Pourquoi l'impact des nuages ​​sur le climat n'est pas simple

Coucher de soleil nuageux à Phuket, en Thaïlande: ce que les nuages ​​font pour le climat est encore incertain. Image: 29cm via Wikimedia Commons

La question éternelle de la façon dont les nuages ​​affectent le climat de la Terre prend une autre tournure, une étude s'attendant à un refroidissement et une autre à l'inverse.

Les scientifiques viennent de recevoir de nouvelles preuves sur l'impact du climat des nuages ​​tropicaux sur les taux de réchauffement de la planète, et doivent donc être pris en compte dans les simulations informatiques du changement climatique au cours du prochain siècle.

Confusément, une étude indique que les nuages ​​tropicaux minces à hauteur 5km sont beaucoup plus communs que prévu, et ont un effet de refroidissement important sur le climat.

L'autre suggère que lorsque le monde se réchauffera, il y aura moins de nuages ​​de bas niveau, qui refléteront donc moins de lumière dans l'espace et peut-être pousser les températures mondiales à 2.3 ° C au-dessus de la moyenne pour la plupart de l'histoire humaine.

Les résultats ne sont pas contradictoires: le premier, en Communications Nature, aborde les preuves dérivées de l'étude spatiale des nuages ​​à mi-niveau en ce moment. La seconde, dans l'American Meteorological Society Journal of Climate, examine les changements dans le temps de la prévalence des nuages ​​aux niveaux inférieurs.

Imprévisible

Ce que les deux journaux font est de rappeler que le climat est une machine complexe et que, comme l'aurait dit le grand physicien danois Niels Bohr, la prédiction est très difficile, surtout pour l'avenir.

Pour l'étude Nature Communications, Quentin Bourgeois du Centre Bolin pour la recherche climatique à l'Université de Stockholm et ses collègues ont utilisé des instruments spatiaux et des modèles numériques pour observer les nuages ​​de niveau intermédiaire dans les tropiques et ont trouvé que leur effet de refroidissement pourrait être aussi important que le réchauffement induit par les cirrus. nuages ​​à haut niveau.

Comme les nuages ​​couvrent plus de 70% de la surface de la Terre à n'importe quel moment et que différents types de nuages ​​ont un impact différent sur le climat, il n'est pas surprenant que l'effet global de la couverture nuageuse soit un casse-tête.

Une étude a suggéré des chercheurs surestimer l'effet de refroidissement des nuages. Un autre a attribué le dégel dramatique de la calotte glaciaire du Groenland dans 2012 aux nuages, tandis que d'autres études se sont concentrées sur explorer les mécanismes la dynamique de la formation des nuages. Donc, les deux études représentent de petits morceaux d'un puzzle géant atmosphérique.

"La sensibilité au climat est plus vraisemblablement située dans la moitié supérieure des estimations précédentes, probablement autour de quatre degrés"

Pour l'étude Journal of Climate, deux scientifiques de l'Institut fédéral suisse de technologie, généralement connu sous le nom de ETH Zurich, a étudié 15 années de données de radiomètre à partir de satellites Nasa. Ceux-ci mesurent en permanence la quantité de lumière solaire réfléchie dans l'espace, et les variations dans les données ont montré que, par le passé, il y avait moins de nuages ​​de basse altitude que dans les années plus fraîches.

Il s'ensuit que, à mesure que le monde se réchauffe, la couverture nuageuse à cette altitude aura tendance à s'amincir. L'étude suggère, pas pour la première fois, que les nations 195 qui à Paris en décembre accepté de contenir le réchauffement climatique à moins de 2 ° C ont fixé un objectif ambitieux.

Toutes les données d'observation de cette étude suggèrent que si le dioxyde de carbone dans l'atmosphère double, alors les températures globales moyennes augmenteront considérablement. Les chercheurs aiment appeler cela sensibilité au climat.

