البحث عن الحمض النووي الأفريقي يخطط لسد الفجوة المعرفية حول المرض العقلي

البحث عن الحمض النووي يحدد لسد الفجوة المعرفية حول المرض العقلي
من المعروف منذ فترة طويلة أن الاضطرابات النفسية يمكن أن تكون وراثية في العائلات. وغالبًا ما يختلف أفراد هذه العائلات في أعراضهم.
محمل بالصور

في يوليو 2009 ، أحضرت امرأة زوجها إلى المستشفى حيث يعمل زملاؤنا في غرب كينيا. ذكرت أنه لعدة سنوات كان يتصرف بشكل غير طبيعي ، ينام بشكل سيئ ، يسمع أصواتًا لا يسمعها أحد ، ويعتقد أن الناس يتحدثون عنه ويتآمرون لإلحاق الأذى به.

كانت تطلب المساعدة لأنه لم يعد قادرًا على العمل. تم إدخال الرجل إلى وحدة الصحة العقلية للمرضى الداخليين وتم تشخيص إصابته بالفصام.

ثم جاءت ابنة الرجل لزيارته. كانت ملابسها وشعرها أشعثًا. ووصفت أشخاصًا يتآمرون عليها وينظرون إليها بمظهر قذر عندما كانت تسير في الشارع. قالت إنها كانت تواجه مشكلة في النوم. نظر الأطباء إلى بعضهم البعض بقلق: هل يمكن أن تكون مصابة بالفصام أيضًا؟

في النهاية ، تم تشخيص الابنة وأربعة أفراد آخرين من العائلة بالفصام. في حين أن إصابة ستة أفراد من نفس العائلة بالفصام أمر غير معتاد ، فمن المعروف منذ فترة طويلة أن الاضطرابات النفسية يمكن أن تكون وراثية في العائلات. وغالبًا ما يختلف أفراد هذه العائلات في أعراضهم.

لأسباب بدأناها للتو في فهمها ، قد يتم تشخيص أحد أفراد الأسرة بالفصام والآخر بالاضطراب ثنائي القطب أو الاكتئاب. في إلدوريت ، كينيا ، حيث يقع هذا المرفق الصحي ، ليس من غير المعتاد أن يكون هناك اثنان أو ثلاثة من الأقارب يتلقون رعاية للأمراض العقلية.

مثل هذا الحدوث ليس فريدًا. لقد وجدت الأبحاث أن المرض العقلي الحاد هو تتأثر بالجينات أكثر من أي عامل خطر آخر. وتظهر الجينات كقرائن مهمة للعلاجات الجديدة.

لكن البحث على الأساس الجيني للمرض العقلي له حتى الآن السكان المستبعدون إلى حد كبير الذين ليسوا من التراث الأوروبي. وهذا يعني أن هذه الأسرة الكينية ، والأشخاص الآخرين المنحدرين من أصل أفريقي ، قد لا يستفيدون من الرؤى البيولوجية الجديدة المتعلقة بالأمراض العقلية.


 الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


للمساعدة في علاج هذه المشكلة في أبحاث الطب النفسي ، يعمل باحثون من الولايات المتحدة وأربع دول في إفريقيا معًا دراسة وراثية الفصام والاضطراب ثنائي القطب. تم اختيارهم من كلية هارفارد تي إتش تشان للصحة العامة والمعهد الواسع لمعهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا في الولايات المتحدة ، وجامعة موي و KEMRI-Wellcome Trust في كينيا ، وجامعة ماكيريري في أوغندا وجامعة أديس أبابا في إثيوبيا. يكمل فريق جامعة كيب تاون جنوب إفريقيا.

تهدف المبادرة إلى القيام بشيء لم يتم القيام به على هذا النطاق من قبل: تجنيد 35,000 شخص في إثيوبيا وكينيا وجنوب إفريقيا وأوغندا للإجابة على أسئلة حول صحتهم وأسلوب حياتهم وأمراضهم العقلية ، والتبرع بملعقتين صغيرتين من اللعاب لاختبار الحمض النووي.

