La Réserve fédérale a l'envie de relever les taux d'intérêt

La Réserve fédérale a l'envie de relever les taux d'intérêt

Le Comité d'ouverture du marché de la Réserve fédérale (FOMC) a décidé de ne pas augmenter les taux d'intérêt lors de sa réunion la semaine dernière. Cependant, le FOMC a également précisé qu'une hausse des taux était toujours une option pour sa réunion de juin.

La décision de repousser une hausse des taux est une bonne nouvelle, mais la vraie question est de savoir pourquoi la Fed envisage même une hausse des taux. Juste pour rappeler à tous, le point de relever les taux d'intérêt est de ralentir l'économie. Des taux d'intérêt plus élevés découragent l'achat de maisons, l'investissement et agissent par d'autres moyens pour ralentir l'économie.

Il est raisonnable d'augmenter les taux s'il y a une menace que l'économie croisse trop rapidement et qu'il y ait un risque que l'inflation commence à augmenter plus rapidement. Est-ce que quelqu'un croit vraiment que l'économie croît trop vite maintenant?

Le lendemain de la réunion de la Fed, le département du Commerce a signalé que l'économie avait progressé à un taux de 0.5 en pourcentage au premier trimestre. Certaines anomalies ont fait baisser ce nombre, mais si nous ajoutons cela au taux de croissance 1.4 du dernier trimestre, nous avons une économie qui a connu une croissance inférieure à un taux annuel de 1 au cours du dernier semestre. Est-ce trop rapide?

Si nous nous concentrons sur le côté prix de l'histoire, il n'y a pas de meilleur cas. L'inflation reste bien en deçà de l'objectif de pourcentage 2 de la Fed. Au cours de la dernière année, l'indice d'inflation ciblé par la Fed a augmenté de moins de 1.6%. Et, nous devons nous rappeler, selon la politique de la Fed 2 pour cent est censé être une moyenne, pas un plafond. Cela signifie que si la Fed devait s'en tenir à ses propres objectifs en matière d'inflation, elle devrait être prête à laisser le taux d'inflation augmenter d'environ 2% pendant une longue période. Étant donné que l'inflation reste bien en deçà de cette cible, et ne montre aucune indication d'accélération, à quoi bon claquer sur les freins?

Ce n'est pas une conversation ésotérique pour les économistes et les politiques. C'est le pain et le beurre que les travailleurs verront sur la table au cours des prochaines années. Tandis que nous avons des candidats qui font toutes sortes de promesses pour fournir des emplois et augmenter les salaires, la réalité est que les promesses ne serviront à rien si la Fed décide qu'elle doit ralentir l'économie.

Même un excellent programme d'infrastructure ou un plan de réduction des impôts qu'un président propose pour stimuler l'économie ne sera pas en mesure de créer des emplois si la Fed décide que l'économie a déjà trop d'emplois. La Fed peut continuer à relever les taux d'intérêt jusqu'à ce qu'elle ait réduit le taux de création d'emplois à un niveau qui lui convient.

Et les salaires suivent des emplois. Dans un marché du travail faible, la plupart des travailleurs n'auront pas assez de pouvoir de négociation pour obtenir des gains salariaux. Ici aussi, les dernières données sont assez frappantes. Le département du Travail a rapporté vendredi que son indice des coûts d'emploi (ECI), une mesure générale de la rémunération du travail, a en fait légèrement ralenti, ne progressant que de 1.9% au cours de la dernière année. Si les travailleurs vont voir des gains substantiels dans les niveaux de vie, l'ICE et d'autres mesures de salaires et d'indemnisation devront augmenter plus rapidement.

Cela nous ramène aux campagnes présidentielles. Il est un peu bizarre que la Fed discute ouvertement de la possibilité d'augmenter les taux d'intérêt pour ralentir la création d'emplois et freiner la croissance des salaires alors même que les candidats courent le pays en promettant de faire le contraire. C'est presque comme s'ils ne connaissaient pas la Fed.

Il y a quelques exceptions. Le sénateur Ted Cruz a promis de ramener le pays à l'étalon-or. Cela mettrait la main sur la politique monétaire et empêcherait la Fed de faire quoi que ce soit pour relancer l'économie à la suite d'un ralentissement, comme le krach de 2008.

