Trop de théorie conduit les économistes à de mauvaises prévisions

Trop de théorie conduit les économistes à de mauvaises prévisionsL'homme qui en savait trop. Alan Greenspan photographié dans 1990. Photo de Terry Ashe / Life / Getty

Que ce soit le physicien Niels Bohr ou le joueur de baseball Yogi Berra qui l'ait dit - ou très probablement quelqu'un d'autre - il est en effet difficile de faire des prédictions, en particulier sur l'avenir. C’est certainement le cas en ce qui concerne les phénomènes économiques, sociaux et politiques. Si vous ne me croyez pas, il suffit de demander à l'économiste primé au prix Nobel Paul Krugman, qui, écrivant Le New York Times le soir de la victoire électorale de Donald Trump en novembre, 2016 prédit une récession mondiale imminente, à partir de laquelle les marchés mondiaux pourraient «ne» jamais se rétablir. Nous attendons toujours. Un autre économiste primé au prix Nobel, Paul S Samuelson, se souvient de la remarque: "Les indices de Wall Street avaient prédit neuf des cinq dernières récessions!"

Et Krugman n'est pas seul. En novembre, 2006, Alan Greenspan, qui avait quitté son poste au sein de la Réserve fédérale américaine au début de l'année, a expliqué que «le pire est derrière nous» en ce qui concerne la crise du logement. Il n'aurait pas pu être plus faux. Il est clair que même les personnes intelligentes sont souvent prises avec l’œuf sur le visage lorsqu’elles font des prédictions ou même des conjectures sur ce qui les attend. Les humains sont avides de connaissances préalables, comme l'atteste sa place dans de nombreuses religions, et la demande de divinateurs s'étend depuis longtemps aux domaines économique, social et politique, que certains types de personnes sont heureux de fournir. Bien que non modus operandi En tant qu'historien, je suis convaincu que les risques de prédiction peuvent être réduits en utilisant quelques outils historiques simples et en en connaissant un peu plus sur le passé.

Avant d’entrer dans l’histoire et la trousse à outils de l’historien, permettez-moi de souligner que Krugman et Greenspan suivaient des traditions séculaires en faisant des prédictions erronées. L'économiste Ravi Batra, par exemple, a écrit des ouvrages populaires dans 1989 et 1999, prédisant de manière erronée les dépressions globales dans 1990 et 2000, respectivement, et dans 1992, l'économiste Lester Thurow du MIT (parfois qualifié de «inférieur à Thurow» par ses détracteurs) a best-seller appelé Tête à tête, dans lequel il a prédit que la Chine "n'aura pas un grand impact sur l'économie mondiale dans la première moitié du 21st siècle".

Et, pour ne pas que les économistes me disent quelque chose, permettez-moi de mentionner quelques personnalités issues d'autres sciences sociales. À cet égard, le politologue Francis Fukuyama peut être considéré comme la pièce à conviction A. publications Paraissant entre 1989 et 1992, Fukuyama a expliqué aux lecteurs que l’histoire avait atteint son stade final de développement avec le triomphe de la démocratie libérale et du capitalisme freemarket sur l’autoritarisme et le socialisme, ainsi que la propagation anticipée de la démocratie libérale et du capitalisme freemarket dans le monde entier. Oops.

Étroitement liée à la prévision en soi est ce que l’on pourrait appeler la déclaration faisant autorité avec de fortes implications. Dans 1960, le sociologue Daniel Bell a écrit un livre dans lequel il affirmait que l'ère de l'idéologie était révolue en Occident. Dans un livre publié la même année, son ami le sociologue Seymour Martin Lipset affirmait que «les problèmes politiques fondamentaux de l'industrie révolution ont été résolus '. Et quelques années plus tôt dans La société aisée (1958), l’économiste de Harvard, John Kenneth Galbraith, a suggéré que la pauvreté aux États-Unis n’était plus un problème structurel majeur, mais plutôt «une idée presque après coup».