مشكلة التنوع

إن اكتشاف أن الأمراض العقلية الحادة والمزمنة تميل إلى التجمع في العائلات حفز الجهود لفهم الاختلافات الجينية بين الأشخاص المصابين بهذه الأمراض والذين لا يعانون منها. من خلال النظر في الحمض النووي وفك تشابك ما يحدث في الدماغ لتسبب هذه الاضطرابات العقلية ، نأمل في تحفيز إنشاء أدوية جديدة لعلاج هذه الأمراض المنهكة وتقليل المعاناة التي تصاحبها.

لسوء الحظ ، فإن الجهود الأخيرة لدراسة علم الوراثة لعدد من الأمراض لها ما يسميه الكثير منا "مشكلة التنوع. " ركزت معظم الأعمال في علم الوراثة البشرية حتى الآن على الأشخاص المنحدرين من أصول أوروبية شمالية ، مما أدى إلى تحريف البيانات بطريقة تجعلها أقل فائدة لغالبية الناس في العالم.

يقترب العالم بشكل خطير من حقبة "اختبارات الحمض النووي للأشخاص البيض فقط.في قواعد البيانات الحالية ، يأتي 78٪ من بيانات الحمض النووي من الناس من أصول أوروبية، الذين يشكلون حوالي 16٪ فقط من سكان العالم.

تتمثل إحدى المشكلات الرئيسية التي تطرحها مشكلة التنوع هذه في أن أي حلول (بما في ذلك الأدوية الجديدة) من المرجح أن تعمل بشكل أفضل مع الأشخاص الذين استند بحثهم في الحمض النووي - الأشخاص من أصل أوروبي. في الواقع ، قد لا يستفيد معظم السكان في مدينة متنوعة مثل مدينة بوسطن الأمريكية ، ويتكونون من البيض والسود والأسبان والآسيويين من بين آخرين ، بالطريقة التي يمكنهم بها من الجهود البحثية المنبثقة عن قسم فقط من سكان العالم.

الأهداف المحتملة للأدوية الجديدة

يُطلق على جهدنا التعاوني الكبير في إفريقيا اسم علم الوراثة العصبية النفسية للسكان الأفارقة - الذهان ، "NeuroGAP-Psychosis" باختصار.

من خلال البيانات التي تم جمعها من 35,000 شخص تم تجنيدهم للمشروع ، سنبحث عن اختلافات جينية مهمة وذات صلة سريريًا قد توجد في الأشخاص المنحدرين من أصل أفريقي وقد تكون أقل شيوعًا في الأشخاص المنحدرين من أصل أوروبي.

يمكن أن تؤدي المعلومات إلى أهداف محتملة للأدوية الجديدة التي من شأنها أن تساعد المنحدرين من أصل أفريقي والأشخاص المحتملين من جميع الأجداد في جميع أنحاء العالم بسبب الطريقة التي يستخدمها البشر نشأت في أفريقيا وهاجروا إلى قارات أخرى.

في الحقيقة ، لا يمكن إجراء البحوث الجينية بشكل فعال في شريحة ضيقة من البشرية. نأمل أن يتم دمج البيانات الجينية الموجودة في دراسة NeuroGAP-Psychosis ، وفي دراسات مماثلة جارية في المكسيك والصين واليابان وفنلندا والعديد من البلدان الأخرى ، للمساعدة في حل لغز أسباب مرض انفصام الشخصية والاضطراب ثنائي القطب.

أمنيتنا الأعظم؟ لرؤية علاجات أفضل تصل إلى جميع الأشخاص الذين يعانون من مرض عقلي حاد ، سواء كانوا في غرب كينيا أو في بوسطن.

