كاليفورنيا تعيش مستقبل ديستوبيان لأمريكا

كاليفورنيا تعيش مستقبل ديستوبيان لأمريكا
يتدفق Maria Fire فوق Santa Paula ، كاليفورنيا في أكتوبر 31 ، 2019. ا ف ب / نوح بيرغر

غولدن ستايت مشتعلة ، مما يعني أن فكرة اليوتوبيا الأمريكية مشتعلة أيضًا.

اليوتوبيا هي الأماكن الجيدة لخيالنا ، في حين أن الديستوبيا هي الأماكن التي يسير فيها كل شيء بشكل خاطئ ، حيث تدمر الانتصارات الشريرة والطبيعة بلدها. في كثير من الأحيان يوتوبيا و dystopias هي نفس المكان ، لأن الكمال قد لا يكون ممكنا دون معاناة شخص ما.

كتب أورسولا لوجين عن هذه المفارقة في "هم الذين يمشون بعيدا عن Omelas"، قصة عن المعضلة الأخلاقية للعيش في مدينة تدعى Omelas الذي أصبح ازدهاره ممكنًا بسبب ألم طفل واحد. كما يوضح عنوان القصة ، لا يبتعد معظم الناس عن المكان الجميل ، حتى عندما يكون سرها معروفًا.

غالباً ما تجد كاليفورنيا نفسها أماليس من الخيال الأمريكي. بالنسبة للبعض ، إنه المكان الجميل الذي يعني فيه وجود كل شيء مهاجمة شخص آخر ، كما هو الحال في رومان بولانسكي "الحي الصيني" حول سرقة المياه في لوس أنجلوس من وادي أوينز. أو كما هو الحال في حديقة الملاهي السحرية ، ديزني لاند ، والتي إلى حد كبير يدفع بعض عمالها.

الروائيون اوكتافيا بتلر, إدان ليبوكي, كارل تارو غرينفيلد, باولو باسيجالوبي . كلير فاي واتكينز من بين الكثيرين الذين تخيلوا غولدن ستايت كأنها رواية مصطنعة. في رواياتهم ، كاليفورنيا إما على النار ، في الجفاف الشديد أو كليهما. إنهم جميعا يصورون نزول كاليفورنيا على أنها مزيج من أزمة المناخ والاضطرابات الاجتماعية.

بالنسبة لهؤلاء المؤلفين ، يشير تغيّر المناخ إلى السرّ المظلم للمكان المثالي ، وإلى القرارات السيئة التي تشترك فيها جميع أمريكا. تشير رواياتهم إلى أنه إذا كانت كاليفورنيا تبدو وكأنها مصيبة قبل الأماكن الأمريكية الأخرى ، فذلك لأن غالبًا ما تكون في المقدمة.

"كاليفورنيا هي أمريكا سريعة التقدم" ، عالم الاجتماع يقول مانويل باستور.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


كاليفورنيا تعيش مستقبل ديستوبيان لأمريكا
بناء بجوار - وفي - البراري يزيد من مخاطر نشوب حريق. هنا ، يدخن الدخان مكتبة رونالد ريغان خلال إيزى فاير ، الأربعاء ، أكتوبر 30 ، 2019 ، في سيمي فالي ، كاليفورنيا. ا ف ب / كريستيان مونتيروسا

"بيئة الخوف"

حرائق الغابات التي تجتاح كاليفورنيا تضيء شاشات أمريكا بالإرهاب. يتم تجريد المنازل في الضواحي إلى أسسهم ؛ السامريون يقودون الخيول من الحظائر المحترقة.

يذكرنا المؤرخ مايك ديفيس بأن كاليفورنيا لطالما بدت "بيئة الخوف" للأوروبيين الأمريكيين. لم يفهم المستوطنون من شمال أوروبا والساحل الشرقي مناخ جنوب كاليفورنيا ، وهو عرضة لعدم القدرة على التنبؤ والجفاف.

يقول ديفيس: "إنها Walden Pond على LSD" ، وهذا يعني أنها نسخة مخدرة من المواقع الطبيعية الأمريكية مثل Walden Pond ، في New England.

أدى عدم معرفة مناخ كاليفورنيا إلى قرارات سيئة حول مكان البناء من البداية. الآن سكان كاليفورنيا ، مثل معظم الأميركيين الغربيين ، يعيشون بالقرب من أراضيهم البرية، والتي تجف في صناديق

"في الولايات المتحدة ، يوجد الآن أكثر من 46 مليون منزل عائلي ، ومئات الآلاف من الشركات ، و 120 مليون شخص يعيشون ويعملون في غابات البلاد وحولها ،" يكتب الصحفي إدوارد ستروزيك، في كتابه "عاصفة عاصفة" ، عن "كيف ستشكل الهشيم مستقبلنا".

