هل قطع مساعدات أمريكا الوسطى يساعد في وقف تدفق المهاجرين؟

هل قطع مساعدات أمريكا الوسطى يساعد في وقف تدفق المهاجرين؟ تسعى بعض برامج الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية للمساعدة في رفع مستوى المعيشة للعائلات مثل هذه في ولاية هندوراس الغربية. USAID-ACCESO / Fintrac Inc., CC BY-SA

الرئيس دونالد ترامب منذ فترة طويلة حجب الآلاف من أمريكا الوسطى الذين يتوجهون إلى الحدود الجنوبية للولايات المتحدة ، ومعظمهم يطلبون اللجوء ، من الدخول والبقاء في البلاد أولوية قصوى.

إدارته تصعد الآن الضغط على الحكومات السلفادور وغواتيمالا وهندوراس لاتخاذ خطوات للحد من هجرة مواطنيها من قبل تقلص المساعدات الأمريكية. حول 370 مليون دولار أمريكي في صورة مساعدات وقالت وزارة الخارجية في يونيو 2018 بالنسبة للبلدان الثلاثة المدرجة في ميزانية 17 سيتم إنفاقها على مشاريع أخرى.

"من الأهمية بمكان وجود إرادة سياسية كافية في هذه البلدان لمعالجة المشكلة عند مصدرها" المتحدثة باسم وزارة الخارجية مورجان أورجتوس قال.

أنا الباحث الذي بحث الهجرة من أمريكا الوسطى، وخاصة وصول الأطفال والشباب غير المصحوبين من غواتيمالا وهندوراس والسلفادور.

اعجاب العديد من الخبراء، أنا أزعم أن خفض المساعدات يؤدي إلى نتائج عكسية لأن المساعدات الأجنبية يمكن أن تعالج الأسباب الجذرية للهجرة ، مثل العنف والفقر. أنا أيضاً أعتبر هذا الطلب أن حكومات المنطقة تستجمع المزيد "الإرادة السياسية"أن تكون بلا معنى ، حيث أن التنمية البشرية والاقتصادية المستدامة فقط ، إلى جانب الجهود المبذولة لمكافحة الجريمة ، يمكن أن تحدث فرقًا.

تدفقات المعونة

لنا مساعدات أجنبية إلى أمريكا الوسطى من المفترض أن يحسن الظروف الاقتصادية ، ويدعم الزراعة ، ويعزز السلامة العامة والأمن ، ويستأصل الفساد الحكومي.

ولكن على الرغم من أن الولايات المتحدة أنفقت ما يقرب من 16 مليار دولار على المساعدات الخارجية لهندوراس والسلفادور وغواتيمالا منذ 1946 ودعمها جهود إقليمية منسقة تهدف إلى ردع الهجرة من المنطقة منذ 2014 ، مئات الآلاف من أمريكا الوسطى ، وخاصة الأطفال والشباب طلب اللجوء من تلقاء نفسها ، لا تزال عوامل "الدفع" الهاربة العودة إلى المنزل مثل عنف و جوع.

فلماذا لا تحدث كل هذه الأموال فرقاً؟

كان للسياسة الخارجية الأمريكية العديد من الأهداف في هذه البلدان. إلى جانب المساعدات من أجل الاستقرار والتنمية ، شددت المساعدات الأمريكية على الحرب ضدها تهريب المخدرات وتدريب الشرطة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، وضعت عقود من التدخل الأمريكي المكثف الأساس لعنف اليوم وعدم الاستقرار في جميع أنحاء المنطقة.

الـ إدارة أيزنهاور، على سبيل المثال ، قام بتنظيم الإطاحة بحكومة غواتيمالا المنتخبة ديمقراطيا في 1954 والتي بشرت في حرب أهلية طويلة. في أوائل 1980s ، دعمت إدارة ريغان الرجل القوي الغواتيمالي الوحشي خوسيه افراين ريوس مونت، الذي أدين في وقت لاحق بارتكاب جريمة الإبادة الجماعية. الرئيس رونالد ريغان أيضا أيد حكومة السلفادور العنيفة خلال حرب أهلية أودت بحياة 75,000 وتركت البلاد عرضة لعقود من عدم الاستقرار. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تحولت إدارته هندوراس في الأرض انطلاق لنيكاراغوا مضاد المتمردون الذين قاموا بتمويله ، وعسكرة ذلك البلد وزيادة مستويات العنف السياسي التي لم تنحسر أبدًا.

