Mes priorités étaient toutes fausses

Mes priorités étaient toutes fausses
Image Gerd Altmann

«Je ne sais pas trop quoi faire de moi-même», ai-je dit à mon thérapeute du comté d'Orange.

"Il me semble, Ted, que tu as beaucoup de pain sur la planche."

J'ai haussé les épaules. "Ouais je suppose. Il me semble qu'il manque quelque chose. Il y a beaucoup de choses que je fais en ce moment, mais je n'ai plus de carrière. . . Et je n'ai pas à travailler aussi dur sur le processus de récupération maintenant. .. "

«Donne-lui du temps, Ted. Vous avez déjà fait beaucoup »a été la réponse. Mais je commençais à m'impatienter. Je m'ennuyais un peu. J'avais besoin de quelque chose d'excitant. J'ai réalisé que je pénétrais ici en territoire inconnu.

Libérer le pouvoir intérieur

Je suis tombé sur le magnat de l'auto-amélioration Tony Robbins peu de temps après cette conversation avec mon thérapeute, alors je me suis inscrit à son séminaire «Unleash the Power Within» en février 2013. Cela m'a permis de déterminer qui j'étais, qui je voulais devenir et quel était mon but.

"La vie est un cadeau", a déclaré Robbins, "et elle nous offre le privilège, l'opportunité et la responsabilité de redonner quelque chose en devenant plus." J'étais l'une des six mille personnes qui ont assisté à l'événement qui s'est tenu ce long week-end à Los Angeles. Palais des Congrès. J'ai commencé à réaliser qu'en faisant plus pour les autres, je serais plus heureux avec moi-même.

Je ne sais pas ce que les autres participants ont ressenti, mais ce fut un événement qui a changé ma vie. Robbins était une dynamo. J'étais là, devant le palais des congrès, et je n'y connaissais personne. Après le premier jour, à une heure et demie, se préparant à marcher sur des charbons ardents, il nous a appris à changer nos mentalités et à se préoccuper de la matière. "Surmontez les peurs inconscientes qui vous retiennent," proclame Robbins. "Tempête sur un lit de braises. Une fois que tu commences à faire ce que tu croyais impossible, tu vaincras facilement les autres feux de ta vie."


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


"Seuls ceux", nous a-t-il rappelé, qui ont appris le pouvoir d'une contribution sincère et désintéressée vivront la joie plus profonde de la vie, son accomplissement véritable. "

C’était un message qui se démarquerait pour moi, même si j’avais assisté à la conférence dans le seul espoir d’améliorer la qualité de mes discours et d’apprendre comment transmettre mon récit et mes vues sur la détermination à mon auditoire. Il m'a donné ça aussi, mais c'était la cerise figurative au-dessus de quelque chose d'encore meilleur.

Avant mon AVC, toutes mes priorités étaient fausses

Il nous a fait asseoir et réfléchir à ce que nous avions dans nos vies. «Rédigez la liste par ordre de priorité», a-t-il déclaré. Et même s’il se tenait devant un immense auditorium rempli de gens, j’avais l’impression de parler directement à moi. Je croyais qu'il pouvait voir dans mon visage ce que je réalisais lentement. Mes priorités étaient fausses avant ce coup. Je l'ai écrit:

  1. Le travail
  2. Le travail
  3. Le travail
  4. S'entraîner / Sports
  5. Femme et famille

Pas étonnant que j'ai fini par obtenir un divorce, Pensai-je en regardant la liste. Ma carrière avait été si importante pour moi que ma famille et ma femme avaient à peine été inscrites sur la liste.

Priorités retrouvées: de la santé aux relations

Robbins a déclaré que notre première priorité devait être le corps physique et la santé. Si vous ne l'avez pas, rien d'autre ne compte.

Notre deuxième priorité devrait être nos relations. J'ai divisé mes nouvelles priorités en trois paniers:

  1. Pour améliorer mes relations avec ma famille - mes frères et ma sœur et mes amis proches
  2. Favoriser de nouvelles et anciennes amitiés
  3. Pour trouver quelqu'un avec qui partager ma vie renouvelée

J'ai fait de ma quatrième priorité en matière d'éducation parce que je savais que je devais améliorer ma maîtrise de la parole et développer mes capacités de recherche de mots. J'ai appris les termes médicaux liés aux accidents vasculaires cérébraux, notamment l'aphasie, les lésions cérébrales traumatiques (TBI), la négligence de la gauche, etc. Je voulais continuer à apprendre l'art contemporain et le vin français.

