المرض قد مسح خارج الموز وكيفية حفظها

المرض قد مسح خارج الموز وكيفية حفظها

كارثة تلوح في الأفق لصناعة الموز. وقد ظهرت سلالة جديدة من الفطريات التي تنتقل عن طريق التربة المعروفة باسم "مرض بنما" التي يمكن أن تمحو مزارع بأكملها - وينتشر بسرعة في جميع أنحاء العالم. المزارعون في أستراليا, أمريكا اللاتينية وعبر آسيا و أفريقيا كل الخوف من الأسوأ.

يكاد يكون من المستحيل إيقاف الفطر أو استئصاله. يتحرك خلال التربة ، لذلك يمكن أن يكون التلوث بسيطا مثل الأوساخ المصابة التي تنتقل من مزرعة إلى أخرى على نعل حذاء ، أو معقد مثل جسيمات التربة التي تهب على الرياح عبر مسافات طويلة - حتى عبر المحيطات ، من الناحية النظرية.

تواجه خسائر فادحة لصناعة عالمية، كثير منها اتصل لاجل سلالة جديدة من "superbanana" مقاومة للأمراض. ومع ذلك، فإن هذا سيكون مجرد إصلاح مؤقت آخر. بعد كل شيء، الموز الأكثر شعبية في العالم، كافنديش، كان في حد ذاته ثمرة عجب من يومه، يجري إدخالها في 1950s بعد سلالة سابق من مرض بنما تدمير سابقتها.

الفطريات تتكيف ببساطة وردت على الرغم من ذلك، حتى أصبح أيضا كافنديش عرضة للإصابة. وبنما وغيرها من الأمراض تواصل القيام بذلك حتى نصلح بجدية كيف نكبر والموز السوق.

صناعة الموز هي أسوأ عدو لها. المزارع الضخمة التي يزرع فيها معظم الموز تعتبر مثالية للآفات. هذه المزارع هي الزراعات الأحادية ، مما يعني أنها تنمو فقط الموز ولا شيء آخر. مع وجود عدد قليل جداً من التحولات بين المحاصيل على مر السنين ، والكثير من أشعة الشمس الاستوائية ، هناك إمدادات وفيرة من الغذاء على مدار السنة للآفات دون أي فواصل ، في الزمان أو الفضاء ، لتعطيل العرض وخفض ضغط المرض.

ينفق منتجو الموز ثلث دخلهم على السيطرة على هذه الآفات ، وفقا ل دراسة نشرت في 2013. يتم تطبيق المواد الكيميائية للسيطرة على الديدان المجهرية ولكن المميتة عدة مرات في السنة. يتم تطبيق مبيدات الأعشاب التي تتحكم في الحشائش حتى ثماني مرات في السنة ، في حين يمكن رش الموز بمبيدات فطرية من طائرة أكثر من 50 مرات في السنة من أجل السيطرة على Black Sigatoka ، وهو فطر محمولة جواً.

وتلك الحقائب التي يتم التفاف حول كل مجموعة الموز الفردية؟ هم واصطف مع المبيدات الحشرية لتكون بمثابة حاجز فيزيائي وكيميائي للحشرات التي تتغذى على الجلد وتلفه.

كل هذا يصل إلى حوالي لتر واحد من المكونات النشطة لكل صندوق من الموز 18.6 من الموز الذي يتم تصديره للمستهلكين في الشمال العالمي. إنها مشكلة ضخمة طويلة الأمد بالنسبة للصناعة وقد تكون السلالة الجديدة من مرض بنما مجرد مسمار في تابوتها.

أو ربما هذا هو استيقاظ استدعاء صناعة الموز تصدير يحتاج بشدة.

تبحث عن superbanana

نظرا للطريقة التي ينتشر الفطر، والاحتواء والحجر الصحي تكاد لا تكون الحلول على المدى الطويل. بعض الخبراء، ولا سيما تلك التي ترسخ في الأعمال التجارية من الموز التصدير المتزايدة، ويقول أننا في حاجة إلى تولد أو تعديل وراثيا نوع جديد من الموز التي هي مقاومة لأحدث سلالة من مرض بنما.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

لكن هذا أصعب مما يبدو. الموز الحديث - الاصفر اللذيذ - لا يوجد في الطبيعة. تم تربيتها في الوجود حول 10,000 منذ سنوات. إنها تتكاثر بطريقة لا عقلانية ، مما يعني أنها لا تمتلك بذور وأن كل موزة هي نسخة وراثية من الجيل السابق.