خطط مقابل الواقع

في 2015، و إدارة أوباما صيغت تخطط لزيادة مساعدات أمريكا الوسطى كان القصد منه تثبيط المهاجرين عن القيام بالرحلة إلى الشمال. في 2016 ، قام البيت الأبيض بتفصيل مستويات المساعدات المتعددة السنوات التي ستبقى أعلى بكثير مما كانت عليه قبل بدء الطفرة في طالبي اللجوء ، طالما أن البلدان الثلاثة أحرزت تقدماً في "أمن الحدود" وغيرها من الأهداف.

وبدلاً من ذلك ، فإن المبلغ الإجمالي للأموال التي ألزمها الكونغرس - أو وافق عليها لإنفاق المساعدات الحالية والمستقبلية - في السلفادور وغواتيمالا وهندوراس، انخفض بأكثر من الثلثين ، حيث انخفض من 604 مليون دولار في 2015 إلى 182 مليون دولار في 2019. ولم تنفق نسبة كبيرة من تلك الأموال الملزمة. الآن ، مع هذا الإعلان ، يبدو أنهم لن يكونوا كذلك.

انخفضت المصروفات ، وهي الأموال التي تم إنفاقها بالفعل ، بنحو الثلث من 328 مليون دولار في 2015 إلى 217 مليون دولار في 2019. الولايات المتحدة غير الربحية والشركات الاستشارية أنفقت معظم هذه الأموال من خلال مجموعات المجتمع المدني المحلية والوكالات الدولية.

وزارة الخارجية تقول أيضا أن الولايات المتحدة لن تسمح بأي تمويل جديد لمساعدة أمريكا الوسطى. لان مؤتمر منعت جهود إدارة ترامب لخفض المساعدات من قبل ، ليس من الواضح مدى النجاح هذا الجهد الجديد سوف يثبت.

لنا مساعدة لأمريكا الوسطى 6 21

أسئلة حول الفعالية

العديد من الاقتصاديين يجادل حول مسألة ما إذا كانت المساعدات الخارجية تعمل. لم يقرر العلماء أنه يوقف هذا النوع من العنف وراء الهجرة الجماعية في أمريكا الوسطى.

يجد بعض خبراء المساعدات أن ذلك يجعل البلدان التي تحصل عليها فقط تعتمد على الدول التي تتبرع ذلك ، بدلاً من إحداث فرق دائم للأشخاص الذين من المفترض أن يساعدهم.

يرى آخرون أن المشكلة هي كيف يتم تخصيص المساعدات: غالبًا بزيادات صغيرة ومتقطعة وبدون استراتيجية مثبتة.

تتمثل إحدى المشكلات من حيث إثبات فعالية المعونة في اختيار المقاييس الصحيحة. قد لا يرفع أحد البرامج مستويات المعيشة المحلية ، ويوقف الاتجار بالمخدرات ويقلل عدد الأشخاص الذين يهاجرون ، ولكنه قد يحقق واحدًا أو أكثر من هذه الأهداف.

وعلى الرغم من أن بعض النقاد يشكون في أن أموال المساعدات يتم تقديمها كشيكات فارغة ، إلا أن هذا القلق يتجاهل حقيقة أنه من خلال الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية و المتعاقدين معها، حكومة الولايات المتحدة تحاول تحسين فعالية برامجهاوتطوير الطيارين ومتابعة النهج الواعدة والموجهة.

أثناء إجراء بحث فولبرايت في غواتيمالا، علمت عن أحد هذه التقييمات للوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية منع الجريمة والعنف المشروع قيد التنفيذ في جميع أنحاء أمريكا الوسطى.

اشتمل تقييم التأثير على المشاركين في استطلاع 29,000 ومقابلات 848 ومجموعات تركيز 44. ووجدت أن جرائم القتل والابتزاز ومبيعات المخدرات وتجنيد العصابات والمعارك قد انخفضت ، وكان هناك قدر أكبر من الرضا عن القيادة المحلية. أعتقد أن السبب الرئيسي لنجاح هذا البرنامج ، بعد إجراء مقابلة مع بعض موظفي المشروع ، هو مدى إشراك أفراد المجتمع المحلي بشكل جيد - تمكينهم من تحديد أولوياته.

