لماذا ممارسة الجنس على العقل يجعل الناس يكذبون

لماذا ممارسة الجنس على العقل يجعل الناس يكذبون

مع ممارسة الجنس في أذهانهم ، يكون الأشخاص أكثر عرضة لتغيير مواقفهم والانخراط في تقديم الذات المضللة ، البحث عن اكتشافات التحضير الجنسي.

وبعبارة أخرى ، أنها تتفق ، جمل، وأحيانا كذبة.

افترض الباحثون أن الأفكار الجنسية - أو ، بعبارات أكثر دقة للباحثين ، تفعيل النظام الجنسي للفرد - من شأنها أن تزيد من جهود الشخص لإدارة الانطباعات الأولى ، مع جلب تقديم الذات المضلل.

ما قد يصفه الأشخاص العاديون بأنه لديهم أفكار جنسية ، يشير الباحثون على نحو أكثر دقة إلى تنشيط النظام الجنسي أو التحضير الجنسي. تشرح عبارة "يعني حث الناس على التفكير في الأشياء بطريقة جنسية" ، يشرح المؤلف المشارك في الدراسة هاري ريس ، أستاذ العلوم السريرية والاجتماعية بجامعة روتشستر.

من الناحية الفنية ، يعني تنشيط مجموعة معينة من المفاهيم في الدماغ. لذلك ، يتم تنشيط أجزاء الدماغ التي تمثل النشاط الجنسي. لكن هذا لا يعني بالضرورة أن الناس يثورون على الأعضاء التناسلية ".

قام كل من ريز وكاتبه غوريت بيرنباوم ، أستاذ مشارك في علم النفس في IDC هرتسليا في إسرائيل ، باختبار هذه الفرضية على طلاب 634 - 328 أنثى و 306 من الذكور - بمتوسط ​​عمر يناهز 25 ، تم تحديدهم جميعًا على أنهم من جنسين مختلفين.

خلال أربع دراسات ، كشف علماء النفس مجموعة واحدة للمحفزات الجنسية والمجموعة الضابطة لمحفزات محايدة. المشاركين في الدراسة ، جميع الطلاب في جامعة إسرائيلية ، ثم تفاعلوا مع شخص غريب من الجنس الآخر.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


صنع انطباع جيد

طلبت الدراسة الأولى من اثنين من المشاركين في الدراسة في وقت واحد حل معضلة يواجهها شخص ثالث وهمي - سواء قبول عرض العمل في الخارج أو رفض عرض البقاء بالقرب من العائلة والأصدقاء.

"عندما يتم تنشيط النظام الجنسي الخاص بك ، يكون لديك الدافع لتقديم نفسك في أفضل ضوء ممكن."

تم تكليف كلا المشاركين بموقف واحد محدد - واحد لصالح واحد ضد الانتقال إلى الخارج - للمناقشة في تفاعل وجها لوجه. بعد ذلك ، قام المشاركون بتقييم مدى التعبير الخارجي عن اتفاقهم مع موقف المشارك الآخر أثناء التفاعل.

مقارنة بالمشاركين في المجموعة الضابطة (بدون محفزات جنسية مسبقة) ، كان المشاركون الذين تم تحفيزهم جنسيًا أكثر عرضة للتعبير عن اتفاق مع رأي مخالف ينادي به مشارك من الجنس الآخر. يفسر الباحثون هذا السلوك كاستراتيجية لإحداث انطباع إيجابي مع الشخص الغريب ، مما يزيد من احتمال الاقتراب من هذا الشخص.

تحويل التفضيلات

درست الدراسة الثانية ما إذا كان المشاركون في الدراسة سيغيرون بالفعل تفضيلاتهم المعلنة لتتوافق مع مُثُل الشخص الغريب. أكمل المشاركون استبيانًا قام بتقييم تفضيلاتهم في مواقف الحياة المختلفة (مثل "إلى أي مدى يزعجك حتى الآن في تحديد شخص فوضوي؟" أو "هل تحب الحضن بعد ممارسة الجنس؟"). بعد ذلك ، تعرض المشاركون بشكل أساسي لأي صورة جنسية أو محايدة.

ثم علم المشاركون أنهم سيكونون جزءًا من محادثة عبر الإنترنت مع مشارك آخر ، والذي كان في الواقع من الداخل - عضوًا معارضًا للجنس في فريق البحث. نظروا إلى ملف تعريف على الإنترنت يزعم أنه يقدم تفضيلات المطلعين على الموضوعات المختلفة. بعد عرض الملف الشخصي ، طُلب من المشاركين إنشاء ملفهم الشخصي ليتم إرساله عبر البريد الإلكتروني إلى المشارك الآخر ، وطُلب منهم إكمال ملفهم الشخصي عن طريق تصنيف العناصر ذاتها التي تم تقديمها في ملف تعريف الشخص الداخلي.

وجد الباحثون أنه حتى التحفيز الجنسي غير الواعي (مثل عرض صورة مثيرة في إطار فلاش داخل فيديو محايد خلاف ذلك) دفع المشاركين إلى التوافق أكثر مع تفضيلات شريك محتمل في مختلف مواقف الحياة.

