ترتبط مخاطر الاكتئاب والقلق وأمراض القلب جميعها بمنطقة دماغ واحدة

ترتبط مخاطر الاكتئاب والقلق وأمراض القلب جميعها بمنطقة دماغ واحدة
من المحتمل أن يكون النشاط المفرط في القشرة الحزامية الأمامية تحت الخلقية أحد أسباب الاكتئاب والقلق.
ESB Professional / Shutterstock

على الرغم من الاكتئاب و قلق تؤثر الملايين من الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم ، لا يزال هناك الكثير لا نعرفه عنهم. في الواقع ، ما زلنا لا نفهم تمامًا أي مناطق الدماغ متورطة في الاكتئاب والقلق ، وكيف تختلف بين الأشخاص الذين يعانون من أعراض مختلفة. إن فهم كيفية حدوث هذه الاختلافات ولماذا هو أمر أساسي لتطوير علاجات أفضل.

حتى الآن ، نعلم أن هذا الجزء من الفص الجبهي للدماغ ، هو قشرة الفص الجبهي، غالبًا ما يظهر يتغير النشاط في الأشخاص المصابين بالاكتئاب والقلق. الأجزاء المشاركة في الإدراك وتنظيم العواطف غير نشطة ، في حين أن الأجزاء الأخرى المشاركة في توليد المشاعر والوظائف الجسدية الداخلية مفرطة النشاط.

إحدى المناطق الرئيسية التي يُظهر أنها مفرطة النشاط لدى الأشخاص المصابين بالاكتئاب والقلق هي القشرة الحزامية الأمامية تحت الجينية (sgACC) ، والتي يُعتقد أنها متورطة في الاستجابات العاطفية. ومع ذلك ، فإن دراسات التصوير العصبي تظهر ارتباطًا فقط ولا تخبرنا أن النشاط الزائد يسبب أيًا من الأعراض. لكن بحثنا الجديد وجد أن الإفراط في تنشيط sgACC يسبب أعراض الاكتئاب والقلق ، ويسلط الضوء على السببية.

في دراستنا ، استخدمنا القرد (نوع من الرئيسيات) لأن دماغهم يشبه إلى حد كبير دماغ الإنسان. وجدنا أن النشاط المفرط في هذه المنطقة يسبب العديد من السمات الرئيسية لاضطرابات المزاج والقلق ، لا سيما مدى تفاعلها مع التهديد. رد فعلهم على التهديد مهم ، لأن المرضى الذين يعانون من الاكتئاب والقلق يميلون إلى إدراك المواقف والتفاعل معها بشكل أكثر سلبية.

لإفراط في تنشيط sgACC ، قمنا بزرع أنابيب مجوفة صغيرة - تسمى قنية - في أدمغة قرد القرد. ثم قمنا بضخ كميات صغيرة من الدواء في sgACC لزيادة الاستثارة دون الإضرار أو تعطيل الوظيفة في مناطق الدماغ الأخرى. كما زرعنا جهازًا لاسلكيًا صغيرًا في أحد الشرايين لقياس ضغط الدم ومعدل ضربات القلب.

ولكن قبل الإفراط في تنشيط sgACC ، قمنا بتدريب القرود على ربط نغمة معينة بوجود ثعبان مطاطي ، والذي تجده قرودًا مهددة. بعد معرفة هذا الارتباط ، أبدت حيوانات القرد (القرد) الخوف وكان ارتفاع ضغط الدم عند سماع النغمة. ثم قدمنا ​​النغمة دون الثعبان لكسر هذا الارتباط. سمح لنا هذا بقياس مدى السرعة التي يمكن أن تخفف بها حيوانات القرد من استجابة الخوف مع وبدون تنشيط sgACC المفرط.

دون الإفراط في التنشيط ، نظمت حيوانات القرد تدريجيًا استجابتها للتهديد في غضون دقائق عند سماع النغمة بدون الثعبان. ولكن بعد الإفراط في تنشيط sgACC ، أظهر قرد القرد سلوكًا مخيفًا وارتفاعًا في ضغط الدم لفترة أطول. كما ظلوا قلقين بشأن أنواع أخرى من التهديد (في شكل إنسان غير مألوف). أظهر رد الفعل هذا أنهم لم يعودوا قادرين على إخماد استجاباتهم للتهديدات. يظهر عدم القدرة على تنظيم العواطف أيضًا لدى العديد من المرضى المصابين بالقلق والاكتئاب.


 الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


هذه النتائج تعتمد على العمل في وقت سابق التي أظهرت النشاط المفرط لـ sgACC يقلل من الترقب والحافز للمكافآت ، مما يعكس انعدام التلذذ (عدم القدرة على الشعور بالمتعة) الذي يظهر في الاكتئاب. يشير هذا إلى أن النشاط المفرط لـ sgACC يمكن أن يسبب اثنين من الأعراض الأساسية التي تظهر في الاكتئاب - المشاعر السلبية (بما في ذلك القلق) وقلة المتعة.

أمراض القلب والاكتئاب

سؤال آخر بارز هو لماذا يعاني الأشخاص المصابون بالاكتئاب أيضًا زيادة خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب. في حين أن هناك بلا شك نمط حياة وعوامل اجتماعية واقتصادية تربط بين أمراض القلب والاكتئاب ، أردنا اختبار ما إذا كان النشاط المفرط لـ sgACC بحد ذاته يمكن أن يعطل وظائف القلب والأوعية الدموية. اعتقدنا أن هذه المنطقة قد تكون مهمة لأنها مرتبطة بجذع الدماغ ، الذي ينظم معدل ضربات القلب وضغط الدم.

لقد وجدنا أن النشاط المفرط لـ sgACC لا يبالغ فقط في استجابة ضغط الدم لدى قرد القرد للتهديد ، بل يزيد أيضًا من معدل ضربات القلب ويقلل من تقلب معدل ضربات القلب حتى أثناء الراحة. يعد تقلب معدل ضربات القلب مقياسًا مهمًا لمدى سرعة تأقلم القلب مع التغيرات في البيئة ، وخاصة الإشارات التي تتنبأ بالمكافأة أو العقوبة.

تعكس هذه التغييرات بعض الخلل القلبي الذي لوحظ في الاكتئاب والقلق. يشير معدل ضربات القلب المرتفع وتقلب معدل ضربات القلب المنخفض إلى أن النشاط المفرط في sgACC يعزز استجابة "القتال أو الهروب" في الجسم ، والتي - إذا استمرت لفترات طويلة - تضع القلب تحت ضغط إضافي وقد تفسر زيادة الإصابة بأمراض القلب.

استجابة العلاج

استخدمنا أيضًا تصوير الدماغ للتحقيق في المناطق الأخرى المتأثرة بالنشاط المفرط لـ sgACC في المواقف الخطرة. لقد رأينا نشاطًا متزايدًا في جزأين رئيسيين من شبكة الإجهاد في الدماغ ، اللوزة والمهاد. على النقيض من ذلك ، لوحظ انخفاض في النشاط في أجزاء من قشرة الفص الجبهي الوحشي ، والتي تنظم الاستجابات العاطفية وتكون غير نشطة في حالة الاكتئاب. كانت هذه التغييرات مختلفة تمامًا عن تلك التي شوهدت بعد الإفراط في التنشيط أثناء حالة مجزية.

قد تكون معرفة هذه الاختلافات مفتاحًا لنا لفهم العلاجات الأكثر فعالية اعتمادًا على الأعراض التي يظهرها المريض. قادنا هذا بعد ذلك إلى التحقيق في سبب استجابة بعض الأشخاص لمضادات الاكتئاب بينما لا يستجيب الآخرون. النوع الأكثر شيوعًا من مضادات الاكتئاب هو مثبطات امتصاص السيروتونين الانتقائية (SSRIs). لكن ما يصل الى ثلث من الأشخاص الذين يتناولون مضادات الاكتئاب يقاومون العلاج - مما يعني أنهم لا يستجيبون لها. هناك حاجة ماسة إلى علاجات جديدة لهؤلاء الأشخاص.

الكيتامين أظهر بعض الأمل في علاج الأشخاص المصابين بالاكتئاب المقاوم للعلاج - ويعمل في غضون ساعات على تخفيف الأعراض. في السابق ، أظهرنا الكيتامين بشكل فعال علاج انعدام التلذذ بعد أن تم تنشيط sgACC.

لكن في دراستنا الأخيرة ، وجدنا أن الكيتامين لا يستطيع تحسين الاستجابات الشبيهة بالقلق التي أظهرها قرد القرد تجاه الإنسان غير المألوف. يوضح لنا هذا أن أعراض الاكتئاب والقلق المختلفة تتفاعل بشكل مختلف مع أنواع مختلفة من مضادات الاكتئاب أو العلاجات. من ناحية ، تم عكس حالة انعدام التلذذ بالكيتامين ، بينما لم يكن القلق كذلك.