لم يبحث تقييم ذلك المشروع في تأثيره على الهجرة. لكن البحث الذي أجريته الفرص التعليمية للشباب المعرضين للخطر في غواتيمالا تشير بقوة إلى أنه عندما تنجح الجهود الرامية إلى درء العنف ، وتنشأ فرص إنشاء أعمال تجارية صغيرة ويزداد الوصول إلى التعليم اللائق ، يكون الاهتمام بالهجرة أقل.

في عملي الإنمائي الدولي السابق ، واجهت أيضًا جهود مساعدة دولية كانت أقل فعالية. المساعدات التي لا تزيد عن مجرد عكس النوايا الحسنة للبلد المانح لا تحل أي شيء. الرقابة ضرورية ، مثل المراجعات المستمرة من قبل مؤتمر و منظمات المجتمع المدني مساعدات أمريكا الوسطى.

أثناء العمل كخبير استشاري بالبنك الدولي لمراجعة مشاريع التنمية في جميع أنحاء العالم ، توصلت إلى استنتاج مفاده أن قطع المساعدات قبل الأوان لأي مشروع يمكن أن يقوض الجهود التي قد تنجح في وقت لاحق.

لهذا السبب أعتقد أنه ليس من المنطقي قطع المساعدات عن أمريكا الوسطى لمعاقبة الحكومات لفشلها في وقف الهجرة. تقييد المساعدة وإعادة توجيه المساعدة لبرامج أخرى لن تفعل شيئًا حيال ذلك المشاكل الأساسية التي تسبب مئات الآلاف من الناس يخاطرون بحياتهم كل عام. فقط عندما يصبح من الممكن للناس متابعة حياة أفضل في بلدانهم الأصلية ولم تعد هناك أسباب مقنعة للفرار من أجل حياتهم ، فإن وتيرة هجرة أمريكا الوسطى ستهدأ.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

كارمن مونيكو ، أستاذ مساعد في دراسات الخدمة الإنسانية ، ايلون جامعة

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

تمويل التكيف مع المناخ والاستثمار في كاليفورنيا

جيسي كينان
0367026074يُعد هذا الكتاب بمثابة دليل للحكومات المحلية والمؤسسات الخاصة لأنها تتنقل في المياه غير المقيدة للاستثمار في التكيف مع تغير المناخ ومرونته. لا يعمل هذا الكتاب فقط كدليل مرجعي لتحديد مصادر التمويل المحتملة ولكن أيضًا كخارطة طريق لإدارة الأصول وعمليات التمويل العام. ويسلط الضوء على أوجه التآزر العملية بين آليات التمويل ، وكذلك النزاعات التي قد تنشأ بين المصالح والاستراتيجيات المختلفة. بينما ينصب التركيز الرئيسي لهذا العمل على ولاية كاليفورنيا ، يقدم هذا الكتاب رؤى أوسع لكيفية قيام الولايات والحكومات المحلية والمؤسسات الخاصة باتخاذ هذه الخطوات الأولى الحاسمة في الاستثمار في التكيف الجماعي للمجتمع مع تغير المناخ. متاح في أمازون

الحلول المعتمدة على الطبيعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في المناطق الحضرية: الروابط بين العلوم والسياسة والممارسة

نادية كابيش ، هورست كورن ، جوتا ستادلر ، أليتا بون
3030104176
يجمع هذا الكتاب المفتوح الوصول إلى نتائج البحوث والخبرات من العلوم والسياسات والممارسات لإلقاء الضوء على أهمية الحلول المستندة إلى الطبيعة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ في المناطق الحضرية. يتم التركيز على إمكانات النهج القائمة على الطبيعة لخلق منافع متعددة للمجتمع.

وتقدم مساهمات الخبراء توصيات لخلق التآزر بين عمليات السياسات الجارية والبرامج العلمية والتنفيذ العملي لتدابير تغير المناخ وحماية الطبيعة في المناطق الحضرية العالمية. متاح في أمازون

