لدى الاحتياطي الفيدرالي رغبة لرفع أسعار الفائدة

لدى الاحتياطي الفيدرالي رغبة لرفع أسعار الفائدة

قررت لجنة السوق المفتوحة لمجلس الاحتياطي الفيدرالي (FOMC) عدم رفع أسعار الفائدة في اجتماعها الأسبوع الماضي. ومع ذلك ، أوضحت اللجنة الفيدرالية للسوق المفتوحة أيضًا أن رفع سعر الفائدة ما زال خيارًا لاجتماع يونيو.

قرار تأجيل رفع سعر الفائدة هو أخبار جيدة ، ولكن السؤال الحقيقي هو لماذا يفكر الاحتياطي الفيدرالي حتى في رفع سعر الفائدة. فقط لتذكير الجميع ، فإن الهدف من رفع أسعار الفائدة هو إبطاء الاقتصاد. ارتفاع أسعار الفائدة يثني عن شراء المنازل والاستثمار والعمل بطرق أخرى لإبطاء الاقتصاد.

من المعقول رفع المعدلات إذا كان هناك تهديد بأن الاقتصاد ينمو بسرعة كبيرة ، وهناك خطر أن التضخم قد يبدأ في الارتفاع. هل يعتقد أي شخص حقا أن الاقتصاد ينمو بسرعة كبيرة الآن؟

في اليوم التالي لاجتماع بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي ، ذكرت وزارة التجارة أن الاقتصاد نما بمعدل مجرد 0.5 في الربع الأول. أدت بعض حالات الشذوذ إلى انخفاض هذا الرقم ، ولكن إذا أضفنا ذلك إلى نمو 1.4 في الربع الأخير من العام الماضي ، فلدينا اقتصاد ينمو بمعدل أقل من معدل سنوي 1 في المائة على مدار النصف الأخير من العام. هل هذا سريع جدا؟

إذا ركزنا على جانب السعر في القصة ، فلا توجد حالة أفضل. لا يزال التضخم أدنى بكثير من هدف الاحتياطي الفيدرالي 2 في المائة. على مدار العام الماضي ، ارتفع مؤشر التضخم المستهدف من قبل الاحتياطي الفيدرالي بنسبة أقل من نسبة 1.6. وعلينا أن نتذكر ، وفقا لسياسة بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي 2 في المئة من المفترض أن يكون متوسط ​​، وليس سقف. وهذا يعني أنه إذا كان الاحتياطي الفيدرالي سوف يلتزم بأهدافه الخاصة بشأن التضخم ، فيجب أن يكون مستعدًا للسماح بارتفاع معدل التضخم حول نسبة 2 في المائة لفترة طويلة من الزمن. بالنظر إلى أن التضخم لا يزال أقل بكثير من هذا الهدف ، ولا يظهر أي مؤشر على التسارع ، ما هو الهدف من الصفع على الفرامل؟

هذه ليست محادثة باطنية للاقتصاديين والسياسيين. هذا هو الخبز والزبدة التي سيرى العمال على الطاولة خلال السنوات القليلة القادمة. وبينما لدينا مرشحين يقدمون كل أنواع الوعود بشأن توفير الوظائف ورفع الأجور ، فإن الحقيقة هي أن الوعود لن تكون ذات قيمة إذا قرر بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي أنه يتعين عليه إبطاء الاقتصاد.

حتى برنامج كبير للبنية التحتية أو خطة خفض الضرائب التي يطرحها الرئيس لدعم الاقتصاد ، لن يتمكن من خلق فرص عمل إذا قرر بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي أن الاقتصاد لديه بالفعل الكثير من الوظائف. يمكن للاحتياطي الفيدرالي الاستمرار في رفع أسعار الفائدة إلى أن يخفض معدل خلق الوظائف إلى المستوى الذي تكون فيه مريحة.

والأجور تتبع الوظائف. في سوق العمل الضعيف ، لن يكون لدى معظم العمال قوة مساومة كافية لتأمين مكاسب الأجور. هنا أيضا أحدث البيانات لافتة للنظر. ذكرت وزارة العمل يوم الجمعة أن مؤشر تكلفة التوظيف (ECI) ، وهو مقياس واسع لتعويض العمل ، قد تباطأ بشكل طفيف ، حيث ارتفع بنسبة 1.9 فقط خلال العام الماضي. إذا كان العمال سيشهدون مكاسب كبيرة في مستويات المعيشة ، فستضطر اللجنة الاقتصادية لأوروبا وغيرها من مقاييس الأجور والتعويضات إلى الارتفاع بسرعة أكبر.