Après réflexion ou pas, revenons à l'histoire et à la trousse à outils de l'historien, qui, pour diverses raisons, est devenue un peu moins déclassé dans les esprits des économistes et autres spécialistes des sciences sociales. Ceci, après une longue période au cours de laquelle non seulement l'histoirededans les sciences sociales ont souvent été décriées pour leur manque de théorie, d’induction excessive, de nonaxiomatique - en fait, plutôt ad hoc - et trop préoccupé par «l'anecdote», par les «simples» événements et par les faits «isolés», plutôt que par les généralisations simplifiées intentionnellement connues sous le nom de «faits stylisés» que préfèrent beaucoup de spécialistes des sciences sociales.

L'histoire était pour les antiquaires, "donc hier", une expression populaire auprès des jeunes ces dernières années avant que le terme lui-même ne devienne passé, et certainement pas de place pour les amateurs de haut vol en économie et les autres sciences sociales. En économie, l’histoire économique et (en particulier) l’histoire de la pensée économique ont donc flétri pendant une génération ou deux.

So qu'est-ce qui explique le récent changement de cap? Pour commencer, il y a eu la Grande Récession - ou "Petite Dépression", comme l'appelait Krugman dans 2011 - qui semblait à quelques économistes influents tels que Ben Bernanke, Carmen Reinhart, Ken Rogoff et Barry Eichengreen s'apparenter à bien des égards à d'autres crises financières autrefois. Mais il y avait aussi d'autres facteurs, notamment le recul général de la mondialisation et la renaissance des mouvements nationalistes et autoritaires dans le monde entier, qui ont sonné le glas du nouveau monde bénin de Fukuyama. Il y a eu aussi le succès international stupéfiant (bien que plutôt improbable) de l'économiste français Thomas Piketty. Le Capital au XXIe siècle (2013), qui retrace la trajectoire de l'inégalité économique au cours des deux derniers siècles dans le cadre de la constitution d'un procès contre l'inégalité aujourd'hui. Avec le retour de «l'histoire», l'acceptabilité des approches historiques a également été acceptée par les spécialistes des sciences sociales, qui ont le sentiment, aussi vague soit-il, que si l'histoire ne se répète pas, elle rime souvent, comme Mark Twain (aurait pu le dire).

Si les sciences économiques n'avaient pas largement abandonné l'histoire de la pensée économique, davantage de praticiens se seraient rappelés de ce que Joseph Schumpeter avait à dire à propos de l'histoire. Dans son Histoire de l'analyse économique (1954), le grand économiste autrichien a noté que ce qui distingue les économistes «scientifiques» des autres est «la maîtrise de techniques que nous classons sous trois têtes: histoire, statistiques et« théorie »». Selon Schumpeter: "Les trois ensemble constituent ce que nous appellerons l'analyse économique ... Parmi ces domaines fondamentaux, l'histoire économique - qui intègre et inclut les faits actuels - est de loin le plus important".

Pas la théorie, pas les statistiques, mais l'histoire - ce qui s'est passé et pourquoi. Tandis que la théorie et les statistiques peuvent aider à expliquer les questions du "pourquoi", commence par l’étude systématique des questions du "qui, quoi, où, quand et comment" - des questions prétendument quotidiennes auxquelles de nombreux économistes ont longtemps, à leur détriment, laissé de côté. S'ils n'avaient pas été méprisés ou, au mieux, passés à la légère de l'histoire, davantage d'économistes auraient compris, dans la période qui a précédé la crise financière 2007-9, que la situation, comme le suggèrent Reinhart et Rogoff, n'était peut-être pas si différente de celle des années précédentes. des crises après tout.

