لا يمكنك وضع الرأسمالية على الاستدامة والدروس الأخرى من الصين

لا يمكنك وضع الرأسمالية على الاستدامة والدروس الأخرى من الصين

لا يمكن حل الأزمة الوجودية للإنسانية إلا عندما نقف نحن متحدين وراء رؤية للعالم الذي نريده حقًا.

لقد عدت لتوي من مؤتمر لصانعي القرار المؤثرين في الصين ، حيث قدمتُ في الاقتصاد لحضارة بيئية في القرن 21st. الصين والولايات المتحدة مختلفتان للغاية ، ولكن عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتهديدات الحالية والفرص الضائعة ، فإننا نتقاسم الكثير أكثر مما قد ندرك.

ستكون الرسالة التي نقلتها إلى الصين مألوفة لدى قراء العمود. إنه يبدأ بالاعتراف بالحقيقة الأساسية التي يولدها البشر ويتغذون عليها من أرض حية. نسيان هذه الحقيقة الأساسية ، أصبحنا أسرى لنظرية اقتصادية معيبة للغاية اكتسبت شهرة عالمية في منتصف القرن 20th ، تدمر قدرة الأرض على الحفاظ على الحياة ، وتضعنا على طريق الانقراض الذاتي.

تواجه البلدان التي احتضنت مغالطات الاقتصاد في القرن 20 الآن ضرورة لتحويل ثقافتها ومؤسساتها وتكنولوجياها وبنيتها التحتية لتتماشى مع المبادئ الثمانية لاقتصادات القرن 21st المحددة في سابق نعم فعلا! عمود. من بين أمور أخرى ، تدعونا هذه المبادئ إلى التخلي عن هدف زيادة الناتج المحلي الإجمالي من خلال الاستهلاك لصالح تنمية رفاهية الناس والأرض من خلال دعم أنماط الحياة الغنية بالثقافة والاستهلاك المنخفض. أيضا ، يجب علينا تفكيك الشركات التي تعظيم الربح وتحويل القطع إلى ملكية العمال والمجتمع. ويجب علينا إعادة تصميم البنية التحتية الحضرية للقضاء على معظم الاعتماد على السيارات.

كنت شغوفًا بمعرفة كيفية تلقي هذه المبادئ في بلد يبلغ عدد سكانه أكثر من أربعة أضعاف سكان الولايات المتحدة ، والمشاكل البيئية المدمرة ، والاقتصاد الرأسمالي الأكثر عدوانية في العالم الذي يديره حزب شيوعي ملتزم اسميا بحضارة بيئية.

أجد الصين مثيرة للاهتمام بشكل خاص بسبب قدرة حكومتها الواضحة على إجراء تغييرات كبيرة في اتجاه البلاد بسرعة مستحيلة على ما يبدو ، وهو ما يتعين علينا القيام به الآن كنوع إذا أردنا أن نجد طريقنا إلى مستقبل قابل للحياة.

ما جربته خلال زيارتي القصيرة كان بلدًا يعاني من صراع عميق مع نظام سياسي لا يوفر سوى مجال ضئيل للنقاش العام المفتوح ، وهو عالق في إطار اقتصادي يعرف في الصين باسم نظرية الجبلين. يمثل "الجبل" التزامًا ببيئة صحية من المياه النظيفة والجبال النابضة بالحياة المورقة بالحياة. يمثل الآخر التزامًا بالحفاظ على واحد من أعلى معدلات نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في العالم من خلال تلبية مصالح الشركات الكبرى. مقالة المؤرخ الاقتصادي ريتشارد سميث بالنسبة للتاريخ الاقتصادي الحديث للصين ، أكد لي الصراع العميق وغير القابل للتوفيق بين الصحة البيئية وتعظيم الناتج المحلي الإجمالي.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يتم حل الصراع بين النمو والاستدامة بشكل متكرر في الصين عن طريق إعطاء الأولوية للجبل الثاني - مع عواقب وخيمة على صحة الإنسان والبيئة. يبدو متصلاً ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالصراع بين الالتزام المفترض لحكومة الصين بالنهوض بمصالح العمال ، الذين يكافحون في ظل ظروف قاسية وتدني الأجور ، واقتصاد ينفجر المليارديرات الجدد بمعدل اثنين في الأسبوع.