هذا يعيدنا إلى الحملات الرئاسية. ومن الغريب نوعًا ما أن بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي يناقش علنًا ما إذا كان عليه رفع أسعار الفائدة لإبطاء وتيرة خلق الوظائف وتخفيض نمو الأجور حتى مع وجود المرشحين في جميع أنحاء البلاد واعدًا للقيام بالعكس. يكاد يكون كما لو أنهم لا يعرفون عن بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي.

هناك بعض الاستثناءات. وقد وعد السناتور تيد كروز بإعادة البلاد إلى مستوى الذهب. وهذا من شأنه أن يضع قيودًا على السياسة النقدية ويمنع بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي من فعل أي شيء لدعم الاقتصاد من الانكماش ، مثل انهيار 2008.

تحدث السناتور بيرني ساندرز عن بنك الاحتياطي الفدرالي وأبدى انتقاده لقراره برفع أسعار الفائدة في ديسمبر ، ولكنه لم يكن موضوعًا رئيسيًا في حملته. لا يبدو أن وزيرة الخارجية هيلاري كلينتون تحدثت عن بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي على الإطلاق.

يبدو من المعقول أن نتوقع من المرشحين للرئاسة أن يخبروا الجمهور عن موقفهم تجاه بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي ، وعلى وجه الخصوص ما هو نوع الشخص الذي سيعينونه ليكونوا حكامًا. هناك بالفعل شاغران شاغران في مجلس المحافظين السبعة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، ستطرح جانيت يلين لإعادة التعيين في السنة الأولى من ولاية الرئيس المقبل.

يجب أن يعرف الناخبون أولويات الرئيس في ملء هذه المواقف. وسوف يؤثر بشكل كبير على قدرتها على تنفيذ جدول أعمالها الاقتصادي. التظاهر بعدم وجود بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي ليس سياسة اقتصادية جدية. من حق الجمهور أن يتوقع أفضل.

انظر المادة على الموقع الاصلي

عن المؤلف

خباز عميددين بيكر هو المدير المشارك لمركز البحوث الاقتصادية والسياسة في واشنطن العاصمة. وكثيرا ما يستشهد في التقارير الاقتصاد في وسائل الإعلام الرئيسية، بما في ذلك نيويورك تايمز, واشنطن بوستو CNN و CNBC و National Public Radio. يكتب عمود أسبوعي لل الجارديان غير محدود (المملكة المتحدة)، و هافينغتون بوست, TruthOutوبلوق، فاز الصحافةميزات التعليق على التقارير الاقتصادية. وقد ظهرت تحليلاته في العديد من المنشورات الرئيسية ، بما في ذلك الأطلسي شهري، ال واشنطن بوست، ال لندن فاينانشال تايمز، و ال نيويورك ديلي نيوز. حصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الاقتصاد من جامعة ميتشيغان.


كتب موصى بها

العودة إلى التوظيف الكامل: صفقة أفضل للعاملين
من قبل جاريد بيرنشتاين ودين بيكر.

B00GOJ9GWOهذا الكتاب هو متابعة لكتاب كتبه قبل عقد من الزمن مؤلفو كتاب "فوائد التوظيف الكامل" (معهد السياسة الاقتصادية ، 2003). وهو يعتمد على الأدلة المقدمة في هذا الكتاب ، والتي تبين أن النمو الحقيقي للأجور للعمال في النصف السفلي من مقياس الدخل يعتمد بشكل كبير على معدل البطالة الإجمالي. في أواخر 1990s ، عندما شهدت الولايات المتحدة أول فترة مستمرة من انخفاض معدل البطالة في أكثر من ربع قرن ، تمكن العمال في منتصف وتوزيع الأجور من الحصول على مكاسب كبيرة في الأجور الحقيقية.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

نهاية الخاسر الليبرالية: جعل الأسواق تقدمية
من قبل دين بيكر.

