كيف يتخلى علماء المناخ عن الإنسانية بمقاربتهم بأزمة المناخ؟

كيف يتخلى علماء المناخ عن الإنسانية بمقاربتهم بأزمة المناخ؟
عالم يراقب النشاط الشمسي في القطب الشمالي. أندريه بافلوف / شترستوك

بصفتي عالم مناخ لأكثر من 25 عامًا ، فأنا فخور بالعمل الذي أنجزته مهنتي في العقود الأخيرة لتنبيه البشرية إلى أزمة المناخ التي تتكشف. لكن مع ازدياد حدة الطوارئ ، نحتاج نحن العلماء إلى تغيير الطريقة التي نتعامل بها - أو مواجهة كوننا جزءًا من المشكلة.

لقد كانت علوم المناخ إلى حد كبير قصة نجاح رائعة. الفيزيائي السويدي سفانتي ارهينيوس بدقة يحسب مقدار تضاعف ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي من شأنه أن يسخن الكوكب في وقت مبكر من 1896.

و1979 تقرير تشارني أثار مخاوف بشأن أزمة مناخ وشيكة قبل وقت طويل من أننا يمكن أن دليل مباشرة. واستجابة لذلك ، كثف المجتمع العلمي جهوده البحثية ، وكان يجري بانتظام التقييمات العلمية لبناء عرض الإجماع، وإرسال رسالة قوية إلى صانعي السياسة لتحفيزهم على العمل.

المشكلة هي أن سنوات 40 من هذه الجهود ، مهما كانت النوايا الحسنة ، لم يكن لها أي تأثير على مسار الكربون في البشرية. منذ منتصف القرن 19th ، تزايدت انبعاثات CO₂ من الأنشطة البشرية بشكل كبير ، في المتوسط ​​بنسبة 1.65٪ سنويًا منذ 1850.

كيف يتخلى علماء المناخ عن الإنسانية بمقاربتهم بأزمة المناخ؟
كانت الأمم المتحدة حتى الآن عاجزة عن وقف ارتفاع الانبعاثات.
ولجانج كنور

كانت هناك أوقات توقف فيها المصاعب الاقتصادية بشكل مؤقت الانبعاثات ، مثل صدمات أسعار النفط من أوائل 1980s ، و انهيار من الكتلة السوفيتية ، و 2008 أزمة مالية. لكن هذه لا علاقة لها بسياسة المناخ.

إذا واصلنا هذا الارتفاع الهائل لمدة خمس سنوات فقط ، سنكون قد استنفدت بالفعل بدل الكربون الذي يمنحنا فرصة الثلثين للحد من ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري إلى 1.5 ° C. هذا وفقًا لـ IPCC ، هيئة الأمم المتحدة المسؤولة عن توصيل علم انهيار المناخ. يقدر علماء آخرون أن لدينا غاب بالفعل القارب.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الرهانات المحوطة

بطءنا المؤلم في التصرف ليس خطأ العلماء. لكن الأزمة أصبحت الآن أكثر إلحاحًا من أي وقت مضى ، ونهجنا الحالي تجاهها بدأ يجعلنا جزءًا من المشكلة.

العلماء بطبيعتهم محافظون. يرتبط هذا الاتجاه ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالطريقة التي يعمل بها العلم: قبل أن يتم قبول نظرية جديدة ، يجب فحصها مرارًا وتكرارًا للتأكد من أننا متأكدون تمامًا من ثباتها.

عادة ، هذه ممارسة جيدة. لكنه تسبب في علماء المناخ باستمرار يقلل من شأن كل من السرعة التي يزعزعها المناخ ، و شدة التهديد هذا يطرح.

الفريق الحكومي الدولي المعني بتغير المناخ الجاني الرئيسي لهذا الغرض. إنها تواجه صعوبة إضافية في السعي للحصول على تصديق من حكومات العالم لتقاريرها الموجزة ، وقد تم التأكيد عليها باستمرار مما يؤكد الأزمة الوشيكة.

يجب على العلماء في جميع أنحاء العالم الذين يساهمون في تقارير الجسم أن يلتزموا بسجل حافل به من النزعة المحافظة الخاطئة ، وضبط نهجهم للمضي قدمًا. عدم اليقين بطبيعة الحال متأصلة في نمذجة كيف ومتى يزعزع استقرار المناخ ، ولكن عندما تكون المخاطر كبيرة كما هي ، يجب علينا تعمل على مبدأ احترازي - يجب عكس عبء الإثبات الطبيعي على العلماء.

خطر مقبول

عند المستوى الحالي لـ 1.1 ℃ من التدفئة العالمية ، فإن تغير المناخ والانهيار البيئي يؤدي بالفعل إلى تشريد وقتل مئات الآلاف من البشر ، وإرسال أنواع أخرى نحو الانقراض. فوق 1.5 ، رغم ذلك ، المخاطر التي تهدد البشرية والنظم الإيكولوجية تضخيم كثيرا.

