هل يمكن أن تؤدي الهلوسة إلى نمو ما بعد الصدمة؟

هل يمكن أن تؤدي الهلوسة إلى نمو ما بعد الصدمة؟

التفكير في كيفية تغيير حياة الشخص من خلال البدء في سماع أو رؤية أشياء لا يستطيع الآخرون رؤيتها. الآن تخيل أنه يمكن أن يقدم شيئًا جيدًا. يشير فريق بحث من جامعة هال ومؤسسات الصحة الوطنية المرتبطة في المملكة المتحدة إلى أن الهلوسة يمكن أن توفر فرصًا للنمو ، من بين الاضطرابات.

الكتابة في مجلة علم النفس والعلاج النفسي هذا العام ، قامت عالمة النفس الإكلينيكية ليلي ديكسون وفريقها بتفصيل تجارب سبعة أشخاص عاشوا مع هلوسات لفظية أو سمعية. وسط النضال ، الباحثين تقرير، رحلت رحلاتهم أيضا إلى بعض الأماكن الإيجابية.

تم تجنيد الرجال الخمسة واثنين من النساء ، الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 28 إلى 53 ، من خدمات الصحة العقلية. بدأ البعض يعاني من الهلوسة في مرحلة الطفولة ، والبعض الآخر في وقت لاحق في الحياة. قام الباحثون بمقابلتهم حول كيفية تأثير التجربة عليهم وعلى علاقاتهم والتحديات التي واجهوها وما يتوقعونه من المستقبل.

كان الأشخاص الذين أجريت معهم المقابلات متحدين في رؤية وصولهم للهلوسة كصدمة غير مرحب بها. كان هناك شيء يجب إخفاؤه لتجنب الوصمة. "لا أريد أن أقبل بانفصام الشخصية لأنه دائمًا ما يتم وصفه ، سوف أكون دائمًا مصنَّفًا بهذا الاسم ، وإذا أخبرت أحدًا بأنك مصابًا بمرض انفصام الشخصية ، فإنهم يعتقدون تلقائيًا أنك حالة عقلية وأنك قالت صوفي: "سأذهب لقتلهم" (لا تستخدم الأسماء الحقيقية في الصحيفة).

شعرت أنه لكي تبقى نفسها ، كان عليها رفض التجربة: "أحاول فصل الشخص ، أنا أحب الشخص الذي أكون فيه عندما لا أسمع أصواتًا". كان الاعتقاد المبكّر عمومًا أن التحسن كان يعني تقليل الهلوسة أو القضاء عليها. طمس الرؤى ، وإسكات الأصوات.

لكن مع مرور الوقت ، وجد الأشخاص الذين أجريت معهم المقابلات أن تركيزهم قد تغير. "ستيف" تحدث عن حدث عالق في رأسه: "أتذكر أنني كنت في منزل صديقي المفضل وقلت:" حسناً ، لماذا لا تتحدث إليهم فقط "، أي أصواتهم ، بدلاً من الجلوس أو الجدل ففعلت وتحدثت إليهم فذهبت "مرحباً" وهم يذهبون "أوه مرحباً ، لقد تحدثت إلينا أخيراً؟"ماذا؟!"

جعل تلك الخطوة من الإنكار والصراع إلى المشاركة كان لها عواقب على "ستيف" ، الذي شعر بأن الأصوات كانت "أكثر فائدة الآن من الإزعاج ... كما لو أنني كنت عندي الكثير من الأصدقاء الذين أتحدث إليهم كل يوم".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


وردد آخرون هذه الفكرة أنه عندما واجهت التجارب الهلوسة ، بدلا من أن تتصاعد ، يمكن أن تظهر إمكانية القيمة. لدرجة أن احتمالية التخلص منها لم تعد تبدو كعلاج. وقال أحد الأشخاص: "يقول الكثير من الناس ، ماذا لو كان بإمكاني تغيير الأشياء ، لكنني لست متأكداً من أنني سأفعل ذلك ، إذا تعلمت أن أقبل أن ذلك جزء مني الآن". وقال آخر إنه من دون هلاوسه ، سيشعر بـ "أجوف".

Eما الذي يمكن أن يأتي من الهلوسة؟ كان من الصعب تحديد الإجابات لأنه لم يشعر أي من الأشخاص الذين أجريت معهم مقابلة بأنهم كانوا سلعة غير مشروعة ، وأنهم لم يرغبوا في إغراء القدر من خلال التفاؤل الساذج. كانت إحدى الملاحظات هي التحصين الذاتي الذي يأتي من المعركة المستمرة. قالت ديبي مبدئيًا: "لم أدعها تضربني ... لقد جعلني أكثر صرامة ... لقد أعطاني الصوت قوة أكبر ، وأصبحني أشبه بأني أقوى".