0615533639التقدميين في حاجة إلى نهج جديد جذريا في السياسة. لقد تم فقدان ليس فقط لأن المحافظين يكون أكثر من ذلك بكثير المال والسلطة، ولكن أيضا لأنها قبلت تأطير المحافظين من المناقشات السياسية. قبلت لديهم تأطير حيث يريد المحافظون نتائج السوق في حين الليبراليين يريدون من الحكومة أن تتدخل لتحقيق النتائج التي يعتبرونها عادلة. هذا يضع الليبراليين في موقف يبدو أنها تريد فرض ضرائب على الفائزين لمساعدة الخاسرين. هذه "الليبرالية الخاسر" هي سياسة سيئة والسياسة الرهيبة. أن التقدميين أن معارك أفضل حالا القتال على هيكل الأسواق بحيث لا إعادة توزيع الدخل الأعلى. يصف هذا الكتاب بعض المجالات الرئيسية حيث يمكن التقدميين تركز جهودها في إعادة هيكلة السوق بحيث يتدفق المزيد من الدخل على الجزء الأكبر من السكان القادرين على العمل بدلا من مجرد نخبة صغيرة.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

* هذه الكتب متوفرة أيضًا بتنسيق رقمي لـ "مجانًا" على موقع دين بيكر ، فاز الصحافة. نعم!


مطالبة بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي برفع أسعار الفائدة

دين بيكر
Truthout ، مايو 2 ، 2016

انظر المادة على الموقع الاصلي

قررت لجنة السوق المفتوحة لمجلس الاحتياطي الفيدرالي (FOMC) عدم رفع أسعار الفائدة في اجتماعها الأسبوع الماضي. ومع ذلك ، أوضحت اللجنة الفيدرالية للسوق المفتوحة أيضًا أن رفع سعر الفائدة ما زال خيارًا لاجتماع يونيو.

قرار تأجيل رفع سعر الفائدة هو أخبار جيدة ، ولكن السؤال الحقيقي هو لماذا يفكر الاحتياطي الفيدرالي حتى في رفع سعر الفائدة. فقط لتذكير الجميع ، فإن الهدف من رفع أسعار الفائدة هو إبطاء الاقتصاد. ارتفاع أسعار الفائدة يثني عن شراء المنازل والاستثمار والعمل بطرق أخرى لإبطاء الاقتصاد.

من المعقول رفع المعدلات إذا كان هناك تهديد بأن الاقتصاد ينمو بسرعة كبيرة ، وهناك خطر أن التضخم قد يبدأ في الارتفاع. هل يعتقد أي شخص حقا أن الاقتصاد ينمو بسرعة كبيرة الآن؟

في اليوم التالي لاجتماع بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي ، ذكرت وزارة التجارة أن الاقتصاد نما بمعدل مجرد 0.5 في الربع الأول. أدت بعض حالات الشذوذ إلى انخفاض هذا الرقم ، ولكن إذا أضفنا ذلك إلى نمو 1.4 في الربع الأخير من العام الماضي ، فلدينا اقتصاد ينمو بمعدل أقل من معدل سنوي 1 في المائة على مدار النصف الأخير من العام. هل هذا سريع جدا؟

إذا ركزنا على جانب السعر في القصة ، فلا توجد حالة أفضل. لا يزال التضخم أدنى بكثير من هدف الاحتياطي الفيدرالي 2 في المائة. على مدار العام الماضي ، ارتفع مؤشر التضخم المستهدف من قبل الاحتياطي الفيدرالي بنسبة أقل من نسبة 1.6. وعلينا أن نتذكر ، وفقا لسياسة بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي 2 في المئة من المفترض أن يكون متوسط ​​، وليس سقف. وهذا يعني أنه إذا كان الاحتياطي الفيدرالي سوف يلتزم بأهدافه الخاصة بشأن التضخم ، فيجب أن يكون مستعدًا للسماح بارتفاع معدل التضخم حول نسبة 2 في المائة لفترة طويلة من الزمن. بالنظر إلى أن التضخم لا يزال أقل بكثير من هذا الهدف ، ولا يظهر أي مؤشر على التسارع ، ما هو الهدف من الصفع على الفرامل؟

هذه ليست محادثة باطنية للاقتصاديين والسياسيين. هذا هو الخبز والزبدة التي سيرى العمال على الطاولة خلال السنوات القليلة القادمة. وبينما لدينا مرشحين يقدمون كل أنواع الوعود بشأن توفير الوظائف ورفع الأجور ، فإن الحقيقة هي أن الوعود لن تكون ذات قيمة إذا قرر بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي أنه يتعين عليه إبطاء الاقتصاد.

