السياسة وراء كيف تتحكم الحكومات في بيانات الفيروس التاجي

السياسة وراء كيف تتحكم الحكومات في بيانات الفيروس التاجي امرأة تلاحظ المبادئ التوجيهية للمسافة الاجتماعية وهي تركب مترو الأنفاق في موسكو ، روسيا. اتهم الرئيس فلاديمير بوتين بقمع عدد الوفيات من COVID-19. (اسوشيتد برس / الكسندر زيمليانتشينكو)

أثرت COVID-19 على كل بلد تقريبًا حول العالم. منظمة الصحة العالمية حالات مؤكدة في 216 دولة ومنطقةوهو ما يمثل أكثر من 85 في المائة من 251 كيانا تعترف بها الأمم المتحدة. ومع ذلك ، استجابت كل حكومة بشكل مختلف لوباء الفيروس التاجي - بما في ذلك كيفية مشاركة البيانات المتعلقة بالمرض مع مواطني كل بلد.

تشير الانتقائية التي تنشر بها الحكومات معلومات حول عدد الحالات المؤكدة والوفيات الناجمة عن الفيروس التاجي قد تكون تقنيات "الطاقة الحيوية" فعالة.

ابتكر الفيلسوف الفرنسي ميشيل فوكو مفهوم الطاقة الحيوية في محاضراته في كوليج دو فرانس 1977-78. وقد عرّف الطاقة الحيوية على أنها "مجموعة من الآليات التي أصبحت من خلالها السمات البيولوجية الأساسية للأنواع البشرية هدفا لاستراتيجية سياسية واستراتيجية عامة للسلطة".

وجدت فوكو مثال مبكر على الطاقة الحيوية في لقاح الجدري الذي تم تطويره بحلول نهاية القرن الثامن عشر - واحدة من المحاولات الأولى لإدارة السكان من حيث حساب الاحتمالات تحت راية الصحة العامة. في حين أن لقاح COVID-19 لا يزال قيد الصنع ، فإن مفهوم الطاقة الحيوية قد يساعد على فهم أفضل لكيفية رؤيتنا للحكومات تتعامل مع الوباء المستمر.

إن تصورنا لاحتمال الإصابة بالفيروس وفرص الشفاء تتشكل من الأرقام الإحصائية ذات الصلة الصادرة عن حكوماتنا. هذه الأرقام تغذي طيف كامل من ردود أفعالنا تجاه COVID-19 - بما في ذلك الخوف والإهمال.

إن اتخاذ إجراء متوازن بشأن COVID-19 ومسار العمل المناسب للتعامل مع الوباء يعني أن المعلومات التي تقدمها الحكومات يجب أن تكون كاملة وصحيحة وموثوقة. للأسف ، هذا لا يحدث في كثير من الحالات.

عند دراسة كيف استجابت بعض البلدان للوباء ، ينبغي مراعاة العوامل السياسية الحيوية. وهذا يشمل كيفية قيام الحكومات بجمع وتبادل البيانات حول الفيروس التاجي. دعونا نلقي نظرة على ثلاث دول على وجه الخصوص.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الولايات المتحدة

في الولايات المتحدة ، يتم نشر معلومات COVID-19 بواسطة الوكالات الحكومية, الجامعات, وسائل الاعلام وحتى محركات البحث. تظل المستويات المختلفة للحكومات هي المصدر النهائي للأرقام المبلغ عنها ، ولكن ما مدى دقة هذه الأرقام؟

السياسة وراء كيف تتحكم الحكومات في بيانات الفيروس التاجي أنصار مؤيدون للصين يحملون دمية دونالد ترامب خارج القنصلية الأمريكية خلال احتجاج في هونغ كونغ. ألقى ترامب باللوم على الصين في انتشار الفيروس التاجي ، وهو تكتيك يقول معارضوه إنه يهدف إلى تحويل معالجة حكومته للوباء في الولايات المتحدة. (AP Photo / Kin Cheung)

الولايات المتحدة لديها الآن أكثر الحالات المؤكدة والوفيات الناجمة عن COVID-19. بينما يمكن تفسير ذلك من خلال استجابة متأخرة للوباء ونقص تغطية الرعاية الصحية الشاملة ، فإن المخاطر السياسية في أزمة COVID-19 مرتفعة للغاية بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة

ستكون الأزمة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية التي سببها الوباء عاملا رئيسيا في انتخابات هذا العام. في محاولة لتحويل الانتباه عن رد إدارته ، أشار الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب يجب إلقاء اللوم على الصين في الأزمة. يساهم العدد الكبير من الإصابات والوفيات في الشعور بالخوف وانعدام الأمن - وهو ما قد يساعد ترامب في بيع رسالته من منظور الطاقة الحيوية.