Le sénateur Bernie Sanders a parlé de la Fed et a critiqué sa décision de relever les taux d'intérêt en décembre, mais cela n'a pas été un thème majeur de sa campagne. Il ne semble pas que la secrétaire Hillary Clinton ait parlé de la Fed.

Il semble raisonnable de s'attendre à ce que les candidats à la présidence disent au public leur attitude à l'égard de la Fed et, en particulier, quel genre de personne ils nommeront gouverneurs. Il y a déjà deux postes vacants au sein du conseil d'administration de sept membres. De plus, Janet Yellen sera nommée pour une nouvelle nomination au cours de la première année du mandat du prochain président.

Les électeurs doivent connaître les priorités du président pour pourvoir ces postes. Cela affectera énormément leur capacité à mener à bien leur programme économique. Prétendre que la Fed n’existe pas n’est pas une politique économique sérieuse. Le public a le droit de s'attendre à mieux.

Voir l'article sur le site original

A propos de l'auteur

boulanger doyenDean Baker est co-directeur du Centre de recherche économique et politique à Washington, DC. Il est souvent cité dans les rapports de l'économie dans les grands médias, y compris la New York Times, Washington post, CNN, CNBC et National Public Radio. Il écrit une colonne hebdomadaire pour le Guardian Illimité (Royaume-Uni), le Huffington Post, Truthout, Et son blog, Battre la presse, comporte des commentaires sur les rapports économiques. Ses analyses ont été publiées dans de nombreuses publications majeures, notamment Atlantic Monthly, les cas d’utilisation de maintenance Washington post, les cas d’utilisation de maintenance London Financial Times, et le New York Daily Nouvelles. Il a reçu son doctorat en économie de l'Université du Michigan.


Livres recommandés

Retour au plein emploi: une meilleure aubaine pour les travailleurs
par Jared Bernstein et Dean Baker.

B00GOJ9GWOCe livre fait suite à un livre écrit il y a une dizaine d'années par les auteurs, Les avantages du plein emploi (Economic Policy Institute, 2003). Il s'appuie sur les preuves présentées dans ce livre, montrant que la croissance des salaires réels pour les travailleurs dans la moitié inférieure de l'échelle des revenus est fortement dépendante du taux de chômage global. À la fin des 1990, lorsque les États-Unis ont connu leur première période prolongée de chômage faible en plus d'un quart de siècle, les travailleurs au milieu et au bas de la distribution des salaires ont pu obtenir des gains substantiels en salaires réels.

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon.

La fin du libéralisme perdant: rendre les marchés progressifs
par Dean Baker.

0615533639Les progressistes ont besoin d'une approche fondamentalement nouvelle à la politique. Ils ont perdu non seulement parce que les conservateurs ont tellement plus d'argent et de pouvoir, mais aussi parce qu'ils ont accepté le cadrage des débats politiques des conservateurs. Ils ont accepté un encadrement où les conservateurs veulent des résultats sur le marché alors que les libéraux veulent que le gouvernement intervienne pour apporter des résultats qu'ils estiment juste. Cela met les libéraux en position de semblant vouloir taxer les gagnants pour aider les perdants. Ce «libéralisme perdant» est une mauvaise politique et de la politique horribles. Progressives serait mieux batailles de combat sur la structure des marchés de sorte qu'ils ne redistribuent les revenus vers le haut. Ce livre décrit quelques-uns des domaines clés où les progressistes peuvent concentrer leurs efforts dans la restructuration du marché, de sorte que plus le revenu coule à la majeure partie de la population active plutôt que seulement une petite élite.

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon.

* Ces livres sont également disponibles en format numérique pour "gratuit" sur le site de Dean Baker, Battre la presse. Oui!


La demande de la Fed d'augmenter les taux d'intérêt

Dean Baker
Truthout, mai 2, 2016

Voir l'article sur le site original

Le Comité d'ouverture du marché de la Réserve fédérale (FOMC) a décidé de ne pas augmenter les taux d'intérêt lors de sa réunion la semaine dernière. Cependant, le FOMC a également précisé qu'une hausse des taux était toujours une option pour sa réunion de juin.