Reinhart et Rogoff ne prétendaient certes pas que la crise financière de 2007-9 était exactement la même que celle des crises financières précédentes. Ils croient plutôt que le présent ne flotte pas librement mais qu'il est limité, que le passé est important et qu'il peut fournir d'importantes leçons à ceux qui l'étudient de manière systématique, ou du moins disciplinée. En d'autres termes, les économistes - sans parler des sociologues et des politologues - feraient bien de compléter leur inventaire, leur rigueur analytique, en pensant de manière plus historique. Ici, ils pourraient faire pire que de commencer par se familiariser avec le classique de Richard Neustadt et Ernest May Penser dans le temps: les usages de l'histoire pour les décideurs (1986), ce qui leur donnerait des outils qui aideraient à prévenir les erreurs de prévision et les erreurs apparentes faisant autorité en raison d'informations extrêmement incomplètes, d'extrapolations linéaires erronées, d'analogies historiques trompeuses et de «faits stylisés» fallacieux.

Bien entendu, penser historiquement implique à la fois des dimensions temporelles et contextuelles et, en outre, nécessite souvent une quantité considérable de travail empirique. En effet, trouver, assembler, analyser et tirer des conclusions précises à partir des preuves que les historiens appellent des données n’est pas pour les faibles de cœur ni, plus précisément, pour ceux qui ont peu de temps.

En conclusion, les prévisionnistes économiques gagneraient à réfléchir un peu plus sur l’histoire avant de regarder dans leurs boules de cristal, ou au moins de nous dire ce qu’ils voient. Ne vous méprenez pas, je me rends compte à quel point il est difficile de faire des prédictions, notamment en ce qui concerne l'avenir. Donc, un dernier point: si les observateurs économiques ne veulent pas penser de manière plus historique ou utiliser des données empiriques de manière plus rigoureuse, ils doivent au moins se protéger. En pièce Le Wall Street Journal conseillé l’année dernière, mettez les chances que quelque chose se passe à 40%. Si cela se produit réellement, on a l’air bien. Si ce n'est pas le cas, on peut toujours dire: 'Hé, écoute, tout ce que je voulais dire, c'est que c'était une possibilité forte.' Krugman aurait peut-être esquivé une balle dans 2016 s’il avait suivi cette tactique.Compteur Aeon - ne pas enlever

A propos de l'auteur

Peter A Coclanis est professeur distingué d'Albert Ray Newsome au département d'histoire de l'Université de Caroline du Nord à Chapel Hill, et directeur du Global Research Institute de l'université. Il travaille principalement dans les domaines de l’histoire économique, de l’histoire des entreprises et de l’histoire démographique. Royaume des plantations: le sud des États-Unis et ses produits de base mondiaux complète au niveau des unités (2016).

Cet article a été initialement publié sur Temps infini et a été republié sous Creative Commons.

livres_economie

Too Much Theory Leads Economists To Bad Predictions

Too Much Theory Leads Economists To Bad PredictionsThe man who knew too much. Alan Greenspan pictured in 1990. Photo by Terry Ashe/Life/Getty

Whether it was the physicist Niels Bohr or the baseball player Yogi Berra who said it – or, most likely, someone else – it is indeed hard to make predictions, especially about the future. This is certainly so regarding economic, social and political phenomena. If you don’t believe me, just ask the Nobel prizewinning economist Paul Krugman, who, writing in The New York Times on the night of Donald Trump’s election victory in November 2016, predicted an imminent global recession, from which global markets might ‘never’ recover. We’re still waiting. One is reminded of the quip by another Nobel prizewinning economist, Paul S Samuelson: ‘Wall Street indexes predicted nine of the past five recessions!’

And Krugman isn’t alone. In November 2006, Alan Greenspan, who earlier in the year had stepped down from his position at the US Federal Reserve, explained that ‘the worst is behind us’ with regard to the housing slump. He could not have been more wrong. Clearly, even smart people often get caught with egg on their faces when making predictions or even conjectures about what lies ahead. Humans are keen on foreknowledge, to which its place in numerous religions attests, and demand for diviners has long spilt over into the economic, social and political realms, which certain types of people are happy to supply. Although no modus operandi is failsafe, and no amount of training or experience can ensure success, as a historian I am convinced that the risks of making predictions can be reduced through the employment of a few simple historical tools, and by knowing a bit more about the past.

