Wie deine Freunde auf Twitter deine Anonymität verschenken können

Wie deine Freunde auf Twitter dir deine Anonymität weggeben können

Wenn Sie im Internet surfen, verfolgen Online-Werbetreibende fast jede Website, die Sie besuchen, eine Fülle von Informationen über Ihre Gewohnheiten und Vorlieben sammeln. Wenn du eine Nachrichtenseite besuchst, sehen sie vielleicht, dass du ein Fan von Basketball-, Opern- und Krimisromanen bist, und wähle dementsprechend Anzeigen, die auf deinen Geschmack zugeschnitten sind.

Werbetreibende verwenden diese Informationen, um sehr personalisierte Erfahrungen zu erstellen, aber sie wissen normalerweise nicht genau, wer Sie sind. Sie beobachten nur Ihre digitale Spur, nicht Ihre Identität selbst, und so haben Sie vielleicht das Gefühl, dass Sie ein gewisses Maß an Anonymität bewahrt haben.

Aber in einem Papier, das ich mitautoriert habe mit Ansh Shukla, Sharad Goel und Arvind Narayananzeigen wir, dass diese anonymen Webbrowsing-Datensätze tatsächlich oft mit realen Identitäten verknüpft werden können.

Um unseren Ansatz zu testen, haben wir gebaut eine Website wo Leute ihre Browsergeschichte für die Zwecke dieser Studie spenden konnten. Wir haben dann versucht, zu sehen, ob wir ihre Geschichten mit ihren öffentlich zugänglichen Daten auf ihre Twitter-Profile zurückführen können. Zweiundsiebzig Prozent der Menschen, die wir zu entnonymisieren versuchten, wurden in den Suchergebnissen korrekt als Top-Kandidaten identifiziert, und 81-Prozent gehörten zu den besten 15-Kandidaten.

privacy2 2 8Screenshots der Deanonymisierungs-Website.

Dies ist unseres Wissens die bisher größte Demonstration der Deanonymisierung, da sie den richtigen Nutzer aus Hunderten von Millionen möglicher Twitter-Nutzer auswählt. Darüber hinaus erfordert unsere Methode nur, dass eine Person auf die in ihren Social Media-Feeds angezeigten Links klickt und nicht, dass sie Inhalte posten - also sind auch Leute, die vorsichtig mit dem sind, was sie im Internet teilen, anfällig für diesen Angriff.

So funktioniert's

Auf hohem Niveau basiert unser Ansatz auf einer einfachen Beobachtung. Jede Person hat ein sehr ausgeprägtes soziales Netzwerk, bestehend aus Familie und Freunden aus der Schule, der Arbeit und verschiedenen Phasen ihres Lebens. Folglich ist die Menge der Links in Ihren Facebook- und Twitter-Feeds sehr unterschiedlich. Wenn Sie auf diese Links klicken, wird Ihr Browserverlauf deutlich sichtbar.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Indem wir uns die Webseiten angesehen haben, die eine Person besucht hat, konnten wir ähnliche Social-Media-Feeds heraussuchen und eine Liste von Kandidaten erstellen, die wahrscheinlich diesen Web-Browsing-Verlauf generiert haben. Auf diese Weise können wir die reale Identität einer Person mit den nahezu vollständigen Links verknüpfen, die sie besucht haben, einschließlich Links, die nie auf einer Social-Media-Website veröffentlicht wurden.

Die Durchführung dieser Strategie beinhaltet zwei wesentliche Herausforderungen. Der erste ist theoretisch: Wie quantifiziert man, wie ähnlich ein bestimmter Social-Media-Feed einem bestimmten Browserverlauf entspricht? Eine einfache Möglichkeit besteht darin, den Anteil der Links im Browserverlauf zu messen, die auch im Feed angezeigt werden. Dies funktioniert in der Praxis recht gut, aber es überschätzt die Ähnlichkeit für große Feeds, da diese einfach mehr Links enthalten. Wir nehmen stattdessen einen alternativen Ansatz. Wir stellen ein stilisiertes, probabilistisches Modell des Browsing-Verhaltens im Internet auf und berechnen dann die Wahrscheinlichkeit, mit der ein Nutzer mit diesem Social-Media-Feed den beobachteten Browserverlauf generiert hat. Dann wählen wir den Social-Media-Feed, der am wahrscheinlichsten ist.