ومع ذلك ، فإن هدف الأمم المتحدة لانبعاثات الكربون العالمية للوصول إلى صافي الصفر بواسطة 2050 يعطينا فقط فرصة واحدة في اثنين الحد من التدفئة العالمية إلى أقل من هذا المستوى. يعتمد هذا الهدف على واحد من المسارات المحتملة المتعددة التي وضعها علماء IPCC في تقرير خاص في 2018.

كيف يتخلى علماء المناخ عن الإنسانية بمقاربتهم بأزمة المناخ؟
فوق 1.5 ℃ ، سوف يناضل الملايين حول العالم من أجل الحصول على المياه العذبة وسط فشل المحصول وموجات الحرارة القاتلة. ffmr / شترستوك

المهن مثل الأطباء لن تأخذ مثل هذه البونت في الحفاظ على الحياة إذا كانت هناك احتمالات أفضل. لماذا لا ينطبق الشيء نفسه على علماء المناخ؟ نحن بحاجة إلى تحويل كل من أفكارنا ومجتمعنا حول المستوى المقبول من المخاطر لعرضه على قادة الحكومات ، وبالتالي سكان الكوكب الحي.

هنا و الآن

حتى المسارات المذكورة أعلاه للحصول على فرصة نصف للحد من التدفئة إلى 1.5 ℃ تعتمد على تقنيات غير مثبتة لامتصاص ثاني أكسيد الكربون من الجو في النصف الثاني من القرن. كما أنها تفشل في مراعاة المشهد السياسي الذي يتم فيه تطبيق هذه النماذج. القادة يدركون جيدا أن ثلاث إلى أربع درجات الاحتباس الحراري نحن نتجه لربما يكون وراء قدرة الحضارة على التكيف، ومع ذلك ، لا يزال يتعين إحراز تقدم كبير في التخلص التدريجي الإعانات العالمية للوقود الأحفوري التي يبلغ مجموعها على الأقل مليار دولار أمريكي سنوياً.

في مواجهة تهديد وجودي حقيقي لحضارتنا ، نحن العلماء بحاجة إلى تحويل تركيزنا من النماذج طويلة الأجل التي تعطي إحساسًا زائفًا بالتحكم في أزمة المناخ وترسم تخفيضات هائلة في الانبعاثات يمكن تحقيقها بسهولة.

بدلاً من ذلك ، يجب أن نركز على الضعف في هنا والآن. على سبيل المثال ، نظامنا الغذائي العالمي عرضة بالفعل ل الظواهر الجوية المتطرفة. إذا ضرب الجفاف في عدة بلدان في نفس الوقت، لا توجد ضمانات لدينا سلاسل إمدادات الغذاء - التي تصل فيها عمليات التسليم "في الوقت المناسب" لتقليل التكاليف - لن تواجه الانهيارات في العقد أو العقدين القادمين.

ومع ذلك مقارنة بالكم الهائل من الأبحاث التي تركز على عدم اليقين تأثيرات التدفئة العالمية على البشرية بواسطة 2050 و 2100، لا نعرف سوى القليل عن القلق بشأن مدى هشاشة سلاسل الإمداد لدينا - أو أجزاء أخرى من الاقتصاد العالمي الفعال على مدار الساعة - على المدى القريب. إن إعادة تركيز الموارد على مثل هذه الثغرات القصيرة الأجل التي يتم بحثها بشكل دراماتيكي أمر حيوي ، لأسباب ليس أقلها أنها ستجعل المناخ والأزمة الإيكولوجية أكثر قربًا من الوطن من ميزانيات الكربون المجردة وارتفاع درجات الحرارة.

في نهاية المطاف ، تعتمد الطريقة التي يستجيب بها العالم للأزمة الوشيكة على مدى شعور مواطنيه وقادته بأن العمل الجذري ضروري. من خلال إعادة صياغة أبحاثنا وتغيير مستويات المخاطر وعدم اليقين المقبولة ، ربما يمكن لعلماء المناخ أن يساعدوا الإنسانية في النهاية في تغيير مسار الكربون.

