Как ваши друзья в Twitter могут отказать в вашей анонимности

Как ваши друзья в Twitter могут подарить вам вашу анонимность

Когда вы просматриваете Интернет, отслеживайте онлайн-рекламодателей почти каждый сайт, который вы посещаете, накопление информации о ваших привычках и предпочтениях. Когда вы посещаете новостной сайт, они могут увидеть, что вы поклонник баскетбольных, оперных и таинственных романов и, соответственно, выбираете рекламу, соответствующую вашим вкусам.

Рекламодатели используют эту информацию для создания персонализированного опыта, но, как правило, они точно не знают, кто вы. Они наблюдают только ваш цифровой след, а не вашу личность, и поэтому вы можете почувствовать, что у вас сохранилась определенная анонимность.

Но в документе я соавтором с Аншем Шукла, Шарадом Голем и Арвиндом Нараянаном, мы показываем, что эти анонимные записи в Интернете могут фактически быть привязаны к реальным реальностям.

Чтобы проверить наш подход, мы построили Веб-сайт где люди могли бы пожертвовать свою историю просмотров для целей этого исследования. Затем мы попытались выяснить, можем ли мы связать свои истории с их профилями Twitter, используя только общедоступные данные. Семьдесят два процента людей, которых мы пытались деанонизировать, были правильно идентифицированы как лучший кандидат в результатах поиска, а 81 процентов были среди лучших кандидатов 15.

privacy2 2 8Скриншоты сайта деанонификации.

Это, насколько нам известно, самая масштабная демонстрация деанонификации на сегодняшний день, поскольку она выбирает правильного пользователя из сотен миллионов возможных пользователей Twitter. Кроме того, наш метод требует только того, что человек нажимает на ссылки, появляющиеся в своих каналах в социальных сетях, а не на то, что они публикуют контент - поэтому даже люди, которые заботятся о том, что они используют в Интернете, по-прежнему уязвимы для этой атаки.

Как это работает?

На высоком уровне наш подход основан на простом наблюдении. У каждого человека очень своеобразная социальная сеть, состоящая из семьи и друзей из школы, работы и различных стадий их жизни. Как следствие, набор ссылок в ваших фидах для Facebook и Twitter является очень отличительным. Нажатие на эти ссылки оставляет контрольную метку в истории просмотров.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Изучая набор веб-страниц, которые посетил пользователь, мы смогли выбрать похожие каналы в социальных сетях, в результате чего список кандидатов, которые, вероятно, сгенерировали эту историю веб-просмотра. Таким образом, мы можем связать реальную личность человека с почти полным набором ссылок, которые они посещали, включая ссылки, которые никогда не были размещены на любом сайте социальных сетей.

Выполнение этой стратегии связано с двумя ключевыми задачами. Первое теоретическое: как вы оцениваете, насколько подобный конкретный фид социальных сетей относится к данной истории веб-просмотра? Одним простым способом является измерение доли ссылок в истории просмотров, которые также отображаются в фиде. Это на практике работает достаточно хорошо, но оно преувеличивает сходство для крупных каналов, поскольку они просто содержат больше ссылок. Вместо этого мы используем альтернативный подход. Мы позиционируем стилизованную вероятностную модель поведения веб-браузера, а затем вычисляем вероятность того, что пользователь с этим каналом социальных сетей генерирует наблюдаемую историю просмотров. Тогда мы выбираем канал социальных сетей, который, скорее всего.

Вторая задача заключается в идентификации наиболее похожих каналов в реальном времени. Здесь мы переходим к Twitter, поскольку Twitter-каналы (в отличие от Facebook) в основном публичны. Однако, несмотря на то, что каналы являются общедоступными, мы не можем просто создать локальную копию Twitter, с помощью которой мы можем запускать наши запросы. Вместо этого мы применяем ряд методов, которые значительно сокращают пространство поиска. Затем мы объединяем методы кэширования с обходами по требованию, чтобы построить каналы наиболее перспективных кандидатов. В этом сокращенном наборе кандидатов мы применяем нашу меру подобия для получения окончательных результатов. Учитывая историю просмотров, мы можем выполнить весь этот процесс в течение 60 секунд.