Die zweite Herausforderung besteht darin, die ähnlichsten Feeds in Echtzeit zu identifizieren. Hier wenden wir uns an Twitter, da Twitter-Feeds (im Gegensatz zu Facebook) weitgehend öffentlich sind. Obwohl die Feeds öffentlich sind, können wir nicht einfach eine lokale Kopie von Twitter erstellen, auf der wir unsere Abfragen ausführen können. Stattdessen wenden wir eine Reihe von Techniken an, um den Suchraum drastisch zu reduzieren. Wir kombinieren dann Caching-Techniken mit On-Demand-Netzwerk-Crawls, um die Feeds der vielversprechendsten Kandidaten zu erstellen. Auf dieser reduzierten Kandidatenmenge wenden wir unser Ähnlichkeitsmaß an, um die Endergebnisse zu erhalten. Angesichts eines Browserverlaufs können wir diesen gesamten Prozess typischerweise in weniger als 60 Sekunden durchführen.

Unsere Methode ist genauer für Leute, die Twitter aktiver durchsuchen. Neunzig Prozent der Teilnehmer, die 100 oder mehr Links auf Twitter angeklickt hatten, konnten mit ihrer Identität abgeglichen werden.

Viele Unternehmen haben die Tracking-Ressourcen, um einen Angriff wie diesen auch ohne Zustimmung des Teilnehmers durchzuführen. Wir haben versucht, jeden unserer Versuchsteilnehmer zu anonymisieren, indem wir nur die Teile seiner Browserverläufe verwendeten, die für bestimmte Verfolgungsunternehmen sichtbar waren (da die Unternehmen Verfolger auf diesen Seiten haben). Wir stellten fest, dass mehrere Unternehmen die Ressourcen zur genauen Identifizierung der Teilnehmer hatten.

Privatsphäre 2 8Andere Deanonymisierungsstudien

Mehrere andere Studien haben öffentlich verfügbare Fußabdrücke verwendet, um sensible Daten zu entanonymisieren.

Vielleicht wurde die berühmteste Studie in dieser Richtung von Latanya Sweeney an der Harvard Universität in 2002. Sie hat das entdeckt 87 Prozent der Amerikaner waren eindeutig identifizierbar basierend auf einer Kombination aus Postleitzahl, Geschlecht und Geburtsdatum. Diese drei Attribute waren sowohl in öffentlichen Wählerregistrierungsdaten (die sie für US $ 20 gekauft hatte) als auch in anonymen medizinischen Daten (die weit verbreitet waren, weil die Leute dachten, dass die Daten anonym waren) verfügbar. Durch das Verbinden dieser Datenquellen fand sie die medizinischen Aufzeichnungen des Gouverneurs von Massachusetts.

In 2006, Netflix hat einen Wettbewerb durchgeführt um die Qualität seiner Filmempfehlungen zu verbessern. Sie veröffentlichten einen anonymisierten Datensatz der Filmbewertungen von Menschen und boten dem Team $ 1 Millionen an, die ihren Empfehlungsalgorithmus um 10 Prozent verbessern konnten. Informatiker Arvind Narayanan und Vitaly Shmatikov bemerkte, dass die Filme, die die Leute sahen, sehr unterscheidungskräftig waren und die meisten Menschen im Datensatz eindeutig identifizierbar waren, basierend auf einer kleinen Teilmenge ihrer Filme. Mit anderen Worten, auf der Grundlage der Netflix-Filmauswahl und der IMDB-Überprüfungen konnten die Forscher feststellen, wer diese Netflix-Benutzer tatsächlich waren.