روسيا

بالإضافة إلى كونها المصدر الوحيد للمعلومات حول COVID-19 ، تبذل الحكومة الروسية أيضًا قصارى جهدها لحماية احتكارها لإنتاج ونشر البيانات ذات الصلة. أي شخص يحاول جمع ونشر أرقام COVID-19 دون الحصول على "ترخيص للإبلاغ" قد يواجه اتهامات جنائية لكونه وكيل استفزازي.

مجموعة من الأطباء في الشيشان ، المنطقة المتمردة سابقًا في القوقاز ، تخضع الآن لسيطرة مشددة من الحكومة المركزية ، حاول الشكوى من عدم الاستعداد لـ COVID-19. واتهموا على الفور "بالاستفزازات" وأجبروا على تقديم اعتذارات علنية.

السياسة وراء كيف تتحكم الحكومات في بيانات الفيروس التاجي يحمل العاملون الطبيون الذين يرتدون ملابس واقية مريضًا في مستشفى حيث يعالج مرضى فيروس التاجي في سان بطرسبرغ ، روسيا. (AP Photo / دميتري لوفتسكي)

وفقًا للبيانات الحكومية ، يوجد في روسيا واحد من أدنى معدلات وفيات COVID-19 في العالم ، أقل من واحد في المائة. (تشير الولايات المتحدة إلى حدوث وفيات نادرة بنسبة 14 في المائة ؛ وتتراوح إيطاليا وفرنسا والمملكة المتحدة بين 15 و XNUMX في المائة). إما أن يكون لدى الروس نظام مناعة قوي بشكل استثنائي أو أن هناك خطأ ما في الطريقة التي تحسب بها الحكومة الوفيات.

بالإضافة إلى الإحصاءات الشهرية المنتظمة للوفيات الصادرة عن بعض المناطق يظهر ارتفاع غير طبيعي في أبريل - الأرقام التي تتعارض مع الأرقام المعتمدة رسميًا للوفيات المرتبطة بـ COVID-19.

قد يكون للفجوة بين عدد حالات COVID-19 المعترف بها رسميًا والوفيات تفسيرات سياسية.

على غرار الولايات المتحدة ، يتدخل الوباء في التدخل في الأجندة السياسية في روسيا. تم تصميم الاستفتاء الدستوري لتمديد ولاية فلاديمير بوتين كرئيس لروسيا وكان من المقرر أصلاً في 22 أبريل ، ولكن تم تأجيله في النهاية حتى 1 يوليو.

يحاول بوتين جعل مناورة قبول أرقام عالية (ولكن ليس بالضرورة دقيقة) من عدوى COVID-19 والقيام بكل شيء في الوقت نفسه لتقليل العدد الحقيقي للوفيات المتعلقة بـ COVID-19. إذا نجح ، فسيكون قادراً على المطالبة بالفضل للتعامل مع الأزمة بشكل أفضل من قادة العالم الآخرين.

كندا

لا تبدو أرقام كندا مثيرة للجدل للوهلة الأولى. ولا يوجد في البلد عدد مرتفع بشكل استثنائي من حالات COVID-19 ولا معدل وفيات مرتفع بشكل استثنائي (7.5 في المائة). لكن هذا لا يعني عدم وجود بعض عناصر الطاقة الحيوية في اللعب.

اختارت الحكومة الكندية تعقيد مهمة مقارنة أرقام COVID-19 عبر مقاطعاتها وأقاليمها. موقع الحكومة الفيدرالية المخصص لـ COVID-19 تقارير البيانات المجمعة فقط. لم يتم تضمين إحصاءات الوفيات. تتطلب مقارنة إجابات كل مقاطعة فحصًا لـ 13 موقعًا إلكترونيًا على مستوى المقاطعة ، والتي تحتوي على تنسيقات مختلفة للإبلاغ عن الأرقام ذات الصلة.

إن طلبات الوصول إلى المعلومات ليست ذات فائدة كبيرة هنا أيضًا ، على الرغم من وجود إجراءات للوصول إلى المعلومات على المستويين الفيدرالي والإقليمي. يستغرق الأمر في المتوسط ​​شهرًا واحدًا للحصول على استجابة لطلب الوصول إلى المعلومات في الأوقات العادية. ولكن الآن لدى الحكومات سلطة تقديرية كاملة في تحديد المعلومات حول COVID-19 التي سيتم نشرها، وكذلك متى وكيف نفعل ذلك.