ظهرت نسخة من هذا المقال في الأصل على WBUR's CommonHealth تحت العنوان ، "الابتعاد عن اختبارات الحمض النووي" للأشخاص البيض فقط ": مشروع أفريقي يبحث عن الآلاف من علم الوراثة للصحة العقلية."

حول المؤلفالمحادثة

لوكوي أتولي ، أستاذ الطب النفسي وعميد كلية الطب بشرق إفريقيا ، جامعة الآغا خان ، كلية الدراسات العليا للإعلام والاتصالات بجامعة الآغا خان (GSMC) وآن ستيفنسون ، مديرة برنامج NeuroGAP-Psychosis Study ، هارفارد TH تشان مدرسة الصحة العامة

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

5 طرق لبدء الانتعاش الأخضر
5 طرق لبدء الانتعاش الأخضر
by رايموند بليشويتز
خذ نفسك وقم بالعمل
خذ نفسك وقم بالعمل
by مالكولم ستيرن

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: نوفمبر 15 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
هذا الأسبوع ، نفكر في السؤال: "إلى أين نتجه من هنا؟" تمامًا كما هو الحال مع أي طقوس مرور ، سواء كان التخرج ، أو الزواج ، أو ولادة طفل ، أو انتخابات محورية ، أو فقدان (أو اكتشاف) ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 25 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إن "الشعار" أو العنوان الفرعي لموقع InnerSelf على الويب هو "اتجاهات جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة" ، وهذا هو بالضبط موضوع النشرة الإخبارية لهذا الأسبوع. الغرض من مقالاتنا ومؤلفينا هو ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 18 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نحن نعيش هذه الأيام في فقاعات صغيرة ... في منازلنا وفي العمل وفي الأماكن العامة ، وربما في أذهاننا ومع مشاعرنا. ومع ذلك ، نعيش في فقاعة ، أو نشعر وكأننا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 11 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الحياة رحلة ، وكما هو الحال في معظم الرحلات ، تأتي مع تقلباتها. ومثلما يتبع النهار دائمًا الليل ، تنتقل تجاربنا الشخصية اليومية من الظلام إلى النور ، ذهابًا وإيابًا. ومع ذلك،…
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 4 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
مهما كان ما نمر به ، فرديًا وجماعيًا ، يجب أن نتذكر أننا لسنا ضحايا لا حول لهم ولا قوة. يمكننا استعادة قوتنا لنحت طريقنا وشفاء حياتنا روحياً ...

Research On African DNA Sets Out To Close The Knowledge Gap On Mental Illness

Research On DNA Sets Out To Close The Knowledge Gap On Mental Illness
It has long been recognised that mental disorders can run in families. And often members of such families differ in their symptoms.
Getty Images

In July 2009, a woman brought her husband to the hospital where our colleagues work in western Kenya. She reported that for several years he had been behaving abnormally, sleeping poorly, hearing voices that no one else could hear, and believing that people were talking about him and plotting to harm him.

She was seeking help because he was no longer able to work. The man was admitted to the inpatient Mental Health Unit and diagnosed with schizophrenia.

Then the man’s daughter came to visit him. Her clothes and her hair were dishevelled. She described people plotting against her and giving her dirty looks when she walked in the street. She said she was having trouble sleeping. The clinicians looked at each other with apprehension: Might she have schizophrenia too?

Ultimately, the daughter and four more members of the family were diagnosed with schizophrenia. While having six members of the same family diagnosed with schizophrenia is unusual, it has long been recognised that mental disorders can run in families. And often members of such families differ in their symptoms.

For reasons that we are just beginning to understand, one family member might be diagnosed with schizophrenia and another with bipolar disorder or depression. In Eldoret, Kenya, where this health facility is located, it is not unusual to have two or three relatives receiving care for mental illnesses.

Such an occurrence is not unique. Research has found that severe mental illness is influenced by genes more than by any other risk factor. And genes are emerging as important clues for new treatments.