Наш метод более точен для людей, которые более активно просматривают Twitter. Девяносто процентов участников, которые нажали на 100 или другие ссылки в Twitter, могут быть сопоставлены с их личностью.

У многих компаний есть ресурсы отслеживания для проведения такой атаки, даже без согласия участника. Мы попытались деанонизировать каждого из участников эксперимента, используя только те части истории их просмотра, которые были видны конкретным компаниям-трекерам (потому что у компаний есть трекеры на этих страницах). Мы обнаружили, что у нескольких компаний есть ресурсы для точной идентификации участников.

Конфиденциальность 2 8Другие исследования по деанонификации

В нескольких других исследованиях использовались общедоступные следы для деанонификации конфиденциальных данных.

Возможно, самое известное исследование в этом направлении было выполнено Latanya Sweeney в Гарвардском университете в 2002. Она обнаружила, что 87 процентов американцев были однозначно идентифицируемы на основе комбинации почтового индекса, поля и даты рождения. Эти три атрибута были доступны как в публичных данных регистрации избирателей (которые она купила за USN 20), так и в анонимных медицинских данных (которые были широко распространены, поскольку люди считали данные анонимными). Подключив эти источники данных, она обнаружила медицинские записи губернатора штата Массачусетс.

В 2006, Netflix провела конкурс чтобы улучшить качество своих рекомендаций по фильму. Они выпустили анонимный набор данных о рейтингах людей и предложили команде $ 1 миллион, которые могли бы улучшить алгоритм их рекомендаций с помощью 10 процентов. Компьютерные ученые Арвинд Нараянан и Виталий Шматиков заметил, что просмотренные фильмы были очень отличительными, и большинство людей в наборе данных были однозначно идентифицированы на основе небольшого подмножества своих фильмов. Другими словами, на основе выбора фильмов Netflix и обзоров IMDB исследователи смогли определить, кто эти пользователи Netflix на самом деле были.

С ростом социальных сетей все больше людей обмениваются информацией, которая кажется безобидной, но на самом деле раскрывает много личной информации. Исследование, проведенное под руководством Михал Косински в Кембриджском университете использовал Facebook, чтобы предсказывать сексуальной ориентации, политических взглядов и личностных качеств.

Другая команда, возглавляемая Гилберт Вондрайс в Венском технологическом университете, построил «машину деанонификации», которая выяснила, какие группы людей были частью социальной сети Xing, и использовала ее для определения того, кем они были, - поскольку группы, в которых вы участвуете, часто достаточно, чтобы однозначно идентифицировать вы.

Что ты можешь сделать

Большинство из этих атак сложнее защищать, если вы не прекратите пользоваться Интернетом или не участвуете в общественной жизни.

Даже если вы перестанете пользоваться Интернетом, компании могут собирать данные на вас. Если несколько ваших друзей загружают свои телефонные контакты в Facebook, а ваш номер во всех своих списках контактов, Facebook может делать прогнозы о вас, даже если вы не пользуетесь их услугами.

Лучший способ защитить от алгоритмов деанонимизации, подобных нашей, - это ограничить набор людей, которые имеют доступ к вашим анонимным данным просмотра. Расширения браузера, такие как Ghostery блокировать сторонние трекеры. Это означает, что, хотя компания, веб-сайт которой вы посещаете, будет знать, что вы посещаете их, рекламные компании, показывающие рекламу на своей странице, не смогут собирать ваши данные для просмотра и объединять их на нескольких сайтах.

