لماذا تأثير الغيوم على المناخ ليس بسيطا

غروب الشمس الغائمة في فوكيت ، تايلند: ما زالت الغيوم في المناخ غير مستقرة. الصورة: 29cm عبر ويكيميديا ​​كومنز

إن السؤال الدائم حول تأثير الغيوم على مناخ الأرض يأخذ طابعا آخر ، حيث تتوقع دراسة واحدة التبريد وآخر العكس.

عُرض العلماء للتو دليلاً جديدًا على تأثير تأثير السحب الاستوائية على المناخ في معدلات الاحترار العالمي ، وبالتالي يجب أخذها في الاعتبار في محاكاة الكمبيوتر لتغير المناخ خلال القرن المقبل.

ومن المثير للدهشة أن إحدى الدراسات تقول إن السحب الاستوائية الرقيقة عند ارتفاع 5km أكثر شيوعًا بكثير مما كان يعتقد ، وأن لها تأثير تبريد كبير على المناخ.

بينما يشير الآخر إلى أنه مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة الأرض ، سيكون هناك عدد أقل من السحب المنخفضة المستوى ، مما سيعكس انخفاضًا في ضوء الشمس في الفضاء ربما دفع درجات الحرارة العالمية إلى 2.3 درجة مئوية فوق المتوسط ​​لمعظم التاريخ البشري.

النتائج ليست متناقضة: الأول ، في طبيعة الاتصالات، يتناول الأدلة المستمدة من دراسة محمولة في الفضاء من الغيوم في المستوى المتوسط ​​في الوقت الحالي. والثاني ، في الجمعية الأمريكية للأرصاد الجوية مجلة المناخيفحص التغييرات مع مرور الوقت في انتشار الغيوم في المستويات الدنيا.

لا يمكن التنبؤ به

ما تفعله كلتا الدراستين هو تذكير بأن المناخ عبارة عن جزء معقد من الآلات ، كما كان من المفترض أن يكون الفيزيائي الدانماركي العظيم نيلز بور قد قال، التنبؤ صعب جدا ، خاصة حول المستقبل.

لدراسة Nature Communications ، كوينتن بورجوا استخدم مركز بولين للبحوث المناخية في جامعة ستوكهولم وزملاؤه أجهزة محملة بالفضاء ونماذج عددية للنظر في السحب المتوسطة المستوى في المناطق المدارية ، ووجدوا أن تأثير التبريد لهما يمكن أن يكون كبيرًا مثل الاحترار الناجم عن الحمضيات الغيوم على مستوى عال.

وبما أن السحب تغطي أكثر من نسبة 70٪ من سطح الأرض في أي وقت ، وبما أن الأنواع المختلفة من السحب تؤثر على المناخ بشكل مختلف ، فلا ينبغي أن يكون من المفاجئ أن يكون التأثير الإجمالي للغطاء السحابي في المناخ لغزًا.

وقد اقترحت إحدى الدراسات الباحثين الإفراط في تقدير تأثير التبريد من الغيوم. آخر لديه عزا ذوبان الجليد المثيرة في جرينلاند في 2012 إلى الغيوم، بينما ركزت دراسات أخرى على استكشاف الآليات و الديناميات تشكيل السحاب. لذلك تمثل كلتا الدراستين قطعًا صغيرة من أحجية اللغز في الغلاف الجوي العملاق.

"من المرجح أن تقع حساسية المناخ في النصف الأعلى من التقديرات السابقة ، ربما حول أربع درجات"

من أجل دراسة مجلة المناخ ، اثنان من العلماء من المعهد الفدرالي السويسري للتكنولوجيا ، تعرف عادة باسم ETH Zurichدرس سنوات 15 من بيانات مقياس الإشعاع من سواتل ناسا. وهذه تقيس باستمرار مقدار انعكاس ضوء الشمس في الفضاء ، وأظهرت الاختلافات في البيانات ، أنه في الماضي ، كانت هناك غيوم منخفضة منخفضة مقارنة بالسنوات الأكثر برودة.

ويترتب على ذلك ، مع ارتفاع درجة حرارة العالم ، أن الغطاء السحابي عند هذا الارتفاع سيميل إلى النحافة. وتقترح الدراسة ، وليس لأول مرة ، أن دول 195 التي في باريس في ديسمبر كانون الاول وافقت على احتواء الاحترار العالمي إلى أقل من 2 ° C قد حددت هدفا طموحا.

تشير جميع بيانات الرصد الواردة في هذه الدراسة إلى أنه في حال تضاعف ثنائي أكسيد الكربون في الغلاف الجوي ، فإن متوسط ​​درجات الحرارة العالمية سيرتفع بشكل كبير. يحب الباحثون تسمية هذا حساسية المناخ.