مقاربة نقدية للتكيف مع تغير المناخ: الخطابات والسياسات والممارسات

بقلم سيلجا كليب ، ليبرتاد شافيز رودريغيز
9781138056299يجمع هذا الحجم المحرر الأبحاث الحاسمة حول الخطابات والسياسات والممارسات المتعلقة بالتكيف مع تغير المناخ من منظور متعدد التخصصات. واستنادا إلى أمثلة من دول من بينها كولومبيا والمكسيك وكندا وألمانيا وروسيا وتنزانيا وإندونيسيا وجزر المحيط الهادئ، وفصول تصف كيف يتم تفسير تدابير التكيف، حولت، وتنفيذها على المستوى الشعبي وكيف يمكن لهذه التدابير تغيير أو التدخل في علاقات القوة والتعددية القانونية والمعرفة المحلية (الإيكولوجية). بشكل عام ، يتحدى الكتاب وجهات نظر ثابتة للتكيف مع تغير المناخ من خلال مراعاة قضايا التنوع الثقافي ، والجدوى البيئية وحقوق الإنسان ، وكذلك النهج النسوي أو التقاطعي. يسمح هذا النهج المبتكر بتحليل التكوينات الجديدة للمعرفة والقوة التي تتطور باسم التكيف مع تغير المناخ. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Is Cutting Central American Aid Going To Help Stop The Flow Of Migrants?

Is Cutting Central American Aid Going To Help Stop The Flow Of Migrants? Some USAID programs seek to help raise living standards for families like this one in Western Honduras. USAID-ACCESO/Fintrac Inc., CC BY-SA

President Donald Trump has long made blocking the thousands of Central Americans who head to the southern U.S. border, most of them seeking asylum, from entering and staying in the country a top priority.

His administration is now stepping up its pressure on the governments of El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras to take steps to curtail the migration of their own citizens by constricting U.S. aid. About US$370 million in aid money for the three countries included in the 2018 budget will be spent on other projects, the State Department said on June 17.

“It is critical that there be sufficient political will in these countries to address the problem at its source,” State Department spokeswoman Morgan Ortagus said.

I’m a scholar who has researched migration from Central America, especially the arrival of unaccompanied children and teens from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador.

Like many experts, I argue that slashing aid is counterproductive because foreign assistance can address the root causes of migration, such as violence and poverty. I also consider this demand that the region’s governments muster more “political will” to be meaningless, as only sustained human and economic development, along with efforts to combat crime, can make a difference.

Aid flows

U.S. foreign aid to Central America is supposed to improve economic conditions, bolster agriculture, enhance public safety and security and root out government corruption.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


But even though the U.S. has spent nearly $16 billion on foreign assistance for Honduras, El Salvador and Guatemala since 1946 and supported coordinated regional efforts aimed at deterring migration from the region since 2014, hundreds of thousands of Central Americans, especially the children and teens seeking asylum on their own, are still fleeing “push” factors back home like violence and hunger.

So why hasn’t all of this money make more of a difference?

U.S. foreign policy had many objectives in these countries. Along with aid for stability and development, U.S. assistance has emphasized the fight against drug trafficking and police training.

In addition, decades of intense U.S. intervention laid the groundwork for today’s violence and instability across the region.

The Eisenhower administration, for instance, orchestrated the ousting of Guatemala’s democratically elected government in 1954 that ushered in a prolonged civil war. In the early 1980s, the Reagan administration supported the brutal Guatemalan strongman José Efraín Ríos Montt, who was later convicted of committing genocide. President Ronald Reagan also backed El Salvador’s violent government during a civil war that killed 75,000 people and left the country vulnerable to decades of instability. In addition, his administration turned Honduras into a staging ground for the Nicaraguan Contra rebels it financed, militarizing that country and increasing levels of political violence that have never subsided.

Plans vs. reality

In 2015, the Obama administration drafted a plan to boost Central American aid that was intended to discourage migrants from making the trip north. In 2016, the White House detailed multiyear aid levels that would remain much higher than before the surge in asylum-seekers began, as long as the three countries made progress on “border security” and other goals.

Instead, the total amount of money Congress obligated – or approved for current and future aid spending – in El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras, has fallen by more than two-thirds, slipping from $604 million in 2015 to $182 million in 2019. A large share of those obligated funds have not been spent. Now, with this announcement, it seems they never will be.

Disbursements, the money actually spent, declined by about one-third from $328 million in 2015 to $217 million in 2019. U.S. nonprofits and consulting firms have spent most of this money through local civil society groups and international agencies.

The State Department is also saying that the U.S. will not authorize any new funding for Central American aid. Because Congress has blocked the Trump administration’s efforts to slash aid before, it’s not clear how successful this new effort will prove.

us aid to central america 6 21

Questions about effectiveness

Many economists argue over the question of whether foreign aid works. Scholars have not determined that it quells the kind of violence behind Central America’s mass migration.

