كيف تعرف الكلاب أنك متوتر

كيف تكتشف الكلاب الإجهاد 9
 مات دونيلي , مؤلف المنصوص

للكلاب تاريخ طويل جنبًا إلى جنب مع البشر ، مما يمنحهم قدرة مذهلة على قراءة الإشارات البشرية. تمتلك الكلاب أيضًا حاسة شم لا تصدق تمكنها من اكتشاف الأمراض ، مثل COVID و سرطان الرئة، في البشر من الرائحة وحدها. تم استكشاف ما إذا كانت قدرات الكلاب تمتد إلى اكتشاف الروائح المرتبطة بالحالات النفسية أم لا.

عندما يكون الناس متوترين ، تحدث تغيرات هرمونية وجهاز عصبي تغير أنواع الروائح التي ينتجها الجسم. أردت أنا وزملائي معرفة ما إذا كان بإمكان الكلاب التمييز بين عينات الرائحة المأخوذة من نفس الشخص قبل وبعد الشعور بالتوتر. للقيام بذلك ، أخذنا أفكارًا من مجال كلاب الكشف الطبي الحيوي (الكلاب البوليسية في بيئة معملية) ودمجنا هذه الأفكار مع التقنيات المستخدمة لاختبار تصورات الكلاب عن الروائح.

يتم نشر نتائجنا في المجلة بلوس واحد.

لاختبار ما إذا كان بإمكان الكلاب اكتشاف رائحة مرتبطة بالضغط النفسي ، قمنا بتوصيل أجهزة استشعار بالمشاركين في الدراسة لقياس معدل ضربات القلب وضغط الدم بشكل مستمر. صنف المشاركون أيضًا مدى التوتر الذي كانوا يشعرون به قبل وبعد المشاركة في المهمة.

قبل بدء المهمة ، قام المشاركون بمسح الشاش على الجزء الخلفي من عنقهم ، ووضعوه في قنينة زجاجية معقمة ، ثم زفروا في القارورة. ثم جعلنا المشاركين يؤدون مهمة حسابية ذهنية سريعة للحث على التوتر لديهم.

بعد المهمة ، قدم المشاركون تقييمًا آخر لتوترهم وعينتين إضافيتين للعرق / التنفس.

كان إجمالي الوقت بين جمع العينات المريحة (قبل المهمة) والعينات المجهدة (ما بعد المهمة) أربع دقائق ، مما قلل من احتمالية تعرض المشاركين لتغييرات غير بداية التوتر.

قمنا فقط بتضمين عينات في الدراسة إذا أبلغ الشخص عن أنه وجد المهمة مرهقة ، وزاد كل من معدل ضربات القلب وضغط الدم أثناء المهمة. قدمنا ​​عينات من 36 شخصًا للكلاب.

عملية التدريب

كانت الكلاب المشمولة في هذه الدراسة حيوانات أليفة ، تطوع بها أصحابها ، وتم تدريبهم باستخدام التعزيز الإيجابي من قبل الباحثين في المختبر مرة واحدة في الأسبوع. قبل البدء في جمع البيانات الرسمية ، تم تعليم الكلاب التواصل مع أنهم يختارون عينة من خلال الوقوف والتجميد فوقها لعدة ثوانٍ أو الجلوس أمامها - وقد أطلقنا على هذا "سلوك التنبيه".

ثم تم تعليم الكلاب لعبة المطابقة ، حيث تعلموا التمييز بين العينات ذات الاختلافات المعروفة في الرائحة. بمجرد التأكد من أن الكلاب كانت ناجحة في ذلك ، كانت جاهزة للاختبار.

أثناء الاختبار ، كلفنا الكلاب بالتمييز بين عينات الشخص المأخوذة قبل المهمة الحسابية وبعدها. لتعليم الكلاب الرائحة التي يجب أن يبحثوا عنها في كل جلسة اختبار ، عُرض عليهم أولاً عينة تعرق / نفس الإجهاد لدى الشخص جنبًا إلى جنب مع "عينتين تحكم" - شاش نظيف في قوارير زجاجية بدون عرق أو تنفس.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

سُمح للكلاب بشم العينات الثلاث وتمت مكافأتها لتنبيه الباحثين إلى عينة العرق / التنفس.

بعد عشر حالات تعرض ، تمت إضافة عينة ثانية من التنفس / العرق إلى التشكيلة: العينة المريحة لنفس الشخص. هنا بدأ اختبار التمييز ، الذي حدث خلال التجارب العشرين التالية. كانت مهمة الكلاب هي التواصل ، من خلال سلوكهم التنبيه ، عن العينة التي يرون أنها مماثلة لتلك التي تم عرضها عليهم في التجارب العشر السابقة ، أي العينة التي كانت رائحتها مثل عينة الإجهاد. نظرًا لأن الكلاب قد تستخدم معلومات أخرى لمساعدتها على الاختيار ، فقد قمنا بتضمين كل من عناصر التحكم المرئية والرائحة.