Ma cinquième priorité était de parler davantage en public à petite échelle. Je pouvais aller dans les hôpitaux et les universités et raconter mon histoire au public, partager la détermination, la détermination, la ténacité et la motivation. Je voulais construire un site Internet et des canaux de communication (médias sociaux) même si je ne savais pas exactement à quoi cela allait servir, et j'ai réalisé que je voulais écrire un livre. Et cela a conduit au sixième objectif de ma liste: redonner.

Bien que j'avais été assez réticent à l'idée d'écrire un livre sur mes expériences, je restai assis à écouter Robbins et pensai: J'ai besoin de redonner. Je peux le faire avec ce livre, tout comme avec le travail bénévole.

J'ai réalisé ce week-end que j'avais un but, un cadeau à offrir: dire aux gens, en particulier aux personnes handicapées, de ne pas abandonner. C'est un message puissant de la part d'une personne qui a été là-bas, qui est encore en phase de rétablissement, mais qui a réduit le volume de son handicap et a trouvé un moyen de reconstruire sa vie.

Je pouvais aussi rendre d’autres manières. Je suis maintenant impliqué dans trois hôpitaux. Je rends tout ce que j'ai appris de ma propre vie: options de thérapie, techniques, conseils. Je suis un défenseur du rétablissement après un AVC et de l'aphasie. J'ai siégé au conseil d'administration de trois institutions à but non lucratif et je continue à siéger dans l'une d'entre elles. J'ai décidé de faire un don au Collège d'art et de design de Laguna. Ils ont utilisé mon don pour aider les étudiants handicapés, ce qui était extrêmement gratifiant. Je me sentais bien d’apporter une contribution susceptible d’améliorer la vie de quelqu'un.

«Pour ceux d'entre vous qui n'ont pas encore pris leur retraite, votre occupation sera une priorité», a déclaré Robbins. Mon travail actuel consiste à faire du bénévolat, à faire partie des conseils d'administration d'institutions et à m'impliquer dans des projets philanthropiques qui me permettront de faire une différence.

Il s’agissait également de passer du temps avec moi-même - de me consacrer du temps - à être reconnaissante d’être en vie et de faire de nouvelles choses. J'avais fini de boire du café chez Starbucks. J'ai cédé mon deuxième carlin à une bonne nouvelle maison - celle que j'avais quand je suis déménagé en Californie - parce que je me servais du chiot comme excuse pour ne pas jouer au golf, faire un voyage, aller à une dégustation de vin ou rencontrer de nouvelles personnes. J'aimais vraiment avoir un chien, mais c'était pour les mauvaises raisons et ce n'était pas le bon moment. Ce n'était pas bien pour le carlin non plus. Et j'avais besoin de temps pour moi pour me regrouper et m'assurer que mes priorités étaient bien définies.

Je notais Voyage. Ensuite, j'ai ajouté Appartement de New York et relation significative. Voyager serait agréable, éducatif. L'appartement me permettrait de passer plus de temps avec ma famille. Et une relation significative pourrait conduire à avoir une femme (et ce fut le cas!).

Déterminé à "être plus"

«Ne t'inquiète pas. Pourquoi devez-vous vous inquiéter à ce sujet si c'est dans l'avenir? Le futur sera ce que vous voulez en faire. Vivez simplement votre vie en ce moment ", a déclaré Robbins.

Cela m'a directement parlé. Je me suis souvent demandé si ma vie serait toujours centrée sur mon accident vasculaire cérébral et mon aphasie. Serais-je jamais être quelque chose d'autre? J'avais l'habitude de travailler et de faire carrière. Maintenant, je voulais que ma vie soit plus qu'une seule chose. J'étais déterminé à être plus. Et si mes décisions ou mon chemin étaient un peu en retrait, je les modifierais ou le modifierais jusqu'à ce que j'aime le chemin sur lequel j'étais.

J'étais tellement concentré, déterminé et compétitif que je ne laissais même pas ma petite sœur gagner un seul match de Monopoly quand nous étions enfants. Maintenant, j'ai commencé à penser à ce qu'elle représentait pour moi dans ma vie, à ce que toute ma famille voulait dire et à quel point le bonheur comptait.

