Почему влияние облаков на климат не просто

Облачный закат в Пхукете, Таиланд: какие облака до климата все еще не урегулированы. Изображение: 29cm через Wikimedia Commons

Многолетний вопрос о том, как облака влияют на климат Земли, приобретает еще один поворот: одно исследование ожидает охлаждения, а другое наоборот.

Ученым только что были представлены новые доказательства того, как воздействие климатических воздействий тропических облаков влияет на темпы глобального потепления, и поэтому их необходимо учитывать в компьютерном моделировании изменения климата в следующем столетии.

Смутно, одно исследование говорит, что тонкие тропические облака на высоте 5km гораздо более распространены, чем мысли, и имеют существенный охлаждающий эффект по климату.

Другой предполагает, что по мере того, как мир будет теплым, будет меньше облаков низкого уровня, что, следовательно, отразит меньше солнечного света в пространстве и возможно, приведет к глобальным температурам до 2.3 ° C выше среднего значения для большей части человеческой истории.

Выводы не противоречат друг другу: во-первых, в Природа связи, рассматривает данные, полученные в результате космических исследований облаков на среднем уровне прямо сейчас. Во-вторых, в Американском метеорологическом обществе Журнал климата, исследует изменения со временем в преобладании облаков на нижних уровнях.

Непредсказуемый

Что обе бумаги делают, так это напоминание о том, что климат представляет собой сложную технику и что, как полагал великий датский физик Нильс Бор, предсказание очень сложно, особенно о будущем.

В исследовании Nature Communications, Квентин Буржуа Болиньского центра исследований климата в Стокгольмском университете и его коллеги использовали космические инструменты и численные модели, чтобы посмотреть на облака среднего уровня в тропиках и обнаружили, что их охлаждающий эффект может быть таким же большим, как потепление, вызванное циррозом облака на высоком уровне.

Поскольку облака покрывают больше, чем 70% поверхности Земли в любое время, и поскольку разные типы облаков влияют на климат по-разному, не должно быть неожиданностей, что общий эффект облачного покрова в климате - загадка.

Одно исследование предложило исследователям переоценить охлаждающий эффект облаков. Другой приписал драматическую оттепель ледника Гренландии в 2012 облакам, в то время как другие исследования сосредоточены на изучение механизмов динамика образования облаков. Таким образом, оба исследования представляют собой небольшие кусочки гигантской атмосферной головоломки.

«Климатическая чувствительность, скорее всего, находится в верхней половине предыдущих оценок, вероятно, около четырех градусов»

Для исследования журнала «Климат» два ученых из Швейцарского федерального технологического института, обычно известный как ETH Zurich, изучили данные радиометра с 15 лет со спутников Nasa. Они непрерывно измеряют, сколько солнечного света отражается обратно в космос, и изменения в данных показали, что в прошлом было меньше низколежащих облаков, чем в более холодные годы.

Из этого следует, что по мере согревания мира облачный покров на этой высоте будет худеть. Исследование предлагает не в первый раз, что страны 195, которые в Париже в декабре согласились сдержать глобальное потепление до менее 2 ° C, установили амбициозную цель.

Все данные наблюдений из этого исследования показывают, что если двуокись углерода в атмосфере удваивается, тогда средняя глобальная температура существенно возрастет. Исследователи любят называть это чувствительность климата.

«Очень маловероятно, что климатическая чувствительность меньше 2.3 ° C», - сказал Тапио Шнайдер, один из авторов. «Климатическая чувствительность, скорее всего, находится в верхней половине предыдущих оценок, вероятно, около четырех градусов». - Сеть климатических новостей

Об авторе

Тим Рэдфорд, независимый журналистТим Рэдфорд - независимый журналист. Он работал Хранитель для 32 лет, став (среди прочего) редактора писем, редактор искусства, литературный редактор и научный редактор. Он выиграл Ассоциация британских писателей науки награду за научного писателя года четыре раза. Он служил в комитете Великобритании по Международное десятилетие по уменьшению опасности стихийных бедствий, Он читал лекции о науке и средствах массовой информации в десятках британских и зарубежных городов.