الخيط الإيجابي الآخر هو أن الهلوسة توسطت في تغيير المنظور تجاه الآخرين ، وحتى نحو التجربة نفسها. وقال أحد الأشخاص الذين أجريت معهم مقابلات: "أظهر المزيد من التعاطف ربما أكثر مما اعتدت عليه". ووصف آخر كيف "تغيرت الطريقة التي أرى بها الآخرين ، وفكر في المواقف الأخرى والطريقة التي رأيتها بنفسي".

يعطي هذا التعليق الذاتي من "بول" توسيعاً خاصاً: "أعتقد أني كنت أكثر تدميراً بدلاً من بناءة إذا لم أكن أسمع أو أرى الأشياء ... أعتقد أنها تغيرت نظرتي إلى ، على بعض الأشياء ، من تعلم بعض الوقت فقط للجلوس ومشاهدة العالم يمر ، بدلا من محاولة التغلب على العالم.

ما الذي سهل هذه الرحلة الواضحة من الفزع إلى النمو المري؟ أشارت التقارير إلى أن الانتماء والقبول والدعم العاطفي - ببساطة أن يكون "شخص ما يستمع" - كان حاسما. لكن الرحلة تطلبت في بعض الأحيان الحركة ضد الرياح السائدة: نصح أحد من أجريت معهم المقابلات: "لا تتخلى عن رغبتك في أن تصبح نفسك ، بدلاً من مجتمعك أو أي شيء آخر ، ننسى كل هؤلاء ، ننسى كل شيء آخر ، عليك أن تكون مرتاحاً مع نفسك.'

كما كانت جودة الخدمات المهنية حاسمة: حيث كان ينظر إلى الأطباء الذين يعرضون الإنذار والوصمة على أنهم عقبة شائعة. كان الدعم الذي بدا أكثر فائدة يستند إلى إدخال تقنيات مثل الذهن والاسترخاء ، والتعامل مع أصوات السمع شبكةوالتي أظهرت للمرضى أنهم ليسوا وحدهم. كان هذا التطبيع والانخراط يعني أن امتلاك تجربة غير تقليدية للواقع لم يعد يحد من الأشخاص الذين أجريت معهم المقابلات من المجتمع ، بل عرض عليهم دورًا مختلفًا حيث كان لهذه التجربة دور في اللعب.

هذه ليست قصة بسيطة استمر المشاركون في رؤية هلاوسهم على أنها شيء أعاقهم ، لكنه خفف الآن من إمكانية التخصيب. يوصي فريق ديكسون بأن يقوم المحترفون والأصدقاء والعائلة (ولكن بشكل خاص الأطباء) القريبين من الأشخاص الذين لديهم مثل هذه التجارب ، بتفادي الوصم ، ودعمهم أينما كانوا ، فهم أن العلاقة المعقدة مع الواقع لا تجعل الشخص أقل كمالاً.

نبذة عن الكاتب

أليكس فراديرا هو كاتب في BPS Research Digest وأخصائي نفسي يعمل في الخدمة الصحية الوطنية بصفة علاجية. يعيش في نيوكاسل.

وقد نشرت هذه المقالة أصلا في دهر وقد أعيد نشرها تحت المشاع الإبداعي. هذا هو التكيف من البند تم نشره في الأصل من قبل The British Psychological Society's Digest.عداد Aeon - لا تقم بإزالة

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = علاج الهلوسة ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Can Hallucinations Lead To Post-Traumatic Growth?

hallucinations

Can Hallucinations Lead To Post-Traumatic Growth?

Contemplate how a person’s life would be changed by starting to hear or see things others can’t. Now imagine it could offer something good. A research team from Hull University and associated NHS trusts in the UK suggest that, among the tumult, hallucinations can also offer opportunities for growth.

Writing in the Journal of Psychology and Psychotherapy this year, the clinical psychologist Lily Dixon and her team detail the experiences of seven people who have lived with verbal or auditory hallucinations; amid the struggles, the researchers report, their journeys have also taken them to some positive places.

The five men and two women, aged 28 to 53, were recruited from mental-health services. Some had begun experiencing hallucinations in childhood, others later in life. The researchers interviewed them about how the experience had affected them and their relationships, the challenges they had faced, and what they expected from the future.