حتى برنامج كبير للبنية التحتية أو خطة خفض الضرائب التي يطرحها الرئيس لدعم الاقتصاد ، لن يتمكن من خلق فرص عمل إذا قرر بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي أن الاقتصاد لديه بالفعل الكثير من الوظائف. يمكن للاحتياطي الفيدرالي الاستمرار في رفع أسعار الفائدة إلى أن يخفض معدل خلق الوظائف إلى المستوى الذي تكون فيه مريحة.

والأجور تتبع الوظائف. في سوق العمل الضعيف ، لن يكون لدى معظم العمال قوة مساومة كافية لتأمين مكاسب الأجور. هنا أيضا أحدث البيانات لافتة للنظر. ذكرت وزارة العمل يوم الجمعة أن مؤشر تكلفة التوظيف (ECI) ، وهو مقياس واسع لتعويض العمل ، قد تباطأ بشكل طفيف ، حيث ارتفع بنسبة 1.9 فقط خلال العام الماضي. إذا كان العمال سيشهدون مكاسب كبيرة في مستويات المعيشة ، فستضطر اللجنة الاقتصادية لأوروبا وغيرها من مقاييس الأجور والتعويضات إلى الارتفاع بسرعة أكبر.

هذا يعيدنا إلى الحملات الرئاسية. ومن الغريب نوعًا ما أن بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي يناقش علنًا ما إذا كان عليه رفع أسعار الفائدة لإبطاء وتيرة خلق الوظائف وتخفيض نمو الأجور حتى مع وجود المرشحين في جميع أنحاء البلاد واعدًا للقيام بالعكس. يكاد يكون كما لو أنهم لا يعرفون عن بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي.

هناك بعض الاستثناءات. وقد وعد السناتور تيد كروز بإعادة البلاد إلى مستوى الذهب. وهذا من شأنه أن يضع قيودًا على السياسة النقدية ويمنع بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي من فعل أي شيء لدعم الاقتصاد من الانكماش ، مثل انهيار 2008.

تحدث السناتور بيرني ساندرز عن بنك الاحتياطي الفدرالي وأبدى انتقاده لقراره برفع أسعار الفائدة في ديسمبر ، ولكنه لم يكن موضوعًا رئيسيًا في حملته. لا يبدو أن وزيرة الخارجية هيلاري كلينتون تحدثت عن بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي على الإطلاق.

يبدو من المعقول أن نتوقع من المرشحين للرئاسة أن يخبروا الجمهور عن موقفهم تجاه بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي ، وعلى وجه الخصوص ما هو نوع الشخص الذي سيعينونه ليكونوا حكامًا. هناك بالفعل شاغران شاغران في مجلس المحافظين السبعة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، ستطرح جانيت يلين لإعادة التعيين في السنة الأولى من ولاية الرئيس المقبل.

يجب أن يعرف الناخبون أولويات الرئيس في ملء هذه المواقف. وسوف يؤثر بشكل كبير على قدرتها على تنفيذ جدول أعمالها الاقتصادي. التظاهر بعدم وجود بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي ليس سياسة اقتصادية جدية. من حق الجمهور أن يتوقع أفضل.

عن المؤلف

خباز عميددين بيكر هو المدير المشارك لمركز البحوث الاقتصادية والسياسة في واشنطن العاصمة. وكثيرا ما يستشهد في التقارير الاقتصاد في وسائل الإعلام الرئيسية، بما في ذلك نيويورك تايمز, واشنطن بوستو CNN و CNBC و National Public Radio. يكتب عمود أسبوعي لل الجارديان غير محدود (المملكة المتحدة)، و هافينغتون بوست, TruthOutوبلوق، فاز الصحافةميزات التعليق على التقارير الاقتصادية. وقد ظهرت تحليلاته في العديد من المنشورات الرئيسية ، بما في ذلك الأطلسي شهري، ال واشنطن بوست، ال لندن فاينانشال تايمز، و ال نيويورك ديلي نيوز. حصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الاقتصاد من جامعة ميتشيغان.


كتب موصى بها

العودة إلى التوظيف الكامل: صفقة أفضل للعاملين
من قبل جاريد بيرنشتاين ودين بيكر.

