لفهم رد الفعل العنيف ضد النساء في الترشح لمنصب نائب الرئيس ، شاهد المزيد من التلفزيون

لفهم رد الفعل العنيف ضد النساء في الترشح لمنصب نائب الرئيس ، شاهد المزيد من التلفزيون ينتهي الأمر بالرئيس أليسون تيلور البالغ من العمر 24 عامًا إلى الظهور على أنه مكيافيلي. 20th شركة فوكس للقرن

أثار وعد جو بايدن بتسمية امرأة مرشحة نقاشات مألوفة حول الجنس والسلطة.

هل من المفترض أن يكون هؤلاء نواب الرئيس المحتملين أتباع الرئاسة or بدلاء لزعيم العالم الحر؟ هل ينبغي عليهم السعي بنشاط لهذا المنصب ، أم أن المرشحين المترددين ملزمون بالواجب؟

بعد أن ظهر اسم السناتور كامالا هاريس ضمن قائمة المرشحين المفضلة ، ذكرت CNBC أن بعض حلفاء ومانحي بايدن "بدأوا حملة ضد هاريس" ، بحجة أنها كانت "طموحة للغاية" وستركز فقط على أن تصبح رئيسة في نهاية المطاف.

الادعاء بأن الأشخاص الذين يريدون أن يصبحوا رئيسًا يجعلون نواب رئيس سيئين قد يبدو غير مدروس إذا كان جمهورك هو نائب الرئيس جو بايدن. وسرعان ما أشار النقاد والصحفيون إلى أن الحجة كانت عنصرية ومتحيز جنسيًا - مثل ، هل حقا, هل حقا جنسي.

فلماذا كان المطلعون في الحزب الديمقراطي يتحدثون بها؟

يمكن العثور على دليل واحد في الطريقة التي نروي بها القصص عن السياسيات. في كتابنا "الرئيسة: مواجهة الثقافة السياسية لما بعد النسوية، "عالم اتصالات كريستينا هورن شيلر و I فحص كيف يتم تأطير الشخصيات الرئاسية الخيالية والفعلية في التغطية الإخبارية والسخرية السياسية والميمات والتلفزيون والأفلام. تكشف قراءتنا الدقيقة لهذه النصوص المتنوعة عن رد فعل عنيف مستمر يتخذ أشكالًا عديدة: الرسوم الكرتونية الساخرة التي تنشر القوالب النمطية الجنسية; إباحية المرشحات في الميمات، و تأطير الأخبار التي تتضمن استعارات معادية للمرأة، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر.

ولكن في الفصل الخاص بنا عن الرئيسات الخياليات على الشاشة ، وجدنا شيئًا ذا صلة خاصة بتغطية "veepstakes" للحزب الديمقراطي. يتم تقديم النساء الطموحات سياسيًا على أنهن أقل جدارة بالثقة من أولئك الذين لا يسعون بنشاط إلى الرئاسة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


السناتور كامالا هاريس تنظر من نافذة في قرية فيترانز في لاس فيجاس. تتعرض السناتور كامالا هاريس للهجوم لمحاولتها التسلق عالياً. AP Photo / John Locher

كانت هناك ستة مسلسلات على التلفزيون الأمريكي تتبع امرأة رئيسة لموسم كامل واحد على الأقل: ABC's "القائد العام"؛ قناة الخيال العلمي "غلكتيك"؛ فوكس "24"؛ CBS's "السيدة الوزيرة"؛ فوكس 21 "وطن"؛ و HBO's "Veep".

قد يبدو الأمر وكأنه نقطة صغيرة ، ولكن عندما يريد صانعو العروض إنشاء رئيسة "محبوبة" ، فإنهم يبذلون قصارى جهدهم لإثبات أن السعي وراء الرئاسة ليس هدف حياتها.

لم تقم الرئيسات في "القائد الأعلى" و "Battlestar Galactica" بحملة للمنصب. لقد صعدوا إلى الرئاسة نتيجة مأساة. في السابق ، يموت الرئيس بسبب تمدد الأوعية الدموية في الدماغ. في الأخير ، أدى هجوم نووي إلى إخراج أول 42 شخصًا في خط الخلافة الرئاسي ، تاركًا وزير التعليم لشغل هذا الدور. (لكي نكون منصفين ، بدا هذا وكأنه الطريق الأكثر احتمالا للمرأة للوصول إلى السلطة الرئاسية في عام 2004.) يتم تصوير كل شخصية كقائدة أخلاقية وفعالة - ليست مثالية ، ولكنها رئاسية بشكل معقول.

وعلى العكس من ذلك ، تعرض مسلسلات مثل "24" و "الوطن" مرشحات يسعين بقوة إلى الرئاسة. في كلتا الحالتين ، تبدأ النساء كسياسيات ذوو مبادئ ، لكن طبيعتهن الحقيقية تظهر على أنها ضعيفة ومزدوجة. تنتهي فترات ولايتهم الرئاسية إلى تدمير الأمة ، ويتم استعادة النظام من قبل رجل أبيض - جاك باور "24" ونائب الرئيس الذكر في "الوطن". يأخذ فيلم Veep من HBO فرضية سياسية جبانة إلى حد سخيف ، حيث فازت الممثلة جوليا لويس دريفوس بستة جوائز إيمي متتالية عن رسالتها الساخرة من المجاز الأنثوي المألوف.