Если вы являетесь веб-мастером, вы можете защитить своих пользователей, разрешив им просматривать ваш сайт, используя HTTPS, Просмотр с помощью HTTP позволяет злоумышленникам получать историю просмотров, обнюхивая сетевой трафик, который позволяет им выполнять эту атаку. Многие веб-сайты уже перешли на HTTPS; когда мы повторили наш эксперимент по деанонификации с точки зрения сниффера сетевого трафика, можно было деанимизировать только 31 процентов участников.

Тем не менее, вы можете сделать очень мало, чтобы защитить себя от атак деанонификации в целом, и, возможно, лучший способ действий - скорректировать свои ожидания. В этом цифровом веке ничто не является частным.

Об авторе

Джессика Су, доктор философии. Студент в Стэнфорде, Стэнфордский университет

Эта статья изначально была опубликована в Беседа, Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = конфиденциальность в сети; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

How Your Friends On Twitter May Give Away Your Anonymity

privacy

How Your Friends On Twitter May Give You Away Your Anonymity

As you browse the internet, online advertisers track nearly every site you visit, amassing a trove of information on your habits and preferences. When you visit a news site, they might see you’re a fan of basketball, opera and mystery novels, and accordingly select ads tailored to your tastes.

Advertisers use this information to create highly personalized experiences, but they typically don’t know exactly who you are. They observe only your digital trail, not your identity itself, and so you might feel that you’ve retained a degree of anonymity.

But, in a paper I coauthored with Ansh Shukla, Sharad Goel and Arvind Narayanan, we show that these anonymous web browsing records can in fact often be tied back to real-world identities.

To test our approach, we built a website where people could donate their browsing history for the purposes of this study. We then tried to see if we could link their histories back to their Twitter profiles using only publicly available data. Seventy-two percent of people who we tried to deanonymize were correctly identified as the top candidate in the search results, and 81 percent were among the top 15 candidates.

privacy2 2 8Screenshots of the deanonymization website.

This is, to our knowledge, the largest-scale demonstration of deanonymization to date, since it picks the correct user out of hundreds of millions of possible Twitter users. In addition, our method requires only that a person clicks on the links appearing in their social media feeds, not that they post any content – so even people who are careful about what they share on the internet are still vulnerable to this attack.

How it works

At a high level, our approach is based on a simple observation. Each person has a highly distinctive social network, comprising family and friends from school, work and various stages of their life. As a consequence, the set of links in your Facebook and Twitter feeds is highly distinctive. Clicking on these links leaves a tell-tale mark in your browsing history.

By looking at the set of web pages an individual has visited, we were able to pick out similar social media feeds, yielding a list of candidates who likely generated that web browsing history. In this manner, we can tie a person’s real-world identity to the nearly complete set of links they have visited, including links that were never posted on any social media site.

Carrying out this strategy involves two key challenges. The first is theoretical: How do you quantify how similar a specific social media feed is to a given web browsing history? One simple way is to measure the fraction of links in the browsing history that also appear in the feed. This works reasonably well in practice, but it overstates similarity for large feeds, since those simply contain more links. We instead take an alternative approach. We posit a stylized, probabilistic model of web browsing behavior, and then compute the likelihood a user with that social media feed generated the observed browsing history. Then we choose the social media feed that is most likely.

The second challenge involves identifying the most similar feeds in real time. Here we turn to Twitter, since Twitter feeds (in contrast to Facebook) are largely public. However, even though the feeds are public, we cannot simply create a local copy of Twitter against which we can run our queries. Instead we apply a series of techniques to dramatically reduce the search space. We then combine caching techniques with on-demand network crawls to construct the feeds of the most promising candidates. On this reduced candidate set, we apply our similarity measure to produce the final results. Given a browsing history, we can typically carry out this entire process in under 60 seconds.

Our method is more accurate for people who browse Twitter more actively. Ninety percent of participants who had clicked on 100 or more links on Twitter could be matched to their identity.

Many companies have the tracking resources to carry out an attack like this one, even without the consent of the participant. We attempted to deanonymize each of our experiment participants using only the parts of their browsing histories that were visible to specific tracking companies (because the companies have trackers on those pages). We found that several companies had the resources to accurately identify the participants.

privacy 2 8Other deanonymization studies

Several other studies have used publicly available footprints to deanonymize sensitive data.