Mit dem Aufkommen von sozialen Medien teilen immer mehr Menschen Informationen, die harmlos erscheinen, aber tatsächlich viele persönliche Informationen offenbaren. Eine Studie von Michal Kosinski an der University of Cambridge verwendete Facebook gerne Leute sexuelle Orientierung, politische Ansichten und Persönlichkeitsmerkmale.

Ein anderes Team, geführt von Gilbert Wondracek an der Technischen Universität Wien, baute eine "Deanonymisierungsmaschine", die herausfand, welchen Gruppen Menschen im sozialen Netzwerk Xing angehörten, und sie nutzten dies, um herauszufinden, wer sie waren - da die Gruppen, in denen Sie Teil sind, oft genug sind, um sie eindeutig zu identifizieren Sie.

Was Sie tun können

Die meisten dieser Angriffe sind schwierig zu verteidigen, es sei denn, Sie hören auf, das Internet zu nutzen oder am öffentlichen Leben teilzunehmen.

Auch wenn Sie aufhören, das Internet zu nutzen, können Unternehmen noch Daten über Sie sammeln. Wenn mehrere Ihrer Freunde ihre Telefonkontakte auf Facebook hochladen und Ihre Nummer in allen ihren Kontaktlisten steht, kann Facebook Vorhersagen über Sie treffen, auch wenn Sie den Dienst nicht nutzen.

Der beste Weg, sich gegen Deanonymisierungsalgorithmen wie unseren zu verteidigen, besteht darin, die Anzahl der Personen einzuschränken, die Zugriff auf Ihre anonymen Browserdaten haben. Browser-Erweiterungen wie Ghostery Blockieren von Drittanbieter-Trackern. Das heißt, selbst wenn das Unternehmen, dessen Website Sie besuchen, weiß, dass Sie es besuchen, können Werbefirmen, die Anzeigen auf ihrer Seite schalten, Ihre Browserdaten nicht sammeln und sie nicht auf mehreren Websites zusammenfassen.

Wenn Sie ein Webmaster sind, können Sie Ihre Benutzer schützen, indem Sie sie mit Ihrer Website durchsuchen lassen HTTPS. Durch das Browsen mit HTTP können Angreifer Ihren Browserverlauf abrufen, indem sie den Netzwerkverkehr schnüffeln, wodurch sie diesen Angriff ausführen können. Viele Websites sind bereits auf HTTPS umgestellt; Als wir unser Deanonymisierungsexperiment aus der Perspektive eines Netzwerk-Traffic-Sniffers wiederholten, konnten nur 31-Prozent der Teilnehmer dekanonymisiert werden.

Es gibt jedoch sehr wenig, was Sie tun können, um sich vor Deanonymisierungsangriffen im Allgemeinen zu schützen, und vielleicht ist die beste Vorgehensweise, die eigenen Erwartungen anzupassen. Nichts ist privat in diesem digitalen Zeitalter.

Über den Autor

Jessica Su, Ph.D. Student in Stanford, Stanford University

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books; Keywords = Online-Datenschutz; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

VON DEN HERAUSGEBERN

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by Innerself Mitarbeiter
Wir sehen das Leben durch die Linsen unserer Wahrnehmung. Stephen R. Covey schrieb: „Wir sehen die Welt nicht so wie sie ist, sondern so wie wir sind oder wie wir konditioniert sind, um sie zu sehen.“ Also schauen wir uns diese Woche einige an…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by Innerself Mitarbeiter
Die Straßen, auf denen wir heutzutage unterwegs sind, sind so alt wie die Zeit, aber für uns neu. Die Erfahrungen, die wir machen, sind so alt wie die Zeit, aber sie sind auch neu für uns. Gleiches gilt für die…
Wenn die Wahrheit so schrecklich ist, dass es weh tut, ergreifen Sie Maßnahmen
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Inmitten all der Schrecken, die heutzutage stattfinden, inspirieren mich die Hoffnungsschimmer, die durchscheinen. Gewöhnliche Menschen, die sich für das einsetzen, was richtig ist (und gegen das, was falsch ist). Baseballspieler,…
Wenn dein Rücken an der Wand steht
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Ich liebe das Internet. Jetzt weiß ich, dass viele Leute viele schlechte Dinge darüber zu sagen haben, aber ich liebe es. So wie ich die Menschen in meinem Leben liebe - sie sind nicht perfekt, aber ich liebe sie trotzdem.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by Innerself Mitarbeiter
Jeder kann wahrscheinlich zustimmen, dass wir in seltsamen Zeiten leben ... neue Erfahrungen, neue Einstellungen, neue Herausforderungen. Aber wir können ermutigt werden, uns daran zu erinnern, dass immer alles im Fluss ist,…