© 2018 par Ted W. Baxter. Tous les droits sont réservés.
Extrait avec permission.
Editeur: Greenleaf Book Group Press.

Source de l'article

Implacable: Comment un AVC massif a changé ma vie pour le meilleur
par Ted W. Baxter

Implacable: Comment un accident vasculaire cérébral massif a changé ma vie pour le mieux par Ted W.Dans 2005, Ted W. Baxter était au sommet de son art. Il était un homme d’affaires prospère qui parcourait le monde entier avec un CV qui impressionnerait le meilleur des meilleurs. En pleine forme physique, Ted a travaillé presque tous les jours de la semaine. Et puis, en avril, 21, 2005, tout cela a pris fin. Il a eu un accident vasculaire cérébral ischémique massif. Les médecins craignaient qu'il ne réussisse pas, ou s'il le faisait, il resterait dans un état d'hygiène végétative dans un lit d'hôpital pour le restant de ses jours. Mais miraculeusement, ce n'est pas ce qui s'est passé. . . Relentless est une merveilleuse ressource pour les survivants d’AVC, les aidants naturels et leurs proches, mais c’est également une lecture inspirante et motivante pour tous ceux qui affrontent des difficultés de leur vie. (Également disponible en édition Kindle et en livre audio.)

cliquez pour commander sur amazon



A propos de l'auteur

Ted W. BaxterAprès avoir passé des années dans le secteur financier au sein de 22, Ted Baxter a pris sa retraite en tant que directeur financier mondial auprès d’une grande société d’investissement de couverture basée à Chicago. Auparavant, Ted était directeur général d’une banque d’investissement mondiale, partenaire de Price Waterhouse et consultant axé sur les banques et les valeurs mobilières, la gestion des risques, les produits financiers et la planification stratégique. Sur la scène internationale, il a travaillé et vécu à 8 à Tokyo et à Hong Kong. Ted fait maintenant du bénévolat dans les hôpitaux 2 du comté d'Orange, dirige des groupes dans le cadre d'un programme de récupération de la communication lié à un AVC et est membre du conseil d'administration de l'American Heart and Stroke Association.

Livres connexes

Vidéo / Présentation de Ted Baxter pour Stroke Awareness Oregon:

My Priorities Were All Wrong

My Priorities Were All Wrong
Image by Gerd Altmann

“I don’t really know what to do with myself,” I said to my therapist in Orange County.

“It seems to me, Ted, that you have a lot on your plate.”

I shrugged. “Yeah, I guess. It just feels like something is missing. There are a lot of things that I am doing right now, but I don’t have a career anymore. . . And I don’t have to work as hard on the recovery process now. ..”

“Give it some time, Ted. You’ve already done a lot” was the response. But I was getting impatient again. I was somewhat bored. I needed something exciting. I realized I was entering uncharted territory here.

Unleashing the Power Within

I came across self-improvement mogul Tony Robbins not long after that conversation with my therapist, so I signed up for his “Unleash the Power Within” seminar in February 2013. It started me on the path to figuring out who I was, who I wanted to become, and what my purpose was.

“Life is a gift,” Robbins said, “and it offers us the privilege, opportunity, and responsibility to give something back by becoming more.” I was one among six thousand people who attended the event that long weekend, at the Los Angeles Convention Center. I started to realize that by doing more for others, I’d be happier with myself.

I don’t know how the other attendees felt, but it was a life-altering event for me. Robbins was a dynamo. I was there, in front of the convention building, and I didn’t know a soul there. After the first day, at one thirty a.m., getting ready to walk over fiery coals, he taught us how to change our mindsets and take mind over matter. "Overcome the unconscious fears that are holding you back," Robbins proclaims. "Storm across a bed of hot coals. Once you start doing what you thought was impossible, you'll conquer the other fires of your life with ease."


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

"Only those," he reminded us, "who have learned the power of  sincere and selfless contribution will experience life’s deeper joy, true fulfillment.”

It was a message that would stand out for me, even though I had attended the conference only in the hopes to improve my delivery of presenting speeches and learn how to convey my story and my views regarding determination to my audience. He gave me that too, but that was the figurative cherry on top of something even better.