Some aid experts find that it only makes the countries that get it dependent on the nations that donate it, rather than making a lasting difference for the people it’s supposed to help.

Others hold that the problem is how aid is allocated: often in increments that are too small and sporadic and without a proven strategy.

One problem in terms of proving aid effectiveness is choosing the right metrics. One program might not raise local living standards, stop drug trafficking and reduce the number of people who emigrate, but it might achieve one or more of those goals.

And although some critics suspect that aid money is given as blank checks, that concern overlooks the fact that through the U.S. Agency for International Development and its contractors, the U.S. government does try to improve the effectiveness of its programs, develop pilots and follow up on promising and targeted approaches.

While conducting Fulbright research in Guatemala, I learned about one such evaluation of a USAID crime and violence prevention project underway throughout Central America.

The impact evaluation involved 29,000 survey respondents, 848 interviews and 44 focus groups. It found that murders, extortion, drug sales, gang recruitment and fights had declined and there was greater satisfaction with local leadership. The main reason for this program’s success, I believe after interviewing some of the project’s staff, is how well it engaged members of the local community – empowering them to define its priorities.

The assessment of that project did not look into its impact on migration. But the research I conducted on educational opportunities for at-risk youth in Guatemala strongly suggests that when efforts to stave off violence succeed, opportunities to create small businesses arise and access to a decent education increases, there is much less interest in emigration.

In my past international development work, I have also encountered international assistance efforts that were less effective. Aid that does little more than reflect the donor country’s good intentions doesn’t solve anything. Oversight is necessary, such as ongoing reviews by Congress and civil society groups of Central American aid.

While working as a World Bank consultant reviewing development projects around the world, I came to the conclusion that cutting aid prematurely to any project could undercut efforts that might succeed later.

That is why I believe that it doesn’t make sense to cut aid to Central America to punish governments for failing to stop migration. Restricting aid and re-routing assistance to other programs will do nothing about the underlying problems that are causing hundreds of thousands of people to risk their lives every year. For only when it becomes possible for people to pursue a better life in their home countries and there are no longer compelling reasons to flee for their lives will the pace of Central American migration subside.The Conversation

About The Author

Carmen Monico, Assistant Professor of Human Service Studies, Elon University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Climate Adaptation Finance and Investment in California

by Jesse M. Keenan
0367026074This book serves as a guide for local governments and private enterprises as they navigate the unchartered waters of investing in climate change adaptation and resilience. This book serves not only as a resource guide for identifying potential funding sources but also as a roadmap for asset management and public finance processes. It highlights practical synergies between funding mechanisms, as well as the conflicts that may arise between varying interests and strategies. While the main focus of this work is on the State of California, this book offers broader insights for how states, local governments and private enterprises can take those critical first steps in investing in society’s collective adaptation to climate change. Available On Amazon

Nature-Based Solutions to Climate Change Adaptation in Urban Areas: Linkages between Science, Policy and Practice

by Nadja Kabisch, Horst Korn, Jutta Stadler, Aletta Bonn
3030104176
This open access book brings together research findings and experiences from science, policy and practice to highlight and debate the importance of nature-based solutions to climate change adaptation in urban areas. Emphasis is given to the potential of nature-based approaches to create multiple-benefits for society.

The expert contributions present recommendations for creating synergies between ongoing policy processes, scientific programmes and practical implementation of climate change and nature conservation measures in global urban areas. Available On Amazon

A Critical Approach to Climate Change Adaptation: Discourses, Policies and Practices

by Silja Klepp, Libertad Chavez-Rodriguez
9781138056299This edited volume brings together critical research on climate change adaptation discourses, policies, and practices from a multi-disciplinary perspective. Drawing on examples from countries including Colombia, Mexico, Canada, Germany, Russia, Tanzania, Indonesia, and the Pacific Islands, the chapters describe how adaptation measures are interpreted, transformed, and implemented at grassroots level and how these measures are changing or interfering with power relations, legal pluralismm and local (ecological) knowledge. As a whole, the book challenges established perspectives of climate change adaptation by taking into account issues of cultural diversity, environmental justicem and human rights, as well as feminist or intersectional approaches. This innovative approach allows for analyses of the new configurations of knowledge and power that are evolving in the name of climate change adaptation. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}