خلقت أمريكا بيئة قابلة للاحتراق تسمى intermix ، حيث تتسرب الاستخدامات السكنية والتجارية إلى المناطق البرية. أمريكا تتوق الكهرباء غير مكلفة، أيضًا ، مما يعني أن خطوط الطاقة العلوية تمر عبر الغابات والمأوى.

الخطوط العلوية أثارت بعض من أسوأ الحرائق الأخيرة في ولاية كاليفورنيا وغيرها من الأماكن الأمريكية مثل نيو مكسيكو وتينيسي.

تقدر شركة المرافق العامة في كاليفورنيا PG&E تكلفة تحويل النفقات العامة إلى خطوط مترو الأنفاق بمبلغ 3 مليون دولار أمريكي لكل ميل. في حين تختلف تقديرات التكلفة ، فإن هذا المشروع سيكون بالتأكيد مكلفًا وقد يستغرق قرنًا حتى يكتمل.

لم تصنع البنية التحتية العامة للطقس القاسي ، مثل رياح 80 mph المقدرة التي ألهمت "علم أحمر شديد" نادر تحذير في جنوب كاليفورنيا.

متعة في وفاة الدولة

على النار ، كاليفورنيا هي رواية مصطنعة يقرأها بقية أمريكا بشغف ، وفي بعض الأحيان معها الشماتة، هذا الشعور بالبهجة التي قد يتعرض لها الشخص في معاناة الآخر.

تعد كاليفورنيا واحدة من أسعد الولايات في الولايات المتحدة ، في رقم 13. لكن كاليفورنيا جاءت في آخر استطلاع للرأي أجرته 2012 على أي الولايات يحبها الأمريكيون.

ربما تكون هذه هي السعادة التي تزعج الآخرين ، والتي يرى البعض أنها زائفة ("التوفو" ، "السيليكون" و "الشعر المصبوغ" ، قال السناتور تيد كروز في 2018 ، عن الخطأ في كاليفورنيا).

عندما اشتعلت النيران في كاليفورنيا في 2018 ، مع فقدان الآلاف وعشرات القتلى ، تويت الرئيس دونالد ترامب أن الدولة أساءت إدارة غاباتها. تويت نفس الشيء خلال الحرائق الأخيرة ، مع المزيد من القوة. الشماتة؟ يمكن القول ، الأمة تكافح من أجل مواجهة التحديات النار من intermix ، و كاليفورنيا قبل الباقي.

من المفترض كاليفورنيا الأكثر كره المحافظين. لكنه رعى مهن الرموز المحافظة رونالد ريغان . راش ليمبو، بالإضافة إلى زوج من تدابير الاقتراع المحافظة ، تقريبا 13 . تقريبا 187، التي خفضت الضرائب وكذلك الخدمات للمهاجرين.

بل هو أيضا مهد للحركات التقدمية الحديثة ، من عمال المزرعة المتحدة إلى حماية البيئة. وقد كاليفورنيا بذرة المشاعر السياسية الأمريكية، إلى اليمين واليسار. ربما لهذا السبب يثير الشغف والحسد.

مواجهة السر

الفكر الدستوب ينتقد ما يحبه في محاولة لجعله أفضل.

إذا كانت كاليفورنيا تعيش رواية متعبة ، فهي أيضًا أول من يستجيب لها حرائق كوكب متغير.

بعض شركات المرافق الحكومية أصبحت أكثر ذكاءً إصلاحات البنية التحتية. عمليات الإخلاء تسير على نحو أفضل في الأماكن التي حدثت فيها عمليات الإخلاء من قبل. كاليفورنيا صوت في فاتورة الحد الأقصى للتجارة للحد من انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة ، و الآن يحاولون تحسينه.

سياسة المناخ في الولاية و دعم متجدد للاستثمار في التعليم العام إشارة إلى أنها تجاوزت فجوة الأجيال العرقية في البلاد ، حيث لا يرى الناخبون البيض الأكبر سناً أنفسهم في شباب ذي بنية سكانية وقاوم تمويلها.

إن العيش في Omelas يعني إما المساومة بالظلم أو تعلم كيفية جعل العالم أفضل قبل أن يعرف الآخرون أنه محطم.

ترّقب.