Before My Stroke, My Priorities Were All Wrong

He had us sit down and think about what we had in our lives. “Write the list in order of priority,” he said. And even though he was standing in front of a huge auditorium filled with people, I felt like he was speaking directly to me. I believed he could see in my face what I was slowly coming to realize. My priorities were wrong before this stroke. I wrote it down:

  1. Work
  2. Work
  3. Work
  4. Working out/Sports
  5. Wife and Family

No wonder I ended up getting a divorce, I thought as I looked at the list. My career had been so important to me that my family and my wife had barely made the list.

Newfound Priorities: From Health to Relationships

Robbins said our first priority had to be physical body and health. If you don’t have that, nothing else matters.

Our second priority should be our relationships. I broke my newfound priorities into three baskets:

  1. To improve my relationships with my family—my brothers and sister and my close friends
  2. To foster new and old friendships
  3. To find someone to share my renewed life with

I made my fourth priority about education because I knew I had to improve my speech fluency and expand my word-finding skills. I learned the medical terms related to stroke, including aphasia, traumatic brain injury (TBI), left neglect, and others. I wanted to continue to learn about contemporary art and French wine.

My fifth priority was to do more small-scale public speaking. I could get out there to the hospitals and universities and tell audiences my story, share the determination, resolve, tenacity, and motivation. I wanted to build an Internet site and communication channels (social media) even if I didn’t know exactly what it was going to be for, and I realized I wanted to write a book. And that led to the sixth goal on my list—giving back.

Though I had been pretty resistant to the idea of writing a book about my experiences, I sat there listening to Robbins and thought, I need to give back. I can do that with this book, just as I can with the volunteer work.

I realized that weekend that I have a purpose, a gift to deliver: telling people, especially the population living with disabilities, not to give up. That’s a powerful message from a person who has been there, who is still in the stages of recovery, but who had turned the disability volume down and found a way to rebuild his life.

There were other ways that I could give back as well. I have now been involved with three hospitals. I give back all that I learned from my own life: therapy options, techniques, tips. I am an advocate for stroke and aphasia recovery. I have been on the board of trustees for three nonprofit institutions and continue to serve on one of them. I decided to give a donation to the Laguna College of Art and Design. They used my donation to focus on helping disabled students, and that was extremely gratifying. It felt good that I made a contribution that could change someone’s life for the better.

“For those of you not yet retired, your occupation will be a priority,” Robbins said. My occupation now is doing volunteer work, being a part of institutions’ boards, and involving myself in philanthropic issues that will allow me to make a difference.

It was also about having time with myself—me time—to feel grateful to be alive and doing new things. I was done spending my days drinking coffee at Starbucks. I gave my second pug away to a good new home—the one I got when I moved to California—because I was using the pup as an excuse to not play golf, take trips, go to wine tastings, or meet new people. I really liked having a dog, but it was for the wrong reasons, and it was not the right time. It wasn’t right for the pug, either. And I needed time to myself to regroup and ensure that I had my priorities straight.

I wrote down travel. Then, I added NYC apartment and significant relationship. Travel would be enjoyable, educational. The apartment would allow me to spend more time with my family. And significant relationship could lead to having a wife (and it did!).

Determined To "Be More"

“Don’t worry. Why do you have to worry about this if it’s in the future? The future’s going to be what you want to make of it. Just live your life at the moment,” Robbins said.

That spoke directly to me. I often wondered whether my life would always be centered around my stroke and aphasia. Would I ever be about something else? I used to be all about work and career. Now, I wanted my life to be more than only one thing. I was determined to be more. And if my decisions or path were a little off, I’d change or tweak it until I liked the path I was on.

I used to be so focused, so determined, so competitive that I wouldn’t even let my little sister win a single game of Monopoly when we were kids. Now, I started thinking about how much she meant to me in my life, how much all my family meant, and how much happiness mattered.

©2018 by Ted W. Baxter. All Rights Reserved.
Excerpted with permission.
Publisher: Greenleaf Book Group Press.