Наука, которая изменила мир: неописуемая история другой революции 1960sКнига этого автора:

Наука, которая изменила мир: неописуемая история другой революции 1960s
Тим Рэдфорд.

Нажмите здесь для получения дополнительной информации и / или заказать эту книгу на Amazon. (Книга Kindle)

Другие статьи этого автора

Вам также может понравиться

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Why The Clouds Impact On Climate Is Not Simple

Cloudy sunset in Phuket, Thailand: what clouds do to climate is still unsettled. Image: 29cm via Wikimedia Commons

The perennial question of how clouds affect the Earth’s climate takes another twist, with one study expecting cooling and another the opposite.

Scientists have just been presented with new evidence on how tropical clouds’ climate impact affects rates of global warming, and therefore need to be factored into computer simulations of climate change over the next century.

Confusingly, one study says thin tropical clouds at 5km height are far more common than thought, and have a substantial cooling effect on climate.

The other suggests that as the world warms there will be fewer low-level clouds, which will therefore reflect less sunlight back into space and possibly push global temperatures to 2.3°C above the average for most of  human history.

The findings are not contradictory: the first, in Nature Communications, addresses evidence derived from space-borne study of clouds at mid-level right now. The second, in the American Meteorological Society’s Journal of Climate, examines changes with time in the prevalence of clouds at the lower levels.

Unpredictable

What both papers do is deliver a reminder that climate is a complex bit of machinery and that, as the great Danish physicist Niels Bohr is supposed to have said, prediction is very difficult, especially about the future. 

 For the Nature Communications study, Quentin Bourgeois of the Bolin Centre for Climate Research in Stockholm University and colleagues used space-borne instruments and numerical models to look at the mid-level clouds in the tropics and found that the cooling effect of these could be as large as the warming induced by the cirrus clouds at high level.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Since clouds cover more than 70% of the Earth’s surface at any time, and since different types of clouds impact climate differently, there should be no surprise that the overall effect of cloud cover in climate is a puzzle. 

One study has suggested researchers over-estimate the cooling effect of clouds. Another has attributed the dramatic thaw of Greenland’s icecap in 2012 to clouds, while other studies have concentrated on exploring the mechanisms and the dynamics of cloud formation. So both studies represent small pieces of a giant atmospheric jigsaw puzzle.

“Climate sensitivity is more likely situated in the upper half of previous estimates, probably around four degrees”

For the Journal of Climate study, two scientists from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, usually known as ETH Zurich, studied 15 years of radiometer data from Nasa satellites. These continuously measure how much sunlight is reflected back into space, and the variations in the data showed that, in the past, there have been fewer low-lying clouds than in the cooler years.

It follows that, as the world warms, the cloud cover at this altitude will tend to thin. The study suggests, not for the first time, that the 195 nations which in Paris in December agreed to contain global warming to less than 2°C have set an ambitious target.

All the observational data from this study suggest that if carbon dioxide in the atmosphere doubles then average global temperatures will rise substantially. Researchers like to call this climate sensitivity.

“It’s very unlikely that the climate sensitivity is less than 2.3°C,” said Tapio Schneider, one of the authors. “Climate sensitivity is more likely situated in the upper half of previous estimates, probably around four degrees.” – Climate News Network

About the Author

Tim Radford, freelance journalistTim Radford is a freelance journalist. He worked for The Guardian for 32 years, becoming (among other things) letters editor, arts editor, literary editor and science editor. He won the Association of British Science Writers award for science writer of the year four times. He served on the UK committee for the International Decade for Natural Disaster Reduction. He has lectured about science and the media in dozens of British and foreign cities. 

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolutionBook by this Author:

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolution
by Tim Radford.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon. (Kindle book)

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)