Before getting into history and the historian’s tool kit, however, let me point out that Krugman and Greenspan were following time-honoured traditions in making erroneous predictions. The economist Ravi Batra, for example, wrote popular books in 1989 and 1999 incorrectly predicting global depressions in 1990 and 2000 respectively, and in 1992 the economist Lester Thurow of MIT (sometimes referred to as ‘Less than Thurow’ by his detractors) wrote a bestseller called Head to Head, wherein he predicted that China ‘will not have a big impact on the world economy in the first half of the 21st century’.

And, lest one claim that I’m picking on economists, let me mention a few luminaries from other social sciences. In this regard, the political scientist Francis Fukuyama can be considered Exhibit A. In celebrated publications appearing between 1989 and 1992, Fukuyama explained to readers that history had reached its final stage of development with the triumph of liberal democracy and freemarket capitalism over authoritarianism and socialism, and the anticipated spread of both liberal democracy and freemarket capitalism around the globe. Oops.

Closely related to forecasting per se is what might be called the authoritative pronouncement with strong implications. In 1960, the sociologist Daniel Bell wrote a book arguing that the age of ideology had ended in the West, and in a book published that same year his friend, the political sociologist Seymour Martin Lipset, claimed that ‘the fundamental political problems of the industrial revolution have been solved’. And a few years earlier in The Affluent Society (1958), the Harvard economist John Kenneth Galbraith suggested that poverty in the US was no longer a major structural problem, but ‘more nearly an afterthought’.

Afterthought or not, let’s return to history and the historian’s tool kit, which for a variety of reasons in recent years have become a bit less déclassé in the minds of economists and other social scientists. This, after a long period in which not only history but also historically oriented work within the social sciences were often disparaged for being insufficiently theoretical, overly inductive, nonaxiomatic – indeed, rather ad hoc – and too concerned with ‘the anecdotal’, with ‘mere’ events, and with ‘isolated’ facts, rather than with the intentionally simplified generalisations known as ‘stylised facts’ that many social scientists prefer.

History was for antiquarians, ‘so yesterday’, a phrase popular with young people in recent years before the term itself became passé, and certainly no place for high-flyers in economics and the other social sciences. In economics, as a result, both economic history and (especially) the history of economic thought withered for a generation or two.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


So what accounts for the recent change of course? For starters, there was the Great Recession – or ‘Lesser Depression’, as Krugman called it in 2011 – which seemed to a few influential economists such as Ben Bernanke, Carmen Reinhart, Ken Rogoff and Barry Eichengreen similar in many ways to other financial crises in the past. But there were other factors too, including the general retreat from globalisation, and the renascence of both nationalist and authoritarian movements around the world, which sounded the death knell for Fukuyama’s benign new world. Then, too, there was the astounding (if rather unlikely) international success of the French economist Thomas Piketty’s Capital in the Twenty-First Century (2013), which traces the trajectory of economic inequality over the past two centuries in the course of mounting a case against inequality today. As ‘history’ returned, so too has a degree of acceptance of historical approaches among social scientists, who sense, however vaguely, that though history might not repeat itself, it often rhymes, as Mark Twain (might have) put it.

Had economics not largely abandoned the history of economic thought, more practitioners would have recalled what Joseph Schumpeter had to say about history. In his History of Economic Analysis (1954), the great Austrian economist noted that what distinguished ‘scientific’ economists from others is ‘a command of techniques that we class under three heads: history, statistics, and “theory”.’ According to Schumpeter: ‘The three together make up what we shall call Economic Analysis … Of these fundamental fields, economic history – which issues into and includes present-day facts – is by far the most important.’