How Your Friends On Twitter May Give Away Your Anonymity

privacy

How Your Friends On Twitter May Give You Away Your Anonymity

As you browse the internet, online advertisers track nearly every site you visit, amassing a trove of information on your habits and preferences. When you visit a news site, they might see you’re a fan of basketball, opera and mystery novels, and accordingly select ads tailored to your tastes.

Advertisers use this information to create highly personalized experiences, but they typically don’t know exactly who you are. They observe only your digital trail, not your identity itself, and so you might feel that you’ve retained a degree of anonymity.

But, in a paper I coauthored with Ansh Shukla, Sharad Goel and Arvind Narayanan, we show that these anonymous web browsing records can in fact often be tied back to real-world identities.

To test our approach, we built a website where people could donate their browsing history for the purposes of this study. We then tried to see if we could link their histories back to their Twitter profiles using only publicly available data. Seventy-two percent of people who we tried to deanonymize were correctly identified as the top candidate in the search results, and 81 percent were among the top 15 candidates.

privacy2 2 8Screenshots of the deanonymization website.

This is, to our knowledge, the largest-scale demonstration of deanonymization to date, since it picks the correct user out of hundreds of millions of possible Twitter users. In addition, our method requires only that a person clicks on the links appearing in their social media feeds, not that they post any content – so even people who are careful about what they share on the internet are still vulnerable to this attack.

How it works

At a high level, our approach is based on a simple observation. Each person has a highly distinctive social network, comprising family and friends from school, work and various stages of their life. As a consequence, the set of links in your Facebook and Twitter feeds is highly distinctive. Clicking on these links leaves a tell-tale mark in your browsing history.

By looking at the set of web pages an individual has visited, we were able to pick out similar social media feeds, yielding a list of candidates who likely generated that web browsing history. In this manner, we can tie a person’s real-world identity to the nearly complete set of links they have visited, including links that were never posted on any social media site.

Carrying out this strategy involves two key challenges. The first is theoretical: How do you quantify how similar a specific social media feed is to a given web browsing history? One simple way is to measure the fraction of links in the browsing history that also appear in the feed. This works reasonably well in practice, but it overstates similarity for large feeds, since those simply contain more links. We instead take an alternative approach. We posit a stylized, probabilistic model of web browsing behavior, and then compute the likelihood a user with that social media feed generated the observed browsing history. Then we choose the social media feed that is most likely.

The second challenge involves identifying the most similar feeds in real time. Here we turn to Twitter, since Twitter feeds (in contrast to Facebook) are largely public. However, even though the feeds are public, we cannot simply create a local copy of Twitter against which we can run our queries. Instead we apply a series of techniques to dramatically reduce the search space. We then combine caching techniques with on-demand network crawls to construct the feeds of the most promising candidates. On this reduced candidate set, we apply our similarity measure to produce the final results. Given a browsing history, we can typically carry out this entire process in under 60 seconds.

Our method is more accurate for people who browse Twitter more actively. Ninety percent of participants who had clicked on 100 or more links on Twitter could be matched to their identity.