ومن المثير للاهتمام أن كلاً من "24" و "الوطن" لهما روابط مهمة بالسياسة الرئاسية في العالم الحقيقي. يصور المسلسلان أول امرأة تتولى رئاسة الولايات المتحدة على أنها سياسية مخضرمة وامرأة بيضاء في منتصف العمر. إنهما يحملان أوجه شبه قوية بالمرأة الوحيدة التي كانت مرشحة للرئاسة من حزب كبير: هيلاري كلينتون. ظهرت في عامي 2008 و 2017 على التوالي ، ومن الواضح أنه تم التخطيط لخطوط القصة لتتزامن مع ما كان يمكن أن يكون الولاية الأولى لكلينتون كرئيس للولايات المتحدة.

ومع ذلك ، فإن تصوير "24" و "الوطن" لرؤساء من النساء يتماشى مع عالم الاتصالات شون جيه باري جايلز النتائج أن وسائل الإعلام صورت كلينتون على أنها غير أصيلة ، ميكافيلية ، وخطيرة في نهاية المطاف.

الرئيسة إليزابيث كين ، التي تلعب دورها الممثلة إليزابيث مارفيل ، تقف على منصة في حلقة من برنامج "الوطن". الرئيسة إليزابيث كين من "الوطن" هي سياسية جبانة لديها فترة مدمرة في المنصب. شوتايم

هذا يعيدنا إلى مسابقاتنا الحالية.

الانتقادات الموجهة لمنصب نائب الرئيس تردد صدى النصوص الثقافية التي تصر على أنه لا ينبغي الوثوق بالنساء اللائي يرغبن في أن يصبحن رئيسة. فهم مقاومة هاريس - و إليزابيث وارن, ستايسي ابرامز وغيرهم ممن يعلنون عن توقهم للخدمة - يتطلب الاعتراف بالأشكال المتنوعة التي يمكن أن تتخذها ردود الفعل العكسية ضد الطموحات السياسية للمرأة ، والتي تمتد من استدعاء عضوة في الكونجرس "f—— b—-" على درجات مبنى الكابيتول الأمريكي لتصوير الرئيسات على أنهن ماكيافيلية في الدراما التلفزيونية.

هل تسببت ثقافة البوب ​​في محاولة ممولي بايدن تقويض هاريس؟

لا ، لكن القصص التي نرويها لأنفسنا على الشاشة علمتنا أن النساء اللواتي يرغبن بالفعل في أن يصبحن رئيسات لا يمكن الوثوق بهن. قد يكون هذا هو السبب في أن أشخاصًا مثل السفيرة سوزان رايس ، التي لم تترشح لمنصب مطلقًا ، وعضوة الكونجرس كارين باس ، التي محمد إنها لا تريد الترشح للرئاسة ، فقد هبطت على قائمة بايدن القصيرة للحصول على تغطية مواتية.

"في كل خطوة في حياتها المهنية السياسية ،" نيويورك تايمز كتب لباس ، "كان لا بد من إقناع عضوة الكونجرس عن كاليفورنيا للترشح لمنصب أعلى. وهي الآن أفضل المنافسين لتكون رفيقة جو بايدن ".

عادة ما يتعين على الرجال الذين يترشحون للرئاسة أن يظهروا الرغبة المطلوبة - ما يسمى بـ "حريق في البطن".

من الغريب أن النساء من المفترض أن يتصرفن كما لو أنهن لا يردن ذلك.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

كارين فاسبي أندرسون ، أستاذة دراسات الاتصال ، جامعة ولاية كولورادو

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 11 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الحياة رحلة ، وكما هو الحال في معظم الرحلات ، تأتي مع تقلباتها. ومثلما يتبع النهار دائمًا الليل ، تنتقل تجاربنا الشخصية اليومية من الظلام إلى النور ، ذهابًا وإيابًا. ومع ذلك،…
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 4 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
مهما كان ما نمر به ، فرديًا وجماعيًا ، يجب أن نتذكر أننا لسنا ضحايا لا حول لهم ولا قوة. يمكننا استعادة قوتنا لنحت طريقنا وشفاء حياتنا روحياً ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 27 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إحدى أعظم قوة الجنس البشري هي قدرتنا على أن نكون مرنين ، وأن نكون مبدعين ، وأن نفكر خارج الصندوق. أن نكون شخصًا آخر غير ما كنا عليه بالأمس أو في اليوم السابق. يمكننا ان نغير...…
ما يصلح لي: "لأعلى خير"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
هل كنت جزءًا من المشكلة آخر مرة؟ هل ستكون جزءًا من الحل هذه المرة؟
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
هل قمت بالتسجيل للتصويت؟ هل صوتت؟ إذا كنت لن تصوت ، فستكون جزءًا من المشكلة.