"إن الرغبة في إقناع شريك محتمل تكون شديدة بشكل خاص عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتفضيلات التي تكمن في تأسيس رابطة حميمة" ، كتب الباحثون. "قد يُنظر إلى مثل هذه التغييرات في المواقف على أنها مبالغة خفية ، أو كخطوة غير ضارة لإقناع أو أن تكون أقرب إلى شريك محتمل."

يحتوي الرسم البياني على "CONFORMING RATING" وله تعليق يقرأ "التوافق" مع آراء شريك محتمل ، ومواقفه المفضلة ، ومواقفه ، المقاسة على مقياس أو 1 إلى 5. هناك عمودين. المجموعة التي تستعد جنسياً أعلى ، مع تصنيف مطابق لـ 3.15. مجموعة التحكم أقل ، مع تصنيف مطابق لـ 2.87.
(الائتمان: مايك Osadciw / U. روتشستر)

كم من الناس نمت؟

تناولت الدراستان الثالثة والرابعة ما إذا كان المشاركون سيكذبون بشأن عدد الشركاء الجنسيين السابقين. افترض الباحثون أن الناس سوف يقللون من العدد الفعلي للشركاء بحيث يظهرون أكثر انتقائية - أو أقل اختلاطًا - بالنسبة إلى رفيق محتمل.

لاختبار هذه الفرضية ، أجرى الباحثون مشاركون يتحدثون عن العدد الإجمالي للشركاء الجنسيين الذين كانوا لديهم خلال محادثة مع شخص من الداخل جذاب للدراسة. ثم سُئلوا نفس السؤال في استبيانات مجهولة لتوفير خط أساس حقيقي للباحثين. كانت النتائج واضحة: كان المشاركون في الدراسة الذين استعدوا جنسياً أكثر عرضة للكذب ، حيث أبلغوا عن عدد أقل من الشركاء الجنسيين السابقين لزميل محتمل مقارنة بالمجموعة دون تحضير جنسي.

ووجد الباحثون أن كلا من الرجال والنساء (جميعهم مهيأون جنسيًا) يميلون إلى تقليل العدد المبلغ عنه من الشركاء الجنسيين السابقين عند الدردشة مع شخص غريب جذاب. (بالمناسبة ، كان هناك حوالي سبعة شركاء سابقين الرقم السحري الذي أبلغ عنه معظم الأشخاص في إجاباتهم التي تمت معالجتها).

الرسم البياني بعنوان SEXUAL PARTNERS CLAIMED. هناك عمودين. المجموعة التي تستحوذ على الجنس أقل من ذلك ، حيث زاد عدد الشركاء الجنسيين على ما يزيد قليلاً عن خمسة. المجموعة الضابطة تحت شركاء 6.5 المطالب بهم.
(الائتمان: مايك Osadciw / U. روتشستر)

ماذا يظهر التحضير الجنسي؟

ومن المثير للاهتمام ، أن المتعاونين منذ فترة طويلة Birnbaum و Reis لهما اختلاف طفيف حول ما تعنيه النتائج في النهاية.

يقول بيرنباوم: "سيفعل الناس ويفعلون أي شيء من أجل إقامة علاقة مع شخص غريب جذاب". "عندما يتم تنشيط النظام الجنسي الخاص بك ، يكون لديك الدافع لتقديم نفسك في أفضل ضوء ممكن. هذا يعني أنك ستخبر شخصًا غريبًا يجعلك تبدو أفضل منك. "

ولكن ، كما يقول ريس ، "الكثير منها ليس بالضرورة ما تسمونه كذبة ذات أصلع. على الرغم من أن هذه ليست الحقيقة بوضوح ، إلا أنها طريقة للعثور على طرق للتأكيد على أجزاء مختلفة من كيفية رؤيتهم لأنفسهم. "ومع ذلك:" أعتقد أن هناك بعض الدرجة التي تجد بها طرقًا لتظليل الشخص بالحقيقة. ما زالت تعتبر كذبة ، ولا شك في ذلك. "

دعمت مؤسسة Binational Science Foundation العمل الذي يظهر في مجلة علم النفس الاجتماعي التجريبي.

دراسة الأصلية

حول المؤلف

هاري ريس ، أستاذ العلوم الإكلينيكية والاجتماعية بجامعة روتشستر وجوريت بيرنبوم ، أستاذ مشارك في علم النفس في IDC هرتسليا في إسرائيل

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
by مونتيل ويليامز وجيفري غارديري ، دكتوراه

Why Having Sex On The Mind Makes People Lie

Why Having Sex On The Mind Makes People Lie

With sex on their minds, people are more likely to change their attitudes and engage in deceptive self-presentation, research on sexual priming finds.

In other words, they conform, embellish, and sometimes lie.

The researchers hypothesized that sexual thoughts—or, in the researchers’ more precise terms, the activation of an individual’s sexual system—would increase a person’s efforts to manage first impressions, bringing with it deceptive self-presentation.

