies and is a co-founder of Sophia University. He has been researching healthy multiplicity for over 20 years. Books by James Fadiman, Ph.D.

Jordan Gruber, J.D.Jordan Gruber, J.D., writer, collaborative writer, ghost writer, and editor, has forged and sculpted authoritative volumes in forensic law, financial services, and self-development. A graduate of Binghamton University and the University of Virginia School of Law, he founded the Enlightenment.com website and is now a leading advocate of rebound exercise through the SuperBound Project. Books by Jordan Gruber, J.D.

Video/Interview with Jordan Gruber: Your Symphony of Selves: Discover and Understand More of Who We Are

Video/Presentation with Jim Fadiman (at the Global Transpersonal Symposium): Present!

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

spreading disease at home 11 26
Why Our Homes Became COVID Hotspots
by Becky Tunstall
While staying home protected many of us from catching COVID at work, at school, at the shops or…
christmas traditions explained 11 30
How Christmas Became an American Holiday Tradition
by Thomas Adam
Each season, the celebration of Christmas has religious leaders and conservatives publicly…
grieving for pet 11 26
How to Help Grieve the Loss of a Beloved Family Pet
by Melissa Starling
It’s been three weeks since my partner and I lost our beloved 14.5-year-old dog, Kivi Tarro. It’s…
grey-haired woman wearing funky pink sunglasses singing holding a microphone
Putting on the Ritz and Improving Well-Being
by Julia Brook and Colleen Renihan
Digital programming and virtual interactions, initially considered to be stop-gap measures during…
how to kow if something true 11 30
3 Questions to Ask Whether Something Is True
by Bob Britten
Truth can be tricky to determine. Every message you read, see or hear comes from somewhere and was…
railroad line going off into the clouds
Some Tricks to Quiet the Mind
by Bertold Keinar
Western civilization doesn’t let the mind rest; we always “need” to be connected, to consume more…
two hands reaching out to each other in front of a brightly shining heart
Someone Stole Our Attention. Oh, Did They Really?
by Pierre Pradervand
We live in a world where our entire lives, almost everywhere, are totally invaded by advertising.
imprtance of ventalization for covid prevention 12 2
Ventilation Reduces the Risk of COVID. So Why Are We Still Ignoring It?
by Lidia Morawska and Guy B. Marks
Authorities recommend control measures, but they are “voluntary”. They include wearing a mask,…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.