ولكن من المحتمل أن يكون الإفراط في تنشيط sgACC سببًا أساسيًا واحدًا للاكتئاب والقلق. قد يكون آخرون قد غيروا النشاط في مناطق مختلفة من قشرة الفص الجبهي ، والتي هي أيضًا مرتبطة بالقلق. لا يزال هناك طريق طويل لنقطعه قبل أن نحدد الأسباب المختلفة للاكتئاب والقلق والعلاجات التي يمكن أن تحسنها. لكن بحثنا يظهر أنه بالنسبة للبعض ، قد يكون استهداف النشاط المفرط لـ sgACC عاملاً رئيسيًا في علاج أعراضهم.

حول المؤلفالمحادثة

ليث الكسندردكتور في التأسيس الأكاديمي ، جامعة كامبريدج; أنجيلا شارلوت روبرتسأستاذ علم الأعصاب السلوكي ، جامعة كامبريدجو كريستيان وود، باحث مشارك ما بعد الدكتوراه ، علم وظائف الأعضاء وعلم الأدوية ، جامعة كامبريدج

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أحصل على القليل من المساعدة من أصدقائي

الأكثر قراءة

hnob2t7o
لماذا يجب أن أتجاهل COVID-19 ولماذا لا أفعل
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com

من المحررين

لماذا يجب أن أتجاهل COVID-19 ولماذا لا أفعل
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
أنا وزوجتي ماري زوجان مختلطان. هي كندية وأنا أميركية. على مدار الخمسة عشر عامًا الماضية ، أمضينا فصول الشتاء في فلوريدا وصيفنا في نوفا سكوشا.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: نوفمبر 15 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
هذا الأسبوع ، نفكر في السؤال: "إلى أين نتجه من هنا؟" تمامًا كما هو الحال مع أي طقوس مرور ، سواء كان التخرج ، أو الزواج ، أو ولادة طفل ، أو انتخابات محورية ، أو فقدان (أو اكتشاف) ...
أمريكا: توصيل عربتنا بالعالم والنجوم
by ماري تي راسل وروبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
حسنًا ، أصبحت الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية وراءنا الآن وحان وقت التقييم. يجب أن نجد أرضية مشتركة بين الشباب والكبار ، الديموقراطيين والجمهوريين ، الليبراليين والمحافظين لنجعل ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 25 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إن "الشعار" أو العنوان الفرعي لموقع InnerSelf على الويب هو "اتجاهات جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة" ، وهذا هو بالضبط موضوع النشرة الإخبارية لهذا الأسبوع. الغرض من مقالاتنا ومؤلفينا هو ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 18 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نحن نعيش هذه الأيام في فقاعات صغيرة ... في منازلنا وفي العمل وفي الأماكن العامة ، وربما في أذهاننا ومع مشاعرنا. ومع ذلك ، نعيش في فقاعة ، أو نشعر وكأننا ...

Depression, Anxiety and Heart Disease Risk All Linked To A Single Brain Region

Depression, Anxiety and Heart Disease Risk All Linked To A Single Brain Region
Over-activity in the brain’s subgenual anterior cingulate cortex is likely to be one cause of depression and anxiety.
ESB Professional/ Shutterstock

Although depression and anxiety affect millions of people worldwide, there’s still much we don’t know about them. In fact, we still don’t fully understand which brain regions are involved in depression and anxiety, and how they differ between people with varying symptoms. Understanding how or why these differences occur is fundamental to developing better treatments.

So far, we know that part of the brain’s frontal lobe, the prefrontal cortex, often shows activity changes in people with depression and anxiety. Parts involved in cognition and regulating emotions are underactive, whereas other parts involved in emotion generation and internal bodily functions are over-active.

One key region shown to be over-active in people with depression and anxiety is the subgenual anterior cingulate cortex (sgACC), thought to be involved in emotional responses. However, neuroimaging studies only show correlation and don’t tell us that the over-activity causes any of the symptoms. But our new research has found over-activating the sgACC induces symptoms of depression and anxiety, highlighting causality.

For our study, we used marmosets (a type of primate) because their brain closely resembles a human’s brain. We found over-activity in this region causes several key features of mood and anxiety disorders, particularly how reactive they are to threat. Their reaction to threat is important, as patients with depression and anxiety tend to perceive and react to situations more negatively.

To over-activate sgACC, we implanted tiny hollow tubes – called cannulae – into the marmosets’ brains. We then infused small amounts of a drug into sgACC to increase excitability without damaging or disrupting function in other brain regions. We also implanted a small wireless device into an artery to measure blood pressure and heart rate.

