Es ist noch nicht klar, warum Extreme Tornado Outbreaks auf dem Vormarsch sind

TornadoFoto Credits: Timmy27. Innenstadt von Miami. (CC 3.0)

Die Zunahme groß angelegter Tornadoausbrüche in den USA scheint nicht eindeutig mit dem Klimawandel in Verbindung zu stehen, wie eine neue Studie zeigt.

Die neuen Ergebnisse binden das Frequenzwachstum an Trends in der vertikalen Windscherung, die in bestimmten Superzellen gefunden werden - eine Veränderung, die bisher nicht mit einem wärmeren Klima in Verbindung gebracht wurde.

"Was diesen Anstieg bei extremen Ausbrüchen, bei denen die überwiegende Mehrheit der Tornado-bedingten Todesfälle auftritt, vorantreibt, ist im derzeitigen Stand der Klimawissenschaft alles andere als offensichtlich", sagt Joel E. Cohen, Professor an der Rockefeller University und der Columbia University führte die Forschung als Gastwissenschaftler an der Universität von Chicago durch.

Tornado-Ausbrüche sind großräumige Wetterereignisse, die ein bis drei Tage andauern, mit mehreren Gewittern und sechs oder mehr Tornados in unmittelbarer Folge. In der Studie veröffentlicht in WissenschaftCohen und seine Kollegen nutzten neue statistische Werkzeuge, darunter die Extremwertanalyse - ein Zweig der Statistik, der sich mit Abweichungen befasst -, um beobachtungsbasierte meteorologische Schätzungen im Zusammenhang mit Tornadoausbrüchen zusammen mit Datensätzen der National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration zu analysieren.

Daten über Tausende von Tornados

Sie schätzten, dass sich die Zahl der Tornados im extremsten Ausbruch in einem Zeitraum von fünf Jahren im letzten halben Jahrhundert verdoppelt hatte. Dies bedeutet, dass in 1965 der schlimmste Ausbruch, der über fünf Jahre erwartet wurde, über 40-Tornados geführt hätte, während in 2015 der schlimmste Ausbruch, der über fünf Jahre erwartet wurde, über 80-Tornados geführt hätte.

"Wenn wir die Daten tausender Tornados betrachten, die in den letzten 50 Jahren zuverlässig in den Vereinigten Staaten aufgezeichnet wurden, hat es uns erlaubt, neue Fragen zu stellen und neue, wichtige Veränderungen bei Ausbrüchen dieser Tornados zu entdecken", sagt Cohen.

Um die erhöhte Häufigkeit von Tornadoausbrüchen zu verstehen, untersuchten die Forscher zwei Faktoren: konvektive verfügbare potentielle Energie oder CAPE und sturmrelative Helizität, die ein Maß für die vertikale Windscherung ist.

Frühere Studien hatten prognostiziert, dass ein sich erwärmendes Klima die CAPE erhöhen würde, wodurch günstige Bedingungen für einen Anstieg von schweren Gewittern und möglicherweise Tornado-Ausbrüchen geschaffen würden. Aber Cohen und seine Kollegen fanden heraus, dass die Zunahme der Ausbrüche durch die relative Helizität der Stürme verursacht wurde, die unter einem sich erwärmenden Klima voraussichtlich nicht zunehmen wird.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


"Unsere Studie wirft neue Fragen auf, was der Klimawandel für schwere Gewitter tun wird und was für die jüngsten Trends verantwortlich ist", sagt Koautor Michael K. Tippett, Dozent an der Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science der Columbia University.

"Die Tatsache, dass wir die gegenwärtig verstandene meteorologische Signatur der Erderwärmung nicht in wechselnden Ausbruchsstatistiken für Tornados sehen, lässt zwei Möglichkeiten: Entweder sind die jüngsten Erhöhungen nicht auf ein sich erwärmendes Klima zurückzuführen, oder ein sich erwärmendes Klima hat Auswirkungen auf die Tornadoaktivität verstehe nicht ", sagt Tippett.

Forschungsinitiativen der Columbia University für Wissenschaft und Technik; Office of Naval Forschung; NOAA's Climate Program Office Modellierung, Analyse, Vorhersagen und Projektionen; Willis Forschungsnetzwerk; und die National Science Foundation finanzierte die Arbeit.

Quelle: University of Chicago

Bücher zum Thema:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books; Schlüsselwörter = Tornado-Ursachen; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

It’s Not Yet Clear Why Extreme Tornado Outbreaks Are On The Rise

tornadoPhoto Credits: Timmy27. Downtown Miami. (CC 3.0)

The increase in large-scale tornado outbreaks in the US doesn’t appear to be clearly linked to climate change, a new study suggests.

The new findings tie the growth in frequency to trends in the vertical wind shear found in certain supercells—a change not so far associated with a warmer climate.

“What’s pushing this rise in extreme outbreaks, during which the vast majority of tornado-related fatalities occur, is far from obvious in the present state of climate science,” says Joel E. Cohen, a professor at Rockefeller University and Columbia University, who conducted the research as a visiting scholar at the University of Chicago.

Tornado outbreaks are large-scale weather events that last one to three days, featuring several thunderstorms and six or more tornadoes in close succession. In the study, published in Science, Cohen and colleagues used new statistical tools, including extreme value analysis—a branch of statistics dealing with deviations—to analyze observation-based meteorological estimates associated with tornado outbreaks together with National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration datasets.

Data on thousands of tornadoes

They estimated that the number of tornadoes in the most extreme outbreak in a five-year interval doubled over the last half-century. This means that in 1965 the worst outbreak expected over five years would have had about 40 tornadoes, while in 2015 the worst outbreak expected over five years would have had about 80 tornadoes.

“Viewing the data on thousands of tornadoes that have been reliably recorded in the United States over the past half-century as a population has permitted us to ask new questions and discover new, important changes in outbreaks of these tornadoes,” Cohen says.

To understand the increased frequency in tornado outbreaks, the researchers looked at two factors: convective available potential energy, or CAPE, and storm relative helicity, which is a measure of vertical wind shear.

Earlier studies had projected a warming climate would increase CAPE, creating conditions favorable to a rise in severe thunderstorms—and potentially tornado outbreaks. But Cohen and his colleagues found the increases in outbreaks were driven instead by storm relative helicity, which has not been projected to increase under a warming climate.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“Our study raises new questions about what climate change will do to severe thunderstorms and what is responsible for recent trends,” says coauthor Michael K. Tippett, an associate professor at Columbia University’s Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science.

“The fact that we didn’t see the presently understood meteorological signature of global warming in changing outbreak statistics for tornadoes leaves two possibilities: Either the recent increases are not due to a warming climate, or a warming climate has implications for tornado activity that we don’t understand,” says Tippett.

Columbia University Research Initiatives for Science and Engineering; Office of Naval Research; NOAA’s Climate Program Office’s Modeling, Analysis, Predictions and Projections; Willis Research Network; and the National Science Foundation funded the work.

Source: University of Chicago

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=tornado causes;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)