Article Source

Relentless: How a Massive Stroke Changed My Life for the Better
by Ted W. Baxter

Relentless: How a Massive Stroke Changed My Life for the Better by Ted W. In 2005, Ted W. Baxter was at the top of his game. He was a successful, globe-trotting businessman with a resume that would impress the best of the best. In peak physical condition, Ted worked out nearly every day of the week. And then, on April 21, 2005, all that came to an end. He had a massive ischemic stroke. Doctors feared he wouldn't make it, or if he did make it, he would be in a vegetative state in a hospital bed for the rest of his life. But miraculously, that's not what happened . . . Relentless is a wonderful resource for stroke survivors, caregivers, and their loved ones, but it is also an inspiring and motivating read for anyone who is facing struggles in their own life. (Also available as a Kindle edition and an Audiobook.)

click to order on amazon



 About the Author

Ted W. BaxterAfter spending 22 years in the financial industry, Ted Baxter is retired as a global CFO with a large hedge investment firm based in Chicago. Prior to that, Ted was a managing director for a global investment bank and he was a Price Waterhouse partner and a consultant concentrated on banks and securities, risk management, financial products, and strategic planning. Internationally, he spent 8 years working and living in Tokyo and Hong Kong. Ted now volunteers at 2 hospitals in Orange County, leading groups in a stroke-related communication recovery program, and is a member of the Board of Directors at the American Heart and Stroke Association.

Related Books

Video/Presentation by Ted Baxter for Stroke Awareness Oregon:

More Articles By This Author

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Understanding and Developing Our Chakras on our Journey of Personal and Spiritual Development
Understanding and Developing Our Chakras
by Glen Park
We begin our journey through the chakras with the lower chakras, through which the individual ego…
Acceptance and Change: Nature Changes Often
Acceptance and Change: Fighting the Current? Nature Changes Often
by Lawrence Doochin
When we resist change, we will be fearful. When we judge ourselves, we will also be fearful. Thus…
Horoscope for Astrological Week: May 10 - 16, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: May 10 - 16, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
Joanna’s Story: From Breast Cancer to Healing and Alignment
by Tjitze de Jong
Joanna was a classic example of how easily and fast healing can occur when the physical body,…
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
The Great Mystery: How To Heal from Lyme and Other Diseases
by Vir McCoy and Kara Zahl
If we stay focused on the growth potential offered through the “initiation” of disease, it can…
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
Is It Now Safe to Hug?
by Joyce Vissell
Clinical trials have shown that hugs are positive to your physical and mental health, and they even…
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
What Self-Care Looks Like: It Is Not A To-Do List
by Kristi Hugstad
It’s not the latest trend. It’s not a hashtag on social media. And it’s certainly not selfish.…
What Michelangelo Taught Me About Finding Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
What Michelangelo Taught Me: Freedom from Fear and Anxiety
by by Wendy Tamis Robbins
Two weeks after separating from my first husband, I booked a bus tour through Italy, my first trip…

MOST READ

High-Tech Contact Lenses Are Straight Out Of Science Fiction — And May Replace Smart Phones
High-Tech Contact Lenses Are Straight Out Of Science Fiction — And May Replace Smart Phones
by Bishakh Rout, McGill University
Over the years, new scientific discoveries have led to softer and more comfortable contact lenses.…
Why Family Meals Are Good for Grown-ups and Kids
Why Family Meals Are Good for Grown-ups and Kids
by Anne Fishel, Harvard University
Most parents already know that family mealtimes are great for the bodies, the brains and the mental…
Why QAnon Hasn't Gone Away
Why QAnon Hasn't Gone Away
by Sophie Bjork-James, Vanderbilt University
By this point, almost everyone has heard of QAnon, the conspiracy spawned by an anonymous online…
Why Processed Food Might Boost the Risk for Chronic Infection Diseases
Why Processed Food Might Boost the Risk for Chronic Infection Diseases
by LaTina Emerson, Georgia State University
Researchers investigated how changing from a grain-based diet to a highly processed, high-fat…
Playing An Exercise Game Can Help Fight Dementia?
Can Playing An Exercise Game Help Fight Dementia?
by ETH Zurich
Cognitive motor training helps in the fight against Alzheimer’s and dementia, according to new…
Changes In The Weather: El Niño and La Niña Explained
Changes In The Weather: El Niño and La Niña Explained
by Jaci Brown, CSIRO
We wait in anticipation of droughts and floods when El Niño and La Niña are forecast but what are…
Three Cities That Are Switching To A Life-Affirming Economy
Three Cities That Are Switching To A Life-Affirming Economy
by Chris Winters
The city of Portland, Oregon, prides itself on being ahead of the curve. In 1993, it became the…
Here's Why You Should Carefully Revise What You Write
Here's Why You Should Carefully Revise What You Write
by Narmada Paul, University of Kentucky
When high school students get into the habit of revising their writing, it has a positive impact on…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.