Edward Snowden est-il un héros?

Edward Snowden est-il un héros?

Un débat: Chris Hedges, un membre chevronné de The Nation Institute et ancien correspondant étranger du Prix Pulitzer pour le New York Times, et Geoffrey Stone, professeur à l'Université de Chicago Law School. Edward Snowden est-il un héros?

Le programme de surveillance, personne d'autre ne parle de

Thom Hartmann s'entretient avec Andrea Peterson, journaliste technique pour le site Think Progress, sur un vaste programme de surveillance en ligne dont vous n'avez probablement jamais entendu parler.

Qui est la cible dans un État de surveillance?

Qui est la cible dans un État de surveillance?

Chris Hayes parle de l'histoire récente de la surveillance gouvernementale en Amérique avec le célèbre militant des droits civiques Julian Bond, Maya Wiley du Centre pour l'inclusion sociale et l'ancien vice-secrétaire de presse de la Maison Blanche, Bill Burton.

Réaction de MSNBC au rapport sur l'étendue de l'état de surveillance américain

Réaction de MSNBC au rapport sur l'étendue de l'état de surveillance américain

Quiconque a prêté le moins d'attention était conscient que le gouvernement étendait son influence sur la vie privée ordinaire des citoyens par goutte à goutte. Cependant, la révélation d'hier par le Washington Post et The Guardian. Ce qui n'est pas clair est ce que l'exploration de données d'autres est accomplie par qui et dans quel but.

Programme de bien-être secret de l'Amérique $ 124 milliards

Abus de sécurité sociale

Le fait que l'abus du système d'invalidité de la sécurité sociale est en cours n'est pas une révélation car il est connu depuis un certain temps pour tous, sauf pour l'observateur occasionnel. Certaines personnes tirent des fonds alors qu'elles ne sont pas réellement handicapées.

Pourquoi le modèle Trader Joe bénéficie travailleurs - Et la ligne de fond

Trader Joes

Un employé bien payé, en bonne santé et heureux est un employé plus productif. Combien plus productif? Très, et il y a beaucoup d'exemples de ces employés qui paient pour eux-mêmes. Pourquoi la plupart des entreprises ne font-elles pas la même chose? Parce que court-circuiter les salaires d'un employé coule dans les poches de la direction et des propriétaires pendant un certain temps.

Right Wing Crazies ne sont pas fous Anymore

Il se trouve que ces théoriciens de conspiration en chapeau d'étain d'extrême droite ne sont pas si fous après tout. Mais comment les théories de conspiration folles sont-elles devenues des réalités malheureuses en Amérique aujourd'hui? Demandez au procureur général Eric Holder.

Est-ce la pente glissante à un état de police?

Il semble que partout où vous regardez ou ne «regarde pas» ces jours-ci, l'État continue de resserrer son emprise sur les libertés personnelles autrefois chères à la population.

Mais les temps changent. Certains des développements sont carrément choquants et certains sont juste sous le radar de la plupart des gens.

Le NDAA et la mort de l'Etat Démocratique

Capitole

Mercredi, quelques centaines de militants se sont rassemblés dans la salle d'audience du deuxième circuit, la salle de diffusion avec son alimentation audio défectueuse et la pénurie de chaises, et Foley Square devant le palais de justice américain Thurgood Marshall à Manhattan où ...

Qui vous suit?

Qui vous suit?

C'est une merveille si la population générale est tout à fait sûre qu'ils sont à l'aise avec le suivi. Certaines personnes sont horrifiées par ce que la technologie de suivi est capable tandis que d'autres haussent simplement les épaules et disent "je n'ai rien à cacher".

Raisons 10 La américain n'est plus la terre de la liberté

pays de la liberté

La disposition indéterminée la détention dans le projet de loi d'autorisation de la défense semblait à de nombreux défenseurs des libertés civiles comme une trahison par Obama. Alors que le président avait promis d'opposer son veto à la loi au cours de cette disposition, Levin, un des commanditaires du projet de loi, divulguée sur le parquet du Sénat qu'il était en fait la Maison-Blanche qui a approuvé la suppression de toute exception pour les citoyens de la détention indéfinie.

Etes libertés civiles Maintenant À la discrétion d'un président

obama-signes-bill460

Beaucoup à droite et à gauche soutiennent que la signature de la loi nationale d'autorisation de la Défense, qui fournit du financement pour 2012, contient des dispositions qui mettent les libertés civiles des Américains à la discrétion de la présidence.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

DES ÉDITEURS

Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: Comment le racisme est enseigné
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Dans cet épisode d'Oprah Show de 1992, Jane Elliott, militante et éducatrice antiraciste primée, a enseigné au public une dure leçon sur le racisme en démontrant à quel point il est facile d'apprendre les préjugés.
Un changement va arriver...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(30 mai 2020) Alors que je regarde les informations sur les événements de Philadéphie et d'autres villes du pays, mon cœur a mal pour ce qui se passe. Je sais que cela fait partie du plus grand changement qui prend…
Une chanson peut élever le cœur et l'âme
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
J'ai plusieurs façons d'utiliser pour effacer l'obscurité de mon esprit quand je trouve qu'elle s'est infiltrée. L'une est le jardinage ou passer du temps dans la nature. L'autre est le silence. Une autre façon est la lecture. Et celui qui ...
Pourquoi Donald Trump pourrait être le plus grand perdant de l'histoire
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Toute cette pandémie de coronavirus coûte une fortune, peut-être 2 ou 3 ou 4 fortunes, toutes de taille inconnue. Oh ouais, et, des centaines de milliers, peut-être un million, de personnes mourront prématurément en direct…
Mascotte de la pandémie et chanson thème de la distance sociale et de l'isolement
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Je suis tombé sur une chanson récemment et en écoutant les paroles, j'ai pensé que ce serait une chanson parfaite en tant que "chanson thème" pour ces temps d'isolement social. (Paroles en dessous de la vidéo.)