Many companies have the tracking resources to carry out an attack like this one, even without the consent of the participant. We attempted to deanonymize each of our experiment participants using only the parts of their browsing histories that were visible to specific tracking companies (because the companies have trackers on those pages). We found that several companies had the resources to accurately identify the participants.

privacy 2 8Other deanonymization studies

Several other studies have used publicly available footprints to deanonymize sensitive data.

Perhaps the most famous study along these lines was performed by Latanya Sweeney at Harvard University in 2002. She discovered that 87 percent of Americans were uniquely identifiable based on a combination of their ZIP code, gender and date of birth. Those three attributes were available in both public voter registration data (which she bought for US$20) and anonymous medical data (which were widely distributed, because people thought the data were anonymous). By connecting these data sources, she found the medical records of the governor of Massachusetts.

In 2006, Netflix ran a contest to improve the quality of its movie recommendations. They released an anonymized dataset of people’s movie ratings, and offered $1 million to the team that could improve their recommendation algorithm by 10 percent. Computer scientists Arvind Narayanan and Vitaly Shmatikov noticed that the movies people watched were very distinctive, and most people in the dataset were uniquely identifiable based on a small subset of their movies. In other words, based on Netflix movie choices and IMDB reviews, the researchers were able to determine who those Netflix users actually were.

With the rise of social media, more and more people are sharing information that seems innocuous, but actually reveals a lot of personal information. A study led by Michal Kosinski at the University of Cambridge used Facebook likes to predict people’s sexual orientation, political views and personality traits.

Another team, led by Gilbert Wondracek at Vienna University of Technology, built a “deanonymization machine” that figured out which groups people were part of on the social network Xing, and used that to figure out who they were – since the groups you are part of are often enough to uniquely identify you.

What you can do

Most of these attacks are tricky to defend against, unless you stop using the internet or participating in public life.

Even if you stop using the internet, companies can still collect data on you. If several of your friends upload their phone contacts to Facebook, and your number is in all of their contact lists, then Facebook can make predictions about you, even if you don’t use their service.

The best way to defend against deanonymizing algorithms like ours is to limit the set of people who have access to your anonymous browsing data. Browser extensions like Ghostery block third-party trackers. That means that, even though the company whose website you’re visiting will know that you’re visiting them, the advertising companies that show ads on their page won’t be able to gather your browsing data and aggregate it across multiple sites.

If you are a webmaster, you can help protect your users by letting them browse your site using HTTPS. Browsing using HTTP allows attackers to get your browsing history by sniffing network traffic, which lets them carry out this attack. Many websites have already switched to HTTPS; when we repeated our deanonymization experiment from the perspective of a network traffic sniffer, only 31 percent of participants could be deanonymized.

However, there is very little you can do to protect yourself against deanonymization attacks in general, and perhaps the best course of action is to adjust one’s expectations. Nothing is private in this digital age.

About The Author

Jessica Su, Ph.D. Student at Stanford, Stanford University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Art of Invisibility: The World's Most Famous Hacker Teaches You How to Be Safe in the Age of Big Brother and Big Data

privacyAuthor: Kevin Mitnick
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • Little Brown and Company

Brand: Little Brown and Company
Creator(s):
  • Mikko Hypponen
  • Robert Vamosi

Studio: Little, Brown and Company
Label: Little, Brown and Company
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Manufacturer: Little, Brown and Company

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Be online without leaving a trace.

Your every step online is being tracked and stored, and your identity literally stolen. Big companies and big governments want to know and exploit what you do, and privacy is a luxury few can afford or understand.

In this explosive yet practical book, Kevin Mitnick uses true-life stories to show exactly what is happening without your knowledge, teaching you "the art of invisibility"--online and real-world tactics to protect you and your family, using easy step-by-step instructions. Reading this book, you will learn everything from password protection and smart Wi-Fi usage to advanced techniques designed to maximize your anonymity.

Kevin Mitnick knows exactly how vulnerabilities can be exploited and just what to do to prevent that from happening. The world's most famous--and formerly the US government's most wanted--computer hacker, he has hacked into some of the country's most powerful and seemingly impenetrable agencies and companies, and at one point was on a three-year run from the FBI. Now Mitnick is reformed and widely regarded as the expert on the subject of computer security.