La décision de repousser une hausse des taux est une bonne nouvelle, mais la vraie question est de savoir pourquoi la Fed envisage même une hausse des taux. Juste pour rappeler à tous, le point de relever les taux d'intérêt est de ralentir l'économie. Des taux d'intérêt plus élevés découragent l'achat de maisons, l'investissement et agissent par d'autres moyens pour ralentir l'économie.

Il est raisonnable d'augmenter les taux s'il y a une menace que l'économie croisse trop rapidement et qu'il y ait un risque que l'inflation commence à augmenter plus rapidement. Est-ce que quelqu'un croit vraiment que l'économie croît trop vite maintenant?

Le lendemain de la réunion de la Fed, le département du Commerce a signalé que l'économie avait progressé à un taux de 0.5 en pourcentage au premier trimestre. Certaines anomalies ont fait baisser ce nombre, mais si nous ajoutons cela au taux de croissance 1.4 du dernier trimestre, nous avons une économie qui a connu une croissance inférieure à un taux annuel de 1 au cours du dernier semestre. Est-ce trop rapide?

Si nous nous concentrons sur le côté prix de l'histoire, il n'y a pas de meilleur cas. L'inflation reste bien en deçà de l'objectif de pourcentage 2 de la Fed. Au cours de la dernière année, l'indice d'inflation ciblé par la Fed a augmenté de moins de 1.6%. Et, nous devons nous rappeler, selon la politique de la Fed 2 pour cent est censé être une moyenne, pas un plafond. Cela signifie que si la Fed devait s'en tenir à ses propres objectifs en matière d'inflation, elle devrait être prête à laisser le taux d'inflation augmenter d'environ 2% pendant une longue période. Étant donné que l'inflation reste bien en deçà de cette cible, et ne montre aucune indication d'accélération, à quoi bon claquer sur les freins?

Ce n'est pas une conversation ésotérique pour les économistes et les politiques. C'est le pain et le beurre que les travailleurs verront sur la table au cours des prochaines années. Tandis que nous avons des candidats qui font toutes sortes de promesses pour fournir des emplois et augmenter les salaires, la réalité est que les promesses ne serviront à rien si la Fed décide qu'elle doit ralentir l'économie.

Même un excellent programme d'infrastructure ou un plan de réduction des impôts qu'un président propose pour stimuler l'économie ne sera pas en mesure de créer des emplois si la Fed décide que l'économie a déjà trop d'emplois. La Fed peut continuer à relever les taux d'intérêt jusqu'à ce qu'elle ait réduit le taux de création d'emplois à un niveau qui lui convient.

Et les salaires suivent des emplois. Dans un marché du travail faible, la plupart des travailleurs n'auront pas assez de pouvoir de négociation pour obtenir des gains salariaux. Ici aussi, les dernières données sont assez frappantes. Le département du Travail a rapporté vendredi que son indice des coûts d'emploi (ECI), une mesure générale de la rémunération du travail, a en fait légèrement ralenti, ne progressant que de 1.9% au cours de la dernière année. Si les travailleurs vont voir des gains substantiels dans les niveaux de vie, l'ICE et d'autres mesures de salaires et d'indemnisation devront augmenter plus rapidement.

Cela nous ramène aux campagnes présidentielles. Il est un peu bizarre que la Fed discute ouvertement de la possibilité d'augmenter les taux d'intérêt pour ralentir la création d'emplois et freiner la croissance des salaires alors même que les candidats courent le pays en promettant de faire le contraire. C'est presque comme s'ils ne connaissaient pas la Fed.

Il y a quelques exceptions. Le sénateur Ted Cruz a promis de ramener le pays à l'étalon-or. Cela mettrait la main sur la politique monétaire et empêcherait la Fed de faire quoi que ce soit pour relancer l'économie à la suite d'un ralentissement, comme le krach de 2008.

Le sénateur Bernie Sanders a parlé de la Fed et a critiqué sa décision de relever les taux d'intérêt en décembre, mais cela n'a pas été un thème majeur de sa campagne. Il ne semble pas que la secrétaire Hillary Clinton ait parlé de la Fed.

Il semble raisonnable de s'attendre à ce que les candidats à la présidence disent au public leur attitude à l'égard de la Fed et, en particulier, quel genre de personne ils nommeront gouverneurs. Il y a déjà deux postes vacants au sein du conseil d'administration de sept membres. De plus, Janet Yellen sera nommée pour une nouvelle nomination au cours de la première année du mandat du prochain président.