إن رسالتي العامة في الصين تتلخص في هذا: إذا كان هدفك هو تحويل أصحاب المليارات ، فعليك التركيز على الناتج المحلي الإجمالي المتنامي عن طريق منح الاقتصاد للشركات التي تعظيم الربح. إذا كان هدفك بدلاً من ذلك هو زيادة رفاهية الناس والأرض ، فترك الناتج المحلي الإجمالي كمؤشر ذي صلة والتركيز بدلاً من ذلك على المؤشرات المتنامية للنتائج التي تريدها مع تحويل السلطة إلى الناس والمجتمع.

يبدو وكأنه خيار مباشر إلى حد ما لحكومة مكرسة للحضارة الإيكولوجية ورفاهية العمال. في الواقع ، يبدو الأمر كذلك بالنسبة لجميع الحكومات التي تفترض أنها تمثل مصالح شعوبها. بالنظر إلى المدى الذي تحدت فيه رسالتي الالتزام الرسمي بزيادة الاستهلاك من أجل نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي ، بدا أن جلسة الاستماع كانت إيجابية بشكل ملحوظ.

نحن نفترض أنه بمجرد انتخاب الرئيس الجديد ، سوف يزيل الفساد بمفرده.

كنت لا أزال أحدد التناقضات عندما عدت إلى الولايات المتحدة في الوقت المناسب لمشاهدة أحدث جولة من المناقشات في المسابقة لاختيار مرشح الحزب الديمقراطي للرئاسة 2020. يتم التحكم في كل من الحزبين الجمهوري والديموقراطي من خلال أجنحة تأسيس الشركات الخاصة بهما ، ويتم التحكم في مناقشاتنا السياسية بواسطة هذه الأحزاب نفسها ومن خلال وسائل الإعلام الخاصة بالشركات. كما قصف المشرفين CNN المرشحين مع أسئلة كتابتها من نقاط الحديث في أقصى اليمين، سألت نفسي ، "هل يمكن أن يشعر سياسيونا بالقيود التي تشعر بها معظم الشخصيات السياسية الصينية بما يعادل نظرية الجبلين؟"

من المؤكد أن السياسيين مثل بيرني ساندرز وإليزابيث وارن لا يبدوون مقيدين. لكن لا أحد من المرشحين الحاليين يقترح أن نتخلى عن الناتج المحلي الإجمالي كمقياس أساسي للأداء الاقتصادي. في حين دعا البعض إلى تفكيك عمالقة التكنولوجيا الكبيرة ، لا أحد يقترح أننا تفكك وإعادة الهيكلة جميع الشركات الكبيرة وإخضاعها للمجتمعات التي تعمل فيها. ولا أحد يقترح إعادة هيكلة المناطق الحضرية بحيث لا يحتاج معظم الناس إلى السيارات.

ومع ذلك ، يرفض خبراء الإعلام في الشركات المقترحات "غير الجادة" ، مثل الرعاية الطبية للجميع وزيادة الضرائب على الشركات ، باعتبارها متطرفة للغاية بحيث لا يمكن الفوز بها ضد الجمهوريين السائدين المفترضين ، والذين يريدون القضاء جميع الرعاية الصحية العامة واللوائح البيئية ، ومواصلة فصل الأطفال عن والديهم على الحدود ، ومنع أي إصلاح ذات مغزى لقوانين السلاح ، وتعمل على جعل الإجهاض غير قانوني في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

أصبح نظامنا السياسي منقسمًا بشدة بسبب نية مختل عقليا تهدف إلى تنمية ثرواتهم الخاصة بحيث لا يمكننا حتى أن نضمن لجميع الأميركيين الحصول على الرعاية الصحية الأساسية والتعليم الجيد ، ناهيك عن وسيلة ملائمة للعيش في مقابل العمل الصادق . لقد وقعنا في نقاشات حول من هو الأكثر اضطهاداً ومن يستحق أكثر من التعويضات حتى أننا لا نسأل كيف يمكننا خلق مجتمع خالٍ من الاضطهاد يمكن فيه لجميع الناس أن يعيشوا حياة من الاكتفاء المادي والوفرة الروحية على الجمال والأرض صحية.

نتصرف كما لو كنا نعتقد أننا نحتاج فقط إلى معرفة من بين مرشحي 20 يتمتع بأفضل الحلول للمشاكل التي تواجهنا. نحن نفترض أنه بمجرد انتخاب الرئيس الجديد ، سوف يزيل الفساد بمفرده ، ويستعيد نزاهة الحكومة وكفاءتها ، ويؤمن صحة البيئة ، ويحرر الوظائف المظلومة والآمنة للجميع في مواجهة معارضة لا هوادة فيها من مختل عقليا قوي يحمي مصالحهم.