Invisibility isn't just for superheroes--privacy is a power you deserve and need in the age of Big Brother and Big Data.




Hiding from the Internet: Eliminating Personal Online Information

privacyAuthor: Michael Bazzell
Binding: Paperback
Studio: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Label: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Manufacturer: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Buy Now
Editorial Review: New 2018 Fourth Edition

Take control of your privacy by removing your personal information from the internet with this updated Fourth Edition. Author Michael Bazzell has been well known in government circles for his ability to locate personal information about anyone through the internet. In Hiding from the Internet: Eliminating Personal Online Information, he exposes the resources that broadcast your personal details to public view. He has researched each source and identified the best method to have your private details removed from the databases that store profiles on all of us.

This book will serve as a reference guide for anyone that values privacy. Each technique is explained in simple steps. It is written in a hands-on style that encourages the reader to execute the tutorials as they go. The author provides personal experiences from his journey to disappear from public view. Much of the content of this book has never been discussed in any publication. Always thinking like a hacker, the author has identified new ways to force companies to remove you from their data collection systems. This book exposes loopholes that create unique opportunities for privacy seekers. Among other techniques, you will learn to:

Remove your personal information from public databases and people search sites
Create free anonymous mail addresses, email addresses, and telephone numbers
Control your privacy settings on social networks and remove sensitive data
Provide disinformation to conceal true private details
Force data brokers to stop sharing your information with both private and public organizations
Prevent marketing companies from monitoring your browsing, searching, and shopping habits
Remove your landline and cellular telephone numbers from online websites
Use a credit freeze to eliminate the worry of financial identity theft and fraud
Change your future habits to promote complete privacy and anonymity
Conduct a complete background check to verify proper information removal
Configure a home firewall with VPN Kill-Switch
Purchase a completely invisible home or vehicle




Online Privacy: How To Remain Anonymous & Protect Yourself While Enjoying A Private Digital Life On The Internet (Online Anonymity, Anonymous Online, Online ... Password, Deep Web, Home Security)

privacyAuthor: Brendon Ward
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Grand Reveur Publications
Label: Grand Reveur Publications
Publisher: Grand Reveur Publications
Manufacturer: Grand Reveur Publications

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Online Privacy: How To Remain Anonymous & Protect Yourself While Enjoying A Private Digital Life On The Internet



Are You Ready To Delve Into Proven Methods, Techniques & Tactics To Remain Anonymous & Protect Yourself From Online Crooks, Scammers & Hackers?

* * *LIMITED TIME OFFER! 50% OFF!* * *

In this day and age we're all constantly connected to the Internet, don't get me wrong the Internet is a fabulous tool, however there are MANY shady individuals out there looking to hack, scam and steal your personal data for their own capital gain, don't fall victim to the scams and identity theft that is so common today - read this book and you'll be clued up to browse the web anonymously without any worry of identity theft, bank account hackings and the like.

Here Is A Preview Of What This Book Contains...



  • What Is Anonymity and Is It Possible To Achieve It On The Internet

  • How To Thoroughly Clean All Of Your Information Online

  • Understanding the Importance of Your IP Address and How It Could Inhibit Your Privacy Online

  • How to Shop Anonymously Online

  • The Use of Social Networks and Your Anonymity

  • Aids To Assist Your Online Privacy

  • Bonus Content

  • And Much, Much More!


Hurry! For a limited time you can download "Online Privacy: How To Remain Anonymous & Protect Yourself While Enjoying A Private Digital Life On The Internet" for a special discounted price of only 99c

Download Your Copy Right Now!

---------
Tags: Password Journal, Password Tips, Online Privacy, Secure Online, Anonymous, Anonymous Online, Proxy, VPN, IP Address, Cyber Security, Cyber Forensics, Browse Internet Anonymously




privacy
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}