Les électeurs doivent connaître les priorités du président pour pourvoir ces postes. Cela affectera énormément leur capacité à mener à bien leur programme économique. Prétendre que la Fed n’existe pas n’est pas une politique économique sérieuse. Le public a le droit de s'attendre à mieux.

A propos de l'auteur

boulanger doyenDean Baker est co-directeur du Centre de recherche économique et politique à Washington, DC. Il est souvent cité dans les rapports de l'économie dans les grands médias, y compris la New York Times, Washington post, CNN, CNBC et National Public Radio. Il écrit une colonne hebdomadaire pour le Guardian Illimité (Royaume-Uni), le Huffington Post, Truthout, Et son blog, Battre la presse, comporte des commentaires sur les rapports économiques. Ses analyses ont été publiées dans de nombreuses publications majeures, notamment Atlantic Monthly, les cas d’utilisation de maintenance Washington post, les cas d’utilisation de maintenance London Financial Times, et le New York Daily Nouvelles. Il a reçu son doctorat en économie de l'Université du Michigan.


Livres recommandés

Retour au plein emploi: une meilleure aubaine pour les travailleurs
par Jared Bernstein et Dean Baker.

B00GOJ9GWOCe livre fait suite à un livre écrit il y a une dizaine d'années par les auteurs, Les avantages du plein emploi (Economic Policy Institute, 2003). Il s'appuie sur les preuves présentées dans ce livre, montrant que la croissance des salaires réels pour les travailleurs dans la moitié inférieure de l'échelle des revenus est fortement dépendante du taux de chômage global. À la fin des 1990, lorsque les États-Unis ont connu leur première période prolongée de chômage faible en plus d'un quart de siècle, les travailleurs au milieu et au bas de la distribution des salaires ont pu obtenir des gains substantiels en salaires réels.

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon.

La fin du libéralisme perdant: rendre les marchés progressifs
par Dean Baker.

0615533639Les progressistes ont besoin d'une approche fondamentalement nouvelle à la politique. Ils ont perdu non seulement parce que les conservateurs ont tellement plus d'argent et de pouvoir, mais aussi parce qu'ils ont accepté le cadrage des débats politiques des conservateurs. Ils ont accepté un encadrement où les conservateurs veulent des résultats sur le marché alors que les libéraux veulent que le gouvernement intervienne pour apporter des résultats qu'ils estiment juste. Cela met les libéraux en position de semblant vouloir taxer les gagnants pour aider les perdants. Ce «libéralisme perdant» est une mauvaise politique et de la politique horribles. Progressives serait mieux batailles de combat sur la structure des marchés de sorte qu'ils ne redistribuent les revenus vers le haut. Ce livre décrit quelques-uns des domaines clés où les progressistes peuvent concentrer leurs efforts dans la restructuration du marché, de sorte que plus le revenu coule à la majeure partie de la population active plutôt que seulement une petite élite.

Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations et / ou pour commander ce livre sur Amazon.

* Ces livres sont également disponibles en format numérique pour "gratuit" sur le site de Dean Baker, Battre la presse. Oui!

The Federal Reserve Has An Urge to Raise Interest Rates

The Federal Reserve Has An Urge to Raise Interest Rates

The Federal Reserve Board's Open Market Committee (FOMC) decided not to raise interest rates at its meeting last week. However, the FOMC also made clear that a rate hike was still an option for its June meeting.

The decision to put off a rate hike is good news, but the real question is why the Fed is even considering a rate hike. Just to remind everyone, the point of raising interest rates is to slow the economy. Higher interest rates discourage home buying, investment and act in other ways to slow the economy.

It is reasonable to raise rates if there is a threat that the economy is growing too rapidly and there is a risk that inflation could start spiraling higher. Does anyone really believe the economy is growing too fast right now?

The day after the Fed meeting, the Commerce Department reported the economy grew at just a 0.5 percent rate in the first quarter. Some anomalies drove this number lower, but if we add this to last quarter's 1.4 percent growth, we have an economy that has been growing at less than a 1 percent annual rate over the last half year. Is this too fast?