Perhaps the most famous study along these lines was performed by Latanya Sweeney at Harvard University in 2002. She discovered that 87 percent of Americans were uniquely identifiable based on a combination of their ZIP code, gender and date of birth. Those three attributes were available in both public voter registration data (which she bought for US$20) and anonymous medical data (which were widely distributed, because people thought the data were anonymous). By connecting these data sources, she found the medical records of the governor of Massachusetts.

In 2006, Netflix ran a contest to improve the quality of its movie recommendations. They released an anonymized dataset of people’s movie ratings, and offered $1 million to the team that could improve their recommendation algorithm by 10 percent. Computer scientists Arvind Narayanan and Vitaly Shmatikov noticed that the movies people watched were very distinctive, and most people in the dataset were uniquely identifiable based on a small subset of their movies. In other words, based on Netflix movie choices and IMDB reviews, the researchers were able to determine who those Netflix users actually were.

With the rise of social media, more and more people are sharing information that seems innocuous, but actually reveals a lot of personal information. A study led by Michal Kosinski at the University of Cambridge used Facebook likes to predict people’s sexual orientation, political views and personality traits.

Another team, led by Gilbert Wondracek at Vienna University of Technology, built a “deanonymization machine” that figured out which groups people were part of on the social network Xing, and used that to figure out who they were – since the groups you are part of are often enough to uniquely identify you.

What you can do

Most of these attacks are tricky to defend against, unless you stop using the internet or participating in public life.

Even if you stop using the internet, companies can still collect data on you. If several of your friends upload their phone contacts to Facebook, and your number is in all of their contact lists, then Facebook can make predictions about you, even if you don’t use their service.

The best way to defend against deanonymizing algorithms like ours is to limit the set of people who have access to your anonymous browsing data. Browser extensions like Ghostery block third-party trackers. That means that, even though the company whose website you’re visiting will know that you’re visiting them, the advertising companies that show ads on their page won’t be able to gather your browsing data and aggregate it across multiple sites.

If you are a webmaster, you can help protect your users by letting them browse your site using HTTPS. Browsing using HTTP allows attackers to get your browsing history by sniffing network traffic, which lets them carry out this attack. Many websites have already switched to HTTPS; when we repeated our deanonymization experiment from the perspective of a network traffic sniffer, only 31 percent of participants could be deanonymized.

However, there is very little you can do to protect yourself against deanonymization attacks in general, and perhaps the best course of action is to adjust one’s expectations. Nothing is private in this digital age.

About The Author

Jessica Su, Ph.D. Student at Stanford, Stanford University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Art of Invisibility: The World's Most Famous Hacker Teaches You How to Be Safe in the Age of Big Brother and Big Data

privacyAuthor: Kevin Mitnick
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • Little Brown and Company

Brand: Little Brown and Company
Creator(s):
  • Mikko Hypponen
  • Robert Vamosi

Studio: Little, Brown and Company
Label: Little, Brown and Company
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Manufacturer: Little, Brown and Company

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Be online without leaving a trace.

Your every step online is being tracked and stored, and your identity literally stolen. Big companies and big governments want to know and exploit what you do, and privacy is a luxury few can afford or understand.

In this explosive yet practical book, Kevin Mitnick uses true-life stories to show exactly what is happening without your knowledge, teaching you "the art of invisibility"--online and real-world tactics to protect you and your family, using easy step-by-step instructions. Reading this book, you will learn everything from password protection and smart Wi-Fi usage to advanced techniques designed to maximize your anonymity.

Kevin Mitnick knows exactly how vulnerabilities can be exploited and just what to do to prevent that from happening. The world's most famous--and formerly the US government's most wanted--computer hacker, he has hacked into some of the country's most powerful and seemingly impenetrable agencies and companies, and at one point was on a three-year run from the FBI. Now Mitnick is reformed and widely regarded as the expert on the subject of computer security.