But before over-activating sgACC, we trained the marmosets to associate a specific tone with the presence of a rubber snake, which marmosets find threatening. After learning this association, the marmosets exhibited fear and had higher blood pressure when hearing the tone. We then presented the tone without the snake to break this association. This allowed us to measure how quickly the marmosets could dampen their fear response with and without sgACC over-activation.

Without over-activation, marmosets gradually regulated their threat response within minutes when hearing the tone without the snake. But after over-activating sgACC, marmosets exhibited fearful behaviour and higher blood pressure for much longer. They also remained anxious around other types of threat (in the form of an unfamiliar human). This reaction showed they could no longer dampen down their threat responses. Being unable to regulate emotions is also seen in many patients with anxiety and depression.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


These findings build on our earlier work that showed over-activity of sgACC reduces anticipation and motivation for rewards, mirroring the anhedonia (inability to feel pleasure) seen in depression. This suggests sgACC over-activity can cause two of the core symptoms seen in depression – negative emotions (including anxiety) and lack of pleasure.

Heart disease and depression

Another outstanding question is why people with depression also have increased risk of heart disease. While there’s undoubtedly lifestyle and socioeconomic factors linking heart disease and depression, we wanted to test whether sgACC over-activity itself could disrupt cardiovascular function. We thought this region might be important because it’s connected to the brainstem, which regulates our heart rate and blood pressure.

We found that sgACC over-activity not only exaggerated marmosets’ blood pressure response to threat, it also increased heart rate and reduce heart rate variability even at rest. Heart rate variability is an important measure of how rapidly the heart can adapt to changes in the environment, especially cues which predict reward or punishment.

These changes mirror some of the cardiac dysfunction seen in depression and anxiety. The elevated heart rate and reduced heart rate variability suggests that over-activity in sgACC promotes the body’s “fight-or-flight” response, which – if lasting over long periods of time – puts the heart under extra strain and might explain the increased incidence of heart disease.

Treatment response

We also used brain imaging to investigate the other regions affected by sgACC over-activity in threatening situations. We saw increased activity in two key parts of the brain’s stress network, the amygdala and hypothalamus. By contrast, reduced activity was seen in parts of the lateral prefrontal cortex, which regulates emotional responses and is underactive in depression. These changes were very different to those seen following over-activation during a rewarding situation.

Knowing these differences may be key to us understanding which treatments will be most effective depending on the symptoms exhibited by a patient. This then led us to investigate why some people respond to antidepressants while others don’t. The most common type of antidepressants are selective serotonin re-uptake inhibitors (SSRIs). But up to one-third of people who take antidepressants are treatment resistant – meaning they don’t respond to them. New treatments are urgently needed for these people.

Ketamine has shown some promise in successfully treating people with treatment resistant depression – and acts within hours to relieve symptoms. Previously, we had shown ketamine effectively treated anhedonia after sgACC had been over-activated.

But in our recent study, we found that ketamine could not improve the elevated anxiety-like responses the marmosets displayed towards the unfamiliar human. This shows us different depression and anxiety symptoms react differently to different types of antidepressants or treatments. On one hand, anhedonia was reversed by ketamine, while anxiety was not.

But over-activation of sgACC is likely to be just one underlying cause of depression and anxiety. Others may have altered activity in different regions of the prefrontal cortex, which are also linked to anxiety. There’s still a long way to go before we have identified the different causes of depression and anxiety and which treatments can improve them. But our research shows that for some, targeting sgACC over-activity may be key in treating their symptoms.

About the AuthorsThe Conversation

Laith Alexander, Academic Foundation Doctor, University of Cambridge; Angela Charlotte Roberts, Professor of Behavioural Neuroscience, University of Cambridge, and Christian Wood, Postdoctoral Research Associate, Physiology and Pharmacology, University of Cambridge

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: November 29, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we focus on seeing things differently... of looking from a different perspective, with an open mind and an open heart.
Why I Should Ignore COVID-19 and Why I Won't
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
My wife Marie and I are a mixed couple. She's Canadian and I am an American. For the past 15 years we have spent our winters in Florida and our summers in Nova Scotia.
InnerSelf Newsletter: November 15, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we reflect on the question: "where do we go from here?" Just as with any rite of passage, whether graduation, marriage, birth of a child, a pivotal election, or the loss (or finding) of a…
America: Hitching Our Wagon to the World and to the Stars
by Marie T Russell and Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Well, the US presidential election is now behind us and it's time to take stock. We must find common ground between young and old, Democrat and Republican, Liberal and Conservative to truly make…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…