If we focus on the price side of the story, there is no better case. Inflation remains well below the Fed's 2 percent target. Over the last year, the inflation index targeted by the Fed has increased by less than 1.6 percent. And, we have to remember, according to Fed policy 2 percent is supposed to be an average, not a ceiling. This means that if the Fed were to stick to its own targets on inflation, then it should be prepared to allow the inflation rate to rise about 2 percent for a substantial period of time. Given that the inflation remains well below this target, and shows no indication of accelerating, what is the point of slamming on the brakes?

This is not an esoteric conversation for economists and policy wonks. This is the bread and butter that workers will see on the table over the next several years. While we have candidates making all sorts of promises about providing jobs and raising wages, the reality is that promises will all be worthless if the Fed decides that it has to slow the economy.

Even a great infrastructure program or tax cut plan that a president puts forward to boost the economy, will not be able to create jobs if the Fed decides that the economy already has too many jobs. The Fed can keep raising interest rates until it has reduced the rate of job creation to a level with which it is comfortable.

And wages follow jobs. In a weak labor market, most workers won't have enough bargaining power to secure wage gains. Here also the latest data is quite striking. The Labor Department reported on Friday that its Employment Cost Index (ECI), a broad measure of labor compensation, actually has slowed slightly, rising by just 1.9 percent over the last year. If workers are going to see substantial gains in living standards, the ECI and other measures of wages and compensation will have to rise more rapidly.

This brings us back to the presidential campaigns. It is a bit bizarre that the Fed is openly debating whether it should raise interest rates to slow the pace of job creation and dampen wage growth even as candidates are running around the country promising to do the opposite. It is almost as though they don't know about the Fed.

There are some exceptions. Sen. Ted Cruz has promised to return the country to the gold standard. This would put a stranglehold on monetary policy and prevent the Fed from doing anything to boost the economy out of a downturn, like the 2008 crash.

Sen. Bernie Sanders has spoken about the Fed and made a point of criticizing its decision to hike interest rates in December, but it has not been a major theme of his campaign. It doesn't appear that Secretary Hillary Clinton has spoken about the Fed at all.

It seems reasonable to expect that candidates for president would tell the public about their attitude toward the Fed and in particular what sort of person they would appoint to be governors. There are already two vacant positions on the seven member board of governors. In addition, Janet Yellen will come up for reappointment in the first year of the next president's term.

Voters should know the president's priorities in filling these positions. It will hugely affect their ability to carry through their economic agenda. Pretending the Fed does not exist is not serious economic policy. The public has a right to expect better.

See article on original site

About the Author

baker deanDean Baker is co-director of the Center for Economic and Policy Research in Washington, DC. He is frequently cited in economics reporting in major media outlets, including the New York Times, Washington Post, CNN, CNBC, and National Public Radio. He writes a weekly column for the Guardian Unlimited (UK), the Huffington Post, TruthOut, and his blog, Beat the Press, features commentary on economic reporting. His analyses have appeared in many major publications, including the Atlantic Monthly, the Washington Post, the London Financial Times, and the New York Daily News. He received his Ph.D in economics from the University of Michigan.


Recommended Books

Getting Back to Full Employment: A Better Bargain for Working People
by Jared Bernstein and Dean Baker.

B00GOJ9GWOThis book is a follow-up to a book written a decade ago by the authors, The Benefits of Full Employment (Economic Policy Institute, 2003). It builds on the evidence presented in that book, showing that real wage growth for workers in the bottom half of the income scale is highly dependent on the overall rate of unemployment. In the late 1990s, when the United States saw its first sustained period of low unemployment in more than a quarter century, workers at the middle and bottom of the wage distribution were able to secure substantial gains in real wages.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

The End of Loser Liberalism: Making Markets Progressive
by Dean Baker.

0615533639Progressives need a fundamentally new approach to politics. They have been losing not just because conservatives have so much more money and power, but also because they have accepted the conservatives' framing of political debates. They have accepted a framing where conservatives want market outcomes whereas liberals want the government to intervene to bring about outcomes that they consider fair. This puts liberals in the position of seeming to want to tax the winners to help the losers. This "loser liberalism" is bad policy and horrible politics. Progressives would be better off fighting battles over the structure of markets so that they don't redistribute income upward. This book describes some of the key areas where progressives can focus their efforts in restructuring the market so that more income flows to the bulk of the working population rather than just a small elite.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

*These books are also available in digital format for "free" on Dean Baker's website, Beat the Press. Yea!