عن المؤلف

ستيفاني ليمنغيرأستاذ الأدب الإنجليزي جامعة أوريغون

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

الحياة بعد الكربون: التحول العالمي التالي للمدن

by Peter Plastrik ، جون كليفلاند
1610918495مستقبل مدننا ليس هو ما كان عليه من قبل. نموذج المدينة الحديثة الذي ترسخت عالميا في القرن العشرين قد عاشت فائدته. لا يمكنها حل المشكلات التي ساعدت في خلقها - خاصة الاحتباس الحراري. لحسن الحظ ، يظهر نموذج جديد للتنمية الحضرية في المدن لمعالجة حقائق تغير المناخ بقوة. إنه يحول الطريقة التي تصمم بها المدن وتستخدم الفضاء المادي ، وتولد ثروة اقتصادية ، وتستهلك الموارد وتتخلص منها ، وتستغل النظم الإيكولوجية الطبيعية وتحافظ عليها ، وتستعد للمستقبل. متاح في أمازون

الإنقراض السادس: تاريخ غير طبيعي

من اليزابيث كولبرت
1250062187على مدى نصف مليار سنة مضت ، حدثت خمس حالات انقراض جماعي ، عندما تعاقد تنوع الحياة على الأرض فجأة وبشكل دراماتيكي. العلماء في جميع أنحاء العالم يراقبون الآن الانقراض السادس ، وتوقع أن يكون أكثر انقراض حدث مدمر منذ تأثير الكويكبات التي قضت على الديناصورات. هذه المرة ، هذه الجثة هي لنا. في النثر الذي كان صريحا ومسلية ومطلعا في وقت واحد ، نيويوركر تخبرنا الكاتبة إليزابيث كولبير لماذا وكيف غيّر البشر الحياة على كوكب الأرض بطريقة لم يكن بها أي نوع من قبل. البحث المتشابك في ستة مجالات ، وصف للأنواع الرائعة التي فقدت بالفعل ، وتاريخ الانقراض كمفهوم ، يوفر Kolbert سرد مؤثر وشامل للاختفاء الذي يحدث أمام أعيننا. إنها تُظهر أن الانقراض السادس من المرجح أن يكون إرث البشرية الأطول ، ويجبرنا على إعادة التفكير في السؤال الأساسي حول معنى أن تكون إنسانًا. متاح في أمازون

حروب المناخ: الكفاح من أجل البقاء مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة العالم

بقلم جوين داير
1851687181موجات اللاجئين المناخ. العشرات من الدول الفاشلة. حرب شاملة. من واحد من أكبر المحللين الجيوسياسيين في العالم ، تأتي لمحة مرعبة عن الحقائق الاستراتيجية في المستقبل القريب ، عندما يدفع التغير المناخي قوى العالم نحو سياسة البقاء على قيد الحياة. بصمة وراسخة ، حروب المناخ سيكون واحدا من أهم الكتب في السنوات المقبلة. اقرأها واكتشف ما الذي نتجه إليه. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, . ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

California Is Living America's Dystopian Future

California Is Living America's Dystopian Future
The Maria Fire billows above Santa Paula, California on Oct. 31, 2019. AP/Noah Berger

The Golden State is on fire, which means that an idea of American utopia is on fire, too.

Utopias are the good places of our imagination, while dystopias are the places where everything goes terribly wrong, where evil triumphs and nature destroys her own. Frequently utopias and dystopias are the same place, because perfection may not be possible without someone suffering.

Ursula LeGuin writes about this paradox in “The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas,” a story about the moral dilemma of living in a city called Omelas whose prosperity is made possible by one child’s pain. As the story’s title makes clear, most people don’t walk away from the beautiful place, even when its secret is known.

California often finds itself the Omelas of the American imagination. For some, it’s the beautiful place where having it all means shafting someone else, as in Roman Polanski’s “Chinatown,” about Los Angeles’ theft of water from the Owens Valley. Or as in the magical theme park, Disneyland, which substantially underpays some of its workers.

The novelists Octavia Butler, Edan Lepucki, Karl Taro Greenfeld, Paolo Bacigalupi and Claire Vaye Watkins are among the many who have imagined the Golden State as a dystopian novel. In their novels, California is either on fire, in extreme drought or both. They all picture California’s descent as a combination of climate crisis and social unrest.

For these authors, climate change hints at the dark secret of the perfect place, of bad decisions that all America shares. Their novels suggest that if California looks like a dystopia before other American places, that’s because it’s often in the lead.

“California is America fast-forward,” sociologist Manuel Pastor says.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


California Is Living America's Dystopian Future
Building next to – and in – wildlands increases the risks of a fire. Here, smoke engulfs the Ronald Reagan Library during the Easy Fire, Wednesday, Oct. 30, 2019, in Simi Valley, California. AP/Christian Monterossa

‘Ecology of fear’

The wildfires that ravage California light up America’s screens with terror. Suburban homes are stripped to their foundations; Samaritans lead horses from burning barns.

The historian Mike Davis reminds us that California has long seemed an “ecology of fear” for Euro-Americans. Settlers from Northern Europe and the East Coast did not understand Southern California’s climate, which is prone to unpredictability and drought.