B00GOJ9GWOهذا الكتاب هو متابعة لكتاب كتبه قبل عقد من الزمن مؤلفو كتاب "فوائد التوظيف الكامل" (معهد السياسة الاقتصادية ، 2003). وهو يعتمد على الأدلة المقدمة في هذا الكتاب ، والتي تبين أن النمو الحقيقي للأجور للعمال في النصف السفلي من مقياس الدخل يعتمد بشكل كبير على معدل البطالة الإجمالي. في أواخر 1990s ، عندما شهدت الولايات المتحدة أول فترة مستمرة من انخفاض معدل البطالة في أكثر من ربع قرن ، تمكن العمال في منتصف وتوزيع الأجور من الحصول على مكاسب كبيرة في الأجور الحقيقية.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

نهاية الخاسر الليبرالية: جعل الأسواق تقدمية
من قبل دين بيكر.

0615533639التقدميين في حاجة إلى نهج جديد جذريا في السياسة. لقد تم فقدان ليس فقط لأن المحافظين يكون أكثر من ذلك بكثير المال والسلطة، ولكن أيضا لأنها قبلت تأطير المحافظين من المناقشات السياسية. قبلت لديهم تأطير حيث يريد المحافظون نتائج السوق في حين الليبراليين يريدون من الحكومة أن تتدخل لتحقيق النتائج التي يعتبرونها عادلة. هذا يضع الليبراليين في موقف يبدو أنها تريد فرض ضرائب على الفائزين لمساعدة الخاسرين. هذه "الليبرالية الخاسر" هي سياسة سيئة والسياسة الرهيبة. أن التقدميين أن معارك أفضل حالا القتال على هيكل الأسواق بحيث لا إعادة توزيع الدخل الأعلى. يصف هذا الكتاب بعض المجالات الرئيسية حيث يمكن التقدميين تركز جهودها في إعادة هيكلة السوق بحيث يتدفق المزيد من الدخل على الجزء الأكبر من السكان القادرين على العمل بدلا من مجرد نخبة صغيرة.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

* هذه الكتب متوفرة أيضًا بتنسيق رقمي لـ "مجانًا" على موقع دين بيكر ، فاز الصحافة. نعم!


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
by مونتيل ويليامز وجيفري غارديري ، دكتوراه

The Federal Reserve Has An Urge to Raise Interest Rates

The Federal Reserve Has An Urge to Raise Interest Rates

The Federal Reserve Board's Open Market Committee (FOMC) decided not to raise interest rates at its meeting last week. However, the FOMC also made clear that a rate hike was still an option for its June meeting.

The decision to put off a rate hike is good news, but the real question is why the Fed is even considering a rate hike. Just to remind everyone, the point of raising interest rates is to slow the economy. Higher interest rates discourage home buying, investment and act in other ways to slow the economy.

It is reasonable to raise rates if there is a threat that the economy is growing too rapidly and there is a risk that inflation could start spiraling higher. Does anyone really believe the economy is growing too fast right now?

The day after the Fed meeting, the Commerce Department reported the economy grew at just a 0.5 percent rate in the first quarter. Some anomalies drove this number lower, but if we add this to last quarter's 1.4 percent growth, we have an economy that has been growing at less than a 1 percent annual rate over the last half year. Is this too fast?

If we focus on the price side of the story, there is no better case. Inflation remains well below the Fed's 2 percent target. Over the last year, the inflation index targeted by the Fed has increased by less than 1.6 percent. And, we have to remember, according to Fed policy 2 percent is supposed to be an average, not a ceiling. This means that if the Fed were to stick to its own targets on inflation, then it should be prepared to allow the inflation rate to rise about 2 percent for a substantial period of time. Given that the inflation remains well below this target, and shows no indication of accelerating, what is the point of slamming on the brakes?

This is not an esoteric conversation for economists and policy wonks. This is the bread and butter that workers will see on the table over the next several years. While we have candidates making all sorts of promises about providing jobs and raising wages, the reality is that promises will all be worthless if the Fed decides that it has to slow the economy.

Even a great infrastructure program or tax cut plan that a president puts forward to boost the economy, will not be able to create jobs if the Fed decides that the economy already has too many jobs. The Fed can keep raising interest rates until it has reduced the rate of job creation to a level with which it is comfortable.