"من غير المرجح أن تكون حساسية المناخ أقل من 2.3 ° C" تابيو شنايدرواحد من المؤلفين. "من المرجح أن تقع حساسية المناخ في النصف الأعلى من التقديرات السابقة ، ربما حول أربع درجات". - شبكة أخبار المناخ

عن المؤلف

تيم رادفورد ، صحفي مستقلتيم رادفورد صحافي مستقل. كان يعمل ل الحارس ل32 عاما، لتصبح (من بين أمور أخرى) خطابات رئيس التحرير، محرر الفنون، المحرر الأدبي ورئيس تحرير العلم. فاز رابطة كتاب العلوم البريطاني جائزة للكاتب العلوم من السنة أربع مرات. خدم في لجنة المملكة المتحدة لل العقد الدولي للحد من الكوارث الطبيعية. وقد ألقى محاضرات عن العلوم والإعلام في عشرات المدن البريطانية والأجنبية.

العلوم التي غيرت العالم: القصة غير المروية لثورة 1960s الأخرىكتاب بهذا المؤلف:

العلوم التي غيرت العالم: القصة غير المروية لثورة 1960s الأخرى
تيم رادفورد.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون. (كتاب أوقد)

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why The Clouds Impact On Climate Is Not Simple

Cloudy sunset in Phuket, Thailand: what clouds do to climate is still unsettled. Image: 29cm via Wikimedia Commons

The perennial question of how clouds affect the Earth’s climate takes another twist, with one study expecting cooling and another the opposite.

Scientists have just been presented with new evidence on how tropical clouds’ climate impact affects rates of global warming, and therefore need to be factored into computer simulations of climate change over the next century.

Confusingly, one study says thin tropical clouds at 5km height are far more common than thought, and have a substantial cooling effect on climate.

The other suggests that as the world warms there will be fewer low-level clouds, which will therefore reflect less sunlight back into space and possibly push global temperatures to 2.3°C above the average for most of  human history.

The findings are not contradictory: the first, in Nature Communications, addresses evidence derived from space-borne study of clouds at mid-level right now. The second, in the American Meteorological Society’s Journal of Climate, examines changes with time in the prevalence of clouds at the lower levels.

Unpredictable

What both papers do is deliver a reminder that climate is a complex bit of machinery and that, as the great Danish physicist Niels Bohr is supposed to have said, prediction is very difficult, especially about the future. 

 For the Nature Communications study, Quentin Bourgeois of the Bolin Centre for Climate Research in Stockholm University and colleagues used space-borne instruments and numerical models to look at the mid-level clouds in the tropics and found that the cooling effect of these could be as large as the warming induced by the cirrus clouds at high level.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Since clouds cover more than 70% of the Earth’s surface at any time, and since different types of clouds impact climate differently, there should be no surprise that the overall effect of cloud cover in climate is a puzzle. 

One study has suggested researchers over-estimate the cooling effect of clouds. Another has attributed the dramatic thaw of Greenland’s icecap in 2012 to clouds, while other studies have concentrated on exploring the mechanisms and the dynamics of cloud formation. So both studies represent small pieces of a giant atmospheric jigsaw puzzle.

“Climate sensitivity is more likely situated in the upper half of previous estimates, probably around four degrees”

For the Journal of Climate study, two scientists from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, usually known as ETH Zurich, studied 15 years of radiometer data from Nasa satellites. These continuously measure how much sunlight is reflected back into space, and the variations in the data showed that, in the past, there have been fewer low-lying clouds than in the cooler years.

It follows that, as the world warms, the cloud cover at this altitude will tend to thin. The study suggests, not for the first time, that the 195 nations which in Paris in December agreed to contain global warming to less than 2°C have set an ambitious target.

All the observational data from this study suggest that if carbon dioxide in the atmosphere doubles then average global temperatures will rise substantially. Researchers like to call this climate sensitivity.

“It’s very unlikely that the climate sensitivity is less than 2.3°C,” said Tapio Schneider, one of the authors. “Climate sensitivity is more likely situated in the upper half of previous estimates, probably around four degrees.” – Climate News Network

About the Author

Tim Radford, freelance journalistTim Radford is a freelance journalist. He worked for The Guardian for 32 years, becoming (among other things) letters editor, arts editor, literary editor and science editor. He won the Association of British Science Writers award for science writer of the year four times. He served on the UK committee for the International Decade for Natural Disaster Reduction. He has lectured about science and the media in dozens of British and foreign cities. 

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolutionBook by this Author:

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolution
by Tim Radford.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon. (Kindle book)

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)