“It is Walden Pond on LSD,” Davis writes, meaning that it is a psychedelic version of American nature spots like Walden Pond, in New England.

The unfamiliarity of California’s climate led to poor decisions about where to build from the start. Now Californians, like most western Americans, live too close to their wildlands, which are drying into tinderboxes.

“In the United States, there are now more than 46 million single family homes, several hundred thousand businesses, and 120 million people living and working in and around the country’s forests,” writes the journalist Edward Struzik, in “Firestorm,” his book about “how wildfire will shape our future.”

America has created the combustible environment called intermix, where residential and commercial uses spill into wildlands. America craves inexpensive electricity, too, which means that overhead power lines run through forests and chaparral.

Overhead lines have sparked some of the worst recent fires in California and other American places like New Mexico and Tennessee.

California utility company PG&E estimates the cost for converting overhead to underground lines at US$3 million per mile. While cost estimates vary, such a project surely will be expensive and might take a century to complete.

Overhead infrastructure wasn’t made for extreme weather, like the estimated 80 mph winds that inspired a rare “extreme red flag” warning in Southern California.

Pleasure in the state’s demise

On fire, California is a dystopian novel that the rest of America reads avidly, and at times with schadenfreude, that feeling of joy that a person may take in another’s suffering.

California ranks as one of the happiest states in the U.S., at number 13. But California came in last in a 2012 poll on which states Americans like.

Maybe it’s the happiness that annoys others, which some perceive as phony (“tofu,” “silicone” and “dyed hair,” said Sen. Ted Cruz in 2018, about what is wrong with California).

When California was on fire in 2018, with thousands missing and dozens dead, President Donald Trump tweeted that the state mismanaged its forests. He tweeted the same thing during the recent fires, with more force. Schadenfreude? Arguably, the nation is struggling to address the fire challenges of the intermix, and California is ahead of the rest.

California supposedly is most hated by conservatives. But it nurtured the careers of conservative icons Ronald Reagan and Rush Limbaugh, plus a pair of conservative ballot measures, Prop 13 and Prop 187, that cut taxes as well as services to immigrants.

It is also the birthplace of modern progressive movements, from the United Farm Workers to environmentalism. California has been a seedbed of American political passions, to the Right and Left. Perhaps that’s why it arouses passion – and envy.

Confronting the secret

Dystopian thought criticizes what it loves in an attempt to make it better.

If California is living a dystopian novel, it is also a first responder to the fires of a changing planet.

Some of the state’s utility companies are getting smarter about infrastructure fixes. Evacuations are going better in the places where evacuations happened before. Californians voted in a landmark cap-and-trade bill to curb greenhouse gas emissions, and now they are trying to improve on it.

The state’s climate policy and renewed support for investment in public education signal that it is getting past the nation’s racial generation gap, where older white voters don’t see themselves in a demographically browner youth and resist funding them.

Living in Omelas means either compromising with injustice or learning how to make the world better before others even know that it’s broken.

Stay tuned.

About the Author

Stephanie LeMenager, Professor of English Literature, University of Oregon

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Life After Carbon: The Next Global Transformation of Cities

by Peter Plastrik , John Cleveland
1610918495The future of our cities is not what it used to be. The modern-city model that took hold globally in the twentieth century has outlived its usefulness. It cannot solve the problems it helped to create—especially global warming. Fortunately, a new model for urban development is emerging in cities to aggressively tackle the realities of climate change. It transforms the way cities design and use physical space, generate economic wealth, consume and dispose of resources, exploit and sustain the natural ecosystems, and prepare for the future. Available On Amazon

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History

by Elizabeth Kolbert
1250062187Over the last half-billion years, there have been Five mass extinctions, when the diversity of life on earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating extinction event since the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs. This time around, the cataclysm is us. In prose that is at once frank, entertaining, and deeply informed, New Yorker writer Elizabeth Kolbert tells us why and how human beings have altered life on the planet in a way no species has before. Interweaving research in half a dozen disciplines, descriptions of the fascinating species that have already been lost, and the history of extinction as a concept, Kolbert provides a moving and comprehensive account of the disappearances occurring before our very eyes. She shows that the sixth extinction is likely to be mankind's most lasting legacy, compelling us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human. Available On Amazon

Climate Wars: The Fight for Survival as the World Overheats

by Gwynne Dyer
1851687181Waves of climate refugees. Dozens of failed states. All-out war. From one of the world’s great geopolitical analysts comes a terrifying glimpse of the strategic realities of the near future, when climate change drives the world’s powers towards the cut-throat politics of survival. Prescient and unflinching, Climate Wars will be one of the most important books of the coming years. Read it and find out what we’re heading for. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}