And wages follow jobs. In a weak labor market, most workers won't have enough bargaining power to secure wage gains. Here also the latest data is quite striking. The Labor Department reported on Friday that its Employment Cost Index (ECI), a broad measure of labor compensation, actually has slowed slightly, rising by just 1.9 percent over the last year. If workers are going to see substantial gains in living standards, the ECI and other measures of wages and compensation will have to rise more rapidly.

This brings us back to the presidential campaigns. It is a bit bizarre that the Fed is openly debating whether it should raise interest rates to slow the pace of job creation and dampen wage growth even as candidates are running around the country promising to do the opposite. It is almost as though they don't know about the Fed.

There are some exceptions. Sen. Ted Cruz has promised to return the country to the gold standard. This would put a stranglehold on monetary policy and prevent the Fed from doing anything to boost the economy out of a downturn, like the 2008 crash.

Sen. Bernie Sanders has spoken about the Fed and made a point of criticizing its decision to hike interest rates in December, but it has not been a major theme of his campaign. It doesn't appear that Secretary Hillary Clinton has spoken about the Fed at all.

It seems reasonable to expect that candidates for president would tell the public about their attitude toward the Fed and in particular what sort of person they would appoint to be governors. There are already two vacant positions on the seven member board of governors. In addition, Janet Yellen will come up for reappointment in the first year of the next president's term.

Voters should know the president's priorities in filling these positions. It will hugely affect their ability to carry through their economic agenda. Pretending the Fed does not exist is not serious economic policy. The public has a right to expect better.

See article on original site

About the Author

baker deanDean Baker is co-director of the Center for Economic and Policy Research in Washington, DC. He is frequently cited in economics reporting in major media outlets, including the New York Times, Washington Post, CNN, CNBC, and National Public Radio. He writes a weekly column for the Guardian Unlimited (UK), the Huffington Post, TruthOut, and his blog, Beat the Press, features commentary on economic reporting. His analyses have appeared in many major publications, including the Atlantic Monthly, the Washington Post, the London Financial Times, and the New York Daily News. He received his Ph.D in economics from the University of Michigan.


Recommended Books

Getting Back to Full Employment: A Better Bargain for Working People
by Jared Bernstein and Dean Baker.

B00GOJ9GWOThis book is a follow-up to a book written a decade ago by the authors, The Benefits of Full Employment (Economic Policy Institute, 2003). It builds on the evidence presented in that book, showing that real wage growth for workers in the bottom half of the income scale is highly dependent on the overall rate of unemployment. In the late 1990s, when the United States saw its first sustained period of low unemployment in more than a quarter century, workers at the middle and bottom of the wage distribution were able to secure substantial gains in real wages.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

The End of Loser Liberalism: Making Markets Progressive
by Dean Baker.

0615533639Progressives need a fundamentally new approach to politics. They have been losing not just because conservatives have so much more money and power, but also because they have accepted the conservatives' framing of political debates. They have accepted a framing where conservatives want market outcomes whereas liberals want the government to intervene to bring about outcomes that they consider fair. This puts liberals in the position of seeming to want to tax the winners to help the losers. This "loser liberalism" is bad policy and horrible politics. Progressives would be better off fighting battles over the structure of markets so that they don't redistribute income upward. This book describes some of the key areas where progressives can focus their efforts in restructuring the market so that more income flows to the bulk of the working population rather than just a small elite.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

*These books are also available in digital format for "free" on Dean Baker's website, Beat the Press. Yea!


The Fed's Urge to Raise Interest Rates

Dean Baker
Truthout, May 2, 2016

See article on original site

The Federal Reserve Board's Open Market Committee (FOMC) decided not to raise interest rates at its meeting last week. However, the FOMC also made clear that a rate hike was still an option for its June meeting.

The decision to put off a rate hike is good news, but the real question is why the Fed is even considering a rate hike. Just to remind everyone, the point of raising interest rates is to slow the economy. Higher interest rates discourage home buying, investment and act in other ways to slow the economy.

It is reasonable to raise rates if there is a threat that the economy is growing too rapidly and there is a risk that inflation could start spiraling higher. Does anyone really believe the economy is growing too fast right now?

The day after the Fed meeting, the Commerce Department reported the economy grew at just a 0.5 percent rate in the first quarter. Some anomalies drove this number lower, but if we add this to last quarter's 1.4 percent growth, we have an economy that has been growing at less than a 1 percent annual rate over the last half year. Is this too fast?