وهذا يعني أنه في كندا ، تتجلى السياسة الحيوية من خلال ضبابية المعلومات ، وفي غياب معلومات واضحة ، يُتوقع من الجمهور قبول تصرفات حكوماتهم دون انتقاد.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

أنطون أولينيك ، أستاذ علم الاجتماع ، جامعة ميموريال في نيوفاوندلاند

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


وأوصت كتب: الصحة

الفاكهة الطازجة طهرجديد يطهر الفاكهة: السموم، انقاص وزنه واستعادة صحتك مع الأطعمة الطبيعة ألذ [غلاف عادي] من قاعة ليان.
انقاص وزنه ويشعر صحي حيوي في حين تطهير الجسم من السموم. الفاكهة الطازجة طهر يقدم كل ما تحتاجه للحصول على التخلص سهلة وقوية، بما في ذلك يوما بعد يوم والبرامج، وصفات التي يسيل لها اللعاب، وتقديم المشورة لنقل قبالة تطهير.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

تزدهر أغذيةتزدهر أغذية: 200 النباتي وصفات للصحة الذروة [غلاف عادي] بواسطة بريندان المبخرة.
بناء على الحد من التوتر، والصحة، تعزيز فلسفة الغذائية المقدمة في المشهود له نباتي دليل التغذية تزدهروالمهنية الرجل الحديدي المبخرة بريندان triathlete يتحول الآن انتباهه إلى لوحة العشاء الخاص بك (صحن وجبة الإفطار والغداء صينية أيضا).
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.

الموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغيةالموت من قبل الطب من قبل غاري لاغية، مارتن فيلدمان، Rasio ديبورا وعميد كارولين
أصبحت البيئة الطبية عبارة عن متاهة من المتشابكة المستشفى، والشركات، والمجالس الحكومية من المديرين، ومخترقة من قبل شركات الأدوية. تمت الموافقة في كثير من الأحيان أكثر المواد السامة الأولى، في حين يتم تجاهل البدائل الطبيعية أكثر اعتدالا وأكثر من ذلك لأسباب مالية. إنه الموت من قبل الطب.
انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب في الامازون.


يهمني

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

من المحررين

لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...

The Politics Behind How Governments Control Coronavirus Data

The Politics Behind How Governments Control Coronavirus Data A woman observes social distancing guidelines as she rides the subway in Moscow, Russia. President Vladimir Putin has been accused of suppressing the number of deaths from COVID-19. (AP Photo/Alexander Zemlianichenko)

COVID-19 has affected almost every country around the globe. The World Health Organization has confirmed cases in 216 countries and territories, a total that represents more than 85 per cent of 251 entities recognized by the United Nations. Yet each government has responded differently to the coronavirus pandemic — including how data on the disease have been shared with each country’s citizens.

The selectiveness with which governments release information about the number of confirmed cases and the deaths caused by the coronavirus suggest techniques of “bio-power” may be at play.

French philosopher Michel Foucault invented the concept of bio-power in his lectures at the Collège de France in 1977-78. He defined bio-power as a “set of mechanisms through which the basic biological features of the human species became the object of a political strategy, of a general strategy of power.”

Foucault found an early example of bio-power in the smallpox vaccine developed by the end of the 18th century — one of the first attempts to manage populations in terms of the calculus of probabilities under the banner of public health. While a COVID-19 vaccine is still in the making, the concept of bio-power may help make better sense of how we see governments deal with the ongoing pandemic.

Our perception of the probability of contracting the virus and the chances to recover is shaped by the relevant statistical figures released by our respective governments. Those figures feed the entire spectrum of our own reactions to COVID-19 — including fear and negligence.

A balanced take on COVID-19 and a proper course of action to deal with the pandemic means the information provided by governments must be complete, valid and reliable. Unfortunately, that is not happening in many cases.

When examining how some countries have responded to the pandemic, bio-political factors should be taken into account. This includes how governments are collecting and sharing data about the coronavirus. Let’s look at three countries in particular.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The United States

In the U.S., COVID-19 information is disseminated by government agencies, universities, the media and even search engines. Various levels of governments remain the ultimate source of the reported figures, but how accurate are those figures?

The Politics Behind How Governments Control Coronavirus Data Pro-China supporters hold an effigy of Donald Trump outside the U.S. Consulate during a protest in Hong Kong. Trump has blamed China for the spread of the coronavirus, a tactic his opponents say is intended to deflect his government’s handling of the pandemic in the United States. (AP Photo/Kin Cheung)

The U.S. now has the most confirmed cases and deaths caused by COVID-19. While this can be explained by a late response to the pandemic and the lack of universal health care coverage, the political stakes in the COVID-19 crisis are also very high for the U.S.