To Understand The Backlash Against The Women In The Running For Vice President, Watch More TV

To Understand The Backlash Against The Women In The Running For Vice President, Watch More TV President Allison Taylor of ‘24’ ends up being exposed as Machiavellian. 20th Century Fox

Joe Biden’s promise to name a woman running mate has prompted familiar debates about gender and power.

Are these potential vice presidents supposed to be presidential lackeys or understudies to the leader of the free world? Should they actively seek the position, or be reluctant nominees bound by duty?

After Senator Kamala Harris’s name emerged as a short-list favorite, CNBC reported that some Biden allies and donors “initiated a campaign against Harris,” arguing that she was “too ambitious” and would be “solely focused on eventually becoming president.”

Claiming that people who want to be president make bad vice presidents might seem ill-conceived if your audience is Vice President Joe Biden. And pundits and journalists quickly pointed out that the argument was racist and sexist – like, really, really sexist.

So why were Democratic party insiders spouting it?

One clue can be found in the way we tell stories about women politicians. In our book, “Woman President: Confronting Postfeminist Political Culture,” communication scholar Kristina Horn Sheeler and I examine how fictional and actual women presidential figures are framed in news coverage, political satire, memes, television and film. Our close reading of these diverse texts reveals a persistent backlash that takes many forms: satirical cartoons that deploy sexist stereotypes; the pornification of women candidates in memes; and news framing that includes misogynistic metaphors, to name a few.

But in our chapter on fictional women presidents on screen, we found something particularly relevant to the coverage of the Democratic Party “veepstakes.” Women who are politically ambitious are presented as less trustworthy than those who don’t actively seek the presidency.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Senator Kamala Harris peers out of a window at Veterans Village in Las Vegas. Senator Kamala Harris is being attacked for trying to climb too high. AP Photo/John Locher

There have been six series on U.S. television that follow a woman president for at least one full season: ABC’s “Commander in Chief”; the Sci-Fi Channel’s “Battlestar Galactica”; Fox’s “24”; CBS’s “Madam Secretary”; Fox 21’s “Homeland”; and HBO’s “Veep.”

It may seem like a small point, but when showrunners want to create a “likeable” woman president, they go out of their way to demonstrate that pursuing the presidency isn’t her life’s goal.

The women presidents in “Commander in Chief” and “Battlestar Galactica” didn’t campaign for the office. They ascended to the presidency as a result of tragedy. In the former, the president dies of a brain aneurism; in the latter, a nuclear attack takes out the first 42 people in the presidential line of succession, leaving the secretary of education to fill the role. (To be fair, this did seem like a woman’s likeliest path to presidential power in 2004.) Each character is portrayed as an ethical and effective leader – not perfect, but plausibly presidential.

Conversely, series like “24” and “Homeland” feature women candidates who aggressively seek the presidency. In both cases, the women start out as principled politicians, but their true nature is revealed as weak and duplicitous. Their presidential tenures end up being ruinous for the nation, and order is restored by a white male – “24’s” Jack Bauer and the male vice president in “Homeland.” HBO’s “Veep” takes the premise of a craven woman politician to an absurd extreme, with actress Julia Louis-Dreyfus winning six consecutive Emmy Awards for her burlesque send-up of the familiar female trope.

Interestingly, both “24” and “Homeland” have important connections to real-world presidential politics. Both series portray the first woman U.S. president as a veteran politician and middle-aged white woman. They bear strong resemblances to the only woman who has been a major-party presidential nominee: Hillary Clinton. Appearing in 2008 and 2017, respectively, the storylines were clearly planned to coincide with what could have been Clinton’s first term as U.S. president.

Yet “24’s” and “Homeland’s” depictions of fictional women presidents align with communication scholar Shawn J. Parry-Giles’ findings that the media framed Clinton as inauthentic, Machiavellian and, ultimately, dangerous.

President Elizabeth Keane, played by actress Elizabeth Marvel, stands at a podium in an episode of 'Homeland.' President Elizabeth Keane of ‘Homeland’ is a craven politician who has a ruinous tenure in office. Showtime

That brings us back to our current veepstakes.

Criticisms of women vice presidential prospects echo cultural scripts that insist women who want to be president shouldn’t be trusted. Understanding the resistance to Harris – and Elizabeth Warren, Stacey Abrams and others who announce their eagerness to serve – requires recognizing the diverse forms that backlash against women’s political ambitions can take, which span from calling a congresswoman a “f—— b—-” on the steps of the U.S. capitol to portraying women presidents as Machiavellian on television dramas.

Did pop culture cause those Biden funders to try to undermine Harris?

No. But the stories we tell ourselves on screen have taught us that women who actually want to be president can’t be trusted. That might be why people like Ambassador Susan Rice, who’s never run for office, and Congresswoman Karen Bass, who said she doesn’t want to run for president, landed on Biden’s short list to favorable coverage.

“At every step in her political career,” The New York Times wrote of Bass, “the California congresswoman had to be coaxed to run for a higher office. Now she’s a top contender to be Joe Biden’s running mate.”

Men who run for president typically have to demonstrate the requisite desire – the so-called “fire in the belly.”

Bizarrely, women are supposed to act like they don’t even want it.The Conversation

About The Author

Karrin Vasby Anderson, Professor of Communication Studies, Colorado State University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…