إذا كانت هاتان الرائحتان تشتمان نفس الرائحة للكلب ، فإننا نتوقع منهم اختيار أي منهما بالصدفة. إذا كانت الرائحتان مختلفتين ، فسيكون بمقدورهما العثور باستمرار على الرائحة المقدمة لهما أولاً: رائحة الإجهاد. تم استخدام كل مجموعة عينة من المشاركين مرة واحدة فقط ، لذلك رأت الكلاب عينات من شخص مختلف خلال كل جلسة.

منذ المرة الأولى التي تعرضت فيها الكلاب لهذه العينات ، أدركوا أن العينات كانت رائحتها مختلفة. اختارت الكلاب عينة الإجهاد بشكل صحيح في 94٪ من 720 تجربة ، مما يدل على أن التجربة النفسية للمشاركين في المهمة الحسابية أدت إلى إطلاق أجسامهم روائح في أنفاسهم وعرق يمكن للكلاب اكتشافها.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن هذه الدراسة لا تحدد ما إذا كانت الكلاب قد أدركت أن عينات الإجهاد تعكس حالة عاطفية سلبية. من المحتمل أنه في بيئة الحياة الواقعية ، تستخدم الكلاب مجموعة متنوعة من الإشارات السياقية ، مثل لغة جسدنا أو نبرة الصوت أو معدل التنفس ، لمساعدتهم على فهم الموقف. ومع ذلك ، فإن النتائج تقدم دليلًا قاطعًا على أن الرائحة هي أيضًا مكون يمكن للكلاب أن تلتقطه.

إن إثبات أن الكلاب يمكنها اكتشاف الرائحة المرتبطة بالإجهاد البشري يوفر معرفة أعمق بالعلاقة بين الإنسان والكلب ويضيف إلى فهمنا لكيفية إدراك الكلاب للحالات النفسية البشرية والتفاعل معها. يمكن أن تكون هذه المعرفة مفيدة أيضًا لتدريب كلاب خدمة القلق واضطراب ما بعد الصدمة التي يتم تدريبها حاليًا للاستجابة في الغالب للإشارات البصرية.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

كلارا ويلسونمرشح دكتوراه في علم النفس جامعة كوينز في بلفاست

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

انخفاض عدد سكان الصين 1 21
سكان الصين والعالم يتراجعون الآن
by Xiujian Peng
أكد مكتب الإحصاء الوطني الصيني ما أكده الباحثون مثلي منذ فترة طويلة ...
شخصان يجلسان يتحدثان
كيف تتحدث مع شخص ما عن نظريات المؤامرة في خمس خطوات بسيطة
by دانيال جولي وكارين دوغلاس وماثيو ماركيز
غالبًا ما تكون غريزة الناس الأولى عند التعامل مع مؤمني المؤامرة هي محاولة فضح…
ممارسة اليوجا القديمة 1 24
فوائد ممارسة اليوجا القديمة لكل من الجسد والعقل
by هيربريت رقيق
أصبحت اليوغا الآن نشاطًا سائدًا في الولايات المتحدة ويتم تصويرها عادةً على أنها أسلوب حياة صحي ...
سياسة اللطف 1 20
جاسيندا أرديرن وسياستها اللطيفة هي إرث دائم
by هيلدا كوفي
سعى نهج جاسيندا أرديرن الإنساني والعاطفي إلى إضفاء نبرة تصالحية. لم يكن هناك مكان ...
التبييض mlk 1 25
كيف الجمهوريين وايت واش مارتن لوثر كينج
by هاجر يزديها
كانون الثاني (يناير) هو شهر يحيي ذكرى أكثر قتامة وحداثة لهجوم 6 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2021 على ...
امرأة جالسة ملفوفة في بطانية تحتسي مشروبًا ساخنًا
نزلات البرد والإنفلونزا و COVID: كيف يمكن للنظام الغذائي ونمط الحياة تعزيز جهاز المناعة لديك
by صموئيل جيه وايت وفيليب ب. ويلسون
هناك العديد من الأشياء التي يمكننا القيام بها لدعم جهاز المناعة لدينا وحتى تحسين وظائفه.
عائلة بهيجة تجلس معًا بالخارج في مرج
كيف يمكننا أن نكون أفضل آباء ممكن أن نكون؟
by الحاخام واين دوسيك
نحن من نصنع الخيارات وننقل الدروس - بالقول والفعل ، بذكاء و ...
الترحيب بعام الأرنب عام 2011 في تايوان
مرحبًا بك في عام الأرنب أو القط ، اعتمادًا على المكان الذي تعيش فيه
by ميغان بريسون
في 22 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2023 ، سيرحب أكثر من مليار شخص على مستوى العالم بعام الأرنب - أو ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

How Dogs Know If You Are Stressed

how dogs detect stress 9 28
 Matt Donnelly , Author provided

Dogs have a long history alongside humans, giving them an amazing ability to read human cues. Dogs also possess an incredible sense of smell, which enables them to detect diseases, such as COVID and lung cancer, in humans from odour alone. Whether dogs’ capabilities extend to detecting odours associated with psychological states has been explored far less.