Invisibility isn't just for superheroes--privacy is a power you deserve and need in the age of Big Brother and Big Data.




Hiding from the Internet: Eliminating Personal Online Information

privacyAuthor: Michael Bazzell
Binding: Paperback
Studio: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Label: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Manufacturer: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Buy Now
Editorial Review: New 2018 Fourth Edition

Take control of your privacy by removing your personal information from the internet with this updated Fourth Edition. Author Michael Bazzell has been well known in government circles for his ability to locate personal information about anyone through the internet. In Hiding from the Internet: Eliminating Personal Online Information, he exposes the resources that broadcast your personal details to public view. He has researched each source and identified the best method to have your private details removed from the databases that store profiles on all of us.

This book will serve as a reference guide for anyone that values privacy. Each technique is explained in simple steps. It is written in a hands-on style that encourages the reader to execute the tutorials as they go. The author provides personal experiences from his journey to disappear from public view. Much of the content of this book has never been discussed in any publication. Always thinking like a hacker, the author has identified new ways to force companies to remove you from their data collection systems. This book exposes loopholes that create unique opportunities for privacy seekers. Among other techniques, you will learn to:

Remove your personal information from public databases and people search sites
Create free anonymous mail addresses, email addresses, and telephone numbers
Control your privacy settings on social networks and remove sensitive data
Provide disinformation to conceal true private details
Force data brokers to stop sharing your information with both private and public organizations
Prevent marketing companies from monitoring your browsing, searching, and shopping habits
Remove your landline and cellular telephone numbers from online websites
Use a credit freeze to eliminate the worry of financial identity theft and fraud
Change your future habits to promote complete privacy and anonymity
Conduct a complete background check to verify proper information removal
Configure a home firewall with VPN Kill-Switch
Purchase a completely invisible home or vehicle




Online Privacy: How To Remain Anonymous & Protect Yourself While Enjoying A Private Digital Life On The Internet (Online Anonymity, Anonymous Online, Online ... Password, Deep Web, Home Security)

privacyAuthor: Brendon Ward
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Grand Reveur Publications
Label: Grand Reveur Publications
Publisher: Grand Reveur Publications
Manufacturer: Grand Reveur Publications

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Online Privacy: How To Remain Anonymous & Protect Yourself While Enjoying A Private Digital Life On The Internet



Are You Ready To Delve Into Proven Methods, Techniques & Tactics To Remain Anonymous & Protect Yourself From Online Crooks, Scammers & Hackers?

* * *LIMITED TIME OFFER! 50% OFF!* * *

In this day and age we're all constantly connected to the Internet, don't get me wrong the Internet is a fabulous tool, however there are MANY shady individuals out there looking to hack, scam and steal your personal data for their own capital gain, don't fall victim to the scams and identity theft that is so common today - read this book and you'll be clued up to browse the web anonymously without any worry of identity theft, bank account hackings and the like.

Here Is A Preview Of What This Book Contains...



  • What Is Anonymity and Is It Possible To Achieve It On The Internet

  • How To Thoroughly Clean All Of Your Information Online

  • Understanding the Importance of Your IP Address and How It Could Inhibit Your Privacy Online

  • How to Shop Anonymously Online

  • The Use of Social Networks and Your Anonymity

  • Aids To Assist Your Online Privacy

  • Bonus Content

  • And Much, Much More!


Hurry! For a limited time you can download "Online Privacy: How To Remain Anonymous & Protect Yourself While Enjoying A Private Digital Life On The Internet" for a special discounted price of only 99c

Download Your Copy Right Now!

---------
Tags: Password Journal, Password Tips, Online Privacy, Secure Online, Anonymous, Anonymous Online, Proxy, VPN, IP Address, Cyber Security, Cyber Forensics, Browse Internet Anonymously




privacy
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}