يجب أن نقضي وقتًا أقل بكثير في مناقشة المزايا النسبية للمرشحين للرئاسة لـ 20 ، ومزيد من الوقت لسد جميع الفجوات التي تفصلنا. يجب أن نبني حركة لا يمكن إيقافها لشعوب العالم التي تعبر جميع الحدود ، متحدة في التزام لخلق عالم يعمل حقًا للجميع. إن التحول العميق للثقافة والمؤسسات والتكنولوجيا والبنية التحتية التي يعتمد عليها مستقبلنا المشترك سيكون كفاحًا صعبًا وسيحتاج إلى دعم مستمر وحازم من الحركات الاجتماعية القوية.

سنحتاج نحن الشعب لقيادة تلك المناقشة والمطالبة بمتابعة السياسيين. سنحتاج إلى تأطير إمكانيات ذلك المستقبل والطريق إلى تحقيقه من خلال محادثات متداخلة لا تعد ولا تحصى في المنتديات المفتوحة للجميع.

دعونا لا ننصرف عن هذا السبب عن طريق المناقشات السياسية التي تنظمها وسائل الإعلام الشركات لتحويل انتباهنا عن المقترحات التي قد كسر قوة النظام الفاسد. إنه ترتيب طويل ، ولكن كذلك ، في هذه اللحظة هو بقاء الإنسان.

نبذة عن الكاتب

كتب ديفيد كورتن هذه المقالة لـ YES! مجلة. ديفيد هو المؤسس المشارك لـ YES! مجلة ، رئيس منتدى الاقتصاديات الحية ، وعضو في نادي روما ، ومؤلف الكتب المؤثرة ، بما في ذلك "عندما تحكم الشركات العالم" و "تغيير القصة ، تغيير المستقبل: اقتصاد حي لأرض حية". يعتمد عمله على الدروس المستفادة من سنوات 21 التي عاشها هو وزوجته فران وعملوا في إفريقيا وآسيا وأمريكا اللاتينية في سعي لإنهاء الفقر العالمي. اتبعه على تويترdkorten . فيسبوك.

ظهر هذا المقال في الأصل على YES! مجلة

كتب ذات صلة

السحب: الخطة الأكثر شمولاً على الإطلاق من أجل عكس الاحترار العالمي

بول هوكين وتوم شتاير
9780143130444في مواجهة الخوف واللامبالاة على نطاق واسع ، اجتمع تحالف دولي من الباحثين والمهنيين والعلماء لتقديم مجموعة من الحلول الواقعية والجريئة لتغير المناخ. مائة تقنيات وممارسات موصوفة هنا - بعضها معروف جيدًا ؛ البعض ربما لم تسمع به من قبل. وهي تتراوح بين الطاقة النظيفة وتعليم الفتيات في البلدان المنخفضة الدخل إلى ممارسات استخدام الأراضي التي تسحب الكربون من الهواء. الحلول موجودة وقابلة للحياة اقتصاديًا ، والمجتمعات في جميع أنحاء العالم تعمل حاليًا على تفعيلها بمهارة وتصميم. متاح في أمازون

تصميم حلول المناخ: دليل السياسات للطاقة المنخفضة الكربون

هال هارفي ، روبي أورفيس ، جيفري ريسمان
1610919564ومع تأثير تغير المناخ علينا بالفعل ، فإن الحاجة إلى خفض انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة العالمية لا تقل عن الحاجة الملحة. إنه تحد مروع ، لكن التقنيات والاستراتيجيات اللازمة لتحقيقه موجودة اليوم. مجموعة صغيرة من سياسات الطاقة ، مصممة ومطبقة بشكل جيد ، يمكن أن تضعنا على الطريق نحو مستقبل منخفض الكربون. أنظمة الطاقة كبيرة ومعقدة ، لذا يجب أن تكون سياسة الطاقة مركزة وفعالة من حيث التكلفة. مقاربات مقاس واحد يناسب الجميع لن تنجز المهمة ببساطة. يحتاج صانعو السياسة إلى مورد واضح وشامل يحدد سياسات الطاقة التي سيكون لها الأثر الأكبر على مستقبل المناخ لدينا ، ويصف كيفية تصميم هذه السياسات بشكل جيد. متاح في أمازون