هذا النقص في التنوع الجيني يجعل تربية موزة جديدة صعبة للغاية. إذا كان أحد كافنديش عرضة لمرض ، فإن جميع الآخرين سيكونون كذلك. عندما تكون جميع أنواع الموز مستنسخة ، كيف يمكنك إنشاء التنوع الجيني الذي يمكن من خلاله تحديد ورعاية سمات مقاومة أفضل للأمراض؟

كما يجب أن يكون الموز جديدًا ولذيذًا ومتميزًا بما يكفي لتحمل الرحلات الطويلة بدون كدمات وأصفر مشرق. يبدو حقاً رابحة مقاومة الآفات. وكان نوع جديد من الموز قدم خلال ذعر مرض بنما السابقة مرة أخرى في 1920s رفضت من قبل المستهلكين لتذهب باللون الأسود في الخارج ، حتى عندما كان ناضجًا وحلوًا بالداخل.

إنقاذ الموز

واليوم ، يعمل مزارعو الموز في الكفاح من أجل البقاء ، ويطبقون باستمرار مبيدات فطرية مصاغة حديثا في محاولة للوقاية من الأمراض. لكنهم يدركون تماما أنهم يخسرون الأرض. وبينما يربح الموز الجديد عصياً من المشكلة الحالية ، فقد أظهر التاريخ بالفعل أن هذا لا يصل إلى جذور المشكلة ، وهو تصميم نظام الإنتاج.

نحن بحاجة إلى التخلص من المزارع الضخمة. في جميع أنحاء العالم ، يزرع الملايين من صغار المزارعين بالفعل الموز بطريقة أكثر حيوية واستدامة. جنبا إلى جنب مع الموز والكاكاو والأفوكادو والمانجو والذرة والبرتقال والليمون وأكثر من ذلك. مزيج من المحاصيل يخلق نظم الإنتاج أكثر استقرارا التي تعتمد على عدد أقل، إن وجدت، والمبيدات الحشرية ويولد مصادر دخل متنوعة، وتسليم السكان المحليين أكبر السيادة الغذائية. المزارع حيث يتم خلط الموز في بالمحاصيل الأخرى هي أيضا أكثر مرونة لتغير المناخ التي من المرجح أن ضرب المناطق المنتجة للموز - البلدان النامية - أصعب من غيره.

نعم، وهذا يعني تزرع أقل الموز. الزراعة المستدامة ببساطة لا يمكن أن يتماشى مع megafarms. ولكن إذا علمنا أن نتجاهل الموز الملطخ أو الأصغر الغريب، ثم المبلغ الفعلي إرسالها إلى السوق ليس من الضروري انخفاض على الإطلاق.

يجب على المزارعين أنفسهم أن يكونوا بخير لأنهم سوف يكسبون دخلهم من خلال إنتاج محاصيل مختلفة. يجب أن يكسر هيمنة شركات الموز متعددة الجنسيات الثروة بين المزيد من المزارعين وتمكين المناطق التي تنمو فيها. كمستهلك ، اسأل نفسك هذا: أليس هذا أفضل طريقة لإنفاق أموالك؟

نبذة عن الكاتبالمحادثة

أنجلينا ساندرسون بيلامي ، باحث مشارك ، معهد بحوث الأماكن المستدامة ، جامعة كارديف. تشمل مجالات خبرتها أنظمة الإنتاج الغذائي وتغيرات استخدام الأراضي / الغطاء الأرضي ، باستخدام منظور اجتماعي-إيكولوجي. وهي تحقق في الدوافع الاجتماعية ، لا سيما هياكل الحكم والدعم ، والتغير البيئي وأثر إدارة الأراضي على تقديم خدمات النظام الإيكولوجي

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


كتاب ذات الصلة:

at

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةرمز youtubeرمز الانستغرامرمز pintrestأيقونة آر إس إس