The Fed's Urge to Raise Interest Rates

Dean Baker
Truthout, May 2, 2016

See article on original site

The Federal Reserve Board's Open Market Committee (FOMC) decided not to raise interest rates at its meeting last week. However, the FOMC also made clear that a rate hike was still an option for its June meeting.

The decision to put off a rate hike is good news, but the real question is why the Fed is even considering a rate hike. Just to remind everyone, the point of raising interest rates is to slow the economy. Higher interest rates discourage home buying, investment and act in other ways to slow the economy.

It is reasonable to raise rates if there is a threat that the economy is growing too rapidly and there is a risk that inflation could start spiraling higher. Does anyone really believe the economy is growing too fast right now?

The day after the Fed meeting, the Commerce Department reported the economy grew at just a 0.5 percent rate in the first quarter. Some anomalies drove this number lower, but if we add this to last quarter's 1.4 percent growth, we have an economy that has been growing at less than a 1 percent annual rate over the last half year. Is this too fast?

If we focus on the price side of the story, there is no better case. Inflation remains well below the Fed's 2 percent target. Over the last year, the inflation index targeted by the Fed has increased by less than 1.6 percent. And, we have to remember, according to Fed policy 2 percent is supposed to be an average, not a ceiling. This means that if the Fed were to stick to its own targets on inflation, then it should be prepared to allow the inflation rate to rise about 2 percent for a substantial period of time. Given that the inflation remains well below this target, and shows no indication of accelerating, what is the point of slamming on the brakes?

This is not an esoteric conversation for economists and policy wonks. This is the bread and butter that workers will see on the table over the next several years. While we have candidates making all sorts of promises about providing jobs and raising wages, the reality is that promises will all be worthless if the Fed decides that it has to slow the economy.

Even a great infrastructure program or tax cut plan that a president puts forward to boost the economy, will not be able to create jobs if the Fed decides that the economy already has too many jobs. The Fed can keep raising interest rates until it has reduced the rate of job creation to a level with which it is comfortable.

And wages follow jobs. In a weak labor market, most workers won't have enough bargaining power to secure wage gains. Here also the latest data is quite striking. The Labor Department reported on Friday that its Employment Cost Index (ECI), a broad measure of labor compensation, actually has slowed slightly, rising by just 1.9 percent over the last year. If workers are going to see substantial gains in living standards, the ECI and other measures of wages and compensation will have to rise more rapidly.

This brings us back to the presidential campaigns. It is a bit bizarre that the Fed is openly debating whether it should raise interest rates to slow the pace of job creation and dampen wage growth even as candidates are running around the country promising to do the opposite. It is almost as though they don't know about the Fed.

There are some exceptions. Sen. Ted Cruz has promised to return the country to the gold standard. This would put a stranglehold on monetary policy and prevent the Fed from doing anything to boost the economy out of a downturn, like the 2008 crash.

Sen. Bernie Sanders has spoken about the Fed and made a point of criticizing its decision to hike interest rates in December, but it has not been a major theme of his campaign. It doesn't appear that Secretary Hillary Clinton has spoken about the Fed at all.

It seems reasonable to expect that candidates for president would tell the public about their attitude toward the Fed and in particular what sort of person they would appoint to be governors. There are already two vacant positions on the seven member board of governors. In addition, Janet Yellen will come up for reappointment in the first year of the next president's term.

Voters should know the president's priorities in filling these positions. It will hugely affect their ability to carry through their economic agenda. Pretending the Fed does not exist is not serious economic policy. The public has a right to expect better.

About the Author

baker deanDean Baker is co-director of the Center for Economic and Policy Research in Washington, DC. He is frequently cited in economics reporting in major media outlets, including the New York Times, Washington Post, CNN, CNBC, and National Public Radio. He writes a weekly column for the Guardian Unlimited (UK), the Huffington Post, TruthOut, and his blog, Beat the Press, features commentary on economic reporting. His analyses have appeared in many major publications, including the Atlantic Monthly, the Washington Post, the London Financial Times, and the New York Daily News. He received his Ph.D in economics from the University of Michigan.


Recommended Books

Getting Back to Full Employment: A Better Bargain for Working People
by Jared Bernstein and Dean Baker.