هذا يغير كل شيء: الرأسمالية مقابل والمناخ

بواسطة نعومي كلاين
1451697392In هذا يغير كل شيء تقول ناعومي كلاين أن تغير المناخ ليس مجرد قضية أخرى يتم وضعها بدقة بين الضرائب والرعاية الصحية. إنه إنذار يدعونا إلى إصلاح نظام اقتصادي يفشلنا بالفعل بطرق عديدة. يبني كلاين بدقة على كيفية خفض انبعاثاتنا من غازات الدفيئة بشكل كبير ، وهو أفضل فرصة لنا للتخفيف من التباين الفجائي في الوقت نفسه ، وإعادة تخيل ديمقراطياتنا المحطمة ، وإعادة بناء اقتصاداتنا المحلية المدمرة. إنها تعرّض اليأس الأيديولوجي الذي ينكره من ينكرون تغير المناخ ، والأوهام المشينة التي ارتكبها المهندسون الجيولوجيون المحتملين ، والانهزامية المأساوية في الكثير من المبادرات الخضراء السائدة. وهي تدلل على وجه التحديد على السبب الذي يجعل السوق لا تستطيع - ولا يمكنها - إصلاح أزمة المناخ ، ولكنها ستجعل الأمور أسوأ ، مع أساليب استخراج مدمرة للغاية ومدمرة من الناحية البيئية ، مصحوبة برأسمالية كوارث متفشية. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, . ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

You Can’t Put Capitalism Over Sustainability—and Other Lessons From China

You Can’t Put Capitalism Over Sustainability—and Other Lessons From China

Humanity’s existential crisis can be resolved only when we the people stand united behind a vision of the world we truly want.

I just returned from a conference of influential decision-makers in China, where I presented on economics for an ecological civilization in the 21st century. China and the United States are very different, but when it comes to current threats and missed opportunities, we share a great deal more than we may realize.

The message I took to China will be familiar to readers of my column. It begins with recognizing the fundamental truth that humans are born of and nurtured by a living Earth. Forgetting that basic fact, we became captive to a deeply flawed economic theory that gained global prominence in the mid-20th century, is destroying Earth’s capacity to sustain life, and puts us on a path to self-extinction.

The countries that embraced the fallacies of 20th century economics now face an imperative to transform their culture, institutions, technology, and infrastructure to align with the eight principles of a 21st century economics outlined in my previous YES! column. Among other things, these principles call on us to abandon the goal of increasing GDP through consumption in favor of growing the well-being of people and Earth by supporting culturally rich, low-consumption lifestyles. Also, we must dismantle profit-maximizing corporations and convert the pieces to worker and community ownership. And we must redesign urban infrastructure to eliminate most dependence on automobiles.

I was eager to learn how these principles would be received in a country with a population more than four times that of the United States, devastating environmental problems, and the world’s most aggressive capitalist economy managed by a Communist Party that is nominally committed to an ecological civilization.

I find China especially interesting because of its government’s demonstrated ability to make big changes in the country’s direction with seemingly impossible speed, which we must now do as a species if we are to find our way to a viable future.

What I experienced during my brief visit was a deeply conflicted country with a political system that offers little room for open public debate, and which is stuck in an economic framework known in China as the Two Mountains theory. One “mountain” represents a commitment to a healthy environment of clean water and vibrant mountains lush with life. The other represents a commitment to maintaining one of the world’s highest GDP growth rates by catering to the interests of big business. An article by economic historian Richard Smith on China’s recent economic history underscored for me the deep and largely irreconcilable conflict between environmental health and maximizing GDP.

The conflict between growth and sustainability is all too frequently resolved in China by prioritizing the second mountain—with harsh consequences for human and environmental health. It seems closely connected to the conflict between the presumed commitment of China’s government to advancing the interests of workers, who struggle under harsh conditions and low pay, and an economy that churns out new billionaires at a rate of two per week.

My overall message in China boiled down to this: If your goal is to turn out billionaires, then concentrate on growing GDP by giving control of the economy to profit-maximizing corporations. If your goal is instead to increase the well-being of people and the Earth, then abandon GDP as a relevant indicator and focus instead on growing indicators of the outcomes you want while shifting power to people and community.

Seems like a rather straightforward choice for a government dedicated to an ecological civilization and workers’ well-being. Indeed, it would seem to be such for all governments that presume to represent the interests of their people. Given the extent to which my message challenged the official commitment to growing consumption to grow GDP, it seemed to get a remarkably positive hearing.

We assume that once elected, the new president will single-handedly wipe away the corruption.

I was still sorting out the contradictions when I returned home to the U.S. just in time to view the most recent round of debates in the contest to choose the Democratic Party’s 2020 presidential candidate. Both the Republican and Democratic parties are controlled by their corporate establishment wings, and our political debates are controlled by these same parties and by the corporate media. As the CNN moderators pounded the candidates with questions scripted from far-right talking points, I asked myself, “Could our politicians feel as constrained as most Chinese political figures do by the equivalent of a Two Mountains theory?”