The social and economic crisis caused by the pandemic will be a major factor in this year’s elections. In an effort to shift attention from his administration’s response, U.S. President Donald Trump has indicated China should be blamed for the crisis. The high number of infections and deaths contribute to a feeling of fear and insecurity — which from a bio-power perspective may actually help Trump sell his message.

Russia

In addition to being the only source of information about COVID-19, the Russian government also makes every effort to protect its monopoly on the production and dissemination of the relevant data. Anyone who attempts to collect and disseminate COVID-19 figures without having a “licence to inform” may face criminal charges for being an agent provocateur.

A group of medical doctors in Chechnya, the previously rebel region in the Caucasus now under the tight control of the central government, attempted to complain about the lack of preparedness to COVID-19. They were promptly accused of “provocations” and forced to deliver public apologies.

The Politics Behind How Governments Control Coronavirus Data Medical workers wearing protective gear carry a patient at a hospital where patients with coronavirus are treated in St. Petersburg, Russia. (AP Photo/Dmitri Lovetsky)

According to government data, Russia has one of the lowest COVID-19 mortality rates in the world, less than one per cent. (The U.S. reports a six per cent mortality rare; Italy, France and the U.K. are in the range of 14-15 per cent). Either the Russians have an exceptionally strong immune system or something is wrong with the way the government counts the deaths.

As well, the regular monthly statistics of deaths released by some regions shows an anomalous hike in April — numbers that are out of line with the officially approved figures of COVID-19-related deaths.

The gap between the number of officially acknowledged COVID-19 cases and deaths may have political explanations.

Similar to the U.S., the pandemic interferes with the political agenda in Russia. The constitutional referendum engineered to extend Vladimir Putin’s term as Russia’s president was originally scheduled on April 22, but was eventually postponed until July 1.

Putin is trying to make the gambit of accepting high (but not necessarily accurate) figures of COVID-19 infections and simultaneously doing everything possible to under-report the true number of COVID-19-related deaths. If successful, he would be able to claim credit for handling the crisis better than other world leaders.

Canada

Canada’s figures do not look controversial at first sight. The country has neither an exceptionally high number of COVID-19 cases nor an exceptionally high mortality rate (7.5 per cent). But that doesn’t mean there aren’t potentially some elements of bio-power at play.

Canada’s government chose to complicate the task of comparing the COVID-19 figures across its provinces and territories. The federal government’s website dedicated to COVID-19 reports the aggregate data only. No death statistics are included. Comparing the responses of each province requires an examination of 13 different provincial websites, which have various formats of reporting the relevant figures.

Access-to-information requests are not of great help here either, despite the fact that there are access-to-information acts both at the federal and provincial levels. It takes an average of one month to get a response to an access-to-information request under normal times. But now governments have full discretion in deciding what information on COVID-19 to release, as well as when and how to do it.

This means that in Canada, bio-politics manifests itself through the fuzziness of information and, in the absence of clear information, the public is expected to uncritically accept the actions of their governments.The Conversation

About The Author

Anton Oleinik, Professor of Sociology, Memorial University of Newfoundland

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Recommended Books: Health

Fresh Fruit CleanseFresh Fruit Cleanse: Detox, Lose Weight and Restore Your Health with Nature's Most Delicious Foods [Paperback] by Leanne Hall.
Lose weight and feel vibrantly healthy while clearing your body of toxins. Fresh Fruit Cleanse offers everything you need for an easy and powerful detox, including day-by-day programs, mouth-watering recipes, and advice for transitioning off the cleanse.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Thrive FoodsThrive Foods: 200 Plant-Based Recipes for Peak Health [Paperback] by Brendan Brazier.
Building upon the stress-reducing, health-boosting nutritional philosophy introduced in his acclaimed vegan nutrition guide Thrive, professional Ironman triathlete Brendan Brazier now turns his attention to your dinner plate (breakfast bowl and lunch tray too).
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

Death by Medicine by Gary NullDeath by Medicine by Gary Null, Martin Feldman, Debora Rasio and Carolyn Dean
The medical environment has become a labyrinth of interlocking corporate, hospital, and governmental boards of directors, infiltrated by the drug companies. The most toxic substances are often approved first, while milder and more natural alternatives are ignored for financial reasons. It's death by medicine.
Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


care

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
Were You Part Of The Problem Last Time? Will You Be Part Of The Solution This Time?
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Have you registered to vote? Have you voted? If you are not going to vote, you will be part of the problem.
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…