What laypersons might describe as having sexual thoughts, researchers refer to more precisely as the activation of the sexual system or sexual priming. The phrase, “means getting people to think about things in a sexual way,” explains study coauthor Harry Reis, a professor of clinical and social sciences at the University of Rochester.

“Technically it means activating a certain set of concepts in the brain. So, the parts of the brain that represent sexuality are being activated. But that doesn’t necessarily mean that people are getting genitally aroused.”

Reis and coauthor Gurit Birnbaum, associate professor of psychology at the IDC Herzliya in Israel, tested that hypothesis on 634 students—328 female and 306 male—with an average age of nearly 25, all of whom identified as heterosexual.

Over the course of four studies, the psychologists exposed one group to sexual stimuli and the control group to neutral stimuli. Study participants, all students at an Israeli university, then interacted with a stranger of the other sex.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Making a good impression

The first study asked two study participants at a time to solve a dilemma faced by a fictitious third person—whether to accept a job offer abroad or to reject the offer to stay close to family and friends.

“When your sexual system is activated you are motivated to present yourself in the best light possible.”

Both participants were assigned one specific position—one for and one against the move abroad—to argue in a face-to-face interaction. Afterwards, participants rated the extent to which they outwardly expressed agreement with the other participant’s position during the interaction.

Compared to participants in the control group (without prior sexual stimuli), participants who had been sexually primed were more likely to express agreement with a contrary opinion advocated by a participant of the other sex. The researchers interpret this behavior as a strategy to make a favorable impression with the stranger, thereby increasing the likelihood of getting closer to this person.

Shifting preferences

The second study examined whether study participants would actually change their declared preferences to conform to a stranger’s ideals. Participants completed a questionnaire that assessed their preferences in various life situations (such as “to what extent does it bother you to date someone who is messy?” or “do you like to cuddle after sex?”). Next, participants were subliminally exposed to either a sexual or a neutral picture prime.

Participants then learned that they would be part of an online chat with another participant, who in reality was an insider—an opposite-sex member of the research team. They looked at an online profile that purported to present the insider’s preferences on various subjects. After viewing the profile, participants were asked to create their own profile to be emailed to the other participant, and asked to complete their profile by rating the same items that had been presented in the insider’s profile.

The researchers found that even a non-conscious sexual stimulus (such as showing an erotic picture in a flash frame inside an otherwise neutral video) led participants to conform more to a potential partner’s preferences across various life situations.

“The desire to impress a potential partner is particularly intense when it comes to preferences that are at the heart of establishing an intimate bond,” write the researchers. “Such attitude changes might be viewed as a subtle exaggeration, or as a harmless move to impress or be closer to a potential partner.”

chart is titled CONFORMING RATING and has a caption that reads Conforming to a potential partner's views, preferencces, and attitudes, measured on a scale or 1 to 5. There are two columns. The sexually primed group is higher, with a conforming rating of 3.15. The control group is lower, with a conforming rating of 2.87.
(Credit: Mike Osadciw/U. Rochester)

How many people have you slept with?

The third and fourth studies addressed whether participants would lie about the number of past sexual partners. The researchers hypothesized that people would reduce the actual number of partners so as to appear more selective—or less promiscuous—to a potential mate.

To test the hypothesis, researchers had participants talk about the total number of sexual partners they had had during a chat with an attractive study insider. Then they were asked the same question in anonymous questionnaires to provide a true baseline for the researchers. The findings were clear: study participants who had been sexually primed were more likely to lie, reporting lower numbers of previous sexual partners to a potential mate compared to the group without sexual priming.

The researchers found that both men and women (all of whom were sexually primed) tended to decrease the reported number of past sexual partners when chatting with an attractive stranger. (By the way, around seven previous partners was the magic number that most people reported in their doctored answers).

chart is titled SEXUAL PARTNERS CLAIMED. There are two columns. The sexually primed group is lower, with the number of sexual partners claimed at just over five. The control group is just under 6.5 partners claimed.
(Credit: Mike Osadciw/U. Rochester)

What does sexual priming show?

Interestingly, long-time collaborators Birnbaum and Reis have slightly different takes on what the findings ultimately mean.

“People will do and say just about anything in order to make a connection with an attractive stranger,” says Birnbaum. “When your sexual system is activated you are motivated to present yourself in the best light possible. That means you’ll tell a stranger things that make you look better than you really are.”

But, says Reis, “a lot of it is not necessarily what you’d call a bald-faced lie. Even though it’s clearly not the truth, it’s a way of people finding ways to emphasize different parts of how they see themselves.” And yet: “I think there’s some degree to which it is finding ways to shade one’s perception of the truth. It still counts as a lie, there’s no question about that.”

The Binational Science Foundation supported the work, which appears in the Journal of Experimental Social Psychology.

Original Study

About the Authors

Harry Reis, professor of clinical and social sciences at the University of Rochester and Gurit Birnbaum, associate professor of psychology at the IDC Herzliya in Israel

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}