European Parliament Wants Snowden, NSA Chief to Testify on Spying

European Parliament Wants Snowden, NSA Chief to Testify on Spying

The European Parliament is gearing up to launch an investigation into the recently revealed NSA surveillance programs—and lawmakers are drawing up an interesting list of witnesses who they want to invite to interview about the snooping.

Corporatizing National Security: What It Means

Corporatizing National Security: What It Means

Privacy is a sacred word to many Americans, as demonstrated by the recent uproar over the brazen invasion of it by the Patriot Act-enabled National Security Agency

Congress Digs Into the Colossal Mistake It Made That Enabled NSA Fiasco

Congress Digs Into the colossal Mistake It Made That Enabled NSA Fiasco

As Congress holds its second major public hearing on the National Security Agency’s bulk spying, we speak with Glenn Greenwald, the Guardian journalist who first published whistleblower Edward Snowden’s revelations. The NSA admitted their analysis of phone records and online behavior far exceeded what it had previously disclosed.

Metadata Is More Intrusive Than Eavesdropping

Metadata Is More Intrusive Than Eavesdropping

While President Obama insists that nobody is listening to your telephone calls, cybersecurity expert Susan Landau says the metadata being collected by the government may be far more revealing than the content of the actual phone calls.

Is Edward Snowden a Hero?

Is Edward Snowden a Hero?

A debate: Chris Hedges, a senior fellow at The Nation Institute and former Pulitzer Prize-winning foreign correspondent for The New York Times, and Geoffrey Stone, a professor at the University of Chicago Law School. Is Edward Snowden a Hero?

Who's The Target In A Surveillance State

Who's The Target In A Surveillance State

Chris Hayes talks about the recent history of government surveillance in America with famed civil rights activist Julian Bond, Maya Wiley of the Center for Social Inclusion, and former deputy White House press secretary Bill Burton.

MSNBC's Reaction To The Report Of The Extent Of The US Surveillance State

MSNBC's Reaction To The Report Of The Extent Of The US Surveillance State 

Anyone who has been paying the least bit of attention was aware that the government  was extending their reach into the ordinary citizen privacy drip by drip. However, yesterday's revelation by The Washington Post and The Guardian. What's unclear is what other data mining is being accomplished by whom and for what purpose.

All Eyes Are Watching As Gag Laws Evolve

All Eyes On Criminalizing Whisle-blowing

In the desirability of factory farming debate, regardless of which side you come down on, the idea of criminalizing whistle-blowing and reporting of illegal activities is a dangerous precedent.

America's $124 Billion Secret Welfare Program

Social Security Disabilty Abuse

The fact that abuse of the Social Security Disability system is occurring is no revelation for it has been known for some time to all but the casual observer. Some people are and have been drawing funds when they are not actually disabled.

Why the Trader Joe's Model Benefits Workers--And the Bottom-Line

Trader Joes

A well paid, healthy, happy employee is a more productive employee. How much more productive? Very, and there are plenty of examples of these employees paying for themselves. Why don't most businesses do the same? Because shorting an employee's wages flows into the pockets of the management and owners for awhile.

Right Wing Crazies Aren’t Crazy Anymore

It turns out those far-right tin foil hat-wearing conspiracy theorists aren't that crazy after all. But how did crazy conspiracy theories become unfortunate realities in America today? Ask Attornery General Eric Holder.

Is This The Slippery Slope To A Police State?

It seems that everywhere you look or is it "don't look" these days, the State is continuing to tighten its grip on personal freedoms once held dear by the general population.

But times change.  Some of the developments are downright shocking and some are just under most people's radar.

The NDAA and the Death of the Democratic State

Capitol

On Wednesday a few hundred activists crowded into the courtroom of the Second Circuit, the spillover room with its faulty audio feed and dearth of chairs, and Foley Square outside the Thurgood Marshall U.S. Courthouse in Manhattan where many huddled in the cold...

Who Is Tracking You?

Who's Tracking You

It is a wonder if the general population is quite certain they are comfortable with being tracked. Some folks are horrified by what tracking technology is capable while other just shrug their shoulders and say "I don't have anything to hide".

10 Reasons The U.S. Is No Longer The Land Of The Free

land of the free

The indefinite-detention provision in the defense authorization bill seemed to many civil libertarians like a betrayal by Obama. While the president had promised to veto the law over that provision, Levin, a sponsor of the bill, disclosed on the Senate floor that it was in fact the White House that approved the removal of any exception for citizens from indefinite detention.

Are Civil Liberties Now At the Discretion Of A President

obama-signs-bill460

Many on the right and on the left are arguing that the signing of National Defense Authorization Act, which provides funding for 2012, contains provisions that put the civil liberties of Americans at the discretion of the Presidency.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)