عن المؤلف

فولفجانج كنور، عالم أبحاث أول ، الجغرافيا الطبيعية وعلوم النظم الإيكولوجية ، جامعة لوند

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

الحياة بعد الكربون: التحول العالمي التالي للمدن

by Peter Plastrik ، جون كليفلاند
1610918495مستقبل مدننا ليس هو ما كان عليه من قبل. نموذج المدينة الحديثة الذي ترسخت عالميا في القرن العشرين قد عاشت فائدته. لا يمكنها حل المشكلات التي ساعدت في خلقها - خاصة الاحتباس الحراري. لحسن الحظ ، يظهر نموذج جديد للتنمية الحضرية في المدن لمعالجة حقائق تغير المناخ بقوة. إنه يحول الطريقة التي تصمم بها المدن وتستخدم الفضاء المادي ، وتولد ثروة اقتصادية ، وتستهلك الموارد وتتخلص منها ، وتستغل النظم الإيكولوجية الطبيعية وتحافظ عليها ، وتستعد للمستقبل. متاح في أمازون

الإنقراض السادس: تاريخ غير طبيعي

من اليزابيث كولبرت
1250062187على مدى نصف مليار سنة مضت ، حدثت خمس حالات انقراض جماعي ، عندما تعاقد تنوع الحياة على الأرض فجأة وبشكل دراماتيكي. العلماء في جميع أنحاء العالم يراقبون الآن الانقراض السادس ، وتوقع أن يكون أكثر انقراض حدث مدمر منذ تأثير الكويكبات التي قضت على الديناصورات. هذه المرة ، هذه الجثة هي لنا. في النثر الذي كان صريحا ومسلية ومطلعا في وقت واحد ، نيويوركر تخبرنا الكاتبة إليزابيث كولبير لماذا وكيف غيّر البشر الحياة على كوكب الأرض بطريقة لم يكن بها أي نوع من قبل. البحث المتشابك في ستة مجالات ، وصف للأنواع الرائعة التي فقدت بالفعل ، وتاريخ الانقراض كمفهوم ، يوفر Kolbert سرد مؤثر وشامل للاختفاء الذي يحدث أمام أعيننا. إنها تُظهر أن الانقراض السادس من المرجح أن يكون إرث البشرية الأطول ، ويجبرنا على إعادة التفكير في السؤال الأساسي حول معنى أن تكون إنسانًا. متاح في أمازون

حروب المناخ: الكفاح من أجل البقاء مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة العالم

بقلم جوين داير
1851687181موجات اللاجئين المناخ. العشرات من الدول الفاشلة. حرب شاملة. من واحد من أكبر المحللين الجيوسياسيين في العالم ، تأتي لمحة مرعبة عن الحقائق الاستراتيجية في المستقبل القريب ، عندما يدفع التغير المناخي قوى العالم نحو سياسة البقاء على قيد الحياة. بصمة وراسخة ، حروب المناخ سيكون واحدا من أهم الكتب في السنوات المقبلة. اقرأها واكتشف ما الذي نتجه إليه. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, . ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
by مونتيل ويليامز وجيفري غارديري ، دكتوراه

How Climate Scientists Are Letting Down Humanity With Their Approach To The Climate Crisis

How Climate Scientists Are Letting Down Humanity With Their Approach To The Climate Crisis
A scientist monitoring solar activity at the North Pole. Andrey Pavlov/Shutterstock

As a climate scientist of more than 25 years, I’m proud of the work my profession has done in recent decades to alert humanity to the unfolding climate crisis. But as the emergency becomes ever more acute, we scientists need to alter the way we approach it – or face being part of the problem.

Climate science has in large part been a remarkable success story. Swedish physicist Svante Arrhenius accurately calculated how much a doubling of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere would warm the planet as early as 1896.

The 1979 Charney report raised concerns about an impending climate crisis long before we could directly evidence it. In response, the scientific community stepped up its research efforts, and has been conducting regular scientific assessments to build a consensus view, and send a strong message to policy makers to spur them into action.

The problem is that 40 years of these efforts, however well-intentioned, have not had any impact on the carbon course of humanity. Since the middle of the 19th century, CO₂ emissions from human activities have been growing exponentially, on average by 1.65% per year since 1850.

How Climate Scientists Are Letting Down Humanity With Their Approach To The Climate Crisis
The UN has to date been powerless to stop emissions rising.
Wolgang Knorr

There were times when economic hardships temporarily stalled emissions, such as the oil price shocks of the early 1980s, the collapse of the Soviet block, and the 2008 financial crisis. But these had nothing to do with climate policy.

If we continue this exponential rise for just five more years, we will have already exhausted the carbon allowance that gives us a two-thirds chance of limiting warming to 1.5°C. That’s according to the IPCC, the UN body responsible for communicating the science of climate breakdown. Other scientists estimate that we have already missed the boat.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Hedged bets

Our painful sluggishness to act is not the fault of scientists. But the crisis is now more urgent than ever, and our current approach to it is starting to make us part of the problem.

Scientists are by nature conservative. This tendency is intimately linked to the way science operates: before a new theory is accepted it needs to be repeatedly scrutinised to make sure we are absolutely sure it holds up.