When people are stressed, there are hormonal and nervous system changes that alter the kinds of odours produced by the body. My colleagues and I wanted to know if dogs can discriminate between odour samples taken from the same person before and after becoming stressed. To do this, we took ideas from the field of biomedical detection dogs (sniffer dogs in a laboratory setting) and combined these ideas with techniques used to test dogs’ perceptions of odours.

Our results are published in the journal PLOS One.

To test whether dogs could detect an odour associated with psychological stress, we attached sensors to the study participants to continuously measure their heart rate and blood pressure. Participants also rated how stressed they were feeling before and after taking part in the task.

Before the task started, participants wiped gauze on the back of their neck, placed it into a sterile glass vial, and exhaled into the vial. We then got the participants to perform a rapid mental arithmetic task to induce stress in them.

After the task, participants provided another rating of their stress and two additional sweat/breath samples.

The total time between the collection of the relaxed (pre-task) and stressed (post-task) samples was four minutes, reducing the likelihood that the participants experienced changes other than the onset of stress.

We only included samples in the study if the person reported finding the task stressful, and both their heart rate and blood pressure had increased during the task. We presented samples from 36 people to the dogs.

The training process

The dogs included in this study were pets, volunteered by their owners, who were trained using positive reinforcement by researchers in a laboratory once a week. Before formal data collection began, dogs were taught to communicate that they were picking a sample by standing and freezing above it for several seconds or sitting in front of it – we called this their “alert behaviour”.

The dogs were then taught a matching game, where they learned to discriminate between samples with known odour differences. Once it was established that the dogs were successful at this, they were ready to be tested.

At testing, we tasked the dogs with discriminating between a person’s samples taken before and after the arithmetic task. To teach the dogs what odour they should be looking for in each testing session, they were first shown the person’s stress sweat/breath sample alongside two “control samples” – clean gauze in glass vials with no sweat or breath.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

The dogs were allowed to sniff all three samples and were rewarded for alerting the researchers to the sweat/breath sample.

After ten exposures, a second breath/sweat sample was added to the line-up: the same person’s relaxed sample. Here began the test of discrimination, which took place over the next 20 trials. It was the dogs’ job to communicate, through their alert behaviour, which sample they perceived as the same as the one shown to them in the previous ten trials, that is, which sample smelled like the stress sample. Because dogs might use other information to help them make a choice, we included both visual and odour controls.

If these two odours smell the same to the dog, we would expect them to pick either by chance. If the two odours smell different, they would be able to consistently find the odour first presented to them: the stress odour. Each sample set from participants was used only once, so the dogs saw samples from a different person during each session.

From the very first time the dogs were exposed to these samples, they perceived the samples as smelling different. The dogs correctly chose the stress sample in 94% of 720 trials, showing that the participants’ psychological experience of the arithmetic task had resulted in their body emitting odours in their breath and sweat that the dogs could detect.

It should be noted that this study does not determine whether the dogs perceived the stress samples as reflecting a negative emotional state. It is likely that in a real-life setting dogs use a variety of contextual cues, such as our body language, tone of voice, or breathing rate, to help them understand a situation. However, the results provide firm evidence that odour is also a component that dogs can pick up on.

Establishing that dogs can detect an odour associated with human stress provides deeper knowledge of the human-dog relationship and adds to our understanding of how dogs perceive and interact with human psychological states. This knowledge could also be useful for the training of anxiety and PTSD service dogs that are currently trained to respond predominantly to visual cues.The Conversation

About The Author

Clara Wilson, PhD Candidate, Psychology, Queen's University Belfast

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

spreading disease at home 11 26
Why Our Homes Became COVID Hotspots
by Becky Tunstall
While staying home protected many of us from catching COVID at work, at school, at the shops or…
christmas traditions explained 11 30
How Christmas Became an American Holiday Tradition
by Thomas Adam
Each season, the celebration of Christmas has religious leaders and conservatives publicly…
grieving for pet 11 26
How to Help Grieve the Loss of a Beloved Family Pet
by Melissa Starling
It’s been three weeks since my partner and I lost our beloved 14.5-year-old dog, Kivi Tarro. It’s…
a man and woman in a kayak
Being in the Flow of Your Soul Mission and Life Purpose
by Kathryn Hudson
When our choices distance us from our soul mission, something inside us suffers. There is no logic…
grey-haired woman wearing funky pink sunglasses singing holding a microphone
Putting on the Ritz and Improving Well-Being
by Julia Brook and Colleen Renihan
Digital programming and virtual interactions, initially considered to be stop-gap measures during…
how to kow if something true 11 30
3 Questions to Ask Whether Something Is True
by Bob Britten
Truth can be tricky to determine. Every message you read, see or hear comes from somewhere and was…
essential oil and flowers
Using Essential Oils and Optimizing Our Body-Mind-Spirit
by Heather Dawn Godfrey, PGCE, BSc
Essential oils have a multitude of uses, from ethereal and cosmetic to psycho-emotional and…
two climbers, with one giving the other a helping hand
Why Doing Good Deeds Is Good For You
by Michael Glauser
What happens to the doers of good deeds? Numerous studies confirm that those who regularly engage…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.