Surely politicians like Bernie Sanders and Elizabeth Warren don’t sound constrained. But no one among the current candidates is suggesting that we abandon GDP as our primary measure of economic performance. While some have called to break up big tech giants, no one suggests we break up and restructure all big corporations and subordinate them to the communities in which they do business. And no one is suggesting restructuring urban areas so that most people have no need of cars.

Yet corporate media pundits dismiss “unserious” proposals, such as Medicare for All and increasing taxes on corporations, as too extremist to win against presumably mainstream Republicans, who want to eliminate all public health care and environmental regulations, continue to separate children from their parents at the border, block any meaningful reform of gun laws, and are working to make abortion illegal nationwide.

Our political system has become so deeply divided by a psychopathic fringe intent on growing their own fortunes that we can’t even assure all Americans have access to basic health care and a quality education, let alone an adequate means of living in return for honest labor. We are so caught up in debates about who is most oppressed and who most deserves what reparations that we don’t even ask how we might create a society free from oppression in which all people can have lives of material sufficiency and spiritual abundance on a beautiful and healthy Earth.

We act as if we believe that we need only figure out who among 20 candidates has all the best answers to the problems that confront us. We assume that once elected, the new president will single-handedly wipe away the corruption, restore the integrity and competence of government, secure the health of the environment, liberate the oppressed, and secure good jobs for all in the face of relentless opposition from powerful psychopaths protecting their interests.

We should be spending far less time debating the relative merits of 20 presidential candidates, and far more time bridging all the divides that separate us. We should be building an unstoppable movement of the world’s people that crosses all boundaries, united in a commitment to create a world that truly works for all. The deep transformation of culture, institutions, technology, and infrastructure on which our common future depends will be a difficult struggle and will require persistent and determined support from powerful social movements.

We the people will need to lead that discussion and demand that the politicians follow. We will need to frame the possibilities of that future and the path to its achievement through countless overlapping conversations in forums open to everyone.

Let us not be distracted from that cause by political debates structured by corporate media to divert our attention from proposals that might break the power of the corrupt system. It is a tall order, but so, too, at this moment is human survival.

About The Author

David Korten wrote this article for YES! Magazine. David is co-founder of YES! Magazine, president of the Living Economies Forum, a member of the Club of Rome, and the author of influential books, including “When Corporations Rule the World”and “Change the Story, Change the Future: A Living Economy for a Living Earth.” His work builds on lessons from the 21 years he and his wife, Fran, lived and worked in Africa, Asia, and Latin America on a quest to end global poverty. Follow him on Twitter@dkorten and Facebook.

This article originally appeared on YES! Magazine

Related Books

Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming

by Paul Hawken and Tom Steyer
9780143130444In the face of widespread fear and apathy, an international coalition of researchers, professionals, and scientists have come together to offer a set of realistic and bold solutions to climate change. One hundred techniques and practices are described here—some are well known; some you may have never heard of. They range from clean energy to educating girls in lower-income countries to land use practices that pull carbon out of the air. The solutions exist, are economically viable, and communities throughout the world are currently enacting them with skill and determination. Available On Amazon

Designing Climate Solutions: A Policy Guide for Low-Carbon Energy

by Hal Harvey, Robbie Orvis, Jeffrey Rissman
1610919564With the effects of climate change already upon us, the need to cut global greenhouse gas emissions is nothing less than urgent. It’s a daunting challenge, but the technologies and strategies to meet it exist today. A small set of energy policies, designed and implemented well, can put us on the path to a low carbon future. Energy systems are large and complex, so energy policy must be focused and cost-effective. One-size-fits-all approaches simply won’t get the job done. Policymakers need a clear, comprehensive resource that outlines the energy policies that will have the biggest impact on our climate future, and describes how to design these policies well. Available On Amazon

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate

by Naomi Klein
1451697392In This Changes Everything Naomi Klein argues that climate change isn’t just another issue to be neatly filed between taxes and health care. It’s an alarm that calls us to fix an economic system that is already failing us in many ways. Klein meticulously builds the case for how massively reducing our greenhouse emissions is our best chance to simultaneously reduce gaping inequalities, re-imagine our broken democracies, and rebuild our gutted local economies. She exposes the ideological desperation of the climate-change deniers, the messianic delusions of the would-be geoengineers, and the tragic defeatism of too many mainstream green initiatives. And she demonstrates precisely why the market has not—and cannot—fix the climate crisis but will instead make things worse, with ever more extreme and ecologically damaging extraction methods, accompanied by rampant disaster capitalism. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}