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

مجلة أسبوعية يوميا الإلهام

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

الأكثر قراءة

Sedna وعالمنا الناشئ
Sedna وعالمنا الناشئ
by سارة فاركاس
سيدنا هي إلهة البحر الإنويت ، والمعروفة أيضًا باسم أم أو عشيقة البحر وإلهة ...
شاب يتأمل خارج
كيف تتأمل ولماذا
by جوزيف سيلبي
يمنحنا التأمل وصولاً أكبر إلى الحقائق غير المحلية: رفع المشاعر وتنسيقها ، ...
علامات عدم المساواة 9
لقد تراجعت الولايات المتحدة بشكل كبير في التصنيف العالمي الذي يقيس الديمقراطية وعدم المساواة
by كاثلين فريدل
قد تعتبر الولايات المتحدة نفسها "زعيمة للعالم الحر" ، لكنها تعتبر مؤشرًا للتنمية ...
أنظمة الطاقة الشمسية المنزلية 9 30
عندما تنطفئ شبكة الطاقة ، هل يمكن أن توفر الطاقة الشمسية لمنزلك؟
by ويل جورمان وآخرون
في العديد من المناطق المعرضة للكوارث وانقطاع التيار الكهربائي ، بدأ الناس في التساؤل عما إذا كان الاستثمار في الأسطح ...
أمراض المناطق المدارية 9
لماذا قد لا تكون أمراض المناطق المدارية في أوروبا نادرة لفترة أطول بكثير
by مايكل هيد
حمى الضنك ، عدوى فيروسية تنتشر عن طريق البعوض ، مرض شائع في أجزاء من آسيا واللاتين ...
جدة تقرأ لحفيديها
حكاية جدة الاسكتلندية عن الاعتدال الخريفي
by إلين إيفرت هوبمان
تحتوي هذه القصة على القليل من أمريكا فيها وقليلًا من أوركني فيها. أوركني في…
جسدي خياري 9 20
كيف بدأت البطريركية وهل سيتخلص منها التطور؟
by روث ميس
النظام الأبوي ، بعد أن كان إلى حد ما في تراجع في أجزاء من العالم ، عاد إلى وجوهنا. في…
سلم يصل الى القمر
اكتشف مقاومتك لفرص الحياة
by بيث بيل
لم أفهم حقًا عبارة "لا تقل أبدًا" حتى بدأت أدرك أنني ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf سوق
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Disease May Wipe Out Bananas And How To Save Them

Disease May Wipe Out Bananas And How To Save Them

Catastrophe is looming for the banana industry. A new strain has emerged of a soil-borne fungus known as “Panama disease” which can wipe out entire plantations – and it is rapidly spreading around the world. Farmers in Australia, Latin America and across Asia and Africa all fear the worst.

The fungus is almost impossible to stop or eradicate. It moves through soil, so contamination can be as simple as infected dirt travelling from one farm to another on the sole of a shoe, or as complex as soil particles blowing on the wind across long distances – even across oceans, in theory.

Faced with huge losses to a global industry, many have called for a new strain of disease-resistant “superbanana”. However, this would be just another temporary fix. After all, the world’s most popular banana, the Cavendish, was itself the wonder fruit of its day, being introduced in the 1950s after an earlier strain of Panama disease destroyed its predecessor.

The fungi simply adapted and fought back, though, until the Cavendish also became susceptible. Panama and other diseases will continue to do so until we seriously reform how we grow and market bananas.

The banana industry is its own worst enemy. The huge farms where most exported bananas are grown are ideal for pests. These plantations are monocultures, which means they grow only bananas and nothing else. With very few shifts between crops over the years, and lots of tropical sunshine, there is an abundant and year-round supply of food for pests without any breaks, in time or space, to disrupt the supply and lower the disease pressure.

Banana producers spend a third of their income on controlling these pests, according to a study I published in 2013. Chemicals to control microscopic but deadly worms are applied several times a year. Herbicides that control weeds are applied up to eight times a year, while bananas may be sprayed with fungicides from a plane more than 50 times per year in order to control Black Sigatoka, an airborne fungus.

And those bags that are wrapped around each individual banana bunch? They’re lined with insecticides to serve as both a physical and chemical barrier to insects feeding on and damaging the skins.

All of this amounts to approximately one litre of active ingredients for every 18.6 kg box of bananas that is exported to consumers in the global north. It’s a huge, long-running problem for the industry and the new strain of Panama disease may just be the nail in its coffin.

Or maybe this is the wake-up call the export banana industry so desperately needs.