But research on the genetic basis of mental illness has so far largely excluded populations that are not of European heritage. That means that this Kenyan family, and other people of African descent, might not benefit from the new biological insights into mental illness.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


To help remedy this problem in psychiatric research, researchers from the United States and four countries in Africa are working together to study the genetics of schizophrenia and bipolar disorder. They are drawn from the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health and the Broad Institute of MIT in the US, Moi University and KEMRI-Wellcome Trust in Kenya, Makerere University in Uganda and Addis Ababa University in Ethiopia. Rounding out southern Africa is the team from the University of Cape Town.

The initiative aims to do something that has never been done on this scale before: recruit 35,000 people in Ethiopia, Kenya, South Africa and Uganda to answer questions about their health, lifestyle and mental illness, and donate two teaspoons of saliva for DNA testing.

Diversity problem

The finding that severe and chronic mental illnesses tend to cluster in families has spurred efforts to understand the genetic differences between people with these illnesses and those without. By looking at DNA and untangling what is going awry in the brain to cause these mental disorders, we hope to spur the creation of new medications to treat these debilitating illnesses and reduce the suffering that comes with them.

Unfortunately, recent efforts to study the genetics of a number of illnesses have what many of us are calling a “diversity problem.” Most of the work in human genetics so far has focused on people of Northern European descent, skewing the data in a way that makes it less useful to the majority of people in the world.

The world is perilously close to an era of “white-people-only DNA tests.” In existing databases, 78% of the DNA data comes from people of European ancestries, who make up only about 16% of the world’s population.

One of the main issues presented by this diversity problem is that any solutions (including new medications) are likely to work best for the people whose DNA the research was based on – people of European descent. In fact, most residents in a diverse city like the US city of Boston, made up of white, black, Hispanic and Asian people among others, may not benefit the way they could from research efforts emanating from only a section of the world’s population.

Potential targets for new medicines

Our large collaborative effort in Africa is called Neuropsychiatric Genetics of African Populations-Psychosis, “NeuroGAP-Psychosis” for short.

With the data collected from the 35,000 people recruited for the project we will be looking for important, clinically relevant genetic differences that might be found in people of African descent and may be less common in people of European descent.

The information could lead to potential targets for new medicines that will help people of African descent and likely people of all ancestries around the globe due to the way human populations originated in Africa and migrated to other continents.

In truth, genetics research cannot be done effectively in a narrow slice of humanity. Our hope is that the genetic data found in the NeuroGAP-Psychosis study, and in similar studies underway in Mexico, China, Japan, Finland and many other countries, will be combined to help solve the mystery of the causes of schizophrenia and bipolar disorder.

Our greatest wish? To see better treatments reach all people suffering from severe mental illness, whether they are in western Kenya or in Boston.

A version of this article originally appeared on WBUR’s CommonHealth under the title, “Moving Away from ‘White People Only’ DNA Tests: African Project Seeks Thousands for Mental Health Genetics.”

About the AuthorsThe Conversation

Lukoye Atwoli, Professor of Psychiatry and Dean, Medical College East Africa, Aga Khan University, Aga Khan University Graduate School of Media and Communications (GSMC) and Anne Stevenson, Program Director, NeuroGAP-Psychosis Study, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: November 29, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we focus on seeing things differently... of looking from a different perspective, with an open mind and an open heart.
Why I Should Ignore COVID-19 and Why I Won't
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
My wife Marie and I are a mixed couple. She's Canadian and I am an American. For the past 15 years we have spent our winters in Florida and our summers in Nova Scotia.
InnerSelf Newsletter: November 15, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we reflect on the question: "where do we go from here?" Just as with any rite of passage, whether graduation, marriage, birth of a child, a pivotal election, or the loss (or finding) of a…
America: Hitching Our Wagon to the World and to the Stars
by Marie T Russell and Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Well, the US presidential election is now behind us and it's time to take stock. We must find common ground between young and old, Democrat and Republican, Liberal and Conservative to truly make…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…