If we focus on the price side of the story, there is no better case. Inflation remains well below the Fed's 2 percent target. Over the last year, the inflation index targeted by the Fed has increased by less than 1.6 percent. And, we have to remember, according to Fed policy 2 percent is supposed to be an average, not a ceiling. This means that if the Fed were to stick to its own targets on inflation, then it should be prepared to allow the inflation rate to rise about 2 percent for a substantial period of time. Given that the inflation remains well below this target, and shows no indication of accelerating, what is the point of slamming on the brakes?

This is not an esoteric conversation for economists and policy wonks. This is the bread and butter that workers will see on the table over the next several years. While we have candidates making all sorts of promises about providing jobs and raising wages, the reality is that promises will all be worthless if the Fed decides that it has to slow the economy.

Even a great infrastructure program or tax cut plan that a president puts forward to boost the economy, will not be able to create jobs if the Fed decides that the economy already has too many jobs. The Fed can keep raising interest rates until it has reduced the rate of job creation to a level with which it is comfortable.

And wages follow jobs. In a weak labor market, most workers won't have enough bargaining power to secure wage gains. Here also the latest data is quite striking. The Labor Department reported on Friday that its Employment Cost Index (ECI), a broad measure of labor compensation, actually has slowed slightly, rising by just 1.9 percent over the last year. If workers are going to see substantial gains in living standards, the ECI and other measures of wages and compensation will have to rise more rapidly.

This brings us back to the presidential campaigns. It is a bit bizarre that the Fed is openly debating whether it should raise interest rates to slow the pace of job creation and dampen wage growth even as candidates are running around the country promising to do the opposite. It is almost as though they don't know about the Fed.

There are some exceptions. Sen. Ted Cruz has promised to return the country to the gold standard. This would put a stranglehold on monetary policy and prevent the Fed from doing anything to boost the economy out of a downturn, like the 2008 crash.

Sen. Bernie Sanders has spoken about the Fed and made a point of criticizing its decision to hike interest rates in December, but it has not been a major theme of his campaign. It doesn't appear that Secretary Hillary Clinton has spoken about the Fed at all.

It seems reasonable to expect that candidates for president would tell the public about their attitude toward the Fed and in particular what sort of person they would appoint to be governors. There are already two vacant positions on the seven member board of governors. In addition, Janet Yellen will come up for reappointment in the first year of the next president's term.

Voters should know the president's priorities in filling these positions. It will hugely affect their ability to carry through their economic agenda. Pretending the Fed does not exist is not serious economic policy. The public has a right to expect better.

About the Author

baker deanDean Baker is co-director of the Center for Economic and Policy Research in Washington, DC. He is frequently cited in economics reporting in major media outlets, including the New York Times, Washington Post, CNN, CNBC, and National Public Radio. He writes a weekly column for the Guardian Unlimited (UK), the Huffington Post, TruthOut, and his blog, Beat the Press, features commentary on economic reporting. His analyses have appeared in many major publications, including the Atlantic Monthly, the Washington Post, the London Financial Times, and the New York Daily News. He received his Ph.D in economics from the University of Michigan.


Recommended Books

Getting Back to Full Employment: A Better Bargain for Working People
by Jared Bernstein and Dean Baker.

B00GOJ9GWOThis book is a follow-up to a book written a decade ago by the authors, The Benefits of Full Employment (Economic Policy Institute, 2003). It builds on the evidence presented in that book, showing that real wage growth for workers in the bottom half of the income scale is highly dependent on the overall rate of unemployment. In the late 1990s, when the United States saw its first sustained period of low unemployment in more than a quarter century, workers at the middle and bottom of the wage distribution were able to secure substantial gains in real wages.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

The End of Loser Liberalism: Making Markets Progressive
by Dean Baker.

0615533639Progressives need a fundamentally new approach to politics. They have been losing not just because conservatives have so much more money and power, but also because they have accepted the conservatives' framing of political debates. They have accepted a framing where conservatives want market outcomes whereas liberals want the government to intervene to bring about outcomes that they consider fair. This puts liberals in the position of seeming to want to tax the winners to help the losers. This "loser liberalism" is bad policy and horrible politics. Progressives would be better off fighting battles over the structure of markets so that they don't redistribute income upward. This book describes some of the key areas where progressives can focus their efforts in restructuring the market so that more income flows to the bulk of the working population rather than just a small elite.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

*These books are also available in digital format for "free" on Dean Baker's website, Beat the Press. Yea!


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}