Searching for the superbanana

Given the way the fungus spreads, containment and quarantine are hardly long-term solutions. Some experts, especially those entrenched in the business of growing export bananas, argue that we need to breed or genetically modify a new type of banana that is resistant to the latest strain of Panama disease.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

But this is harder than it sounds. Modern bananas – the tasty yellow ones – don’t exist in nature; they were bred into existence around 10,000 years ago. They reproduce asexually, which means they don’t have seeds and every banana is a genetic clone of the previous generation.

This lack of genetic variation makes breeding a new banana particularly challenging. If one Cavendish is susceptible to a disease, all others will be too. When all bananas are clones, how do you create the genetic variation from which traits for better disease resistance can be identified and nurtured?

A new banana would also have to be tasty, durable enough to withstand long voyages without bruising, and bright yellow. Looks really do trump pest-resistance. A new type of banana introduced during a previous Panama disease panic back in the 1920s was rejected by consumers for going black on the outside, even when it was ripe and sweet inside.

Saving the banana

Today, banana growers are in a fight for survival, continuously applying newly-formulated fungicides in an effort to keep ahead of the diseases. But they are acutely aware that they are losing ground. While breeding a new banana staves off the current problem, history has already shown that this doesn’t get to the root of the problem, which is the design of the production system.

We need to ditch the massive farms. Around the world, millions of small-scale farmers already grow bananas in a more organic and sustainable way. Alongside bananas are cacao, avocado, mango, corn, orange, lemon and more. A mix of crops creates more stable production systems which rely on fewer, if any, pesticides and generates diverse income sources, handing local people greater food sovereignty. Farms where bananas are mixed in with other crops are also more resilient to climate change which is likely to hit banana-producing regions – developing countries – harder than most.

Yes, this would mean fewer bananas are grown. Sustainable agriculture simply can’t keep up with the megafarms. But if we learned to ignore the odd blemished or undersized banana, then the actual amount sent to market need not drop at all.

The farmers themselves should be okay as they’ll make up their income by producing different crops. Breaking the dominance of the banana multinationals should also distribute wealth among more farmers and empower the regions where they’re grown. As a consumer, ask yourself this: isn’t that a far better way to spend your money?

About The AuthorThe Conversation

Angelina Sanderson Bellamy, Research Associate, Sustainable Places Research Institute, Cardiff University. Her areas of expertise encompass food production systems and land use/land cover changes, using a social-ecological perspective. She investigates the social drivers, particularly governance and support structures, of environmental change and the impact of land management on the delivery of ecosystem services

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.


Related Book:

at

You May Also Like

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWdanltlfifrdeeliwhihuiditjakomsnofaplptroruesswsvthtrukurvi

MOST READ

mindfulness and dance mental health 4 27
How Mindfulness And Dance Can Improve Mental Health
by Adrianna Mendrek, Bishop's University
For decades, the somatosensory cortex was considered to only be responsible for processing sensory…
charger incapability 9 19
New USB-C Charger Rule Shows How EU Regulators Make Decisions For The World
by Renaud Foucart, Lancaster University
Have you ever borrowed a friend’s charger only to find it is not compatible with your phone? Or…
man. woman and child at the beach
Is This The Day? Father's Day Turnaround
by Will Wilkinson
It's Father's Day. What's the symbolic meaning? Could something life-changing happen today in your…
how pain killers work 4 27
How Do Painkillers Actually Kill Pain?
by Rebecca Seal and Benedict Alter, University of Pittsburgh
Without the ability to feel pain, life is more dangerous. To avoid injury, pain tells us to use a…
what about vegan cheese 4 27
What You Should Know About Vegan Cheese
by Richard Hoffman, University of Hertfordshire
Fortunately, thanks to the increasing popularity of veganism, food manufacturers have begun…
helath effects of bpa 6 19
What Decades Of Research Document The Health Effects Of BPA
by Tracey Woodruff, University of California, San Francisco
Whether or not you’ve heard of the chemical bisphenol A, better known as BPA, studies show that…
how save m0ney on food 6 29
How To Save On Your Food Bill And Still Eat Tasty, Nutritious Meals
by Clare Collins and Megan Whatnall, University of Newcastle
Grocery prices have taken a hike upwards for a host of reasons, including the rising costs of…
ocean sustainability 4 27
The Health Of The Ocean Hinges On Economics And The Idea Of Infinity Fish
by Rashid Sumaila, University of British Columbia
Indigenous Elders recently shared their dismay about the unprecedented decline in salmon…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.