The interviewees were united in seeing the arrival of their hallucinations as an unwelcome shock. They were something to be hidden so as to avoid stigma. ‘I don’t want to accept it’s schizophrenia because it will always be branded, I’ll always be branded with that name, and if you tell anyone you’ve got schizophrenia they automatically think that you’re a mental case and that you’re going to kill them,’ said ‘Sophie’, one interviewee (real names are not used in the paper).

She felt that to remain herself, she had to reject the experience: ‘I’m trying to separate the person, I like the person that I am when I’m not hearing voices.’ A commonly held early belief was that getting better meant reducing or eliminating the hallucinations. Blur out the visions, silence the voices.

But over time, the interviewees found their focus had shifted. ‘Steve’ reported an event that stuck in his head: ‘I remember being at my best friend’s house and she said: “Well why don’t you just talk to them,” y’know the voices, rather than sitting around or arguing, so I did and I spoke to them so I went “Hello” and they go “Oh hello, you finally talking to us?” and I was like "What?!’"

Making that step from denial and conflict to engagement had consequences for ‘Steve’, who felt that the voices were ‘more helpful now than disturbing … it’s like I’ve got a lot of friends I talk to every day’.

Others echoed this idea that when the hallucinatory experiences were faced, rather than fended off, the possibility of value could emerge. So much so that the prospect of shedding them no longer felt like a cure. ‘A lot of people say, what if I could change things but I’m not sure I would, y’know, if, I’ve just learnt to accept that it’s part of me now,’ said one interviewee. Another said that without his hallucinations, he would feel ‘hollow’.

Exactly what good could come from hallucinations? The answers were hard to pin down because no interviewee felt that they were an unalloyed good, and they didn’t want to tempt fate through naive optimism. One note was the self-fortification that comes from continuous battle. ‘Debbie’ said tentatively: ‘I haven’t let it beat me … it’s made me more tougher … the voice has given me more strength, and it’s, sort of like, made me into the person I am, stronger.’

Another positive thread was that the hallucinations brokered a change in perspective towards others, and even toward experience itself. ‘I show more empathy maybe, more than I used to,’ said one interviewee. Another described how ‘it’s changed the way I see others, think about other attitudes and the way I’ve seen myself.’

This self-scrutinising comment from ‘Paul’ gives an especially expansive take: ‘I think I’d have been a lot more destructive rather than constructive if I maybe wasn’t hearing or seeing things … I think it’s changed my outlook on, on certain things, y’know, of just sometimes learning to sit and watch the world go by, rather than trying to beat the world.’

What facilitated this apparent journey from dismay to bittersweet growth? The reports suggested that belonging, acceptance and emotional support – simply to have had ‘somebody listening’ – had been critical. But the journey sometimes also required movement against prevailing winds: one interviewee counselled: ‘Don’t give up on wanting to become yourself, rather than your society or whatever, forget all of them, forget everything else, you’ve got to be comfortable with yourself.’

The quality of professional services was also crucial: clinicians offering alarm and stigma were seen as a common obstacle. The support that seemed most useful was based on the introduction of techniques such as mindfulness and relaxation, and engagement with the Hearing Voices network, which showed patients that they were not alone. This normalisation and engagement meant that having an atypical experience of reality no longer sundered the interviewees from society, but offered a different role where that experience had a part to play.

This isn’t a simple story. Participants continued to see their hallucinations as something that hindered them, but it was now tempered by the possibility of enrichment. Dixon’s team recommend that professionals, friends and family (but particularly clinicians) who are close to people having such experiences should avoid stigmatisation, and support them wherever they are at, understanding that a complex relationship with reality does not make the person any less whole.

About The Author

Alex Fradera is a staff writer at BPS Research Digest and a psychologist working within the NHS in a therapeutic capacity. He lives in Newcastle.

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons. This is an adaptation of an article originally published by The British Psychological Society’s Research Digest.Aeon counter – do not remove

Related Books

Treating Psychosis: A Clinician's Guide to Integrating Acceptance and Commitment Therapy, Compassion-Focused Therapy, and Mindfulness Approaches within the Cognitive Behavioral Therapy Tradition
hallucinationsAuthor: Nicola P. Wright PhD CPsych
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: New Harbinger Publications
List Price: $49.95

Buy Now

Cognitive Therapy for Command Hallucinations: An advanced practical companion
hallucinationsAuthor: Alan Meaden
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Routledge
List Price: $63.95

Buy Now

Cognitive-Behavioural Therapy With Delusions and Hallucinations: A Practice Manual (Second Edition) (Mental Health Nursing & the Community)
hallucinationsAuthor: Hazel Nelson
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Nelson Thornes Ltd
List Price: $40.95

Buy Now

hallucinations
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}