"Il est très peu probable que la sensibilité au climat soit inférieure à 2.3 ° C", a déclaré Tapio Schneider, un des auteurs. "La sensibilité au climat est plus vraisemblablement située dans la moitié supérieure des estimations précédentes, probablement autour de quatre degrés." - Climate News Network

A propos de l'auteur

Tim Radford, journaliste indépendantTim Radford est un journaliste indépendant. Il a travaillé pour The Guardian pour 32 ans, devenant (entre autres choses) lettres éditeur, rédacteur en chef des arts, éditeur littéraire et rédacteur scientifique. Il a remporté le Association of Science Writers britanniques prix pour écrivain scientifique de l'année quatre fois. Il a siégé au comité britannique pour le Décennie internationale de la prévention des catastrophes naturelles. Il a donné des conférences sur la science et les médias dans des dizaines de villes britanniques et étrangères.

La science qui a changé le monde: l'histoire inédite de l'autre révolution de 1960Réservez par cet auteur:

La science qui a changé le monde: l'histoire inédite de l'autre révolution de 1960
par Tim Radford.

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon. (Livre Kindle)

Why The Clouds Impact On Climate Is Not Simple

Cloudy sunset in Phuket, Thailand: what clouds do to climate is still unsettled. Image: 29cm via Wikimedia Commons

The perennial question of how clouds affect the Earth’s climate takes another twist, with one study expecting cooling and another the opposite.

Scientists have just been presented with new evidence on how tropical clouds’ climate impact affects rates of global warming, and therefore need to be factored into computer simulations of climate change over the next century.

Confusingly, one study says thin tropical clouds at 5km height are far more common than thought, and have a substantial cooling effect on climate.

The other suggests that as the world warms there will be fewer low-level clouds, which will therefore reflect less sunlight back into space and possibly push global temperatures to 2.3°C above the average for most of  human history.

The findings are not contradictory: the first, in Nature Communications, addresses evidence derived from space-borne study of clouds at mid-level right now. The second, in the American Meteorological Society’s Journal of Climate, examines changes with time in the prevalence of clouds at the lower levels.

Unpredictable

What both papers do is deliver a reminder that climate is a complex bit of machinery and that, as the great Danish physicist Niels Bohr is supposed to have said, prediction is very difficult, especially about the future. 

 For the Nature Communications study, Quentin Bourgeois of the Bolin Centre for Climate Research in Stockholm University and colleagues used space-borne instruments and numerical models to look at the mid-level clouds in the tropics and found that the cooling effect of these could be as large as the warming induced by the cirrus clouds at high level.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Since clouds cover more than 70% of the Earth’s surface at any time, and since different types of clouds impact climate differently, there should be no surprise that the overall effect of cloud cover in climate is a puzzle. 

One study has suggested researchers over-estimate the cooling effect of clouds. Another has attributed the dramatic thaw of Greenland’s icecap in 2012 to clouds, while other studies have concentrated on exploring the mechanisms and the dynamics of cloud formation. So both studies represent small pieces of a giant atmospheric jigsaw puzzle.

“Climate sensitivity is more likely situated in the upper half of previous estimates, probably around four degrees”

For the Journal of Climate study, two scientists from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, usually known as ETH Zurich, studied 15 years of radiometer data from Nasa satellites. These continuously measure how much sunlight is reflected back into space, and the variations in the data showed that, in the past, there have been fewer low-lying clouds than in the cooler years.

It follows that, as the world warms, the cloud cover at this altitude will tend to thin. The study suggests, not for the first time, that the 195 nations which in Paris in December agreed to contain global warming to less than 2°C have set an ambitious target.

All the observational data from this study suggest that if carbon dioxide in the atmosphere doubles then average global temperatures will rise substantially. Researchers like to call this climate sensitivity.

“It’s very unlikely that the climate sensitivity is less than 2.3°C,” said Tapio Schneider, one of the authors. “Climate sensitivity is more likely situated in the upper half of previous estimates, probably around four degrees.” – Climate News Network

About the Author

Tim Radford, freelance journalistTim Radford is a freelance journalist. He worked for The Guardian for 32 years, becoming (among other things) letters editor, arts editor, literary editor and science editor. He won the Association of British Science Writers award for science writer of the year four times. He served on the UK committee for the International Decade for Natural Disaster Reduction. He has lectured about science and the media in dozens of British and foreign cities. 

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolutionBook by this Author:

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolution
by Tim Radford.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon. (Kindle book)

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)