B00GOJ9GWOThis book is a follow-up to a book written a decade ago by the authors, The Benefits of Full Employment (Economic Policy Institute, 2003). It builds on the evidence presented in that book, showing that real wage growth for workers in the bottom half of the income scale is highly dependent on the overall rate of unemployment. In the late 1990s, when the United States saw its first sustained period of low unemployment in more than a quarter century, workers at the middle and bottom of the wage distribution were able to secure substantial gains in real wages.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

The End of Loser Liberalism: Making Markets Progressive
by Dean Baker.

0615533639Progressives need a fundamentally new approach to politics. They have been losing not just because conservatives have so much more money and power, but also because they have accepted the conservatives' framing of political debates. They have accepted a framing where conservatives want market outcomes whereas liberals want the government to intervene to bring about outcomes that they consider fair. This puts liberals in the position of seeming to want to tax the winners to help the losers. This "loser liberalism" is bad policy and horrible politics. Progressives would be better off fighting battles over the structure of markets so that they don't redistribute income upward. This book describes some of the key areas where progressives can focus their efforts in restructuring the market so that more income flows to the bulk of the working population rather than just a small elite.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

*These books are also available in digital format for "free" on Dean Baker's website, Beat the Press. Yea!


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Being A Better Person
Being A Better Person
by Marie T. Russell
"He makes me want to be a better person." As I reflected on this statement later, I realized that…
Modeling Behavior is the Best Teacher: Respect Must Be Mutual
Modeling Behavior is the Best Teacher: Respect Must Be Mutual
by Carmen Viktoria Gamper
Socially respected behavior is learned behavior and some of it (for instance, table manners) varies…
Separation and Isolation vs. Community and Compassion
Separation and Isolation vs. Community and Compassion
by Lawrence Doochin
When we are in community, we automatically fall into service to those in need because we know them…
Horoscope Week: June 7 - 13, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: June 7 - 13, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
by Jason Redman
Ambushes don’t just happen in combat. In business and life, an ambush is a catastrophic event that…
A Season for Everything: The Way Our Ancestors Ate
A Season for Everything: The Way Our Ancestors Ate
by Vatsala Sperling
Cultures on every continent around the world have a collective memory of a time when their…
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
by Maryon Stewart
Many women assume that when their menopause symptoms stop, they are on safe ground. Sadly, we face…
Planning the Burial: Anticipating Possible Problems and Blessings
Planning the Burial: Anticipating Possible Problems and Blessings
by Elizabeth Fournier
In addition to the emotional and spiritual aspects of funerals, there are always logistical and…

MOST READ

How to Build New Bone... Naturally
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
by Maryon Stewart
Many women assume that when their menopause symptoms stop, they are on safe ground. Sadly, we face…
Here’s How Much Your Personal Information Is Worth To Cybercriminals
Here’s How Much Your Personal Information Is Worth To Cybercriminals
by Ravi Sen, Texas A&M University
The destination of stolen data depends on who is behind a data breach and why they’ve stolen a…
What Causes Dry Lips, And How Can You Treat Them? Does Lip Balm Actually Help?
What Causes Dry Lips? Does Lip Balm Actually Help?
by Christian Moro, Associate Professor of Science & Medicine, Bond University
People have been trying to figure out how to fix dry lips for centuries. Using beeswax, olive oil…
image
IRS hitting you with a fine or late fee? Don't fret – a consumer tax advocate says you still have options
by Rita W. Green, Instructor of Accountancy, University of Memphis
Tax Day has come and gone, and you think you filed your return in the nick of time. But several…
Transforming the Given: Dancing through the Crack
Transforming the Given: Dancing through the Crack
by Joseph Chilton Pearce
On an English television show, Uri Geller invited all those people out there in television land to…
How Well Your Immune System Works Can Depend On The Time Of Day
How Well Your Immune System Works Can Depend On The Time Of Day
by Annie Curtis, RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences
When microorganisms – such as bacteria or viruses – infect us, our immune system jumps into action.…
A teen reads her phone with a confused look on her face
Why teens have a hard time finding truth online
by Stanford
A new national study shows a woeful inability by high schoolers to detect fake news on the internet.
How Design Makes A Place A Prison or A Home
How Design Makes A Place A Prison or A Home
by Jan Golembiewski, University of Technology Sydney
Models of care are also difficult to change when the architecture is obsolete. Yet these…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.