Not theory, not statistics, but history – what happened and why. While theory and statistics can help explain ‘why’ questions, first comes systematic study of the ‘who, what, where, when and how’ questions – purportedly quotidian questions to which many economists have, to their detriment, long given short shrift. Had they not spurned or, at best, passed lightly over history, more economists would have sensed in the run-up to the 2007-9 financial crisis that the situation, as Reinhart and Rogoff suggest, maybe wasn’t so different from earlier financial crises after all.

To be sure, Reinhart and Rogoff were not arguing that the 2007-9 financial crisis was exactly the same as earlier financial crises. Rather, they believe that the present is not free-floating but bounded, that the past matters, and that it can provide important lessons to those who study it in a systematic, or at least disciplined, manner. In other words, economists – not to mention sociologists and political scientists – would do well to supplement their stock-in-trade, analytical rigour, by thinking more historically. Here, they could do worse than to begin by familiarising themselves with Richard Neustadt and Ernest May’s classic Thinking in Time: The Uses of History for Decision Makers (1986), which would equip them with tools that would help to prevent forecasting bloopers and authoritative-seeming blunders due to egregiously incomplete information, misguided linear extrapolation, misleading historical analogies and spurious ‘stylised facts’.

Thinking historically, of course, entails both temporal and contextual dimensions and, in addition, often requires a significant amount of empirical work. Indeed, finding, assembling, analysing and drawing accurate conclusions from the bodies of evidence that historians call data is not for the weak of heart or, more to the point, for those short of time.

So, bottom line: economic forecasters would profit from thinking a bit more about history before gazing into their crystal balls, or at least before telling us what they see. Don’t get me wrong – I realise how hard making predictions is, especially about the future. So, one last point: if economic seers don’t want to think more historically or use empirical data more rigorously, they should at least hedge their bets. As a piece in The Wall Street Journal advised last year, put the chances of something happening at 40 per cent. If that something does in fact happen, one looks good. If it doesn’t, one can always say: ‘Hey, look, all I meant was that it was a strong possibility.’ Krugman might have dodged a bullet in 2016 had he followed that tack.Aeon counter – do not remove

About The Author

Peter A Coclanis is the Albert Ray Newsome Distinguished Professor in the history department at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and director of the university's Global Research Institute. He works mainly in the fields of economic history, business history and demographic history, and recently co-authored Plantation Kingdom: The American South and Its  Global Commodities (2016).

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

Recommended books:

Capital in the Twenty-First Century
by Thomas Piketty. (Translated by Arthur Goldhammer)

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Hardcover by Thomas Piketty.In Capital in the Twenty-First Century, Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns. But economic trends are not acts of God. Political action has curbed dangerous inequalities in the past, says Thomas Piketty, and may do so again. A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today. His findings will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature
by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.

Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.What is nature worth? The answer to this question—which traditionally has been framed in environmental terms—is revolutionizing the way we do business. In Nature’s Fortune, Mark Tercek, CEO of The Nature Conservancy and former investment banker, and science writer Jonathan Adams argue that nature is not only the foundation of human well-being, but also the smartest commercial investment any business or government can make. The forests, floodplains, and oyster reefs often seen simply as raw materials or as obstacles to be cleared in the name of progress are, in fact as important to our future prosperity as technology or law or business innovation. Nature’s Fortune offers an essential guide to the world’s economic—and environmental—well-being.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.


This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement
by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.

This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.This Changes Everything shows how the Occupy movement is shifting the way people view themselves and the world, the kind of society they believe is possible, and their own involvement in creating a society that works for the 99% rather than just the 1%. Attempts to pigeonhole this decentralized, fast-evolving movement have led to confusion and misperception. In this volume, the editors of YES! Magazine bring together voices from inside and outside the protests to convey the issues, possibilities, and personalities associated with the Occupy Wall Street movement. This book features contributions from Naomi Klein, David Korten, Rebecca Solnit, Ralph Nader, and others, as well as Occupy activists who were there from the beginning.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.



enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}