Usually, this is good practice. But it has caused climate scientists to consistently underestimate both the speed at which the climate is destabilising, and the severity of the threat it poses.

The IPCC is a chief culprit for this. It has the added difficulty of having to seek ratification from the world’s governments for its summary reports, and has been consistently singled out for underselling the impending crisis.

The scientists across the world that contribute to the body’s reports must heed its track record of mistaken conservatism, and adjust their approach going forward. Uncertainties are of course inherent in modelling how and when the climate will destabilise, but when the stakes are as high as they are, we must operate on the precautionary principle – the normal burden of proof on scientists should be reversed.

Acceptable risk

At the current level of 1.1℃ of global heating, climate change and ecological breakdown are already displacing and killing hundreds of thousands of humans, and sending other species towards extinction. Above 1.5℃ though, risks to humanity and ecosystems amplify greatly.

Yet the UN’s target for global carbon emissions to reach net zero by 2050 only gives us about a one-in-two chance of limiting global heating to below this level. This target is based on one of multiple potential pathways laid out by IPCC scientists in a special report in 2018.

How Climate Scientists Are Letting Down Humanity With Their Approach To The Climate Crisis
Above 1.5℃, millions more around the world will struggle for fresh water amid crop failure and deadly heatwaves. ffmr/Shutterstock

Professions such as doctors wouldn’t take such a punt on preserving life if better odds were available. Why is the same not true of climate scientists? We need to shift both our own and society’s ideas about what is an acceptable level of risk to offer government leaders, and therefore the living planet’s inhabitants.

Here and now

Even the above pathways to a half-chance of limiting heating to 1.5℃ rely on unproven technologies to suck carbon dioxide out of the atmosphere in the second half of the century. They also fail to take into account the political landscape in which these models are being applied. Leaders are well aware that the three to four degrees warming we’re headed for may be beyond civilisation’s ability to adapt, and yet are still to make any serious headway in phasing out global fossil fuel subsidies that total at least USD$100 billion a year.

In the face of a genuine existential threat to our civilisation, we scientists need to shift our focus from long-term models that give a false sense of control over the climate crisis and paint drastic emissions cuts as easily achievable.

Instead, we should focus on vulnerability in the here and now. For example, our global food system is already vulnerable to extreme weather events. If drought strikes in several countries at the same time, there are no guarantees that our food supply chains – in which deliveries arrive “just-in-time” to minimise costs – will not experience collapses in the next decade or two.

Yet compared to the vast amount of research focused on the uncertain impacts of global heating on humanity by 2050 and 2100, we know worryingly little about just how fragile our supply chains – or other parts of our highly efficient clockwork global economy – are in the near-term. Refocusing resources on such dramatically under-researched short-term vulnerabilities is vital, not least because it will make the climate and ecological crisis feel more close to home than abstract carbon budgets and temperature rises.

Ultimately, the way the world responds to the impending crisis depends on the extent to which its citizens and leaders feel radical action is necessary. By reframing our research and changing accepted levels of risk and uncertainty, perhaps climate scientists can finally help humanity change its carbon course.

About the Author

Wolfgang Knorr, Senior Research Scientist, Physical Geography and Ecosystem Science, Lund University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Life After Carbon: The Next Global Transformation of Cities

by Peter Plastrik , John Cleveland
1610918495The future of our cities is not what it used to be. The modern-city model that took hold globally in the twentieth century has outlived its usefulness. It cannot solve the problems it helped to create—especially global warming. Fortunately, a new model for urban development is emerging in cities to aggressively tackle the realities of climate change. It transforms the way cities design and use physical space, generate economic wealth, consume and dispose of resources, exploit and sustain the natural ecosystems, and prepare for the future. Available On Amazon

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History

by Elizabeth Kolbert
1250062187Over the last half-billion years, there have been Five mass extinctions, when the diversity of life on earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating extinction event since the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs. This time around, the cataclysm is us. In prose that is at once frank, entertaining, and deeply informed, New Yorker writer Elizabeth Kolbert tells us why and how human beings have altered life on the planet in a way no species has before. Interweaving research in half a dozen disciplines, descriptions of the fascinating species that have already been lost, and the history of extinction as a concept, Kolbert provides a moving and comprehensive account of the disappearances occurring before our very eyes. She shows that the sixth extinction is likely to be mankind's most lasting legacy, compelling us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human. Available On Amazon

Climate Wars: The Fight for Survival as the World Overheats

by Gwynne Dyer
1851687181Waves of climate refugees. Dozens of failed states. All-out war. From one of the world’s great geopolitical analysts comes a terrifying glimpse of the strategic realities of the near future, when climate change drives the world’s powers towards the cut-throat politics of survival. Prescient and unflinching, Climate Wars will be one of the most important books of the coming years. Read it and find out what we’re heading for. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}